Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 6/22/26 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended claims filed 6/22/26 have been considered as follows.
35 USC 102/103 Rejections of the claims:
Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of the new ground rejections based on modified interpretation of the prior art teaching.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 34,36-37,42-43 is/are rejected under at least one of 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (2) as being anticipated by Kishinami (US 20120183288, of record).
Regarding claim 34, Kishinami (Fig. 1) teaches A hybrid lens comprising:
a glass substrate (30);
a resin lens (34) provided on at least one surface of the glass substrate;
an adhesive layer (35) provided between the glass substrate and the resin lens; and
a metal compound layer (18c, [84,113], “chromium oxide”, “similar”) provided between the glass substrate and the resin lens, wherein
the metal compound layer is a black layer ([84], “black”),
the resin lens has an effective region at a center of the resin lens in a plan view, the effective region having a convex shape (34a as seen in Fig. 1),
the resin lens further has a wall section (7) surrounding a periphery of the effective region, the wall section protruding in a direction orthogonal to the at least one surface of the glass substrate away from the glass substrate (as seen in Fig. 1), and
in the direction orthogonal to the at least one surface of the glass substrate, a highest position of the wall section is located farther from the at least one surface of the glass substrate than a highest position of the resin lens in the effective region (so as to form a gap between 34a and 4).
Regarding claim 36, Kishinami further teaches The hybrid lens according to claim 34, wherein the metal compound layer comprises a metal oxide ([84], “chromium oxide”).
Regarding claim 37, Kishinami further teaches The hybrid lens according to claim 34, wherein the metal compound layer comprises a chromium compound ([84], “chromium oxide”).
Regarding claim 42, Kishinami further teaches (Fig. 1) The hybrid lens according to claim 34, wherein the adhesive layer joins the metal compound layer and the resin lens.
Regarding claim 43, Kishinami further teaches (Fig. 1) The hybrid lens according to claim 34, wherein the metal compound layer is provided on the at least one surface of the glass substrate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kishinami in view of Iyer (US 20120229754), and further in view of HIDEYUKI (JP 2009114390, as evidenced by the translation, all of record).
Regarding claim 1, Kishinami teaches (Fig. 1) A hybrid lens comprising:
a glass substrate (30);
a resin lens (34) provided on at least one surface of the glass substrate;
an adhesive layer (55) provided between the glass substrate and the resin lens; and
a black layer (18c, [84,113], “chromium oxide”, “black”, “similar”) provided between the glass substrate and the adhesive layer, wherein
the resin lens has an effective region at a center of the resin lens in a plan view, the effective region having a convex shape (34a as seen in Fig. 1),
the resin lens further has a wall section (7) surrounding a periphery of the effective region, the wall section extending protruding in a direction orthogonal to the at least one surface of the glass substrate away from the glass substrate, and
in the direction orthogonal to the at least one surface of the glass substrate, a highest position of the wall section is located farther from the at least one surface of the glass substrate than a highest position of the resin lens in the effective region (so as to form a gap between 34a and 4).
Kishinami does not explicitly teach
a glass transition temperature of the resin lens is higher than a glass transition temperature of the adhesive layer, and
a difference between the glass transition temperature of the resin lens and the glass transition temperature of the adhesive layer is from 97 to 150° C.
However, in an analogous optics field of endeavor, Iyer teaches ([6], “the adhesive layer may be a visco-elastic material and have a glass transition temperature in the range of 0-20.degree. C”) a glass transition temperature of an adhesive layer is 0-20° C.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Kishinami and Iyer for the purposes of reducing the stress of the resin lens for broad temperature range application.
Further, in an analogous optics field of endeavor, HIDEYUKI teaches (Table 2, Comparative example 1, 141, “ガラス転移温度”means glass transition temperature) a glass transition temperature of a resin is 141° C.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of HIDEYUKI and Kishinami in view of Iyer such that
a glass transition temperature of the resin lens is higher than a glass transition temperature of the adhesive layer (141 vs 0-20), and
a difference between the glass transition temperature of the resin lens and the glass transition temperature of the adhesive layer is from 97 to 150° C (from 121 to 141)
for the purposes of higher temperature environment application.
Regarding claim 11, Kishinami further teaches The hybrid lens according to claim 1, wherein the black layer comprises a metal compound ([84], “chromium oxide”).
Regarding claim 12, Kishinami further teaches The hybrid lens according to claim 1, wherein the adhesive layer joins the black layer and the resin lens (Fig. 1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WEN HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872
wen.huang2@uspto.gov
(571)270-0234