DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Zhang does not teach “a thickness of the first end is greater than a thickness of the body portion” as claimed.
After careful consideration without passion or prejudice, the argument is not found persuasive, respectfully. As shown in annotated Fig. 15 of Zhang, the first end 53b can be seen projecting from point 102a of the body portion. Accordingly, Zhang teaches “a thickness of the first end is greater than a thickness of the body portion” as claimed.
The drawings objection made in the Office action dated 12/10/2025 is hereby withdrawn a result of the replacement drawings submitted 12/10/2025.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 12/10/2025. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-16 and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2020/0251278 A1) in view of Buritz et al. (U.S. Patent No. 4,176,334).
With respect to claim 1. Zhang et al., hereinafter referred to as “Zhang,” teaches a transformer (Figs. 15-17), comprising:
a low-voltage coil 21;
a high-voltage coil 11;
a magnetic core 13, wherein at least a part of the magnetic core is penetrated through the low-voltage coil and the high-voltage coil; and
an insulation member 102 wrapped around the high-voltage coil, to insulate the high-voltage coil from the low-voltage coil and the magnetic core, wherein a ground plane 101 is disposed on at least a part of an outer surface of the insulation member,
wherein the high-voltage coil comprises a coil body 103, a cable outlet portion 501, and a connection terminal 502, wherein the insulation member comprises a body portion (portion around coil body 103) and an extension portion 53, wherein the body portion is wrapped around the coil body, wherein the extension portion is wrapped around the cable outlet portion and the part of the connection terminal; and
wherein the extension portion has a first end 53b (annotated Fig. 15) connected to the body portion, and a thickness of the first end is greater than a thickness of the body portion (paras. [0070], [0073], [0075], [0076] and [0082]).
Zhang does not expressly teach
a voltage uniform layer is disposed between the high-voltage coil and the insulation member, the voltage uniform layer being wrapped around the high-voltage coil and electrically connected to one end of the high-voltage coil.
Buritz et al., hereinafter referred to as “Buritz,” teaches a transformer (Fig. 1) comprising:
a voltage uniform layer 3 is disposed between the high-voltage coil 1 and the insulation member 7, the voltage uniform layer being wrapped around the high-voltage coil and electrically connected to one end of the high-voltage coil (col. 6, lines 26-29 and 35-39).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the voltage uniform layer as taught by Buritz to the transformer of Zhang to reduce the peak electric field stress (col. 6, lines 32-34).
With respect to claim 2, Zhang in view of Buritz teaches the transformer according to claim 1, wherein the insulation member is wrapped around the high-voltage coil (Zhang, para. [0073], Buritz, col. 6, lines 35-39). The limitation “through casting” is a product-by-process limitation that does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964,966.
With respect to claim 3, Zhang in view of Buritz teaches the transformer according to claim 1, wherein a first end (end connected to coil body) of the cable outlet portion is connected to the coil body, and a second end (end connected to terminal) is connected to the connection terminal; and
wherein the insulation member is wrapped around the coil body, the cable outlet portion, and a part of the connection terminal, and wherein at least a part of the connection terminal is exposed (Zhang, paras. [0073] and [0076]).
With respect to claim 4, Zhang in view of Buritz teaches the transformer according to claim 3, wherein a creepage distance M1 exists between an end of the ground plane close to the connection terminal and the connection terminal, and wherein an electrical clearance H1 exists between the end of the ground plane close to the connection terminal and the connection terminal;
wherein a creepage distance M2 exists between an end of the low-voltage coil close to the connection terminal and the connection terminal, wherein an electrical clearance H2 exists between the end of the low-voltage coil close to the connection terminal and the connection terminal, wherein M2>M1, and H2>H1; and
wherein a creepage distance M3 exists between an end of the magnetic core close to the connection terminal and the connection terminal, wherein an electrical clearance H3 exists between the end of the magnetic core close to the connection terminal and the connection terminal, wherein M3>M1, and H3>H1 (Zhang, paras. [0077]-[0079] and [0082]-[0083]).
With respect to claim 6, Zhang in view of Buritz teaches the transformer according to claim 1, wherein the body portion is connected to the extension portion by using a transition portion 53a (annotated Fig. 16 above), the transition portion is-being arc-shaped, wherein a cross-sectional area of the transition portion increases in a direction from the body portion to the extension portion; and
wherein the ground plane is wrapped around the transition portion (Zhang, paras. [0073] and [0082]).
With respect to claim 7, Zhang in view of Buritz teaches the transformer according to claim 1, wherein a first installation hole (center hole around coil 21) is disposed in the low-voltage coil, wherein a second installation hole (center hole around coil 11) is disposed in the insulation member, and wherein at least a part of the magnetic core is penetrated through the first installation hole and the second installation hole and penetrated through the high-voltage coil (Zhang, para. [0072]).
With respect to claim 8, Zhang in view of Buritz teaches the transformer according to claim 1, wherein the high-voltage coil comprises one coil body
there is one low-voltage coil
With respect to claim 9, Zhang in view of Buritz teaches the transformer according to claim 1, wherein the high-voltage coil comprises one coil body
there is one low-voltage coil
With respect to claim 10, Zhang in view of Buritz teaches the transformer according to claim 1, wherein the insulation member is wrapped around the high-voltage coil, wherein a first installation hole (hole around coil 21) is disposed in the low-voltage coil, wherein a second installation hole (hole around coil 11) is disposed in the insulation member, and wherein at least a part of the magnetic core is penetrated through the first installation hole and the second installation hole and penetrated through the high-voltage coil (Zhang, paras. [0072]-[0073]). The limitation “through casting” is a product-by-process limitation that does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964,966.
With respect to claim 11, Zhang in view of Buritz teaches the transformer according to claim 1, wherein the insulation member is wrapped around the high-voltage coil, wherein the high-voltage coil comprises one coil body or a plurality of coil bodies connected to each other in series; and
there is one low-voltage coil or a plurality of low-voltage coils, connected in series (Zhang, [para. [0073]). The limitation “through casting” is a product-by-process limitation that does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964,966.
With respect to claim 12, Zhang in view of Buritz teaches the transformer according to claim 2, wherein the insulation member is wrapped around the high-voltage coil, wherein the high-voltage coil comprises one coil body or a plurality of coil bodies connected to each other in parallel; and
there is one low-voltage coil or a plurality of low-voltage coils connected in parallel (Zhang, [para. [0073]). The limitation “through casting” is a product-by-process limitation that does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964,966.
With respect to claim 13, Zhang teaches a power equipment (para. [0003]), comprising a transformer (Figs. 15-17), the transformer comprising:
a low-voltage coil 21;
a high-voltage coil 11;
a magnetic core 13, wherein at least a part of the magnetic core is penetrated through the low-voltage coil and the high-voltage coil; and
an insulation member 102 wrapped around the high-voltage coil, to insulate the high-voltage coil from the low-voltage coil and the magnetic core, wherein a ground plane 101 is disposed on at least a part of an outer surface of the insulation member,
wherein the high-voltage coil comprises a coil body 103, a cable outlet portion 501, and a connection terminal 502, wherein the insulation member comprises a body portion (portion around coil body 103) and an extension portion 53, wherein the body portion is wrapped around the coil body, wherein the extension portion is wrapped around the cable outlet portion and the part of the connection terminal; and
wherein the extension portion has a first end connected to the body portion, and a thickness of the first end is greater than a thickness of the body portion (paras. [0070], [0073], [0075], [0076] and [0082]).
Zhang does not expressly teach
a voltage uniform layer is disposed between the high-voltage coil and the insulation member, the voltage uniform layer being wrapped around the high-voltage coil and electrically connected to one end of the high-voltage coil.
Buritz teaches a transformer (Fig. 1) comprising:
a voltage uniform layer 3 is disposed between the high-voltage coil 1 and the insulation member 7, the voltage uniform layer being wrapped around the high-voltage coil and electrically connected to one end of the high-voltage coil (col. 6, lines 26-29 and 35-39). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the voltage uniform layer as taught by Buritz to the transformer of Zhang to reduce the peak electric field stress (col. 6, lines 32-34).
With respect to claim 14, Zhang in view of Buritz teaches the power equipment according to claim 13, wherein the insulation member is wrapped around the high-voltage coil (Zhang, para. [0073], Buritz, col. 6, lines 35-39). The limitation “through casting” is a product-by-process limitation that does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964,966.
With respect to claim 15, Zhang in view of Buritz teaches the power equipment according to claim 13, wherein a first end (end connected to coil body) of the cable outlet portion is connected to the coil body, and a second end (end connected to terminal) is connected to the connection terminal; and
wherein the insulation member is wrapped around the coil body, the cable outlet portion, and a part of the connection terminal, and wherein at least a part of the connection terminal is exposed (Zhang, paras. [0073] and [0076]).
With respect to claim 16, Zhang in view of Buritz teaches the power equipment according to claim 15, wherein a creepage distance M1 exists between an end of the ground plane close to the connection terminal and the connection terminal, and wherein an electrical clearance H1 exists between the end of the ground plane close to the connection terminal and the connection terminal;
wherein a creepage distance M2 exists between an end of the low-voltage coil close to the connection terminal and the connection terminal, wherein an electrical clearance H2 exists between the end of the low-voltage coil close to the connection terminal and the connection terminal, wherein M2>M1, and H2>H1; and
wherein a creepage distance M3 exists between an end of the magnetic core close to the connection terminal and the connection terminal, wherein an electrical clearance H3 exists between the end of the magnetic core close to the connection terminal and the connection terminal, wherein M3>M1, and H3>H1 (Zhang, paras. [0077]-[0079] and [0082]-[0083]).
With respect to claim 18, Zhang in view of Buritz teaches the power equipment according to claim 17, wherein the body portion is connected to the extension portion by using a transition portion 53a (annotated Fig. 16 above), the transition portion is-being arc-shaped, wherein a cross-sectional area of the transition portion increases in a direction from the body portion to the extension portion; and
wherein the ground plane is wrapped around the transition portion (Zhang, paras. [0073] and [0082]).
With respect to claim 19, Zhang in view of Buritz teaches the power equipment according to claim 13, wherein a first installation hole (center hole around coil 21) is disposed in the low-voltage coil, wherein a second installation hole (center hole around coil 11) is disposed in the insulation member, and wherein at least a part of the magnetic core is penetrated through the first installation hole and the second installation hole and penetrated through the high-voltage coil (Zhang, para. [0072]).
With respect to claim 20, Zhang in view of Buritz teaches the power equipment according to claim 13, wherein the high-voltage coil comprises one coil body
there is one low-voltage coil
With respect to claim 21, Zhang in view of Buritz teaches the power equipment according to claim 13, wherein the high-voltage coil comprises one coil body
there is one low-voltage coil
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837