DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communications filed 05/13/2026.
Claims 1-5, 8-11, and 14-18 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 05/13/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-5, 8-11, and 14-18 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Peng (Pub. No.: US 2022/0330056 A1). Please see claim rejections section below for further details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 8-11, and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 8, and 14 recite: “the target base station”. These are rejected for lack of antecedent basis as this is the first time a target base station is mentioned. The rest of the claims are also rejected through their dependency on the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 8, 14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chun (Pub. No.: US 2019/0239147 A1) in view of Peng (Pub. No.: US 2022/0330056 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chun teaches
A communication method (Chun [0005-0006]: communication method), comprising:
generating, by a relay User Equipment (UE), replacement indication information based on cell reselection (Chun [0266-0268]: relay UE confirms criteria regarding cell reselection (generating information)); and
transmitting, by the relay UE, the replacement indication information to a remote UE (Chun [0266-0268]: relay UE informing (transmitting to) remote UE information regarding cell reselection);
wherein the replacement indication information informs the remote UE that the relay UE performs cell reselection (Chun [0266-0268]: remote UE associated with relay UE, which the relay UE informs when performing reselection);
Chun does discuss cell discovery, but is not explicit that it is a part of the replacement indication information.
However, Peng, in the analogous art of cell reselection, teaches
wherein the replacement indication information further comprises at least one of the following:
an identity of the target base station after the cell reselection or an identity of the target cell in the target base station after the cell reselection, wherein the target base station after the cell reselection is the target base station corresponding to the relay UE after the cell reselection;
indication information indicating that signal quality of the target cell in the target base station before the cell reselection is below a preset threshold;
indication information of discovering a new target cell (Peng [0134]: information communicated related cell reselection and finding a target device (cell)); or
indication information indicating that signal quality of the new target cell is higher than the preset threshold.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chun to incorporate the teachings of Peng and include indication information of discovering a new target cell. Doing so would reduce data transmission delay (Peng [0003]).
Regarding claim 5, Chun modified by Peng teaches
The method according to claim 1 (the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above),
Chun does not appear to explicitly teach wherein a communication connection between the relay UE and the remote UE is a PC5 connection, and a communication connection between the remote UE and a source base station is a Uu connection.
However, Peng, in the analogous art of cell reselection, teaches
wherein a communication connection between the relay UE and the remote UE is a PC5 connection, and a communication connection between the remote UE and a source base station is a Uu connection (Peng [0003]: interface between terminal and network device is Uu interface and interface between terminals is PC5 interface).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chun to incorporate the teachings of Peng and have a communication connection between the relay UE and the remote UE is a PC5 connection, and a communication connection between the remote UE and a source base station is a Uu connection. Doing so would reduce data transmission delay (Peng [0003]).
Regarding claim 8, Chun teaches
A non-transitory storage medium storing one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising computer instructions, which, when executed by a processor (Chun [0321-0322]: storage, memory, and processor), cause the processor to:
generate replacement indication information based on cell reselection (Chun [0266-0268]: relay UE confirms criteria regarding cell reselection (generating information)); and
transmit the replacement indication information to a remote User Equipment (UE) (Chun [0266-0268]: relay UE informing (transmitting to) remote UE information regarding cell reselection):
wherein the replacement indication information informs the remote UE that the relay UE performs cell reselection (Chun [0266-0268]: remote UE associated with relay UE, which the relay UE informs when performing reselection);
Chun does discuss cell discovery, but is not explicit that it is a part of the replacement indication information.
However, Peng, in the analogous art of cell reselection, teaches
wherein the replacement indication information further comprises at least one of the following :
an identity of the target base station after the cell reselection or an identity of the target cell in the target base station after the cell reselection, wherein the target base station after the cell reselection is the target base station corresponding to the relay UE after the cell reselection;
indication information indicating that signal quality of the target cell in the target base station before the cell reselection is below a preset threshold;
indication information of discovering a new target cell (Peng [0134]: information communicated related cell reselection and finding a target device (cell)); or
indication information indicating that signal quality of the new target cell is higher than the preset threshold.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chun to incorporate the teachings of Peng and include indication information of discovering a new target cell. Doing so would reduce data transmission delay (Peng [0003]).
Regarding claim 14, Chun teaches
A relay User Equipment (UE), comprising a memory and a processor, wherein the memory stores one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising computer instructions, which, when executed by the processor (Chun [0008-0010]: relay UE; Chun [0321-0322]: storage, memory, and processor), cause the processor to:
generate replacement indication information based on cell reselection (Chun [0266-0268]: relay UE confirms criteria regarding cell reselection (generating information)); and
transmit the replacement indication information to a remote UE (Chun [0266-0268]: relay UE informing (transmitting to) remote UE information regarding cell reselection);
wherein the replacement indication information informs the remote UE that the relay UE performs cell reselection (Chun [0266-0268]: remote UE associated with relay UE, which the relay UE informs when performing reselection);
Chun does discuss cell discovery, but is not explicit that it is a part of the replacement indication information.
However, Peng, in the analogous art of cell reselection, teaches
wherein the replacement indication information further comprises at least one of the following:
an identity of the target base station after the cell reselection or an identity of the target cell in the target base station after the cell reselection, wherein the target base station after the cell reselection is the target base station corresponding to the relay UE after the cell reselection;
indication information indicating that signal quality of the target cell in the target base station before the cell reselection is below a preset threshold;
indication information of discovering a new target cell (Peng [0134]: information communicated related cell reselection and finding a target device (cell)); or
indication information indicating that signal quality of the new target cell is higher than the preset threshold.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chun to incorporate the teachings of Peng and include indication information of discovering a new target cell. Doing so would reduce data transmission delay (Peng [0003]).
Regarding claim 18, Chun modified by Peng teaches
The relay UE according to claim 14 (the limitations of parent claim 14 as indicated above),
Chun does not appear to explicitly teach wherein a communication connection between the relay UE and the remote UE is a PC5 connection, and a communication connection between the remote UE and a source base station is a Uu connection.
However, Peng, in the analogous art of cell reselection, teaches
wherein a communication connection between the relay UE and the remote UE is a PC5 connection, and a communication connection between the remote UE and a source base station is a Uu connection. (Peng [0003]: interface between terminal and network device is Uu interface and interface between terminals is PC5 interface).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chun to incorporate the teachings of Peng and have a communication connection between the relay UE and the remote UE is a PC5 connection, and a communication connection between the remote UE and a source base station is a Uu connection. Doing so would reduce data transmission delay (Peng [0003]).
Claims 2-4, 9-11, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chun (Pub. No.: US 2019/0239147 A1) in view of Peng (Pub. No.: US 2022/0330056 A1) further in view of Xu (Pub. No.: US 2019/0289520 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Chun modified by Peng teaches
The method according to claim 1 (the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above),
Chun modified by Peng does not appear to teach the rest of the claim limitations.
However, Xu, in the analogous art of cell reselection, teaches
wherein the replacement indication information is configured to enable the remote UE to generate and transmit handover termination information based on the replacement indication information (Xu [0142] “Preferably, when the communication unit 920 [part of device 900 remote UE] receives handover indication information indicating a failure of handover process from the relay UE, the processing circuit 910 is further configured to perform an operation of: instructing the communication unit 920 to transmit a cell ID of the serving cell of the target relay UE to the relay UE, such that the relay UE performs a radio link recovery process to be connected to the serving cell of the target relay UE.”; Xu [0134]: “the electronic device 900 is a remote UE”; Remote UE generating and transmitting information based on the indication information received, since the information used to enable the transmission of information was based on indication information of a failure of a handover process, it is therefore transmitting handover termination information based on the replacement indication information),
wherein the handover termination information indicates to terminate a handover operation between a source base station or a source cell and an original target base station or an original target cell, the original target base station is the target base station corresponding to the relay UE before the cell reselection, and the original target cell is a target cell in the original target base station (Xu fig. 7 and [0103-0105]: indication information evaluated by remote UE and remote UE may decide to terminate (disconnect) a current handover operation from the target cell).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Chun and Peng to incorporate Xu and have the replacement indication information is configured to enable the remote UE to generate and transmit handover termination information based on the replacement indication information. Doing so would help ensure continuity of service (Xu [0005]).
Regarding claim 3, Chun modified by Peng teaches
The method according to claim 1 (the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above),
Chun modified by Peng does not appear to teach the rest of the claim limitations.
However, Xu, in the analogous art of cell reselection, teaches
wherein the replacement indication information is configured to enable the remote UE to transmit request information which indicates an updated target base station or an updated target cell based on the replacement indication information (Xu [0036]: “the remote UE is to perform a relay reselection process, that is, reselecting a target relay UE in a coverage of other eNB”, reselection of an updated target occurring),
wherein the updated target base station is selected from a group consisting of the target base station after the cell reselection or target base stations corresponding to other relay UEs, and the updated target cell is selected from a group consisting of the target cell after the cell reselection or target cells corresponding to other relay UEs, wherein the target base station after the cell reselection is the target base station corresponding to the relay UE after the cell reselection, and the target cell after the cell reselection is a target cell in the target base station after the cell reselection (Xu [0073]: remote UE may set a priority and performs reselection on a candidate target cell in the candidate target cells (group consisting of the target cell); Xu [0036]: “the remote UE is to perform a relay reselection process, that is, reselecting a target relay UE in a coverage of other eNB”).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Chun and Peng to incorporate Xu and have the replacement indication information is configured to enable the remote UE to transmit request information which indicates an updated target base station or an updated target cell based on the replacement indication information. Doing so would help ensure continuity of service (Xu [0005]).
Regarding claim 4, Chun modified by Peng teaches
The method according to claim 3 (the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above),
Chun modified by Peng does not appear to teach the rest of the claim limitations.
However, Xu, in the analogous art of cell reselection, teaches
wherein the replacement indication information is further configured to enable the remote UE to:
evaluate cell information included in the replacement indication information to obtain an evaluation result (Xu [0036]: “perform a relay reselection process”, evaluating cell information), and select an optimal target base station or an optimal target cell as the updated target base station or the updated target cell based on the evaluation result, wherein the cell information comprises cell information of target cells in the target base station after the cell reselection, and cell information of target cells in the target base stations corresponding to other relay UEs (Xu [0036]: reselecting a target relay UE (optimal target) in coverage of other eNB; Xu [0073]: remote UE may set a priority and performs reselection on a candidate target cell in the candidate target cells (group consisting of the target cell)); and
transmit the request information which indicates the updated target base station or the updated target cell (Xu [0142]: “the processing circuit 910 [part of device 900] is further configured to perform an operation of: instructing the communication unit 920 to transmit a cell ID of the serving cell of the target relay UE (Remote UE transmitting updated target information); Xu [0134]: “the electronic device 900 is a remote UE”).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Chun and Peng to incorporate Xu and have the replacement indication information is further configured to enable the remote UE to:
evaluate cell information included in the replacement indication information to obtain an evaluation result and select an optimal target base station or an optimal target cell as the updated target base station or the updated target cell based on the evaluation result, wherein the cell information comprises cell information of target cells in the target base station after the cell reselection, and cell information of target cells in the target base stations corresponding to other relay UEs. Doing so would help ensure continuity of service (Xu [0005]).
Regarding claim 9, Chun modified by Peng teaches
The non-transitory storage medium according to claim 8 (the limitations of parent claim 8 as indicated above),
Chun modified by Peng does not appear to teach the rest of the claim limitations.
However, Xu, in the analogous art of cell reselection, teaches
wherein the replacement indication information is configured to enable the remote UE to generate and transmit handover termination information based on the replacement indication information (Xu [0142] “Preferably, when the communication unit 920 [part of device 900 remote UE] receives handover indication information indicating a failure of handover process from the relay UE, the processing circuit 910 is further configured to perform an operation of: instructing the communication unit 920 to transmit a cell ID of the serving cell of the target relay UE to the relay UE, such that the relay UE performs a radio link recovery process to be connected to the serving cell of the target relay UE.”; Xu [0134]: “the electronic device 900 is a remote UE”; Remote UE generating and transmitting information based on the indication information received, since the information used to enable the transmission of information was based on indication information of a failure of a handover process, it is therefore transmitting handover termination information based on the replacement indication information), wherein the handover termination information indicates to terminate a handover operation between a source base station or a source cell and an original target base station or an original target cell, the original target base station is the target base station corresponding to the relay UE before the cell reselection, and the original target cell is a target cell in the original target base station (Xu fig. 7 and [0103-0105]: indication information evaluated by remote UE and remote UE may decide to terminate (disconnect) a current handover operation from the target cell).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Chun and Peng to incorporate Xu and have the replacement indication information is configured to enable the remote UE to generate and transmit handover termination information based on the replacement indication information and have the handover termination information indicates to terminate a handover operation between a source base station or a source cell and an original target base station or an original target cell, the original target base station is the target base station corresponding to the relay UE before the cell reselection, and the original target cell is a target cell in the original target base station. Doing so would help ensure continuity of service (Xu [0005]).
Regarding claim 10, Chun modified by Peng teaches
The non-transitory storage medium according to claim 8 (the limitations of parent claim 8 as indicated above),
Chun modified by Peng does not appear to teach the rest of the claim limitations.
However, Xu, in the analogous art of cell reselection, teaches
wherein the replacement indication information is configured to enable the remote UE to transmit request information which indicates an updated target base station or an updated target cell based on the replacement indication information (Xu [0036]: “the remote UE is to perform a relay reselection process, that is, reselecting a target relay UE in a coverage of other eNB”, reselection of an updated target occurring), wherein the updated target base station is selected from a group consisting of the target base station after the cell reselection or target base stations corresponding to other relay UEs, and the updated target cell is selected from a group consisting of the target cell after the cell reselection or target cells corresponding to other relay UEs, wherein the target base station after the cell reselection is the target base station corresponding to the relay UIE after the cell reselection, and the target cell after the cell reselection is a target cell in the target base station after the cell reselection (Xu [0073]: remote UE may set a priority and performs reselection on a candidate target cell in the candidate target cells (group consisting of the target cell); Xu [0036]: “the remote UE is to perform a relay reselection process, that is, reselecting a target relay UE in a coverage of other eNB”).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Chun and Peng to incorporate Xu and have the replacement indication information is configured to enable the remote UE to transmit request information which indicates an updated target base station or an updated target cell based on the replacement indication information. Doing so would help ensure continuity of service (Xu [0005]).
Regarding claim 11, Chun modified by Peng teaches
The non-transitory storage medium according to claim 10 (the limitations of parent claim 10 as indicated above),
Chun modified by Peng does not appear to teach the rest of the claim limitations.
However, Xu, in the analogous art of cell reselection, teaches
wherein the replacement indication information is further configured to enable the remote UE to: evaluate cell information included in the replacement indication information to obtain an evaluation result (Xu [0036]: “perform a relay reselection process”, evaluating cell information), and select an optimal target base station or an optimal target cell as the updated target base station or the updated target cell based on the evaluation result, wherein the cell information comprises cell information of target cells in the target base station after the cell reselection and cell information of target cells in the target base stations corresponding to other relay UEs (Xu [0036]: reselecting a target relay UE (optimal target) in coverage of other eNB; Xu [0073]: remote UE may set a priority and performs reselection on a candidate target cell in the candidate target cells (group consisting of the target cell)); and
transmit the request information which indicates the updated target base station or the updated target cell (Xu [0142]: “the processing circuit 910 [part of device 900] is further configured to perform an operation of: instructing the communication unit 920 to transmit a cell ID of the serving cell of the target relay UE (Remote UE transmitting updated target information); Xu [0134]: “the electronic device 900 is a remote UE”).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Chun and Peng to incorporate Xu and have the replacement indication information is further configured to enable the remote UE to: evaluate cell information included in the replacement indication information to obtain an evaluation result
and select an optimal target base station or an optimal target cell as the updated target base station or the updated target cell based on the evaluation result, wherein the cell information comprises cell information of target cells in the target base station after the cell reselection and cell information of target cells in the target base stations corresponding to other relay UEs. Doing so would help ensure continuity of service (Xu [0005]).
Regarding claim 15, Chun modified by Peng teaches
The relay UE according to claim 14 (the limitations of parent claim 14 as indicated above),
Chun modified by Peng does not appear to teach the rest of the claim limitations.
However, Xu, in the analogous art of cell reselection, teaches
wherein the replacement indication information is configured to enable the remote UE to generate and transmit handover termination information based on the replacement indication information (Xu [0142] “Preferably, when the communication unit 920 [part of device 900 remote UE] receives handover indication information indicating a failure of handover process from the relay UE, the processing circuit 910 is further configured to perform an operation of: instructing the communication unit 920 to transmit a cell ID of the serving cell of the target relay UE to the relay UE, such that the relay UE performs a radio link recovery process to be connected to the serving cell of the target relay UE.”; Xu [0134]: “the electronic device 900 is a remote UE”; Remote UE generating and transmitting information based on the indication information received, since the information used to enable the transmission of information was based on indication information of a failure of a handover process, it is therefore transmitting handover termination information based on the replacement indication information), wherein the handover termination information indicates to terminate a handover operation between a source base station or a source cell and an original target base station or an original target cell, the original target base station is the target base station corresponding to the relay UE before the cell reselection, and the original target cell is a target cell in the original target base station (Xu fig. 7 and [0103-0105]: indication information evaluated by remote UE and remote UE may decide to terminate (disconnect) a current handover operation from the target cell).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Chun and Peng to incorporate Xu and have the replacement indication information is configured to enable the remote UE to generate and transmit handover termination information based on the replacement indication information
And the handover termination information indicates to terminate a handover operation between a source base station or a source cell and an original target base station or an original target cell, the original target base station is the target base station corresponding to the relay UE before the cell reselection, and the original target cell is a target cell in the original target base station. Doing so would help ensure continuity of service (Xu [0005]).
Regarding claim 16, Chun modified by Peng teaches
The relay UE according to claim 14 (the limitations of parent claim 14 as indicated above),
Chun modified by Peng does not appear to teach the rest of the claim limitations.
However, Xu, in the analogous art of cell reselection, teaches
wherein the replacement indication information is configured to enable the remote UE to transmit request information which indicates an updated target base station or an updated target cell based on the replacement indication information (Xu [0036]: “the remote UE is to perform a relay reselection process, that is, reselecting a target relay UE in a coverage of other eNB”, reselection of an updated target occurring), wherein the updated target base station is selected from a group consisting of the target base station after the cell reselection or target base stations corresponding to other relay UEs, and the updated target cell is selected from a group consisting of the target cell after the cell reselection or target cells corresponding to other relay UEs, wherein the target base station after the cell reselection is the target base station corresponding to the relay UE after the cell reselection, and the target cell after the cell reselection is a target cell in the target base station after the cell reselection (Xu [0073]: remote UE may set a priority and performs reselection on a candidate target cell in the candidate target cells (group consisting of the target cell); Xu [0036]: “the remote UE is to perform a relay reselection process, that is, reselecting a target relay UE in a coverage of other eNB”).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Chun and Peng to incorporate Xu and have the replacement indication information is configured to enable the remote UE to transmit request information which indicates an updated target base station or an updated target cell based on the replacement indication information. Doing so would help ensure continuity of service (Xu [0005]).
Regarding claim 17, Chun modified by Peng teaches
The relay UE according to claim 16 (the limitations of parent claim 16 as indicated above),
Chun modified by Peng does not appear to teach the rest of the claim limitations.
However, Xu, in the analogous art of cell reselection, teaches
wherein the replacement indication information is further configured to enable the remote UE to: evaluate cell information included in the replacement indication information to obtain an evaluation result (Xu [0036]: “perform a relay reselection process”, evaluating cell information), and select an optimal target base station or an optimal target cell as the updated target base station or the updated target cell based on the evaluation result, wherein the cell information comprises cell information of target cells in the target base station after the cell reselection and cell information of target cells in the target base stations corresponding to other relay UEs (Xu [0036]: reselecting a target relay UE (optimal target) in coverage of other eNB; Xu [0073]: remote UE may set a priority and performs reselection on a candidate target cell in the candidate target cells (group consisting of the target cell)); and transmit the request information which indicates the updated target base station or the updated target cell (Xu [0142]: “the processing circuit 910 [part of device 900] is further configured to perform an operation of: instructing the communication unit 920 to transmit a cell ID of the serving cell of the target relay UE (Remote UE transmitting updated target information); Xu [0134]: “the electronic device 900 is a remote UE”).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Chun and Peng to incorporate Xu and have the replacement indication information is further configured to enable the remote UE to: evaluate cell information included in the replacement indication information to obtain an evaluation result
and select an optimal target base station or an optimal target cell as the updated target base station or the updated target cell based on the evaluation result, wherein the cell information comprises cell information of target cells in the target base station after the cell reselection and cell information of target cells in the target base stations corresponding to other relay UEs. Doing so would help ensure continuity of service (Xu [0005]).
Conclusion
/R.E.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2412 /CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412