Claims 7-13 have been canceled. Claims 1-6 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, lines 11-12, “the component” and “the harder material property” lack clear antecedent basis in the claim.
It is not clear how claim 2 further defines the invention. In claim 1, a frame or bushing surface is “textured with a laser to form a laser surface”, whereas, claim 2 only recites a frame or bushing surface that “is laser etched to form a friction surface”. These appear to be the same feature.
In claims 4, 5, and 6, “the first component” and “the second component” lack clear antecedent basis and fail to relate back to the “frame” and the “bushing” that appears to correspond to the components.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN 108657263) in view of Ribeiro (PGPub 2021/0388867).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Liu teaches a friction assembly for mounted components comprising: a steering gear (see title); a frame 1 having a first interface surface comprising a frame surface (upper contact surface of frame 1 that contacts bushing 3); a bushing 3 having a second interface surface 31 comprising a bushing surface, wherein the first interface surface and the second interface surface are in contact in an assembled condition (see Figure 3), the bushing surface being in operative contact with the frame surface and the steering gear; wherein one of the frame surface and the bushing surface is textured to form a friction surface, and wherein the component with the harder material property has the surface that is to be texturized (bushing 3 has a texture surface 311; Figures 4 and 5; abstract refers to an “embedded pattern” that increases the coefficient of friction between the sleeve/bushing 3 and the frame 1; page 6, first full paragraph, teaches a “texture 311” on sleeve/bushing 3).
Liu is silent regarding the textured pattern 311 being laser etched.
Ribeiro teaches a friction assembly for mounted components comprising: a first component (outer ring 14 of bearing) having a first interface surface (surfaces of the outer ring that contact the housing 16; see Ribeiro, para [0014], lines 1-4; Figure 1); and a second component (housing 16) having a second interface surface (inner surface of housing that contact the outer bearing ring 14), wherein the first interface surface and the second interface surface are in contact in an assembled condition (Figure 1), wherein one of the first interface surface and the second interface surface are textured to form a friction surface (laser etched contact surface; para [0014], lines 3-4). The laser etching improves the security of the press fit between the first component (bearing 14) and second component (housing 16; see abstract and para [0014], lines 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, form the texture on the bushing by laser etching, as taught by Ribeiro, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to improve the contact interface between the bushing and frame (first and second components).
Regarding claim 3, the bushing surface of Liu is the textured surface so it is the laser etched surface of the combination, to form the friction surface.
Regarding claim 4, the first component/frame is formed of a first material (aluminum) having a first hardness, wherein the second component/bushing is formed of a second material (steel) having a second hardness that is greater than the first hardness (see Liu, page 3, fifth full paragraph of the translation), and wherein the one of the first interface surface and the second interface surface which is etched is the second interface surface.
Regarding claim 5, the first component/frame and the second component/bushing are assembled to each other in a vehicle (automobile, see title).
Regarding claim 6, the first component/frame and the second component/bushing are assembled to each other in a steering system (see title, abstract, etc.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant has argued that neither Liu nor Ribeiro alone teaches the entire claimed combination. However, applicant has not specifically argued the combination of Liu and Ribeiro which was set forth in the previous Office Action and which is relied upon here. Absent a convincing argument as to why the combination of Liu and Ribeiro is improper or fails to meet the claimed combination, the rejection is being maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hiramoto teaches a laser roughened surface used in a power steering arrangement.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANNE MARIE M BOEHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3611