DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
2. Applicant’s amendments submitted on 7/24/26 have been received. Claim 1 has been amended. Claim 4 has been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claim(s) 1-2, 5-7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Su et al. (US 2022/0166017).
Regarding claim 1, Su discloses an anode current collector for an all-solid-state battery(battery 20 with negative electrode current collector 32, Figs. 1 & 2, [0053], [0075]), comprising: a current collecting layer(32, Figs. 1 & 2, [0053]); a first coating layer disposed directly on a first surface of the current collecting layer and comprising a metal component capable of forming an alloy with lithium(negative electrode layer 22 comprising aluminum, indium, or zinc, Fig. 2, [0085]); and a second coating layer disposed on the first coating layer and having less electronic conductivity than the first coating layer(first layer 50, Fig. 2, [0056]), wherein the second coating layer comprises a metal oxide having lithium ion conductivity ([0055]-[0058]).
Regarding claim 2, Su discloses the first coating layer comprises one or more selected from the group consisting of zinc (Zn), aluminum (Al), and indium (In) ([0085]).
Regarding claim 5, Su discloses the second coating layer comprises one or more selected from the group consisting of titanium dioxide (TiO₂), silicon dioxide (SiO₂), aluminum oxide (Al₂O₃), and cerium oxide (CeO₂), ([0058]).
Regarding claim 6, Su discloses the second coating layer has a thickness of about 10 nm to 100 nm ([0066]), thus reading on the limitation.
According to the MPEP, “"[W]hen, as by a recitation of ranges or otherwise, a claim covers several compositions, the claim is ‘anticipated’ if one of them is in the prior art." Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) See MPEP 2131.03.
Regarding claim 7, Su discloses an all-solid-state battery (20, Fig. 1, [0075]) comprising: the anode current collector of claim 1([0053]); a solid electrolyte layer disposed on the anode current collector([0053], [0075]); a cathode active material layer disposed on the solid electrolyte layer(24, Fig. 1, [0053]); and a cathode current collector disposed on the cathode active material layer(34, Fig. 1, [0053]), wherein the second coating layer of the anode current collector is in contact with the solid electrolyte layer([0053], [0075]).
Regarding claim 9, Su discloses a vehicle comprising an all solid state battery of claim 7 ([0071]).
6. Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Su et al. (US 2022/0166017) as evidenced by Mori et al. (US 2003/0036000).
Regarding claim 8, Su does not explicitly disclose when the all-solid-state battery is charged, lithium ions react with the first coating layer of the anode current collector to form a lithium alloy layer. However, Su discloses the first coating layer of the anode current collector is formed of a material including at least one or more elements selected from Al, In, and Zn ([0085]), in the lithium alloy, the lithium content varies from 10% to 90% depending on the progress of the charge and discharge reaction as evidenced by Mori ([0030], [0036]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su et al. (US 2022/0166017).
Regarding claim 3, Su discloses the first coating layer is relatively thin, for example, several microns or millimeter or less in thickness ([0074]) which overlaps the claim range of a thickness of about 10 nm to 10 µm, thus reading on the limitation.
Su is explicitly silent to the claim range however “in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05.
Response to Arguments
10. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/VICTORIA H LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724