DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an amendment filed on 03/18/2026.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 03/18/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1, 4-5, 7, 9-10, 12, 15-16, 18 and 20 are pending
Claims 1, 7 and 12 are amended
Claims 2-3, 6, 8, 11, 13-14, 17 and 19 are canceled
Claims 1, 4-5, 7, 9-10, 12, 15-16, 18 and 20 remain rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 7, 9-10, 12, 15-16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AHN et al. (US 20210376967 A1), hereinafter referenced as Ahn, in view of YEO et al. (US 20230362932 A1), hereinafter referenced as Yeo.
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Ahn teaches a Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest (HARQ) feedback method (Para. [0088]-Ahn discloses feedback scheme based on a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) protocol or a HARQ feedback scheme. Para. [0002]-Ahn discloses method and an apparatus for transmitting and receiving a feedback signal in a wireless communication system. Fig. 2, Para. [0053]-Ahn discloses a communication node 200 may comprise at least one processor 210, a memory 220, and a transceiver 230 connected to the network for performing communications. Also, the communication node 200 may further comprise an input interface device 240, an output interface device 250, a storage device 260), comprising:
obtaining, by a terminal, first configuration information from a network device (Para. [0009]-Ahn discloses receiving first configuration information from a first base station in the communication system, the first configuration information including configuration information of a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) format for feedback); and
determining, by the terminal, a HARQ feedback mode for a first service based on the first configuration information (Para. [0019]-Ahn discloses the first feedback scheme may be indicated selectively among an ACK/NACK HARQ scheme, NACK-only HARQ scheme, ACK-only HARQ scheme, and no-HARQ scheme through the first configuration information, the first DCI, or a radio resource control (RRC) message controlling scheduling information of the first downlink data. Para. [0174]-Ahn discloses communication node 602 may configure one of the first to fourth feedback schemes to the first communication node 601 through the first configuration information, one or more DCIs and/or an RRC message that controls scheduling information of one or more PDSCHs),
the first configuration information is transmitted via radio resource control (RRC) signaling or downlink control information (DCI) scheduling the first service (Para. [0174]-Ahn discloses the second communication node 602 may configure one of the first to fourth feedback schemes to the first communication node 601 through the first configuration information, one or more DCIs and/or an RRC message that controls scheduling information of one or more PDSCHs. Para. [0028]-Ahn discloses the first base station may indicate feedback scheme(s) to a plurality of terminal groups through the first configuration information, a plurality of DCIs scheduling a plurality of downlink data units, or a plurality of radio resource control (RRC) messages controlling scheduling information of the plurality of downlink data units before transmitting the plurality of downlink data units to the plurality of terminal groups. Para. [0075]-Ahn discloses configuration of the RB may refer to a process of specifying characteristics of radio protocol layers and channels required to provide a specific service. (See also Para. [0019])),
the HARQ feedback mode for the first service comprises at least one of: a NACK-Only feedback mode, an ACK-or-NACK feedback mode, or No-HARQ feedback (Para. [0019]-Ahn discloses the first feedback scheme may be indicated selectively among an ACK/NACK HARQ scheme, NACK-only HARQ scheme, ACK-only HARQ scheme, and no-HARQ scheme through the first configuration information, the first DCI, or a radio resource control (RRC) message controlling scheduling information of the first downlink data. Fig. 6, Para. [0109]-Ahn discloses the first communication node 601 may transmit a feedback signal notifying the reception failure. The second feedback scheme may be referred to as ‘NACK-only feedback scheme’ or ‘NACK-only HARQ scheme’. Para. [0174]-Ahn discloses If it is identified that the second feedback scheme (i.e., NACK-only HARQ scheme) is configured to the first communication node 601, the first communication node 601 may determine that transmission of a NACK signal only for a signal not normally received in the step S640 is required).
Ahn fails to teach the first configuration information comprises one of: a communication distance threshold, and a first state value described in at least one related field in the DCI scheduling the first service; wherein the determining, by the terminal, the HARQ feedback mode for the first service based on the first configuration information comprises one of: determining, by the terminal, the HARQ feedback mode for the first service based on the communication distance threshold and a communication distance between the terminal and the network device; and determining, by the terminal, the HARQ feedback mode for the first service based on the first state value and a predetermined state table.
However, Yeo teaches the first configuration information comprises one of: a communication distance threshold, and a first state value described in at least one related field in the DCI scheduling the first service (Para. [0218-0222]-Yeo discloses downlink control information, for example DCI, may include at least one of the following bit fields ... Threshold distance (threshold value) field. Para. [0124]-Yeo discloses a threshold value (threshold) may be included in the DCI for groupcast, and the threshold value may be used to compare with a distance or received energy for determining whether the terminal transmits HARQ feedback information. For example, if whether to transmit the HARQ feedback information is determined based on the distance, the threshold value may be set, for example, based on a separation distance from the reference location. Para. [0162]-Yeo discloses the terminal may transmit HARQ ACK/NACK for uplink data);
the determining, by the terminal, the HARQ feedback mode for the first service based on the first configuration information comprises one of: determining, by the terminal, the HARQ feedback mode for the first service based on the communication distance threshold and a communication distance between the terminal and the network device; and determining, by the terminal, the HARQ feedback mode for the first service based on the first state value and a predetermined state table (Para. [0124]-Yeo discloses a threshold value (threshold) may be included in the DCI for groupcast, and the threshold value may be used to compare with a distance or received energy for determining whether the terminal transmits HARQ feedback information. For example, if whether to transmit the HARQ feedback information is determined based on the distance, the threshold value may be set, for example, based on a separation distance from the reference location. Para. [0218-0222]-Yeo discloses downlink control information, for example DCI, may include at least one of the following bit fields ... Threshold distance (threshold value) field. Para. [0162]-Yeo discloses the terminal may transmit HARQ ACK/NACK for uplink data).
Ahn and Yeo are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication system technologies, dealing with method and apparatus to transmit/receive a signal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Ahn to incorporate the teachings of Yeo on HARQ feedback, with a motivation for feedback based on distance threshold, and guarantee efficiently performing feedback scheme configuration and feedback signal transmission and reception, (Yeo, Para. [0008]).
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Ahn teaches a Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest (HARQ) feedback method (Para. [0088]-Ahn discloses feedback scheme based on a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) protocol or a HARQ feedback scheme. Para. [0002]-Ahn discloses method and an apparatus for transmitting and receiving a feedback signal in a wireless communication system. Fig. 2, Para. [0053]-Ahn discloses a communication node 200 may comprise at least one processor 210, a memory 220, and a transceiver 230 connected to the network for performing communications. Also, the communication node 200 may further comprise an input interface device 240, an output interface device 250, a storage device 260), comprising:
transmitting, by a network device, first configuration information to a terminal (Para. [0009]-Ahn discloses receiving first configuration information from a first base station in the communication system, the first configuration information including configuration information of a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) format for feedback),
the first configuration information being used to determine a HARQ feedback mode for a first service (Para. [0019]-Ahn discloses the first feedback scheme may be indicated selectively among an ACK/NACK HARQ scheme, NACK-only HARQ scheme, ACK-only HARQ scheme, and no-HARQ scheme through the first configuration information, the first DCI, or a radio resource control (RRC) message controlling scheduling information of the first downlink data. Para. [0174]-Ahn discloses communication node 602 may configure one of the first to fourth feedback schemes to the first communication node 601 through the first configuration information, one or more DCIs and/or an RRC message that controls scheduling information of one or more PDSCHs),
the first configuration information is transmitted via radio resource control (RRC) signaling or downlink control information (DCI) scheduling the first service (Para. [0174]-Ahn discloses the second communication node 602 may configure one of the first to fourth feedback schemes to the first communication node 601 through the first configuration information, one or more DCIs and/or an RRC message that controls scheduling information of one or more PDSCHs. Para. [0028]-Ahn discloses the first base station may indicate feedback scheme(s) to a plurality of terminal groups through the first configuration information, a plurality of DCIs scheduling a plurality of downlink data units, or a plurality of radio resource control (RRC) messages controlling scheduling information of the plurality of downlink data units before transmitting the plurality of downlink data units to the plurality of terminal groups. Para. [0075]-Ahn discloses configuration of the RB may refer to a process of specifying characteristics of radio protocol layers and channels required to provide a specific service. (See also Para. [0019])),
the HARQ feedback mode for the first service comprises at least one of: a NACK-Only feedback mode, an ACK-or-NACK feedback mode, or No-HARQ feedback (Para. [0019]-Ahn discloses the first feedback scheme may be indicated selectively among an ACK/NACK HARQ scheme, NACK-only HARQ scheme, ACK-only HARQ scheme, and no-HARQ scheme through the first configuration information, the first DCI, or a radio resource control (RRC) message controlling scheduling information of the first downlink data. Fig. 6, Para. [0109]-Ahn discloses the first communication node 601 may transmit a feedback signal notifying the reception failure. The second feedback scheme may be referred to as ‘NACK-only feedback scheme’ or ‘NACK-only HARQ scheme’. Para. [0174]-Ahn discloses If it is identified that the second feedback scheme (i.e., NACK-only HARQ scheme) is configured to the first communication node 601, the first communication node 601 may determine that transmission of a NACK signal only for a signal not normally received in the step S640 is required).
Ahn fails to teach the first configuration information comprises one of: a communication distance threshold, and a first state value described in at least one related field in the DCI scheduling the first service; wherein the communication distance threshold and a communication distance between the terminal and the network device are used to determine the HARQ feedback mode for the first service, or the first state value and a predetermined state table are used to determine the HARQ feedback mode for the first service.
However, Yeo teaches the first configuration information comprises one of: a communication distance threshold, and a first state value described in at least one related field in the DCI scheduling the first service (Para. [0218-0222]-Yeo discloses downlink control information, for example DCI, may include at least one of the following bit fields ... Threshold distance (threshold value) field. Para. [0124]-Yeo discloses a threshold value (threshold) may be included in the DCI for groupcast, and the threshold value may be used to compare with a distance or received energy for determining whether the terminal transmits HARQ feedback information. For example, if whether to transmit the HARQ feedback information is determined based on the distance, the threshold value may be set, for example, based on a separation distance from the reference location. Para. [0162]-Yeo discloses the terminal may transmit HARQ ACK/NACK for uplink data);
the communication distance threshold and a communication distance between the terminal and the network device are used to determine the HARQ feedback mode for the first service, or the first state value and a predetermined state table are used to determine the HARQ feedback mode for the first service (Para. [0124]-Yeo discloses a threshold value (threshold) may be included in the DCI for groupcast, and the threshold value may be used to compare with a distance or received energy for determining whether the terminal transmits HARQ feedback information. For example, if whether to transmit the HARQ feedback information is determined based on the distance, the threshold value may be set, for example, based on a separation distance from the reference location. Para. [0218-0222]-Yeo discloses downlink control information, for example DCI, may include at least one of the following bit fields ... Threshold distance (threshold value) field. Para. [0162]-Yeo discloses the terminal may transmit HARQ ACK/NACK for uplink data).
Ahn and Yeo are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication system technologies, dealing with method and apparatus to transmit/receive a signal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Ahn to incorporate the teachings of Yeo on HARQ feedback, with a motivation for feedback based on distance threshold, and guarantee efficiently performing feedback scheme configuration and feedback signal transmission and reception, (Yeo, Para. [0008]).
Regarding claims 4, 9, 15 and 20, Ahn in view of Yeo teaches the method according to claim 1 and the method according to claim 7 and the terminal according to claim 12 and the network device according to claim 18 respectively.
Ahn further teaches the first configuration information comprises information on the HARQ feedback mode for the first service (Para. [0019]-Ahn discloses the first feedback scheme may be indicated selectively among an ACK/NACK HARQ scheme, NACK-only HARQ scheme, ACK-only HARQ scheme, and no-HARQ scheme through the first configuration information, the first DCI, or a radio resource control (RRC) message controlling scheduling information of the first downlink data).
Regarding claims 5, 10 and 16, Ahn in view of Yeo teaches the method according to claim 1 and the method according to claim 7 and the terminal according to claim 12 respectively.
Ahn further teaches the first service comprises a Multimedia Broadcast Multicast Service (MBMS) service (Fig. 4, Para. [0080]-Ahn discloses the MTCH 411 may refer to a logical channel for transmitting multimedia broadcast/multicast service (MBMS) traffic data).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new reference (YEO et al. (US 20230362932 A1)) being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472