DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Svendsen (US Publication No. 20150349737) in view of McAndrews et al (US Patent No. 5777454).
Regarding claim 1, Svendsen teaches a rapid shutdown system of an energy storage device (i.e., system 400; fig. 4), comprising: a battery module (402) having a first end (+) and a second end (-/GND); a boost circuit (404), comprising a first switch element (408) and an active or passive switch element (410), wherein the first switch element, having one end (+/anode of diode 410) connected to the active or passive switch element and another end (-/GND) connected to the second end (-/GND), is controlled by a first control signal (412) to be conducted (ON) or non-conducted (OFF) between the first end and the second end (implicit, as seen in fig. 4); a second switch element (418) having a third end (+/cathode of diode 410/terminal of 418) and a fourth end (+/junction node 418/420/422), wherein the third end is connected to the active or passive switch element (implicit, as seen in fig. 4); a boost inductor (406) having one end (+/terminal of 406) connected to the first end (+) of the battery module and another end connected to the first switch element and the active or passive switch element (+/T-shape node/406/408/410); and an output circuit (i.e., parallel capacitor 424 and resistor 430) having a fifth end (+) and a sixth end (-/GND), wherein an output voltage (426) exists between the fifth end and the sixth end, the fifth end is connected to the fourth end (implicit, as seen in fig. 4), the sixth end is connected to the second end (implicit, as seen in fig. 4), and the second switch element is controlled by a second control signal (432) to be conducted (ON) or non-conducted (OFF) between the boost circuit and the output circuit (implicit, as seen in fig. 4), when the first switch element is conducted (ON), the active or passive switch element is controlled to be non-conducted (OFF), so that the boost inductor starts to generate a magnetic field to store energy (i.e., When the switch 408 is opened (after being closed), current continues flowing through the boost inductor 406 due to energy stored in the magnetic field of the boost inductor 406, which then flows through boost diode 410 into boost capacitor 414, resulting in a boost voltage across the boost capacitor 414; para. [0039]), when the first switch element is non-conducted (OFF), the active or passive switch element and the second switch element are controlled to be conducted (ON)(e.g., the diode 410 is controlled by the boost control 412 and the second switch 418 is controlled by the buck control 432; fig. 4), so that a current flows (i.e., current flows; para. [0039]) from the boost circuit to the output circuit to boost an output voltage (426) of the output circuit (implicit, as seen in fig. 4).
Svendsen does not teach wherein when a safety failure occurs to the battery module, the energy storage device is rapidly shut down by the second switch element to disconnect the boost circuit and the output circuit, when the safety failure disappears, the second switch element returns to be conducted, and the boost circuit boosts the output voltage of the output circuit.
McAndrews teaches in a similar field of endeavor in power converters (i.e., the figure; Col. 3 lines 38+); wherein when a safety failure (i.e., A battery in this condition will have one of two failure modes, the most damaging being "thermal runaway". Thermal runaway may lead to an explosion of the battery, with likely destruction or severe damage to any nearby equipment. Alternatively, the battery may experience a "melt down" and produce noxious gases which are also apt to damage or destroy neighboring equipment; Col. 3 lines 38+) occurs to the battery module (battery string module 15), the energy storage device (i.e., the battery management system controlled by controller 26) is rapidly (i.e., immediately) shut down (OFF) by the second switch element (SCR 18) to disconnect (OFF) the boost circuit (PS1) and the output circuit (load 10) (e.g., the battery management system is designed so that any failure mode affecting the ability of the system load bus 12 to sustain the system load 10 will immediately return the power system to a standard rectifier/battery/load configuration; Col. 3 lines 38+), when the safety failure disappears (i.e., During normal operation; Col. 3 lines 38+), the second switch element returns to be conducted (ON), and the boost circuit boosts the output voltage (i.e., the output voltage at the load 10) of the output circuit (e.g., The increased current begins to boost charge the battery strings 14. If the battery string voltage approaches the level at which the SCR 18 conducts, a voltage detector circuit which monitors the battery string voltage removes the gate signal supplied to the SCR gate 48. The voltage detector circuit for convenience may be part of the controller shown schematically at 26. Whenever the primary DC source 8 is unable to supply the total load current, the system load bus voltage begins to decay. The SCR 18 is receiving a hard gate signal currently and immediately begins to conduct, placing the batteries onto the system load bus 12. A voltage detector located in each battery string module 15 constantly monitors the system load bus voltage, senses a decay in that voltage and commands contactor set K1 to release, thus connecting the battery strings 14 directly to the system load bus 12; Col. 3 lines 38+).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the failsafe scheme in Svendsen, as taught by McAndrews, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design.
Regarding claim 2, Svendsen in view of McAndrews and the teachings of Svendsen as modified by McAndrews have been discussed above.
Svendsen further teaches the system; wherein the boost circuit further comprises a boost capacitor (414), and two ends (i.e., the (+) terminal and the (-/GND) terminal) of the boost capacitor respectively are connected to the first end and the second end (implicit, as seen in fig. 4).
Regarding claim 3, Svendsen in view of McAndrews and the teachings of Svendsen as modified by McAndrews have been discussed above.
Svendsen further teaches the system; wherein the passive switch element is a diode (i.e., diode 410).
Regarding claim 4, Svendsen in view of McAndrews and the teachings of Svendsen as modified by McAndrews have been discussed above.
Svendsen further teaches the system; wherein when the first switch element is conducted (408-ON), the diode is reverse biased to be non-conducted (410-OFF); when the first switch element is non-conducted (408-OFF), the diode is forward biased to be conducted (410-ON).
Regarding claim 5, Svendsen in view of McAndrews and the teachings of Svendsen as modified by McAndrews have been discussed above.
Svendsen further teaches the system; wherein the second switch element and the diode form a two-way cutoff switch assembly (i.e., the scenario of bidirectional current interruption as both diode 410 and second switch 418 are OFF to cut the feed current 415; fig. 4) or an insulated gate bipolar transistor.
Regarding claim 8, Svendsen in view of McAndrews and the teachings of Svendsen as modified by McAndrews have been discussed above.
Svendsen further teaches the system; wherein the output circuit (i.e., parallel capacitor 424 and resistor 430) comprises an output capacitor (424) and an output resistor (430), the output capacitor and the output resistor are connected in parallel between the fifth end and the sixth end of the output circuit (implicit, as seen in fig. 4).
Regarding claim 17, Svendsen in view of McAndrews and the teachings of Svendsen as modified by McAndrews have been discussed above.
Svendsen further teaches the system; a rapid shutdown method used in the rapid shutdown system of an energy storage device (i.e., method 400; fig. 4), inputting a first control signal (first input control signal via 411), inputting a second control signal (second input control signal via 432). And, for the rest of the limitations/features in claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 1. {See rejection of claim 1}
Regarding claim 18, Svendsen in view of McAndrews and the teachings of Svendsen as modified by McAndrews have been discussed above.
Svendsen further teaches the method; wherein the passive switch element is a diode (diode 410), and the second switch element and the diode form a two-way cutoff switch assembly or an insulated gate bipolar transistor. And, for the rest of the limitations/features in claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 5. {See rejection of claim 5}
Claims 6-7 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Svendsen (US Publication No. 20150349737) in view of McAndrews et al (US Patent No. 5777454) and further in view of Rozman et al (US Publication No. 20130049657).
Regarding claim 6, Svendsen in view of McAndrews and the teachings of Svendsen as modified by McAndrews have been discussed above.
Neither Svendsen nor McAndrews teaches wherein the active switch element is a metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor (MOSFET).
Rozman teaches in a similar field of endeavor in power converters (i.e., system 200; fig. 2); wherein the active switch element (MOSFET 221) is a metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor (MOSFET) (implicit, as seen in fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the MOSFET device in Svendsen, as taught by Rozman, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design.
Regarding claim 7, Svendsen in view of McAndrews and further in view of Rozman and the teachings of Svendsen as modified by McAndrews have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Svendsen as modified by Rozman have been discussed above as well.
Rozman further teaches the system (fig. 2); wherein the second switch element (232) and the active switch element (221) form a source to source butting MOSFET switch assembly (e.g., the first and second SSPC 220, 230 each include back-to-back connected metal on oxide field effect transistors (MOSFET) 221, 222, 231, 232 to achieve bidirectional current interruption in the SSPCs 220, 230; para. [0014]).
Regarding claim 19, is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 7. {See rejection of claim 7}
Regarding claim 20, Svendsen in view of McAndrews and further in view of Rozman and the teachings of Svendsen as modified by McAndrews have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Svendsen as modified by Rozman have been discussed above as well.
Rozman further teaches the method (fig. 2); wherein the second switch element (232) and the active switch element (221) form a two-way cutoff switch assembly (i.e., bidirectional current interruption; para. [0014]).
Claims 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Svendsen (US Publication No. 20150349737) in view of McAndrews et al (US Patent No. 5777454) and further in view of Nii et al (US Publication No. 20120104859).
Regarding claim 9, Svendsen in view of McAndrews and the teachings of Svendsen as modified by McAndrews have been discussed above.
Neither Svendsen nor McAndrews teaches a second switch element having a third end and a fourth end, wherein the fourth end is connected to the second end, and the second switch element is controlled by a second control signal to be conducted or non-conducted between the boost circuit and the output circuit.
Nii teaches in a similar field of endeavor in power converters (i.e., system 50; fig. 1); wherein a second switch element (17) having a third end (i.e., junction node of elements 12/15/17) and a fourth end (i.e., junction node of elements 17/35), wherein the fourth end is connected to the second end (-/neutral), and the second switch element is controlled by a second control signal (51) to be conducted (ON) or non-conducted (OFF) between the boost circuit (20) and the output circuit (39) (implicit, as seen in fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the switch at the neutral line in Svendsen, as taught by Nii, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design. And, for the rest of the limitations/features in claim 9 is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 1. {See rejection of claim 1}
Regarding claim 10, is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 2. {See rejection of claim 2}
Regarding claim 11, is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 3. {See rejection of claim 3}
Regarding claim 12, is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 4. {See rejection of claim 4}
Regarding claim 13, is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 5. {See rejection of claim 5}
Regarding claim 14, is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 6. {See rejection of claim 6}
Regarding claim 15, Svendsen in view of McAndrews and further in view of Nii and the teachings of Svendsen as modified by McAndrews have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Svendsen as modified by Nii have been discussed above as well.
Nii further teaches the system; wherein the first switch element (MOSFET 23) and the second switch element (MOSFET 17) is a metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor (MOSFET) (implicit, as seen in fig. 1).
Regarding claim 16, is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 8. {See rejection of claim 8}
Conclusion
/MUAAMAR QAHTAN AL-TAWEEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838