DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims filed 12/6/2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 15-18 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0264307 (Sasi et al.) in view of 2019/0306188 (Medvedovsky et al.).
As to claims 1, 15 and 20, Sasi teaches an apparatus (300C, fig 5), comprising: processing circuitry configured to:
identify, in a mobile network, a network attack from an electronic device (see paragraphs 162, 172-178, SMF identifies a network attack from a malicious UE using information provided by NWDAF);
and in response to the network attack being identified, limit use, by the electronic device, of a protocol data unit (PDU) session for connectivity between the electronic device and the mobile network (see paragraphs 162 and 172-178, SMF takes measures on PDU session to limit the attack on the core network and reports these measures to NWDAF),
wherein, to limit the use, the processing circuitry is configured to release the PDU session (see paragraphs 177 and 210, measures to limit attack may include PDU session release and back off timer, UPF responsible for handling this traffic would be involved in this process).
What is specifically lacking from Sasi is identifying a denial of service network attack based on a first transmission rate of domain name system (DNS) queries greater than a first threshold or a second transmission rate of dynamic host configuration protocol (DHCP) requests greater than a second threshold, irrespective of types of the DNS queries and types of DHCP requests.
In analogous art, Medvedovsky teaches determining a network attack in the form of a DDoS attack by determining that a rate of DNS requests exceed a predetermined threshold irrespective of types of the DNS queries and types of DHCP requests (see Medvedovsky, paragraphs 13).
It would have been obvious to apply this teaching to Sasi, so as to detect network attacks in a system where DNS is used.
As to claims 2 and 17, Sasi further teaches wherein the release process is performed through a user plane function (UPF) (see paragraphs 177 and 210, measures to limit attack may include PDU session release and back off timer, UPF responsible for handling this traffic would be involved in this process).
As to claims 3, 18 and 22, Sasi further teaches wherein the release process includes indicating, to the electronic device, a first backoff time, the first backoff time being a duration during which the electronic device is prohibited from re-establishing the PDU session (see paragraphs 177 and 210, measures to limit attack may include PDU session release and back off timer, UPF responsible for handling this traffic would be involved in this process).
As to claims 16 and 21, Sasi further teaches wherein the PDU session is released based on a release process of the PDU session initiated by a session management function (SMF) in the mobile network (see paragraphs 177 and 210, measures to limit attack may include PDU session release and back off timer, UPF responsible for handling this traffic would be involved in this process).
Conclusion
/MAZDA SABOURI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641