CTFR 17/986,906 CTFR 92490 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Amendment The Amendment filed 03/25/2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 8 have been amended. Claims 1-2, 4-9 and 11-14 remain pending in the application. Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2, 4-9 and 11-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-2, 4-9 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeh et al. (US 20220014963 A1) in view of Tsai et all. (US 20230126312 A1) and further in view of Stjernholm et al. (US 20230337170 A1) . Regarding claim 1, Yeh teach an apparatus (service management and orchestration framework SMO 2002 of Fig. 20 and 2600 of Fig. 26) for radio access network control comprising: a first communication interface communicating with a base station (O1interface to O-Ran network function 2006); a second communication interface communicating with an enrichment information provider (The SMO 2002 also connects with an external system 2010, which provides enrichment data to the SMO, [0279]); a storage device storing a mapping table recording correspondence between identification information (The Near-RT RIC 2214 provides a database function that stores the configurations relating to E2 nodes, Cells, Bearers, Flows, UEs and the mappings between them, [0305]); and a processor coupled to the first communication interface, the second communication interface, and the storage device (processor 2604 of Fig. 26); the processor configured to: in response to the first communication interface receiving first identification information of user equipment registered by the base station, switch a registration state to a closed state (The UE Identity tag registration triggers the MEC platform 1832 to activate the corresponding traffic rule(s) 1840 linked to the tag. The MEC platform 1832 also provides the functionality (e.g., UE Identity API) for a MEC App 1826 to invoke a de-registration procedure to disable or otherwise stop using the traffic rule for that user, [0249]), and provide connection information in reply to the base station (the MEC platform 1832 is provided with the mapping information, [0249]). However, Yeh does not clearly teach in the closed state, in response to the second communication interface receiving second identification information registered by the enrichment information provider, establish a correspondence between the first identification information and the second identification information, store the correspondence in the mapping table, and switch the registration state to an open state; and in response to the second communication interface receiving enrichment information and the corresponding second identification information provided by the enrichment information provider, query the first identification information corresponding to the second identification information from the mapping table, and send a control request for the user equipment corresponding to the first identification information to the base station according to the enrichment information. In an analogous art, Tsai teaches in the closed state, in response to the second communication interface receiving second identification information registered by the enrichment information provider, establish a correspondence between the first identification information and the second identification information, store the correspondence in the mapping table, and switch the registration state to an open state (In step S530, in response to presence of a second enrichment information corresponding to the first user device D1 in the database 403, the database 403 pushes the second enrichment information to the first application 407, [0043]); in response to the second communication interface receiving enrichment information and the corresponding second identification information provided by the enrichment information provider, query the first identification information corresponding to the second identification information from the mapping table (First, in step S510, in response to the enrichment information handling circuit 401 receiving a first creation request CRQ1 associated with a first user device D1 from the first application 407, the enrichment information handling circuit 401 queries whether the database 403 stores a first enrichment information corresponding to the first user device D1, [0041]), and send a control request for the user equipment corresponding to the first identification information to the base station according to the enrichment information (In step S520, in response to determining that the database 403 stores the first enrichment information corresponding to the first user device D1, the enrichment information handling circuit 401 triggers the first application 407 to subscribe to the database 403 for enrichment information corresponding to the first user device D1, [0042]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the registration of Yeh with the table of Tsai to provide a unified, convenient, and efficient interface and procedures, including enrichment information type query, initiation of requests, information update, task establishment, task deletion to improve performance as suggested, Tsai [0005]. However, Yeh and Tsai do not teach wherein after switching the registration state to the closed state, the processor is further configured to accumulate a waiting time for which the second identification information is not received, and switch the registration state to the open state when the waiting time exceeds a predetermined time and accept a registration of a user equipment in the open state. In an analogous art, Stjernholm teaches wherein after switching the registration state to the closed state (At this point the UE is IDLE the RAN UE ID is not assigned, and the RM UE ID and SUPI are associated with the GUTI but without the associated RAN UE ID in the UE Registry, [0099]), the processor is further configured to accumulate a waiting time for which the second identification information is not received (At step 1, a RAN UE ID timer or TTL expiry occurs, [0101]), and switch the registration state to the open state when the waiting time exceeds a predetermined time (RAN UE ID timer or TTL expiry occurs and CU-CP 2 assigns a new RAN UE ID at step 2. At step 3, CU-CP 2 sends a UE Context Update message to the near-RT RIC over the E2 interface. The message includes the old RAN UE ID and the new RAN UE ID, [0101]) and accept a registration of a user equipment in the open state (the Collection function sends a UEID reassigned message to the non-RT RIC. The non-RT RIC associates the new RAN UE ID with the GUTI, RM UE ID and SUPI in the UE Registry at step 6, [0102]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the registration of Yeh and Tsai with the UE management of Stjernholm to provide a method and system to address an individual UE and dynamically change the RAN treatment of the individual UE as suggested, Stjernholm [0006]. Regarding claim 2, Yeh as modified by Tsai and Stjernholm teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein after switching the registration state to the closed state, the processor is further configured to reject a registration request of the base station for the identification information (The E2SM-RC RAN Function provides selective support of the following CONTROL services: RRC connection reject, Yeh [0366]). Regarding claim 4, Yeh as modified by Tsai and Stjernholm teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the control request comprises a request for the base station to adjust a resource allocation, a transmission rate, a transmission priority, or a handover for the user equipment (the policy gradient may indicate whether to adjust the weights assigned to certain traffic management strategies, for example, increasing or decreasing the weights assigned to individual links for specific types of data (or QoS requirements) and/or the like, Yeh [0059]). Regarding claim 5, Yeh as modified by Tsai and Stjernholm the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first identification information comprises an NG application protocol (NGAP) identifier (ID) of an access and mobility management function (AMF) user equipment (UE), an El application protocol (EIAP) ID of base station-centralized unit-distributed unit (gNB-CU-CP) UE, or a UE ID of a radio access network (RAN)( The RIC REPORT Service Style Type 2 uses the RIC Action Definition IE Format 2 (see Table 5), where the included UE ID indicates a specific UE of interest for measurement collection, Yeh [0340]). Regarding claim 6, Yeh as modified by Tsai and Stjernholm teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second identification information comprises an IP address, an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI), or a telephone number of the user equipment (The term “network address” at least in some embodiments refers to an identifier for a node or host in a computer network, and may be a unique identifier across a network and/or may be unique to a locally administered portion of the network. Examples of network addresses include… IMEI Type Allocation Code (IMEA/TAC), International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI), Yeh [0575]). Regarding claim 7, Yeh as modified by Tsai and Stjernholm teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the enrichment information comprises position information, signal intensity, or environmental information (A MEC server 1802 may access location information or zonal presence information of individual UEs 1820 using the OMA Zonal Presence API to identify the relative location or positions of the UEs 1820, Yeh [0245]). Regarding claim 8, Yeh teaches a method for radio access network control applicable to an apparatus for radio access network control (method of service management and orchestration framework SMO 2002 of Fig. 20 and 2600 of Fig. 26), the apparatus comprising a first communication interface (O1interface to O-Ran network function 2006), a second communication interface (The SMO 2002 also connects with an external system 2010, which provides enrichment data to the SMO, [0279]), a storage device information (The Near-RT RIC 2214 provides a database function that stores the configurations relating to E2 nodes, Cells, Bearers, Flows, UEs and the mappings between them, [0305]), and a processor (processor 2604 of Fig. 26), and the method comprising: by the processor, utilizing the first communication interface to receive first identification information of user equipment registered by a base station, switching a registration state to a closed state, and providing connection information in reply to the base station (The UE Identity tag registration triggers the MEC platform 1832 to activate the corresponding traffic rule(s) 1840 linked to the tag. The MEC platform 1832 also provides the functionality (e.g., UE Identity API) for a MEC App 1826 to invoke a de-registration procedure to disable or otherwise stop using the traffic rule for that user, [0249]), and provide connection information in reply to the base station (the MEC platform 1832 is provided with the mapping information, [0249]). However, Yeh does not clearly teach in the closed state, in response to the second communication interface receiving second identification information registered by the enrichment information provider, establish a correspondence between the first identification information and the second identification information, store the correspondence in the mapping table, and switch the registration state to an open state; and in response to the second communication interface receiving enrichment information and the corresponding second identification information provided by the enrichment information provider, query the first identification information corresponding to the second identification information from the mapping table, and send a control request for the user equipment corresponding to the first identification information to the base station according to the enrichment information. In an analogous art, Tsai teaches in the closed state, in response to the second communication interface receiving second identification information registered by the enrichment information provider, establish a correspondence between the first identification information and the second identification information, store the correspondence in the mapping table, and switch the registration state to an open state (In step S530, in response to presence of a second enrichment information corresponding to the first user device D1 in the database 403, the database 403 pushes the second enrichment information to the first application 407, [0043]); in response to the second communication interface receiving enrichment information and the corresponding second identification information provided by the enrichment information provider, query the first identification information corresponding to the second identification information from the mapping table (First, in step S510, in response to the enrichment information handling circuit 401 receiving a first creation request CRQ1 associated with a first user device D1 from the first application 407, the enrichment information handling circuit 401 queries whether the database 403 stores a first enrichment information corresponding to the first user device D1, [0041]), and send a control request for the user equipment corresponding to the first identification information to the base station according to the enrichment information (In step S520, in response to determining that the database 403 stores the first enrichment information corresponding to the first user device D1, the enrichment information handling circuit 401 triggers the first application 407 to subscribe to the database 403 for enrichment information corresponding to the first user device D1, [0042]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the registration of Yeh with the table of Tsai to provide a unified, convenient, and efficient interface and procedures, including enrichment information type query, initiation of requests, information update, task establishment, task deletion to improve performance as suggested, Tsai [0005]. However, Yeh and Tsai do not teach wherein after switching the registration state to the closed state, the processor is further configured to accumulate a waiting time for which the second identification information is not received, and switch the registration state to the open state when the waiting time exceeds a predetermined time and accept a registration of a user equipment in the open state. In an analogous art, Stjernholm teaches wherein after switching the registration state to the closed state (At this point the UE is IDLE the RAN UE ID is not assigned, and the RM UE ID and SUPI are associated with the GUTI but without the associated RAN UE ID in the UE Registry, [0099]), the processor is further configured to accumulate a waiting time for which the second identification information is not received (At step 1, a RAN UE ID timer or TTL expiry occurs, [0101]), and switch the registration state to the open state when the waiting time exceeds a predetermined time (RAN UE ID timer or TTL expiry occurs and CU-CP 2 assigns a new RAN UE ID at step 2. At step 3, CU-CP 2 sends a UE Context Update message to the near-RT RIC over the E2 interface. The message includes the old RAN UE ID and the new RAN UE ID, [0101]) and accept a registration of a user equipment in the open state (the Collection function sends a UEID reassigned message to the non-RT RIC. The non-RT RIC associates the new RAN UE ID with the GUTI, RM UE ID and SUPI in the UE Registry at step 6, [0102]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the registration of Yeh and Tsai with the UE management of Stjernholm to provide a method and system to address an individual UE and dynamically change the RAN treatment of the individual UE as suggested, Stjernholm [0006]. Regarding claim 9, Yeh as modified by Tsai and Stjernholm teaches the method of claim 8, wherein after switching the registration state to the closed state, the processor is further configured to reject a registration request of the base station for the identification information (The E2SM-RC RAN Function provides selective support of the following CONTROL services: RRC connection reject, Yeh [0366]). Regarding claim 11, Yeh as modified by Tsai and Stjernholm teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the control request comprises requesting the base station to adjust a resource allocation, a transmission rate, a transmission priority, or a handover for the user equipment (the policy gradient may indicate whether to adjust the weights assigned to certain traffic management strategies, for example, increasing or decreasing the weights assigned to individual links for specific types of data (or QoS requirements) and/or the like, Yeh [0059]). Regarding claim 12, Yeh as modified by Tsai and Stjernholm teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the first identification information comprises an NG application protocol (NGAP) identifier (ID) of an access and mobility management function (AMF) user equipment (UE), an El application protocol (EIAP) ID of base station-centralized unit-distributed unit (gNB-CU-CP) UE, or a UE ID of a radio access network (RAN) unit (gNB-CU-CP) UE, or a UE ID of a radio access network (RAN)( The RIC REPORT Service Style Type 2 uses the RIC Action Definition IE Format 2 (see Table 5), where the included UE ID indicates a specific UE of interest for measurement collection, Yeh [0340]). Regarding claim 13, Yeh as modified by Tsai and Stjernholm teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the second identification information comprises an IP 25 address, an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI), or a telephone number of the user equipment (The term “network address” at least in some embodiments refers to an identifier for a node or host in a computer network, and may be a unique identifier across a network and/or may be unique to a locally administered portion of the network. Examples of network addresses include… IMEI Type Allocation Code (IMEA/TAC), International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI), Yeh [0575]). Regarding claim 14, Yeh as modified by Tsai and Stjernholm teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the enrichment information comprises position information, signal intensity, or environmental information (A MEC server 1802 may access location information or zonal presence information of individual UEs 1820 using the OMA Zonal Presence API to identify the relative location or positions of the UEs 1820, Yeh [0245]) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zhang et al. (US 20200084636 A1) discloses: The apparatus comprises a shared radio bearer (RB) layer 2 (L2) structure. The shared RB L2 structure includes a shared radio link control (RLC) sublayer that has one or more shared RLC entities . Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NICOLE M LOUIS-FILS whose telephone number is (571)270-0671. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Charles Appiah can be reached at 571-272-7904. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /NICOLE M LOUIS-FILS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2641 /CHARLES N APPIAH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641 Application/Control Number: 17/986,906 Page 2 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 17/986,906 Page 3 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 17/986,906 Page 4 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 17/986,906 Page 5 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 17/986,906 Page 6 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 17/986,906 Page 7 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 17/986,906 Page 8 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 17/986,906 Page 9 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 17/986,906 Page 10 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 17/986,906 Page 11 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 17/986,906 Page 12 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 17/986,906 Page 13 Art Unit: 2641