DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendment filed on Nov. 15th, 2022. A summary of this action:
Claims 1-20 have been presented for examination.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea of both a mathematical concept and mental process without significantly more.
Claim(s) 1, 4-8, 10, 13-15, 17, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, Jiakun. A discrete modeling approach for progressive failure analysis of composite laminates and filament-wound pressure vessels. Cornell University. PhD Dissertation, 2020 in view of Fagiano, Christian, et al. "Computational geometrical and mechanical modeling of woven ceramic composites at the mesoscale." Composite Structures 112 (2014): 146-156.
Claim(s) 2-3, 11-12, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, Jiakun. A discrete modeling approach for progressive failure analysis of composite laminates and filament-wound pressure vessels. Cornell University. PhD Dissertation, 2020 in view of Fagiano, Christian, et al. "Computational geometrical and mechanical modeling of woven ceramic composites at the mesoscale." Composite Structures 112 (2014): 146-156 taken in further view of Abaqus. Getting Started with Abaqus. Version 6.8. Copyright 2008. Accessed via URL: sites(dot)engineering(dot)ucsb(dot)edu/~tshugar/GET_STARTED(dot)pdf
Claim(s) 9 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, Jiakun. A discrete modeling approach for progressive failure analysis of composite laminates and filament-wound pressure vessels. Cornell University. PhD Dissertation, 2020 in view of Fagiano, Christian, et al. "Computational geometrical and mechanical modeling of woven ceramic composites at the mesoscale." Composite Structures 112 (2014): 146-156 in view of Pineda, Evan J., and Anthony M. Waas. "Numerical implementation of a multiple-ISV thermodynamically-based work potential theory for modeling progressive damage and failure in fiber-reinforced laminates." International journal of fracture 182.1 (2013): 93-122.
Claim 1, 10, and 17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 8, and 15 of copending Application No. 17987417 in view of Fagiano, Christian, et al. "Computational geometrical and mechanical modeling of woven ceramic composites at the mesoscale." Composite Structures 112 (2014): 146-156.
Claim 2-3, 11-12, and 18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 8, and 15 of copending Application No. 17987417 in view of Fagiano, Christian, et al. "Computational geometrical and mechanical modeling of woven ceramic composites at the mesoscale." Composite Structures 112 (2014): 146-156 taken in further view of Abaqus. Getting Started with Abaqus. Version 6.8. Copyright 2008. Accessed via URL: sites(dot)engineering(dot)ucsb(dot)edu/~tshugar/GET_STARTED(dot)pdf
Claims 8-9, 16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7-8, 14-15 and 20 of copending Application No. 17987417 in view of Fagiano, Christian, et al. "Computational geometrical and mechanical modeling of woven ceramic composites at the mesoscale." Composite Structures 112 (2014): 146-156 in further view of Pineda, Evan J., and Anthony M. Waas. "Numerical implementation of a multiple-ISV thermodynamically-based work potential theory for modeling progressive damage and failure in fiber-reinforced laminates." International journal of fracture 182.1 (2013): 93-122.
This action is non-final
Grace Period Exceptions to § 102(a)(1)
See the June 2023 IDS for its citations to Nguyen et al., # 35-36, as the Examiner notes that those disclosures, made by the instant inventive entity, appear to be related to the instant application.
Both of these references are indicated by Sciencedirect (the hosting journal website) to have been published online on Nov. 16th, 2020 and name all and only the instant inventors as authors. The instant application was effectively filed on Nov. 15th, 2021, thus the grace period extends to Nov. 15th, 2020, and thus these two references do not qualify under § 102(a)(1) in view of § 102(b)(1).
MPEP § 2153.01(a): “A disclosure made within the grace period is not prior art under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) if it is apparent from the disclosure itself that it is an inventor-originated disclosure. Specifically, Office personnel may not apply a disclosure as prior art under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) if the disclosure: (1) was made one year or less before the effective filing date of the claimed invention; (2) names the inventor or a joint inventor as an author or an inventor; and (3) does not name additional persons as authors on a printed publication or joint inventors on a patent. This means that in circumstances where an application names additional persons as joint inventors relative to the persons named as authors in the publication (e.g., the application names as joint inventors A, B, and C, and the publication names as authors A and B), and the publication is one year or less before the effective filing date, it is apparent that the disclosure is a grace period inventor disclosure, and the publication is not prior art under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1).”
Claim Interpretation
Several of the dependent claims recite the term “peak” – these are interpreted in view of fig. 4 and accompanying description.
Claim Interpretation – 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
generating, using a structured hex meshing algorithm, a plurality of fibrous strips along a fiber direction based on the fibrous strip width and the fibrous strip spacing, and
generating, using a free hex-dominated advancing front meshing algorithm, a bulk element between each of the plurality of fibrous strips, wherein the FE mesh defines a portion of a composite laminate material;
Which invoke § 112(f) per MPEP § 2181(II)(B): “For a computer-implemented 35 U.S.C. 112(f) claim limitation, the specification must disclose an algorithm for performing the claimed specific computer function, or else the claim is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). See Net MoneyIN, Inc. v. Verisign. Inc., 545 F.3d 1359, 1367, 88 USPQ2d 1751, 1757 (Fed. Cir. 2008). See also In re Aoyama, 656 F.3d 1293, 1297, 99 USPQ2d 1936, 1939 (Fed. Cir. 2011) ("[W]hen the disclosed structure is a computer programmed to carry out an algorithm, ‘the disclosed structure is not the general purpose computer, but rather that special purpose computer programmed to perform the disclosed algorithm.’") (quoting WMS Gaming, Inc. v. Int’l Game Tech., 184 F.3d 1339, 1349, 51 USPQ2d 1385, 1391 (Fed. Cir. 1999))… EON Corp. IP Holdings LLC v. AT&T Mobility LLC, 785 F.3d 616, 622, 114 USPQ2d 1711, 1714 (Fed. Cir. 2015), citing In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 1316, 97 USPQ2d 1737, 1747 (Fed. Cir. 2011). "‘It is only in the rare circumstances where any general-purpose computer without any special programming can perform the function that an algorithm need not be disclosed.’" EON Corp., 785 F.3d at 621, 114 USPQ2 at 1714, quoting Ergo Licensing, LLC v. CareFusion 303, Inc., 673 F.3d 1361, 1365, 102 USPQ2d 1122, 1125 (Fed. Cir. 2012). "‘[S]pecial programming’ includes any functionality that is not ‘coextensive’ with a microprocessor or general purpose computer." EON Corp., 785 F.3d at 623, 114 USPQ2d at 1715 (citations omitted). "Examples of such coextensive functions are ‘receiving’ data, ‘storing’ data, and ‘processing’ data—the only three functions on which the Katz court vacated the district court’s decision and remanded for the district court to determine whether disclosure of a microprocessor was sufficient." 785 F.3d at 622, 114 USPQ2d at 1714. Thus, "[a] microprocessor or general purpose computer lends sufficient structure only to basic functions of a microprocessor. All other computer-implemented functions require disclosure of an algorithm." Id., 114 USPQ2d at 1714… See Aristocrat, 521 F.3d at 1338, 86 USPQ2d at 1241. ("Aristocrat was not required to produce a listing of source code or a highly detailed description of the algorithm to be used to achieve the claimed functions in order to satisfy 35 U.S.C. § 112 ¶ 6. It was required, however, to at least disclose the algorithm that transforms the general purpose microprocessor to a ‘special purpose computer programmed to perform the disclosed algorithm.’" (quoting WMS Gaming, 184 F.3d at 1349, 51 USPQ2d at 1391.)) An algorithm is defined, for example, as "a finite sequence of steps for solving a logical or mathematical problem or performing a task." Microsoft Computer Dictionary, Microsoft Press, 5th edition, 2002. Applicant may express the algorithm in any understandable terms including as a mathematical formula, in prose, in a flow chart, or "in any other manner that provides sufficient structure." Finisar, 523 F.3d at 1340, 86 USPQ2d at 1623; see also Intel Corp. v. VIA Techs., Inc., 319 F.3d 1357, 1366, 65 USPQ2d 1934, 1941 (Fed. Cir. 2003); In re Dossel, 115 F.3d 942, 946-47, 42 USPQ2d 1881, 1885 (Fed. Cir. 1997); Typhoon Touch Inc. v. Dell Inc., 659 F.3d 1376, 1385, 100 USPQ2d 1690, 1697 (Fed. Cir. 2011); In re Aoyama, 656 F.3d at 1306, 99 USPQ2d at 1945.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The dependent claims inherit the deficiencies of the claims they depend upon.
The above noted claim limitations invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
See MPEP § 2181(II)(B): “It was required, however, to at least disclose the algorithm that transforms the general purpose microprocessor to a ‘special purpose computer programmed to perform the disclosed algorithm.’" (quoting WMS Gaming, 184 F.3d at 1349, 51 USPQ2d at 1391.)) An algorithm is defined, for example, as "a finite sequence of steps for solving a logical or mathematical problem or performing a task." Microsoft Computer Dictionary, Microsoft Press, 5th edition, 2002. Applicant may express the algorithm in any understandable terms including as a mathematical formula, in prose, in a flow chart, or "in any other manner that provides sufficient structure." Finisar, 523 F.3d at 1340, 86 USPQ2d at 1623; see also Intel Corp. v. VIA Techs., Inc., 319 F.3d 1357, 1366, 65 USPQ2d 1934, 1941 (Fed. Cir. 2003); In re Dossel, 115 F.3d 942, 946-47, 42 USPQ2d 1881, 1885 (Fed. Cir. 1997); Typhoon Touch Inc. v. Dell Inc., 659 F.3d 1376, 1385, 100 USPQ2d 1690, 1697 (Fed. Cir. 2011); In re Aoyama, 656 F.3d at 1306, 99 USPQ2d at 1945… Accordingly, a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph is appropriate if the specification discloses no corresponding algorithm associated with a computer or microprocessor. Aristocrat, 521 F.3d at 1337-38, 86 USPQ2d at 1242. For example, in Advanced Ground Information Systems, Inc. v. Life360, Inc., 830 F.3d 1341, 119 USPQ2d 1526 (Fed. Cir. 2016), the Federal Circuit determined that the term "symbol generator" is a computer-implemented means-plus- function limitation and that "[t]he specifications of the patents-in-suit do not disclose an operative algorithm for the claim elements reciting 'symbol generator.'" 830 F.3d at 1348-49, 119 USPQ2d at 1529-30… The Federal Circuit upheld the district court’s determination that the term "symbol generator" is indefinite, observing that "although the district court recognized that the specification describes, in general terms, that symbols are generated based on the latitude and longitude of the participants, it nonetheless determined that the specification fails to disclose an algorithm or description as to how those symbols are actually generated." 830 F.3d at 1349, 119 USPQ2d at 1530 (internal quotation marks and alterations omitted)… Aristocrat, 521 F.3d at 1334-35, 86 USPQ2d at 1240 (explaining that "the [patent’s] description of the embodiments is simply a description of the outcome of the claimed functions, not a description of the structure, i.e., the computer programmed to execute a particular algorithm")…. In addition, merely referencing a specialized computer (e.g., a "bank computer"), some undefined component of a computer system (e.g., "access control manager"), "logic," "code," or elements that are essentially a black box designed to perform the recited function, will not be sufficient because there must be some explanation of how the computer or the computer component performs the claimed function… The specification must explicitly disclose the algorithm for performing the claimed function, and simply reciting the claimed function in the specification will not be a sufficient disclosure for an algorithm which, by definition, must contain a sequence of steps. Blackboard, 574 F.3d at 1384, 91 USPQ2d at 1492 (stating that language that simply describes the function to be performed describes an outcome, not a means for achieving that outcome); Microsoft Computer Dictionary, Microsoft Press, 5th edition, 2002; see also Encyclopaedia Britannica, Inc. v. Alpine Elecs., Inc., 355 Fed. App'x 389, 394-95 (Fed. Cir. 2009) (holding that implicit or inherent disclosure of a class of algorithms for performing the claimed functions is not sufficient, and the purported "one-step" algorithm is not an algorithm at all) (unpublished).”
The specification repeatedly recites the use of these two algorithms, but the disclosure does not disclose a “sequence of steps” for how to achieve that result, but rather merely the result it (akin to the “symbol generator” of Advanced Ground Information Systems as noted in the MPEP citations above).
For the structured hex meshing algorithm, the specification merely conveys the functionality claimed with no details on the sequence of steps to be performed by the algorithm itself:
E.g. ¶ 42: “The mesh generation tool 110d may also access or otherwise include instructions that cause the processor 102 to execute the structured hex meshing algorithm 110b and/or the free hex-dominated advancing front meshing algorithm 110a in order to create the meshing within the element strips and the bulk elements separating the element strips” and ¶ 43: “However, the structured hex meshing algorithm 110b may generate each fibrous strip at the fibrous strip spacing apart from each adjacent fibrous strip, and the algorithm 110b may generate each fibrous strip with a uniform width, as defined by the user-provided fibrous strip width…
¶ 79: “The bulk element regions of the composite laminate material model 301 are assigned with a free mesh control (e.g., by the free hex-dominated advancing front meshing algorithm 110a), while the fibrous strips are meshed with structured hex elements (e.g., by the structured hex meshing algorithm 110b) to ensure each fibrous strip is modeled with exactly one material along the transverse direction.”
For the free hex-dominated advancing front meshing algorithm, the specification merely conveys the functionality claimed with no details on the sequence of steps to be performed by the algorithm itself:
¶ 42 as cited above, then ¶ 44: “The free hex-dominated advancing front meshing algorithm 110a may implement any suitable type of meshing procedure in accordance with any suitable free mesh algorithm (e.g., sweep mesh with advancing front algorithm).” – note in the above MPEP citation: “Encyclopaedia Britannica, Inc. v. Alpine Elecs., Inc., 355 Fed. App'x 389, 394-95 (Fed. Cir. 2009) (holding that implicit or inherent disclosure of a class of algorithms for performing the claimed functions is not sufficient, and the purported "one-step" algorithm is not an algorithm at all) (unpublished).””
¶ 63: “…Regardless, as previously mentioned, the arbitrary shapes comprising the bulk elements 200a may be generated using a structured mesh (e.g., by the structured hex meshing algorithm 110b) and/or a free mesh (e.g., by the free hex-dominated advancing front meshing algorithm 110a) based on the geometry of the region of the composite laminate material in which the bulk elements 200a are located.”
¶ 79: “The bulk element regions of the composite laminate material model 301 are assigned with a free mesh control (e.g., by the free hex-dominated advancing front meshing algorithm 110a), while the fibrous strips are meshed with structured hex elements (e.g., by the structured hex meshing algorithm 110b) to ensure each fibrous strip is modeled with exactly one material along the transverse direction.”
The Examiner suggests amending the claims to remove the recitations of using these algorithms, given the lack of description in the specification for what sequence of steps these algorithms are to perform to achieve these desired resulting functionalities as claimed.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The dependent claims inherit the deficiencies of the claims they depend upon.
See the above § 112(f) invocation and corresponding § 112(b) rejection including the citations to the disclosure in the § 112(b) rejection. See MPEP §2181(IV): “When a claim containing a computer-implemented 35 U.S.C. 112(f) claim limitation is found to be indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for failure to disclose sufficient corresponding structure (e.g., the computer and the algorithm) in the specification that performs the entire claimed function, it will also lack written description under section 112(a).” and MPEP 2181(II)(B): “When a claim containing a computer-implemented 35 U.S.C. 112(f) claim limitation is found to be indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for failure to disclose sufficient corresponding structure (e.g., the computer and the algorithm) in the specification that performs the entire claimed function, it will also lack written description under 35 U.S.C. 112(a). See MPEP § 2163.03, subsection VI.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea of both a mathematical concept and mental process without significantly more.
Step 1
Claim 1 is directed towards the statutory category of a process.
Claim 10 is directed towards the statutory category of an apparatus.
Claims 10, and the dependents thereof, are rejected under a similar rationale as representative claim 1, and the dependents thereof.
Step 2A – Prong 1
The claims recite an abstract idea of both a mental process and mathematical concept.
See MPEP § 2106.04: “...In other claims, multiple abstract ideas, which may fall in the same or different groupings, or multiple laws of nature may be recited. In these cases, examiners should not parse the claim. For example, in a claim that includes a series of steps that recite mental steps as well as a mathematical calculation, an examiner should identify the claim as reciting both a mental process and a mathematical concept for Step 2A Prong One to make the analysis clear on the record.”
To clarify, see the USPTO 101 training examples, available at https://www.uspto.gov/patents/laws/examination-policy/subject-matter-eligibility.
The mathematical concept recited in claim 1 is:
and determining, by the one or more processors, a predicted mechanical response of the composite laminate material by: generating a constitutive model corresponding to the composite laminate material based on the FE mesh – math calculations in textual form. See ¶ 103. ¶ 60: “….solving equations to determine the micro damage (e.g., Schapery) parameter.” ¶¶ 87-88, 90-92.
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim recites a mathematical concept – the above limitations are steps in a mathematical concept such as mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, and mathematical calculations. If a claim, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, is directed towards a mathematical concept, then it falls within the Mathematical Concepts grouping of abstract ideas. In addition, as per MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2): “It is important to note that a mathematical concept need not be expressed in mathematical symbols, because "[w]ords used in a claim operating on data to solve a problem can serve the same purpose as a formula." In re Grams, 888 F.2d 835, 837 and n.1, 12 USPQ2d 1824, 1826 and n.1 (Fed. Cir. 1989). See, e.g., SAP America, Inc. v. InvestPic, LLC, 898 F.3d 1161, 1163, 127 USPQ2d 1597, 1599 (Fed. Cir. 2018)”
See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2).
To clarify, see the USPTO 101 training examples, available at https://www.uspto.gov/patents/laws/examination-policy/subject-matter-eligibility.
The mental process recited in claim 1 is:
creating, by one or more processors, a finite-element (FE) mesh by: generating, using a structured hex meshing algorithm, a plurality of fibrous strips along a fiber direction based on the fibrous strip width and the fibrous strip spacing, and generating, using a free hex-dominated advancing front meshing algorithm, a bulk element between each of the plurality of fibrous strips, wherein the FE mesh defines a portion of a composite laminate material;
A mental process, but do it on a computer/in a computer environment (the computer in the preamble, and the algorithm to be used by the computer).
See fig. 2 – a person is readily able to make such a simple 2D drawing, e.g. by mental observations, evaluations, and judgements. Such as a person mentally observing (e.g. in a mental visualization in their own mind) a single layer of a composite material, comprising of the fibers in one direction with matrix material between each of the fibers, and then drawing out strips representing each of the fibers, and drawing out a bulk element between each of the fibers.
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, these limitations are process steps that cover mental processes including an observation, evaluation, judgment or opinion that could be performed in the human mind or with the aid of physical aids but for the recitation of a generic computer component. If a claim, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mental process but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the "Mental Process" grouping of abstract ideas. A person would readily be able to perform this process either mentally or with the assistance of physical aids. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2).
To clarify, see the USPTO 101 training examples, available at https://www.uspto.gov/patents/laws/examination-policy/subject-matter-eligibility. In particular, with respect to the physical aids, see example # 45, analysis of claim 1 under step 2A prong 1, including: “Note that even if most humans would use a physical aid (e.g., pen and paper, a slide rule, or a calculator) to help them complete the recited calculation, the use of such physical aid does not negate the mental nature of this limitation.”; also see example # 49, analysis of claim 1, under step 2A prong 1: “Moreover, the recited mathematical calculation is simple enough that it can be practically performed in the human mind. Even if most humans would use a physical aid, like a pen and paper or a calculator, to make such calculations, the use of a physical aid would not negate the mental nature of this limitation.”
As such, the claims recite an abstract idea of both a mental process and mathematical concept.
Step 2A, prong 2
The claimed invention does not recite any additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Refer to MPEP §2106.04(d).
The following limitations are merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(f), including the “Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more”:
See the preambles of the claims, and the algorithms to be used. See ¶ 41: “In certain aspects, the free hex-dominated advancing front meshing algorithm 110a, the structured hex meshing algorithm 110b may be provided and/or executed by a suitable commercial software package, such as ABAQUS/CAE, or the like.” – see ¶¶ 41-42 to clarify on the generic nature of the processor and the other such recitations
The following limitations are adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(g):
receiving, from a user, a fibrous strip width and a fibrous strip spacing;… , and inputting a stress value or a strain value to the constitutive model to generate the predicted mechanical response. – mere data gathering steps
A claim that integrates a judicial exception into a practical application will apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the judicial exception. See MPEP § 2106.04(d).
MPEP 2106.04(II)(A)(2) “…Instead, under Prong Two, a claim that recites a judicial exception is not directed to that judicial exception, if the claim as a whole integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application of that exception. Prong Two thus distinguishes claims that are "directed to" the recited judicial exception from claims that are not "directed to" the recited judicial exception…Because a judicial exception is not eligible subject matter, Bilski, 561 U.S. at 601, 95 USPQ2d at 1005-06 (quoting Chakrabarty, 447 U.S. at 309, 206 USPQ at 197 (1980)), if there are no additional claim elements besides the judicial exception, or if the additional claim elements merely recite another judicial exception, that is insufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See, e.g., RecogniCorp, LLC v. Nintendo Co., 855 F.3d 1322, 1327, 122 USPQ2d 1377 (Fed. Cir. 2017) ("Adding one abstract idea (math) to another abstract idea (encoding and decoding) does not render the claim non-abstract"); Genetic Techs. Ltd. v. Merial LLC, 818 F.3d 1369, 1376, 118 USPQ2d 1541, 1546 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (eligibility "cannot be furnished by the unpatentable law of nature (or natural phenomenon or abstract idea) itself."). For a claim reciting a judicial exception to be eligible, the additional elements (if any) in the claim must "transform the nature of the claim" into a patent-eligible application of the judicial exception, Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 217, 110 USPQ2d at 1981, either at Prong Two or in Step 2B” and MPEP § 2106(I): “Mayo, 566 U.S. at 80, 84, 101 USPQ2dat 1969, 1971 (noting that the Court in Diamond v. Diehr found “the overall process patent eligible because of the way the additional steps of the process integrated the equation into the process as a whole,”” – and see MPEP § 2106.05(e).
To further clarify, MPEP § 2106.04(II)(A)(1): “Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 216, 110 USPQ2d at 1980 (citing Mayo, 566 US at 71, 101 USPQ2d at 1965). Yet, the Court has explained that ‘‘[a]t some level, all inventions embody, use, reflect, rest upon, or apply laws of nature, natural phenomena, or abstract ideas,’’ and has cautioned ‘‘to tread carefully in construing this exclusionary principle lest it swallow all of patent law” See also Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327, 1335, 118 USPQ2d 1684, 1688 (Fed. Cir. 2016) ("The ‘directed to’ inquiry, therefore, cannot simply ask whether the claims involve a patent-ineligible concept, because essentially every routinely patent-eligible claim involving physical products and actions involves a law of nature and/or natural phenomenon").”
As a point of clarity, RecogniCorp, LLC v. Nintendo Co., 855 F.3d 1322, 1327, 122 USPQ2d 1377 (Fed. Cir. 2017) ("Adding one abstract idea (math) to another abstract idea (encoding and decoding) does not render the claim non-abstract"); Genetic Techs. Ltd. v. Merial LLC, 818 F.3d 1369, 1376, 118 USPQ2d 1541, 1546 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (eligibility "cannot be furnished by the unpatentable law of nature (or natural phenomenon or abstract idea) itself." discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(II)(A)(2) as well as MPEP § 2106.04(I): “Synopsys, Inc. v. Mentor Graphics Corp., 839 F.3d 1138, 1151, 120 USPQ2d 1473, 1483 (Fed. Cir. 2016) ("a new abstract idea is still an abstract idea") (emphasis in original).
The claimed invention does not recite any additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Refer to MPEP §2106.04(d).
Step 2B
The claimed invention does not recite any additional elements/limitations that amount to significantly more.
The following limitations are merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(f), including the “Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more”:
See the preambles of the claims, and the algorithms to be used. See ¶ 41: “In certain aspects, the free hex-dominated advancing front meshing algorithm 110a, the structured hex meshing algorithm 110b may be provided and/or executed by a suitable commercial software package, such as ABAQUS/CAE, or the like.” – see ¶¶ 41-42 to clarify on the generic nature of the processor and the other such recitations
The following limitations are adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(g):
receiving, from a user, a fibrous strip width and a fibrous strip spacing;… , and inputting a stress value or a strain value to the constitutive model to generate the predicted mechanical response. – mere data gathering steps
In addition, the above insignificant extra-solution activities are also considered as well-understood, routine, and conventional activities, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(d):
receiving, from a user, a fibrous strip width and a fibrous strip spacing;… , and inputting a stress value or a strain value to the constitutive model to generate the predicted mechanical response - this is considered similar to the example WURC activity as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II) of: “iii. Electronic recordkeeping, Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 573 U.S. 208, 225, 110 USPQ2d 1984 (2014) (creating and maintaining "shadow accounts"); Ultramercial, 772 F.3d at 716, 112 USPQ2d at 1755 (updating an activity log); iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93;”
The claimed invention is directed towards an abstract idea of both a mathematical concept and a mental process without significantly more.
Regarding the dependent claims
Claim 2 recites another mental step of the partitioning (i.e. partitioning an area of geometry of a material into two or more partitions), followed by an insignificant extra-solution activity of mere data gathering that is WURC. To clarify, see Abaqus. Getting Started with Abaqus. Version 6.8. Copyright 2008. Accessed via URL: sites(dot)engineering(dot)ucsb(dot)edu/~tshugar/GET_STARTED(dot)pdf - ABAQUS, § 2.3.8 for “Meshing the model”, in particular subsection “Creating the mesh”: “Basic meshing is a two-stage operation: first you seed the edges of the part instance, and then you mesh the part instance. You select the number of seeds based on the desired element size or on the number of elements that you want along an edge, and Abaqus/CAE places the nodes of the mesh at the seeds whenever possible… To seed and mesh the model: 1. From the main menu bar, select Seed→Part to seed the part instance. Note: You can gain more control of the resulting mesh by seeding each edge of the part instance individually, but it is not necessary for this example. The Global Seeds dialog box appears. The dialog box displays the default element size that Abaqus/CAE will use to seed the part instance. This default element size is based on the size of the part instance. A relatively large seed value will be used so that only one element will be created per region. 2. In the Global Seeds dialog box, specify an approximate global element size of 1.0, and click OK to create the seeds and to close the dialog box. 3. From the main menu bar, select Mesh→Part to mesh the part instance…” – see the below ABAQUS citations in the § 103 rejection of these claims for more clarification on the WURC nature of this seeding step
Claim 3 is further limiting the abstract idea itself
Claim 4 is merely adding a mental process of a mental comparison followed by a mental judgement (compare two numbers, judge the failure type based on the comparison)
Claim 5 is further limiting the abstract idea itself, e.g. by assigning differing material properties to some strips so the strength (a material property) was non-uniform. Specification discloses that in the exemplary, this is merely statistical distributions, i.e. ¶ 59: “distributions by sampling new values from the associated probability distributions” – which if the claim recited this would be a math concept (see SAP v. InvestPic in MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(I)(C)).
Claims 6-7 are merely further limiting the abstract idea
Claim 8 is further limiting the abstract idea, cf. fig. 4 then ¶¶ 86-91
Claim 9 is further limiting the abstract idea, cf. fig. 4 then ¶¶ 86-91
Dependent claims of the other independent claims are rejected under similar rationales as their parallel claims discussed above.
The claimed invention is directed towards an abstract idea of both a mathematical concept and a mental process without significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-8, 10, 13-15, 17, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, Jiakun. A discrete modeling approach for progressive failure analysis of composite laminates and filament-wound pressure vessels. Cornell University. PhD Dissertation, 2020 in view of Fagiano, Christian, et al. "Computational geometrical and mechanical modeling of woven ceramic composites at the mesoscale." Composite Structures 112 (2014): 146-156.
Regarding Claim 1
Liu teaches:
A computer implemented method for semi-discrete modeling of progressive damage and failure in composite laminate materials, the method comprising: (Liu, abstract: “In order to overcome the limitations of existing methods, we present an auto-generated geometry-based discrete finite element model (AGDM). This new approach is realized by in-house developed preprocessing commands, and can be adopted for various applications. Then we demonstrate a FE analysis, in which the predicted damage pattern and tensile strengths of the tested specimens are in excellent agreement with X-ray and data from experimental observations…” -then, see chapter 5 as cited to below, include seeing § 5.1 incl.: “Essentially these ’interface parts’ anticipate the occurrences and various locations of one of the three crack types (failure modes) and their possible interactions… But these embedded cracklets may trigger upon certain criteria, and become segments of cracks and material discontinuities. Specifically, there are (i) ’yarn cracklets’ for yarn tensile fractures, (ii) ’matrix cracklets’ anticipating interface damages between adjacent yarns in a ply and subsequent intra-ply matrix cracks propagated through linking of failed matrix cracklets, (iii) ’delamination cracklets’ anticipating the triggering of inter-ply delaminations and their growth from such cracklet linking. Load transfer from failure of a cracklet may trigger failure of a neighboring cracklet of the same or a different type, thus generating laminate damage in the form of a growing networks of cracks. Matching mesh are ensured at any potential crack intersections in 3D space” – see § 5.1 to further clarify incl. ¶¶ 2-4)
receiving, from a user, a fibrous strip width and a fibrous strip spacing; (Liu, see chapter 5, as cited to above, then see § 5.1: “The key input parameters describing the geometry and layup angles of the laminate plies, taken to be a rectangular prism, are listed in Table 5.1.” – see the table 5.1 – to clarify, “Upon establishing the user-input parameter values, the code begins by discretizing each ply (rectangular in the current implementation) consists of discrete yarns and yarn-to-yarn interfaces (to anticipate matrix cracks between yarns)” then: “A diagram illustrating the initial ply-level discretization process is shown in Fig. 5.1, where the thicknesses of yarn interface [example of fibrous strip width], tm are enlarged for clearer view,… For the ith ply, the required number and locations of discrete yarns and potential yarn interfaces are computed based on the layup angle, θi, the matrix crack spacing of that ply, di, (approximately the fiber/epoxy yarn width) and the thickness of the yarn interfaces, tm.” – i.e. in fig. 5.1, see tm which is an example of the strip spacing, as listed in table 5.1
creating, by one or more processors, a finite-element (FE) mesh by: generating, using a structured hex meshing algorithm, a plurality of fibrous strips along a fiber direction based on the fibrous strip width and the fibrous strip spacing, and generating, …, a bulk element between each of the plurality of fibrous strips, wherein the FE mesh defines a portion of a composite laminate material; (
First, as a point of BRI, see ¶ 7: “a plurality of fibrous strips (also referenced herein as "matrix-splitting elements")” and ¶ 45, i.e. the fibrous strips in this specification on the elements for the matrix of the composite, whereas the bulk elements are the fibers themselves (note in ¶ 45 the failure modes in particular associated with these two elements)
Liu, as cited above, e.g. the abstract: “auto-generated geometry-based discrete finite element model (AGDM).” And § 5.2, wherein in § 5.2 (e.g. fig. 5.1) shows generated fibrous strips along a fiber direction as the “Initial ply-level discretization” – to clarify, the bulk elements are the “Yarn”, and the matrix splitting elements/fibrous strips are the interface between the yarns representing “locations where matrix cracks can potentially initiate and develop).”)
Then, see §§ 5.3-5.4, in particular § 5.3 discusses a partitioning of the yarn/fiber elements with “yarn cracklets” inserted between the partitions (cf. 5.2 and accompanying description to clarify); then see § 5.4 for the element between the strips (noting in § 5.2, e.g. fig. 5.2, the interface between the strips) – see fig. 5.3 to clarify wherein this shows in (b) the bulk elements of the “Yarn” and the “Yarn cracklets” along with the matrix splitting elements of the ”Matrix cracklets” between the fibers, e.g. in § 5.4 see: “As an example, screen-shots of the assembled parts (yarn segments, yarn cracklets and matrix cracklets) and finite element mesh for a single ply, as generated by the preprocessing code, are shown in Fig. 5.6, and where the ply angle is arbitrarily chosen as θ1 = 21…” – see the figure 5.6 to visually clarify
To clarify on the final mesh being hexes– page 90 ¶ 2: “Once the partitioning process has been completed for all interface parts in the 2D projection plane (from a top-down view), the actual ply interface parts, partitioned into delamination cracklets, are generated in 3D modeling space by extruding their planar rendering with magnitude of the defined ply interface thicknesses, td.”and § 6.3.1, ¶ 1: “First order, fully integrated eight-node brick elements (C3D8), and 6-node triangular prism elements (C3D6) are used for continuum yarn segments and yarn cracklets.” And § 6.3.2: “Both matrix cracklets and delamination cracklets are modeled with either eight-node or six-node cohesive elements (COH3D8 and COH3D6),” – to clarify, hexahedral = 6 sides = cuboidal (e.g. a “brick”), i.e. 8 node elements
To clarify on the portion, § 6.2: “All specimens in the experimental study [102] have symmetric layup, therefore, by taking advantage of symmetry, only the bottom half of plies were modeled.””)
and determining, by the one or more processors, a predicted mechanical response of the composite laminate material by: generating a constitutive model corresponding to the composite laminate material based on the FE mesh, and inputting a stress value or a strain value to the constitutive model to generate the predicted mechanical response. (Liu, as cited above, then see § 7.4, incl.: “In the first two examples (Case A and B), all layers are unidirectional (0 ) and are loaded to a far field strain of 1:6%, which is quite a high level close to the ultimate tensile strain of T1100G (1:82%).” – e.g. see the figures 7.7-7.8, i.e. the mechanical response in the form of stress was predicted by inputting a strain value, as well as other mechanical properties (page 158 discussing fig. 7.10); to clarify, the FEM is generating the constitutive model and doing predications with it, e.g. page 31-33: “The constitutive laws of interface elements after degradation are based on a traction-separation response, which is a commonly used cohesive zone modeling (CZM) technique for small- and zero- thickness elements to model crack and interface damages. Simply speaking, they are acting like ’springs’ whose tractions are determined by the relative displacement between its nodes and interfacial stiffness. The stress-strain curve for the tow interface in the normal direction (Mode-I fracture) is similar to that shown in Fig. 3.2, though the strains are replaced with relative displacements…Note that the frictions should exist and remain in the interface after complete damage, but since the frictions are computed from the relative displacements of the interface CEs between tows, an ’ultimate’ strain is added into the constitutive models, but " is relatively much larger than the other " values….Detailed values and parameters in the constitutive laws above are skipped here considering the main focus of this chapter, and can be found in a journal article by us [28]. In a later chapter involving numerical studies of composite laminates, detailed expressions of constitutive laws for CZM-based CEs will be presented.” And page 95: “Beyond the generation and assembly of the laminate model, the preprocessing code also integrates some essential steps required for a complete numerical analysis (though they are independent of AGDM and can be flexible), for example, selection or input of material properties and constitutive laws, specific mesh size and technique, desired loading and boundary conditions, and analysis job submissions.” – see § 6.3 and its subsections to clarify on the constitutive model and what constitutive laws were used, i.e. on page 121: “In this study, non-linear material response is not included into the corresponding constitutive laws of matrix and delamination cracklets, therefore the predicted response of such laminates (Case 2 and 3) does not show any apparent sign of non-linear/yielding behavior.”, and § 7.2.2 which clarifies on the governing equations, e.g. “This way, the constitutive response of interfaces in normal and tangential modes can be defined as shown in Fig. 7.5” on page 137
While Liu does not explicitly teach the following feature, it would have been obvious when Liu was taken in view of Fagiano:
using a free hex-dominated advancing front meshing algorithm (Liu, as cited above, also see Liu § 5.7: “Since AGDM is geometry-based, all essential procedures (part generation and partitioning, laminate model assembly, and assignment of all surface-based tie constraints) do not require any material definition or predetermined mesh. Consequently, the material assignment and mesh technique are flexible once AGDM creates the laminate model. The user can either employ an built-in material library in Abaqus, or apply a user-defined material (such as UMAT, VUMAT), … The user can also determine the desired mesh technique and level of refinement appropriate to a specific application.”
as taken in view of Fagiano, abstract: “The latter is presented in this paper for the first time. Particular attention is paid to the generation of accurate hexahedral meshes, compatible at the tow–tow and tow–matrix interfaces. The mesh quality is analyzed using an error estimator variable based on the strain energy density. Damage predictions obtained using tetrahedral and hexahedral meshes are compared for basic loading cases, illustrating the need for using high quality meshes in the growing community of woven composites computational modeling” – then see § 2.2: “…The idea is to mesh each part independently because it makes easier the generation of appropriate hexahedral meshes… Then, different meshing techniques available in Abaqus can be used on each subdomain. A structured mesh technique or a sweep meshing technique is combined with an advancing front algorithm [22] on each subdomain of the matrix layers, see Fig. 2(a). As far as the yarns are concerned, a regular hexahedral mesh is obtained using the sweep meshing technique combined with an advancing front algorithm on each subdomain, see Fig. 2(b).” – and note reference # 22 of Fagiano is the ABAQUS user guide
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings from Liu on a system for FEM modeling of composites that was flexible on which meshing techniques were used with the teachings from Fagiano on “the generation of accurate hexahedral meshes” (Fagiano, abstract) The motivation to combine would have been that the generation of the meshes would have been more “accurate”/”high quality” (Fagiano, abstract). A second motivation to combine would have been that “Each mesh is generated in such a way that periodic boundary conditions can be easily applied using multi-point constraint equations.” (Liu, §2.2 ¶ 2).
KSR rationale of “(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;” (MPEP § 2143) also applies, as Liu teaches that the user selects the meshing technique to be used (and is using ABAQUS), and Fagiano teaches that the advancing front meshing technique is readily available in ABAQUS.
Regarding Claim 4
Liu teaches:
The computer implemented method of claim 1, wherein each fibrous strip of the plurality of fibrous strips and each bulk element has a corresponding peak stress value and a corresponding peak strain value, and wherein the method further comprises: determining, by the one or more processors, a failure type corresponding to the predicted mechanical response based on each fibrous strip and each bulk element for which the stress value or the strain value exceeded the corresponding peak stress value or the corresponding strain value. (Liu, page 97 ¶¶ 2-3: “In brief, the model has following features to realize explicit modeling of progressive damage in composite laminates: (i) supports all three types of failure modes, i.e., fiber/yarn fractures, transverse matrix cracks, and delaminations;… Regarding AGDM’s functions, development of additional features are foreseen and essential, such as open hole/notched or round-shaped laminates, and compressive failure modes under torsion and bending.” – and see fig. 6.2 which shows the “Damage profiles of simulated and experimental specimens ([30/90/–30]s) at peak load right before catastrophic failure” and § 7.4, incl.: “In the first two examples (Case A and B), all layers are unidirectional (0 ) and are loaded to a far field strain of 1:6%, which is quite a high level close to the ultimate tensile strain of T1100G (1:82%).” – i.e. peak strain is at peak load with initial delamination and “Matrix crack[s]”, then fig. 6.3: “Damage profiles of simulated and experimental specimens ([30/90/–30]s) as they fail catastrophically.” – wherein the “Fiber breakage” occurs: “(b) Damage profile seen in the AGDM numerical simulation of the specimen at peak load just as catastrophic failure occurs, and where all damages are shown in the reference (undeformed) laminate shape” – cf. 6.4: “Damage pattern of [30/90/–30]s specimen in true deformed shape. (a) Failed laminate at peak load, showing yarns separated by matrix cracks and protruding from the sides of massive delamination band. Yarn breaks have also occurred, which agrees with observations in experiments [102].”
To further clarify , see § 6.3: “The plies of laminate specimens in the experiment study are made by a commercially available product, T300/976 graphite/epoxy [103]. The material properties and fracture parameters associated with the three failure modes are described as follows”
followed by § 6.3.1: “…Specifically, for material points in a yarn cracklet, local damage initiation is triggered by excessive [peak] tensile stress in …” and see eq. 6.1-6.3 for the fiber failure type and corresponding damage equations based on “strain” and “stress”.See table 6.1 to further clarify, incl.: ” Damage-initiating fiber tensile strain/separation” and note its equation (i.e. its relating stress and strain for the damage/failure)
then, see § 6.3.2 for the matrix cracking (for the bulk elements) wherein “Damage initiation is triggered following a quadratic criterion, in which the compressive traction (negative in value) in the inter-facial normal direction is naturally suppressed through the notation…where Tn, Ts and Tt are the cohesive strengths in the normal and two shear directions, respectively. Further interface damage evolution then follows the B-K (Benzeggagh and Kenane) law [107] based on energy dissipation, and is applied for matrix cracklets and delamination cracklets:… where GC is the mixed-mode fracture energy, GIC and GIIC are the Mode-I and Mode-II critical strain energy release rates, B is a measure of the mode mixity and η is a material parameter…”
to clarify, see page 121 ¶ 2: “For example, the stress-vs-displacement curve of [452/–452]s laminate is shown in Fig. 6.7a, only very slight stiffness degradations are observed in the later stage of the tensile loading; the predicted damage pattern of the failed specimen is as shown in Fig. 6.7b.” to page 123: “As another example, Fig. 6.9 shows the comparison between X-radiograph and predicted damages of a [552/752/–752/–552]s laminate specimen (Case 8) by AGDM. The predicted failure profiles and progressive damage patterns agree” – see the figures, e.g. fig. 6.7 shows the stress and peak stress of when the failures occur (stress falling as the composite material is progressively breaking), and fig. 6.9: “(d), (e) and (f) are predicted damage patterns in numerical simulation by AGDM (Case 8) at 97.4%, 99.1% and 100% of the ultimate axial stress (68.3 MPa), respectively.”
Regarding Claim 5
Liu teaches:
The computer implemented method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of fibrous strips is comprised of a corresponding plurality of materials configured to achieve a non-uniform strength distribution of the composite laminate material. (Liu, page 45, second to last paragraph: “Besides, the failure pattern and ultimate strength are also affected by features such as: statistically distributed material strength, initial structural imperfections, specimen shape and geometry, inclusion of notches or holes.” Then see page 97 for the suggestion in the last paragraph: “Another interesting aspect would be the statistical strength of materials and interfaces: for instance, the modeling of discrete yarn failures that have statistically varying material strengths from one to another, which is an essential feature of the composite damage processes at all scales, since tensile failure of carbon fibers and their epoxy-impregnated yarns is brittle and dominated by randomly occurring ’flaws’ whose strengths typically follow Weibull, weakest-link statistics resulting in size effects, as explained in Phoenix et al. [32, 38, 101].”
And page 127, last paragraph: “Meanwhile, functions including statistical material strengths and refined inter-facial constitutive laws should be introduced in future versions of AGDM, since these are also important features for robust and accurate prediction on failure pattern and ultimate strength”
It would have been obvious for POSITA to have modified Liu in the manner expressly suggested by Liu, i.e. to have statistical varying distributions of the material strength, wherein POSITA would have been motivated to do so because 1) its expressly suggested and 2) “these are also important features for robust and accurate prediction on failure pattern and ultimate strength” (Liu, as cited above).
Regarding Claim 6
Liu teaches:
The computer implemented method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of fibrous strips have a first failure mode and the bulk element has a second failure mode that is different from the first failure mode. (Liu, page 97 ¶¶ 2-3: “In brief, the model has following features to realize explicit modeling of progressive damage in composite laminates: (i) supports all three types of failure modes, i.e., fiber/yarn fractures, transverse matrix cracks, and delaminations;… Regarding AGDM’s functions, development of additional features are foreseen and essential, such as open hole/notched or round-shaped laminates, and compressive failure modes under torsion and bending.”
Then, see § 6.3: “The plies of laminate specimens in the experiment study are made by a
commercially available product, T300/976 graphite/epoxy [103]. The material properties and fracture parameters associated with the three failure modes are described as follows”
followed by § 6.3.1: “…Specifically, for material points in a yarn cracklet, local damage initiation is triggered by excessive [peak] tensile stress in …” and see eq. 6.1-6.3 for the fiber failure type and corresponding damage equations based on “strain” and “stress”.See table 6.1 to further clarify, incl.: ” Damage-initiating fiber tensile strain/separation” and note its equation
then, see § 6.3.2 for the matrix cracking (for the bulk elements) wherein “Damage initiation is triggered following a quadratic criterion, in which the compressive traction (negative in value) in the inter-facial normal direction is naturally suppressed through the notation…where Tn, Ts and Tt are the cohesive strengths in the normal and two shear directions, respectively. Further interface damage evolution then follows the B-K (Benzeggagh and Kenane) law [107] based on energy dissipation, and is applied for matrix cracklets and delamination cracklets:… where GC is the mixed-mode fracture energy, GIC and GIIC are the Mode-I and Mode-II critical strain energy release rates, B is a measure of the mode mixity and η is a material parameter…”)
Regarding Claim 7
Liu teaches:
The computer implemented method of claim 6, wherein the first failure mode is a matrix splitting failure mode and a fiber failure mode, and the second failure mode is the fiber failure mode. (See claim 6 above, and claim 1, note that fibrous strips are the matrix splitting elements for BRI consistent with the specification, i.e. in Liu the elements representing the matrix have an associated matrix cracking failure mode, and the elements associated with the fibers have fiber breakage – see rejection of claim 4 above for more clarity)
Regarding Claim 8
Liu teaches:
The computer implemented method of claim 1, wherein the constitutive model includes a pre-peak response model, a set of transition criteria, and a post-peak response model. (Liu, page 97 ¶¶ 2-3: “In brief, the model has following features to realize explicit modeling of progressive damage in composite laminates: (i) supports all three types of failure modes, i.e., fiber/yarn fractures, transverse matrix cracks, and delaminations;… Regarding AGDM’s functions, development of additional features are foreseen and essential, such as open hole/notched or round-shaped laminates, and compressive failure modes under torsion and bending.”
Then, see § 6.3: “The plies of laminate specimens in the experiment study are made by a
commercially available product, T300/976 graphite/epoxy [103]. The material properties and fracture parameters associated with the three failure modes are described as follows”
followed by § 6.3.1: “…Specifically, for material points in a yarn cracklet, local damage initiation is triggered by excessive [peak] tensile stress in …” and see eq. 6.1-6.3 for the fiber failure type and corresponding damage equations based on “strain” and “stress”.See table 6.1 to further clarify, incl.: ” Damage-initiating fiber tensile strain/separation” and note its equation
then, see § 6.3.2 for the matrix cracking (for the bulk elements) wherein “Damage initiation is triggered following a quadratic criterion, in which the compressive traction (negative in value) in the inter-facial normal direction is naturally suppressed through the notation…where Tn, Ts and Tt are the cohesive strengths in the normal and two shear directions, respectively. Further interface damage evolution then follows the B-K (Benzeggagh and Kenane) law [107] based on energy dissipation, and is applied for matrix cracklets and delamination cracklets:… where GC is the mixed-mode fracture energy, GIC and GIIC are the Mode-I and Mode-II critical strain energy release rates, B is a measure of the mode mixity and η is a material parameter…”
to clarify, see page 121 ¶ 2: “For example, the stress-vs-displacement curve of [452/–452]s laminate is shown in Fig. 6.7a, only very slight stiffness degradations are observed in the later stage of the tensile loading; the predicted damage pattern of the failed specimen is as shown in Fig. 6.7b.” to page 123: “As another example, Fig. 6.9 shows the comparison between X-radiograph and predicted damages of a [552/752/–752/–552]s laminate specimen (Case 8) by AGDM. The predicted failure profiles and progressive damage patterns agree” – see the figures, e.g. fig. 6.7 shows the stress and peak stress of when the failures occur (stress falling as the composite material is progressively breaking) – i.e. a pre-peak response, transition criteria (the ones discussed above as the progressive damage laws), and a post-peak response, and fig. 6.9: “(d), (e) and (f) are predicted damage patterns in numerical simulation by AGDM (Case 8) at 97.4%, 99.1% and 100% of the ultimate axial stress (68.3 MPa), respectively.”
Regarding Claim 10.
This is rejected under a similar rationale as claim 1 above, wherein the relied upon combination also teaches:
A system for semi-discrete modeling of progressive damage and failure in composite laminate materials, the system comprising: a user interface; a memory storing a set of computer-readable instructions comprising at least a structured hex mesh algorithm and a free hex-dominated advancing front meshing algorithm; (Liu, as was taken in view of Fagino above for claim 1, for the UI see Liu fig. 5.9 on pages 94-95, and on page 94: “The in-house developed preprocessing commands (written in Python, work compatible with Abaqus) for the current version of AGDM presented in this dissertation contains about two thousand lines of codes” and § 5.7: “The user can either employ an built-in material library in Abaqus, or apply a user-defined material (such as UMAT, VUMAT), or user-defined elements (UEL) in conjunction with AGDM. The user can also determine the desired mesh technique and level of refinement appropriate to a specific application.” – i.e. Liu has the UI of ABAQUS, e.g. see fig. 6.7(b) for an example output visualization from it
Regarding Claim 13.
Rejected under a similar rationale as claims 4 above.
Regarding Claim 15.
Rejected under a similar rationale as claims 6-7 above.
Regarding Claim 16.
Rejected under a similar rationale as claims 8-9 above.
Regarding Claim 14.
Rejected under a similar rationale as claim 5 above.
Regarding Claim 17.
Rejected under a similar rationale as claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 19.
Rejected under a similar rationale as claims 4 above.
Regarding Claim 20.
Rejected under a similar rationale as claims 6-7 above.
Claim(s) 2-3, 11-12, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, Jiakun. A discrete modeling approach for progressive failure analysis of composite laminates and filament-wound pressure vessels. Cornell University. PhD Dissertation, 2020 in view of Fagiano, Christian, et al. "Computational geometrical and mechanical modeling of woven ceramic composites at the mesoscale." Composite Structures 112 (2014): 146-156 taken in further view of Abaqus. Getting Started with Abaqus. Version 6.8. Copyright 2008. Accessed via URL: sites(dot)engineering(dot)ucsb(dot)edu/~tshugar/GET_STARTED(dot)pdf
Regarding Claim 2
Liu in view of ABAQUS teaches:
The computer implemented method of claim 1, wherein creating the FE mesh further comprises:
partitioning the portion of the composite laminate material as distinct from a different portion of the composite laminate material, and seeding the portion of the composite laminate material with a global mesh size. (Liu, as cited above, § 6.2: “All specimens in the experimental study [102] have symmetric layup, therefore, by taking advantage of symmetry, only the bottom half of plies were modeled.””
Then see page 101 ¶ 1: “It should be noted that the mesh sizes can vary between different plies/yarns and are independent of matrix crack spacings di, as will be shown in the mesh and parametric study of some numerical examples” – then see § 6.4.3, ¶ 2: “…As expected, for the same mesh size…” – i.e. while it can use multiple mesh sizes for different parts, in this embodiment it had a global mesh size (“the same mesh size”) – see table 6.3, cases 1.1-1.6 for the same mesh size, i.e. the same mesh size was seeded/input to the meshing algorithms, and note Liu used ABAQUS, e.g. § 5.8: “The in-house developed preprocessing commands (written in Python, work compatible with Abaqus) for the current version of AGDM presented in this dissertation contains about two thousand lines of codes.”
The only distinction is that Liu does not expressly teach the act of seeding, but when taken in view of ABAQUS it would have been obvious:
ABAQUS, § 2.3.8 for “Meshing the model”, in particular subsection “Creating the mesh”: “Basic meshing is a two-stage operation: first you seed the edges of the part instance, and then you mesh the part instance. You select the number of seeds based on the desired element size or on the number of elements that you want along an edge, and Abaqus/CAE places the nodes of the mesh at the seeds whenever possible… To seed and mesh the model: 1. From the main menu bar, select Seed→Part to seed the part instance. Note: You can gain more control of the resulting mesh by seeding each edge of the part instance individually, but it is not necessary for this example. The Global Seeds dialog box appears. The dialog box displays the default element size that Abaqus/CAE will use to seed the part instance. This default element size is based on the size of the part instance. A relatively large seed value will be used so that only one element will be created per region. 2. In the Global Seeds dialog box, specify an approximate global element size of 1.0, and click OK to create the seeds and to close the dialog box. 3. From the main menu bar, select Mesh→Part to mesh the part instance…”
To clarify, see Appendix B. Subsection B.10 starting on page B-19, see fig. B-11 and B-12, also see Appendix C, subsection C.11, subsection: “Seeding the part instances”: “The next step of the meshing process is to seed each of the part instances. Seeds represent the approximate locations of nodes and indicate the target density of the mesh you would like to generate. You can select seeding based on the number of elements to generate along an edge or on the average element size, or you can bias seed distribution toward one end of an edge…”
To clarify, page 6-25 for an example: “In the Model Tree, expand the Truss item underneath the Parts container. Then double-click Mesh in the list that appears. Specify a global part seed of 2.0 for all regions. Repeat this for the part named Cross brace.” – i.e. the seed mesh size is for each part of the FEM model.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings from Liu on which was meshing with ABAQUS with the teachings from ABAQUS on the basic steps of meshing in ABAQUS.
Rationales to combine (MPEP § 2143(I)) are:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results; - see evidence above, i.e. the only distinction is the act of seeding with the same mesh size, and that act is required by ABAQUS, wherein when the mesh size is the same (some of the cases in Liu, as noted above), ABAQUS shows how predictable it would have been to seed with the global mesh size (see the “Note: You can gain more control of the resulting mesh by seeding each edge of the part instance individually, but it is not necessary for this example” in ABAQUS)
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results; and (E) "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success - i.e. see the evidence above. While it is highly probable for Liu to have seeded using the global/same mesh size, ABAQUS does not show it was inherent for Liu also had different mesh sizes for different partitions that were meshed, for the “Note: You can gain more control of the resulting mesh by seeding each edge of the part instance individually, but it is not necessary for this example” in ABAQUS indicates the Liu could have seeded each partition/part instant separately as Liu has varying mesh sizes for the different portions, but it would have been a simple substitution/obvious to try to use the method of ABAQUS for when the same mesh size was used (ABAQUS shows there is only two ways for seeding, i.e. seeding a global element size, or seeding each edge individual).
The motivation to combine would have been that “Various levels of automation and control are available so that you can create a mesh that meets the needs of your analysis.” (ABAQUS, page 2-10, “Mesh” module description). Second motivation to combine would have been note that Liu in § 6.4.3 is a mesh convergence study – see ABAQUS, page 4-49 to 4-50: “…As you gain experience, you will learn to judge what level of refinement produces a suitable mesh to give acceptable results for most simulations. However, it is always good practice to perform a mesh convergence study, where you simulate the same problem with a finer mesh and compare the results…Mesh convergence is an important consideration in both Abaqus/Standard and Abaqus/Explicit. The connecting lug will be used as an example of a mesh refinement study by further analyzing the connecting lug in Abaqus/Standard using four different mesh densities (Figure 4–44). The number of elements used in each mesh is indicated in the figure…Note: The meshes in Figure 4–44 can be obtained by further partitioning, as indicated in Figure 4–45, with appropriate mesh seeding”
Regarding Claim 3
Liu teaches:
The computer implemented method of claim 2, wherein the portion of the composite laminate material includes a first portion of the composite laminate material and a second portion of the composite laminate material that is different from the first portion. (Liu, as cited above for claim 2)
Regarding Claim 11.
Rejected under a similar rationale as claim 2 above.
Regarding Claim 12.
Rejected under a similar rationale as claim 3 above.
Regarding Claim 18.
Rejected under a similar rationale as claims 2-3 above.
Claim(s) 9 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, Jiakun. A discrete modeling approach for progressive failure analysis of composite laminates and filament-wound pressure vessels. Cornell University. PhD Dissertation, 2020 in view of Fagiano, Christian, et al. "Computational geometrical and mechanical modeling of woven ceramic composites at the mesoscale." Composite Structures 112 (2014): 146-156 in view of Pineda, Evan J., and Anthony M. Waas. "Numerical implementation of a multiple-ISV thermodynamically-based work potential theory for modeling progressive damage and failure in fiber-reinforced laminates." International journal of fracture 182.1 (2013): 93-122.
Regarding Claim 9
Liu in view of Pineda teaches:
The computer implemented method of claim 8, wherein the pre-peak response model is a Schapery theory model and the post-peak response model is a crack band model. (See Liu, § 6.3 and subsections for its damage laws, then see Liu, pages 48-49, paragraph split between the pages: “For example, Bazant and Oh [50] proposed a Crack Band (CB) theory initially adopted for fracture of concrete…More specifically for composite laminates, Pineda and Waas [51] presented a thermodynamically-based work potential theory, where pre-peak damage laws (typically non-linear softening curves) of lamina materials are formulated by extending the Schapery Theory (ST) [52], while post-peak failure laws (degrading curves) are based on CB theory. Formulations for element characteristic length and constitutive equations are derived based on work potential theory to ensure preservation of the total energy dissipated from mesh to mesh.” – see Pineda as also relied upon for more clarification on this, specifically see the abstract and § 2 along with its subsections, summarized on page 97 col. 2, ¶ 2 and page 96 col. 2, ¶ 2.
And page 127, last paragraph: “Meanwhile, functions including statistical material strengths and refined inter-facial constitutive laws should be introduced in future versions of AGDM, since these are also important features for robust and accurate prediction on failure pattern and ultimate strength”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings from Liu on the damge laws used in Liu with the teachings from Pineda on its damage laws The motivation to combine would have been that “In this paper, ST is chosen as the CDM framework because of the tractability of the theory within a numerical setting. The theory provides an analytical solution for microdamage evolution and offers the accuracy and computational efficiency needed for predicting damage in real configurations, beyond the coupon level and addressing aerospace structural components. The ST formulation is further extended here, resulting in the enhanced Schapery theory (EST), to include the effects of macroscopic transverse and shear matrix cracking, as well as fiber breakage, using an approach that differs from Sicking (1992), Schapery and Sicking (1995), Pineda et al. (2010a)…” (Pineda, page 94, last paragraph)
Regarding Claim 16.
Rejected under a similar rationale as claims 8-9 above.
Double Patenting
Claim 1, 10, and 17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 8, and 15 of copending Application No. 17987417 in view of Fagiano, Christian, et al. "Computational geometrical and mechanical modeling of woven ceramic composites at the mesoscale." Composite Structures 112 (2014): 146-156.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
The instant independent claims mostly anticipated by the co-pending independent claims, but for the distinction of the algorithms used for the generating steps in the instant independent claims.
This distinction would have been obvious when the claimed invention of the ‘417 independent claims was taken in view of Fagiano, abstract: “The latter is presented in this paper for the first time. Particular attention is paid to the generation of accurate hexahedral meshes, compatible at the tow–tow and tow–matrix interfaces. The mesh quality is analyzed using an error estimator variable based on the strain energy density. Damage predictions obtained using tetrahedral and hexahedral meshes are compared for basic loading cases, illustrating the need for using high quality meshes in the growing community of woven composites computational modeling” – then see § 2.2: “…The idea is to mesh each part independently because it makes easier the generation of appropriate hexahedral meshes… Then, different meshing techniques available in Abaqus can be used on each subdomain. A structured mesh technique or a sweep meshing technique is combined with an advancing front algorithm [22] on each subdomain of the matrix layers, see Fig. 2(a). As far as the yarns are concerned, a regular hexahedral mesh is obtained using the sweep meshing technique combined with an advancing front algorithm on each subdomain, see Fig. 2(b).” – and note reference # 22 of Fagiano is the ABAQUS user guide
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings from the co-pending claimed invention with the teachings from Fagiano on “the generation of accurate hexahedral meshes” (Fagiano, abstract) The motivation to combine would have been that the generation of the meshes would have been more “accurate”/”high quality” (Fagiano, abstract). A second motivation to combine would have been that “Each mesh is generated in such a way that periodic boundary conditions can be easily applied using multi-point constraint equations.” (Liu, §2.2 ¶ 2).
KSR rationale of “(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;” (MPEP § 2143) also applies, as Liu teaches that the user selects the meshing technique to be used (and is using ABAQUS), and Fagiano teaches that the advancing front meshing technique is readily available in ABAQUS.
Claim 2-3, 11-12, and 18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 8, and 15 of copending Application No. 17987417 in view of Fagiano, Christian, et al. "Computational geometrical and mechanical modeling of woven ceramic composites at the mesoscale." Composite Structures 112 (2014): 146-156 taken in further view of Abaqus. Getting Started with Abaqus. Version 6.8. Copyright 2008. Accessed via URL: sites(dot)engineering(dot)ucsb(dot)edu/~tshugar/GET_STARTED(dot)pdf
These dependent claims would have been obvious when the claimed invention of the ‘417, as was already taken in view of Fagiano as cited above, was taken in further view of Abaqus:
ABAQUS, § 2.3.8 for “Meshing the model”, in particular subsection “Creating the mesh”: “Basic meshing is a two-stage operation: first you seed the edges of the part instance, and then you mesh the part instance. You select the number of seeds based on the desired element size or on the number of elements that you want along an edge, and Abaqus/CAE places the nodes of the mesh at the seeds whenever possible… To seed and mesh the model: 1. From the main menu bar, select Seed→Part to seed the part instance. Note: You can gain more control of the resulting mesh by seeding each edge of the part instance individually, but it is not necessary for this example. The Global Seeds dialog box appears. The dialog box displays the default element size that Abaqus/CAE will use to seed the part instance. This default element size is based on the size of the part instance. A relatively large seed value will be used so that only one element will be created per region. 2. In the Global Seeds dialog box, specify an approximate global element size of 1.0, and click OK to create the seeds and to close the dialog box. 3. From the main menu bar, select Mesh→Part to mesh the part instance…”
To clarify, see Appendix B. Subsection B.10 starting on page B-19, see fig. B-11 and B-12, also see Appendix C, subsection C.11, subsection: “Seeding the part instances”: “The next step of the meshing process is to seed each of the part instances. Seeds represent the approximate locations of nodes and indicate the target density of the mesh you would like to generate. You can select seeding based on the number of elements to generate along an edge or on the average element size, or you can bias seed distribution toward one end of an edge…”
To clarify, page 6-25 for an example: “In the Model Tree, expand the Truss item underneath the Parts container. Then double-click Mesh in the list that appears. Specify a global part seed of 2.0 for all regions. Repeat this for the part named Cross brace.” – i.e. the seed mesh size is for each part/portion of the FEM model.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings from the claimed co-pending invention with the teachings from ABAQUS on the basic steps of meshing in ABAQUS and other portions of model generation of a FEM model in ABAQUS to create the meshes.
Rationales to combine (MPEP § 2143(I)) are:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results; - see evidence above, i.e. the only distinction is the act of seeding with the same mesh size, and that act is required by ABAQUS, wherein when the mesh size is the same (some of the cases in Liu, as noted above), ABAQUS shows how predictable it would have been to seed with the global mesh size (see the “Note: You can gain more control of the resulting mesh by seeding each edge of the part instance individually, but it is not necessary for this example” in ABAQUS)
The motivation to combine would have been that “Various levels of automation and control are available so that you can create a mesh that meets the needs of your analysis.” (ABAQUS, page 2-10, “Mesh” module description). Second motivation to combine would have been ABAQUS, page 4-49 to 4-50: “…As you gain experience, you will learn to judge what level of refinement produces a suitable mesh to give acceptable results for most simulations. However, it is always good practice to perform a mesh convergence study, where you simulate the same problem with a finer mesh and compare the results…Mesh convergence is an important consideration in both Abaqus/Standard and Abaqus/Explicit. The connecting lug will be used as an example of a mesh refinement study by further analyzing the connecting lug in Abaqus/Standard using four different mesh densities (Figure 4–44). The number of elements used in each mesh is indicated in the figure…Note: The meshes in Figure 4–44 can be obtained by further partitioning, as indicated in Figure 4–45, with appropriate mesh seeding”
Claims 8-9, 16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7-8, 14-15 and 20 of copending Application No. 17987417 in view of Fagiano, Christian, et al. "Computational geometrical and mechanical modeling of woven ceramic composites at the mesoscale." Composite Structures 112 (2014): 146-156 in further view of Pineda, Evan J., and Anthony M. Waas. "Numerical implementation of a multiple-ISV thermodynamically-based work potential theory for modeling progressive damage and failure in fiber-reinforced laminates." International journal of fracture 182.1 (2013): 93-122.
In particular note representative co-pending dependent claims 7 is to model delamination with mixed mode conditions in the constitutive model.
Instant dependent claims 8-9 and 16 are obvious in view of this, when that claimed invention is taken in further view of Pineda.
See Pineda, abstract, then see page 95 last paragraph wherein “Schapery theory” is used to model “matrix cracking” and a “crack band approach is used to model the embedded discontinunities” – see § 3 ¶ 1 to clarify: “The theory outlined in Sect. 2 eliminates the mesh dependency that arises from ill-posedness when the elements enter the post-peak softening regime by introducing a characteristic length into the formulation. The total SERR dissipated during the evolution of the discontinuity is equal to the prescribed fracture toughness and is independent of the element size. This approach, commonly referred to as the smeared crack approach, or crack band model, has been used to alleviate mesh dependency in FEM Bažant and Oh (1983) for post peak strain softening in concrete” – to clarify on the pre-peak and post-peak, see fig. 1: “Typical stress–strain curve, containing pre-peak nonlinearity and post-peak strain softening, showing the total elastic (WE ) and total dissipated (WS) potentials” - then, see page 97, col. 1, ¶, followed by page 97, col. 2, ¶ 2: “Here, three major failure mechanisms, which are distinct from the microdamage modes, are considered: transverse (mode I) matrix cracking, shear (mode II) matrix cracking, and axial (mode I) fiber fracture. These failure modes are consistent with the in-plane failure typically observed inPMClaminates. It is assumed that the evolution of these mechanisms yields an immediate reduction in the load-carrying capability of a local subvolume where the mechanism is active. Three ISVs are used to account for mode I matrix cracking, mode II matrix cracking, and mode I fiber failure, respectively: Sm I , Sm I I , and S f I . These ISVs are defined completely in Sect. 2.4, and are taken to be the potentials required to advance structural changes associated with these failure mechanisms.” – and see § 2.3 to clarify on the failure initiation criteria (e.g. eq. 9-10 and accompanying description).
For relevance, see page 96, col. 2, ¶ 2: “Although delamination is a prominent failure mechanism in laminated composites, theories and methods to address this mechanism have been developed to a fairly mature state (Song and Waas 1995; Camanho and Dávila 2002; Yang and Cox 2005; Xie and Waas 2006), the authors have left the coupling of in-plane and out-of-plane damage mechanisms as a future exercise involving the placement of cohesive zone elements between plies. Yet, recent preliminary results have been promising, (Ji and Waas 2013).” – see co-pending independent claims for the “connecting…” limitation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings from the co-pending claimed invention with the teachings from Pineda on “analytical solution for microdamage evolution” (Pineda, abstract and page 94 last paragraph) The motivation to combine would have been that “The theory provides an analytical solution for microdamage evolution and offers the accuracy and computational efficiency needed for predicting damage in real configurations, beyond the coupon level and addressing aerospace structural components.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
For particular citations to the relevant portions of several prior art references made of record but not relied upon, see the non-final rejection (March, 2026) in the related US App # 17987411. Those are incorporated herein by reference.
Newly cited prior art and not relied upon for these related cases include:
Diana FEA, User Manual 2.6.3, Copyright 2017, URL: manuals.dianafea.com/d101/FXpDia/node28.html – see the discussion of “Seeding” with “Global Mesh Size”
Nguyen, Nhung, and Anthony M. Waas. "A novel mixed-mode cohesive formulation for crack growth analysis." Composite structures 156 (2016): 253-262. Abstract and §§ 2-3
Pineda, Evan J., and Anthony M. Waas. "Numerical implementation of a multiple-ISV thermodynamically-based work potential theory for modeling progressive damage and failure in fiber-reinforced laminates." International journal of fracture 182.1 (2013): 93-122.
Shivanna, Kiran H., Srinivas C. Tadepalli, and Nicole M. Grosland. "Feature-based multiblock finite element mesh generation." Computer-Aided Design 42.12 (2010): 1108-1116. §§ 2.3 -2.6, and on page 7 ¶ 2: “In our method, the mesh density can be changed by changing the mesh seeding, thus simplifying mesh convergence studies”
Woo, Kyeongsik. "Fracture analysis of woven textile composite using cohesive zone modeling." Journal of Mechanical Science and Technology 31.4 (2017): 1629-1637. § 2.3
Cunha, Vítor MCF, Joaquim AO Barros, and José M. Sena-Cruz. "A finite element model with discrete embedded elements for fibre reinforced composites." Computers & structures 94 (2012): 22-33. Abstract then see § 1 ¶ 5
Millen, S. L. J., Zahur Ullah, and B. G. Falzon. "On the importance of finite element mesh alignment along the fibre direction for modelling damage in fibre-reinforced polymer composite laminates." Composite Structures 278 (2021): 114694. § 1 ¶ 2, § 2.2, then see § 3 and its subsections.
/David A Hopkins/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2188