DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Examiner notes the following amendments made to the claims:
Claim 1 amended to include limitation regarding the SOC during the pre-formation process
Claim 2 cancelled
Claim 6 amended to overcome objection
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 11/11/2025, with respect to the objection of claim 6 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claim 6 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 11/11/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, examiner does not find persuasive the argument that Min fails to teach the pre-formation process occurring within 50% state of charge. Examiner finds that the combination of Yu, Hwang, and Min teaches all of the elements of amended claim 1. Examiner will respond to applicant arguments below:
Applicant argues that an essential part of the invention is the real-time removal of gas generated during the pre-formation operation, performed within an SOC of 50% of less. Examiner does not find the arguments persuasive. By including the limitation regarding SOC into claim 1, examiner amends the rejection to include the teachings of Min, which was used to reject previously presented claim 2. Examiner believes that Min teaches this limitation, specifically, that Min teaches the real-time removal of gas generated within an SOC of 50 % or less (“Compared to conventional methods, in which VC (vinylene carbonate) or VEC (vinyl ethylene carbonate) is used as an additive and degassing is conducted only after pre-charging to SOC of 10% or less, the method of fabricating a lithium secondary battery according to the present invention is advantageous in that a high-temperature lifespan improver, acting to form an SEI of a negative electrode, is added, and first degassing after a pre-charging process to SOC of 10% or less and second degassing after a formation process are conducted.” Min [0012].) Min clearly teaches a first degassing that occurs after a preformation wherein the SOC is 10% or less, and a second degassing that occurs after the pre-formation process. Therefore, by altering the rejection to be in view of Min, and using the pre-formation process and first degassing of Min in combination with the second degassing as taught by either Yu or Hwang (applicant acknowledges that the degassing process of Hwang corresponds to the secondary degassing of the present invention), all of the limitations of amended claim 1 are met. Regarding claims 3-13, since no arguments are made on their patentability other than being dependent on claim 1, the rejections remain in place and unchanged, other than now being in view of Min.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 10, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (US 20220077525 A1) in view of Hwang (US 20230049301 A1), and further in view of Min (US 20100313410 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yu teaches all of the following elements:
A formation method of a secondary battery, the formation method comprising: (“A method for manufacturing a secondary battery according to the present invention includes:” Yu [0022])
a pre formation operation for pre-charging a pouch-type secondary battery in which an electrode assembly and an electrolyte are sealed, (“The manufacturing process of a lithium secondary battery includes inserting an electrode assembly into a battery case made of a laminate sheet, injecting an electrolyte solution, and sealing it to perform an activation process.” Yu [0039] and “FIG. 1 is a cross-sectional view of a laminate sheet of a pouch-type secondary battery.” Yu [0007])
the pouch-type secondary battery including a pocket for gas collection; (“Referring to FIG. 5, the battery case 100 includes a receiving portion 110 in which the electrode assembly 1 of the positive electrode/separator/negative electrode structure is accommodated, a gas pocket unit 120 disposed above the receiving portion to collect gas generated during the activation process, and a sealing unit 130 for sealing the inside of the battery case,” Yu [0042])
and a secondary degassing operation for aging and secondarily degassing the pre-formed secondary battery (“In one specific example, the method of manufacturing a secondary battery according to the present invention may further include performing a degassing process of discharging internal gas by drilling at least one through hole in the gas pocket unit after the activation process.” Yu [0067]. In this case, the hole drilled in the gas pocket unit is analogous to the piercing in the instant application, and is sealed after the activation process using the sealing unit 130.)
Yu is silent on the following elements of claim 1:
a primary degassing operation for forming a piercing in the pocket for gas collection, primarily degassing the gas generated during the pre-formation operation in real time through the piercing, and then sealing the piercing;
wherein the pre formation operation is performed within 50% of a state of charge (SOC)
Hwang teaches all of the elements of claim 1 that are not found in Yu (in case applicant doesn’t find that Yu properly teaches all of the elements of the second degassing):
and a secondary degassing operation for aging and secondarily degassing the pre-formed secondary battery. (“Next, the method of activating a battery cell according to the present invention includes aging the battery cell “ Hwang [0061] and “In a specific example, the method further includes sealing the battery cell and removing the gas pocket, after the activating of the battery cell.” Hwang [0066]). Given that claim 13 specifies that the secondary degassing operation can comprise removing the gas collecting pocket, the method of Hwang meets both this limitation and the additional limitations of claim 13.)
Hwang and Yu are considered to be analogous because they are both within the same field of methods of manufacturing pouch-type battery elements including specific degassing methods/operations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the formation method of a pouch-type secondary battery of Yu to include the second degassing operation comprising removing the gas pocket entirely, as taught by Hwang, in order to reduce the amount of dead space in the cell and remove any additional gas trapped in the gas pocket that was not removed during the vacuum gas removal process (“The gas pocket is a space for collecting activation gas, and when the degassing process is completed, it is a dead space in the cell, and accordingly, after trimmed, a new sealing line is formed by heat-fusing the first case and the second case of the corresponding portion.” Hwang [0067]).
Hwang and Yu are silent on the following elements of claim 1:
a primary degassing operation for forming a piercing in the pocket for gas collection, primarily degassing the gas generated during the pre-formation operation in real time through the piercing, and then sealing the piercing;
wherein the pre formation operation is performed within 50% of a state of charge (SOC)
However, Min teaches all of the elements of claim 1 that are not found in Hwang or Yu. Specifically, Min teaches a battery formation method with both a first and second degassing, the first of which is in real-time, and where the pre-formation operation is performed within a 50% state of charge:
a primary degassing operation for forming a piercing in the pocket for gas collection, primarily degassing the gas generated during the pre-formation operation in real time through the piercing, and then sealing the piercing; (“In order to solve problems related to the occurrence of a swelling phenomenon at the time of subjecting a lithium secondary battery, the electrolyte of which is added with an SEI improver for improving a high-temperature lifespan, to a formation process, the present invention provides a method of fabricating a lithium secondary battery, in which degassing is conducted not only after pre-charging to 10% or less of a battery capacity but also after a formation process.” Min [0016]. And “A method of fabricating a lithium secondary battery is provided, which comprises interposing a separator between a positive electrode plate and a negative electrode plate, thus manufacturing an electrode assembly; housing the electrode assembly in a battery case, introducing an additive-containing electrolytic solution, and then sealing the battery case; subjecting the sealed battery case to pre-charging, and then removing gas generated by the pre-charging; subjecting the battery case to formation; and removing gas generated by the formation,” Min [0011]. Min teaches a first and second degassing, the first or which is performed after the pre-charging/pre formation and then sealed, prior to the second degassing. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the piercing of Yu to be sealed after the first degassing, as this is an essential step in the process.)
wherein the pre formation operation is performed within 50% of a state of charge (SOC) (“Compared to conventional methods, in which VC (vinylene carbonate) or VEC (vinyl ethylene carbonate) is used as an additive and degassing is conducted only after pre-charging to SOC of 10% or less, the method of fabricating a lithium secondary battery according to the present invention is advantageous in that a high-temperature lifespan improver, acting to form an SEI of a negative electrode, is added, and first degassing after a pre-charging process to SOC of 10% or less and second degassing after a formation process are conducted.” Min [0012].)
Min and Yu are considered to be analogous because they are both within the same field of the formation of secondary batteries with a degassing operation and a pre-formation step that involves charging. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yu to include a first and second degassing, where the first degassing occurs in live time (i.e., before full charging), and pre-formation occurs with a SOC of 10% or less. These two modifications would be desirable as the method of Min is shown to improve high temperature characteristics and reduce swelling. If swelling were reduced, less material would be required, thus meeting the goals of the instant invention without needing to be states. (“compared to conventional methods, in which VC (vinylene carbonate) or VEC (vinyl ethylene carbonate) is used as an additive and degassing is conducted after pre-charging to SOC of 10% or less, the method of fabricating a lithium secondary battery according to the present invention is advantageous in that a high-temperature lifespan improver, acting to form an SEI of a negative electrode, is added, and deep pre-charging to 50 -about 100% and then degassing are conducted. Thereby, in the lithium secondary battery fabricated through the method of the present invention, the high-temperature lifespan of the battery is increased, and, as well, a swelling phenomenon, caused by the additional generation of gas, can be effectively eliminated.” Min [0012]). Essentially, the teachings of Min would show one skilled in the art the benefits of both a pre-formation with a SOC of less than 50% and additionally a first degassing performed after the preformation.
Regarding claim 10, modified Yu teaches all of the elements of claim 1, as shown above. Yu is silent on the following elements of claim 10:
The formation method of a secondary battery of claim 1, wherein the primary degassing is performed by vacuum suctioning.
However, Hwang teaches all of the elements of claim 10 that are not found in Yu:
The formation method of a secondary battery of claim 1, wherein the primary degassing is performed by vacuum suctioning. (“Further, the degassing step (S50) is a process of discharging the activation gas to the outside of the pouch case through the degassing hole by negative pressure by forming the vacuum state inside the chamber again.” Hwang [0063])
Hwang and Yu are considered to be analogous for the reasons provided above. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the degassing method of Yu to comprise vacuum suctioning, as taught by Hwang, as they are both known methods in the art to accomplish the same result, which is to remove gas from a gas pocket in a pouch-type secondary battery. The method of Hwang would be desirable in that by forming a vacuum state within the gas pocket, the gas discharge efficiency is improved (“if a vacuum state is formed in the chamber again, the gas discharge efficiency increases by the negative pressure, and the gas remaining in the electrode assembly may also be discharged.” Hwang [0064]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Yu teaches all of the elements of claim 1, as shown above. Yu is silent on the following elements of claim 13:
The formation method of a secondary battery of claim 1, wherein the secondary degassing comprises an operation of removing the pocket for gas collection.
However, Hwang teaches all of the elements of claim 13 not found in Yu. Specifically, Hwang teaches:
The formation method of a secondary battery of claim 1, wherein the secondary degassing comprises an operation of removing the pocket for gas collection. (“In a specific example, the method further includes sealing the battery cell and removing the gas pocket, after the activating of the battery cell.” Hwang [0020] As described in claim 1, the secondary degassing comprising removing the gas pocket is taught by Hwang and would not require any further modification or motivation to meet the additional limitations of claim 13.)
Claim(s) 3-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (US 20220077525 A1) in view of Hwang (US 20230049301 A1), in view of Min (US 20100313410 A1) and further in view of Yu (US 20230253609 A1), hereinafter referred to as Yu ‘609.
Regarding claim 3, modified Yu teaches all of the elements of claim 1, as shown above. Yu and Hwang are both silent on the following elements of claim 3. Specifically, while Hwang does teach using pressure to help with the degassing operation, it is silent on additionally heating the gas pocket:
The formation method of a secondary battery of claim 1, wherein the pre formation operation is performed under pressure and heating using a pressing member.
However, Yu ‘609 teaches all of the elements of claim 2 that are not found in Yu or Hwang. Specifically, Yu ‘609 teaches the following:
The formation method of a secondary battery of claim 1, wherein the pre formation operation is performed under pressure and heating using a pressing member. (“It is preferable that the jig 2 for pressing the secondary battery 1 has a flat pressing surface to uniformly press the entire surface of both surfaces of the secondary battery 1.” Yu’609 [0067] and “Therefore, when a pressure is applied while performing the formation process, the secondary battery 1 may be heated at a high temperature to discharge the remaining or trapped gas to the outside and also to additionally laminate non-laminated portion of the electrode assembly.” Yu ‘609 [0066])
Yu and Yu ‘609 are considered to be analogous because they are both related to methods for fabricating secondary batteries involving degassing methods. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yu to include the pressing and heating step of Yu ‘609 in order to provide additional methods of discharging the gas from the gas pocket and additionally laminating the electrode assembly (“Since the secondary battery is pressed while performing the formation process of the can type secondary battery, the gas may be effectively discharged to the outside to prevent the electrode assembly from swelling and to shorten the manufacturing process.” Yu ‘609 [0028] and “Therefore, when a pressure is applied while performing the formation process, the secondary battery 1 may be heated at a high temperature to discharge the remaining or trapped gas to the outside and also to additionally laminate non-laminated portion of the electrode assembly.” Yu ‘609 [0066]). Despite the fact that Yu ‘609 is related to a can-type secondary battery rather than a pouch-type secondary battery, the modification would still be obvious to one skilled in the art as the purpose of the pressure and heat is to help optimize the degassing during the formation process, which is a step necessary in the formation of both can-type and pouch-type secondary batteries.
By using the pressure plates and heating steps of Yu ‘609 to meet the limitations of claim 3, the limitations of claims 4-7 would be met as well without requiring any additional modification or motivation.
Regarding claim 4, modified Yu teaches all of the elements of claim 3, as shown above. Yu and Hwang are both silent on the following elements of claim 4:
The formation method of a secondary battery of claim 3, wherein the pressing applies pressure to both electrode surfaces of the secondary battery.
However, Yu ‘609 teaches all of the elements of claim 4 that are not found in Yu or Hwang. Specifically, Yu ‘609 teaches the following:
The formation method of a secondary battery of claim 3, wherein the pressing applies pressure to both electrode surfaces of the secondary battery. (“It is preferable that the jig 2 for pressing the secondary battery 1 has a flat pressing surface to uniformly press the entire surface of both surfaces of the secondary battery 1.” Yu [0067] and figure 4. As can be seen below, the pressing jig of Yu is nearly identical to that in the instant application. Therefore, if it were used on a battery having two electrode surfaces, each on the outer edge, the pressing jig would apply pressure to both surfaces.)
Regarding claim 5, modified Yu teaches all of the elements of claim 3, as shown above. Yu and Hwang are both silent on the following elements of claim 5:
The formation method of a secondary battery of claim 3, wherein the pressing applies pressure to an area of 50% or more of a total area of an electrode surface of the secondary battery.
However, Yu ‘609 teaches all of the elements of claim 5 that are not found in Yu or Hwang. Specifically, Yu ‘609 teaches the following:
The formation method of a secondary battery of claim 3, wherein the pressing applies pressure to an area of 50% or more of a total area of an electrode surface of the secondary battery. (Yu figure 4 depicts a pressing jig which applies pressure to an area well over 50% of the total electrode surface of the secondary battery, and can be compared to figure 3 in the instant application, see above.)
Regarding claim 6, modified Yu teaches all of the elements of claim 3, as shown above. Yu and Hwang are both silent on the following elements of claim 6:
The formation method of a secondary battery of claim 3, wherein the pressing and heating are performed by pressing a pressing member, heated to a temperature of 20 to 1000C to a pressure of 10000 kgf or less.
However, Yu ‘609 teaches all of the elements of claim 6 that are not found in Yu or Hwang. Specifically, Yu ‘609 teaches the following:
The formation method of a secondary battery of claim 3, wherein the pressing and heating are performed by pressing a pressing member, heated to a temperature of 20 to 1000C to a pressure of 10000 kgf or less. (“the first pressure may be 0.5 kgf/cm2 to 1 kgf/ cm2, and the second pressure may be 4.5 kgf/ cm2 to 10 kgf/ cm2 Yu [0017]) and “ In addition, in the applying of the pressure while performing the formation process, the battery case may be heated. In addition, the battery case may be heated at a temperature of 55° C. to 65° C.” Yu [0020-0021] The ranges taught for pressure and temperature by Yu both anticipate the claimed ranges, and therefore require no additional obviousness analysis.)
Regarding claim 7, modified Yu teaches all of the elements of claim 3, as shown above. Yu and Hwang are both silent on the following elements of claim 7:
The formation method of a secondary battery of claim 3, wherein the pressing member has a size of an area of 50% or more and 200% or less with respect to an area of the electrode surface.
However, Yu ‘609 teaches all of the elements of claim 7 that are not found in Yu or Hwang. Specifically, Yu ‘609 teaches the following:
The formation method of a secondary battery of claim 3, wherein the pressing member has a size of an area of 50% or more and 200% or less with respect to an area of the electrode surface. (Yu figure 4 depicts a pressing jig which applies pressure to an area well over 50% of the total electrode surface of the secondary battery, but is clearly smaller than 200% of the total electrode surface. This can be compared to figure 3 in the instant application, see above.)
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (US 20220077525 A1) in view of Hwang (US 20230049301 A1), in view of Min (US 20100313410 A1) and further in view of Oh (US 20240014472 A1)
Regarding claim 8, modified Yu teaches all of the elements of claim 1, as shown above. Yu and Hwang are both silent on the following elements of claim 8:
The formation method of a secondary battery of claim 1, wherein the piercing is formed in a region of 40% or more of a region from a center line longitudinally dividing the pocket for gas collection in half to an outermost side in one or both directions.
However, Oh teaches all of the elements of claim 8 that are not found in Yu or Hwang:
The formation method of a secondary battery of claim 1, wherein the piercing is formed in a region of 40% or more of a region from a center line longitudinally dividing the pocket for gas collection in half to an outermost side in one or both directions. (“When the formation process is completed, a gas is generated in the battery case 13. Accordingly, the degassing hole H is punched in the degassing part 137 of the battery case 13. Through the degassing holes H, the gas is discharged from the inside of the battery case 13 to the outside.” Oh [0279] and figure 21. Figure 21 shows degassing holes H further than 40% from the center and on both sides of the degassing part. See below for comparison between Oh figure 21 and instant figure 4.)
Oh and Yu are considered to be analogous because they are both within the same field of methods of forming pouch-type secondary batteries having degassing operations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the degassing step of Yu to specifically include the placement of the degassing holes of Oh because the placement is chosen specifically to avoid the leakage of injected electrolyte through the hole (“Here, the injected electrolyte may leak through the degassing hole H while the gas is easily discharged. In order to prevent this, it is preferable that the degassing hole H is punched at a position close to the temporary sealing part 1340. When the degassing hole H is punched, the degassing process of discharging the gas to the outside of the battery case 13 is performed.” Oh [0279]). Additionally, Yu teaches a similar system involving degassing through a hole in the gas pocket (“the method of manufacturing a secondary battery according to the present invention may further include performing a degassing process of discharging internal gas by drilling at least one through hole in the gas pocket unit after the activation process.” Yu [0067] and figure 9) and therefore it would be routine experimentation for one skilled in the art to optimize the placement of the hole in order to maximize the degassing effect while minimizing possible leakage or other negative impacts.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (US 20220077525 A1) in view of Hwang (US 20230049301 A1), in view of Min (US 20100313410 A1), in view of Oh (US 20240014472 A1), and further in view of Park (US 20190207183 A1).
Regarding claim 9, modified Yu teaches all of the elements of claim 8, as shown above. Yu and Hwang are silent on the following elements of claim 9:
The formation method of a secondary battery of claim 8, wherein the piercing is formed on both surfaces of the pocket for gas collection.
While Yu teaches a hole being punched through the gas pocket (“the method of manufacturing a secondary battery according to the present invention may further include performing a degassing process of discharging internal gas by drilling at least one through hole in the gas pocket unit after the activation process.” Yu [0067] and figure 9) and Oh teaches the placement of said hole as well as the presence of multiple (“Accordingly, the degassing hole H is punched in the degassing part 137 of the battery case 13. Through the degassing holes H, the gas is discharged from the inside of the battery case 13 to the outside.” Oh [0297]), Park is being used as an additional reference because it explicitly states that a piercing is used on both sides of a gas pocket. Park teaches the following:
The formation method of a secondary battery of claim 8, wherein the piercing is formed on both surfaces of the pocket for gas collection. (“The second piercing part 360 is at least partially provided below the vacuum chamber 200 and may be provided below the gas pocket 59 of the battery cell 50 inside the vacuum chamber 200. In other words, the second piercing part 360 may be disposed to face the first piercing part 320 with the gas pocket 59 being interposed therebetween.” Park [0076] and figure 5).
Park is considered to be analogous to both Yu and Oh as it is also within the same field of formation methods for pouch-type secondary batteries. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the degassing holes of Oh to be formed on both sides of the gas collection pocket in order to provide additional avenues for the release of trapped gases, which can improve efficiency of the degassing process (“According to various embodiments as above, it is possible to provide a battery cell degassing apparatus which may increase the gas removal efficiency from the battery cell while degassing the battery cell and minimize the external contamination of the battery cell due to the electrolyte leakage.” Park [0030]).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (US 20220077525 A1) in view of Hwang (US 20230049301 A1), in view of Min (US 20100313410 A1) ,and further in view of Park (US 20190207183 A1).
Regarding claim 11, modified Yu teaches all of the elements of claim 10, as shown above. Yu and Hwang are silent on the following elements of claim 11. Specifically, Hwang does not specifically state that its vacuum suction method is applied to both surfaces of the gas collection pocket:
The formation method of a secondary battery of claim 10, wherein the primary degassing is performed by suctioning with a vacuum from both surfaces of the pocket for gas collection.
However, Park teaches all of the elements of claim 11 that are not found in Yu or Hwang. Specifically, Park teaches a piercing method which forms holes on both surfaces of the gas pocket, and a vacuum system which vacuums exhausted gas out of both of the formed piercings, thus meeting all of the limitations of claim 11:
The formation method of a secondary battery of claim 10, wherein the primary degassing is performed by suctioning with a vacuum from both surfaces of the pocket for gas collection. (“Referring to FIGS. 1 to 6, a battery cell degassing apparatus 10 is used for degassing a battery cell 50 and may include a chamber cover 100, a vacuum chamber 200, a piercing unit 300 and a pressing unit 400.” Park [0040]. As can be seen in Park figure 2, the piercing unit is placed within the vacuum chamber, and therefore the exhausted gas will be suctioned out of both piercings made within the provided vacuum chamber).
Park is considered to be analogous to both Yu and Hwang as it is also within the same field of formation methods for pouch-type secondary batteries. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vacuum suction of Hwang to be performed on piercings on both sides of the gas collection member in order to provide additional avenues for the release of trapped gases, which can improve efficiency of the degassing process (“According to various embodiments as above, it is possible to provide a battery cell degassing apparatus which may increase the gas removal efficiency from the battery cell while degassing the battery cell and minimize the external contamination of the battery cell due to the electrolyte leakage.” Park [0030]).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (US 20220077525 A1) in view of Hwang (US 20230049301 A1), in view of Min (US 20100313410 A1), and further in view of Kim (US 20220077537 A1)
Regarding claim 12, modified Yu teaches all of the elements of claim 1, as shown above. Yu and Hwang are silent on the following elements of claim 12:
The formation method of a secondary battery of claim 1, wherein the primary degassing is performed in a state in which outside air is blocked
However, Kim teaches all of the elements of claim 12 that are not found in Yu or Hwang:
The formation method of a secondary battery of claim 1, wherein the primary degassing is performed in a state in which outside air is blocked. (“The vacuum forming unit serves to depressurize the inner space partitioned by the close contact between the battery cell and the pad unit. The gas inside the battery cell is discharged through the through hole formed by the through member, and the discharged battery cell internal gas is collected through a vacuum forming unit and separated and discharged in a state blocked from outside air.” Kim [0051])
Kim is considered to be analogous to Yu and Hwang because it is within the same field of methods of forming pouch-type secondary batteries including a degassing operation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vacuum-suction portion of the degassing operation of modified Yu to explicitly block outside air in order to minimize the risk of a potential adverse reaction with the outside air and the introduction of outside air, humidity, or other contaminants into the inside of the secondary battery. It is likely that this would be the case for the vacuum process of Hwang, but it is not explicitly stated, so Kim is used as an additional reference which teaches explicitly that a vacuum suction method of degassing a gas pocket in a pouch-type secondary battery would want to be done in a state in which outside air is blocked.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENJAMIN ELI KASS-MULLET/Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/NICHOLAS A SMITH/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752