DETAILED ACTION
Introductory Notes
The amendments to the specification of 3/18/2026, which relate to the objection to drawings of the previous office action, are accepted.
Any paragraph citation of the instant is in reference to the U.S. published patent application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 8-13, 15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by GUPTA (US 10874037 B1, previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, GUPTA discloses a power module comprising: a power module cell including a power stage having a substrate and being arranged in a stack that defines a supply manifold and a return manifold (Abstract; as shown in Figs. 3 and 4);
and wherein the substrate includes a first edge and a second edge opposed from one another (as shown in Figs. 6 and 7A outer plate 166 has backside 222 and front side 220 which read on edges)
the substrate further includes first microchannels (“first channels each configured to receive coolant from the pair of coolant-supply manifolds”, Abstract) extending from the first edge partially across the substrate towards the second edge (as shown in Figs. 6 and 7A, the first microchannels extend from the front side toward the backside)
and configured to input coolant from the supply manifold and impeded from outputting coolant directly to the return manifold (Figs. 7-8 show the coolant enters via the supply manifolds and must transition to and through third microchannels 224 to reach the return manifold 278),
second microchannels (“second channels substantially parallel to the first channels and each opening into the corresponding one of the chambers”, Abstract) extending from the second edge partially across the substrate towards the first edge (as shown in Figs. 6 and 7A, the second microchannels extend from the backside toward the front side where fully extending as shown includes partially extending as claimed)
and configured to output coolant to the return manifold and impeded from inputting coolant directly from the supply manifold (Figs. 7-8 show the coolant enters via the supply manifolds and must transition to and through third microchannels 224 to reach the return manifold 278), and third microchannels crisscrossing and connecting the first and second microchannels in fluid communication (“third channels crisscrossing the first and second channels to connect the first and second channels in fluid communication”, Abstract, as shown in Fig. 7B);
and wherein the substrate further includes first microchannel impeding portions configured to prevent direct fluid communication between the first microchannels and the return manifold to impede the first microchannels from outputting coolant directly to the return manifold and second microchannel impeding portions configured to prevent direct fluid communication between the second microchannels and the supply manifold to impede the second microchannels from inputting coolant directly from the supply manifold (as shown in Figs. 7A and 7B the first and second microchannels are separated by the material of outer plate 166, such as sides 266, which impedes the direct flow from input to output and the first and second microchannels are in fluid communication only via third microchannels 224).
Regarding claim 3, GUPTA discloses the first microchannels and the second microchannels are at least substantially parallel to one another (as shown in Figs. 6 and 7A).
Regarding claim 4, GUPTA discloses the third microchannels are orthogonal to the first microchannels and to the second microchannels (as shown in Fig. 7B the third microchannels 224 are orthogonal to first and second microchannels).
Regarding claim 8, GUPTA discloses a second power module cell including a second power stage having a second substrate and being arranged in the stack; and wherein the second substrate of the second power stage includes fourth microchannels configured to input coolant from the supply manifold and impeded from outputting coolant to the return manifold, fifth microchannels configured to output coolant to the return manifold and impeded from inputting coolant from the supply manifold, and sixth microchannels crisscrossing and connecting the fourth and fifth microchannels in fluid communication (as shown in Fig. 4, multiple modules with multiple plates are disclosed).
Regarding claim 9, GUPTA discloses the power stage further includes a transistor-based switching arrangement supported on one side on the substrate (“transistor-based switching arrangement supported on the substrate”, Abstract).
Regarding claim 10, GUPTA discloses the power stage further includes a second substrate; the transistor-based switching arrangement supported on another side on the second substrate; and the second substrate including fourth microchannels configured to input coolant from the supply manifold and impeded from outputting coolant to the return manifold, fifth microchannels configured to output coolant to the return manifold and impeded from inputting coolant from the supply manifold, and sixth microchannels crisscrossing and connecting the fourth and fifth microchannels in fluid communication (as shown in Fig. 4, multiple modules with multiple plates are disclosed).
Regarding claim 11, GUPTA discloses the supply manifold and the return manifold are disposed on opposing sides of the stack (as shown in Fig. 8, supply manifolds 248 and 250 are opposed to return manifold 278).
Regarding claim 12, GUPTA discloses the power module is a power module of a traction powertrain of an electrified vehicle (as shown in Fig. 1, vehicle 16).
Regarding claim 13, GUPTA discloses a substrate including a first edge and a second edge opposed from one another (as shown in Figs. 6 and 7A outer plate 166 has backside 222 and front side 220 which read on edges; furthermore, the edges which constitute the channels, i.e. inside edges, are distinct from each other); and a microchannel network including first microchannels extending partially across the substrate from the first edge towards the second edge (as shown in Figs. 6 and 7A, the first microchannels extend from the front side toward the backside), second microchannels extending partially across the substrate from the second edge towards the first edge (as shown in Figs. 6 and 7A, the second microchannels extend from the backside toward the front side where fully extending as shown includes partially extending as claimed), and third microchannels crisscrossing and connecting the first and second microchannels in fluid communication (“third channels crisscrossing the first and second channels to connect the first and second channels in fluid communication”, Abstract, as shown in Fig. 7B);
and wherein the microchannel network further includes first microchannel impeding portions which impede the first microchannels from extending to the second edge of the substrate and second microchannel impeding portions which impede the second microchannels from extending to the first edge of the substrate (as shown in Figs. 7A and 7B the first and second microchannels are separated by the material of outer plate 166 which impedes the direct flow from input to output and the first and second microchannels are in fluid communication only via third microchannels 224).
Regarding claim 15, GUPTA discloses the first microchannels and the second microchannels are at least substantially parallel to one another (as shown in Figs. 6 and 7A); and the third microchannels are orthogonal to the first microchannels and to the second microchannels (as shown in Fig. 7B the third microchannels 224 are orthogonal to first and second microchannels).
Regarding claim 17, GUPTA discloses a power module comprising: a plurality of power module cells each including a power stage having a substrate and a transistor-based switching arrangement supported on the substrate, the power module cells being arranged in a stack that defines a coolant supply manifold and a coolant return manifold disposed on opposing sides of the stack and extending along a length of the stack (Abstract; as shown in Figs. 3, 4, and 8);
and wherein, for each power module cell, the substrate defines a network of microchannels connecting the coolant supply manifold and the coolant return manifold, the network of microchannels including first microchannels configured to input coolant directly from the coolant supply manifold and impeded from outputting coolant directly to the coolant return manifold (“first channels each configured to receive coolant from the pair of coolant-supply manifolds”, Abstract), second microchannels configured to output coolant directly to the coolant return manifold and impeded from inputting coolant directly from the coolant supply manifold (“second channels substantially parallel to the first channels and each opening into the corresponding one of the chambers”, Abstract, wherein the second channels are blocked from inputting coolant from the supply as shown in Fig. 7), and third microchannels crisscrossing and connecting the first and second microchannels in fluid communication (“third channels crisscrossing the first and second channels to connect the first and second channels in fluid communication”, Abstract, as shown in Fig. 7B);
and wherein for each power module cell, the substrate includes a first edge and a second edge opposed from one another (as shown in Figs. 6 and 7A outer plate 166 has backside 222 and front side 220 which read on edges), the first microchannels extend from the first edge partially across the substrate towards the second edge (as shown in Figs. 6 and 7A, the first microchannels extend from the front side toward the backside), and the second microchannels extend from the second edge partially across the substrate towards the first edge (as shown in Figs. 6 and 7A, the second microchannels extend from the backside toward the front side where fully extending as shown includes partially extending as claimed);
and for each power module cell, the substrate further includes first microchannel impeding portions which impede the first microchannels from outputting coolant directly to the coolant return manifold and second microchannel impeding portions which impede the second microchannels from inputting coolant directly from the coolant supply manifold (as shown in Figs. 7A and 7B the first and second microchannels are separated by the material of outer plate 166, such as sides 266, which impedes the direct flow from input to output and the first and second microchannels are in fluid communication only via third microchannels 224)
Regarding claim 19, GUPTA discloses for each power module cell, the first microchannels and the second microchannels are at least substantially parallel to one another (as shown in Figs. 6 and 7A).
Regarding claim 20, GUPTA discloses for each power module cell, the third microchannels are orthogonal to the first microchannels and to the second microchannels (as shown in Fig. 7B the third microchannels 224 are orthogonal to first and second microchannels).
Claims 1, 5-6, 13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by STEVANOVIC (US 20060108098 A1, previously cited).
Figure 2 of STEVANOVIC below with examiner’s remarks:
Regarding claim 1, STEVANOVIC discloses a power module comprising: a power module cell including a power stage (“microchannel cooling for semiconductor power devices” [0002]) having a substrate (substrate 22) and being arranged in a stack that defines a supply manifold and a return manifold (substrate 22 stacks with base plate 12 to define a supply and return as shown in Fig. 5);
and wherein the substrate includes a first edge and a second edge opposed from one another (inside edges of each channel, as shown in Fig.2 with examiner’s remarks above) and the substrate further includes first microchannels extending from the first edge partially across the substrate towards the second edge (inlet manifolds 16 as shown in Fig. 2) and configured to input coolant from the supply manifold and impeded from outputting coolant directly to the return manifold (coolant must pass through microchannels 26 on inner surface 24 to pass from inlet to exhaust manifolds),
second microchannels extending from the second edge partially across the substrate towards the first edge (exhaust manifolds 18 as shown in Fig. 2) and configured to output coolant to the return manifold and impeded from inputting coolant directly from the supply manifold (coolant must pass through microchannels 26 on inner surface 24 to pass from inlet to exhaust manifolds),
and third microchannels crisscrossing and connecting the first and second microchannels in fluid communication (microchannels 26 on inner surface 24, as shown in Fig. 5);
and wherein the substrate further includes first microchannel impeding portions configured to prevent direct fluid communication between the first microchannels and the return manifold to impede the first microchannels from outputting coolant directly to the return manifold and second microchannel impeding portions configured to prevent direct fluid communication between the second microchannels and the supply manifold to impede the second microchannels from inputting coolant directly from the supply manifold (the structure of the base plate 12 impedes direct fluid communication, coolant must pass through microchannels 26 on inner surface 24 to pass from inlet to exhaust manifolds).
Regarding claim 5, STEVANOVIC discloses the substrate includes a first plate (base plate 12) and a second plate (substrate 22 with inner surface 24);
and the first microchannels and the second microchannels are on the first plate (as shown in Fig. 2) and do not extend completely through a thickness of the first plate (as shown in Fig. 2, the manifolds do not extend through the complete thickness of the base plate) and the third microchannels are on the second plate (as shown in Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 6, STEVANOVIC discloses the first plate and the second plate are bonded together (“the substrate 22 can be attached to base plate 12 using any one of a number of techniques, including brazing, bonding, diffusion bonding” [0039]).
Regarding claim 13, STEVANOVIC discloses a power module cell comprising (“microchannel cooling for semiconductor power devices” [0002]): a substrate including a first edge and a second edge opposed from one another (inside edges of each channel, as shown in Fig.2 with examiner’s remarks above);
and a microchannel network including first microchannels extending partially across the substrate from the first edge towards the second edge (inlet manifolds 16 as shown in Fig. 2),
second microchannels extending partially across the substrate from the second edge towards the first edge (exhaust manifolds 18 as shown in Fig. 2),
and third microchannels crisscrossing and connecting the first and second microchannels in fluid communication (microchannels 26 on inner surface 24, as shown in Fig. 5);
and wherein the microchannel network further includes first microchannel impeding portions which impede the first microchannels from extending to the second edge of the substrate and second microchannel impeding portions which impede the second microchannels from extending to the first edge of the substrate (the structure of the base plate 12 impedes direct fluid communication, coolant must pass through microchannels 26 on inner surface 24 to pass from inlet to exhaust manifolds).
Regarding claim 16, STEVANOVIC discloses the substrate includes a first plate (base plate 12) and a second plate (substrate 22 with inner surface 24);
and the first microchannels and the second microchannels are on the first plate (as shown in Fig. 2) and do not extend completely through a thickness of the first plate (as shown in Fig. 2, the manifolds do not extend through the complete thickness of the base plate) and the third microchannels are on the second plate (as shown in Fig. 5).
Response to Arguments
Regarding art-based rejections, applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim 1 have been considered but are not persuasive. At the top of page 9 of the remarks applicant states “These limitations require a specific flow architecture in which direct fluid communication between certain microchannels and opposing manifolds is not permitted” and then in the subsequent paragraph “Gupta does not disclose or suggest this required restriction on direct fluid communication”. Examiner disagrees as outlined above in the rejection of claim 1. Notably in Gupta it is via the third microchannels 224 that coolant is able to pass from microchannels 212 to microchannels 210 and the material of outer plate 166 blocks any direct fluid communication, see Gupta claim 1 which states “third channels crisscrossing the first and second channels to connect the first and second channels in fluid communication”.
Applicant is encouraged to incorporate dependent claim 5 into claim 1 and include further limitations as to what constitutes the first and second edges.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.L.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721