DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see , filed 10 October 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 21 and 23 under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Cvijetic et al have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of QIAN et al.
Claims 1-16, 21-26 are pending. Claims 25-26 are newly added. Claims 21-24 are newly added.
Figure 3 of the application illustrates the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8-9, 11-16, 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by QIAN et al. (US 2008/0267630).
Regarding claims 1, 21 and 23, QIANet al. discloses a device, comprising:
a processing system including a processor; and
a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processing system, facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising:
subdividing a frequency spectrum (OLT (DWDM)) into a plurality of primary subcarriers (ONU1...ONUM), see figure 1.
subdividing a first primary subcarrier of the plurality of primary subcarriers (OFDMA, ONU1...ONUM) into a first plurality of secondary subcarriers (1(Business area), 2(Mobile station), and 3(Residential)),
transmitting, via a fiber, first data to a first location using a first secondary subcarrier included in the first plurality of secondary subcarriers (see figure 1); and
transmitting, via the fiber, second data to a second location using a second secondary subcarrier included in the first plurality of secondary subcarriers, the second secondary subcarrier being different from the first secondary subcarrier
wherein the subdividing of the frequency spectrum into the plurality of primary subcarriers is based on a use of a first multiple access technology, and wherein the first multiple access technology includes time division multiple access (TDMA), see figure 1.
Regarding claim 2, QIAN et al. teaches wherein the second data is different from the first data. (see figure 1: 1(Business area (IP+TDM)), 2(Mobile station (TDM)), 3(Residential area (IP)).
Regarding claim 3, QIAN et al. teaches wherein the first data is associated with a first application executed by a first user equipment at the first location and the second data is associated with a second application executed by a second user equipment at the second location, the second application being different from the first application. (see figure 1).
Regarding claims 5, 12 and 25, QIAN et al. teaches wherein the subdividing of the first primary subcarrier of the plurality of primary subcarriers into the first plurality of secondary subcarriers is based on a use of a second multiple access technology. See figure 1.
Regarding claims 6, 8 and 26, QIAN et al. teaches wherein the second multiple access technology is different from the first multiple access technology. (See figure 1, Cellular is a multiple technology access system because it uses various techniques like Time Division Multiple Access (TDMA), Frequency Division Multiple Access (FDMA), and Code Division Multiple Access (CDMA) to allow multiple users to share the network radio channels simultaneously. Modern cellular networks have also advanced to used Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiple Access (OFDMA), especially with technologies like 4G and 5G).
Regarding claim 9, QIAN et al. teaches wherein the operation further comprise:
configuring a first communication device at the first location to tune to the first secondary subcarrier to enable the first communication device to obtain the first data; and
configuring a second communication device at the second location to tune to the second secondary subcarrier to enable the second communication device to obtain the second data. (see splitter configures to tune communication signal to an appropriate communication devices). See figure 1.
Regarding claim 11, QIAN et al. teaches wherein the subdividing of the frequency spectrum into the plurality of primary subcarriers is facilitated by an optical splitter (see figure 1, splitter 122).
Regarding claim 12, QIAN et al. teaches wherein the operations further comprise: subdividing a second primary subcarrier of the plurality of subcarrier into a second plurality of secondary subcarrier.
Regarding claims 13-14, QIAN et al. teaches wherein the operations further comprise:
transmitting, via the fiber, a third data to the first location, the second location, a third location, or any combination thereof, using a third secondary subcarrier included in the second plurality of second subcarriers. (See figure 1).
Regarding Claim 15, QIAN et al. teaches wherein the operation further comprising:
obtaining, via the fiber third data from the first location using the first secondary carrier; and
obtaining, via the fiber, fourth data from the second location using the secondary subcarrier. Figure 1 shows data obtain from location 1, 2 and 3 via ONU1, 2 and 3, respectively.
Regarding claims 16 and 24, QIAN further teaches wherein the first location includes a residential building, an office building, or a combination thereof, and wherein the second location includes infrastructure with a cellular network. (See figure 1, Mobile Station).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over QIAN et al. (US 2008/0267630) in view of (WO 2007/047564 A1), herein refer as D1.
Regarding claims 10 and 22, QIAN et al. in view of D1 fails to teach wherein the first communication device includes a first router, a first gateway, or a combination thereof, and wherein the second communication device includes a second router, a second gateway, or a combination thereof.
D1, in the same field of invention, teaches this feature. (“In a particular embodiment, a distribution node for an optical network includes a wavelength router and a power splitter. The wavelength router is operable to receive a downstream signal comprising at least traffic in a first wavelength and traffic in a second wavelength from an upstream terminal, route the traffic in the first wavelength to a first plurality of downstream terminals and route the traffic in the second wavelength to a second plurality of downstream terminals.” See abstract, figure 1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine D2 with Cvijetic et al. so to route data to the appropriate terminals.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BRENDA H. PHAM
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2412
/BRENDA H PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412