DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Re Claim 5, it is unclear what Applicant is intending to convey and the specification does not have any disclosure regarding claim 5.
Double Patenting
Claims 22-25 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,738,725. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-3 of US 11, 738,725 fully encompass the subject matter of claims 22-25 and therefore anticipates claims 22-25.
Claims 1, 2, 4 and 6-21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 4, and 6-20 of copending Application No. 18/237,763 (reference application).
An obviousness-type double patenting rejection is appropriate where conflicting claims are not identical but an examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined claim is either anticipated by or would have been obvious over the reference claims. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 2, and 4-20 of 18/237,763 fully encompass the subject matter of claims 1-4 and 6-21 and therefore anticipates claims 1, 3, 4 and 6-21.
Re claim 6, claim 5 of Application 18/237,763 does not explicitly teach a “redundant deployment actuator”. However, the “deployment actuator” is considered redundant since there is a previously recited “electronic actuator”.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 3 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of copending Application No. 18/237,763 in view of Giannakopoulos. (US 2013/0221159).
Claim 3 of Application 18/237,763 does not explicitly teach wherein the payload device comprises a race car. Giannakopoulos discloses a parachute deployment system wherein the mechanical actuator comprises a Bowden cable (50) and the payload device comprises a race car (Par 60). (Fig. 2) In view of the teachings of Giannakopoulos it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art provide a race car in the in order to provide emergency braking in a vehicle. The disclosed car of Giannakopoulous is capable of racing.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yagihashi et al. (WO 2019039062).
Re claim 1, Yagihashi et al. disclose an electronic parachute deployment system, comprising: an electronic deployment actuator (370) connected to a control module (340) of a payload device; a redundant deployment actuator (390) connected to the payload device (330); a parachute container (186) for releasably containing a parachute (110); a release mechanism (400) coupled to the deployment actuator and the payload device, the release mechanism connected to the parachute container; and a control module (Par. 139), having a memory and a processor connected to the electronic actuator and the release mechanism; wherein the memory includes a set of executable instructions that when executed by the processor causes the control module to perform the following: receiving an activation signal; sending the activation signal to the release mechanism; activating the release mechanism using the activation signal; and deploying the parachute from the payload device. (Par. 143-145) (See US equivalent US 2020/0198790 for translation. Fig 9-11)
Re claim 2, Yagihashi et al. disclose wherein the redundant deployment actuator (390) is a mechanical actuator. (Fig. 10)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yagihashi et al. (WO 2019039062) in view of Giannakopoulos (US 20130221159).
Re claim 3, Yagihashi et al. do not teach wherein the mechanical actuator comprises a Bowden cable and the payload device comprises a race car. Giannakopoulos discloses a parachute deployment system wherein the mechanical actuator comprises a Bowden cable (50) and the payload device comprises a race car (Par 60). (Fig. 2) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the Bowden cable in the car of Giannakopoulous in the system of Yagihashi et al. to provide a quick release actuation of a parachute to avoid a collision. The disclosed car of Giannakopoulous is capable of racing.
7. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yagihashi et al. (WO 2019039062).
Re claim 4, Yagihashi et al. teach wherein the release mechanism comprises a biased puncture needle abutting the seal (Par. 240). Yagihashi et al. do not teach wherein the inert gas is CO2. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use CO2 in the system of Yagihashi et al. since CO2 is a well known inert compressible gas.
8. Claims 6, 7, 9-15 and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yagihashi et al. (WO 2019039062) in view of Joao (US 20030193404).
Re claims 6, Yagihashi et al. teach an electronic parachute deployment system, comprising: a payload device (330); an electronic actuator (370) coupled to the payload device; a redundant deployment actuator (390) coupled to the payload device; a release mechanism (400) coupled to the payload device; and a control module (Par. 139), having a memory and a processor, connected to the electronic actuator; wherein the memory includes a set of executable instructions. (See above.)
Yagihashi et al. do not teach wherein when executed by the processor causes the payload device to perform the following: providing an authentication key; sending an authorized activation signal to the payload device; and deploying a parachute from the payload device based on the authorized activation signal.
Joao teaches a parachute deployment system (Par. 78) wherein when executed by the processor (4) causes the payload device to perform the following: providing an authentication key (Par. 745); sending an authorized activation signal to the payload device (Par. 385); and deploying a parachute from the payload device based on the authorized activation signal. (Fig. 11B) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide an authentication key and authorized activation signal of Joao in the system of Yagihashi et al. in order to provide additional security to the system.
Re claim 7, Yagihashi et al. as modified teach wherein the authentication key comprises a public encryption key (“public-key algorithms”, “public-key digital signature algorithms”. (Par. 745)
Re claim 10, Yagihashi et al. as modified teach a remote device (Joao - 150); wherein the remote device comprises a second memory (Joao - 161, 162), and a second processor (Joao - 151); and wherein the second memory includes a second set of executable instructions that when executed by the second processor causes the remote device to perform the following: sending an access request signal including a random number; verifying the random number is included in an access confirmation signal; and encrypting a deployment activation signal using an encryption key (Joao - Par. 745).
Re claim 11, Yagihashi et al. as modified teach a payload transceiver wherein the payload transceiver comprises a second memory (Joao – 161, 162) and a second processor (Joao – 151); wherein the second memory includes a second set of executable instructions that when executed by the second processor causes the payload transceiver to perform the following: sending an access confirmation signal; receiving the authorized activation signal; and sending a decrypted deployment activation signal (Joao - Par. 745).
Re claim 12, Yagihashi et al. as modified teach wherein the set of executable instructions when executed by the processor causes the control module to perform the following: decrypting a deployment activation signal using an encryption key; verifying the deployment activation signal; and sending the verified deployment activation signal to the deployment actuator. See paragraph 745 describing encryption, paragraph 747 which discusses automatic activation, control and security monitoring and paragraph 321 wherein “The monitoring device or monitoring system can detect sudden change(s) in vehicle movement, erratic behavior, and/or abnormal behavior, and generate and transmit a signal to any one or more of the server computer 510, the server computer 952, the computer 970, and/or the home or personal computer or communication device 150, to alert an authorized user of the sudden change(s) in vehicle movement, erratic behavior, and/or abnormal behavior. Thereafter, a user or operator can take control of the vehicle from a remote location via any one or more of the home or personal computer or communication device 150, the server computer 510, the server computer 952, and/or the computer 970.”
Re claims 13 and 21, Yagihashi et al. as modified teach wherein the redundant deployment actuator (390) comprises a mechanical actuator; and wherein the mechanical actuator and the electronic actuator (370) are connected to the control module of the payload device to simultaneously actuate and affect parachute deployment.
Re claim 14, Yagihashi et al. as modified teach an electronic parachute deployment network (Joao, Par. 311), comprising: a payload device (11); a remote device (Par. 746) communicatively coupled to the payload device; a deployment actuator coupled to the payload device; and a control module (4), having a memory and a processor, connected to the remote device; wherein the memory (5, 6) includes a set of executable instructions that when executed by the processor (4) causes the payload device to perform the following: providing an authentication key, decrypting a deployment activation signal (Par. 745) and sending the decrypted deployment activation signal to the deployment actuator (Par. 385) to deploy a parachute from the payload device. (Fig. 11B)
Re claim 15, Yagihashi et al. as modified teach wherein the authentication key comprises a public encryption key (“public-key algorithms”, “public-key digital signature algorithms”. (Par. 745)
Re claims 9 and 17, Yagihashi et al. as modified teach a parachute deployment system wherein the payload device comprises a car (Par 746). The disclosed car of is capable of racing. Regarding the set of executable instructions are further configured to cause the payload device to perform the following: terminating an active racing mode of the payload device; and indicating, at the control module, a parachute deployment mode. The limitation is an intended use and Joao is capable of terminating an active racing mode of the payload device; and indicating, at the control module, a parachute deployment mode.
Re claim 18, Yagihashi et al. as modified teach a remote device (150); wherein the remote device comprises a second memory (161, 162), and a second processor (151); and wherein the second memory includes a second set of executable instructions that when executed by the second processor causes the remote device to perform the following: sending an access request signal including a random number; verifying the random number is included in an access confirmation signal; and encrypting a deployment activation signal using an encryption key (Par. 745).
Re claim 19, Yagihashi et al. as modified teach a payload transceiver wherein the payload transceiver comprises a second memory (161, 162) and a second processor (151); wherein the second memory includes a second set of executable instructions that when executed by the second processor causes the payload transceiver to perform the following: sending an access confirmation signal; receiving the deployment activation signal; and receiving a command signal from the control module to send the decrypted deployment activation signal to the deployment actuator. (Par. 745).
Re claim 20, Yagihashi et al. as modified teach wherein the set of executable instructions when executed by the processor causes the control module to perform the following: decrypting a deployment activation signal using an encryption key; verifying the deployment activation signal; and sending the verified deployment activation signal to the deployment actuator. See paragraph 745 describing encryption, paragraph 747 which discusses automatic activation, control and security monitoring and paragraph 321 wherein “The monitoring device or monitoring system can detect sudden change(s) in vehicle movement, erratic behavior, and/or abnormal behavior, and generate and transmit a signal to any one or more of the server computer 510, the server computer 952, the computer 970, and/or the home or personal computer or communication device 150, to alert an authorized user of the sudden change(s) in vehicle movement, erratic behavior, and/or abnormal behavior. Thereafter, a user or operator can take control of the vehicle from a remote location via any one or more of the home or personal computer or communication device 150, the server computer 510, the server computer 952, and/or the computer 970.”
9. Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yagihashi et al. (WO 2019039062) in view of Joao (US 20030193404) and further in view of Peeters et al. (US 20140025950).
Re claims 8 and 16, Yagihashi et al. as modified do not teach a remote device having a private encryption key that is paired with the public encryption key. Peeters et al. teaches a remote device having a private encryption key that is paired with the public encryption key. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have a private encryption key that is paired with the public encryption key as taught by Peeters et al. for providing both the vehicle owner and another user with means to access and control the vehicle remotely in an emergency while maintaining system security. (Par. 20, 40)
Claims 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Joao (US 2003/0193404).
Re claim 22, Joao discloses an electronic parachute deployment network (Par. 311), comprising: a payload device (11); a remote device (Par. 746) communicatively coupled to the payload device; a deployment actuator coupled to the payload device; and a control module (4), having a memory and a processor, connected to the remote device; wherein the memory (5, 6) includes a set of executable instructions that when executed by the processor (4) causes the payload device to perform the following: providing an authentication key (Par. 745); sending an authorized activation signal to the payload device (Par. 385); and deploying a parachute from the payload device based on the authorized activation signal and wherein the parachute deployment causes the payload device to slow or stop, ensuring the safety of the payload device and its contents. (Fig. 11B)
Re claim 23, Joao discloses an indicator; wherein the indicator (11) is configured to indicate an operation of the control module (4) or a parachute deployment mode of the control module. (Par. 319)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Qian and Nolan et al. teach similar electronic parachute deployment systems.
/MELANIE TORRES WILLIAMS/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3616
MTWOctober 31, 2025