DETAILED ACTION
CONTINUED EXAMINATION UNDER 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments, filed on December 3, 2025, with respect to objections to claim 17 have been considered and are persuasive. Objections to claim 17 have been withdrawn.
4. Applicant's arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejection of claims 1-20 have been considered and are persuasive. Rejections of claims 1-20 under 35 USC 112(a) have been withdrawn.
5. Applicant's arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claims 1-20 have been considered and are persuasive. Rejections of claims 1-20 under 35 USC 112(b) have been withdrawn.
6. Applicant’s arguments regarding rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any combination of the references being used in the current rejection. Examiner has applied Kim ‘792 (US 2023/0081792) to clearly teach the amended limitations in claims 1-20.
Claim Objections
7. Claims 1 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
“The PDSCH" in claim 1 (line 7) should be replaced with - - the first PDSCH - - to be consistent with the first citation of “a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)” in claim 1 (line 2).
“The PDSCH" in claim 8 (lines 4, 9, and 11) should be replaced with - - the first PDSCH - - to be consistent with the first citation of “a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)” in claim 8 (line 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
10. Claims 1 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim ‘792 (US 2023/0081792, “Kim ‘792”).
Regarding claim 1, Kim ‘792 discloses a communication method, comprising:
receiving, by a terminal device, a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) from a network device (para 51 and 182-184; UE receives a PDSCH from a base station); and
in response to data carried on the first PDSCH failing to be decoded by the terminal device, reducing a transmission latency by directly sending by the terminal device a sounding reference signal (SRS) to the network device on a first time-frequency resource without waiting for scheduling from the network device to reduce time from unsuccessfully decoding the PDSCH to a time the SRS is sent to the network device by the terminal device; or
in response to the data carried on the first PDSCH being successfully decoded by the terminal device, sending by the terminal device feedback information of the first PDSCH to the network device, wherein the feedback information includes acknowledgement information (para 90 and 182-184; UE receives the PDSCH from a base station, successfully decodes the PDSCH that carries data, and sends HARQ-ACK feedback to the base station; examiner notes the use of alternative language; for rejection purposes, only one of the alternative limitations must be disclosed by prior art).
Regarding claim 13, Kim ‘792 discloses a communication apparatus (FIG. 15, para 51 and 358-364; UE), comprising:
a memory, configured to store a computer program or instructions (FIG. 15, para 358-364; programs are stored in a memory);
a processor (FIG. 15, para 358-364; processor), connected to the memory; and
a transceiver (FIG. 15, para 358-364; transceiver), configured to
receive a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) from a network device (para 51 and 182-184; UE receives a PDSCH from a base station);
wherein the processor is configured to execute computer-readable instructions (FIG. 15, para 358-364; processor executes the program) to:
reduce a transmission latency by sending, via the transceiver, a sounding reference signal (SRS) to the network device on a first time-frequency resource without waiting for scheduling from the network device in response to data carried on the first PDSCH failing to be decoded by the processor; or
send, via the transceiver, feedback information of the first PDSCH to the network device in response to the data carried on the first PDSCH being successfully decoded by the processor, wherein the feedback information includes acknowledgement information (para 90 and 182-184; UE receives the PDSCH from a base station, successfully decodes the PDSCH that carries data, and sends HARQ-ACK feedback to the base station; examiner notes the use of alternative language; for rejection purposes, only one of the alternative limitations must be disclosed by prior art).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claims 2-6 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim ‘792, in view of Yamazaki ‘059 (US 10,805,059, “Yamazaki ‘059”).
Regarding claims 2 and 14, Kim ‘792 discloses all the limitations with respect to claims 1 and 13, respectively, as outlined above.
However, Kim ‘792 does not specifically disclose in response to the data carried on the first PDSCH being successfully decoded, the processor is configured to: skip sending the SRS to the network device on the first time-frequency resource.
Yamazaki ‘059 teaches in response to the data carried on the first PDSCH being successfully decoded, the processor is configured to:
skip sending the SRS to the network device on the first time-frequency resource (FIGS. 5 and 9A, col. 7:46-65, col. 13:4-31; in response to successfully decoding the data received on the PDSCH, UE sends an ACK over PUSCH time-frequency resources that are different from SRS resources; thus, no SRS is sent to indicate successful decoding of the PDSCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim ‘792’s communication apparatus that sends a sounding reference signal, to include Yamazaki ‘059’s not sending an SRS to indicate successful decoding of the PDSCH. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable efficient downlink CSI estimation in a case where the downlink CSI is estimated by utilizing reversibility of uplink and downlink channels (Yamazaki ‘059, col. 15:58-63).
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Kim ‘792 discloses all the limitations with respect to claims 1 and 13, respectively, as outlined above.
However, Kim ‘792 does not specifically disclose wherein the SRS is an aperiodic SRS, and the processor further configured to: receive, via the transceiver, first downlink control information (DCI) from the network device, wherein the first DCI indicates the first time-frequency resource.
Yamazaki ‘059 teaches wherein the SRS is an aperiodic SRS (col. 22:38-56; SRS is aperiodic), and
the processor further configured to:
receive, via the transceiver, first downlink control information (DCI) from the network device, wherein the first DCI indicates the first time-frequency resource (FIG. 10, col. 14:41-67, col. 15:1-33; UE receives from the eNB DCI information that indicates time-frequency resources for transmitting the SRS and ACK/NACK).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim ‘792’s communication apparatus that sends a sounding reference signal, to include Yamazaki ‘059’s DCI information that indicates time-frequency resources for transmitting the SRS and ACK/NACK. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable efficient downlink CSI estimation in a case where the downlink CSI is estimated by utilizing reversibility of uplink and downlink channels (Yamazaki ‘059, col. 15:58-63).
Regarding claim 4, Kim ‘792 in combination with Yamazaki ‘059 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 3, as outlined above.
Further, Yamazaki ‘059 teaches further comprising using, by the terminal device, the first DCI to schedule the first PDSCH (FIG. 10, col. 15:15-22; UE uses resources for PDSCH according to received DCI information that indicates resources for PDSCH; thus, UE is configured to use the DCI information to schedule the PDSCH resources).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined communication method of Kim ‘792 and Yamazaki ‘059, to further include Yamazaki ‘059’s UE that is configured to use the DCI information to schedule the PDSCH resources. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable efficient downlink CSI estimation in a case where the downlink CSI is estimated by utilizing reversibility of uplink and downlink channels (Yamazaki ‘059, col. 15:58-63).
Regarding claim 5, Kim ‘792 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 1, as outlined above.
However, Kim ‘792 does not specifically disclose wherein the first time-frequency resource is the same as a time-frequency resource used to carry the feedback information of the first PDSCH.
Yamazaki ‘059 teaches wherein the first time-frequency resource is the same as a time-frequency resource used to carry the feedback information of the first PDSCH (FIGS. 5 and 8A-8B, col. 7:46-67, col. 8:1-5, col. 12:1-42; in response to successfully decoding the data received on the PDSCH, UE sends a SRS that includes a signal sequence for an ACK; thus, SRS resources are also resources used for ACK feedback of the PDSCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim ‘792’s communication method, to include Yamazaki ‘059’s SRS resources that are also resources used for ACK feedback of the PDSCH. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable efficient downlink CSI estimation in a case where the downlink CSI is estimated by utilizing reversibility of uplink and downlink channels (Yamazaki ‘059, col. 15:58-63).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Kim ‘792 discloses all the limitations with respect to claims 1 and 13, respectively, as outlined above.
However, Kim ‘792 does not specifically disclose wherein the processor is further configured to: receive, via the transceiver, first indication information from the network device, wherein the first indication information indicates a frequency domain resource of the first time-frequency resource; and determine a first time domain resource wherein the first time domain resource is a time domain resource of the first time-frequency resource, and there is a first correspondence between the first time domain resource and a second time domain resource, wherein the second time domain resource is a time domain resource occupied by the first PDSCH, a time domain resource occupied by the feedback information of the first PDSCH, or a time domain resource occupied by a second Downlink Control Information (DCI), and the processor is further configured to use the second DCI to schedule the first PDSCH.
Yamazaki ‘059 teaches wherein the processor is further configured to:
receive, via the transceiver, first indication information from the network device, wherein the first indication information indicates a frequency domain resource of the first time-frequency resource (FIGS. 5 and 10, col. 7:46-65, col. 14:41-67, col. 15:1-33; eNB transmits to the UE DCI information that indicates time-frequency resources for SRS and ACK/NACK; thus, UE receives from the eNB the DCI that indicates frequency domain resources of the time-frequency resources for SRS and ACK/NACK); and
determine a first time domain resource wherein the first time domain resource is a time domain resource of the first time-frequency resource (FIGS. 5 and 10, col. 7:46-65, col. 14:41-67, col. 15:1-33; eNB transmits to the UE DCI information that indicates time-frequency resources for SRS and ACK/NACK; thus, UE determines time domain resources of the time-frequency resources for SRS and ACK/NACK), and
there is a first correspondence between the first time domain resource and a second time domain resource, wherein the second time domain resource is
a time domain resource occupied by the first PDSCH (FIGS. 5 and 10, col. 7:46-65, col. 14:41-67, col. 15:1-33; eNB transmits to the UE DCI information that indicates time-domain resources for SRS and ACK/NACK, where the ACK/NACK is feedback for received PDSCH; further, eNB transmits to the UE DCI information that indicates time-domain resources for the PDSCH; thus, there is a correspondence between the two sets of time-domain resources; examiner notes the use of alternative language; for rejection purposes, only one of the alternative limitations must be disclosed by prior art),
a time domain resource occupied by the feedback information of the first PDSCH, or
a time domain resource occupied by a second Downlink Control Information (DCI), and
the processor is further configured to use the second DCI to schedule the first PDSCH (FIG. 10, col. 15:15-22; UE uses resources for PDSCH according to received DCI information that indicates resources for PDSCH; thus, UE is configured to use the DCI information to schedule the PDSCH resources).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim ‘792’s communication apparatus that sends a sounding reference signal, to include Yamazaki ‘059’s UE that is configured to use the DCI information to schedule the PDSCH resources. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable efficient downlink CSI estimation in a case where the downlink CSI is estimated by utilizing reversibility of uplink and downlink channels (Yamazaki ‘059, col. 15:58-63).
13. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim ‘792, in view of Yamazaki ‘059, further in view of Keating ‘612 (US 2022/0210612, “Keating ‘612”), and further in view of Ye ‘173 (US 2020/0228173, “Ye ‘173”).
Regarding claim 7, Kim ‘792 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 1, as outlined above.
However, Kim ‘792 does not specifically disclose wherein the SRS is a periodic SRS, and the method further comprises: receiving, by the terminal device, first configuration information from the network device, using, by the terminal device, the first configuration information to determine a first time-frequency resource set for carrying the periodic SRS, using, by the terminal device, the second DCI to schedule the first PDSCH.
Yamazaki ‘059 teaches wherein the SRS is a periodic SRS (col. 22:38-56; SRS is periodic), and
the method further comprises:
receiving, by the terminal device, first configuration information from the network device, using, by the terminal device, the first configuration information to determine a first time-frequency resource set for carrying the periodic SRS (FIGS. 5 and 10, col. 7:46-65, col. 14:41-67, col. 15:1-33; eNB transmits to the UE DCI information that indicates time-frequency resources for the SRS and ACK/NACK; thus, UE determines time-frequency resources for the SRS),
using, by the terminal device, the second DCI to schedule the first PDSCH (FIG. 10, col. 15:15-22; UE uses resources for PDSCH according to received DCI information that indicates the resources for PDSCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim ‘792’s communication method, to include Yamazaki ‘059’s UE that uses resources for PDSCH according to received DCI information that indicates the resources for PDSCH. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable efficient downlink CSI estimation in a case where the downlink CSI is estimated by utilizing reversibility of uplink and downlink channels (Yamazaki ‘059, col. 15:58-63).
Although Kim ‘792 in combination with Yamazaki ‘059 discloses using, by the terminal device, the first configuration information to determine a first time-frequency resource set for carrying the periodic SRS, Kim ‘792 in combination with Yamazaki ‘059 does not specifically disclose using, by the terminal device, the first configuration information to determine a transmission periodicity of the periodic SRS.
Keating ‘612 teaches using, by the terminal device, the first configuration information to determine a transmission periodicity of the periodic SRS (para 50; UE transmits a SRS of a first periodicity, as specified by a DCI from a gNB).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined method of Kim ‘792 and Yamazaki ‘059, to include Keating ‘612’s UE that transmits a SRS of a first periodicity, as specified by a DCI from a gNB. The motivation for doing so would have been to address a problem of UE positioning in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) using UL signals and reception of the UL signals by only one gNB (Keating ‘612, para 15 and 40).
However, Kim ‘792 in combination with Yamazaki ‘059 and Keating ‘612 does not specifically disclose the first time-frequency resource is in the first time-frequency resource set and whose start moment is not earlier than a start moment of a symbol S1, and the symbol S1 is the 1st symbol after a first time length starting from an end moment of a second time domain resource, wherein the second time domain resource is a time domain resource occupied by the first PDSCH, a time domain resource occupied by the feedback information of the first PDSCH, or a time domain resource occupied by a second Downlink Control Information (DCI).
Ye ‘173 teaches the first time-frequency resource is in the first time-frequency resource set and whose start moment is not earlier than a start moment of a symbol S1, and the symbol S1 is the 1st symbol after a first time length starting from an end moment of a second time domain resource, wherein the second time domain resource is a time domain resource occupied by the first PDSCH (FIGS. 1A-B, para 24; feedback HARQ-ACK is sent on a PUCCH resource with a delay relative to receiving PDSCH, where the delay is expressed in units of a sub-slot, wherein a sub-slot consists of symbols; thus, the feedback resource start symbol is a time length in symbols after the end of the PDSCH resource; the feedback resource reads on the first time-frequency resource, and the PDSCH resource reads on a second time domain resource; examiner notes the use of alternative language; for rejection purposes, only one of the alternative limitations must be disclosed by prior art),
a time domain resource occupied by the feedback information of the first PDSCH, or
a time domain resource occupied by a second Downlink Control Information (DCI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined method of Kim ‘792, Yamazaki ‘059, and Keating ‘612, to include Ye ‘173’s feedback HARQ-ACK that is sent on a PUCCH resource with a delay relative to receiving PDSCH. The motivation for doing so would have been to address challenges that arise when multiplexing HARQ-ACK’s for URLLC and eMBB traffic (Ye ‘173, para 3 and 17).
14. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim ‘792, in view of Frank ‘519 (US 2012/0257519, “Frank ‘519”).
Regarding claim 8, Kim ‘792 discloses a communication method, comprising:
sending, by a network device, a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) to a terminal device (para 51 and 182-184; base station sends a PDSCH to a UE); and
in response to the terminal device failing to decode the PDSCH, receiving, by the network device, feedback information of the first PDSCH from the terminal device, and the feedback information being negative acknowledgement information (para 90 and 182-184; the base station sends the PDSCH to the UE; after failing to decode the PDSCH, the UE sends HARQ-NACK feedback to the base station; examiner notes the use of alternative language; for rejection purposes, only one of the alternative limitations must be disclosed by prior art); or
in response to the terminal device failing to decode the PDSCH, not receiving, by the network device, the feedback information of the first PDSCH from the terminal device, receiving, by the network device, the SRS directly sent from the terminal device on the first time-frequency resource without waiting for the scheduling from the network device.
However, Kim ‘792 does not specifically disclose receiving, by the network device, a sounding reference signal (SRS) directly sent from the terminal device on a first time-frequency resource without waiting for scheduling from the network device to reduce time from unsuccessfully decoding the PDSCH to a time the SRS is sent to the network device.
Frank ‘519 teaches receiving, by the network device, a sounding reference signal (SRS) directly sent from the terminal device on a first time-frequency resource without waiting for scheduling from the network device to reduce time from unsuccessfully decoding the PDSCH to a time the SRS is sent to the network device (para 2, 74, 123, AND 151; SRS is pre-configured, where the SRS is sent on uplink transmission, on time-frequency resources; PDCCH informs a UE of time-frequency resource allocation for PDSCH; when the UE unsuccessfully decodes the PDCCH, the UE unsuccessfully decodes the data carried on the PDSCH; as the SRS is pre-configured, the UE sends the SRS directly to the serving eNB without waiting for scheduling from the eNB; examiner notes that the claim is not limited by “without waiting for scheduling from the network device to reduce time from unsuccessfully decoding the PDSCH to a time the SRS is sent to the network device” as this limitation is simply expressing the intended result of a positively recited limitation; see Minton v. Nat'I Ass' n of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373, 1381, 67 USPQ2d 1614,1620 (Fed. Cir. 2003); examiner suggests positively reciting these limitations to ensure the limitations are given patentable weight).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim ‘792’s communication method for a network device that sends a PDSCH and receives a SRS, to include Frank ‘519’s SRS that is pre-configured. The motivation for doing so would have been to mitigate interference and coexistence problems among collocated and non-collocated radios (Frank ‘519, para 7).
15. Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim ‘792, in view of Frank ‘519, and further in view of Yamazaki ‘059.
Regarding claim 9, Kim ‘792 in combination with Frank ‘519 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 8, as outlined above.
However, Kim ‘792 in combination with Frank ‘519 does not specifically disclose wherein the SRS is an aperiodic SRS, and the method further comprises: sending, by the network device, first downlink control information (DCI) to the terminal device, wherein the first DCI indicates the first time-frequency resource.
Yamazaki ‘059 teaches wherein the SRS is an aperiodic SRS (col. 22:38-56; SRS is aperiodic), and
the method further comprises:
sending, by the network device, first downlink control information (DCI) to the terminal device, wherein the first DCI indicates the first time-frequency resource (FIG. 10, col. 14:41-67, col. 15:1-33; eNB transmits to UE DCI information that indicates time-frequency resources for transmitting the SRS and ACK/NACK).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined method of Kim ‘792 and Frank ‘519, to include Yamazaki ‘059’s DCI information that indicates time-frequency resources for transmitting the SRS and ACK/NACK. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable efficient downlink CSI estimation in a case where the downlink CSI is estimated by utilizing reversibility of uplink and downlink channels (Yamazaki ‘059, col. 15:58-63).
Regarding claim 10, Kim ‘792 in combination with Frank ‘519 and Yamazaki ‘059 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 9, as outlined above.
Further, Yamazaki ‘059 teaches wherein further comprising using, by the network device, the first DCI to schedule the first PDSCH (FIG. 10, col. 15:15-22; eNB transmits to the UE DCI information that indicates time-domain resources for the PDSCH; thus, eNB uses the DCI to schedule the PDSCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined method of Kim ‘792, Frank ‘519, and Yamazaki ‘059, to further include Yamazaki ‘059’s DCI information that indicates time-domain resources for the PDSCH. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable efficient downlink CSI estimation in a case where the downlink CSI is estimated by utilizing reversibility of uplink and downlink channels (Yamazaki ‘059, col. 15:58-63).
Regarding claim 11, Kim ‘792 in combination with Frank ‘519 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 8, as outlined above.
However, Kim ‘792 in combination with Frank ‘519 does not specifically disclose wherein the first time-frequency resource is the same as a time-frequency resource used to carry the feedback information of the first PDSCH.
Yamazaki ‘059 teaches wherein the first time-frequency resource is the same as a time-frequency resource used to carry the feedback information of the first PDSCH (FIGS. 5 and 8A-8B, col. 7:46-67, col. 8:1-5, col. 12:1-42; in response to successfully decoding the data received on the PDSCH, UE sends a SRS that includes a signal sequence for an ACK; thus, SRS resources are also resources used for ACK feedback of the PDSCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined method of Kim ‘792 and Frank ‘519, to include Yamazaki ‘059’s UE that sends a SRS that includes a signal sequence for an ACK. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable efficient downlink CSI estimation in a case where the downlink CSI is estimated by utilizing reversibility of uplink and downlink channels (Yamazaki ‘059, col. 15:58-63).
Regarding claim 12, Kim ‘792 in combination with Frank ‘519 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 8, as outlined above.
However, Kim ‘792 in combination with Frank ‘519 does not specifically disclose wherein the processor is further configured to: sending, by the network device, first indication information to the terminal device, wherein the first indication information indicates a frequency domain resource of the first time-frequency resource; and determining, by the network device, a first time domain resource, wherein the first time domain resource is a time domain resource of the first time-frequency resource, and there is a first correspondence between the first time domain resource and a second time domain resource, wherein the second time domain resource is a time domain resource occupied by the first PDSCH, a time domain resource occupied by the feedback information of the first PDSCH, or a time domain resource occupied by a second Downlink Control Information (DCI), and using, by the network device, the second DCI to schedule the first PDSCH.
Yamazaki ‘059 teaches wherein the processor is further configured to:
sending, by the network device, first indication information to the terminal device, wherein the first indication information indicates a frequency domain resource of the first time-frequency resource (FIGS. 5 and 10, col. 7:46-65, col. 14:41-67, col. 15:1-33; eNB transmits to the UE DCI information that indicates time-frequency resources for SRS and ACK/NACK; thus, eNB transmits to the UE the DCI that indicates frequency domain resources of the time-frequency resources for SRS and ACK/NACK); and
determining, by the network device, a first time domain resource, wherein the first time domain resource is a time domain resource of the first time-frequency resource (FIGS. 5 and 10, col. 7:46-65, col. 14:41-67, col. 15:1-33; eNB transmits to the UE DCI information that indicates time-frequency resources for SRS and ACK/NACK; thus, eNB determines time domain resources of the time-frequency resources for SRS and ACK/NACK), and
there is a first correspondence between the first time domain resource and a second time domain resource, wherein the second time domain resource is
a time domain resource occupied by the first PDSCH (FIGS. 5 and 10, col. 7:46-65, col. 14:41-67, col. 15:1-33; eNB transmits to the UE DCI information that indicates time-domain resources for SRS and ACK/NACK, where the ACK/NACK is feedback for received PDSCH; further, eNB transmits to the UE DCI information that indicates time-domain resources for the PDSCH; thus, there is a correspondence between the two sets of time-domain resources; examiner notes the use of alternative language; for rejection purposes, only one of the alternative limitations must be disclosed by prior art),
a time domain resource occupied by the feedback information of the first PDSCH, or
a time domain resource occupied by a second Downlink Control Information (DCI), and
using, by the network device, the second DCI to schedule the first PDSCH (FIG. 10, col. 15:15-22; eNB transmits to the UE DCI information that indicates time-domain resources for the PDSCH; thus, eNB is configured to use the DCI information to schedule the PDSCH resources).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined method of Kim ‘792 and Frank ‘519, to include Yamazaki ‘059’s eNB that is configured to use the DCI information to schedule the PDSCH resources. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable efficient downlink CSI estimation in a case where the downlink CSI is estimated by utilizing reversibility of uplink and downlink channels (Yamazaki ‘059, col. 15:58-63).
16. Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim ‘792, in view of Yamazaki ‘059, and further in view of Frank ‘519.
Regarding claim 17, Kim ‘792 discloses a communication apparatus (FIG. 16, para 51 and 365-370; base station), comprising
a memory, configured to store a computer program or instructions (FIG. 16, para 51 and 365-370; programs are stored in a memory);
a processor coupled to the memory (FIG. 16, para 51 and 365-370; processor); and
a transceiver (FIG. 16, para 51 and 365-370; transceiver);
configured to send a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) to a terminal device (para 51 and 182-184; base station sends a PDSCH to a UE); and
wherein the processor is configured to execute the computer program or instructions (FIG. 16, para 51 and 365-370; processor executes the program) to:
in response to feedback information of the first PDSCH being received from the terminal device indicating the terminal device unsuccessfully decoding the first PDSCH, and the feedback information is negative acknowledgement information (para 90 and 182-184; the base station sends the PDSCH to the UE; after failing to decode the PDSCH, the UE sends HARQ-NACK feedback to the base station; examiner notes the use of alternative language; for rejection purposes, only one of the alternative limitations must be disclosed by prior art); or
configured to receive the SRS from the terminal device on the first time-frequency resource in response to the feedback information of the first PDSCH not being received from the terminal device indicating the terminal device unsuccessfully decoding the first PDSCH.
Although, Kim ‘792 discloses in response to feedback information of the first PDSCH being received from the terminal device indicating the terminal device unsuccessfully decoding the first PDSCH, and the feedback information is negative acknowledgement information, Kim ‘792 does not specifically disclose receive, via the transceiver, a sounding reference signal (SRS) sent from the terminal device in response to feedback information of the first PDSCH being received from the terminal device indicating the terminal device unsuccessfully decoding the first PDSCH.
Yamazaki ‘059 teaches receive, via the transceiver, a sounding reference signal (SRS) sent from the terminal device in response to feedback information of the first PDSCH being received from the terminal device indicating the terminal device unsuccessfully decoding the first PDSCH (FIGS. 5 and 8A-8B, col. 7:46-67, col. 8:1-5, col. 11:63-67, col. 12:1-42; UE fails to decode the data received on the PDSCH, and sends to the eNB a SRS that includes a signal sequence for a NACK, by using time-frequency resources; thus, eNB receives a SRS and NACK feedback from the UE, on the time-frequency resources).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim ‘792’s communication apparatus that sends a PDSCH and receives a SRS, to include Yamazaki ‘059’s eNB that receives a SRS and NACK feedback from the UE. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable efficient downlink CSI estimation in a case where the downlink CSI is estimated by utilizing reversibility of uplink and downlink channels (Yamazaki ‘059, col. 15:58-63).
Although Kim ‘792 in combination with Yamazaki ‘059 discloses receive, via the transceiver, a sounding reference signal (SRS) sent from the terminal device in response to feedback information of the first PDSCH being received from the terminal device indicating the terminal device unsuccessfully decoding the first PDSCH, Kim ‘792 in combination with Yamazaki ‘059 does not specifically disclose receive a sounding reference signal (SRS) sent from the terminal device without the terminal device waiting for scheduling on a first time-frequency resource.
Frank ‘519 teaches receive a sounding reference signal (SRS) sent from the terminal device without the terminal device waiting for scheduling on a first time-frequency resource (para 2, 74, 123, AND 151; SRS is pre-configured, where the SRS is sent on uplink transmission, on time-frequency resources; PDCCH informs a UE of time-frequency resource allocation for PDSCH; when the UE unsuccessfully decodes the PDCCH, the UE unsuccessfully decodes the data carried on the PDSCH; as the SRS is pre-configured, the UE sends the SRS directly to the serving eNB without waiting for scheduling from the eNB).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined communication apparatus of Kim ‘792 and Yamazaki ‘059, to include Frank ‘519’s SRS that is pre-configured. The motivation for doing so would have been to mitigate interference and coexistence problems among collocated and non-collocated radios (Frank ‘519, para 7).
Regarding claim 18, Kim ‘792 in combination with Yamazaki ‘059 and Frank ‘519 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 17, as outlined above.
Further, Yamazaki ‘059 teaches wherein the SRS is an aperiodic SRS (col. 22:38-56; SRS is aperiodic), and
the processor is further configured to:
send, via the transceiver, first downlink control information (DCI) to the terminal device, wherein the first DCI indicates the first time-frequency resource (FIG. 10, col. 14:41-67, col. 15:1-33; eNB transmits to UE DCI information that indicates time-frequency resources for transmitting the SRS and ACK/NACK).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined communication apparatus of Kim ‘792, Yamazaki ‘059, and Frank ‘519, to further include Yamazaki ‘059’s DCI information that indicates time-frequency resources for transmitting the SRS and ACK/NACK. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable efficient downlink CSI estimation in a case where the downlink CSI is estimated by utilizing reversibility of uplink and downlink channels (Yamazaki ‘059, col. 15:58-63).
Regarding claim 19, Kim ‘792 in combination with Yamazaki ‘059 and Frank ‘519 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 17, as outlined above.
Further, Yamazaki ‘059 teaches wherein the first time-frequency resource is the same as a time-frequency resource used to carry the feedback information of the first PDSCH (FIGS. 5 and 8A-8B, col. 7:46-67, col. 8:1-5, col. 12:1-42; in response to successfully decoding the data received on the PDSCH, UE sends a SRS that includes a signal sequence for an ACK; thus, SRS resources are also resources used for ACK feedback of the PDSCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined communication apparatus of Kim ‘792, Yamazaki ‘059, and Frank ‘519, to further include Yamazaki ‘059’s UE that sends a SRS that includes a signal sequence for an ACK. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable efficient downlink CSI estimation in a case where the downlink CSI is estimated by utilizing reversibility of uplink and downlink channels (Yamazaki ‘059, col. 15:58-63).
Regarding claim 20, Kim ‘792 in combination with Yamazaki ‘059 and Frank ‘519 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 17, as outlined above.
Further, Yamazaki ‘059 teaches wherein the processor is further configured to:
send, via the transceiver, first indication information to the terminal device, wherein the first indication information indicates a frequency domain resource of the first time-frequency resource (FIGS. 5 and 10, col. 7:46-65, col. 14:41-67, col. 15:1-33; eNB transmits to the UE DCI information that indicates time-frequency resources for SRS and ACK/NACK; thus, eNB transmits to the UE the DCI that indicates frequency domain resources of the time-frequency resources for SRS and ACK/NACK); and
determine a first time domain resource, wherein the first time domain resource is a time domain resource of the first time-frequency resource (FIGS. 5 and 10, col. 7:46-65, col. 14:41-67, col. 15:1-33; eNB transmits to the UE DCI information that indicates time-frequency resources for SRS and ACK/NACK; thus, eNB determines time domain resources of the time-frequency resources for SRS and ACK/NACK), and
there is a first correspondence between the first time domain resource and a second time domain resource, wherein the second time domain resource is
a time domain resource occupied by the first PDSCH (FIGS. 5 and 10, col. 7:46-65, col. 14:41-67, col. 15:1-33; eNB transmits to the UE DCI information that indicates time-domain resources for SRS and ACK/NACK, where the ACK/NACK is feedback for received PDSCH; further, eNB transmits to the UE DCI information that indicates time-domain resources for the PDSCH; thus, there is a correspondence between the two sets of time-domain resources; examiner notes the use of alternative language; for rejection purposes, only one of the alternative limitations must be disclosed by prior art),
a time domain resource occupied by the feedback information of the first PDSCH, or
a time domain resource occupied by a second Downlink Control Information (DCI), and
the processor is configured to use the second DCI to schedule the first PDSCH (FIG. 10, col. 15:15-22; eNB transmits to the UE DCI information that indicates time-domain resources for the PDSCH; thus, eNB is configured to use the DCI information to schedule the PDSCH resources).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined communication apparatus of Kim ‘792, Yamazaki ‘059, and Frank ‘519, to further include Yamazaki ‘059’s eNB that is configured to use the DCI information to schedule the PDSCH resources. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable efficient downlink CSI estimation in a case where the downlink CSI is estimated by utilizing reversibility of uplink and downlink channels (Yamazaki ‘059, col. 15:58-63).
Conclusion
Internet Communication
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only. (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.0.
/NEVENA ZECEVIC SANDHU/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474