DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9 of the remarks, filed 12/3/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 7, and 8 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found reference KWAK (US Pub. No. 2020/0031248) and a different interpretation of previously applied references. This action is made non-final in order to present the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KWAK (US Pub. No. 2020/0031248) in view of RICHTER (US Pub. No. 2022/0024341; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 1, KWAK discloses a charging system (¶ 0143: FIG. 10 is a perspective view of the vehicle service robot and a charger; ¶ 0148: The robot 100a may be a charging service robot disposed at the charging station for supplying electricity to the electric vehicle, and the robot 100a may connect a plug 71 provided at the charging station to the electric vehicle to service electricity to the electric vehicle) comprising:
an arm mechanism (100a, Figs. 3-10) configured to grasp a charging plug (71, Figs. 4-5, 7, 9-10) connected to a charging apparatus (7, Figs. 4-5, 10) through a charging cable (73, Figs. 4, 10) and automatically perform plugging/unplugging of the charging plug to and from a charge port of a vehicle (2, Figs. 4-5, 7, 9, 10; ¶ 0270: In the state in which the service robot 100a holds the plug 71 of the charger 7, the robot system may drive the second driving source 6 to move the slider 3 and then drive the first drive 4 to rotate the rotation arm 5. Then, when the slider 3 moves, and the rotation arm 5 rotates, the service target vehicle 2 may move to a position (i.e., the optimal service position) that is close to the charging port of the service target vehicle, which is transmitted from the server 500; ¶ 0271: When the vehicle service robot 100a moves to the optimum service position by the movement of the slider 3 and the rotation of the rotary arm 5, the vehicle service robot 1 may couple the plug 71 to the charging port) located at a charging area (A1, A2, A3, A4, Fig. 4; ¶ 0204: robot system may include an indicator 8 or a display mechanism for displaying a chargeable area among the plurality of parking areas A1, A2, A3, and A4).
KWAK fails to disclose a sensor configured to detect whether or not a state of the charging cable meets predetermined safety conditions when the charging plug is inserted into the charge port of the vehicle; and
a control unit configured to perform, in a case where it is detected that the charging cable is in a state in which it does not meet the predetermined safety conditions, at least one of a process of making the arm mechanism operate to move the charging cable so that the state of the charging cable becomes one in which the predetermined safety conditions are met or a process of updating the predetermined safety conditions based on the state of the charging cable.
RICHTER discloses a sensor (¶ 0041: the input interface may be configured to receive sensor data from a sensor in the electric vehicle, wherein the sensor preferably includes at least a top view camera, ultrasonic sensor, radar sensor, and/or laser sensor, and the analysis unit is particularly preferably configured to determine the course of the charging cable by means of image processing algorithms and/or machine learning...It should be understood that this device can also contain one or more sensors; ¶ 0051: It should be understood that the device 10 can also contain such a sensor. The sensor data may include information regarding the position of the charging cable and a motion vector for a third party road user; ¶ 0070: It should be understood that an exact course of the charging cable 28 can also be determined by evaluating camera images and/or other sensor data) configured to detect whether or not a state of the charging cable meets predetermined safety conditions when the charging plug is inserted into the charge port of the vehicle (¶ 0035: a third party road user can be detected in the vicinity of a charging cable on the basis of the sensor data, and the trajectory of the third party can be determined. The position of the charging station can also be determined on the basis of the sensor data. The course of the cable between the charging station and the charging connector or charging port for the electric vehicle can then be estimated. It should be understood that one or more regions can be defined around the course of the charging cable, for determining different danger levels. If the trajectory of the third party road user crosses one or more regions, the analysis unit can detect an impending dangerous situation. The electric vehicle preferably has sensors, such as top view cameras, that can detect the course of the charging cable, depending on the resolution and orientation of the sensors. The charging cable and/or the third party road user can be detected, e.g., by means of image processing algorithms or machine learning. An impending collision between the road user and the charging cable can be identified from this data, and the road user can be warned thereof, wherein the warning is output by the warning unit in response to a control command; ¶ 0052: analysis unit 14 may be configured to determine an impending dangerous situation on the basis of the sensor data, and generate a control command, if a dangerous situation is impending...By way of example, a dangerous situation can be detected if a movement vector for the third party road user were to cross the position and/or an environment surrounding the position of the charging cable; ¶ 0057: the direct connection between a charging station 30 and an electric vehicle 18 can serve as an approximation of the course of the charging cable 28. If a dangerous operating environment or situation is identified, a control command can be sent to the charging station 30; ¶ 0067: position of the charging cable 28 is indicated by a dotted line, and can be determined in a first estimation by the direct connection between the charging port 26 on the electric vehicle 18 and the charging port 26 on the charging station 20. This direct connection is indicated by the numeral 42. An area can be defined surrounding this direct connection 42, bordered by the two parallel broken lines 44, in order to determine a dangerous situation. If a third party ends up within this area, it can be assumed that this includes a dangerous situation. By way of example, a warning can be output if someone enters this area, as described above, and/or the charging process can be interrupted); and
a control unit (14, Fig. 1; ¶ 0059: analysis unit 14 in the device 10 identifies the dangerous operating environment and generates a control command based on this that results in the output of a warning by the warning unit 24) configured to perform, in a case where it is detected that the charging cable is in a state in which it does not meet the predetermined safety conditions, a process of updating the predetermined safety conditions based on the state of the charging cable (¶ 0051: sensor data may include information regarding the position of the charging cable and a motion vector for a third party road user; ¶ 0052: analysis unit 14 may be configured to determine an impending dangerous situation on the basis of the sensor data, and generate a control command, if a dangerous situation is impending...By way of example, a dangerous situation can be detected if a movement vector for the third party road user were to cross the position and/or an environment surrounding the position of the charging cable).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the sensor and control unit of RICHTER into the charging system of KWAK to produce an expected result of a charging system including a sensor and a control unit. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to prevent damage to charging cables, charging stations, and/or electric vehicles (RICHTER, ¶ 0007).
Regarding claim 2, KWAK as modified by RICHTER teaches the control unit instructs the arm mechanism to perform a predetermined recovery operation so that the state of the charging cable becomes one in which the predetermined safety conditions are met (KWAK, ¶ 0198; the disclosure of placing the plug 71 back in the charger as disclosed in KWAK would eliminate the “impending dangerous situation” of RICHTER).
Regarding claim 3, KWAK as modified by RICHTER teaches the charging system as applied to claim 1, and RICHTER further discloses the control unit updates the predetermined safety conditions such that an area in which the charging cable is present falls within an area in which the state of the charging cable does not meet the updated predetermined safety conditions (¶ 0035, 0051-0052, 0057, 0067).
KWAK as modified by RICHTER fails to disclose the control unit restricts a next incoming vehicle from entering the area in which the state of the charging cable does not meet the updated predetermined safety conditions.
However, KWAK discloses controlling a next incoming vehicle to guide the vehicle to a parking area, and implies controlling the next incoming vehicle to avoid obstacles (¶ 0135-0137, 0206, 0226, 0243). Applying the updating of predetermined safety conditions of RICHTER, which warns of an impending collision with the charging cable, to the system of KWAK, which controls vehicles to avoid obstacles, would teach the recitation “the control unit restricts a next incoming vehicle from entering the area in which the state of the charging cable does not meet the updated predetermined safety conditions”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate restricting a next incoming vehicle from entering the area in which the state of the charging cable does not meet the updated predetermined safety conditions, into the charging system of KWAK as modified by RICHTER, to produce an expected result of a charging system including restricting a next incoming vehicle from entering the area in which the state of the charging cable does not meet the updated predetermined safety conditions. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to prevent damage to charging cables, charging stations, and/or electric vehicles (RICHTER, ¶ 0007).
Regarding claim 5, KWAK as modified by RICHTER teaches the sensor is a camera that captures an image of a region including the charging area (RICHTER, ¶ 0041, 0070).
Regarding claim 7, KWAK discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a safety management program (¶ 0226: sensor control system SS may be a system for controlling sensors related to safety. The vehicle service facility 1 may include an area sensor 94 and an ultrasonic sensor 92, which detect obstacles around the parking zone; ¶ 0261: In the charging standby processing (S22), the robot system may sense whether the vehicle service robot 100a is safe by using the vision sensor 91, the ultrasonic sensor 92, and the vision camera 93) for a control unit (¶ 0081: Referring to FIG. 1, the AI device 100 may include a communication unit 110, an input unit 120, a learning processor 130, a sensing unit 140, an output unit 150, a memory 170, and a processor 180; ¶ 0102: processor 180 may control at least part of the components of AI device 100 so as to drive an application program stored in memory 170. Furthermore, the processor 180 may operate two or more of the components included in the AI device 100 in combination so as to drive the application program; ¶ 0104: the AI server 500 may be included as a partial configuration of the AI device 100, and may perform at least part of the AI processing together; ¶ 0212: server 500 may constitute the control system CS) of a charging system (¶ 0143: FIG. 10 is a perspective view of the vehicle service robot and a charger; ¶ 0148: The robot 100a may be a charging service robot disposed at the charging station for supplying electricity to the electric vehicle, and the robot 100a may connect a plug 71 provided at the charging station to the electric vehicle to service electricity to the electric vehicle), which comprises an arm mechanism (100a, Figs. 3-10) configured to grasp a charging plug (71, Figs. 4-5, 7, 9-10) connected to a charging apparatus (7, Figs. 4-5, 10) through a charging cable (73, Figs. 4, 10) and automatically perform plugging/unplugging of the charging plug to and from a charge port of a vehicle (2, Figs. 4-5, 7, 9, 10; ¶ 0270: In the state in which the service robot 100a holds the plug 71 of the charger 7, the robot system may drive the second driving source 6 to move the slider 3 and then drive the first drive 4 to rotate the rotation arm 5. Then, when the slider 3 moves, and the rotation arm 5 rotates, the service target vehicle 2 may move to a position (i.e., the optimal service position) that is close to the charging port of the service target vehicle, which is transmitted from the server 500; ¶ 0271: When the vehicle service robot 100a moves to the optimum service position by the movement of the slider 3 and the rotation of the rotary arm 5, the vehicle service robot 1 may couple the plug 71 to the charging port) located at a charging area (A1, A2, A3, A4, Fig. 4; ¶ 0204: robot system may include an indicator 8 or a display mechanism for displaying a chargeable area among the plurality of parking areas A1, A2, A3, and A4).
KWAK fails to disclose the safety management program causing the control unit to perform:
a process of detecting, using information obtained from a sensor connected to the charging system, whether or not a state of the charging cable meets predetermined safety conditions when the charging plug is inserted into the charge port of the vehicle; and
in a case where it is detected that the state of the charging cable does not meet the predetermined safety conditions, at least one of a process of making the arm mechanism operate to move the charging cable so that the state of the charging cable becomes one in which the predetermined safety conditions are met or a process of updating the predetermined safety conditions based on the state of the charging cable.
RICHTER discloses the safety management program causing the control unit (14, Fig. 1; ¶ 0059: analysis unit 14 in the device 10 identifies the dangerous operating environment and generates a control command based on this that results in the output of a warning by the warning unit 24) to perform:
a process of detecting, using information obtained from a sensor connected to the charging system (¶ 0041: the input interface may be configured to receive sensor data from a sensor in the electric vehicle, wherein the sensor preferably includes at least a top view camera, ultrasonic sensor, radar sensor, and/or laser sensor, and the analysis unit is particularly preferably configured to determine the course of the charging cable by means of image processing algorithms and/or machine learning...It should be understood that this device can also contain one or more sensors; ¶ 0051: It should be understood that the device 10 can also contain such a sensor. The sensor data may include information regarding the position of the charging cable and a motion vector for a third party road user; ¶ 0070: It should be understood that an exact course of the charging cable 28 can also be determined by evaluating camera images and/or other sensor data), whether or not a state of the charging cable meets predetermined safety conditions when the charging plug is inserted into the charge port of the vehicle (¶ 0035: a third party road user can be detected in the vicinity of a charging cable on the basis of the sensor data, and the trajectory of the third party can be determined. The position of the charging station can also be determined on the basis of the sensor data. The course of the cable between the charging station and the charging connector or charging port for the electric vehicle can then be estimated. It should be understood that one or more regions can be defined around the course of the charging cable, for determining different danger levels. If the trajectory of the third party road user crosses one or more regions, the analysis unit can detect an impending dangerous situation. The electric vehicle preferably has sensors, such as top view cameras, that can detect the course of the charging cable, depending on the resolution and orientation of the sensors. The charging cable and/or the third party road user can be detected, e.g., by means of image processing algorithms or machine learning. An impending collision between the road user and the charging cable can be identified from this data, and the road user can be warned thereof, wherein the warning is output by the warning unit in response to a control command; ¶ 0052: analysis unit 14 may be configured to determine an impending dangerous situation on the basis of the sensor data, and generate a control command, if a dangerous situation is impending...By way of example, a dangerous situation can be detected if a movement vector for the third party road user were to cross the position and/or an environment surrounding the position of the charging cable; ¶ 0057: the direct connection between a charging station 30 and an electric vehicle 18 can serve as an approximation of the course of the charging cable 28. If a dangerous operating environment or situation is identified, a control command can be sent to the charging station 30; ¶ 0067: position of the charging cable 28 is indicated by a dotted line, and can be determined in a first estimation by the direct connection between the charging port 26 on the electric vehicle 18 and the charging port 26 on the charging station 20. This direct connection is indicated by the numeral 42. An area can be defined surrounding this direct connection 42, bordered by the two parallel broken lines 44, in order to determine a dangerous situation. If a third party ends up within this area, it can be assumed that this includes a dangerous situation. By way of example, a warning can be output if someone enters this area, as described above, and/or the charging process can be interrupted); and
in a case where it is detected that the state of the charging cable does not meet the predetermined safety conditions, a process of updating the predetermined safety conditions based on the state of the charging cable (¶ 0051: sensor data may include information regarding the position of the charging cable and a motion vector for a third party road user; ¶ 0052: analysis unit 14 may be configured to determine an impending dangerous situation on the basis of the sensor data, and generate a control command, if a dangerous situation is impending...By way of example, a dangerous situation can be detected if a movement vector for the third party road user were to cross the position and/or an environment surrounding the position of the charging cable).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate detecting and updating predetermined safety conditions as disclosed in RICHTER into the computer readable medium storing a safety management program of KWAK to produce an expected result of a computer readable medium storing a safety management program including detecting and updating predetermined safety conditions. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to prevent damage to charging cables, charging stations, and/or electric vehicles (RICHTER, ¶ 0007).
Regarding claim 8, KWAK discloses a safety management method (¶ 0226: sensor control system SS may be a system for controlling sensors related to safety. The vehicle service facility 1 may include an area sensor 94 and an ultrasonic sensor 92, which detect obstacles around the parking zone; ¶ 0261: In the charging standby processing (S22), the robot system may sense whether the vehicle service robot 100a is safe by using the vision sensor 91, the ultrasonic sensor 92, and the vision camera 93) for a charging system (¶ 0143: FIG. 10 is a perspective view of the vehicle service robot and a charger; ¶ 0148: The robot 100a may be a charging service robot disposed at the charging station for supplying electricity to the electric vehicle, and the robot 100a may connect a plug 71 provided at the charging station to the electric vehicle to service electricity to the electric vehicle) that comprises an arm mechanism (100a, Figs. 3-10) configured to grasp a charging plug (71, Figs. 4-5, 7, 9-10) connected to a charging apparatus (7, Figs. 4-5, 10) through a charging cable (73, Figs. 4, 10) and automatically perform plugging/unplugging of the charging plug to and from a charge port of a vehicle located at a charging area (2, Figs. 4-5, 7, 9, 10; ¶ 0270: In the state in which the service robot 100a holds the plug 71 of the charger 7, the robot system may drive the second driving source 6 to move the slider 3 and then drive the first drive 4 to rotate the rotation arm 5. Then, when the slider 3 moves, and the rotation arm 5 rotates, the service target vehicle 2 may move to a position (i.e., the optimal service position) that is close to the charging port of the service target vehicle, which is transmitted from the server 500; ¶ 0271: When the vehicle service robot 100a moves to the optimum service position by the movement of the slider 3 and the rotation of the rotary arm 5, the vehicle service robot 1 may couple the plug 71 to the charging port) located at a charging area (A1, A2, A3, A4, Fig. 4; ¶ 0204: robot system may include an indicator 8 or a display mechanism for displaying a chargeable area among the plurality of parking areas A1, A2, A3, and A4).
KWAK fails to disclose the method comprising:
detecting, using information obtained from a sensor connected to the charging system, whether or not a state of the charging cable meets predetermined safety conditions when the charging plug is inserted into the charge port of the vehicle; and
performing, in a case where it is detected that the state of the charging cable does not meet the predetermined safety conditions, at least one of a process of making the arm mechanism operate to move the charging cable so that the state of the charging cable becomes one in which the predetermined safety conditions are met or a process of updating the predetermined safety conditions based on the state of the charging cable.
RICHTER discloses the method comprising:
detecting, using information obtained from a sensor connected to the charging system (¶ 0041: the input interface may be configured to receive sensor data from a sensor in the electric vehicle, wherein the sensor preferably includes at least a top view camera, ultrasonic sensor, radar sensor, and/or laser sensor, and the analysis unit is particularly preferably configured to determine the course of the charging cable by means of image processing algorithms and/or machine learning...It should be understood that this device can also contain one or more sensors; ¶ 0051: It should be understood that the device 10 can also contain such a sensor. The sensor data may include information regarding the position of the charging cable and a motion vector for a third party road user; ¶ 0070: It should be understood that an exact course of the charging cable 28 can also be determined by evaluating camera images and/or other sensor data), whether or not a state of the charging cable meets predetermined safety conditions when the charging plug is inserted into the charge port of the vehicle (¶ 0035: a third party road user can be detected in the vicinity of a charging cable on the basis of the sensor data, and the trajectory of the third party can be determined. The position of the charging station can also be determined on the basis of the sensor data. The course of the cable between the charging station and the charging connector or charging port for the electric vehicle can then be estimated. It should be understood that one or more regions can be defined around the course of the charging cable, for determining different danger levels. If the trajectory of the third party road user crosses one or more regions, the analysis unit can detect an impending dangerous situation. The electric vehicle preferably has sensors, such as top view cameras, that can detect the course of the charging cable, depending on the resolution and orientation of the sensors. The charging cable and/or the third party road user can be detected, e.g., by means of image processing algorithms or machine learning. An impending collision between the road user and the charging cable can be identified from this data, and the road user can be warned thereof, wherein the warning is output by the warning unit in response to a control command; ¶ 0052: analysis unit 14 may be configured to determine an impending dangerous situation on the basis of the sensor data, and generate a control command, if a dangerous situation is impending...By way of example, a dangerous situation can be detected if a movement vector for the third party road user were to cross the position and/or an environment surrounding the position of the charging cable; ¶ 0057: the direct connection between a charging station 30 and an electric vehicle 18 can serve as an approximation of the course of the charging cable 28. If a dangerous operating environment or situation is identified, a control command can be sent to the charging station 30; ¶ 0067: position of the charging cable 28 is indicated by a dotted line, and can be determined in a first estimation by the direct connection between the charging port 26 on the electric vehicle 18 and the charging port 26 on the charging station 20. This direct connection is indicated by the numeral 42. An area can be defined surrounding this direct connection 42, bordered by the two parallel broken lines 44, in order to determine a dangerous situation. If a third party ends up within this area, it can be assumed that this includes a dangerous situation. By way of example, a warning can be output if someone enters this area, as described above, and/or the charging process can be interrupted); and
performing, in a case where it is detected that the state of the charging cable does not meet the predetermined safety conditions, a process of updating the predetermined safety conditions based on the state of the charging cable (¶ 0051: sensor data may include information regarding the position of the charging cable and a motion vector for a third party road user; ¶ 0052: analysis unit 14 may be configured to determine an impending dangerous situation on the basis of the sensor data, and generate a control command, if a dangerous situation is impending...By way of example, a dangerous situation can be detected if a movement vector for the third party road user were to cross the position and/or an environment surrounding the position of the charging cable).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate detecting and updating predetermined safety conditions as disclosed in RICHTER into the safety management method of KWAK to produce an expected result of a safety management method including detecting and updating predetermined safety conditions. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to prevent damage to charging cables, charging stations, and/or electric vehicles (RICHTER, ¶ 0007).
Claim(s) 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KWAK in view of RICHTER as applied to claims 1-3, 5, and 7-8 above, and further in view of KINSEY (US Pub. No. 2022/0144110).
Regarding claim 4, KWAK as modified by RICHTER teaches the charging system as applied to claim 3, but fails to disclose in the case where the area in which the state of the charging cable does not meet the updated predetermined safety conditions overlaps a parking section for charging, the control unit restricts the next incoming vehicle from parking in the parking section for charging that is in the area in which the state of the charging cable does not meet the updated predetermined safety conditions.
KINSEY discloses the case where the area in which the state of the charging cable does not meet the updated predetermined safety conditions overlaps a parking section for charging (¶ 0030, 0068, 0080). Applying the updated predetermined safety conditions overlap a parking section for charging as disclosed in KINSEY, to the system of KWAK, which controls vehicles to avoid obstacles, would teach the recitation “the control unit restricts the next incoming vehicle from parking in the parking section for charging that is in the area in which the state of the charging cable does not meet the updated predetermined safety conditions”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the updated predetermined safety conditions overlap a parking section for charging as disclosed in KINSEY into the charging system of KWAK as modified by RICHTER to produce an expected result of a charging system including the updated predetermined safety conditions overlap a parking section for charging. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to reduce the need for repairing charging cables by ensuring that they are properly returned to a charging station (KINSEY, ¶ 0008).
Regarding claim 6, KWAK as modified by RICHTER teaches the charging system as applied to claim 1, but fails to disclose conditions for the state of the charging cable to meet the updated safety conditions include at least a state in which the charging cable is removed from inside an empty parking section for charging among a plurality of parking sections for charging set in the charging area and a state in which the charging cable is not protruding into a region outside of the charging area.
KINSEY discloses conditions for the state of the charging cable to meet the updated safety conditions include at least a state in which the charging cable is removed from inside an empty parking section for charging among a plurality of parking sections for charging set in the charging area and a state in which the charging cable is not protruding into a region outside of the charging area (¶ 0030, 0068, 0080).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the conditions for the state of the charging cable to meet the updated safety conditions as disclosed in KINSEY into the charging system of KWAK as modified by RICHTER to produce an expected result of a charging system including conditions for the state of the charging cable to meet the updated safety conditions. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to reduce the need for repairing charging cables by ensuring that they are properly returned to a charging station (KINSEY, ¶ 0008).
Conclusion
/Manuel Hernandez/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 3/17/2026
/TAELOR KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859