DETAILED ACTION
The action is responsive to claims filed on 11/25/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending for evaluation.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/26/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 11/25/2025 has been entered. Claims 1 and 10 have been amended. Claims 1-20 remain pending for evaluation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 10, 11, 13, 17, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo et al. (US 2021/0212070, previously presented), Luo hereinafter, in view of LG Electronics, Remaining details on IAB resource multiplexing. 3G6PP TSG RAN WG1 #100bis, e-Meeting, April 20-30, 2020, R1-2001952, 7pages, LG2020 hereinafter, and in further view of Li at al. (US 2021/0058926), Li hereinafter. LG2020 was provided in the IDS submitted on 01/10/2024.
Regarding Claim 1, Luo teaches a resource multiplexing apparatus, comprising a transceiver, configured to (Fig. 18; Fig. 19; Paras. [0065, 0343, 0367]):
receive first configuration information sent by a second node, wherein the first configuration information comprises first guard interval information associated with a first timing mode of a mobile termination (MT) of the second node (Fig. 16, steps 1606 and 1610; Fig. 17, step 1706; Figs. 2A-2D; Para. [0126] - The child IAB node 704 may be configured to operate in a TDD mode, e.g., as described with respect to FIGS. 2A through 2D, supra; Para. [280] - At 1610, the parent IAB apparatus may transmit information indicating the guard period to the child IAB node; Para. [0155] - The number of guard symbols provided at a transition time may be based on the transition type of the transition. The number of guard symbols provided for a given transition type may be based on parameters and/or characteristics associated with the transition, such as parameters and/or characteristics associated with at least one of switching, signal propagation, timing advance, and/or other factor(s) that may affect transitions and/or contemporaneous signaling. For example, in some aspects, transitions of Type 1, 4, 5, and 8 may be provided guard symbols for switching from a transmitter (e.g., including a TX chain and/or other transmit circuitry) to the receiver (e.g., including an RX chain and/or other receive circuitry). In some aspects, transitions of Type 1 and 2 may be provided guard symbols for propagation delay based on the distance from a parent IAB apparatus; See also Paras. [0145, 0316]),
the first guard interval information comprises a first symbol quantity and a second symbol quantity (Fig. 16, step 1604; Para. [0345] - The communication manager 1832 may include a transition identification component 1840 that is configured to determine that a child DU function of the second base station 102/180′ is to transition between a first set of resources and a second set of resources at a transition time, e.g., as described in connection with 1604 of FIG. 16. The first set of resources may be associated with a child MT function of the second base station 102/180′, and the second set of resources may be associated with the child DU)
the first symbol quantity indicates a quantity of guard symbols for switching from a distributed unit (DU) resource, provided by a distributed unit (DU), to an MT resource (Para. [0300-0303] - [0300] At 1702, an IAB node determines to transition between a first set of resources and a second set of resources at a transition time. The first set of resources may be associated with an MT function of the IAB node (e.g., referred to as a “child MT”), and the second set of resources may be associated with a DU function of the IAB node (e.g., referred to as a “child DU”). The IAB node may be a child of an IAB apparatus (e.g., referred to as a “parent IAB apparatus”), which may be an IAB donor or another IAB node. For example, the child MT may be a child of a DU function of the parent IAB apparatus (e.g., referred to as a “parent DU”)…[0303] Referring to FIG. 10A, a child IAB node may determine to transition from a first set of resources associated with a child DU of the child IAB node to a second set of resources associated with a child MT of the child IAB node at a transition time 1010…; Para. [0316] - At 1706, the child IAB node may receive information providing the guard period associated with the transition time from the parent IAB apparatus based on the information requesting the guard period. In some aspects, the information providing the guard period may include information providing guard symbols, such as a number and/or location of guard symbols provided by the parent IAB apparatus to the child IAB node. The information providing the guard period may be provided (e.g., received) in a MAC CE or other message field or header. For example, the information providing the guard period may be included in a field or header as GuardSymbolsProvided; Fig. 10A, element 1030; Paras. [0178 - 0179] – [0178] Referring to FIG. 10A, a block diagram illustrates an example resource configuration 1000 with guard symbols for a transition from a DU function to an MT function of a child IAB node, in accordance with various aspects of the present disclosure. The child IAB node may transition from the DU function to the MT function of the child IAB node at a transition time 1010. In the illustrated example configuration 1000, the guard period request (e.g., guard symbols indicated by GuardSymbolsDesired MAC CE or other message field) may indicate a request for four (4) guard symbols for a type of transition contemporaneous with the transition time 1010 (e.g., at least partially overlapping with the transition time 1010, occurring immediately before the transition time 1010, or occurring immediately after the transition time 1010). Para. [0179] Further, the guard period provision (e.g., guard symbols indicated by GuardSymbolsProvided MAC CE or other message field) may indicate a provision of two (2) guard symbols for the type of transition contemporaneous with the transition time 1010),
the second symbol quantity indicates a quantity of guard symbols for switching from the MT resource to the DU resource (Para. [0316] ; Fig. 10B, element 1080; Paras. [0181-0182] – [0181] In another example shown by FIG. 10B, a block diagram illustrates another example resource configuration 1050 with guard symbols for a transition from an MT function to a DU function of a child IAB node, in accordance with various aspects of the present disclosure. The child IAB node may transition from the MT function to the DU function of the child IAB node at a transition time 1060. In the illustrated example configuration 1050, the guard period request (e.g., guard symbols indicated by GuardSymbolsDesired MAC CE or other message field) may indicate a request for four (4) guard symbols for a type of transition contemporaneous with the transition time 1060 (e.g., at least partially overlapping with the transition time 1060, occurring immediately before the transition time 1060, or occurring immediately after the transition time 1060). [0182] Further, the guard period provision (e.g., guard symbols indicated by GuardSymbolsProvided MAC CE or other message field) may indicate a provision of two (2) guard symbols for the type of transition contemporaneous with the transition time 1060),
the second node is a parent node or a donor node of the resource multiplexing apparatus, (Figs. 11-15; Para. [0249] - FIG. 16 is a flowchart of a method 1600 of wireless communication by a parent IAB apparatus, in accordance with various aspects of the present disclosure. The method 1600 may be performed by a base station (e.g., a base station 102/180, 310), IAB apparatus (e.g., an IAB donor 410, 510, 610; an IAB node 420, 520a, 620; a parent IAB apparatus 702, 902, 1102, 1202, 1302, 1402, 1502), and/or apparatus (e.g., the apparatus 1802). According to various different aspects of the method 1600, one or more of the illustrated operations may be omitted, transposed, and/or contemporaneously performed)
and receive second configuration information sent by the second node, wherein the second configuration information comprises second guard interval information associated with a second timing mode of the MT (Fig. 16, steps 1606 and 1610; Fig. 17, step 1706; Figs. 2A-2D; Para. [0126]; Para. [280]; Para. [0155] ;See also Paras. [0145, 0316]),
the second guard interval information comprises a third symbol quantity and a fourth symbol quantity, the third symbol quantity indicates a quantity of guard symbols for switching from the DU resource to the MT resource, and the fourth symbol quantity indicates a quantity of guard symbols for switching from the MT resource to the DU resource (Para. [0316]; Fig. 10A, element 1030; Paras. [0178 - 0179]; Fig. 10B, element 1080; Paras. [0181-0182]).
It is clear to one of ordinary skill of the art that The steps within Luo cited within the initial four limitations can be repeated any number of times when a transition from a Du to MT function or vice versa occurs.
wherein the first timing mode and the second timing mode are associated with different guard interval information (Para. [0017-0018] - [0017] By way of illustration, a child IAB AN may request a guard period from a parent IAB AN by including, in a message, an indication of a number of guard symbols desired and a corresponding subcarrier spacing. A parent IAB AN respond to a request from the child with a message that includes an indication of a number of guard symbols provided and a corresponding subcarrier spacing. [0018] Potentially, the number of guard symbols provided may be less than the number of guard symbols requested. In such instances, the guard period configured by the parent may be insufficient for the child to perform operations commensurate with transitioning. For example, the parent may provide a number of guard symbols that possibly could cause resources allocated for MT communication to overlap with resources allocated for DU communication and/or some other conflict(s) related to transitioning between MT and DU (e.g., including transitioning between transmit and receive circuitry and/or transitioning between uplink and downlink communication); See also Para. [81, 0101-0102]).
The examiner interprets subcarrier spacing as a timing mode because it dictates symbol duration and timing behavior – larger spacing yields shorter symbols, smaller spacing yields longer symbols – thereby defining the timing conditions under which guard intervals are applied.
Yet, Luo does not expressly teach each guard symbol is a symbol that is unavailable to the MT resource.
However, LG2020 teaches
each guard symbol is a symbol that is unavailable to the MT resource (Section 2.1, Proposal 1: 38.213).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Luo’s invention of “guard signals in networks with integrated access and backhaul (IAB)” (Luo Para. [0002]) with LG2020’s invention of IAB resource multiplexing (LG2020 §Introduction) because LG2020’s invention provides (1) solutions for the misunderstanding between the parent node and the IAB node of the actual MT/DU transition location and whether or not the MT/DU transition actually occurred and (2) ambiguity on guard symbol creation (LG2020 Section 2.1).
Yet, Luo nor LG2020 expressly teach wherein the first timing mode and the second timing mode are associated with different respective guard interval information, each timing mode corresponding to a relative transmission timing relationship between the MT and the DU, and the guard interval information defining respective quantities of guard symbols for different switching scenarios, between the DU resource and the MT resource. within its associated timing mode, and wherein switching scenarios applicable under the first timing mode differ from switching scenarios applicable under the second timing mode.
However, Li teaches
wherein the first timing mode and the second timing mode are associated with respective guard interval information (Para. [0049] - In an IAB network, there may exist resource transition time misalignment for a co-located IAB DU/MT. In some aspects, a parent IAB node can be made aware of the number of guard symbols (Ng) the child IAB node would like the parent IAB node not to use (e.g., desired Ng) at the edge (beginning or end) of a slot when there is a transition between child MT and child DU. Separately or additionally, the child IAB node can be made aware of the number of guard symbols that the parent IAB node will provide (e.g., actual Ng). Disclosed techniques are used for generating Ng tables (including eight resource transition cases) for co-located IAB DU/MT resource transitions. More specifically, some disclosed aspects are associated with generating an Ng table with a given maximum cell radius of 10 km and sub-carrier spacing (SCS) of 15 kHz. Additional aspects are associated with generating other Ng tables; See also Para. [0049-0065]; Fig. 4, Para. [0066-0081]; Para. [0082-0087]),
each timing mode corresponding to a relative transmission timing relationship between the MT and the DU (Fig. 4; Para. [0056-0066] - [0056] In some aspects, in one IAB node, the co-located DU and MT functions may have assigned resource transition in the adjacent slots for the DU and MT to transmit (Tx) or receive (Rx). For example, if a resource is assigned for the IAB MT at slot n and a resource is assigned for the co-located IAB DU at slot n−1, the following four resource transition cases may apply: [0057] Case A1: MT Rxat slot n->DU Tx at slot n+1; [0058] Case A2: MT Rx at slot n->DU Rx at slot n+1; [0059] Case A3: MT Tx at slot n->DU Tx at slot n+1; and [0060] Case A4: MT Tx at slot n->DU Rx at slot n+1. [0061] In the meantime, if a resource is assigned for the IAB DU at slot n and a resource is assigned for the co-located IAB MT at slot n+1, there will be the following four transition cases: [0062] Case B1: DU Tx at slot n->MT Tx at slot n+1; [0063] Case B2: DU Tx at slot n->MT Rx at slot n+1; [0064] Case B3: DU Rx at slot n->MT Tx at slot n+1; and [0065] Case B4: DU Rx at slot n->MT Rx at slot n+1. [0066] The above eight possible resource transitions are illustrated in FIG. 4. FIG. 4 illustrates diagram 400 of example resource transitions at co-located MT/DU functions, in accordance with some aspects. From FIG. 4 it may be observed that there exist overlapped resources that cause transmission/receiving conflict for co-located MT/DU functions. Hence, guard symbols (Ng) may need to be added at the edge (beginning or end) of a slot when there is a transition between co-located MT/DU; See also Para. [0049-0065]; Fig. 4, Para. [0066-0081]; Para. [0082-0087] ),
The examiner interprets Li’s MT/DU transition cases in Para. [0057-0065] as timing modes.
and the guard interval information defining respective quantities of guard symbols for different switching scenarios, between the DU resource and the MT resource, within its associated timing mode (Table 2; Para. [0070-0081] - [0070] In some aspects, one or more guard symbols Ng can be provided for each of the possible transitions with potential overlap as illustrated in the following NG table (labeled as Table 1):… [0072] Disclosed techniques relate to different methods to generate the above Ng tables for co-located IAB DU/MT resource transitions…. [0080] An example of IAB maximum cell radius of 10 km and SCS 15 kHz (with the OFDM symbol T.sub.d=66.7 μs) scenario is provided herein. The one-way transmission propagation delay is T.sub.p≤33.3 μs and in the [0,0.5] symbol range. The TA which is (N.sub.TA+N.sub.TA,offset)*T.sub.c defined TS38.213 can be considered as 2*T.sub.p+N.sub.TA,offset*T.sub.c, where N.sub.TA,offset is defined in TS38.133 Table 7.1.2-2. Hence, the TA is in the [0,1.5] symbol range. In some aspects, N.sub.TA,offset*T.sub.c is a reference for switching time between different transitions between DU/MT, which is 10.0.51 symbol range. In some aspects, the number of guard symbols (Ng) for the eight possible resource transitions are provided in the following Table 2; See also Para. [0049-0065]; Fig. 4, Para. [0066-0081]; Para. [0082-0087]),
and wherein switching scenarios applicable under the first timing mode differ from switching scenarios applicable under the second timing mode (Fig. 4; Para. [0056-0066] - [0056] In some aspects, in one IAB node, the co-located DU and MT functions may have assigned resource transition in the adjacent slots for the DU and MT to transmit (Tx) or receive (Rx). For example, if a resource is assigned for the IAB MT at slot n and a resource is assigned for the co-located IAB DU at slot n−1, the following four resource transition cases may apply: [0057] Case A1: MT Rxat slot n->DU Tx at slot n+1; [0058] Case A2: MT Rx at slot n->DU Rx at slot n+1; [0059] Case A3: MT Tx at slot n->DU Tx at slot n+1; and [0060] Case A4: MT Tx at slot n->DU Rx at slot n+1. [0061] In the meantime, if a resource is assigned for the IAB DU at slot n and a resource is assigned for the co-located IAB MT at slot n+1, there will be the following four transition cases: [0062] Case B1: DU Tx at slot n->MT Tx at slot n+1; [0063] Case B2: DU Tx at slot n->MT Rx at slot n+1; [0064] Case B3: DU Rx at slot n->MT Tx at slot n+1; and [0065] Case B4: DU Rx at slot n->MT Rx at slot n+1. [0066] The above eight possible resource transitions are illustrated in FIG. 4. FIG. 4 illustrates diagram 400 of example resource transitions at co-located MT/DU functions, in accordance with some aspects. From FIG. 4 it may be observed that there exist overlapped resources that cause transmission/receiving conflict for co-located MT/DU functions. Hence, guard symbols (Ng) may need to be added at the edge (beginning or end) of a slot when there is a transition between co-located MT/DU; See also Para. [0049-0065]; Fig. 4, Para. [0066-0081]; Para. [0082-0087]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the first timing mode and the second timing mode are associated with different respective guard interval information, each timing mode corresponding to a relative transmission timing relationship between the MT and the DU, and the guard interval information defining respective quantities of guard symbols for different switching scenarios, between the DU resource and the MT resource. within its associated timing mode, and wherein switching scenarios applicable under the first timing mode differ from switching scenarios applicable under the second timing mode as taught by Li, in the combined system of Luo/LG2020, so that it would provide “signaling contents, signaling mechanisms, and detailed signaling methods to fulfill” “the following two purposes: P1: Parent DU to be aware of Ng symbols that an IAB node desires (“desired Ng”); and P2: IAB node to be aware of Ng symbols that its parent DU applies (“actual Ng”)” (Li Para. [0050]).
Regarding Claim 10, Luo teaches a resource multiplexing apparatus, comprising a transceiver, configured to (Fig. 18; Fig. 19; Paras. [0065, 0343, 0367]):
send first configuration information to a first node, wherein the first configuration information comprises first guard interval information associated with a first timing mode of a mobile termination (MT) of the resource multiplexing apparatus (Fig. 16, steps 1606 and 1610; Fig. 17, step 1706; Figs. 2A-2D; Para. [0126]; Para. [280]; Para. [0155]; See also Paras. [0145, 0316]),
the first guard interval information comprises a first symbol quantity and a second symbol quantity (Fig. 16, step 1604; Para. [0345])
the first symbol quantity indicates a quantity of guard symbols for switching from a distributed unit (DU) resource, provided by a distributed unit (DU), to an MT resource (Para. [0300-0303]; Fig. 10A, element 1030; Paras. [0178 - 0179]),
the second symbol quantity indicates a quantity of guard symbols for switching from the MT resource to the DU resource (Para. [0316] ; Fig. 10B, element 1080; Paras. [0181-0182]),
the resource multiplexing apparatus is a parent node or a donor node of the first node, (Figs. 11-15; Para. [0249])
and send second configuration information to the first node, wherein the second configuration information comprises second guard interval information associated with a second timing mode of the MT (Fig. 16, steps 1606 and 1610; Fig. 17, step 1706; Figs. 2A-2D; Para. [0126]; Para. [280]; Para. [0155]; See also Paras. [0145, 0316]),
the second guard interval information comprises a third symbol quantity and a fourth symbol quantity, the third symbol quantity indicates a quantity of guard symbols for switching from the DU resource to the MT resource, and the fourth symbol quantity indicates a quantity of guard symbols for switching from the MT resource to the DU resource (Para. [0316]; Fig. 10A, element 1030; Paras. [0178 - 0179]; Fig. 10B, element 1080; Paras. [0181-0182]).
wherein the first timing mode and the second timing mode are associated with different guard interval information (Para. [0017-0018]; See also Para. [81, 0101-0102]).
Yet, Luo does not expressly teach each guard symbol is a symbol that is unavailable to the MT resource.
However, LG2020 teaches
each guard symbol is a symbol that is unavailable to the MT resource (Section 2.1, Proposal 1: 38.213).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Luo’s invention of “guard signals in networks with integrated access and backhaul (IAB)” (Luo Para. [0002]) with LG2020’s invention of IAB resource multiplexing (LG2020 §Introduction) because LG2020’s invention provides (1) solutions for the misunderstanding between the parent node and the IAB node of the actual MT/DU transition location and whether or not the MT/DU transition actually occurred and (2) ambiguity on guard symbol creation (LG2020 Section 2.1).
Yet, Luo nor LG2020 expressly teach wherein the first timing mode and the second timing mode are associated with different respective guard interval information, each timing mode corresponding to a relative transmission timing relationship between the MT and the DU, and the guard interval information defining respective quantities of guard symbols for different switching scenarios, between the DU resource and the MT resource. within its associated timing mode, and wherein switching scenarios applicable under the first timing mode differ from switching scenarios applicable under the second timing mode.
However, Li teaches
wherein the first timing mode and the second timing mode are associated with respective guard interval information (Para. [0049] - In an IAB network, there may exist resource transition time misalignment for a co-located IAB DU/MT. In some aspects, a parent IAB node can be made aware of the number of guard symbols (Ng) the child IAB node would like the parent IAB node not to use (e.g., desired Ng) at the edge (beginning or end) of a slot when there is a transition between child MT and child DU. Separately or additionally, the child IAB node can be made aware of the number of guard symbols that the parent IAB node will provide (e.g., actual Ng). Disclosed techniques are used for generating Ng tables (including eight resource transition cases) for co-located IAB DU/MT resource transitions. More specifically, some disclosed aspects are associated with generating an Ng table with a given maximum cell radius of 10 km and sub-carrier spacing (SCS) of 15 kHz. Additional aspects are associated with generating other Ng tables; See also Para. [0049-0065]; Fig. 4, Para. [0066-0081]; Para. [0082-0087]),
each timing mode corresponding to a relative transmission timing relationship between the MT and the DU (Fig. 4; Para. [0056-0066] - [0056] In some aspects, in one IAB node, the co-located DU and MT functions may have assigned resource transition in the adjacent slots for the DU and MT to transmit (Tx) or receive (Rx). For example, if a resource is assigned for the IAB MT at slot n and a resource is assigned for the co-located IAB DU at slot n−1, the following four resource transition cases may apply: [0057] Case A1: MT Rxat slot n->DU Tx at slot n+1; [0058] Case A2: MT Rx at slot n->DU Rx at slot n+1; [0059] Case A3: MT Tx at slot n->DU Tx at slot n+1; and [0060] Case A4: MT Tx at slot n->DU Rx at slot n+1. [0061] In the meantime, if a resource is assigned for the IAB DU at slot n and a resource is assigned for the co-located IAB MT at slot n+1, there will be the following four transition cases: [0062] Case B1: DU Tx at slot n->MT Tx at slot n+1; [0063] Case B2: DU Tx at slot n->MT Rx at slot n+1; [0064] Case B3: DU Rx at slot n->MT Tx at slot n+1; and [0065] Case B4: DU Rx at slot n->MT Rx at slot n+1. [0066] The above eight possible resource transitions are illustrated in FIG. 4. FIG. 4 illustrates diagram 400 of example resource transitions at co-located MT/DU functions, in accordance with some aspects. From FIG. 4 it may be observed that there exist overlapped resources that cause transmission/receiving conflict for co-located MT/DU functions. Hence, guard symbols (Ng) may need to be added at the edge (beginning or end) of a slot when there is a transition between co-located MT/DU; See also Para. [0049-0065]; Fig. 4, Para. [0066-0081]; Para. [0082-0087] ),
The examiner interprets Li’s MT/DU transition cases in Para. [0057-0065] as timing modes.
and the guard interval information defining respective quantities of guard symbols for different switching scenarios, between the DU resource and the MT resource, within its associated timing mode (Table 2; Para. [0070-0081] - [0070] In some aspects, one or more guard symbols Ng can be provided for each of the possible transitions with potential overlap as illustrated in the following NG table (labeled as Table 1):… [0072] Disclosed techniques relate to different methods to generate the above Ng tables for co-located IAB DU/MT resource transitions…. [0080] An example of IAB maximum cell radius of 10 km and SCS 15 kHz (with the OFDM symbol T.sub.d=66.7 μs) scenario is provided herein. The one-way transmission propagation delay is T.sub.p≤33.3 μs and in the [0,0.5] symbol range. The TA which is (N.sub.TA+N.sub.TA,offset)*T.sub.c defined TS38.213 can be considered as 2*T.sub.p+N.sub.TA,offset*T.sub.c, where N.sub.TA,offset is defined in TS38.133 Table 7.1.2-2. Hence, the TA is in the [0,1.5] symbol range. In some aspects, N.sub.TA,offset*T.sub.c is a reference for switching time between different transitions between DU/MT, which is 10.0.51 symbol range. In some aspects, the number of guard symbols (Ng) for the eight possible resource transitions are provided in the following Table 2; See also Para. [0049-0065]; Fig. 4, Para. [0066-0081]; Para. [0082-0087]),
and wherein switching scenarios applicable under the first timing mode differ from switching scenarios applicable under the second timing mode (Fig. 4; Para. [0056-0066] - [0056] In some aspects, in one IAB node, the co-located DU and MT functions may have assigned resource transition in the adjacent slots for the DU and MT to transmit (Tx) or receive (Rx). For example, if a resource is assigned for the IAB MT at slot n and a resource is assigned for the co-located IAB DU at slot n−1, the following four resource transition cases may apply: [0057] Case A1: MT Rxat slot n->DU Tx at slot n+1; [0058] Case A2: MT Rx at slot n->DU Rx at slot n+1; [0059] Case A3: MT Tx at slot n->DU Tx at slot n+1; and [0060] Case A4: MT Tx at slot n->DU Rx at slot n+1. [0061] In the meantime, if a resource is assigned for the IAB DU at slot n and a resource is assigned for the co-located IAB MT at slot n+1, there will be the following four transition cases: [0062] Case B1: DU Tx at slot n->MT Tx at slot n+1; [0063] Case B2: DU Tx at slot n->MT Rx at slot n+1; [0064] Case B3: DU Rx at slot n->MT Tx at slot n+1; and [0065] Case B4: DU Rx at slot n->MT Rx at slot n+1. [0066] The above eight possible resource transitions are illustrated in FIG. 4. FIG. 4 illustrates diagram 400 of example resource transitions at co-located MT/DU functions, in accordance with some aspects. From FIG. 4 it may be observed that there exist overlapped resources that cause transmission/receiving conflict for co-located MT/DU functions. Hence, guard symbols (Ng) may need to be added at the edge (beginning or end) of a slot when there is a transition between co-located MT/DU; See also Para. [0049-0065]; Fig. 4, Para. [0066-0081]; Para. [0082-0087]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the first timing mode and the second timing mode are associated with different respective guard interval information, each timing mode corresponding to a relative transmission timing relationship between the MT and the DU, and the guard interval information defining respective quantities of guard symbols for different switching scenarios, between the DU resource and the MT resource. within its associated timing mode, and wherein switching scenarios applicable under the first timing mode differ from switching scenarios applicable under the second timing mode as taught by Li, in the combined system of Luo/LG2020, so that it would provide “signaling contents, signaling mechanisms, and detailed signaling methods to fulfill” “the following two purposes: P1: Parent DU to be aware of Ng symbols that an IAB node desires (“desired Ng”); and P2: IAB node to be aware of Ng symbols that its parent DU applies (“actual Ng”)” (Li Para. [0050]).
Regarding Claim 2, Luo in view of LG2020 and Li teaches Claim 1.
Luo further teaches
when a timing mode of the resource multiplexing apparatus is the first timing mode, determine a time domain position of the MT resource based on a time domain position of the DU resource and the first guard interval information; or when a timing mode of the resource multiplexing apparatus is the second timing mode, determine a time domain position of the MT resource based on a time domain position of the DU resource and the second guard interval information (Para. [0159] - In some aspects, a guard period may vary according to the type of transition between MT and DU functions at the child IAB node 904. The child IAB node 904 may make a determination 905 of the guard period (e.g., guard period length and/or position) to request in order to allow the child IAB node 904 to transition between MT and DU functions, e.g., allowing both the MT and DU functions to adhere to respective schedules, such that conflicts between resources on which the MT and DU functions communicate are avoided. Thus, in some aspects, the child IAB node 904 may make a determination 905 of the guard period to request based on the type of transition at the child IAB node 904; See also Paras. [0170 and 0174]).
Regarding Claim 3, Luo in view of LG2020 and Li teaches Claim 1.
Luo further teaches
report, to the second node, third guard interval information associated with the first timing mode of the MT, wherein the third guard interval information comprises a fifth symbol quantity and a sixth symbol quantity, the fifth symbol quantity indicates a quantity of guard symbols for switching from the DU resource to the MT resource, and the sixth symbol quantity indicates a quantity of guard symbols for switching from the MT resource to the DU resource; and report, to the second node, fourth guard interval information associated with the second timing mode of the MT, wherein the fourth guard interval information comprises a seventh symbol quantity and an eighth symbol quantity, the seventh symbol quantity indicates a quantity of guard symbols for switching from the DU resource to the MT resource, and the eighth symbol quantity indicates a quantity of guard symbols for switching from the MT resource to the DU resource (Fig. 16, steps 1606 and 1610; Fig. 17, step 1706; Para. [280] ; Para. [0155] ; Paras. [0145, 0316]; Fig. 16, step 1604; Para. [0345]; Para. [0316]; Fig. 10A, element 1030; Paras. [0178 - 0179]; Fig. 10B, element 1080; Paras. [0181-0182]).
Regarding Claim 11, Luo in view of LG2020 and Li teaches Claim 10.
Luo further teaches
receive third guard interval information that is associated with the first timing mode of the MT and reported by the first node, wherein the third guard interval information comprises a fifth symbol quantity and a sixth symbol quantity, the fifth symbol quantity indicates a quantity of guard symbols for switching from the DU resource to the MT resource, and the sixth symbol quantity indicates a quantity of guard symbols for switching from the MT resource to the DU resource; and receive fourth guard interval information that is associated with the second timing mode of the MT and that is reported by the first node, wherein the fourth guard interval information comprises a seventh symbol quantity and an eighth symbol quantity, the seventh symbol quantity indicates a quantity of guard symbols for switching from the DU resource to the MT resource, and the eighth symbol quantity indicates a quantity of guard symbols for switching from the MT resource to the DU resource (Fig. 16, steps 1606 and 1610; Fig. 17, step 1706; Para. [280] ; Para. [0155] ; Paras. [0145, 0316]; Fig. 16, step 1604; Para. [0345]; Para. [0316]; Fig. 10A, element 1030; Paras. [0178 - 0179]; Fig. 10B, element 1080; Paras. [0181-0182]).
Regarding Claims 5 and 13, Luo in view of LG2020 and Li teach Claims 1 and 10.
Luo further teaches
wherein when a timing mode of the resource multiplexing apparatus is the second timing mode, and the second timing mode is timing mode 6, switching scenarios for switching between the DU resource and the MT resource comprise/include: MT uplink transmission to DU downlink transmission (MT UL Tx to DU DL Tx), MT uplink transmission to DU uplink receiving (MT UL Tx to DU UL Rx), DU downlink transmission to MT uplink transmission (DU DL Tx to MT UL Tx) and DU uplink transmission to MT uplink transmission (DU UL Rx to MT UL Tx) (Fig. 8; Paras. [0148 – 0152, 0155, 0156]; Paras. [0153-0154] - [0153] In some instances, the IAB node may transition from the MT function to the DU function, and as illustrated in the example table 800, such a transition may be one of multiple different types (e.g., four different types of transitions from MT to DU functions). A transition from using an MT function to receive DL data (e.g., DL RX) to using a DU function to transmit DL data (DL TX) may be referred to as a Type 1 transition. A transition from using an MT function to receive DL data (DL RX) to using a DU function to receive UL data (UL RX) may be referred to as a Type 2 transition. A transition from using an MT function to transmit UL data (UL TX) to using a DU function to transmit DL data (DL TX) may be referred to as a Type 3 transition. A transition from using an MT function to transmit UL data (UL TX) to using a DU function to receive UL data (UL RX) may be referred to as a Type 4 transition. [0154] In some other instances, the IAB node may transition from the DU function to the DU function, and as illustrated in the example table 800, such a transition may be one of multiple different types (e.g., four different types of transitions from MT to DU functions). A transition from using a DU function to transmit DL data (DL TX) to using an MT function to receive DL data (DL RX) may be referred to as a Type 5 transition. A transition from using a DU function to transmit DL data (DL TX) to using an MT function to transmit UL data (UL TX) may be referred to as a Type 6 transition. A transition from using a DU function to receive UL data (UL RX) to using an MT function to receive DL data (DL RX) may be referred to as a Type 7 transition. A transition from using a DU function to receive UL data (UL RX) to using an MT function to transmit uplink data (UL TX) may be referred to as a Type 8 transition; See also Paras. [0126, 0205-0208]).
Regarding Claims 6 and 14, Luo in view of LG2020 and Li teach Claims 1 and 10.
Luo further teaches
wherein the first timing mode is a timing mode 1, and the second timing mode is a timing mode 6; or the first timing mode is a timing mode 1, and the second timing mode is a timing mode 7; or the first timing mode is a timing mode 6, and the second timing mode is a timing mode 7 (Figs. 2A-2D; Paras. [0126, 0205-0208]).
Regarding Claim 17, Luo in view of LG2020 and Li teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Luo does not expressly teach wherein the guard symbol is unavailable to the MT resource in a specific direction before and after the DU resource in the specific direction when transmission is performed on the DU resource.
However, LG2020 teaches
wherein the guard symbol is unavailable to the MT resource in a specific direction before and after the DU resource in the specific direction when transmission is performed on the DU resource.(Section 2.1, Proposal 1: 38.213).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Luo’s invention of “guard signals in networks with integrated access and backhaul (IAB)” (Luo Para. [0002]) with LG2020’s invention of IAB resource multiplexing (LG2020 §Introduction) because LG2020’s invention provides (1) solutions for the misunderstanding between the parent node and the IAB node of the actual MT/DU transition location and whether or not the MT/DU transition actually occurred and (2) ambiguity on guard symbol creation (LG2020 Section 2.1).
Regarding Claim 18, Luo in view of LG2020 and Li teaches Claim 17.
Luo also teaches
wherein the specific direction is downlink, uplink or flexible (Para. [0080] - The 5G NR frame structure may be frequency division duplexed (FDD) in which for a particular set of subcarriers (carrier system bandwidth), subframes within the set of subcarriers are dedicated for either DL or UL, or may be time division duplexed (TDD) in which for a particular set of subcarriers (carrier system bandwidth), subframes within the set of subcarriers are dedicated for both DL and UL. In the examples provided by FIGS. 2A, 2C, the 5G NR frame structure is assumed to be TDD, with subframe 4 being configured with slot format 28 (with mostly DL), where D is DL, U is UL, and F is flexible for use between DL/UL, and subframe 3 being configured with slot format 34 (with mostly UL). While subframes 3, 4 are shown with slot formats 34, 28, respectively, any particular subframe may be configured with any of the various available slot formats 0-61. Slot formats 0, 1 are all DL, UL, respectively. Other slot formats 2-61 include a mix of DL, UL, and flexible symbols. UEs are configured with the slot format (dynamically through DL control information (DCI), or semi-statically/statically through RRC signaling) through a received slot format indicator (SFI). Note that the description infra applies also to a 5G NR frame structure that is TDD).
Claim(s) 4, 7, 8, 12, 15, 16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo in view of LG2020 and Li as applied to Claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Maya et al. (US 2024/0357670, previously presented), Maya hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 4, Luo in view of LG2020 and Li teaches Claim 1.
Luo teaches
when a timing mode of the resource multiplexing apparatus is the second timing mode, and the second timing mode is timing mode 6 (Paras. [0126, 0205-0208]).
Yet, Luo, LG2020, nor Li explicitly teach MT uplink sending of the resource multiplexing apparatus is aligned with DU downlink sending of the resource multiplexing apparatus in time domain.
However, Maya teaches
MT uplink sending of the resource multiplexing apparatus is aligned with DU downlink sending of the resource multiplexing apparatus in time domain (Fig. 19(a); Fig. 19(b); Fig. 22; Para. [0576] - The timing of various Tx/Rx at MT and DU of an IAB node (100) is illustrated in FIG. 22. In figure, T1 denotes the propagation delay between IAB node (100) and its parent node (100b), T2 denotes the propagation delay between IAB node (100) and its child node (100c), and TA denotes the timing advance value signaled by the parent node (100b) to align UL-Rx from IAB node (100). The values of T1, T2 and TA varies depending on the capabilities of the IAB node (100), its parent node (100b), and the child node (100c). In case of IAB node (100) with at least one of TDM and SRxDM capabilities, there is no constraint on the UL Tx time at the IAB node (100). Therefore, IAB node (100) directly applies the TA value signaled by parent node (100b) for UL-Tx. A parent node (100b) with at least one of TDM and STxDM capability signals TA=2T1, whereas a parent node (100b) with SRxDM capability signals TA=2T1−T0, where T0 denote the DL-Rx time at the parent node (100b). In case of IAB node (100) with STxDM, both UL-Tx and DL-Tx timings are aligned, and therefore TA=T1 irrespective of the capability of parent node (100b)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide MT uplink sending of the resource multiplexing apparatus is aligned with DU downlink sending of the resource multiplexing apparatus in time domain as taught by Maya into the combined system of Luo/LG2020/Li , so that it would provide techniques in “assigning resources semi-statically and/or dynamically to MT and DU of an IAB node” to mitigate resource waste and increased latency (Maya Para. [0099]).
Regarding Claim 12, Luo in view of LG2020 and Li teaches Claim 10.
Luo teaches
wherein when a timing mode of the first node is the second timing mode, and the second timing mode is timing mode 6 (Paras. [0126, 0205-0208]).
Yet, Luo, LG2020, nor Li explicitly teach MT uplink sending of the first node is aligned with DU downlink sending of the first node in time domain.
However, Maya teaches
MT uplink sending of the first node is aligned with DU downlink sending of the first node in time domain(Fig. 19(a); Fig. 19(b); Fig. 22; Para. [0576]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide teach MT uplink sending of the first node is aligned with DU downlink sending of the first node in time domain as taught by Maya into the combined system of Luo/LG2020/Li , so that it would provide techniques in “assigning resources semi-statically and/or dynamically to MT and DU of an IAB node” to mitigate resource waste and increased latency (Maya Para. [0099]).
Regarding Claim 7, Luo in view of LG2020 and Li teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Luo, LG2020, nor Li explicitly teach receive a timing difference that is between the first timing mode and the second timing mode and that is configured by the second node.
However, Maya teaches
receive a timing difference that is between the first timing mode and the second timing mode and is configured by the second node (Fig. 22; Para. [0576] - The timing of various Tx/Rx at MT and DU of an IAB node (100) is illustrated in FIG. 22. In figure, T1 denotes the propagation delay between IAB node (100) and its parent node (100b), T2 denotes the propagation delay between IAB node (100) and its child node (100c), and TA denotes the timing advance value signaled by the parent node (100b) to align UL-Rx from IAB node (100). The values of T1, T2 and TA varies depending on the capabilities of the IAB node (100), its parent node (100b), and the child node (100c). In case of IAB node (100) with at least one of TDM and SRxDM capabilities, there is no constraint on the UL Tx time at the IAB node (100). Therefore, IAB node (100) directly applies the TA value signaled by parent node (100b) for UL-Tx. A parent node (100b) with at least one of TDM and STxDM capability signals TA=2T1, whereas a parent node (100b) with SRxDM capability signals TA=2T1−T0, where T0 denote the DL-Rx time at the parent node (100b). In case of IAB node (100) with STxDM, both UL-Tx and DL-Tx timings are aligned, and therefore TA=T1 irrespective of the capability of parent node (100b); See also Para. [0564]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide teach receive a timing difference that is between the first timing mode and the second timing mode and that is configured by the second node as taught by Maya into the combined system of Luo/LG2020/Li , so that it would provide techniques in “assigning resources semi-statically and/or dynamically to MT and DU of an IAB node” to mitigate resource waste and increased latency (Maya Para. [0099]).
Regarding Claim 15, Luo in view of LG2020 and Li teaches Claim 10.
Yet, Luo, LG2020, nor Li explicitly teach send a configured timing difference between the first timing mode and the second timing mode to the first node.
However, Maya teaches
send a configured timing difference between the first timing mode and the second timing mode to the first node (Fig. 22; Para. [0576]; See also Para. [0564]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide teach send a configured timing difference between the first timing mode and the second timing mode to the first node as taught by Maya into the combined system of Luo/LG2020/Li , so that it would provide techniques in “assigning resources semi-statically and/or dynamically to MT and DU of an IAB node” to mitigate resource waste and increased latency (Maya Para. [0099]).
Regarding Claim 8, Luo in view of LG2020 and Li teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Luo, LG2020, nor Li explicitly teach when the second node configures the resource multiplexing apparatus to use a third timing mode, report, to the second node, fifth guard interval information associated with the third timing mode.
However, Maya teaches
when the second node configures the resource multiplexing apparatus to use a third timing mode, report, to the second node, fifth guard interval information associated with the third timing mode (Fig. 24, steps 2403 and 2407; Para. [0604] - At step 2403, capability information, IAB node (100) informs the donor node (100d) about its capabilities, including the capable multiplexing scheme used to multiplex resource between backhaul and access links (TDM/FDM/SDM), switching time between transmission and reception, guard period required in switching between its MT and DU. The donor node (100d) responds with the number of guard symbols provided for each MT-DU switching at the IAB node (100); See also Para. [0607, 0551, 0574, 0584]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide when the second node configures the resource multiplexing apparatus to use a third timing mode, report, to the second node, fifth guard interval information associated with the third timing mode as taught by Maya into the combined system of Luo/LG2020/Li , so that it would provide techniques in “assigning resources semi-statically and/or dynamically to MT and DU of an IAB node” to mitigate resource waste and increased latency (Maya Para. [0099]).
Regarding Claim 16, Luo in view of LG2020 and Li teaches Claim 10.
Yet, Luo, LG2020, nor Li explicitly teach when the second node configures the resource multiplexing apparatus to use a third timing mode, report, to the second node, fifth guard interval information associated with the third timing mode.
However, Maya teaches
when the resource multiplexing apparatus configures the first node to use a third timing mode, receive fifth guard interval information that is associated with the third timing mode and is reported by the first node. (Fig. 24, steps 2403 and 2407; Para. [0604]; See also Para. [0607, 0551, 0574, 0584]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide when the second node configures the resource multiplexing apparatus to use a third timing mode, report, to the second node, fifth guard interval information associated with the third timing mode as taught by Maya into the combined system of Luo/LG2020/Li , so that it would provide techniques in “assigning resources semi-statically and/or dynamically to MT and DU of an IAB node” to mitigate resource waste and increased latency (Maya Para. [0099]).
Regarding Claim 20, Luo in view of LG2020 and Li teaches Claim 1.
Luo teaches
wherein the resource multiplexing apparatus is an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node (Fig. 5, Para. [0112-0122]; See also Fig. 6, Para. [0123-0125]; Fig. 7, Para. [0126-0147]; Fig. 11, Para. [0188-0211]; Fig. 12, Para. [0212-0218]; Fig. 13, Para. [0219-0225]; Fig. 14, Para. [0226-0236]; Fig. 15, Para. [0237-0248]; Fig. 16, Para. [0249-0298]; Fig. 17, Para. [0299-0342]).
Yet, Luo, LG2020, nor Li explicitly teach and, in the second timing mode, uplink sending of the MT of the IAB node and downlink sending of the DU that is co- located with the MT of the IAB node are aligned in time domain.
However, Maya teaches
and, in the second timing mode, uplink sending of the MT of the IAB node and downlink sending of the DU that is co- located with the MT of the IAB node are aligned in time domain (Fig. 3b; Para. [0031] - [0031] FIG. 3 illustrates the timing diagram in TDM, STxDM and SRxDM scenarios…The timing of various Tx/Rx in an IAB node (100) when both IAB node (100) and its parent node (100b) with STxDM is presented in FIG. 3b. Here, the UL and DL transmissions are time aligned at an IAB node (100). Therefore, the DL Tx time is equal to the TA value and is given by the propagation delay between the nodes. Since the Tx from the IAB nodes (100) are tied, the UL Rx from the IAB node (100) occur after a delay of T1 from the DL Tx at the parent node (100b); See also Para. [0549]; Fig. 19, Para. [0542-0543]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide and, in the second timing mode, uplink sending of the MT of the IAB node and downlink sending of the DU that is co- located with the MT of the IAB node are aligned in time domain as taught by Maya into the combined system of Luo/LG2020/Li , so that it would provide techniques in “assigning resources semi-statically and/or dynamically to MT and DU of an IAB node” to mitigate resource waste and increased latency (Maya Para. [0099]).
Figure 1: Fig. 3a and 3b from Maya (US 2024/0357670)
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo in view of LG2020 and Li as applied to Claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Luo et al. (US 2021/0227544, previously presented), Luo2021 hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 9, Luo in view of LG2020 and Li teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Luo, LG2020, nor Li explicitly teach wherein the first symbol quantity comprises a quantity of symbols that separate a DU downlink symbol from an MT downlink symbol are separated, a quantity of symbols that separate the DU downlink symbol from an MT uplink symbol, a quantity of symbols that separate a DU uplink symbol from the MT uplink symbol, and a quantity of symbols that separate the DU uplink symbol from the MT downlink symbol; and the second symbol quantity comprises a quantity of symbols that separate the MT downlink symbol from the DU downlink symbol, a quantity of symbols that separate the MT downlink symbol from the DU uplink symbol, a quantity of symbols that separate the MT uplink symbol from the DU uplink symbol, and a quantity of symbols that separate the MT uplink symbol from the DU downlink symbol.
However, Luo2021 teaches
wherein the first symbol quantity comprises a quantity of symbols that separate a DU downlink symbol from an MT downlink symbol are separated, a quantity of symbols that separate the DU downlink symbol from an MT uplink symbol, a quantity of symbols that separate a DU uplink symbol from the MT uplink symbol, and a quantity of symbols that separate the DU uplink symbol from the MT downlink symbol; and the second symbol quantity comprises a quantity of symbols that separate the MT downlink symbol from the DU downlink symbol, a quantity of symbols that separate the MT downlink symbol from the DU uplink symbol, a quantity of symbols that separate the MT uplink symbol from the DU uplink symbol, and a quantity of symbols that separate the MT uplink symbol from the DU downlink symbol (Fig. 9; Para. [0107-0108]; Para. [0109] - FIG. 9 illustrates an example of a table 900 including different switch types 910 and associated numbers of guard symbols 912 in an IAB network. Each switch type 910 involves a switch from a MT unit to a DU of an IAB node (MT to DU switch) 902 or a switch from the DU to the MT unit of the IAB node (DU to MT switch 904). [0110] Each switch type 910 may be associated with a respective number of guard symbols 912. In some examples, the number of guard symbols may be the same among each of the switch types 910. In other examples, one or more of the switch types 910 may include a different number of guard symbols.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the first symbol quantity comprises a quantity of symbols that separate a DU downlink symbol from an MT downlink symbol are separated, a quantity of symbols that separate the DU downlink symbol from an MT uplink symbol, a quantity of symbols that separate a DU uplink symbol from the MT uplink symbol, and a quantity of symbols that separate the DU uplink symbol from the MT downlink symbol; and the second symbol quantity comprises a quantity of symbols that separate the MT downlink symbol from the DU downlink symbol, a quantity of symbols that separate the MT downlink symbol from the DU uplink symbol, a quantity of symbols that separate the MT uplink symbol from the DU uplink symbol, and a quantity of symbols that separate the MT uplink symbol from the DU downlink symbol as taught by Luo2021 into the combined system of Luo/LG2020/Li , so that it would provide enhancements in “the provision of gaps at transitions between resources allocated for communication on access links and resources allocated for communication on backhaul links in an integrated access backhaul network” (Luo2021 Para. [0035]).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo in view of LG2020 and Li as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Huang et al. (US 2022/0264565), Huang hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 19, Luo in view of LG2020 and Li teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Luo, LG2020, nor Li expressly teach wherein in the first timing mode, uplink transmit frame timing of an MT is earlier than downlink receive frame timing of the MT.
However, Huang teaches
wherein in the first timing mode, uplink transmit frame timing of an MT is earlier than downlink receive frame timing of the MT (Fig. 7, Para. [0106-0110] - [0106] Due to the timing misalignment between IAB MT and DU as illustrated in FIG. 7, such information is not sufficient for the parent node to do proper scheduling towards an IAB MT without possible resource wastage. FIG. 7: depicts timing misalignment between IAB MT and DU resources at the k-th slot; the parameters are positive in the arrow-pointing direction. “Tx” denotes transmission and “Rx” denotes reception. Three timing properties present at the IAB node: …[0108] TA: timing advance, i.e., difference between the UL transmitting timing and the DL receiving timing at the IAB node (MT); See also Para. [0114-0121], Table 3, Fig. 9, Para. [0122-0128], Fig. 10, Para. [0129-0132]).
Figure 2: Fig. 7 from Huang (US 20220264565)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein in the first timing mode, uplink transmit frame timing of an MT is earlier than downlink receive frame timing of the MT as taught by Huang, in the combined system of Luo/LG2020/Li, so that it would provide timing information to the parent node to improve resource coordination and reduce conflicts between MT and DU functionalities within an IAB node (Huang Para. [0059]).
Conclusion
/R.A.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/Thomas R Cairns/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468