DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to remarks filed 12/31/2025.
Claims 1-5, 7-11, 13-18, and 20 are pending in the application.
Claims 1, 5, 8, 14, and 18 are currently rejected.
Claims 2-4, 7, 9-11, 13, 15-17, and 20 are objected to.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 12/31/2025, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 6, 12, and 19 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 6, 12, and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 112 (b) has been withdrawn in view of the cancellation of the claims.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 5, 8, 14, and 20 filed 12/31/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The claim limitations have a new claim scope and a mapping has been provided below. Examiner would like to additionally note for the purpose of compact prosecution that claim 8 does not specify that it is a relay UE performing the generating and transmitting steps as is specified in the other independent claims. In the case this isn’t specified, a base station performing this step can be used for this claim limitation.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 12/31/2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 2-4, 7, 9-11, 13, 15-17, and 20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 2-4, 7, 9-11, 13, 15-17, and 20 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chun (Pub. No.: US 2019/0239147 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chun teaches
A communication method (Chun [0005-0006]: communication method), comprising:
generating, by a relay User Equipment (UE), replacement indication information based on cell reselection (Chun [0266-0268]: relay UE confirms criteria regarding cell reselection (generating information)); and
transmitting, by the relay UE, the replacement indication information to a remote UE (Chun [0266-0268]: relay UE informing (transmitting to) remote UE information regarding cell reselection);
wherein the replacement indication information informs the remote UE that the relay UE performs cell reselection (Chun [0266-0268]: remote UE associated with relay UE, which the relay UE informs when performing reselection).
Regarding claim 8, Chun teaches
A non-transitory storage medium storing one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising computer instructions, which, when executed by a processor (Chun [0321]: storage and processor to control overall operations), cause the processor to:
generate replacement indication information based on cell reselection (Chun [0266-0268]: relay UE confirms criteria regarding cell reselection (generating information)); and
transmit the replacement indication information to a remote User Equipment (UE) (Chun [0266-0268]: relay UE informing (transmitting to) remote UE information regarding cell reselection);
wherein the replacement indication information informs the remote UE that the relay UE performs cell reselection (Chun [0266-0268]: remote UE associated with relay UE, which the relay UE informs when performing reselection).
Regarding claim 14, Chun teaches
A relay User Equipment (UE) (Chun [0266-0268]: relay UE), comprising a memory and a processor (Chun [0321]: memory and processor), wherein the memory stores one or more programs (Chun [0321]: memory storing calculated and processed information), the one or more programs comprising computer instructions, which, when executed by the processor (Chun [0321]: processor controlling overall operations), cause the processor to:
generate replacement indication information based on cell reselection (Chun [0266-0268]: relay UE confirms criteria regarding cell reselection (generating information)); and
transmit the replacement indication information to a remote UE (Chun [0266-0268]: relay UE informing (transmitting to) remote UE information regarding cell reselection);
wherein the replacement indication information informs the remote UE that the relay UE performs cell reselection (Chun [0266-0268]: remote UE associated with relay UE, which the relay UE informs when performing reselection).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chun (Pub. No.: US 2019/0239147 A1) in view of Huang (CN 107889080 A).
Regarding claim 5, Chun teaches
The method according to claim 1 (the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above), wherein a communication connection between the relay UE and the remote UE is a PC5 connection (Chun [0297]: UE [remote] establishes a PC5 interface with a relay UE), and…
Chun does not appear to explicitly teach that a communication connection between the remote UE and a source base station is a Uu connection.
However, Huang, in the analogous art of handover and mobility-related information, teaches
a communication connection between the remote UE and a source base station is a Uu connection (Huang pg. 5 lines 8-9 and lines 14-15: remote UE and BS connected via a Uu interface).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chun to incorporate the teachings of Huang and have the communication connection between the remote UE and a source base station be a Uu connection. Doing so would allow for the exchange of mobility related information (Huang pg. 5).
Regarding claim 18, Chun teaches
The relay UE according to claim 14 (the limitations of parent claim 14 as indicated above), wherein a communication connection between the relay UE and the remote UE is a PC5 connection (Chun [0297]: UE [remote] establishes a PC5 interface with a relay UE), and…
Chun does not appear to explicitly teach that a communication connection between the remote UE and a source base station is a Uu connection.
However, Huang, in the analogous art of handover and mobility-related information, teaches
a communication connection between the remote UE and a source base station is a Uu connection (Huang pg. 5 lines 8-9 and lines 14-15: remote UE and BS connected via a Uu interface).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chun to incorporate the teachings of Huang and have the communication connection between the remote UE and a source base station be a Uu connection. Doing so would allow for the exchange of mobility related information (Huang pg. 5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 7, 9-11, 13, 15-17, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 2-4, 7, 9-11, 13, 15-17, and 20 recite additional limitations which differentiate from the cited prior art. The handover termination information being transmitted based on the replacement indication information is not taught by the cited prior arts nor is updating a target cell based on the replacement information where the target is selected from a group consisting of the target cell after the cell reselection or target cells corresponding to other relay UEs.
Conclusion
/R.E.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2412 /CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412