DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-15 and 23-28 are pending and are subject to this office action. Claim 1 has been amended, and claim 26-28 are newly added. Claims 17-22 were previously withdrawn as being directed to a non-elected invention are now canceled.
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges the Applicant’s response filed on 05/19/2026 containing amendments and remarks to the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 5-10, filed 05/19/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has amended to claim 1 to require the composition has a pH of up to about 8. Keller discloses the composition has a pH of less than 7.0. The claimed pH range of about 8.0 or less overlaps with the range taught by the prior art and is therefore considered prima facie obvious. Thus, the rejection is maintained.
On pg. 6-7, Applicant argues the combination of Keller and Pederson is improper because Keller discloses including calcium salts as a particulate filler and Pederson discloses including calcium salts as an active ingredient in chewing gum. The Examiner disagrees. While Keller is directed to a pouched product and Pederson is directed a chewing gum, Keller and Pederson are both directed to oral products and therefore are considered analogous art. Keller discloses an oral product comprising nicotine and a filler which may include calcium salts [0092, 0129, 0132]) but is silent to the inclusion of the claimed calcium salts. Pederson discloses a similar oral product comprising one or more active ingredients including nicotine, calcium gluconate, calcium glycerophosphate and calcium lactate ([0167, 0186-0187]). A person having ordinary skill in the art could have reasonably applied the combination of active ingredients disclosed by Pederson to the oral pouched product disclosed by Keller to yield predictable results of a calcium salt particulate filler. Furthermore, Keller discloses that suitable fillers may fulfill multiple functions and generally porous particulate materials and can be non-tobacco materials. Therefore, it is reasonable that the calcium salts in Pederson can be used as fillers and further be used as active ingredients, thus fulfilling multiple functions.
On pg. 7-9, Applicant argues that the inclusion of the calcium salts recited in amended claim 1 provides unexpected results of enhanced nicotine release. The Examiner disagrees.
On pg. 7, Applicant argues the data presented in Example 5/ Fig. 4 is directed to solutions of nicotine polacrilex and calcium salts and therefore the moisture content is not relevant. The Examiner disagrees. The claim requires an oral pouched product comprising a pouch and composition, where the pouch product comprises a moisture content of 5% of greater. The data presented in Example 5/ Fig. 4 illustrates nicotine release for various aqueous solutions and therefore is not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention which requires a pouch and composition having a moisture content of great than 5%.
Regarding Fig. 4, Applicant asserts that the inclusion of the calcium salts recited in amended claim 1 provides unexpected results of enhanced nicotine release. Annotations to Fig. 4 are presented below with 100% nicotine release highlighted by a grey dashed line. However, Fig. 4 appears to show that maximum nicotine release of powders excluding a calcium salt (powder A to C) reaches or exceeds 100%, whereas the maximum nicotine release of powders including calcium glycerol phosphate (powders D, E) is slightly lower. It has not been persuasively shown that Fig. 4 demonstrates unexpected results.
The Examiner notes the specification is inconsistent in the description of the powder compositions. Table 5 in the specification lists powders D and E as comprising sodium chloride, sodium benzoate, and calcium glycerophosphate (pg. 84). However, Applicant refers to pg. 84 line 21- pg. 85 lines 1-3 of the specification which recites powders D and E as comprising calcium chloride and calcium gluconate. Thus, it is unclear what calcium salt or combination of calcium salts is represented by powders D and E shown in Fig. 4.
The amendment to claim 1 does not result in the examples provided in Fig. 4 being commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. Claim 1 requires a moisture content of at least 5%, whereas Fig. 4 and the associated disclosure in the specification are silent to the moisture content in the example compositions, as discussed above. Claim 1 requires inclusion of a calcium salt selected from the group consisting of calcium benzoate, calcium gluconate, calcium glycerol phosphate, calcium lactate, calcium lactate gluconate, and any combination thereof. Fig. 4 provides data for a composition comprising calcium glycerol phosphate (powders D, E) but is silent to the remaining recited salts and combinations thereof. The examples lack sufficient comparison that would reasonably suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art that the results shown in the examples could be extrapolated to be representative of a superior result when using calcium salts other than calcium glycerol phosphate.
Regarding Fig. 5, the examples provided in Fig. 5 are not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. Claim 1 requires inclusion of a calcium salt selected from the group consisting of calcium benzoate, calcium gluconate, calcium glycerol phosphate, calcium lactate, calcium lactate gluconate, and any combination thereof. Fig. 5 provides data for a composition comprising calcium glycerol phosphate (pouch AC, Table 8) or a combination of calcium lactate and calcium gluconate (pouch AD, Table 9) but is silent to the remaining recited salts and combinations thereof. The examples lack sufficient comparison that would reasonably suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art that the results shown in the example could be extrapolated to be representative of a superior result when using calcium salts other than calcium glycerol phosphate or a combination of calcium lactate and calcium gluconate.
On pg. 9-10, Applicant argues that the inclusion of calcium glycerol phosphate (new dependent claim 27) or calcium lactate and calcium gluconate (new dependent claim 28) demonstrate superior results and are therefore is patentable over Keller in view of Pederson or Bruun. The Examiner disagrees. Fig. 4 does not appear to demonstrate calcium glycerol phosphate results in improve nicotine release, as discussed above. While Fig. 5 may show a composition comprising calcium glycerol phosphate (pouch AC, Table 8) or a combination of calcium lactate and calcium gluconate (pouch AD, Table 9) has superior nicotine release over a composition without a calcium salt (pouch AB, Table 7) , Keller, in view of Pederson, similarly discloses an oral pouch product comprising nicotine and calcium glycerol phosphate and an oral pouched product comprising nicotine, calcium lactate, and calcium gluconate which would be expected to exhibit similar superior nicotine release. Mere recognition of latent properties in the prior art does not render nonobvious an otherwise known invention. See MPEP 2145(II).
The prior art rejections below are maintained and modified below where necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 12, 15, and 24-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keller (US 20210068447 A1) in view of Pederson (US 20120039981 A1) or alternatively in view of Bruun (US 20230210162 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Keller discloses a pouched product (100) for oral use (Fig. 9, [0162]), comprising:
A moisture permeable pouch (102) which contains a mixture (“composition”, Fig. 9, [0162]), and;
The mixture comprising at least 5% by weight water (“moisture content of about 5% or greater”, [0097]).
The mixture comprises a particulate filler, water, one or more organic acids, one or more active ingredients, and the mixture has a pH of less than 7.0 (abstract, [0006, 0056, 0091, 0117]). The claimed pH range of about 8.0 or less overlaps with the range taught by the prior art and is therefore considered prima facie obvious.
The active ingredient is a nicotine component in the form of a resin complex of nicotine (“a nicotine polymer complex”, [0129, 0132])
The particulate filler components may include calcium carbonate, calcium phosphate, and combinations thereof (“at least one calcium salt”, [0092]).
Keller does not explicitly disclose the moisture content of the total product (i.e. pouch and mixture). However, it is evident that a mixture having a water content of at least 5% by weight would include pouched products with a moisture content that overlaps with the claimed range of about at least 5% and is therefore considered prima facie obvious.
Keller does not explicitly disclose the mixture comprises calcium salt selected from the group consisting of calcium benzoate, calcium gluconate, calcium glycerol phosphate, calcium lactate, calcium lactate gluconate, and any combination thereof.
However, Pederson, directed to oral nicotine products (abstract, [0073]), discloses:
A buccal sachet comprising one or more active ingredients including nicotine ([0025, 0047, 0073, 0086]),
The one or more active ingredients comprises nicotine, and calcium gluconate, calcium glycerophosphate or calcium lactate ([0167, 0186-0187]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Keller by including calcium gluconate, calcium glycerophosphate or calcium lactate in the nicotine containing composition as taught by Pederson because both Keller and Pederson are directed to oral nicotine products, Keller teaches that filler compounds can fulfill multiple functions and be any particulate filler compounds which include calcium salts ([0092]), Pederson discloses a pouch product comprising active ingredients including nicotine and calcium gluconate, calcium glycerophosphate or calcium lactate, and this involves applying a known active ingredient to a similar oral pouched product to yield predictable results.
Alternatively, Bruun, directed to an oral pouched nicotine product (abstract, [0195]), discloses:
The pouch composition comprises a preservative such as calcium benzoate ([0166-0167]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Keller, by including calcium benzoate in the mixture as taught by Bruun because both Keller and Bruun are directed to oral nicotine products, Bruun teaches the calcium benzoate can be used as a preservative, and this involves applying a known preservative in a similar oral nicotine product to yield predictable results.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Keller discloses the mixture comprises at least 5% by weight water (“moisture content of about 5% or greater”, [0097]).
Keller does not explicitly disclose the moisture content of the total product (i.e. pouch and mixture). However, it is evident that a mixture having a water content of at least 5% by weight would include pouched products with a moisture content that overlaps with the claimed range of about at least 15% and about at least 25%.
Regarding claim 4, Keller discloses at least a portion of the nicotine is the form of a resin complex of nicotine ([0132]) which reasonably suggest an embodiment where the resin complex of nicotine is the only nicotine component.
Regarding claim 5, Keller discloses at least a portion of the nicotine is the form of a nicotine salt ([0131]) and at least a portion of the nicotine is in the form of a resin complex of nicotine ([0132]) which reasonably suggests an embodiment where the mixture comprises a portion of nicotine in the form of a resin complex and a portion of the nicotine is in the form of a nicotine salt.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Keller discloses the resin complex of nicotine is nicotine polacrilex which is nicotine bound to polymethacrylic acid ([0132]) which is considered to meet the claim limitations of a polymeric cation exchange resin comprising a polyacrylic polymer.
Regarding claim 8, Keller discloses the resin complex of nicotine is nicotine polacrilex ([0132]).
Regarding claim 9, Keller discloses the overall product is in the form of particles ([0152]).
Regarding claim 10, Keller discloses the overall product is in the form of particles having a particle size of less than 1000µm ([0152-0156]) which overlaps with the claimed range and is therefore considered prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 12, Keller does not explicitly disclose the particles are coated which reasonably suggests the particles are uncoated.
Regarding claim 15, Keller discloses the mixture comprises a pH adjuster including metal hydroxides such as sodium hydroxide and potassium hydroxide ([0127])
Regarding claim 24, Keller discloses the mixture has a pH of less than 7.0 ( abstract, [0006, 0056, 0117]), as discussed above. Keller further discloses that organic acid is added to bring the pH to a range of about 5.0-6.5 ([0117]).
Regarding claim 25, Pederson discloses an oral product comprising one or more of calcium gluconate, calcium glycerophosphate and calcium lactate ([0167, 0186-0187]).
Regarding claim 26, Pederson discloses an oral product comprising one or more of calcium gluconate and calcium lactate ([0167, 0186-0187]). Calcium lactate gluconate is formed by a mixture of calcium gluconate and calcium lactate. Therefore, Pederson disclosing an oral product comprising a combination of calcium gluconate and calcium lactate is considered to be a disclosure of an oral product comprising calcium lactate gluconate.
Regarding claim 27, Pederson discloses an oral product comprising calcium glycerophosphate ([0167, 0186-0187]).
Regarding claim 28, Pederson discloses an oral product comprising one or more of calcium gluconate and calcium lactate ([0167, 0186-0187]).
Claims 11 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keller (US 20210068447 A1) in view of Pederson (US 20120039981 A1) or alternatively in view of Bruun (US 20230210162 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sahlén (US 20170280764 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Keller discloses the overall product is in the form of particles having a particle size of less than 1000µm ([0152-0156]).
Keller does not explicitly disclose that the particle size distribution is bimodal.
However, Sahlén, directed to an oral smokeless moist snuff product (abstract), discloses:
An oral smokeless moist snuff product comprising particles containing a flavorant ([0017, 0024])
The particles have a diameter of 100µm to 1mm ([0118]).
Different sized particles may be used to provide desired flavor release profile where a first flavor is released from a first set of particles and a second flavor is released later from a second set of particles ([0119]).
Sahlén does not explicitly disclose a bimodal particle size distribution comprising a first mode of 75 to 125 µm and a second mode of 500 to 1000 µm. However, Keller discloses the overall product is in the form of particles having a particle size of less than 1000µm ([0152-0156]) which overlaps with the claimed particle size ranges and Sahlén discloses using two different sized particles to provide a desired release profile. Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art could have reasonably arrived at an oral pouched product using two different sized particles having a bimodal particle size distribution comprising a first mode of 75 to 125 µm and a second mode of 500 to 1000 µm.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Keller, in view of Pederson or Bruun, by using two different sized particles as taught by Sahlén because both Keller and Sahlén are directed to oral nicotine products, Sahlén teaches that two different sized particles may be used to provide a desired release profile, and this involves applying particles of two different known sizes to a similar oral pouched product to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 23, Keller discloses the overall product is in the form of particles having a particle size of less than 1000µm ([0152-0156]).
Keller does not explicitly disclose that the particle size distribution is bimodal.
However, Sahlén, directed to an oral smokeless moist snuff product (abstract), discloses:
An oral smokeless moist snuff product comprising particles containing a flavorant ([0017, 0024])
The particles have a diameter of 100µm to 1mm ([0118]).
Different sized particles may be used to provide desired flavor release profile where a first flavor is released from a first set of particles and a second flavor is released later from a second set of particles ([0119]).
Sahlén does not explicitly disclose a bimodal particle size distribution comprising a first mode of 80 to 110 µm and a second mode of 700 to 1000 µm. However, Keller discloses the overall product is in the form of particles having a particle size of less than 1000µm ([0152-0156]) which overlaps with the claimed particle size ranges and Sahlén discloses using two different sized particles to provide a desired release profile. Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art could have reasonably arrived at an oral pouched product using two different sized particles having a bimodal particle size distribution comprising a first mode of 80 to 100 µm and a second mode of 700 to 1000 µm.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Keller, in view of Pederson or Bruun, by using two different sized particles as taught by Sahlén because both Keller and Sahlén are directed to oral nicotine products, Sahlén teaches that two different sized particles may be used to provide a desired release profile, and this involves applying particles of two different known sizes to a similar oral pouched product to yield predictable results.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keller (US 20210068447 A1) in view of Pederson (US 20120039981 A1) alternatively in view of Bruun (US 20230210162 A1), as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Hansson (US 20040191322 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Keller is silent to coated particles in the pouched product.
Keller does not explicitly disclose the nicotine polymer complex particles are coated with a filling component or pH adjuster.
However, Hansson, directed to a nicotine containing particulate material for oral administration (abstract, [0052]), discloses:
The particulate material may be coated to delay the release of nicotine ([0043])
The particle material is coated with a sugar (“a filling component”) such as mannitol ([0043]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Keller, in view of Pederson or Bruun, by coating the particles with sugar as taught by Hansson because both Keller and Hansson are directed to oral nicotine products, Hansson teaches that coating the particulate delays the release of nicotine, and this involves applying known coating to particles in a similar oral product to yield predictable results.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keller (US 20210068447 A1) in view of Pederson (US 20120039981 A1) or alternatively in view of Bruun (US 20230210162 A1), and Hansson (US 20040191322 A1) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Kindvall (US 20220248748 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Hansson discloses the particle material is coated with mannitol [0043]) and that sodium carbonate may be incorporated into the particulate material to serve as a buffer substance ([0045]).
Hansson does not explicitly disclose the sodium carbonate is applied as a coating on the particle material.
However, Kindvall, directed to an oral pouched nicotine product (abstract) discloses:
A filling material comprising coated particles (Fig. 1, [0042, 0058])
The coating comprises sodium carbonate as a pH adjusting agent ([0101, 0107])
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Keller, in view of Pederson or Bruun and Hansson, by including sodium carbonate in the particle coating as taught by Kindvall because both Keller and Kindvall are directed to oral nicotine products, Hansson teaches sodium carbonate can be incorporated into the particulate material but is silent to how the sodium carbonate is incorporated and Kindvall teaches applying sodium carbonate in the form of a coating to particulate materials, and this involves applying a known buffer substance to a particle coating in a similar oral nicotine product to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.F.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755