DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgement is made of the amendment filed on 11/18/2025 in which claims 1, 4-7, 12, 15-18, and 20 were amended. No claims were cancelled and no new claims were added. Therefore claims 1-20 are pending examination below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 11/18/2025, have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection as necessitated by the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurian et al. US 20200264691 in view of Bhat et al. US 20230029696.
With regards to claims 1, 12, and 20 Kurian discloses an electronic device [Fig. 1A device 100] comprising:
a battery [Battery 120];
memory [Memory 152];
a charging circuit coupled to the battery [PM circuitry 108 and ¶31 "the PM circuitry 108 may harvest energy from the power source 118, e.g., to charge the battery 120"];
at least one first electronic component coupled to the charging circuit [Fig. 1b Subsystem 140b is coupled to PM circuitry 108 through Main PMU 106];
at least one second electronic component coupled to the charging circuit and the battery
and including an always-on electronic component [Main PMU 106 which is part of subsystem 102 and ¶26 “For purposes of this disclosure, the subsystem 102 may also be referred to as a main subsystem, an always ON subsystem”],
wherein the at least one first electronic component includes electronic components except for the second electronic component [Fig 1a]; and
a chipset disposed separately from the at least one first electronic component and the at least one second electronic component, coupled to the at least one first electronic component and the at least one second electronic component [Subsystem 140a is separate but coupled with the 1st component 140b via the power rails 192a/b to the 2nd component 106], and
including at least one processor [Processor 150],
wherein the at least one processor is configured to: execute an operating system [¶64 “a child PMU 142 may operate only during active power states, and therefore, in an example, a part of the operation of the child PMU 142 may be software driven (e.g., by a processor of the corresponding subsystem 140)” which discloses the presence of an operating system, where the operation of the system is software driven, which is executed by the processor],
when an operating system-related state is a first power state in which the processor operates to supply power to the at least one first electronic component and the at least one second electronic component, receive battery-related information from the at least one second electronic component [¶41 "the main PMU 106 may notify distinct child PMUs 142 when the battery level reaches a pre-configured threshold. For example, the main PMU 106 may notify a child PMU 142 a warning message when the battery level drops to a threshold (but not yet critically low) during an active power state in which a subsystem 140 managed by the child PMU 142 is operational"],
when the operating system-related state is a second power state in which the processor operates to supply power to the processor and the memory, receive an interrupt configured to terminate execution of the operating system from the at least one second electronic component [¶55 "if the battery 120 is running non-critically low (e.g., when the battery power is lower than a non-critical threshold), the main PMU 106 may issue an interrupt warning to the child PMUs 142 (claimed second electronic component), and a child PMU 142 may decide to complete, pause or abort pending tasks"].
Kurian fails to explicitly disclose when the operating system-related state is a third power state, operate to supply power only to the at least one second electronic component.
However, Bhat discloses when the operating system-related state is a third power state, operate to supply power only to the at least one second electronic component [Fig 1 LPI (low power island) subsystem 110 (claimed second electronic component) which includes processor 124 and TCM (tightly coupled memory) 130, and ¶22 “The LPI subsystem 110 supports “always-on” features that are expected to function even when the primary subsystems 108(A)-108(E) are inactive in a low-power mode” where the primary subsystems 108A-E read on the claimed first electronic component(s) and where the LPI being always-on means that power is supplied to both the processor and memory of the subsystem during the low power mode or claimed third power state].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the power management systems of Kurian with Bhat to control different power modes in order to reduce power consumption and extend battery life.
Claims 12 and 20 are rejected for similar reasons as claim 1 above, a detailed discussion is avoided for brevity.
With regards to claims 2 and 13 the combination discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is electrically coupled to the battery [Kurian Fig. 1A processor 150 coupled to the battery 120], and
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive the battery-related information from the at least one second electronic component among the at least one first electronic component and the at least one second electronic component [¶41 above where battery related information is sent from the Main PMU 106 (claimed second electronic component)to the Subsystem140a which includes the processor].
Claim 13 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 2 above, a detailed discussion is avoided for brevity.
With regards to claims 3 and 14, the combination discloses the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising: an input device [Kurian Wakeup events 170 and ¶39 "The wake-up events 170 may be external asynchronous wake events (e.g., generated based on external input via the I/O 118), generated by the RTC/Timers 114, and/or the like. Based on the wake-up events 170, the main PMU 106 may transition the device 100 from a sleep state to an active state (e.g., may turn on one or more of the child PMUs 142"],
wherein the at least one second electronic component comprises an input device integrated circuit (IC) configured to control the input device [Kurian ¶39 above where the wakeup events 170/I/O 118 (claimed input devices) received by the PMU 106 (claimed second electronic component) allow the PMU 106 to control different functions of the device].
Claim 14 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 3 above, a detailed discussion is avoided for brevity.
With regards to claims 4 and 15, the combination discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein while the operating system-related state is the second power state, the at least one first electronic component is turned off and the at least one second electronic component is turned on [Kurian ¶25 “One or more components (e.g., all the components) of the subsystems 140a and/or 140b (claimed first electronic devices) may be powered OFF (e.g., in an inactive state), when the device 100 is in the sleep state (e.g., in a deep sleep state)”and ¶68 "In sleep states, the bare essential components (e.g., components that generate asynchronous events for system operation, alarms, timers, environment sensing events, the main PMU 106 (claimed second electronic device), the PM circuitry 108, etc.) may be powered ON"].
Claim 15 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 4 above, a detailed discussion is avoided for brevity.
With regards to claims 5 and 16, the combination discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the third power state comprises a deep sleep state [Kurian ¶69 "The sleep states may, for example, have different levels (deep sleep state, hibernation state, regular sleep state, light sleep state, one or more low power states, etc.)"].
Claim 16 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 5 above, a detailed discussion is avoided for brevity.
With regards to claims 6 and 17, the combination discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: when the operating system-related state is the second power state, and a level of the battery is higher than a specific level, receive the battery-related information from the at least one second electronic component [Kurian ¶37 "during a deepest sleep state, in which the device 100 may reside for the majority of the time, the one or more child PMUs may be powered OFF to save energy, but the main PMU 106 may remain ON (e.g., assuming that the charge of the battery 120 and/or the current harvesting rate by the power source 118 may allow the main PMU 106 to remain ON)" and ¶41 above where the power level of the battery is communicated], and
when the operating system-related state is the second power state, and the level of the battery is equal to or lower than the specific level, receive the interrupt configured to terminate the execution of the operating system from the at least one second electronic component [Kurian ¶55 above where an interrupt warning to abort tasks is issued when battery power is lower than a threshold].
Claim 17 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 6 above, a detailed discussion is avoided for brevity.
With regards to claims 7 and 18, the combination discloses the electronic device of claim 6, further comprising an input device, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: when the operating system-related state is the second power state, and the level of the battery is higher than the specific level, receive a first interrupt configured to change the second power state to the first power state from the at least one second electronic component by control of the input device, and change the operating system-related state from the second power state to the first power state based on the first interrupt [Kurian ¶56 "Upon reception of such an interrupt, each child PMU 142 may decide, based on the pending tasks versus the available energy, to either complete the remaining task, or to store its current state in retention storage and transition to a sleep state. Once the battery 120 has harvested enough energy (e.g., from the power source 118), the main PMU 106 may then wake up the device 100 from the sleep state to an active state, and the pended tasks may be completed by the corresponding child subsystem 140"].
Claim 18 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 7 above, a detailed discussion is avoided for brevity.
With regards to claims 8 and 19, the combination discloses the electronic device of claim 7, wherein the specific level is a level set to terminate the operating system [¶57 "Upon a critical state-of-charge condition (e.g., when the battery power is lower than a critical threshold), the main PMU 106 may override the child PMUs 142, and may force a transition to a predefined sleep state"].
Claim 19 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 8 above, a detailed discussion is avoided for brevity.
With regards to claim 9, the combination discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: execute a first program to control the at least one second electronic component [¶55 above where the interrupt command from the main PMU 106 is transmitted which reads on the "first program" where "program" is taken to mean software including one or more instructions as defined in the applicant’s specification ¶55],
execute at least one second program supported by the operating system [¶55 above where the child PMU 142 receives the interrupt command and makes a decision],
execute at least one third program being an application program [¶52 "the device 100 may operate in more than one active states. For example, upon the device 100 entering a first active state (e.g., a regular active state discussed in FIG. 2), a child PMU 142 may be in charge of transitioning to a specialized second active power state (e.g., a high active state discussed in FIG. 2), requesting (e.g., to the main PMU 106) power rails 192 to be selectively powered ON or OFF, optimizing operating conditions (e.g., via DVFS) given the application's requirements, etc." disclosing that the device executes different programs/applications while sufficient power is available within the system], and
execute a fourth program to communicate with the first program, the at least one second program, and the at least one third program [¶41 above where the battery level is determined and communicated between the main PMU 106 and at least one child PMU 142, where each of the above "programs" would be run/stopped as a result of the battery level].
With regards to claim 10, the combination discloses the electronic device of claim 9, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: based on the execution of the fourth program, obtain the battery-related information from the first program [As disclosed above in ¶41, the fourth program obtains the battery level/related information], and
based on the execution of the fourth program, provide the battery-related information to at least one of the at least one second program and the at least one third program [As disclosed above, where the fourth program obtains the battery level, and then based on the level of the battery the second program receives the interrupt command and the third program (being other applications) are either allowed to keep running or are terminated based on the battery level].
With regards to claim 11, the combination discloses the electronic device of claim 9, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: obtain the interrupt based on the execution of the first program [¶55 above where the interrupt command is obtained],
transmit the interrupt to the at least one second program based on the execution the first program [¶55 above where the interrupt command is transmitted between the main PMU 106 and a child PMU 142], and
terminate the operating system based on the execution of the at least one second program [¶70 "the device 100 may be in such sleep state for most of the time (e.g., more than 95% of the time, about 99% of the time, etc.), during which all the child PMUs 142 and all the subsystems 140 are be turned OFF" where turned OFF reasonably reads on the claimed terminate the operating system and where the termination would only need to be performed during a time where the battery level is at a certain threshold].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATHAN J INSTONE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859