DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 5-11, 13-26 and 28-33 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06 February 2024.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, corresponding to originally filed Claims 1-4, 27, and 34-35 in the reply filed on 06 February 2024 is acknowledged.
Response to Amendments
It should be noted that the applicant has directed attention to Figure 28 of the originally filed disclosure as providing support and definition for the structural features of the presently claimed invention (see Remarks received 11 December 2024 at Page 20 and Remarks received 03 September 2025 at Page 21).
The applicant has directed attention to Figures 5, 6, 7, and/or 29 of the originally filed disclosure as providing support and definition for the functional features of the presently claimed invention (see Remarks received 23 June 2024 at Page 20; see Remarks received 16 April 2025 at Page 19; and see Remarks received 03 September 2025 at Page 21).
It should further be noted that the embodiment of Figure 28 is directed to a pixel circuit embodiment in which “a data writing module can be reused as the first bias module” (see the originally filed Specification at Paragraph [00153]). Thus, as recited in the claimed invention, the claimed “first bias module” or “first bias circuit” is interpreted to be the same structural element as the claimed “data writing module” or “data writing circuit.”
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 27, 34, and 35 are objected to because of the following informalities: each of the cited claims recite “the data writing stage… is the same as the first bias stage of the refresh frame” without previously defining “a first bias stage of the refresh frame.” The examiner assumes that the claims each contain the same typographical error and are intended to recite “the data writing stage… is the same as a first bias stage of the refresh frame.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
A “driving circuit configured to drive a light-emitting element” in Claims 1, 27, 34, and 35.
A “first bias circuit… configured to provide a first bias signal” in Claims 1, 27, 34, and 35.
A “first light-emitting control circuit” in Claims 1, 27, 34, and 35.
A “threshold compensation circuit” in Claims 1, 27, 34, and 35.
A “reset circuit” in Claims 1, 27, 34, and 35.
A “data writing circuit” in Claims 1, 27, 34, and 35.
Specifically, as disclosed with respect to originally filed Figure 28 of the application (see Paragraphs [00153]-[00162] of the originally filed Specification):
The claimed “driving circuit” is interpreted as being a transistor “M1” (101) as shown in Figure 28.
The claimed “first bias circuit” is interpreted as being a transistor “M2” (103) as shown in Figure 28.
The claimed “first light-emitting control circuit” is interpreted as being a transistor “M5” (107) in Figure 28.
The claimed “threshold compensation circuit” is interpreted as being a transistor “M3” (104) as shown in Figure 28.
The claimed “reset circuit” is interpreted as being a transistor “M7” (108) as shown in Figure 28.
The claimed “data writing circuit” is interpreted as being the “reused” transistor “M2” (103) as shown in Figure 28.
Further, the claimed “first bias circuit,” corresponding to transistor “M2” (103) in Figure 28 is interpreted, as disclosed with relevance to Figure 28, as being both a “data writing circuit” and a “first bias circuit,” as Figure 28 is specifically directed to an embodiment in which “The data writing module can be reused as the first bias module” (see Paragraph [00153] of the originally filed Specification).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 27, and 34-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (hereinafter “Kim” US 2023 / 0079102) in view of Kim et al. (hereinafter “Kim2” US 2023 / 0215360).
As pertaining to Claim 1, Kim discloses (see Fig. 3, Fig. 7B, and Fig. 8B) a pixel circuit (see Fig. 3), comprising (see Page 5, Para. [0085]; and Page 6, Para. [0095], [0097]-[0103] and [0105]-[0110]):
a driving circuit (DRT) configured to drive a light-emitting element (ED) to emit light;
a first bias circuit (T2) electrically connected to a first terminal or a second terminal (i.e., an upper terminal) of the driving circuit (DRT), wherein the first bias circuit (T2) is configured to provide a first bias signal (VOBS) to the first terminal or the second terminal (i.e., the upper terminal) of the driving circuit (DRT), and the first bias signal (VOBS) is configured to adjust a bias state (i.e., a voltage state) of the driving circuit (DRT);
wherein a light-emitting cycle of the light-emitting element (ED) comprises a refresh frame (see Fig. 7B) or a hold frame (see Fig. 8B), wherein a control terminal (i.e., a gate terminal) of the driving circuit (DRT) is refreshed in the refresh frame (see Fig. 7B), and the control terminal (i.e., the gate terminal) of the driving circuit (DRT) is not refreshed in the hold frame (see Fig. 8B); each of the refresh frame (see Fig. 7B) and the hold frame (see Fig. 8B) comprises a first stage (i.e., (EM) is high) and a second stage (i.e., (EM) is low), the first stage (i.e., when (EM) is high) is located before the second stage (i.e., when (EM) is low), the first stage (i.e., when (EM) is high) comprises one or more bias stages (i.e., (SCAN2) is low), and the second stage (i.e., when (EM) is low) comprises a light-emitting stage of the light-emitting element (ED), and wherein in the bias stages (i.e., when (SCAN2) is low), the first bias circuit (T2) is turned on (i.e., via (SCAN2)), and the first bias signal (VOBS) is transmitted to the first terminal or the second terminal (i.e., the upper terminal) of the driving circuit (DRT);
wherein a time interval between a start moment (i.e., when (EM) is high) of the hold frame (see Fig. 8B) and a turn-on start moment (i.e., when (SCAN2) is low) of the first bias circuit (T2) in the hold frame (see Fig. 8B) is different than a time interval between a start moment (i.e., when (EM) is high) of the refresh frame (see Fig. 7B) and a turn-on start moment (i.e., when (SCAN2) is low) of the first bias circuit (T2) in the refresh frame (see Fig. 7B);
wherein a gate of the driving circuit (DRT) is electrically connected to a first node (i.e., a gate node), a first electrode (i.e., an upper electrode) of the driving circuit (DRT) is electrically connected to a second node (i.e., an upper node), and a second electrode (i.e., a lower electrode) of the driving circuit (DRT) is electrically connected to a third node (i.e., a lower node);
wherein a first terminal (i.e., a left terminal) of the first bias circuit (T2) is electrically connected to the second node (i.e., the upper node) or the third node (i.e., the lower node); and
wherein the pixel circuit further comprises:
a first light-emitting control circuit (T4), a first terminal (i.e., an upper terminal) of the first light-emitting control circuit (T4) is electrically connected to the third node (i.e., the lower node), and a second terminal (i.e., a lower terminal) of the first light-emitting control circuit (T4) is electrically connected to a first electrode (i.e., an upper electrode) of the light-emitting element (ED);
a threshold compensation circuit (T1), a first terminal (i.e., a left terminal) of the threshold compensation circuit (T1) being electrically connected to the first node (i.e., the gate node), and a second terminal (i.e., a right terminal) of the threshold compensation circuit (T1) being electrically connected to the third node (i.e., the lower node);
a reset circuit (T6), a control terminal (i.e., a gate terminal) of the reset circuit (T6) being electrically connected to a first scan signal terminal (SCAN4), a first terminal (i.e., a left terminal) of the reset circuit (T6) being electrically connected to a second initialization signal terminal (VAR), and a second terminal (i.e., a right terminal) of the reset circuit (T6) being electrically connected to the first electrode (i.e., the upper electrode) of the light-emitting element (ED);
a data writing circuit (T2), a control terminal (i.e., a gate terminal) of the data writing circuit (T2) being electrically connected to a second scan signal terminal (SCAN2), a first terminal (i.e., a right terminal) of the data writing circuit (T2) being electrically connected to a data signal terminal data (Vdata), and a second terminal (i.e., a left terminal) of the data writing circuit (T2) being electrically connected to the first terminal a (i.e., the upper terminal) or the second terminal b (i.e., the lower terminal) of the driving circuit (DRT),
wherein a turn-on duration of the first scan signal terminal (SCAN4) overlaps (i.e., is equal to) a turn-on duration of the second scan signal terminal (SCAN2; see Fig. 8B); and
wherein the refresh frame (see Fig. 7B) includes an initialization stage (i.e., an arbitrary time period during which (SCAN3) is a high voltage), a third bias stage (i.e., an arbitrary time period during which (SCAN1) is a high voltage), a data writing stage (i.e., an arbitrary time period during which (SCAN2) is a low voltage), a second bias stage (i.e., another arbitrary time period during which (SCAN2) is a low voltage), and a light-emitting stage (i.e., an arbitrary time period during which (EM) is a low voltage) arranged in time sequence (see Fig. 7B), and the data writing stage (i.e., the arbitrary time period during which (SCAN2) is a low voltage) of the refresh frame (see Fig. 7B) is the same stage as the first bias stage (i.e., when (SCAN2) is low) of the refresh frame (see Fig. 7B), and the threshold compensation circuit (T1) is turned on in the third bias stage (i.e., the arbitrary time period during which (SCAN1) is a high voltage) of the refresh frame (see Fig. 7B; and see Page 6 through Page 7, Para. [0120]; and Page 9, Para. [0174], [0176]-[0178], and [0181]-[0182]; and again, see Page 6, Para. [0107]-[0110]).
Kim discloses that a level of a bias signal can be different in the refresh frame and the hold frame (see Page 10, Para. [0191] and [0195]-[0197]). However, Kim does not explicitly disclose that the first bias circuit is further configured to have a turn-on duration in the hold frame and a turn-on duration in the refresh frame that is different from the turn-on duration in the hold frame.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim2 discloses (see Fig. 2) a pixel circuit (PX; see Page 4, Para. [0063]) comprising a first bias circuit (T7) configured to provide a first bias signal (VAINT) to a driving circuit, and the first bias signal (VAINT) is configured to adjust a bias state of the driving circuit (see (T1, T6) in Fig. 20, for example; and see Page 11, Para. [0114]), wherein a light-emitting cycle of a light-emitting element (EL) comprises a refresh frame (SP) and a hold frame (HP), and wherein (see Fig. 8 and Fig. 10) the first bias circuit (T7) is further configured to have a turn-on duration (see (GB)) in the hold frame (HP) and a turn-on duration (see (GB)) in the refresh frame (SP) that is different from the turn-on duration (again, see (GB)) in the hold frame (HP; see Page 6 through Page 7, Para. [0079]-[0080] and Page 7 through Page 8, Para. [0084]-[0086]). In addition, Kim2 further discloses (see Fig. 22 and Fig. 23) that a time interval between a start moment of the hold frame (HP; see Fig. 22) and a turn-on start moment (see (GB)) of the first bias circuit (T7) in the hold frame (HP) can be different from a time interval between a start moment of the refresh frame (SP; see Fig. 23) and a turn-on start moment (see (GB)) of the first bias circuit (T7) in the refresh frame (SP; see Page 12, Para. [0124]-[0127]). Further still, Kim2 discloses (see Fig. 11) that a level of the first bias signal (VAINT) can be different in the refresh frame (SP) and the hold frame (HP; see Page 8, Para. [0088]-[0091]). Kim2 discloses a number of ways in which the first bias signal can be utilized to adjust a bias state of the driving circuit in order to provide a uniform luminance level across a display device when a pixel circuit is driven at different driving frequencies (see Page 1, Para. [0006]-[0007]). Specifically, Kim2 suggests various driving implementations of a first bias circuit for preventing a luminance difference during a refresh frame and a hold frame when a pixel circuit is driven at different driving frequencies (see Page 3, Para. [0029]). This is a goal that is shared by Kim (see at least Page 1, Para. [0009] of Kim).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Kim2, such that a time interval between a start moment of the hold frame and a tum-on start moment of the first bias circuit in the hold frame is different from a time interval between a start moment of the refresh frame and a tum-on start moment of the first bias circuit in the refresh frame, as suggested by both Kim and Kim2, and such that the first bias circuit is further configured to have a turn-on duration in the hold frame and a turn-on duration in the refresh frame that is different from the tum-on duration in the hold frame, as suggested by Kim2, in order to provide a driving implementation of the first bias circuit that prevents a luminance difference during a refresh frame and a hold frame when a pixel circuit is driven at different driving frequencies, thereby providing a uniform luminance level across a display device.
As pertaining to Claim 2, Kim discloses (see Fig. 3, Fig. 7B, and Fig. 8B) that a control terminal (i.e., a gate terminal) of the first bias circuit (T2) is electrically connected to a first scan signal terminal (SCAN2), a second terminal (i.e., a right terminal) of the first bias circuit (T2) is electrically connected to a first bias signal terminal (VOBS), and wherein under a control of a first scan signal (see (SCAN2)) provided by the first scan signal terminal (SCAN2), the first bias circuit (T2) transmits the first bias signal (VOBS) provided by the first bias signal terminal (see (VOBS)) to the first terminal or the second terminal (i.e., the upper terminal) of the driving circuit (DRT);
in the refresh frame (see Fig. 7B) and the hold frame (see Fig. 8B), the bias stages (i.e., when (SCAN2) is low) comprise a first bias stage (i.e., again, when (SCAN2) is low), wherein in the first bias stage (i.e., when (SCAN2) is low), the first bias circuit (T2) is turned on, and the first bias signal (VOBS) is transmitted to the first terminal or the second terminal (i.e., the upper terminal) of the driving circuit (see (DRT); and again, see Page 9, Para. [0174], [0176]-[0178], and [0181]-[0182]).
As pertaining to Claim 3, Kim discloses (see Fig. 3, Fig. 7B, and Fig. 8B) in the refresh frame (see Fig. 7B) and the hold frame (see Fig. 8B), the first scan signal (SCAN2) comprises one or more pulses for controlling the first bias circuit (T2) to be turned on, and the pulses comprise 1st to Mth pulses (SCAN2) arranged at intervals in time sequence, where M is a positive integer (i.e., M is one or greater);
a time interval between a turn-on moment of the 1st pulse (SCAN2) of the first scan signal (see (SCAN2)) in the hold frame (see Fig. 8B) and the light-emitting stage (i.e., when (EM) is low) in the hold frame (see Fig. 8B) is a first time interval (again, see Fig. 8B), and a time interval between a turn-on moment of the 1st pulse (SCAN2) of the first scan signal (see (SCAN2)) in the refresh frame (see Fig. 7B) and the light-emitting stage (i.e., when (EM) is low) in the refresh frame (see Fig. 7B) is a second time interval (again, see Fig. 7B), and wherein the first time interval (see a first (SCAN2) in Fig. 8B) is greater than the second time interval (see a first (SCAN2) in Fig. 7B; and again, see Page 9, Para. [0174], [0176]-[0178], and [0181]-[0182]).
As pertaining to Claim 4, Kim discloses (see Fig. 3, Fig. 7B, and Fig. 8B) a width of the pulse (SCAN2) in the hold frame (see Fig. 8B) is equal to a width of the pulse (SCAN2) in the refresh frame (see Fig. 7B; and again, see Page 9, Para. [0174], [0176]-[0178], and [0181]-[0182]).
As pertaining to Claim 27, Kim discloses (see Fig. 3, Fig. 7B, and Fig. 8B) a driving method of a pixel circuit (see Fig. 3; and see Page 5, Para. [0085]; and Page 6, Para. [0095], [0097]-[0103] and [0105]-[0110]), wherein the pixel circuit comprises: a driving circuit (DRT) configured to drive a light-emitting element (ED) to emit light; a first bias circuit (T2) electrically connected to a first terminal or a second terminal (i.e., an upper terminal) of the driving circuit (DRT), wherein the first bias circuit (T2) is configured to provide a first bias signal (VOBS) to the first terminal or the second terminal (i.e., the upper terminal) of the driving circuit (DRT), and the first bias signal (VOBS) is configured to adjust a bias state (i.e., a voltage state) of the driving circuit (DRT);
wherein a light-emitting cycle of the light-emitting element (ED) comprises a refresh frame (see Fig. 7B) or a hold frame (see Fig. 8B), wherein a control terminal (i.e., a gate terminal) of the driving circuit (DRT) is refreshed in the refresh frame (see Fig. 7B), and the control terminal (i.e., the gate terminal) of the driving circuit (DRT) is not refreshed in the hold frame (see Fig. 8B); each of the refresh frame (see Fig. 7B) and the hold frame (see Fig. 8B) comprises a first stage (i.e., (EM) is high) and a second stage (i.e., (EM) is low), the first stage (i.e., when (EM) is high) is located before the second stage (i.e., when (EM) is low), the first stage (i.e., when (EM) is high) comprises one or more bias stages (i.e., (SCAN2) is low), and the second stage (i.e., when (EM) is low) comprises a light-emitting stage of the light-emitting element (ED);
the driving method comprises:
in the bias stages (i.e., when (SCAN2) is low), controlling the first bias circuit (T2) to be turned on (i.e., via (SCAN2)), and transmitting the first bias signal (VOBS) to the first terminal or the second terminal (i.e., the upper terminal) of the driving circuit (DRT);
wherein a time interval between a start moment (i.e., when (EM) is high) of the hold frame (see Fig. 8B) and a turn-on start moment (i.e., when (SCAN2) is low) of the first bias circuit (T2) in the hold frame (see Fig. 8B) is different from a time interval between a start moment (i.e., when (EM) is high) of the refresh frame (see Fig. 7B) and a turn-on start moment (i.e., when (SCAN2) is low) of the first bias circuit (T2) in the refresh frame (see Fig. 7B);
wherein a gate of the driving circuit (DRT) is electrically connected to a first node (i.e., a gate node), a first electrode (i.e., an upper electrode) of the driving circuit (DRT) is electrically connected to a second node (i.e., an upper node), and a second electrode (i.e., a lower electrode) of the driving circuit (DRT) is electrically connected to a third node (i.e., a lower node);
wherein a first terminal (i.e., a left terminal) of the first bias circuit (T2) is electrically connected to the second node (i.e., the upper node) or the third node (i.e., the lower node); and
wherein the pixel circuit further comprises:
a first light-emitting control circuit (T4), a first terminal (i.e., an upper terminal) of the first light-emitting control circuit (T4) is electrically connected to the third node (i.e., the lower node), and a second terminal (i.e., a lower terminal) of the first light-emitting control circuit (T4) is electrically connected to a first electrode (i.e., an upper electrode) of the light-emitting element (ED);
a threshold compensation circuit (T1), a first terminal (i.e., a left terminal) of the threshold compensation circuit (T1) being electrically connected to the first node (i.e., the gate node), and a second terminal (i.e., a right terminal) of the threshold compensation circuit (T1) being electrically connected to the third node (i.e., the lower node);
a reset circuit (T6), a control terminal (i.e., a gate terminal) of the reset circuit (T6) being electrically connected to a first scan signal terminal (SCAN4), a first terminal (i.e., a left terminal) of the reset circuit (T6) being electrically connected to a second initialization signal terminal (VAR), and a second terminal (i.e., a right terminal) of the reset circuit (T6) being electrically connected to the first electrode (i.e., the upper electrode) of the light-emitting element (ED);
a data writing circuit (T2), a control terminal (i.e., a gate terminal) of the data writing circuit (T2) being electrically connected to a second scan signal terminal (SCAN2), a first terminal (i.e., a right terminal) of the data writing circuit (T2) being electrically connected to a data signal terminal data (Vdata), and a second terminal (i.e., a left terminal) of the data writing circuit (T2) being electrically connected to the first terminal a (i.e., the upper terminal) or the second terminal b (i.e., the lower terminal) of the driving circuit (DRT),
wherein a turn-on duration of the first scan signal terminal (SCAN4) overlaps (i.e., is equal to) a turn-on duration of the second scan signal terminal (SCAN2; see Fig. 8B); and
wherein the refresh frame (see Fig. 7B) includes an initialization stage (i.e., an arbitrary time period during which (SCAN3) is a high voltage), a third bias stage (i.e., an arbitrary time period during which (SCAN1) is a high voltage), a data writing stage (i.e., an arbitrary time period during which (SCAN2) is a low voltage), a second bias stage (i.e., another arbitrary time period during which (SCAN2) is a low voltage), and a light-emitting stage (i.e., an arbitrary time period during which (EM) is a low voltage) arranged in time sequence (see Fig. 7B), and the data writing stage (i.e., the arbitrary time period during which (SCAN2) is a low voltage) of the refresh frame (see Fig. 7B) is the same stage as the first bias stage (i.e., when (SCAN2) is low) of the refresh frame (see Fig. 7B), and the threshold compensation circuit (T1) is turned on in the third bias stage (i.e., the arbitrary time period during which (SCAN1) is a high voltage) of the refresh frame (see Fig. 7B; and see Page 6 through Page 7, Para. [0120]; and Page 9, Para. [0174], [0176]-[0178], and [0181]-[0182]; and again, see Page 6, Para. [0107]-[0110]).
Kim discloses that a level of a bias signal can be different in the refresh frame and the hold frame (see Page 10, Para. [0191] and [0195]-[0197]). However, Kim does not explicitly disclose that the first bias circuit is further configured to have a turn-on duration in the hold frame and a turn-on duration in the refresh frame that is different from the turn-on duration in the hold frame.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim2 discloses (see Fig. 2) a pixel circuit (PX; see Page 4, Para. [0063]) comprising a first bias circuit (T7) configured to provide a first bias signal (VAINT) to a driving circuit, and the first bias signal (VAINT) is configured to adjust a bias state of the driving circuit (see (T1, T6) in Fig. 20, for example; and see Page 11, Para. [0114]), wherein a light-emitting cycle of a light-emitting element (EL) comprises a refresh frame (SP) and a hold frame (HP), and wherein (see Fig. 8 and Fig. 10) the first bias circuit (T7) is further configured to have a turn-on duration (see (GB)) in the hold frame (HP) and a turn-on duration (see (GB)) in the refresh frame (SP) that is different from the turn-on duration (again, see (GB)) in the hold frame (HP; see Page 6 through Page 7, Para. [0079]-[0080] and Page 7 through Page 8, Para. [0084]-[0086]). In addition, Kim2 further discloses (see Fig. 22 and Fig. 23) that a time interval between a start moment of the hold frame (HP; see Fig. 22) and a turn-on start moment (see (GB)) of the first bias circuit (T7) in the hold frame (HP) can be different from a time interval between a start moment of the refresh frame (SP; see Fig. 23) and a turn-on start moment (see (GB)) of the first bias circuit (T7) in the refresh frame (SP; see Page 12, Para. [0124]-[0127]). Further still, Kim2 discloses (see Fig. 11) that a level of the first bias signal (VAINT) can be different in the refresh frame (SP) and the hold frame (HP; see Page 8, Para. [0088]-[0091]). Kim2 discloses a number of ways in which the first bias signal can be utilized to adjust a bias state of the driving circuit in order to provide a uniform luminance level across a display device when a pixel circuit is driven at different driving frequencies (see Page 1, Para. [0006]-[0007]). Specifically, Kim2 suggests various driving implementations of a first bias circuit for preventing a luminance difference during a refresh frame and a hold frame when a pixel circuit is driven at different driving frequencies (see Page 3, Para. [0029]). This is a goal that is shared by Kim (see at least Page 1, Para. [0009] of Kim).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Kim2, such that a time interval between a start moment of the hold frame and a tum-on start moment of the first bias circuit in the hold frame is different from a time interval between a start moment of the refresh frame and a tum-on start moment of the first bias circuit in the refresh frame, as suggested by both Kim and Kim2, and such that the first bias circuit is further configured to have a turn-on duration in the hold frame and a turn-on duration in the refresh frame that is different from the tum-on duration in the hold frame, as suggested by Kim2, in order to provide a driving implementation of the first bias circuit that prevents a luminance difference during a refresh frame and a hold frame when a pixel circuit is driven at different driving frequencies, thereby providing a uniform luminance level across a display device.
As pertaining to Claim 34, Kim discloses (see Fig. 3, Fig. 7B, and Fig. 8B) a display panel comprising a pixel circuit (see Fig. 3), wherein the pixel circuit comprises (see Page 5, Para. [0085]; and Page 6, Para. [0095], [0097]-[0103] and [0105]-[0110]):
a driving circuit (DRT) configured to drive a light-emitting element (ED) to emit light;
a first bias circuit (T2) electrically connected to a first terminal or a second terminal (i.e., an upper terminal) of the driving circuit (DRT), wherein the first bias circuit (T2) is configured to provide a first bias signal (VOBS) to the first terminal or the second terminal (i.e., the upper terminal) of the driving circuit (DRT), and the first bias signal (VOBS) is configured to adjust a bias state (i.e., a voltage state) of the driving circuit (DRT);
wherein a light-emitting cycle of the light-emitting element (ED) comprises a refresh frame (see Fig. 7B) or a hold frame (see Fig. 8B), wherein a control terminal (i.e., a gate terminal) of the driving circuit (DRT) is refreshed in the refresh frame (see Fig. 7B), and the control terminal (i.e., the gate terminal) of the driving circuit (DRT) is not refreshed in the hold frame (see Fig. 8B); each of the refresh frame (see Fig. 7B) and the hold frame (see Fig. 8B) comprises a first stage (i.e., (EM) is high) and a second stage (i.e., (EM) is low), the first stage (i.e., when (EM) is high) is located before the second stage (i.e., when (EM) is low), the first stage (i.e., when (EM) is high) comprises one or more bias stages (i.e., (SCAN2) is low), and the second stage (i.e., when (EM) is low) comprises a light-emitting stage of the light-emitting element (ED), and wherein in the bias stages (i.e., when (SCAN2) is low), the first bias circuit (T2) is turned on (i.e., via (SCAN2)), and the first bias signal (VOBS) is transmitted to the first terminal or the second terminal (i.e., the upper terminal) of the driving circuit (DRT);
wherein a time interval between a start moment (i.e., when (EM) is high) of the hold frame (see Fig. 8B) and a turn-on start moment (i.e., when (SCAN2) is low) of the first bias circuit (T2) in the hold frame (see Fig. 8B) is different from a time interval between a start moment (i.e., when (EM) is high) of the refresh frame (see Fig. 7B) and a turn-on start moment (i.e., when (SCAN2) is low) of the first bias circuit (T2) in the refresh frame (see Fig. 7B);
wherein a gate of the driving circuit (DRT) is electrically connected to a first node (i.e., a gate node), a first electrode (i.e., an upper electrode) of the driving circuit (DRT) is electrically connected to a second node (i.e., an upper node), and a second electrode (i.e., a lower electrode) of the driving circuit (DRT) is electrically connected to a third node (i.e., a lower node);
wherein a first terminal (i.e., a left terminal) of the first bias circuit (T2) is electrically connected to the second node (i.e., the upper node) or the third node (i.e., the lower node); and
wherein the pixel circuit further comprises:
a first light-emitting control circuit (T4), a first terminal (i.e., an upper terminal) of the first light-emitting control circuit (T4) is electrically connected to the third node (i.e., the lower node), and a second terminal (i.e., a lower terminal) of the first light-emitting control circuit (T4) is electrically connected to a first electrode (i.e., an upper electrode) of the light-emitting element (ED);
a threshold compensation circuit (T1), a first terminal (i.e., a left terminal) of the threshold compensation circuit (T1) being electrically connected to the first node (i.e., the gate node), and a second terminal (i.e., a right terminal) of the threshold compensation circuit (T1) being electrically connected to the third node (i.e., the lower node);
a reset circuit (T6), a control terminal (i.e., a gate terminal) of the reset circuit (T6) being electrically connected to a first scan signal terminal (SCAN4), a first terminal (i.e., a left terminal) of the reset circuit (T6) being electrically connected to a second initialization signal terminal (VAR), and a second terminal (i.e., a right terminal) of the reset circuit (T6) being electrically connected to the first electrode (i.e., the upper electrode) of the light-emitting element (ED);
a data writing circuit (T2), a control terminal (i.e., a gate terminal) of the data writing circuit (T2) being electrically connected to a second scan signal terminal (SCAN2), a first terminal (i.e., a right terminal) of the data writing circuit (T2) being electrically connected to a data signal terminal data (Vdata), and a second terminal (i.e., a left terminal) of the data writing circuit (T2) being electrically connected to the first terminal a (i.e., the upper terminal) or the second terminal b (i.e., the lower terminal) of the driving circuit (DRT),
wherein a turn-on duration of the first scan signal terminal (SCAN4) overlaps (i.e., is equal to) a turn-on duration of the second scan signal terminal (SCAN2; see Fig. 8B); and
wherein the refresh frame (see Fig. 7B) includes an initialization stage (i.e., an arbitrary time period during which (SCAN3) is a high voltage), a third bias stage (i.e., an arbitrary time period during which (SCAN1) is a high voltage), a data writing stage (i.e., an arbitrary time period during which (SCAN2) is a low voltage), a second bias stage (i.e., another arbitrary time period during which (SCAN2) is a low voltage), and a light-emitting stage (i.e., an arbitrary time period during which (EM) is a low voltage) arranged in time sequence (see Fig. 7B), and the data writing stage (i.e., the arbitrary time period during which (SCAN2) is a low voltage) of the refresh frame (see Fig. 7B) is the same stage as the first bias stage (i.e., when (SCAN2) is low) of the refresh frame (see Fig. 7B), and the threshold compensation circuit (T1) is turned on in the third bias stage (i.e., the arbitrary time period during which (SCAN1) is a high voltage) of the refresh frame (see Fig. 7B; and see Page 6 through Page 7, Para. [0120]; and Page 9, Para. [0174], [0176]-[0178], and [0181]-[0182]; and again, see Page 6, Para. [0107]-[0110]).
Kim discloses that a level of a bias signal can be different in the refresh frame and the hold frame (see Page 10, Para. [0191] and [0195]-[0197]). However, Kim does not explicitly disclose that the first bias circuit is further configured to have a turn-on duration in the hold frame and a turn-on duration in the refresh frame that is different from the turn-on duration in the hold frame.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim2 discloses (see Fig. 2) a pixel circuit (PX; see Page 4, Para. [0063]) comprising a first bias circuit (T7) configured to provide a first bias signal (VAINT) to a driving circuit, and the first bias signal (VAINT) is configured to adjust a bias state of the driving circuit (see (T1, T6) in Fig. 20, for example; and see Page 11, Para. [0114]), wherein a light-emitting cycle of a light-emitting element (EL) comprises a refresh frame (SP) and a hold frame (HP), and wherein (see Fig. 8 and Fig. 10) the first bias circuit (T7) is further configured to have a turn-on duration (see (GB)) in the hold frame (HP) and a turn-on duration (see (GB)) in the refresh frame (SP) that is different from the turn-on duration (again, see (GB)) in the hold frame (HP; see Page 6 through Page 7, Para. [0079]-[0080] and Page 7 through Page 8, Para. [0084]-[0086]). In addition, Kim2 further discloses (see Fig. 22 and Fig. 23) that a time interval between a start moment of the hold frame (HP; see Fig. 22) and a turn-on start moment (see (GB)) of the first bias circuit (T7) in the hold frame (HP) can be different from a time interval between a start moment of the refresh frame (SP; see Fig. 23) and a turn-on start moment (see (GB)) of the first bias circuit (T7) in the refresh frame (SP; see Page 12, Para. [0124]-[0127]). Further still, Kim2 discloses (see Fig. 11) that a level of the first bias signal (VAINT) can be different in the refresh frame (SP) and the hold frame (HP; see Page 8, Para. [0088]-[0091]). Kim2 discloses a number of ways in which the first bias signal can be utilized to adjust a bias state of the driving circuit in order to provide a uniform luminance level across a display device when a pixel circuit is driven at different driving frequencies (see Page 1, Para. [0006]-[0007]). Specifically, Kim2 suggests various driving implementations of a first bias circuit for preventing a luminance difference during a refresh frame and a hold frame when a pixel circuit is driven at different driving frequencies (see Page 3, Para. [0029]). This is a goal that is shared by Kim (see at least Page 1, Para. [0009] of Kim).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Kim2, such that a time interval between a start moment of the hold frame and a tum-on start moment of the first bias circuit in the hold frame is different from a time interval between a start moment of the refresh frame and a tum-on start moment of the first bias circuit in the refresh frame, as suggested by both Kim and Kim2, and such that the first bias circuit is further configured to have a turn-on duration in the hold frame and a turn-on duration in the refresh frame that is different from the tum-on duration in the hold frame, as suggested by Kim2, in order to provide a driving implementation of the first bias circuit that prevents a luminance difference during a refresh frame and a hold frame when a pixel circuit is driven at different driving frequencies, thereby providing a uniform luminance level across a display device.
As pertaining to Claim 35, Kim discloses (see Fig. 3, Fig. 7B, and Fig. 8B) a display device comprising a display panel, wherein the display panel comprises a pixel circuit (see Fig. 3), and the pixel circuit comprises (see Page 5, Para. [0085]; and Page 6, Para. [0095], [0097]-[0103] and [0105]-[0110]):
a driving circuit (DRT) configured to drive a light-emitting element (ED) to emit light;
a first bias circuit (T2) electrically connected to a first terminal or a second terminal (i.e., an upper terminal) of the driving circuit (DRT), wherein the first bias circuit (T2) is configured to provide a first bias signal (VOBS) to the first terminal or the second terminal (i.e., the upper terminal) of the driving circuit (DRT), and the first bias signal (VOBS) is configured to adjust a bias state (i.e., a voltage state) of the driving circuit (DRT);
wherein a light-emitting cycle of the light-emitting element (ED) comprises a refresh frame (see Fig. 7B) or a hold frame (see Fig. 8B), wherein a control terminal (i.e., a gate terminal) of the driving circuit (DRT) is refreshed in the refresh frame (see Fig. 7B), and the control terminal (i.e., the gate terminal) of the driving circuit (DRT) is not refreshed in the hold frame (see Fig. 8B); each of the refresh frame (see Fig. 7B) and the hold frame (see Fig. 8B) comprises a first stage (i.e., (EM) is high) and a second stage (i.e., (EM) is low), the first stage (i.e., when (EM) is high) is located before the second stage (i.e., when (EM) is low), the first stage (i.e., when (EM) is high) comprises one or more bias stages (i.e., (SCAN2) is low), and the second stage (i.e., when (EM) is low) comprises a light-emitting stage of the light-emitting element (ED), and wherein in the bias stages (i.e., when (SCAN2) is low), the first bias circuit (T2) is turned on (i.e., via (SCAN2)), and the first bias signal (VOBS) is transmitted to the first terminal or the second terminal (i.e., the upper terminal) of the driving circuit (DRT);
wherein a time interval between a start moment (i.e., when (EM) is high) of the hold frame (see Fig. 8B) and a turn-on start moment (i.e., when (SCAN2) is low) of the first bias circuit (T2) in the hold frame (see Fig. 8B) is different from a time interval between a start moment (i.e., when (EM) is high) of the refresh frame (see Fig. 7B) and a turn-on start moment (i.e., when (SCAN2) is low) of the first bias circuit (T2) in the refresh frame (see Fig. 7B);
wherein a gate of the driving circuit (DRT) is electrically connected to a first node (i.e., a gate node), a first electrode (i.e., an upper electrode) of the driving circuit (DRT) is electrically connected to a second node (i.e., an upper node), and a second electrode (i.e., a lower electrode) of the driving circuit (DRT) is electrically connected to a third node (i.e., a lower node);
wherein a first terminal (i.e., a left terminal) of the first bias circuit (T2) is electrically connected to the second node (i.e., the upper node) or the third node (i.e., the lower node); and
wherein the pixel circuit further comprises:
a first light-emitting control circuit (T4), a first terminal (i.e., an upper terminal) of the first light-emitting control circuit (T4) is electrically connected to the third node (i.e., the lower node), and a second terminal (i.e., a lower terminal) of the first light-emitting control circuit (T4) is electrically connected to a first electrode (i.e., an upper electrode) of the light-emitting element (ED);
a threshold compensation circuit (T1), a first terminal (i.e., a left terminal) of the threshold compensation circuit (T1) being electrically connected to the first node (i.e., the gate node), and a second terminal (i.e., a right terminal) of the threshold compensation circuit (T1) being electrically connected to the third node (i.e., the lower node);
a reset circuit (T6), a control terminal (i.e., a gate terminal) of the reset circuit (T6) being electrically connected to a first scan signal terminal (SCAN4), a first terminal (i.e., a left terminal) of the reset circuit (T6) being electrically connected to a second initialization signal terminal (VAR), and a second terminal (i.e., a right terminal) of the reset circuit (T6) being electrically connected to the first electrode (i.e., the upper electrode) of the light-emitting element (ED);
a data writing circuit (T2), a control terminal (i.e., a gate terminal) of the data writing circuit (T2) being electrically connected to a second scan signal terminal (SCAN2), a first terminal (i.e., a right terminal) of the data writing circuit (T2) being electrically connected to a data signal terminal data (Vdata), and a second terminal (i.e., a left terminal) of the data writing circuit (T2) being electrically connected to the first terminal a (i.e., the upper terminal) or the second terminal b (i.e., the lower terminal) of the driving circuit (DRT),
wherein a turn-on duration of the first scan signal terminal (SCAN4) overlaps (i.e., is equal to) a turn-on duration of the second scan signal terminal (SCAN2; see Fig. 8B); and
wherein the refresh frame (see Fig. 7B) includes an initialization stage (i.e., an arbitrary time period during which (SCAN3) is a high voltage), a third bias stage (i.e., an arbitrary time period during which (SCAN1) is a high voltage), a data writing stage (i.e., an arbitrary time period during which (SCAN2) is a low voltage), a second bias stage (i.e., another arbitrary time period during which (SCAN2) is a low voltage), and a light-emitting stage (i.e., an arbitrary time period during which (EM) is a low voltage) arranged in time sequence (see Fig. 7B), and the data writing stage (i.e., the arbitrary time period during which (SCAN2) is a low voltage) of the refresh frame (see Fig. 7B) is the same stage as the first bias stage (i.e., when (SCAN2) is low) of the refresh frame (see Fig. 7B), and the threshold compensation circuit (T1) is turned on in the third bias stage (i.e., the arbitrary time period during which (SCAN1) is a high voltage) of the refresh frame (see Fig. 7B; and see Page 6 through Page 7, Para. [0120]; and Page 9, Para. [0174], [0176]-[0178], and [0181]-[0182]; and again, see Page 6, Para. [0107]-[0110]).
Kim discloses that a level of a bias signal can be different in the refresh frame and the hold frame (see Page 10, Para. [0191] and [0195]-[0197]). However, Kim does not explicitly disclose that the first bias circuit is further configured to have a turn-on duration in the hold frame and a turn-on duration in the refresh frame that is different from the turn-on duration in the hold frame.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim2 discloses (see Fig. 2) a pixel circuit (PX; see Page 4, Para. [0063]) comprising a first bias circuit (T7) configured to provide a first bias signal (VAINT) to a driving circuit, and the first bias signal (VAINT) is configured to adjust a bias state of the driving circuit (see (T1, T6) in Fig. 20, for example; and see Page 11, Para. [0114]), wherein a light-emitting cycle of a light-emitting element (EL) comprises a refresh frame (SP) and a hold frame (HP), and wherein (see Fig. 8 and Fig. 10) the first bias circuit (T7) is further configured to have a turn-on duration (see (GB)) in the hold frame (HP) and a turn-on duration (see (GB)) in the refresh frame (SP) that is different from the turn-on duration (again, see (GB)) in the hold frame (HP; see Page 6 through Page 7, Para. [0079]-[0080] and Page 7 through Page 8, Para. [0084]-[0086]). In addition, Kim2 further discloses (see Fig. 22 and Fig. 23) that a time interval between a start moment of the hold frame (HP; see Fig. 22) and a turn-on start moment (see (GB)) of the first bias circuit (T7) in the hold frame (HP) can be different from a time interval between a start moment of the refresh frame (SP; see Fig. 23) and a turn-on start moment (see (GB)) of the first bias circuit (T7) in the refresh frame (SP; see Page 12, Para. [0124]-[0127]). Further still, Kim2 discloses (see Fig. 11) that a level of the first bias signal (VAINT) can be different in the refresh frame (SP) and the hold frame (HP; see Page 8, Para. [0088]-[0091]). Kim2 discloses a number of ways in which the first bias signal can be utilized to adjust a bias state of the driving circuit in order to provide a uniform luminance level across a display device when a pixel circuit is driven at different driving frequencies (see Page 1, Para. [0006]-[0007]). Specifically, Kim2 suggests various driving implementations of a first bias circuit for preventing a luminance difference during a refresh frame and a hold frame when a pixel circuit is driven at different driving frequencies (see Page 3, Para. [0029]). This is a goal that is shared by Kim (see at least Page 1, Para. [0009] of Kim).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Kim2, such that a time interval between a start moment of the hold frame and a tum-on start moment of the first bias circuit in the hold frame is different from a time interval between a start moment of the refresh frame and a tum-on start moment of the first bias circuit in the refresh frame, as suggested by both Kim and Kim2, and such that the first bias circuit is further configured to have a turn-on duration in the hold frame and a turn-on duration in the refresh frame that is different from the tum-on duration in the hold frame, as suggested by Kim2, in order to provide a driving implementation of the first bias circuit that prevents a luminance difference during a refresh frame and a hold frame when a pixel circuit is driven at different driving frequencies, thereby providing a uniform luminance level across a display device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 23 December 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant has argued that none of the references relied upon by the examiner in the prior Office Action, particularly Kim and Kim2, teach or fairly suggest that “the refresh frame includes an initialization stage, a third bias stage, a data writing stage. a second bias stage. and a light-emitting stage arranged in time sequence, and the data writing stage of the refresh frame is the same stage as the first bias stage of the refresh frame, and the threshold compensation circuit is turned on in the third bias stage of the refresh frame” (see Remarks at Pages 21 and 22). The examiner respectfully disagrees. The teachings of Kim clearly provide for a refresh frame (see Fig. 7B) that includes an initialization stage (i.e., an arbitrary time period during which (SCAN3) is a high voltage), a third bias stage (i.e., an arbitrary time period during which (SCAN1) is a high voltage), a data writing stage (i.e., an arbitrary time period during which (SCAN2) is a low voltage), a second bias stage (i.e., another arbitrary time period during which (SCAN2) is a low voltage), and a light-emitting stage (i.e., an arbitrary time period during which (EM) is a low voltage) arranged in time sequence (see Fig. 7B), and the data writing stage (i.e., the arbitrary time period during which (SCAN2) is a low voltage) of the refresh frame (see Fig. 7B) is the same stage as the first bias stage (i.e., when (SCAN2) is low) of the refresh frame (see Fig. 7B), and the threshold compensation circuit (T1) is turned on in the third bias stage (i.e., the arbitrary time period during which (SCAN1) is a high voltage) of the refresh frame (see Fig. 7B). The applicant is respectfully reminded that the claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation in view of the Specification without reading features from the Specification into the claims. In this regard, there is nothing recited in the claims that would distinguish the claimed “stages” from the time periods disclosed by Kim.
Therefore, the rejection of Claims 1-4, 27, and 34-35 is maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The teachings of Chung et al. (US 11,545,083), initially cited by the examiner in the Office Action mailed 14 March 2024, discloses a number of embodiments of a bias circuit, data writing circuit, and reset circuit pertinent to the claimed invention.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON M MANDEVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623