DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-8 are pending. Claims 1, 7, and 8 are amended. Claims 2-6 are original.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 7, and 8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Newly found reference FALK is relied upon to show a process of moving a charging cable as described in the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KWAK (US Pub. No. 2020/0031248; cited in previous office action) in view of RICHTER (US Pub. No. 2022/0024341; cited in previous office action) and FALK (Pub. No.: US 2014/0048638 A1).
Regarding claim 1, KWAK discloses a charging system (¶ 0143: FIG. 10 is a perspective view of the vehicle service robot and a charger; ¶ 0148: The robot 100a may be a charging service robot disposed at the charging station for supplying electricity to the electric vehicle, and the robot 100a may connect a plug 71 provided at the charging station to the electric vehicle to service electricity to the electric vehicle) comprising:
an arm mechanism (100a, Figs. 3-10) configured to grasp a charging plug (71, Figs. 4-5, 7, 9-10) connected to a charging apparatus (7, Figs. 4-5, 10) through a charging cable (73, Figs. 4, 10) and automatically perform plugging/unplugging of the charging plug to and from a charge port of a vehicle (2, Figs. 4-5, 7, 9, 10; ¶ 0270: In the state in which the service robot 100a holds the plug 71 of the charger 7, the robot system may drive the second driving source 6 to move the slider 3 and then drive the first drive 4 to rotate the rotation arm 5. Then, when the slider 3 moves, and the rotation arm 5 rotates, the service target vehicle 2 may move to a position (i.e., the optimal service position) that is close to the charging port of the service target vehicle, which is transmitted from the server 500; ¶ 0271: When the vehicle service robot 100a moves to the optimum service position by the movement of the slider 3 and the rotation of the rotary arm 5, the vehicle service robot 1 may couple the plug 71 to the charging port) located at a charging area (A1, A2, A3, A4, Fig. 4; ¶ 0204: robot system may include an indicator 8 or a display mechanism for displaying a chargeable area among the plurality of parking areas A1, A2, A3, and A4);
a sensor (91, Fig. 5; ¶ 0210: sensor may include a vision sensor 91. The vision sensor 91 may recognize a vehicle license plate or the like when the vehicle 2 enters; ¶ 0216: vision sensor 91 may sense a hazard around the vehicle 2, for example, around the vehicle service robot 100a while the vehicle 2 is being charged. The vision sensor 91 may sense whether the position of the vehicle 2 or the surrounding object approaches the vehicle 2, the vehicle service robot 100a, or the charger 7, whether the door of the vehicle 2 is opened, whether the driver's is ridden or getting off, and whether the vehicle 2 is started; ¶ 0217-0225); and
a control unit (¶ 0023: the controller may control the first driving source so that the vehicle service robot moves around the charging port of the vehicle and controls the vehicle service robot to the connection mode; ¶ 0123: robot 100a may include a robot control module for controlling the operation, and the robot control module may refer to a software module or a chip implementing the software module by hardware; ¶ 0199: controller may control the first driving source 4 and/or the second driving source 6 so that the vehicle service robot 100a moves around the charging port position. The controller may be installed in at least one of the vehicle service robot 100a, the charger 7, and the server 500).
KWAK fails to disclose the sensor is configured to detect whether or not a state of the charging cable meets predetermined safety conditions when the charging plug is inserted into the charge port of the vehicle.
RICHTER discloses a sensor (¶ 0041: the input interface may be configured to receive sensor data from a sensor in the electric vehicle, wherein the sensor preferably includes at least a top view camera, ultrasonic sensor, radar sensor, and/or laser sensor, and the analysis unit is particularly preferably configured to determine the course of the charging cable by means of image processing algorithms and/or machine learning...It should be understood that this device can also contain one or more sensors; ¶ 0051: It should be understood that the device 10 can also contain such a sensor. The sensor data may include information regarding the position of the charging cable and a motion vector for a third party road user; ¶ 0070: It should be understood that an exact course of the charging cable 28 can also be determined by evaluating camera images and/or other sensor data) configured to detect whether or not a state of the charging cable meets predetermined safety conditions when the charging plug is inserted into the charge port of the vehicle (¶ 0035: a third party road user can be detected in the vicinity of a charging cable on the basis of the sensor data, and the trajectory of the third party can be determined. The position of the charging station can also be determined on the basis of the sensor data. The course of the cable between the charging station and the charging connector or charging port for the electric vehicle can then be estimated. It should be understood that one or more regions can be defined around the course of the charging cable, for determining different danger levels. If the trajectory of the third party road user crosses one or more regions, the analysis unit can detect an impending dangerous situation. The electric vehicle preferably has sensors, such as top view cameras, that can detect the course of the charging cable, depending on the resolution and orientation of the sensors. The charging cable and/or the third party road user can be detected, e.g., by means of image processing algorithms or machine learning. An impending collision between the road user and the charging cable can be identified from this data, and the road user can be warned thereof, wherein the warning is output by the warning unit in response to a control command; ¶ 0052: analysis unit 14 may be configured to determine an impending dangerous situation on the basis of the sensor data, and generate a control command, if a dangerous situation is impending...By way of example, a dangerous situation can be detected if a movement vector for the third party road user were to cross the position and/or an environment surrounding the position of the charging cable; ¶ 0057: the direct connection between a charging station 30 and an electric vehicle 18 can serve as an approximation of the course of the charging cable 28. If a dangerous operating environment or situation is identified, a control command can be sent to the charging station 30; ¶ 0067: position of the charging cable 28 is indicated by a dotted line, and can be determined in a first estimation by the direct connection between the charging port 26 on the electric vehicle 18 and the charging port 26 on the charging station 20. This direct connection is indicated by the numeral 42. An area can be defined surrounding this direct connection 42, bordered by the two parallel broken lines 44, in order to determine a dangerous situation. If a third party ends up within this area, it can be assumed that this includes a dangerous situation. By way of example, a warning can be output if someone enters this area, as described above, and/or the charging process can be interrupted).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the sensor in order to prevent damage to charging cables, charging stations, and/or electric vehicles (RICHTER, ¶ 0007).
KWAK as modified by RICHTER fails to disclose the control unit configured to perform, in a case where it is detected that the charging cable is in a state in which it does not meet the predetermined safety conditions, a process of making the arm mechanism operate to move the charging cable so that the state of the charging cable becomes one in which the predetermined safety conditions are met.
FALK discloses [a user performs], in a case where it is detected that the charging cable is in a state in which it does not meet the predetermined safety conditions, a process of [moving] the charging cable so that the state of the charging cable becomes one in which the predetermined safety conditions are met (¶ 0013: The operator can thus lay the charging cable on the floor also in a targeted manner such that there is no risk of tripping; ¶ 0029: operator can thereupon release the plug 1 and possibly lay the charging cable 30 on the ground in such a way that there is no risk of tripping). Using the control unit and arm mechanism of KWAK to automate the process of moving the charging cable as disclosed in FALK produces predictable results and would be obvious to one of ordinary skill. Said modification would thus teach the recitations “the control unit configured to perform…a process of making the arm mechanism operate to move the charging cable…”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the control unit configured perform a process as recited in order to reduce the risk of people tripping over the charging cable (FALK, ¶ 0005, 0012-0013, 0029).
Regarding claim 2, KWAK as modified by RICHTER and FALK teaches the control unit instructs the arm mechanism to perform a predetermined recovery operation so that the state of the charging cable becomes one in which the predetermined safety conditions are met (FALK discloses a process of moving the charging cable, said process being “a predetermined recovery operation”, and the combination of KWAK as modified by RICHTER and FALK teaches using the control unit and arm mechanism of KWAK is used to perform said process as explained above).
Regarding claim 3, KWAK as modified by RICHTER and FALK teaches the charging system as applied to claim 1, and RICHTER further discloses the control unit updates the predetermined safety conditions such that an area in which the charging cable is present falls within an area in which the state of the charging cable does not meet the updated predetermined safety conditions (¶ 0035, 0051-0052, 0057, 0067).
KWAK as modified by RICHTER and FALK fails to disclose the control unit restricts a next incoming vehicle from entering the area in which the state of the charging cable does not meet the updated predetermined safety conditions.
However, KWAK discloses controlling a next incoming vehicle to guide the vehicle to a parking area, and implies controlling the next incoming vehicle to avoid obstacles (¶ 0135-0137, 0206, 0226, 0243). Applying the updating of predetermined safety conditions of RICHTER, which warns of an impending collision with the charging cable, to the system of KWAK, which controls vehicles to avoid obstacles, would teach the recitation “the control unit restricts a next incoming vehicle from entering the area in which the state of the charging cable does not meet the updated predetermined safety conditions”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include restricting a next incoming vehicle from entering the area in which the state of the charging cable does not meet the updated predetermined safety conditions in order to prevent damage to charging cables, charging stations, and/or electric vehicles (RICHTER, ¶ 0007).
Regarding claim 5, KWAK as modified by RICHTER and FALK teaches the sensor is a camera that captures an image of a region including the charging area (RICHTER, ¶ 0041, 0070).
Regarding claim 7, KWAK discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a safety management program (¶ 0226: sensor control system SS may be a system for controlling sensors related to safety. The vehicle service facility 1 may include an area sensor 94 and an ultrasonic sensor 92, which detect obstacles around the parking zone; ¶ 0261: In the charging standby processing (S22), the robot system may sense whether the vehicle service robot 100a is safe by using the vision sensor 91, the ultrasonic sensor 92, and the vision camera 93) for a control unit (¶ 0081: Referring to FIG. 1, the AI device 100 may include a communication unit 110, an input unit 120, a learning processor 130, a sensing unit 140, an output unit 150, a memory 170, and a processor 180; ¶ 0102: processor 180 may control at least part of the components of AI device 100 so as to drive an application program stored in memory 170. Furthermore, the processor 180 may operate two or more of the components included in the AI device 100 in combination so as to drive the application program; ¶ 0104: the AI server 500 may be included as a partial configuration of the AI device 100, and may perform at least part of the AI processing together; ¶ 0212: server 500 may constitute the control system CS) of a charging system (¶ 0143: FIG. 10 is a perspective view of the vehicle service robot and a charger; ¶ 0148: The robot 100a may be a charging service robot disposed at the charging station for supplying electricity to the electric vehicle, and the robot 100a may connect a plug 71 provided at the charging station to the electric vehicle to service electricity to the electric vehicle), which comprises an arm mechanism (100a, Figs. 3-10) configured to grasp a charging plug (71, Figs. 4-5, 7, 9-10) connected to a charging apparatus (7, Figs. 4-5, 10) through a charging cable (73, Figs. 4, 10) and automatically perform plugging/unplugging of the charging plug to and from a charge port of a vehicle (2, Figs. 4-5, 7, 9, 10; ¶ 0270: In the state in which the service robot 100a holds the plug 71 of the charger 7, the robot system may drive the second driving source 6 to move the slider 3 and then drive the first drive 4 to rotate the rotation arm 5. Then, when the slider 3 moves, and the rotation arm 5 rotates, the service target vehicle 2 may move to a position (i.e., the optimal service position) that is close to the charging port of the service target vehicle, which is transmitted from the server 500; ¶ 0271: When the vehicle service robot 100a moves to the optimum service position by the movement of the slider 3 and the rotation of the rotary arm 5, the vehicle service robot 1 may couple the plug 71 to the charging port) located at a charging area (A1, A2, A3, A4, Fig. 4; ¶ 0204: robot system may include an indicator 8 or a display mechanism for displaying a chargeable area among the plurality of parking areas A1, A2, A3, and A4), to perform:
a process of detecting, using information obtained from a sensor (91, Fig. 5) connected to the charging system (¶ 0210: sensor may include a vision sensor 91. The vision sensor 91 may recognize a vehicle license plate or the like when the vehicle 2 enters; ¶ 0216: vision sensor 91 may sense a hazard around the vehicle 2, for example, around the vehicle service robot 100a while the vehicle 2 is being charged. The vision sensor 91 may sense whether the position of the vehicle 2 or the surrounding object approaches the vehicle 2, the vehicle service robot 100a, or the charger 7, whether the door of the vehicle 2 is opened, whether the driver's is ridden or getting off, and whether the vehicle 2 is started; ¶ 0217-0225).
KWAK fails to disclose the safety management program causing the control unit to perform:
a process of detecting, using information obtained from a sensor connected to the charging system, whether or not a state of the charging cable meets predetermined safety conditions when the charging plug is inserted into the charge port of the vehicle.
RICHTER discloses the safety management program causing the control unit (14, Fig. 1; ¶ 0059: analysis unit 14 in the device 10 identifies the dangerous operating environment and generates a control command based on this that results in the output of a warning by the warning unit 24) to perform:
a process of detecting, using information obtained from a sensor connected to the charging system (¶ 0041: the input interface may be configured to receive sensor data from a sensor in the electric vehicle, wherein the sensor preferably includes at least a top view camera, ultrasonic sensor, radar sensor, and/or laser sensor, and the analysis unit is particularly preferably configured to determine the course of the charging cable by means of image processing algorithms and/or machine learning...It should be understood that this device can also contain one or more sensors; ¶ 0051: It should be understood that the device 10 can also contain such a sensor. The sensor data may include information regarding the position of the charging cable and a motion vector for a third party road user; ¶ 0070: It should be understood that an exact course of the charging cable 28 can also be determined by evaluating camera images and/or other sensor data), whether or not a state of the charging cable meets predetermined safety conditions when the charging plug is inserted into the charge port of the vehicle (¶ 0035: a third party road user can be detected in the vicinity of a charging cable on the basis of the sensor data, and the trajectory of the third party can be determined. The position of the charging station can also be determined on the basis of the sensor data. The course of the cable between the charging station and the charging connector or charging port for the electric vehicle can then be estimated. It should be understood that one or more regions can be defined around the course of the charging cable, for determining different danger levels. If the trajectory of the third party road user crosses one or more regions, the analysis unit can detect an impending dangerous situation. The electric vehicle preferably has sensors, such as top view cameras, that can detect the course of the charging cable, depending on the resolution and orientation of the sensors. The charging cable and/or the third party road user can be detected, e.g., by means of image processing algorithms or machine learning. An impending collision between the road user and the charging cable can be identified from this data, and the road user can be warned thereof, wherein the warning is output by the warning unit in response to a control command; ¶ 0052: analysis unit 14 may be configured to determine an impending dangerous situation on the basis of the sensor data, and generate a control command, if a dangerous situation is impending...By way of example, a dangerous situation can be detected if a movement vector for the third party road user were to cross the position and/or an environment surrounding the position of the charging cable; ¶ 0057: the direct connection between a charging station 30 and an electric vehicle 18 can serve as an approximation of the course of the charging cable 28. If a dangerous operating environment or situation is identified, a control command can be sent to the charging station 30; ¶ 0067: position of the charging cable 28 is indicated by a dotted line, and can be determined in a first estimation by the direct connection between the charging port 26 on the electric vehicle 18 and the charging port 26 on the charging station 20. This direct connection is indicated by the numeral 42. An area can be defined surrounding this direct connection 42, bordered by the two parallel broken lines 44, in order to determine a dangerous situation. If a third party ends up within this area, it can be assumed that this includes a dangerous situation. By way of example, a warning can be output if someone enters this area, as described above, and/or the charging process can be interrupted).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the process of detecting a state of the charging cable in order to prevent damage to charging cables, charging stations, and/or electric vehicles (RICHTER, ¶ 0007).
KWAK as modified by RICHTER fails to disclose the safety management program causing the control unit to perform:
in a case where it is detected that the state of the charging cable does not meet the predetermined safety conditions, a process of making the arm mechanism operate to move the charging cable so that the state of the charging cable becomes one in which the predetermined safety conditions are met.
FALK discloses in a case where it is detected that the state of the charging cable does not meet the predetermined safety conditions, a process of [moving] the charging cable so that the state of the charging cable becomes one in which the predetermined safety conditions are met (¶ 0013: The operator can thus lay the charging cable on the floor also in a targeted manner such that there is no risk of tripping; ¶ 0029: operator can thereupon release the plug 1 and possibly lay the charging cable 30 on the ground in such a way that there is no risk of tripping). Using the control unit and arm mechanism of KWAK to automate the process of moving the charging cable as disclosed in FALK produces predictable results and would be obvious to one of ordinary skill. Said modification would thus teach the recitations “the safety management program for causing a control unit…to perform:…a process of making the arm mechanism operate to move the charging cable…”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the control unit configured perform a process as recited in order to reduce the risk of people tripping over the charging cable (FALK, ¶ 0005, 0012-0013, 0029).
Regarding claim 8, KWAK discloses a safety management method (¶ 0226: sensor control system SS may be a system for controlling sensors related to safety. The vehicle service facility 1 may include an area sensor 94 and an ultrasonic sensor 92, which detect obstacles around the parking zone; ¶ 0261: In the charging standby processing (S22), the robot system may sense whether the vehicle service robot 100a is safe by using the vision sensor 91, the ultrasonic sensor 92, and the vision camera 93) for a charging system (¶ 0143: FIG. 10 is a perspective view of the vehicle service robot and a charger; ¶ 0148: The robot 100a may be a charging service robot disposed at the charging station for supplying electricity to the electric vehicle, and the robot 100a may connect a plug 71 provided at the charging station to the electric vehicle to service electricity to the electric vehicle) that comprises an arm mechanism (100a, Figs. 3-10) configured to grasp a charging plug (71, Figs. 4-5, 7, 9-10) connected to a charging apparatus (7, Figs. 4-5, 10) through a charging cable (73, Figs. 4, 10) and automatically perform plugging/unplugging of the charging plug to and from a charge port of a vehicle located at a charging area (2, Figs. 4-5, 7, 9, 10; ¶ 0270: In the state in which the service robot 100a holds the plug 71 of the charger 7, the robot system may drive the second driving source 6 to move the slider 3 and then drive the first drive 4 to rotate the rotation arm 5. Then, when the slider 3 moves, and the rotation arm 5 rotates, the service target vehicle 2 may move to a position (i.e., the optimal service position) that is close to the charging port of the service target vehicle, which is transmitted from the server 500; ¶ 0271: When the vehicle service robot 100a moves to the optimum service position by the movement of the slider 3 and the rotation of the rotary arm 5, the vehicle service robot 1 may couple the plug 71 to the charging port) located at a charging area (A1, A2, A3, A4, Fig. 4; ¶ 0204: robot system may include an indicator 8 or a display mechanism for displaying a chargeable area among the plurality of parking areas A1, A2, A3, and A4), the method comprising:
detecting, using information obtained from a sensor (91, Fig. 5) connected to the charging system (¶ 0210: sensor may include a vision sensor 91. The vision sensor 91 may recognize a vehicle license plate or the like when the vehicle 2 enters; ¶ 0216: vision sensor 91 may sense a hazard around the vehicle 2, for example, around the vehicle service robot 100a while the vehicle 2 is being charged. The vision sensor 91 may sense whether the position of the vehicle 2 or the surrounding object approaches the vehicle 2, the vehicle service robot 100a, or the charger 7, whether the door of the vehicle 2 is opened, whether the driver's is ridden or getting off, and whether the vehicle 2 is started; ¶ 0217-0225).
KWAK fails to disclose the method comprising:
detecting, using information obtained from a sensor connected to the charging system, whether or not a state of the charging cable meets predetermined safety conditions when the charging plug is inserted into the charge port of the vehicle.
RICHTER discloses the method comprising:
detecting, using information obtained from a sensor connected to the charging system (¶ 0041: the input interface may be configured to receive sensor data from a sensor in the electric vehicle, wherein the sensor preferably includes at least a top view camera, ultrasonic sensor, radar sensor, and/or laser sensor, and the analysis unit is particularly preferably configured to determine the course of the charging cable by means of image processing algorithms and/or machine learning...It should be understood that this device can also contain one or more sensors; ¶ 0051: It should be understood that the device 10 can also contain such a sensor. The sensor data may include information regarding the position of the charging cable and a motion vector for a third party road user; ¶ 0070: It should be understood that an exact course of the charging cable 28 can also be determined by evaluating camera images and/or other sensor data), whether or not a state of the charging cable meets predetermined safety conditions when the charging plug is inserted into the charge port of the vehicle (¶ 0035: a third party road user can be detected in the vicinity of a charging cable on the basis of the sensor data, and the trajectory of the third party can be determined. The position of the charging station can also be determined on the basis of the sensor data. The course of the cable between the charging station and the charging connector or charging port for the electric vehicle can then be estimated. It should be understood that one or more regions can be defined around the course of the charging cable, for determining different danger levels. If the trajectory of the third party road user crosses one or more regions, the analysis unit can detect an impending dangerous situation. The electric vehicle preferably has sensors, such as top view cameras, that can detect the course of the charging cable, depending on the resolution and orientation of the sensors. The charging cable and/or the third party road user can be detected, e.g., by means of image processing algorithms or machine learning. An impending collision between the road user and the charging cable can be identified from this data, and the road user can be warned thereof, wherein the warning is output by the warning unit in response to a control command; ¶ 0052: analysis unit 14 may be configured to determine an impending dangerous situation on the basis of the sensor data, and generate a control command, if a dangerous situation is impending...By way of example, a dangerous situation can be detected if a movement vector for the third party road user were to cross the position and/or an environment surrounding the position of the charging cable; ¶ 0057: the direct connection between a charging station 30 and an electric vehicle 18 can serve as an approximation of the course of the charging cable 28. If a dangerous operating environment or situation is identified, a control command can be sent to the charging station 30; ¶ 0067: position of the charging cable 28 is indicated by a dotted line, and can be determined in a first estimation by the direct connection between the charging port 26 on the electric vehicle 18 and the charging port 26 on the charging station 20. This direct connection is indicated by the numeral 42. An area can be defined surrounding this direct connection 42, bordered by the two parallel broken lines 44, in order to determine a dangerous situation. If a third party ends up within this area, it can be assumed that this includes a dangerous situation. By way of example, a warning can be output if someone enters this area, as described above, and/or the charging process can be interrupted).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the detecting a state of the charging cable in order to prevent damage to charging cables, charging stations, and/or electric vehicles (RICHTER, ¶ 0007).
KWAK as modified by RICHTER fails to disclose performing, in a case where it is detected that the state of the charging cable does not meet the predetermined safety conditions, a process of making the arm mechanism operate to move the charging cable so that the state of the charging cable becomes one in which the predetermined safety conditions are met.
FALK discloses performing, in a case where it is detected that the state of the charging cable does not meet the predetermined safety conditions, a process of [moving] the charging cable so that the state of the charging cable becomes one in which the predetermined safety conditions are met (¶ 0013: The operator can thus lay the charging cable on the floor also in a targeted manner such that there is no risk of tripping; ¶ 0029: operator can thereupon release the plug 1 and possibly lay the charging cable 30 on the ground in such a way that there is no risk of tripping). Using the arm mechanism of KWAK to automate the process of moving the charging cable as disclosed in FALK produces predictable results and would be obvious to one of ordinary skill. Said modification would thus teach the recitations “performing…a process of making the arm mechanism operate to move the charging cable…”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a process of moving the charging cable as recited in order to reduce the risk of people tripping over the charging cable (FALK, ¶ 0005, 0012-0013, 0029).
Claim(s) 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KWAK in view of RICHTER and FALK as applied to claims 1-3, 5, and 7-8 above, and further in view of KINSEY (US Pub. No. 2022/0144110; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 4, KWAK as modified by RICHTER and FALK teaches the charging system as applied to claim 3, but fails to disclose in the case where the area in which the state of the charging cable does not meet the updated predetermined safety conditions overlaps a parking section for charging, the control unit restricts the next incoming vehicle from parking in the parking section for charging that is in the area in which the state of the charging cable does not meet the updated predetermined safety conditions.
KINSEY discloses the case where the area in which the state of the charging cable does not meet the updated predetermined safety conditions overlaps a parking section for charging (¶ 0030, 0068, 0080). Applying the updated predetermined safety conditions overlap a parking section for charging as disclosed in KINSEY, to the system of KWAK, which controls vehicles to avoid obstacles, would teach the recitation “the control unit restricts the next incoming vehicle from parking in the parking section for charging that is in the area in which the state of the charging cable does not meet the updated predetermined safety conditions”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the updated predetermined safety conditions overlap a parking section for charging in order to reduce the need for repairing charging cables by ensuring that they are properly returned to a charging station (KINSEY, ¶ 0008).
Regarding claim 6, KWAK as modified by RICHTER and FALK teaches the charging system as applied to claim 1, but fails to disclose conditions for the state of the charging cable to meet the updated safety conditions include at least a state in which the charging cable is removed from inside an empty parking section for charging among a plurality of parking sections for charging set in the charging area and a state in which the charging cable is not protruding into a region outside of the charging area.
KINSEY discloses conditions for the state of the charging cable to meet the updated safety conditions include at least a state in which the charging cable is removed from inside an empty parking section for charging among a plurality of parking sections for charging set in the charging area and a state in which the charging cable is not protruding into a region outside of the charging area (¶ 0030, 0068, 0080).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the conditions for the state of the charging cable to meet the updated safety conditions in order to reduce the need for repairing charging cables by ensuring that they are properly returned to a charging station (KINSEY, ¶ 0008).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Manuel Hernandez/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 8/31/2026
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859