DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The amendments of claims 1, 5-6, 8-9, 11, 13-16 are acknowledged.
Response to Amendment
Previous claim objections are withdrawn in response to amendments to the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding Behan are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Behan does not disclose the required liner as element in Figure 136 of Behan does not show or suggest an element may be considered a liner. However, as a liner may be interpreted as one that lines or is used to line and element 962 lines element 963, element 962 is considered a liner. Furthermore, element 962 extends across the lumen of the primary implantable device 961 to occlude the lumen (see par. 48, 71, 73, 113, 423).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Behan et al. (US 2014/0350694).
Regarding claim 1, Behan discloses an occlusion device (see Figs. 138-139) comprising: a primary implantable device 961 defining a lumen therethrough and including at least one radially-outwardly extending retention member 971 configured to anchor said primary implantable device with respect to tissue of a body passage (see Figs. 136-139); a secondary implantable device 963, 962 (see Fig. 136) including at least one radially-outwardly extending retention member (see Figs. 138-139, bulbous region similar to bulbous region/retention member of primary implantable device) operatively engaged with said at least one radially-outwardly extending retention member of said primary implantable device (see Figs. 138-169, par. 422); and an occlusion structure operatively 962 associated with said secondary implantable device, said occlusion structure comprising a liner (see Figs. 136, 138, liner interpreted as one that lines or is used to line something, and the occlusion structure 962 includes parts that line the secondary implantable device) and extending across and occluding the lumen of said primary implantable device (see Fig. 138, par. 48).
Regarding claim 2, Behan discloses said primary implantable device is a stent (see Figs. 136-139) with at least a portion thereof configured to promote tissue ingrowth (see par. 411, 421).
Regarding claim 3, Behan discloses said secondary implantable device 963, 962 is a stent (see Figs. 136, 138) extending through at least a part of the lumen of said primary implantable device (see Fig. 138); said primary implantable device has a saddle region (see Fig. 136, narrow portion between flare portion 970 and bulbous region 971) with a proximal end and a distal end (there are two opposite ends of the saddle), said at least one radially-outwardly retention member extending from the proximal end of said saddle region (see Fig. 136); and said at least one radially-outwardly extending retention member of said secondary implantable device extends from a proximal end of said secondary implantable device and is configured to operatively engage with said radially-outwardly extending retention member of said primary implantable device to be anchored with respect to the body passage (see Fig. 138).
Regarding claim 4, Behan discloses said occlusion device is a material capable of preventing flow of materials therethrough (see Figs. 136-138, par. 48, 71, 73, 113, 423), and is operatively associated with said proximal retention member of said secondary implantable device to extend across the lumen of said primary implantable device (see Fig. 138).
Regarding claim 5, Behan discloses said at least one radially-outwardly extending retention member of said secondary implantable device fits within a retention space defined between walls of said at least one radially-outwardly extending retention member of said primary implantable device (see Figs. 137-138).
Regarding claim 8, Behan discloses wherein said liner (see Fig. 136) is formed within the lumen of said primary implantable device (see Figs. 138-139) and shiftable into an occlusion configuration defining said occlusion structure across the lumen of said primary implantable device (see par. 422-423).
Regarding claim 9, Behan discloses said liner comprises an occlusive material capable of preventing flow of materials therethrough (see Figs. 136-138, par. 48, 71, 73, 113, 423).
Regarding claim 10, Behan discloses said secondary implantable device is selectively removable from said primary implantable device (see Figs. 136-139, par. 422-423, the primary and secondary implantable devices are two separate parts that are separable and therefore removable from one another ).
Regarding claim 11, Behan discloses a method of forming an occlusion device (see Figs. 136-139), said method comprising: engaging a secondary implantable device 963, 962 within a lumen of a primary implantable device 961 configured to anchor with respect to tissue at a deployment site (see Figs. 136-139); engaging a radially-outwardly extending retention member of the secondary implantable (see Figs. 138-139, bulbous region similar to bulbous region/retention member 971 of primary implantable device) device with a radially-outwardly extending retention member 971 of the primary implantable device (see Figs. 138-139, par. 422); and extending an occlusion structure 962 of the secondary implantable device across the lumen of the primary implantable device to occlude flow therethrough (see Fig. 138, par. 48), the occlusion structure comprising a liner (see Figs. 136, 138, liner interpreted as one that lines or is used to line something, and the occlusion structure 962 includes parts that line the secondary implantable device).
Regarding claim 12, Behan discloses the primary implantable device is a stent with uncoated regions configured to encourage tissue ingrowth (see Fig. 56, par. 324, 337, 394 describing stent and par. 41 of current application describing uncovered/are metal portions exposed to tissue at deployment site being tissue ingrowth promoting regions), said method further comprising deploying the primary implantable device and allowing tissue ingrowth (see Fig. 53) with respect to the primary implantable device before engaging the secondary implantable device within the lumen of the primary implantable device (see Figs. 54-55).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Behan in view of Gupta et al. (US 2019/0298559).
Regarding claim 13, Behan discloses the method further comprising extending the liner in a direction transverse to the longitudinal axis of the primary implantable device to occlude the lumen thereof (see Figs. 136-139) but does not disclose the occlusion structure comprising a material inhibiting tissue ingrowth.
Gupta discloses a pyloric device that is fully coated to minimize and/or prevent tissue ingrowth (see par. 41). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the pyloric device of Behan (see par. 34-42) also be fully coated to minimize and/or prevent tissue ingrowth, as disclosed with Gupta, thereby helping with removal later on. Consequently, due to the fully coating of the device, the liner would also be coated.
Regarding claim 14, Behan and Gupta disclose the limitations of claim 13 and Behan further discloses the primary device is a stent (see Figs. 136, 139) with a saddle region (see Fig. 136, narrow portion between flare portion 970 and bulbous region 971) and the radially-outward extending retention member extends radially outwardly from the saddle region and transverse to the longitudinal axis of the primary implantable device (see Fig. 136), and engaging the radially-outwardly extending retention member of the secondary implantable device with the radially-outwardly extending retention member of the primary implantable device extends the occlusion structure operatively associated with the radially-outwardly extending retention member of the secondary implantable device across the lumen of the primary implantable device (see Fig. 138).
Regarding claim 15, Behan and Gupta disclose the limitations of claim 13 and Behan further discloses the primary device is a stent (see Figs. 136, 139) with a saddle region (see Fig. 136, narrow portion between flare portion 970 and bulbous region 971) defining the primary implantable device lumen therethrough (see Fig. 136), said method further comprising extending at least a portion of the liner across the primary implantable device lumen to occlude the primary implantable device lumen (see Fig. 138).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the closest prior art found is Behan, which does not disclose the required secondary implantable device the required saddle region. Furthermore, while Drasler (US 2018/0360461) discloses the secondary implantable device has a saddle region with a proximal end and distal end, this is in the form of a balloon laying outside of the stent of the primary implantable device, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to apply such teachings to the secondary implantable device of Behan that is fully inside the primary implantable device, being also a stent, as the creation of the saddle of Drasler is because the secondary implantable device falls outside the stent and such a configuration would change the operation/design of the device of Behan so that it would not work as intended.
Conclusion
/ARIANA ZIMBOUSKI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781