DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 9-12, 21-24, and 26-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fonte (US Patent No. 20200056835).
Regarding Claim 1, Fonte teaches a pod comprising: a body having a sidewall that extends from a first end of the body to a second end of the body to define an interior of the pod (Figure 6A-B, A wall 214 connects the first end 210 to the second end 212 to create Pod 150); ingredients disposed within the interior of the pod for producing a single serving of a cooled food or drink (Paragraph 93, The pods can be sized to provide a single serving of the food or drink being produced); and a mixing paddle disposed within the interior of the pod and rotatable relative to the body along a longitudinal axis of the body (Figure 6A-B, Mixing Paddle 160 is enclosed in the Pod 150 and is rotatable relative to the body along a longitudinal axis of the body), a cross-section of the mixing paddle taken perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the mixing paddle having at least one curved or non-linear section (Figure 27, 25C, 34, and 39, Showcases cross-sections perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of different Mixing Paddles that have curved sections).
Regarding Claim 2, Fonte teaches that at least one curved or non-linear section defines a C-shape, an S-shape, a wavy-shape, or an undulating-shape (Figure 27, 25C, 34, and 39, Showcases different Mixing Paddles that have a undulating shape).
Regarding Claim 3, Fonte teaches that at least one curved or non-linear section defines a scoop-shaped section for scooping the ingredients within the pod when the mixing paddle rotates relative to the body of the pod (Figure 25C, Showcases Mixing Paddle 486 having a scoop shape that can scoop ingredients within the pod).
Regarding Claim 4, Fonte teaches that the cross-section has a pair of concave features each spaced approximately equidistant from the longitudinal axis of the mixing paddle (Figure 25C, Showcases Mixing Paddle 486 having a concave features spaced approximately equidistant from the longitudinal axis of the mixing paddle), the concave features being concave with respect to a rotational direction of the mixing paddle used to mix the ingredients disposed within the interior of the pod to produce the single serving of the cooled food or drink (Figure 25C, Showcases Mixing Paddle 486 having a concave features with respect to a rotational direction of the mixing paddle).
Regarding Claim 5, Fonte teaches that the concave features span a majority of the cross- section of the mixing paddle (Figure 25C, Showcases Mixing Paddle 486 having three concave features that span the cross- section area).
Regarding Claim 9, Fonte teaches that the radius of the concave features is between 0.6 and 1.2 inches (Paragraph 78, The pods have diameters ranging from 2.080 inches-2.090 inches (radius 1.04 to 1.045 inches), therefore the radius of the concave features of the mixing paddle would be less than 1.045 inches.).
Regarding Claim 10, Fonte teaches that the radius-to-thickness ratio defined by a radius of the concave features of the mixing paddle divided by a thickness the cross-section of the mixing paddle is between 1.0 and 10.0 (Paragraph 78 and Figure 6B and 25C, The pods have diameters ranging from 2.080 inches-2.090 inches (radius 1.04 to 1.045 inches), therefore the radius of the concave features of the mixing paddle would be less than 1.045 inches and the thickness of the cross section is less 1.045 inches. therefore the ratio is higher than 1.0).
Regarding Claim 11, Fonte teaches that at least one curved or non-linear section provides an increased bending, flexural, or torsional stiffness to the mixing paddle to resist deflection of the mixing paddle as the mixing paddle rotates within the pod (Paragraph 177, The Mixing Paddle formed from metal. Therefore this reads as resisting deflection of the mixing paddle as the mixing paddle rotates within the pod.).
Regarding Claim 12, Fonte teaches that the mixing paddle is concentrically disposed within the interior of the pod such that the longitudinal axis of the body of the pod is coincident with the longitudinal axis of the mixing paddle (Figure 6A-B, Mixing Paddle 160 is concentrically disposed within Pod 150 and their longitudinal axis align).
Regarding Claim 21, Fonte teaches a pod comprising: a body having a sidewall that extends from a first end of the body to a second end of the body (Figure 6A-B, A wall 214 connects the first end 210 to the second end 212 to create Pod 150), the body having an interior that contains ingredients for producing a single serving of a cooled food or drink (Paragraph 93, The pods can be sized to provide a single serving of the food or drink being produced); and a mixing paddle disposed within the body and rotatable relative to the body along a longitudinal axis of the body (Figure 6A-B, Mixing Paddle 160 is enclosed in the Pod 150 and is rotatable relative to the body along a longitudinal axis of the body), a cross-section of the mixing paddle taken perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the mixing paddle having at least one curved or non-linear section (Figure 27, 25C, 34, and 39, Showcases cross-sections perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of different Mixing Paddles that have curved sections); and a machine having a recess sized to receive the pod, the machine comprising (Figure 1B, and Paragraph 68, Machine 100 has a receded receptacle 110 sized to receive a pod): a refrigeration system operable to cool the ingredients within the pod when the pod is inserted into the recess of the machine (Paragraph 68 and 74, Refrigeration system 109 whose other components are disposed inside the housing 104 cools the ingredients when pod is inserted.); and a mixing motor operable to rotate the mixing paddle to mix the ingredients within the pod while the ingredients are being cooled to produce the single serving of the cooled food or drink (Paragraph 123, Motor 124 mixes the ingredients using the Mixing Paddle 160 during the cooling process).
Regarding Claim 22, Fonte teaches that the at least one curved or non-linear section defines a C-shape or an S-shape (Figure 25C, Showcases Mixing Paddle 486 having a C shape).
Regarding Claim 23, Fonte teaches that the mixing paddle cross-section defines a wavy or undulating shape (Figure 27, 25C, 34, and 39, Showcases different Mixing Paddles that have a undulating shape).
Regarding Claim 24, Fonte teaches that the mixing paddle cross-section has a pair of concave features each spaced approximately equidistant from the longitudinal axis of the mixing paddle (Figure 25C, Showcases Mixing Paddle 486 having a concave features spaced approximately equidistant from the longitudinal axis of the mixing paddle), the concave features being concave with respect to the direction in which the mixing motor rotates the mixing paddle to mix the ingredients within the interior of the pod to produce the single serving of the cooled food or drink (Figure 25C, Showcases Mixing Paddle 486 having a concave features with respect to a rotational direction of the mixing paddle).
Regarding Claim 26, Fonte teaches that the machine is operable to rotate the mixing paddle such that edges of the mixing paddle scrape an inner surface of the pod to remove built-up frozen ingredients located on the inner surface of the pod (Paragraph 113 and Figure 6B, In this mixing paddle configuration, one blade is intended to scrape ingredients from the inner sidewall of the pod).
Regarding Claim 27, Fonte teaches that the machine is operable to rotate the mixing paddle to force the ingredients in an axial direction of the pod and through at least two windows of the mixing paddle (Figure 6B, 10, and Paragraph 113, Showcases openings 232 passing through the cross-section of the mixing paddle and ingredients are forced through the openings 232 in an axial direction when the mixing paddle is rotated).
Regarding Claim 28, Fonte teaches that the machine is operable to rotate the mixing paddle to force the produced single serving of the cooled food or drink out of the pod after the pod is opened (Paragraph 123 and Figure 11, As the ice cream forms in pod 150, A torque sensor of the machine measures the torque of the motor 124 required to rotate the mixing paddle 160 within the pod 150. Once the torque of the motor 124 measured by a torque sensor satisfies a predetermined threshold, the machine 100 moves into a dispensing mode (276). The dispensing port opens and the motor 124 reverses direction (step 278) to press the frozen confection out of the pod 150).
Regarding Claim 29, Fonte fails to teach that at least one curved or non- linear section provides an increased bending, flexural, or torsional stiffness to the body to resist deflection of the mixing paddle as the mixing paddle rotates within the pod (Fonte: Paragraph 177, The Mixing Paddle formed from metal. Therefore this reads as resisting deflection of the mixing paddle as the mixing paddle rotates within the pod.).
Regarding Claim 30, Fonte teaches that the sidewall of the pod is coated with a layer of coating and the mixing paddle contacts the layer of coating as the mixing paddle is rotated within the pod (Paragraph 99-100 and Figure 6B, The internal parts of the Pod 150 including the mixer are coated to prevent corrosion therefore the mixing paddle comes in contact with coating as it rotates).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8, 13-14, 17-20, 25, and 82 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fonte (US Patent No. 20200056835) in view of Jay (US Patent No. 3161404).
Regarding Claim 6, Fonte fails to teach two radial end portions in the cross section.
Jay teaches an ice cream pod and stirrer (Col 1 Line 9-11, Ice cream freezers with stirrer) where the cross-section has two radial end portions that are curved in an opposite direction relative to the concave features (Figure 5-6 and Col 2 Line 49-51, The longitudinally extending members 14 curve opposite direction of the concave features).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fonte to incorporate two radial end portions in the cross section as stated by Jay. The longitudinally extending members act as scraper blades adapted to engage the inner surface of the can to scrape materials on the inner wall (Col 2 Line 49-51, Scraper Blades).
Regarding Claim 7, Fonte fails to teach two radial end portions in the cross section.
Jay teaches an ice cream pod and stirrer (Col 1 Line 9-11, Ice cream freezers with stirrer) where the two radial end portions contact the sidewall of the body of the pod at one or more rotational positions of the mixing paddle within the pod (Figure 5-6 and Col 2 Line 49-51, The longitudinally extending members 14 are adapted to engage the inner surface of the can Y).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fonte to incorporate two radial end portions in the cross section as stated by Jay. The longitudinally extending members act as scraper blades adapted to engage the inner surface of the can to scrape materials on the inner wall (Col 2 Line 49-51, Scraper Blades).
Regarding Claim 8, Fonte in view of Jay teaches that at least a portion of each of the two radial end portions is tangent to an inner surface of the sidewall of the pod at the one or more rotational positions of the mixing paddle within the pod (Fonte: Figure 25C, Showcases Mixing Paddle 486 having three concave features where the end portion is tangent to an inner surface of the sidewall of the pod).
Regarding Claim 13, Fonte teaches A device located in a hermetically-sealed pod containing liquid food or drink ingredients, the device comprising: a body having a longitudinal mixing paddle(Figure 6A-B and Paragraph 79, Mixing Paddle 160 is enclosed in the Pod 150 which is air tight. Paragraph 93, The pods can be sized to provide a single serving of the food or drink being produced); the body having a cross-section along a direction perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the body (Figure 25C, Showcases a cross section of the mixing paddle perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the body); the body having at least two windows passing through the cross-section of the body (Figure 6B, Showcases openings 232 passing through the cross-section of the mixing paddle); the body being sized and shaped such that, when the device is rotated within the pod while the pod is cooled:(i) edges of the device scrape an inner surface of the pod to remove built-up frozen ingredients located on the inner surface of the pod (Paragraph 113 and Figure 6B, In this mixing paddle configuration, one blade is intended to scrape ingredients from the inner sidewall of the pod); (ii) the cross section portion of the body forces ingredients in an axial direction in the pod and through the at least two windows (Figure 6B and Paragraph 115, Mixing Paddle forces ingredients in an axial direction in the pod); and (iii) the device forces frozen confection out of the pod after the pod is opened (Paragraph 123 and Figure 11, As the ice cream forms in pod 150, A torque sensor of the machine measures the torque of the motor 124 required to rotate the mixing paddle 160 within the pod 150. Once the torque of the motor 124 measured by a torque sensor satisfies a predetermined threshold, the machine 100 moves into a dispensing mode (276). The dispensing port opens and the motor 124 reverses direction (step 278) to press the frozen confection out of the pod 150).
Fonte fails to teach that at least a portion of the cross-section is S-shaped.
Jay teaches an ice cream pod and stirrer (Col 1 Line 9-11, Ice cream freezers with stirrer) where at least a portion of the cross-section being S-shaped (Figure 6, The longitudinally extending members 14 are S shaped)
Regarding the shape of the cross section, the courts have held that a change in shape alone, without demonstration of the criticality of a specific limitation, may be considered obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP § 2144.04-IV-B).
Regarding Claim 14, Fonte in view of Jay teaches that the mixing paddle has a helical-shape (Figure 6B and 28, Mixing Paddle 160 and 520 have a helical-shape).
Regarding Claim 17, Fonte teaches at least two windows are positioned radially along the cross section of the body (Figure 6B and 10, Showcases openings 232 passing through the cross-section of the mixing paddle).
Fonte fails to teach that the cross section is S-shaped.
Jay teaches an ice cream pod and stirrer (Col 1 Line 9-11, Ice cream freezers with stirrer) the cross section of the body is S-shaped (Figure 6, The longitudinally extending members 14 are S shaped).
Regarding the shape of the cross section, the courts have held that a change in shape alone, without demonstration of the criticality of a specific limitation, may be considered obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP § 2144.04-IV-B).
Regarding Claim 18, Fonte in view of Jay teaches that the cross-section has a pair of concave features each spaced approximately equidistant from a longitudinal axis of the body (Fonte: Figure 25C, Showcases Mixing Paddle 486 having a concave features spaced approximately equidistant from the longitudinal axis of the mixing paddle), the concave features being concave with respect to the direction in which the device is rotated within the pod while the pod is cooled (Fonte: Figure 25C, Showcases Mixing Paddle 486 having a concave features with respect to a rotational direction of the mixing paddle).
Regarding Claim 19, Fonte fails to teach that the cross section of the body is S-shaped.
Jay teaches an ice cream pod and stirrer (Col 1 Line 9-11, Ice cream freezers with stirrer) where the S-shaped portion of the cross- section spans a majority of the cross-section of the body (Figure 6, The longitudinally extending members 14 are S shaped and spans a majority of the cross-section of the body).
Regarding the shape of the cross section, the courts have held that a change in shape alone, without demonstration of the criticality of a specific limitation, may be considered obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP § 2144.04-IV-B).
Regarding Claim 20, Fonte in view of Jay teaches that the cross-section provides an increased bending, flexural, or torsional stiffness to the body to resist deflection of the body as the body rotates within the pod (Fonte: Paragraph 177, The Mixing Paddle formed from metal. Therefore this reads as resisting deflection of the mixing paddle as the mixing paddle rotates within the pod.).
Regarding Claim 25, Fonte fails to teach two radial end portions in the cross section.
Jay teaches an ice cream pod and stirrer (Col 1 Line 9-11, Ice cream freezers with stirrer) where the mixing paddle cross-section has two radial end portions that are curved in an opposite direction relative to the concave features (Figure 5-6 and Col 2 Line 49-51, The longitudinally extending members 14 curve opposite direction of the concave features).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fonte to incorporate two radial end portions in the cross section as stated by Jay. The longitudinally extending members act as scraper blades adapted to engage the inner surface of the can to scrape materials on the inner wall (Col 2 Line 49-51, Scraper Blades).
Regarding Claim 82, Fonte teaches that the body is sized and shaped such that, when the device is rotated within the pod while the pod is cooled, the cross-section portion of the body forces ingredients through the at least two windows (Figure 6B, 10, and Paragraph 113 and 123, Showcases openings 232 passing through the cross-section of the mixing paddle and ingredients are forced through the openings 232 when the mixing paddle is rotated).
Fonte fails to teach that the cross section is S-shaped
Jay teaches an ice cream pod and stirrer (Col 1 Line 9-11, Ice cream freezers with stirrer) where the cross section is S-shaped (Figure 6, The longitudinally extending members 14 are S shaped).
Regarding the shape of the cross section, the courts have held that a change in shape alone, without demonstration of the criticality of a specific limitation, may be considered obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP § 2144.04-IV-B).
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fonte (US Patent No. 20200056835) in view of Jay (US Patent No. 3161404) and further in view of Fonte (US Patent No. 10426180).
Regarding Claim 15, Fonte in view of Jay fails to teach that the mixing paddle has a helical-shape with a constant pitch.
Fonte (US Patent No. 10426180) teaches a system for providing a single serving of a frozen confection (Abstract, Apparatus for serving of a frozen confection) where the helical-shape has a constant pitch between 40 and 60 degrees/inch.
While Fonte (US Patent No. 10426180) may not expressly teach the helical-shape of a mixing paddle has a constant pitch between 40 and 60 degrees/inch of the instant claim, Fonte (US Patent No. 10426180) teaches that a mixing paddle has a helical-shape with a constant pitch. In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. MPEP § 2144.04-IV-A. Therefore, the mixing paddle of Fonte (US Patent No. 10426180) is capable of mixing the ingredients.
Regarding Claim 15, Fonte in view of Jay fails to teach that the mixing paddle edges touch the majority of angular orientations of the device within the pod.
Fonte (US Patent No. 10426180) teaches a system for providing a single serving of a frozen confection (Abstract, Apparatus for serving of a frozen confection) where the edges are in contact with a sidewall of the pod for a majority of angular orientations of the device within the pod (Figure 20, Pod 30 has outer helical scraper paddle 670 that is always in contact with a sidewall of the pod).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fonte in view of Jay to incorporate mixing paddle edges touching the majority of angular orientations of the device within the pod as stated by Fonte (US Patent No. 10426180). The helical scraper paddle is able to agitate the contents of pod so as to ensure uniform and rapid formation of the frozen confection, and prevent the build-up of frozen confection (Col 9 Line 35-45, Scraper Blades).
Conclusion
/HAMZEH HICHAM AMIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761