Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1,10-12,34-37,42-43 in the reply filed on 12/8/25 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 34-37,42-43 is/are rejected under at least one of 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (2) as being anticipated by Kishinami (US 20120183288, of record).
Regarding claim 34, Kishinami teaches A hybrid lens comprising:
a glass substrate (12);
a resin lens (16a) provided on at least one surface of the glass substrate;
an adhesive layer (15) provided between the glass substrate and the resin lens; and
a metal compound layer (18a, [84], “chromium oxide”) provided between the glass substrate and the resin lens.
Regarding claim 35, Kishinami further teaches The hybrid lens according to claim 34, wherein the metal compound layer is a black layer ([84], “black”).
Regarding claim 36, Kishinami further teaches The hybrid lens according to claim 34, wherein the metal compound layer comprises a metal oxide ([84], “chromium oxide”).
Regarding claim 37, Kishinami further teaches The hybrid lens according to claim 34, wherein the metal compound layer comprises a chromium compound ([84], “chromium oxide”).
Regarding claim 42, Kishinami further teaches (Fig. 1) The hybrid lens according to claim 34, wherein the adhesive layer joins the metal compound layer and the resin lens.
Regarding claim 43, Kishinami further teaches (Fig. 1) The hybrid lens according to claim 34, wherein the metal compound layer is provided on a surface of the glass substrate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kishinami in view of Iyer (US 20120229754), and further in view of HIDEYUKI (JP 2009114390, as evidenced by the translation, all of record).
Regarding claim 1, Kishinami teaches (Fig. 1) A hybrid lens comprising:
a glass substrate (12);
a resin lens (16a) provided on at least one surface of the glass substrate; and
an adhesive layer (15) provided between the glass substrate and the resin lens.
Kishinami does not explicitly teach
a glass transition temperature of the resin lens is higher than a glass transition temperature of the adhesive layer, and
a difference between the glass transition temperature of the resin lens and the glass transition temperature of the adhesive layer is from 97 to 150° C.
However, in an analogous optics field of endeavor, Iyer teaches ([6], “the adhesive layer may be a visco-elastic material and have a glass transition temperature in the range of 0-20.degree. C”) a glass transition temperature of an adhesive layer is 0-20° C.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Kishinami and Iyer for the purposes of reducing the stress of the resin lens for broad temperature range application.
Further, in an analogous optics field of endeavor, HIDEYUKI teaches (Table 2, Comparative example 1, 141, “ガラス転移温度”means glass transition temperature) a glass transition temperature of a resin is 141° C.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of HIDEYUKI and Kishinami in view of Iyer such that
a glass transition temperature of the resin lens is higher than a glass transition temperature of the adhesive layer (141 vs 0-20), and
a difference between the glass transition temperature of the resin lens and the glass transition temperature of the adhesive layer is from 97 to 150° C (from 121 to 141)
for the purposes of higher temperature environment application.
Regarding claim 10, Kishinami further teaches The hybrid lens according to claim 1, wherein a black layer (18a in Fig. 1, [84], “black”) is provided between the glass substrate and the adhesive layer.
Regarding claim 11, Kishinami further teaches The hybrid lens according to claim 10, wherein the black layer comprises a metal compound ([84], “chromium oxide”).
Regarding claim 12, Kishinami further teaches The hybrid lens according to claim 10, wherein the adhesive layer joins the black layer and the resin lens (Fig. 1).
Conclusion
/WEN HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872
wen.huang2@uspto.gov
(571)270-0234