DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/25/2025 with respect to claim(s) 1, 13, 25, and 28 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection: Luo et al. (US 2016/0134405 A1) in view of Yoo et al. (US 2017/0026976 A1) and Jian et al. (WO 2019/137523 A1). Regarding Yoo, Applicant argues that “Yoo does not discuss what is included in its explicit signaling or how the explicit signaling is used to select the coding scheme” on pg. 16 of the remarks. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Yoo discloses in Fig. 2, [0049], [0056]: base station explicitly signals a UE a selected encoding scheme by using a bit indicating TC or LDPC. Yoo further discloses in [0049], [0031]: in place of TC and LDPC, other encoding schemes may be used such as Reed-Solomon codes. Finally, Yoo discloses in Fig. 3, [0061]-[0061]: base station explicitly signals the selected coding scheme to the UE for encoding or decoding.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 9-11, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "wherein the first field indicates at least one of the first coding scheme, a first priority of the first data, a first service type of the first data, or the first transmission mode of the first data" and is dependent on claim 1 which recites the limitation “wherein the first field comprises first content directly identifying the first coding scheme.” It is not clear how the first field “comprises first content [for] directly identifying the first coding scheme” and “indicates at least one of the first coding scheme, a first priority of the first data, a first service type of the first data, or the first transmission mode of the first data.” Is the first content identifying the first coding scheme and the first field indicating the first coding scheme and potentially other items? Or is the first content identifying the first coding scheme and potentially other items?
Claim 10 recites the limitation “wherein the transmission request signaling comprises the second field, and wherein the second field identifies the second coding scheme” and is dependent on claim 5 which recites the limitation “receiving transmission request signaling to identify the first coding scheme.” It is not clear how the transmission request signaling which comprises the second field for identifying the second coding scheme is also identifying the first coding scheme.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “wherein the transmission request signaling comprises the second field, and wherein the second field identifies the second coding scheme” and is dependent on claim 1 which recites the limitation “wherein the second field comprises second content indirectly identifying the second coding scheme by identifying a type of data associated with the second coding scheme.” It is not clear whether the second field in claim 10 identifies or indirectly identifies the second coding scheme.
Claims 11 and 23 recite “wherein the second field indicates at least one of the second coding scheme, a (second) priority of the second data, a (second)service type of the second data, or the (second)transmission mode of the second data” and are dependent on claims 1 and 13 which recite the limitation “wherein the second field comprises second content indirectly identifying the second coding scheme by identifying a type of data associated with the second coding scheme.” It is not clear how the second field “comprises second content [for] indirectly identifying the second coding scheme” and “indicates at least one of the second coding scheme, a second priority of the first data, a second service type of the first data, or the second transmission mode of the second data.” Is the second content identifying the second coding scheme and the second field indicating the second coding scheme and potentially other items? Or is the second content identifying the second coding scheme and potentially other items?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-13, 16-24, 27-28, 30-31, and 36-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo et al. (US 2016/0134405 A1) in view of Yoo et al. (US 2017/0026976 A1) and Jian et al. (WO 2019/137523 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Luo discloses A method, comprising:
encoding first data according to a first coding scheme (Figs. 16-17, [0124], [0128], [0130]: first portion of a data packet is transmitted according to a first coding scheme),
sending, according to a first transmission mode, the encoded first data, wherein the first transmission mode corresponds to the first coding scheme (Figs. 16-17, [0124], [0128], [0130]: first portion of the data packet is transmitted according to the first coding scheme);
encoding second data according to a second coding scheme to obtain encoded second data (Figs. 16-17, [0124], [0128], [0130]: second portion of the data packet is transmitted according to a second coding scheme), wherein the first data is different from the second data ([0123]-[0124]: first portion and second portion of the data packet are associated with different processing requirements), wherein the second coding scheme is different from the first coding scheme ([0018]: first coding scheme and second coding scheme use different code rates),
sending, according to a second transmission mode, the encoded second data, wherein the second transmission mode corresponds to the second coding scheme (Figs. 16-17, [0124], [0128], [0130]: second portion of the data packet is transmitted according to the second coding scheme).
Luo does not disclose, but Yoo discloses wherein the first coding scheme is indicated by first signaling information, wherein the first signaling information comprises a first field, wherein the first field comprises first content directly identifying the first coding scheme, and wherein the first coding scheme comprises a Reed-Solomon (RS) coding scheme (Fig. 2, [0049], [0056]: base station explicitly signals a UE a selected encoding scheme by using a bit indicating TC or LDPC. [0049], [0031]: in place of TC and LDPC, other encoding schemes may be used such as Reed-Solomon codes. Fig. 3, [0061]-[0061]: base station explicitly signals the selected coding scheme to the UE for encoding or decoding).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE or base station, as taught by Luo, to configure a receiving device with a bit in an explicit signal the encoding scheme (i.e., Reed-Solomon codes) for encoding or decoding, as taught by Yoo.
Doing so allows the receiving device (UE or base station) to identify the coding scheme for encoding a message or decoding data packets (Yoo: [0061]).
Luo in view of Yoo does not disclose, but discloses Jian discloses wherein the second coding scheme is indicated by second signaling information, wherein the second signaling information comprises a second field, wherein the second field comprises second content indirectly identifying the second coding scheme by identifying a type of data associated with the second coding scheme, and wherein the second coding scheme comprises a Polar coding scheme (pg. 19 second paragraph: For a data packet to be transmitted that carries a voice service, since the data packet is relatively small, the encoding device determines that the encoding method of the data packet to be transmitted is a Polar code-based encoding method).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE or base station, as taught by Luo, to determine the polar code-based encoding method based on the data packet carrying a voice service which is relatively small, as taught by Jian.
Doing so allows the encoding device to use both LDPC-based and Polar-based encoding methods (Jian: pg. 18 last paragraph).
Regarding claim 25, Luo discloses An apparatus, comprising (Figs. 13 and 16-17, [0120], [0126]: base station or UE):
a non-transitory storage medium configured to store program instructions (Fig. 13: memory 1342 or 1382); and
one or more processors coupled to the non-transitory storage medium and configured to execute the program instructions, cause the apparatus to (Fig. 13: processor 1340 and 1380):
encode first data according to a first coding scheme (Figs. 16-17, [0124], [0128], [0130]: first portion of a data packet is transmitted according to a first coding scheme),
send, according to a first transmission mode, the encoded first data, wherein the first transmission mode corresponds to the first coding scheme (Figs. 16-17, [0124], [0128], [0130]: first portion of the data packet is transmitted according to the first coding scheme);
encode second data according to a second coding scheme to obtain encoded second data (Figs. 16-17, [0124], [0128], [0130]: second portion of the data packet is transmitted according to a second coding scheme), wherein the first data is different from the second data ([0123]-[0124]: first portion and second portion of the data packet are associated with different processing requirements), wherein the second coding scheme is different from the first coding scheme ([0018]: first coding scheme and second coding scheme use different code rates),
send, according to a second transmission mode, the encoded second data, wherein the second transmission mode corresponds to the second coding scheme (Figs. 16-17, [0124], [0128], [0130]: second portion of the data packet is transmitted according to the second coding scheme).
Luo does not disclose, but Yoo discloses wherein the first coding scheme is indicated by first signaling information, wherein the first signaling information comprises a first field, wherein the first field comprises first content directly identifying the first coding scheme, and wherein the first coding scheme comprises a Reed-Solomon (RS) coding scheme (Fig. 2, [0049], [0056]: base station explicitly signals a UE a selected encoding scheme by using a bit indicating TC or LDPC. [0049], [0031]: in place of TC and LDPC, other encoding schemes may be used such as Reed-Solomon codes. Fig. 3, [0061]-[0061]: base station explicitly signals the selected coding scheme to the UE for encoding or decoding).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE or base station, as taught by Luo, to configure a receiving device with a bit in an explicit signal the encoding scheme (i.e., Reed-Solomon codes) for encoding or decoding, as taught by Yoo.
Doing so allows the receiving device (UE or base station) to identify the coding scheme for encoding a message or decoding data packets (Yoo: [0061]).
Luo in view of Yoo does not disclose, but discloses Jian discloses wherein the second coding scheme is indicated by second signaling information, wherein the second signaling information comprises a second field, wherein the second field comprises second content indirectly identifying the second coding scheme by identifying a type of data associated with the second coding scheme, and wherein the second coding scheme comprises a Polar coding scheme (pg. 19 second paragraph: For a data packet to be transmitted that carries a voice service, since the data packet is relatively small, the encoding device determines that the encoding method of the data packet to be transmitted is a Polar code-based encoding method).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE or base station, as taught by Luo, to determine the polar code-based encoding method based on the data packet carrying a voice service which is relatively small, as taught by Jian.
Doing so allows the encoding device to use both LDPC-based and Polar-based encoding methods (Jian: pg. 18 last paragraph).
Regarding claim 13, Luo discloses A method, comprising:
receiving, according to a first transmission mode, first data, wherein the first transmission mode corresponds to the first coding scheme (Figs. 16-17, [0124], [0128], [0130]: receive first portion of a data packet transmitted according to a first coding scheme),
receiving, according to a second transmission mode, second data, wherein the second transmission mode corresponds to the second coding scheme (Figs. 16-17, [0124], [0128], [0130]: receive second portion of the data packet transmitted according to a second coding scheme),
decoding the first data according to the first coding scheme ([0062], Fig. 17, [0131]: decode the first portion of the data packet according to the first coding scheme to generate an ACK/NACK associated with the first portion of the data packet); and
decoding the second data according to the second coding scheme ([0062], Fig. 17, [0131]: decode the first portion of the data packet according to the first coding scheme to generate an ACK/NACK associated with the second portion of the data packet),
wherein the first data is different from the second data ([0123]-[0124]: first portion and second portion of the data packet are associated with different processing requirements), and
wherein the second coding scheme is different from the first coding scheme ([0018]: first coding scheme and second coding scheme use different code rates).
Luo does not disclose, but Yoo discloses wherein the first coding scheme is indicated by first signaling information, wherein the first signaling information comprises a first field, wherein the first field comprises first content directly identifying the first coding scheme, and wherein the first coding scheme comprises a Reed-Solomon (RS) coding scheme (Fig. 2, [0049], [0056]: base station explicitly signals a UE a selected encoding scheme by using a bit indicating TC or LDPC. [0049], [0031]: in place of TC and LDPC, other encoding schemes may be used such as Reed-Solomon codes. Fig. 3, [0061]-[0061]: base station explicitly signals the selected coding scheme to the UE for encoding or decoding).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE or base station, as taught by Luo, to configure a receiving device with a bit in an explicit signal the encoding scheme (i.e., Reed-Solomon codes) for encoding or decoding, as taught by Yoo.
Doing so allows the receiving device (UE or base station) to identify the coding scheme for encoding a message or decoding data packets (Yoo: [0061]).
Luo in view of Yoo does not disclose, but discloses Jian discloses wherein the second coding scheme is indicated by second signaling information, wherein the second signaling information comprises a second field, wherein the second field comprises second content indirectly identifying the second coding scheme by identifying a type of data associated with the second coding scheme, and wherein the second coding scheme comprises a Polar coding scheme (pg. 19 second paragraph: For a data packet to be transmitted that carries a voice service, since the data packet is relatively small, the encoding device determines that the encoding method of the data packet to be transmitted is a Polar code-based encoding method).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE or base station, as taught by Luo, to determine the polar code-based encoding method based on the data packet carrying a voice service which is relatively small, as taught by Jian.
Doing so allows the encoding device to use both LDPC-based and Polar-based encoding methods (Jian: pg. 18 last paragraph).
Regarding claim 28, Luo discloses An apparatus (Fig. 13: base station or UE):
a non-transitory storage medium configured to store program instructions; and
one or more processors coupled to the non-transitory storage medium and configured to execute the program instructions, cause the apparatus to:
receive, according to a first transmission mode, first data, wherein the first transmission mode corresponds to the first coding scheme (Figs. 16-17, [0124], [0128], [0130]: receive first portion of a data packet transmitted according to a first coding scheme),
receive, according to a second transmission mode, second data, wherein the second transmission mode corresponds to the second coding scheme (Figs. 16-17, [0124], [0128], [0130]: receive second portion of the data packet transmitted according to a second coding scheme),
decode the first data according to the first coding scheme ([0062], Fig. 17, [0131]: decode the first portion of the data packet according to the first coding scheme to generate an ACK/NACK associated with the first portion of the data packet); and
decode the second data according to the second coding scheme ([0062], Fig. 17, [0131]: decode the first portion of the data packet according to the first coding scheme to generate an ACK/NACK associated with the second portion of the data packet),
wherein the first data is different from the second data ([0123]-[0124]: first portion and second portion of the data packet are associated with different processing requirements), and
wherein the second coding scheme is different from the first coding scheme ([0018]: first coding scheme and second coding scheme use different code rates).
Luo does not disclose, but Yoo discloses wherein the first coding scheme is indicated by first signaling information, wherein the first signaling information comprises a first field, wherein the first field comprises first content directly identifying the first coding scheme, and wherein the first coding scheme comprises a Reed-Solomon (RS) coding scheme (Fig. 2, [0049], [0056]: base station explicitly signals a UE a selected encoding scheme by using a bit indicating TC or LDPC. [0049], [0031]: in place of TC and LDPC, other encoding schemes may be used such as Reed-Solomon codes. Fig. 3, [0061]-[0061]: base station explicitly signals the selected coding scheme to the UE for encoding or decoding).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE or base station, as taught by Luo, to configure a receiving device with a bit in an explicit signal the encoding scheme (i.e., Reed-Solomon codes) for encoding or decoding, as taught by Yoo.
Doing so allows the receiving device (UE or base station) to identify the coding scheme for encoding a message or decoding data packets (Yoo: [0061]).
Luo in view of Yoo does not disclose, but discloses Jian discloses wherein the second coding scheme is indicated by second signaling information, wherein the second signaling information comprises a second field, wherein the second field comprises second content indirectly identifying the second coding scheme by identifying a type of data associated with the second coding scheme, and wherein the second coding scheme comprises a Polar coding scheme (pg. 19 second paragraph: For a data packet to be transmitted that carries a voice service, since the data packet is relatively small, the encoding device determines that the encoding method of the data packet to be transmitted is a Polar code-based encoding method).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE or base station, as taught by Luo, to determine the polar code-based encoding method based on the data packet carrying a voice service which is relatively small, as taught by Jian.
Doing so allows the encoding device to use both LDPC-based and Polar-based encoding methods (Jian: pg. 18 last paragraph).
Regarding claim 31, Luo discloses A system, comprising (Fig. 13: communication system 1300):
a first apparatus configured to (Figs. 13 and 16, [0120]: base station or UE):
encode first data according to a first coding scheme (Figs. 16-17, [0124], [0128], [0130]: first portion of a data packet is transmitted according to a first coding scheme),
send, according to a first transmission mode, the encoded first data, wherein the first transmission mode corresponds to the first coding scheme (Figs. 16-17, [0124], [0128], [0130]: first portion of the data packet is transmitted according to the first coding scheme);
encode second data according to a second coding scheme to obtain encoded second data (Figs. 16-17, [0124], [0128], [0130]: second portion of the data packet is transmitted according to a second coding scheme), wherein the first data is different from the second data ([0123]-[0124]: first portion and second portion of the data packet are associated with different processing requirements), wherein the second coding scheme is different from the first coding scheme ([0018]: first coding scheme and second coding scheme use different code rates),
send, according to a second transmission mode, the encoded second data, wherein the second transmission mode corresponds to the second coding scheme (Figs. 16-17, [0124], [0128], [0130]: second portion of the data packet is transmitted according to the second coding scheme); and
a second apparatus coupled to the first apparatus and configured to (Fig. 13: base station or UE):
receive, according to the first transmission mode, the encoded first data (Figs. 16-17, [0124], [0128], [0130]: receive first portion of a data packet transmitted according to a first coding scheme);
receive, according to the second transmission mode, the encoded second data (Figs. 16-17, [0124], [0128], [0130]: receive second portion of the data packet transmitted according to a second coding scheme);
decode the encoded first data according to the first coding scheme ([0062], Fig. 17, [0131]: decode the first portion of the data packet according to the first coding scheme to generate an ACK/NACK associated with the first portion of the data packet); and
decode the encoded second data according to the second coding scheme ([0062], Fig. 17, [0131]: decode the second portion of the data packet according to the second coding scheme to generate an ACK/NACK associated with the second portion of the data packet).
Luo does not disclose, but Yoo discloses wherein the first coding scheme is indicated by first signaling information, wherein the first signaling information comprises a first field, wherein the first field comprises first content directly identifying the first coding scheme, and wherein the first coding scheme comprises a Reed-Solomon (RS) coding scheme (Fig. 2, [0049], [0056]: base station explicitly signals a UE a selected encoding scheme by using a bit indicating TC or LDPC. [0049], [0031]: in place of TC and LDPC, other encoding schemes may be used such as Reed-Solomon codes. Fig. 3, [0061]-[0061]: base station explicitly signals the selected coding scheme to the UE for encoding or decoding).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE or base station, as taught by Luo, to configure a receiving device with a bit in an explicit signal the encoding scheme (i.e., Reed-Solomon codes) for encoding or decoding, as taught by Yoo.
Doing so allows the receiving device (UE or base station) to identify the coding scheme for encoding a message or decoding data packets (Yoo: [0061]).
Luo in view of Yoo does not disclose, but discloses Jian discloses wherein the second coding scheme is indicated by second signaling information, wherein the second signaling information comprises a second field, wherein the second field comprises second content indirectly identifying the second coding scheme by identifying a type of data associated with the second coding scheme, and wherein the second coding scheme comprises a Polar coding scheme (pg. 19 second paragraph: For a data packet to be transmitted that carries a voice service, since the data packet is relatively small, the encoding device determines that the encoding method of the data packet to be transmitted is a Polar code-based encoding method).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE or base station, as taught by Luo, to determine the polar code-based encoding method based on the data packet carrying a voice service which is relatively small, as taught by Jian.
Doing so allows the encoding device to use both LDPC-based and Polar-based encoding methods (Jian: pg. 18 last paragraph).
Regarding claim(s) 3, Luo in view of Yoo and Jian discloses all features of claim(s) 1 as outlined above.
Luo does not disclose, but Jian discloses wherein a second service type of the second data is different from a first service type of the first data (pg. 18 last paragraph – pg. 19 third paragraph: encoding can be performed using both LDPC-based and Polar-based encoding methods … determine the encoding method of the data packet to be transmitted based on … service type … for a data packet to be transmitted that carries a voice service … for data packets to be transmitted that carry video services).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE or base station, as taught by Luo, to determine the encoding method based on service type, such as voice service and video service, as taught by Jian.
Doing so allows the encoding device to use both LDPC-based and Polar-based encoding methods (Jian: pg. 18 last paragraph).
Regarding claim(s) 4, Luo in view of Yoo and Jian discloses all features of claim(s) 1 as outlined above.
Luo does not disclose, but Yoo discloses wherein the method is performed by a master node, and wherein the method further comprises sending scheduling signaling to identify the first coding scheme (Fig. 2, [0049], [0056]: base station explicitly signals a UE a selected encoding scheme by using a bit indicating TC or LDPC. Fig. 3, [0061]: base station explicitly signals the selected coding scheme to the UE for encoding or decoding).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE or base station, as taught by Luo, to configure a receiving device with a bit in an explicit signal the encoding scheme for encoding or decoding, as taught by Yoo.
Doing so allows the receiving device (UE or base station) to identify the coding scheme for encoding a message or decoding data packets (Yoo: [0061]).
Regarding claim(s) 5, Luo in view of Yoo and Jian discloses all features of claim(s) 1 as outlined above.
Luo does not disclose, but Yoo discloses wherein the method is performed by a master node, and wherein the method further comprises:
receiving transmission request signaling to identify the first coding scheme ([0056]: a base station or a UE may select a coding scheme and notify the other device of the selected coding scheme in a DL or UL grant. It may be signaled dynamically or semi-statically. Alternatively, the signal may allow the other device to select a coding scheme. [0061]: the selected coding scheme is signaled to the UE so that the UE can transmit a message or decode data packets based on the selected coding scheme).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE or base station, as taught by Luo, to provide a selected coding scheme or signal allowing another device to select a coding scheme and encode/decode date based on the first and/or the second coding scheme, as taught by Yoo.
Doing so allows the receiving device (UE or base station) to identify the coding scheme, receive the encoded message, and decode the message using the selected coding scheme (Yoo: [0048]).
Regarding claim(s) 6, Luo in view of Yoo and Jian discloses all features of claim(s) 1 as outlined above.
Luo does not disclose, but Yoo discloses wherein the method is performed by a slave node, and wherein the method further comprises receiving scheduling signaling to identify the first coding scheme ([0049]: base station and UE have first and second encoder/decoder implementing a first and a second coding scheme on data. [0056]: a base station or a UE may select a coding scheme and notify the other device of the selected coding scheme in a DL or UL grant. It may be signaled dynamically or semi-statically. Alternatively, the signal may allow the other device to select a coding scheme. [0061]: the selected coding scheme is signaled to the UE so that the UE can transmit a message or decode data packets based on the selected coding scheme).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE or base station, as taught by Luo, to provide a selected coding scheme or signal allowing another device to select a coding scheme, as taught by Yoo.
Doing so allows the receiving device (UE or base station) to identify the coding scheme, receive the encoded message, and decode the message using the selected coding scheme (Yoo: [0048]).
Regarding claim(s) 7, Luo in view of Yoo and Jian discloses all features of claim(s) 1 as outlined above.
Luo does not disclose, but Yoo discloses wherein the method is performed by a slave node, and wherein the method further comprises sending transmission request signaling to identify the first coding scheme ([0049]: base station and UE have first and second encoder/decoder implementing a first and a second coding scheme on data. [0056]: a base station or a UE may select a coding scheme and notify the other device of the selected coding scheme in a DL or UL grant. It may be signaled dynamically or semi-statically).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE or base station, as taught by Luo, to provide a selected coding scheme or signal allowing another device to select a coding scheme and encode/decode date based on the first and/or the second coding scheme, as taught by Yoo.
Doing so allows the receiving device (UE or base station) to identify the coding scheme, receive the encoded message, and decode the message using the selected coding scheme (Yoo: [0048]).
Regarding claim(s) 8, Luo in view of Yoo and Jian discloses all features of claim(s) 4 as outlined above.
Luo does not disclose, but Yoo discloses wherein the scheduling signaling comprises the first field to identify the first coding scheme ([0031], [0049]: other types of coding schemes may be used in addition to or in place of TC and LDPC. Examples of other coding schemes include …Reed-Solomon codes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE or base station, as taught by Luo, to configure a receiving device with a bit in an explicit signal the encoding scheme for encoding or decoding, as taught by Yoo.
Doing so allows the receiving device (UE or base station) to identify the coding scheme for encoding a message or decoding data packets (Yoo: [0061]).
Regarding claim(s) 9, Luo in view of Yoo and Jian discloses all features of claim(s) 8 as outlined above.
Luo does not disclose, but Yoo discloses wherein the first field indicates at least one of the first coding scheme, a first priority of the first data, a first service type of the first data, or the first transmission mode of the first data (Fig. 2, [0049], [0056]: base station explicitly signals a UE a selected encoding scheme by using a bit indicating TC or LDPC. Fig. 3, [0061]-[0061]: base station explicitly signals the selected coding scheme to the UE for encoding or decoding. [0031], [0049]: other types of coding schemes may be used in addition to or in place of TC and LDPC. Examples of other coding schemes include …Reed-Solomon codes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE or base station, as taught by Luo, to configure a receiving device with a bit in an explicit signal the encoding scheme for encoding or decoding, as taught by Yoo.
Doing so allows the receiving device (UE or base station) to identify the coding scheme for encoding a message or decoding data packets (Yoo: [0061]).
Regarding claim(s) 12 and 24, Luo in view of Yoo and Jian discloses all features of claim(s) 1 and 13 as outlined above.
Luo does not disclose, but Jian discloses further comprising identifying a coding parameter of the first coding scheme based on a size of a data packet carrying the first data (pg. 5 paragraph 6: determining the encoding method of the data packet to be transmitted according to encoding parameters of the data packet to be transmitted, wherein the encoding parameters include … the size of the data packet to be transmitted).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE or base station, as taught by Luo, to determine the encoding method according to encoding parameters, such as size of the data packet to be transmitted, as taught by Jian.
Doing so meets the requirement of different application scenarios for reliability, throughput, and decoding latency (Jian: pg. 5 paragraph 7).
Regarding claim(s) 16, Luo in view of Yoo and Jian discloses all features of claim(s) 13 as outlined above.
Luo does not disclose, but Yoo discloses wherein the method is performed by a master node, and wherein the method further comprises sending scheduling signaling to identify the second coding scheme (Fig. 2, [0049], [0056]: base station explicitly signals a UE a selected encoding scheme by using a bit indicating TC or LDPC. Fig. 3, [0061]-[0061]: base station explicitly signals the selected coding scheme to the UE for encoding or decoding. [0049]: other types of coding schemes may be used in addition to or in place of TC and LDPC. Examples of other coding schemes include polar coding schemes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE or base station, as taught by Luo, to configure a receiving device with a bit in an explicit signal the encoding scheme for encoding or decoding, as taught by Yoo.
Doing so allows the receiving device (UE or base station) to identify the coding scheme for encoding a message or decoding data packets (Yoo: [0061]).
Regarding claim(s) 17, Luo in view of Yoo and Jian discloses all features of claim(s) 13 as outlined above.
Luo does not disclose, but Yoo discloses wherein the method is performed by a master node, and wherein the method further comprises:
receiving transmission request signaling ([0056]: a base station or a UE may select a coding scheme and notify the other device of the selected coding scheme in a DL or UL grant. It may be signaled dynamically or semi-statically); and
identifying that the second data is encoded with the second coding scheme using the transmission request signaling ([0049]: base station and UE have first and second encoder/decoder implementing a first and a second coding scheme on data. [0056]: a base station or a UE may select a coding scheme and notify the other device of the selected coding scheme in a DL or UL grant. It may be signaled dynamically or semi-statically. [0061]: the coding scheme is used for transmitting a message or decoding data packets).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE or base station, as taught by Luo, to provide a selected coding scheme or signal allowing another device to select a coding scheme and encode/decode date based on the first and/or the second coding scheme, as taught by Yoo.
Doing so allows the receiving device (UE or base station) to identify the coding scheme, receive the encoded message, and decode the message using the selected coding scheme (Yoo: [0048]).
Regarding claim(s) 18, Luo in view of Yoo and Jian discloses all features of claim(s) 13 as outlined above.
Luo does not disclose, but Yoo discloses wherein the method is performed by a slave node, and wherein the method further comprises:
receiving scheduling signaling ([0056]: a base station or a UE may select a coding scheme and notify the other device of the selected coding scheme in a DL or UL grant. It may be signaled dynamically or semi-statically. Alternatively, the signal may allow the other device to select a coding scheme);
identifying that the second data is encoded with the second coding scheme using the scheduling signaling ([0049]: base station and UE have first and second encoder/decoder implementing a first and a second coding scheme on data. [0056]: a base station or a UE may select a coding scheme and notify the other device of the selected coding scheme in a DL or UL grant. It may be signaled dynamically or semi-statically); and
decoding the second data according to the second coding scheme ([0049]: base station and UE have first and second decoder implementing a first and a second coding scheme on data. [0056]: a base station or a UE may select a coding scheme and notify the other device of the selected coding scheme in a DL or UL grant. It may be signaled dynamically or semi-statically).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE or base station, as taught by Luo, to provide a selected coding scheme or signal allowing another device to select a coding scheme and encode/decode date based on the first and/or the second coding scheme, as taught by Yoo.
Doing so allows the receiving device (UE or base station) to identify the coding scheme, receive the encoded message, and decode the message using the selected coding scheme (Yoo: [0048]).
Regarding claim(s) 19, Luo in view of Yoo and Jian discloses all features of claim(s) 13 as outlined above.
Luo does not disclose, but Yoo discloses wherein the method is performed by a slave node, and wherein the method further comprises sending transmission request signaling to identify the second coding scheme ([0049]: base station and UE have first and second encoder/decoder implementing a first and a second coding scheme on data. [0056]: a base station or a UE may select a coding scheme and notify the other device of the selected coding scheme in a DL or UL grant. It may be signaled dynamically or semi-statically).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE or base station, as taught by Luo, to provide a selected coding scheme or signal allowing another device to select a coding scheme and encode/decode date based on the first and/or the second coding scheme, as taught by Yoo.
Doing so allows the receiving device (UE or base station) to identify the coding scheme, receive the encoded message, and decode the message using the selected coding scheme (Yoo: [0048]).
Regarding claim(s) 20, Luo in view of Yoo and Jian discloses all features of claim(s) 16 as outlined above.
Luo does not disclose, but Yoo discloses wherein the scheduling signaling comprises the second field to identify the second coding scheme (Fig. 2, [0049], [0056]: base station explicitly signals a UE a selected encoding scheme by using a bit indicating TC or LDPC. Fig. 3, [0061]-[0061]: base station explicitly signals the selected coding scheme to the UE for encoding or decoding. [0049]: other types of coding schemes may be used in addition to or in place of TC and LDPC. Examples of other coding schemes include polar coding schemes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE or base station, as taught by Luo, to configure a receiving device with a bit in an explicit signal the encoding scheme for encoding or decoding, as taught by Yoo.
Doing so allows the receiving device (UE or base station) to identify the coding scheme for encoding a message or decoding data packets (Yoo: [0061]).
Regarding claim(s) 21, Luo in view of Yoo and Jian discloses all features of claim(s) 17 as outlined above.
Luo does not disclose, but Yoo discloses wherein the transmission request signaling comprises the second field, and wherein the method further comprises further identifying that the second data is encoded with the second coding scheme using the second field ([0049]: base station and UE have first and second encoder/decoder implementing a first and a second coding scheme on data. [0056]: a base station or a UE may select a coding scheme and notify the other device of the selected coding scheme in a DL or UL grant, i.e., there is a bit indicating TC or LDPC. It may be signaled dynamically or semi-statically. Alternatively, the signal may allow the other device to select a coding scheme. [0061]: the coding scheme is used for transmitting a message or decoding data packets).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE or base station, as taught by Luo, to provide a selected coding scheme or signal allowing another device to select a coding scheme, as taught by Yoo.
Doing so allows the receiving device (UE or base station) to identify the coding scheme, receive the encoded message, and decode the message using the selected coding scheme (Yoo: [0048]).
Regarding claim(s) 22, Luo in view of Yoo and Jian discloses all features of claim(s) 20 as outlined above.
Luo does not disclose, but Jian discloses wherein the second field indicates at least one of the second coding scheme, a priority of the second data, a service type of the second data, or a transmission mode of the second data (pg. 19 second paragraph: For a data packet to be transmitted that carries a voice service, since the data packet is relatively small, the encoding device determines that the encoding method of the data packet to be transmitted is a Polar code-based encoding method).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE or base station, as taught by Luo, to determine the polar code-based encoding method based on the data packet carrying a voice service which is relatively small, as taught by Jian.
Doing so allows the encoding device to use both LDPC-based and Polar-based encoding methods (Jian: pg. 18 last paragraph).
Regarding claim(s) 23, Luo in view of Yoo and Jian discloses all features of claim(s) 21 as outlined above.
Luo does not disclose, but Yoo discloses wherein the second field indicates at least one of the second coding scheme, a priority of the second data, a service type of the second data, or a transmission mode of the second data ([0056]: a base station or a UE may select a coding scheme and notify the other device of the selected coding scheme in a DL or UL grant, i.e., there is a bit indicating TC or LDPC. It may be signaled dynamically or semi-statically. Alternatively, the signal may allow the other device to select a coding scheme. [0061]: the coding scheme is used for transmitting a message or decoding data packets).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE or base station, as taught by Luo, to provide a selected coding scheme or signal allowing another device to select a coding scheme, as taught by Yoo.
Doing so allows the receiving device (UE or base station) to identify the coding scheme, receive the encoded message, and decode the message using the selected coding scheme (Yoo: [0048])
Regarding claim(s) 27 and 30, Luo in view of Yoo and Jian discloses all features of claim(s) 25 and 28 as outlined above.
Luo does not disclose, but Jian discloses wherein that the first data is different from the second data comprises at least one of: a second service type of the second data is different from a first service type of the first data, or a second priority of the second data is different from a first priority of the first data (pg. 18 last paragraph – pg. 19 third paragraph: encoding can be performed using both LDPC-based and Polar-based encoding methods … determine the encoding method of the data packet to be transmitted based on … service type … for a data packet to be transmitted that carries a voice service … for data packets to be transmitted that carry video services).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE or base station, as taught by Luo, to determine the encoding method based on service type, such as voice service and video service, as taught by Jian.
Doing so allows the encoding device to use both LDPC-based and Polar-based encoding methods (Jian: pg. 18 last paragraph).
Regarding claim(s) 36, 37, 38, and 39, Luo in view of Yoo and Jian discloses all features of claim(s) 1, 13, 25, and 28 as outlined above.
Luo does not disclose, but Yoo discloses wherein the first field comprises a first value, wherein the first value identifies the first coding scheme (Fig. 2, [0049], [0056]: base station explicitly signals a UE a selected encoding scheme by using a bit indicating TC or LDPC. Fig. 3, [0061]-[0061]: base station explicitly signals the selected coding scheme to the UE for encoding or decoding).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE or base station, as taught by Luo, to configure a receiving device with a bit in an explicit signal the encoding scheme for encoding or decoding, as taught by Yoo.
Doing so allows the receiving device (UE or base station) to identify the coding scheme for encoding a message or decoding data packets (Yoo: [0061]).
Luo does not disclose, but Jian discloses wherein the second field comprises a second value, and wherein the second value identifies the type of data (pg. 19 second paragraph: For a data packet to be transmitted that carries a voice service, since the data packet is relatively small, the encoding device determines that the encoding method of the data packet to be transmitted is a Polar code-based encoding method).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE or base station, as taught by Luo, to determine the polar code-based encoding method based on the data packet carrying a voice service which is relatively small, as taught by Jian.
Doing so allows the encoding device to use both LDPC-based and Polar-based encoding methods (Jian: pg. 18 last paragraph).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo et al. (US 2016/0134405 A1) in view of Yoo et al. (US 2017/0026976 A1), Jian et al. (WO 2019/137523 A1), and Lee et al. (US 2022/0369349 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 15, Luo in view of Yoo and Jian discloses all features of claim(s) 13 as outlined above.
Luo does not disclose, but Lee discloses wherein a second priority of the second data is different from a first priority of the first data (claim 15: a UE transmits a first HARQ-ACK with a first priority and a second HARQ-ACK with a second priority in a PUCCH, wherein the first priority and the second priority are different to each other, and wherein channel coding related to the first HARQ-ACK is independently performed with channel coding related to the second HARQ-ACK. [0011]: the priority is determined based on a target service).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE or base station, as taught by Luo, to transmit HARQ-ACK with different priorities in a PUCCH, wherein the priorities are determined based on a target service, as taught by Lee.
Doing so provides an efficient method to transmit a plurality of uplink control information in consideration of overlap between uplink channels (Lee: [0021]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
/THE HY NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478
TheHy.Nguyen@USPTO.gov