DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant's arguments filed 09/02/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
3. Applicant argues the amended claim(s) 1 and 7 is/are allowable over Goto et al. (JP-2018088735-A), Kobayashi et al. (US-20200039490-A1), Nakaoka et al. (US-20090302675-A1), and Chae et al. (US-20220009337-A1). Applicant continues, the cited references fail to disclose newly amended feature of “the deceleration and the required braking force are calculated based on a pressure of the master cylinder, and the electronic control unit further configured to control, in response to determining that the required braking force is not within the braking force area in which the required braking force can be controlled using only the regenerative braking force, the frictional braking device such that a front wheel braking force and a rear wheel braking force are generated to satisfy the required braking force in accordance with an actual braking force distribution line.”
4. Indeed, these references do not teach the newly amended feature(s) of “the deceleration and the required braking force are calculated based on a pressure of the master cylinder.” As such, this amendment has necessitated additional reference Nimura et al. (US-20100295365-A1) which teaches, in brief, upon receipt of the braking request, the brake ECU 200 calculates a target deceleration, namely a required braking force, from the pedal stroke of the brake pedal 12 and the master cylinder pressure ([0048], Fig. 1).
5. In regard to the limitation of “in response to determining that the required braking force is not within the braking force area in which the required braking force can be controlled using only the regenerative braking force, the frictional braking device such that a front wheel braking force and a rear wheel braking force are generated to satisfy the required braking force in accordance with an actual braking force distribution line,” it was interpreted as executing cooperative braking when the regenerative braking force is not enough to satisfy the required braking force. Nakaoka teaches a braking command is issued when brakes should be applied to the vehicle, for example, when the driver operates the brake pedal 24. The brake ECU 70 calculates a required braking force upon reception of the braking command, and calculates a required hydraulic braking force, which is a hydraulic braking force that should be generated by the brake apparatus 20, by subtracting a regenerative braking force from the required braking force. A signal indicating the regenerative braking force is transmitted from the hybrid ECU to the brake apparatus 20. The brake ECU 70 calculates target hydraulic pressures for the wheel cylinders 23FR to 23RL based on the calculated required hydraulic braking force. The brake ECU 70 determines values of control currents that are supplied to the pressure-increasing linear control valve 66 and the pressure-decreasing linear control valve 67 by executing feedback control in such a manner that the wheel cylinder pressures match the respective target hydraulic pressures ([0053], see at least [0079]-[0089] and Fig. 2). As mentioned above, the required hydraulic braking force is calculated by subtracting the regenerative braking force from the required braking force and when the required braking force is more than the regenerative braking force, then the required hydraulic braking force is calculated and applied which is determining that the required braking force is not within the braking force area in which the required braking force can be controlled using only the regenerative braking force, the frictional braking device such that a front wheel braking force and a rear wheel braking force are generated to satisfy the required braking force in accordance with an actual braking force distribution line.
6. As such, this argument is unpersuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim(s) 1-4, and 6-7
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto et al. (JP-2018088735-A) in view of Kobayashi et al. (US-20200039490-A1) and further in view of Nakaoka et al. (US-20090302675-A1) and further in view of Chae et al. (US-20220009337-A1) and further in view of Nimura et al. (US-20100295365-A1).
In regards to claim 1
, Goto teaches a vehicle comprising: (Fig. 1, [0001] A brake control device that is preferably used in a vehicle such as an automobile.)
a regenerative braking device provided on regenerative braking wheels of the vehicle, the regenerative braking wheels being any ones of front wheels and rear wheels of the vehicle, ([0035] The regenerative braking force generated by the motor-generator 55. Fig. 1 portrays a vehicle which the regenerative braking force is applied to the front wheels 2R and 2L.)
a frictional braking device configured to separately control a frictional braking force applied to each of the front wheels and the rear wheels, ([0011] The friction braking device 6 is provided on each wheel 2L, 2R, 3L, 3R, and by using wheel cylinders 4L, 4R, 5L, 5R to press friction linings against a rotating member (disk or drum) which is applying a frictional braking force to each of the front wheels and the rear wheels.)
an electronic control unit ([0058]-[0059] A third ECU 54 is connected to the vehicle data bus 29 that controls the drive of a motor generator 55 including power charging controller, regenerative cooperative control device. The third ECU 54 is the electronic control unit.) configured to, upon detecting a slip state ([0004] Slippage is detected from the vehicle speed and the wheel speed of the driving wheels which are the regenerative braking wheels.) where a wheel speed of the regenerative braking wheels executing regenerative braking is below a slip determination threshold value (According to Applicant’s disclosure “The slip state A is a state where the wheel speed Vw of one of the regenerative wheels 2f executing the regenerative braking is below the slip determination threshold value THs. In the regenerative control process, when the slip state A is detected, the ECU 40 sets the slip determination threshold value THs as a target wheel speed B of the regenerative wheel 2f” ([0057], Fig. 3) which means the “slip determination threshold value THs” is the “target wheel speed B of the regenerative wheel 2f.” Fig. 6, [0074] As shown in Fig. 6, when the amount of slip of the drive wheels (front wheels 2L, 2R) becomes equal to or greater than the slip threshold, the regenerative slip control means reduces the amount of regenerative braking of the motor-generator 55, thereby gradually reducing the amount of braking of the drive wheels which means there is slip threshold for the amount of slip of the drive wheels. Goto also suggests that [0085] the amount of slip can also be calculated based on the difference between the wheel speed detected by a wheel speed sensor and the vehicle speed (vehicle body speed, vehicle speed) detected by a vehicle speed sensor which is precisely what Applicant’s disclosure describes. For any given speed of the vehicle, when the amount of slip of a drive wheel becomes equal to or greater than the slip threshold, it means the wheel speed becomes less than the vehicle speed and falls below a target wheel speed for that specific vehicle speed. Accordingly, as suggested by Goto, by converting the slip threshold to drive wheel speed for a given vehicle speed, the slip state is determined when the drive wheel speed falls below that converted threshold. Furthermore, this limitation is only expressing a different mathematical representation of the slip amount being above a threshold. By using a modified version of Fig. 3 of Applicant’s disclosure, Fig. 1 below, the amount of slip of the drive wheels (front wheels 2L, 2R) becoming greater than the slip threshold of Goto, mathematically is expressed as Slip Amount > Threshold. By replacing the corresponding values from Figure 1, the expression will become SA1 + ΔVw > SA1 or simply ΔVw > 0. By replacing ΔVw with its equivalent value which is Vb - Vw, the expression will become Vb - Vw > 0 or simply Vb > Vw which is exactly what this limitation and paragraph [0057] of Applicant’s disclosure states. Therefore, the limitation of a wheel speed of the regenerative braking wheels executing regenerative braking being below a slip determination threshold value is the same as the amount of slip of the drive wheels becoming greater than the slip threshold.) positioned between a vehicle body speed of the vehicle and an anti-lock brake control operation threshold value ([0065] When the force acting on the tires of the drive wheels becomes greater than the frictional force (grip limit) determined by the load on the tires and the resistance of the road surface, there is a risk that the drive wheels will slip. In this case, there is a risk that the braking distance will increase compared to when the regenerative cooperative control is not being performed, or that the anti-lock brake control by the ESC 33 will be started early. As explained above, to prevent early start of anti-lock brake control, the slip threshold must be above the frictional force (grip limit). By converting the grip limit to the wheel speed of anti-lock operation, the threshold for the drive wheel speed must be above that converted threshold which means the drive wheel speed threshold falls between the vehicle speed and the converted grip limit of the anti-lock brake control wheel speed or the anti-lock brake control operation threshold value.), execute a regenerative control process for controlling the regenerative braking device such that the regenerative braking device generates a regenerative braking force that decreases a difference between the wheel speed of the regenerative braking wheels and the slip determination threshold value, ([0067] In order to reduce the amount of regenerative braking so that the slip will converge early, the amount of regenerative braking is reduced so that the force applied to the tire reaches its grip limit, and then the amount of regenerative braking is maintained which is executing a regenerative control process for controlling the regenerative braking device. This prevents fluctuations in deceleration caused by a response delay until the electric booster 17 operates the electric actuator 21 to generate the desired hydraulic pressure. Furthermore, if the slip does not converge, it is necessary to reduce the amount of regenerative braking so as to suppress slip early while suppressing deceleration fluctuations by repeatedly reducing and maintaining the amount of regenerative braking so that no deceleration fluctuations occur again.)
Goto does not explicitly teach the regenerative braking device including a motor, an inverter, and a battery;
the frictional braking device including a master cylinder, a brake actuator, a brake mechanism, and a hydraulic pipe, the brake actuator configured to independently adjust a brake hydraulic pressure applied to each of the regenerative braking wheels by controlling one or more electromagnetic valves included in the brake actuator, the brake actuator is configured to vary a brake hydraulic pressure control mode for each of the regenerative braking wheels, the brake actuator including a plurality of hydraulic pressure control modes including a pressure increase mode for increasing pressure, a retaining mode for retaining pressure, and a pressure decrease mode for decreasing pressure, the brake actuator is configured to independently control the frictional braking force for each of the regenerative braking wheels by changing the brake hydraulic pressure control mode; and
the electronic control unit further configured to determine whether frictional braking force corresponding to a required deceleration is within a braking force area in which the frictional braking force is controlled using the regenerative braking force based on whether a required braking force is equal to or lower than an upper limit value of the regenerative braking force, the upper limit value being decided according to a state of charge of the battery, a temperature of the battery, and the vehicle body speed of the vehicle, and the deceleration and the required braking force are calculated based on a pressure of the master cylinder, and
the electronic control unit further configured to control, in response to determining that the required braking force is not within the braking force area in which the required braking force can be controlled using only the regenerative braking force, the frictional braking device such that a front wheel braking force and a rear wheel braking force are generated to satisfy the required braking force in accordance with an actual braking force distribution line.
However, Kobayashi teaches a front-wheel-drive hybrid vehicle that includes a regenerative brake device 900 that generates regenerative braking force on the front wheel Wf. The vehicular brake device 100 includes the regenerative brake device 900 and a hydraulic brake device 100A ([0019], Fig. 1). The regenerative brake device 900 includes a generator 901 provided on a drive shaft of the front wheel Wf, a hybrid ECU 902 configured to perform regenerative cooperation, a battery 903, and an inverter 904 ([0020]). Generator 901 is a motor that acts as a generator when regenerative braking is used. The hydraulic brake device 100A is a device that applies hydraulic braking force to the wheels W and includes a brake pedal 11, a master cylinder 12, a booster mechanism 15, an actuator 5, a brake ECU 6, and the wheel cylinder WC ([0021]). The wheel cylinder WC regulates rotation of the wheel W and is provided in a caliper CL ([0022]) which is the brake mechanism. The hydraulic brake device 100A has a configuration in which the master pressure is adjusted independently of the operation of the brake pedal 11, and further has a configuration in which fluctuation of the master pressure does not directly affect the brake pedal 11 ([0057]). The first piping system 50a is provided with a main pipe line A corresponding to “hydraulic pressure path” ([0059]) which is the hydraulic pipe. The main pipe line A is a pipe line connecting the hydraulic passage 24 and the wheel cylinders WCrl and WCrr. The differential pressure control valve 51 is an electromagnetic valve provided on the main pipe line A to control the main pipe line A to a communicating state and a differential pressure state ([0060]) which encompasses independently adjusting a brake hydraulic pressure applied to each of the regenerative braking wheels by controlling one or more electromagnetic valves included in the brake actuator. The master cylinder 12 supplies the brake fluid to the actuator 5 according to the operation amount of the brake pedal 11 ([0025]). The brake ECU 6 includes, as functions, a target wheel pressure setting unit 61, a determination unit 62, a ratio setting unit 63, a first operation control unit 64, and a second operation control unit 65. The target wheel pressure setting unit 61 calculates and sets the target wheel pressure according to a brake operation of a driver, that is, on the basis of the detection result of the stroke sensor 11c ([0077]) which is calculating deceleration based on a depression amount of a brake pedal. As shown in FIG. 4, when normal brake operation is performed, the second ratio is set to be large immediately after the brake operation is started, and the first ratio gradually increases from the time (Ta1) when the second target wheel pressure reaches a predetermined value. A maximum value of the wheel pressure generated by the actuator 5 is set to a predetermined value. When normal brake operation is performed, up to Ta1, the second ratio is 1 (100%), and the first ratio is 0. Then, after Ta1, while the required braking force is increasing, the second target wheel pressure is kept constant at a predetermined value, the first target wheel pressure increases, and the first ratio also increases. The execution regenerative braking force gradually increases from a certain point in time (Ta2) and reaches a maximum regenerative braking force which is a maximum value of the execution regenerative braking force that the regenerative brake device 900 can output, and thereafter, as the vehicle speed decreases, the execution regenerative braking force decreases (Ta2 to Ta3). When a proportion occupied by the execution regenerative braking force in the required braking force increases, the target wheel pressure decreases accordingly. At this time, the brake ECU 6 absorbs the decrease by reducing the second target wheel pressure. That is, when the required braking force is constant, the brake ECU 6 sets the master pressure to be constant and adjusts the increase or decrease of the target wheel pressure according to the magnitude of the execution regenerative braking force by controlling the actuator 5. After the execution regenerative braking force reaches 0, when the brake operation is operated to the cancellation side at a certain point in time (Ta4) and the required braking force starts to decrease, the master pressure starts to decrease accordingly. That is, when the required braking force is decreasing, the brake ECU 6 decreases the first target wheel pressure while keeping the second target wheel pressure constant at a predetermined value in accordance with the decrease of the target wheel pressure. After the first target wheel pressure reaches 0, the second target wheel pressure decreases as the target wheel pressure decreases ([0089]-[0090], Fig. 4) which is determining whether frictional braking force corresponding to a required deceleration is within a braking force area in which the frictional braking force is controlled using the regenerative braking force. Applicant has not cited any paragraphs of the specification for this limitation. As such, this paragraph was interpreted as using the combination of hydraulic/frictional braking force along with regenerative braking force to generate the required braking force. As seen by Fig. 4, the required braking force on the wheels are generated using cooperative braking force and the frictional braking force for the wheels in within the area of the required braking force.
Nakaoka teaches a system for executing cooperative braking control to generate desired braking force through combined execution of the regenerative braking operation and the hydraulic pressure braking operation ([0026]). The brake apparatus 20 includes disc brake units 21FR, 21FL, 21RR and 21RL that are fitted to respective four wheels, a master cylinder unit 27, a power hydraulic pressure source 30, and a hydraulic actuator 40 ([0027], Fig. 1). ABS maintaining valves 51, 52, 53 and 54 are provided at the middle portions of the individual passages 41, 42, 43 and 44, respectively. Each of the ABS maintaining valves 51, 52, 53 and 54 includes a solenoid subjected to the ON/OFF control and a spring, and is a normally-open electromagnetically-controlled valve that is open when electric power is not supplied to the solenoid ([0036]). The wheel cylinders 23 are connected to a reservoir passage 55 via pressure-decreasing passages 46, 47, 48 and 49 connected to the individual passages 41, 42, 43 and 44, respectively. ABS pressure-decreasing valves 56, 57, 58 and 59 are provided at the middle portions of the pressure-decreasing passages 46, 47, 48 and 49, respectively. Each of the ABS pressure-decreasing valves 56 to 59 includes a solenoid subjected to the ON/OFF control and a spring, and is a normally-closed electromagnetically-controlled valve that is closed when electric power is not supplied to the solenoid ([0037]). A pressure-increasing linear control valve 66 is provided at the middle portion of the accumulator passage 63. The accumulator passage 63 and the second passage 45b of the main passage 45 are connected to the reservoir passage 55 via a pressure-decreasing linear control valve 67. Each of the pressure-increasing linear control valve 66 and the pressure-decreasing linear control valve 67 has a linear solenoid and a spring, and is a normally-closed electromagnetically-controlled valve that is closed when electric power is not supplied to the linear solenoid. The opening amounts of the pressure-increasing linear control valve 66 and the pressure-decreasing linear control valve 67 are adjusted in proportion to the magnitudes of electric currents supplied to the respective linear solenoids ([0046]). The brake ECU 70 selects one of three control classes based on the deviation of the actual hydraulic pressure from the target hydraulic pressure, and controls the hydraulic pressure in the main passage 45, that is, the pressure upstream of the maintaining valves. The brake ECU 70 controls the maintaining valve upstream pressure by controlling the pressure-increasing linear control valve 66 and the pressure-decreasing linear control valve 67. A pressure-increasing mode, a pressure-decreasing mode, and a pressure-maintaining mode are set as the three control classes. The brake ECU 70 selects the pressure-increasing mode when the deviation exceeds a pressure-increase required threshold value, selects the pressure-decreasing mode when the deviation exceeds a pressure-decrease required threshold value, and selects the pressure-maintaining mode when the deviation is between the pressure-increase required threshold value and the pressure-decrease required threshold value, that is, when the deviation is within a setting range ([0055]). As mentioned above and illustrated by Fig. 1, each wheel has valves for controlling the pressure mode applied to the wheel. As such, Nakaoka teaches varying a brake hydraulic pressure control mode and independently controlling the frictional braking force for each for each of the wheels, including the regenerative braking wheels. A braking command is issued when brakes should be applied to the vehicle, for example, when the driver operates the brake pedal 24. The brake ECU 70 calculates a required braking force upon reception of the braking command, and calculates a required hydraulic braking force, which is a hydraulic braking force that should be generated by the brake apparatus 20, by subtracting a regenerative braking force from the required braking force. A signal indicating the regenerative braking force is transmitted from the hybrid ECU to the brake apparatus 20. The brake ECU 70 calculates target hydraulic pressures for the wheel cylinders 23FR to 23RL based on the calculated required hydraulic braking force. The brake ECU 70 determines values of control currents that are supplied to the pressure-increasing linear control valve 66 and the pressure-decreasing linear control valve 67 by executing feedback control in such a manner that the wheel cylinder pressures match the respective target hydraulic pressures ([0053], see at least [0079]-[0089] and Fig. 2). As mentioned above, a required hydraulic braking force is calculated by subtracting the regenerative braking force from the required braking force and when the required braking force is more than the regenerative braking force, then the required hydraulic braking force is calculated and applied which is determining that the required braking force is not within the braking force area in which the required braking force can be controlled using only the regenerative braking force, the frictional braking device such that a front wheel braking force and a rear wheel braking force are generated to satisfy the required braking force in accordance with an actual braking force distribution line.
Chae teaches the maximum deceleration at which a vehicle is braked by the motor M refers to the deceleration due to the maximum possible regenerative braking torque which is implemented by the motor when considering a state of charge (SOC) value of a battery, a motor temperature, an inverter temperature, or the like, and the maximum deceleration at which a vehicle may be braked by the motor M based on the current vehicle speed refers to the maximum deceleration which may be obtained by the regenerative braking with the motor M when considering the friction characteristics of the current vehicle speed and road ([0059], Fig. 4). The required deceleration and the required braking torque are easily converted to each other because the braking torque required for implementing the required deceleration is the required braking torque ([0060]). The maximum deceleration acts as the required braking force and the maximum possible regenerative braking torque acts as the upper limit value of the regenerative braking force. Chae also suggests factors other than the ones mentioned above are considered which encompasses factors such as battery temperature.
Nimura teaches upon receipt of the braking request, the brake ECU 200 calculates a target deceleration, namely a required braking force, from the pedal stroke of the brake pedal 12 and the master cylinder pressure ([0048], Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the brake control device of Goto, by incorporating the teachings of Kobayashi and Nakaoka and Chae and Nimura, such that the regenerative braking device includes a generator/motor, an inverter, and a battery and hydraulic brake device a master cylinder, an actuator, calipers, a hydraulic pipe, and the master pressure is adjusted independently and applied to the regenerative braking wheels by controlling the electromagnetic valves and the electronic control unit determines the frictional braking forced based on the regenerative braking force and the force the braking force is determined based on the operation amount of the pedal and ABS maintaining valves, pressure-decreasing and pressure-increasing valves of Nakaoka are used for varying a brake hydraulic pressure control mode and independently controlling the frictional braking force for each of the wheels, including the regenerative braking wheel, and the maximum deceleration of the vehicle is determined based on the maximum possible regenerative braking torque which is implemented based on the vehicle speed, the state of charge value of a battery, an inverter temperature, or other factors such as the temperature of the battery and the target deceleration and the required braking force are calculated from the pedal stroke of the brake pedal and the master cylinder pressure and the required braking force is applied through regenerative and hydraulic braking (cooperative braking), when the regenerative braking force cannot satisfy the required braking force.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Kobayashi, to provide two pressure sources that are controllable by the control unit and capable of pressurizing the wheel pressure, and redundancy of pressurized configuration is secured ([0009]) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows the vehicle to become more reliable by the redundancy in the event of a failure.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Nakaoka, to compensate for an unnecessary decrease in the upstream pressure in the pressure-regulating mode using mechanical opening/closing of the pressure-increasing control valve ([0018]) and to bring the control target hydraulic pressure to the target pressure more smoothly ([0019]) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows the ride to be smoother during braking events.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Chae, to secure stable braking performance even while maximizing regenerative braking performance ([0004]) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows more energy to be recovered while the vehicle runs smoothly.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Nimura, improving pedal feeling ([0013]) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows the driver to feel the vehicle is more responsive.
Figure 1 - Slip Amount Calculation
In regards to claim 2
, Goto, as modified by Kobayashi and Nakaoka and Chae and Nimura, teaches the vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the electronic control unit is configured to execute a first supplementary process for generating the frictional braking force of non-regenerative braking wheels, which are the other ones of the front wheels and the rear wheels, such that the required braking force is satisfied during the execution of the regenerative control process. ([0062] When the brake pedal 7 is operated, if a frictional braking force corresponding to the amount of operation of the brake pedal 7 is generated as is, and in addition a regenerative braking force is generated by the kinetic energy of the motor-generator 55, the braking force of the entire vehicle will be excessive. Therefore, in regenerative cooperative control, the control amount of the electric booster 17 (electric motor 22) in response to the operation amount of the brake pedal 7 is changed to reduce the hydraulic pressure in the master cylinder 9 by an amount corresponding to the regenerative braking force, so that the desired braking force corresponding to the operation of the brake pedal 7 is obtained from the braking force due to friction braking and the braking force due to regenerative braking which is applying frictional braking force of non-regenerative braking wheels and applying regenerative braking force to the regenerative braking wheels.)
In regards to claim 3
, Goto, as modified by Kobayashi and Nakaoka and Chae and Nimura, teaches the vehicle according to claim 2, wherein the electronic control unit is configured to, when the required vehicle braking force is increased during braking in which the regenerative control process is executed, execute a replacing process for replacing the regenerative braking force controlled by the regenerative control process with the frictional braking force of the regenerative braking wheels after the frictional braking force of the non-regenerative braking wheels controlled by the first supplementary process reaches a specific threshold value. (Fig. 6, [0074] The amount of reduction in the regenerative braking amount is set to a smaller value than the first specified amount of reduction set after slippage is detected so that deceleration fluctuations do not occur. That is, as shown in Fig. 6, when the amount of slip of the drive wheels (front wheels 2L, 2R) becomes equal to or greater than the slip threshold, the regenerative slip control means reduces the amount of regenerative braking of the motor-generator 55, thereby gradually reducing the amount of braking of the drive wheels. As a result, during straight-line braking and cornering braking, the electric booster 17 activates the electric actuator 21, preventing fluctuations in deceleration due to response delays until the desired hydraulic pressure is generated, while suppressing slippage early and keeping vehicle behavior stable which is replacing the regenerative braking force with the frictional braking force.)
In regards to claim 4
, Goto, as modified by Kobayashi and Nakaoka and Chae and Nimura, teaches the vehicle according to claim 3, wherein the electronic control unit is configured to, in the replacing process, increase the frictional braking force of the regenerative braking wheels while continuing the regenerative control process. (Fig. 6, [0074] The amount of reduction in the regenerative braking amount is set to a smaller value than the first specified amount of reduction set after slippage is detected so that deceleration fluctuations do not occur. That is, as shown in Fig. 6, when the amount of slip of the drive wheels (front wheels 2L, 2R) becomes equal to or greater than the slip threshold, the regenerative slip control means reduces the amount of regenerative braking of the motor-generator 55, thereby gradually reducing the amount of braking of the drive wheels. While the replacing process is executed, the regenerative braking is gradually reduced, which means the regenerative control process is continuing during the replacing process.)
In regards to claim 6
, Goto, as modified by Kobayashi and Nakaoka and Chae and Nimura, teaches the vehicle according to claim 3, wherein the electronic control unit is configured to execute a second supplementary process for increasing the frictional braking force of the non-regenerative braking wheels such that the required vehicle braking force is satisfied during the execution of the replacing process. ([0076] When the driver of the vehicle depresses the brake pedal 7, a detection signal from the operation amount detection sensor 8 is input to the first ECU 27. The first ECU 27 controls the operation of the electric actuator 21 of the electric booster 17 in accordance with the detected value. That is, the first ECU 27 supplies electricity to the electric motor 22 based on a detection signal from the operation amount detection sensor 8 to drive the electric motor 22 to rotate. In this case, the first ECU 27 calculates the braking force (friction braking force) to be generated by the friction braking device 6, which is calculated by subtracting the regenerative braking force (regenerative braking force) of the motor-generator 55 from the braking force intended by the driver (braking force for the entire vehicle) corresponding to the stroke amount of the brake pedal 7, and supplies electricity to the electric motor 22 so as to obtain the hydraulic pressure required to obtain this braking force, thereby driving and rotating the electric motor 22 which is supplying a required vehicle braking force.)
In regards to claim 7
, Goto teaches a vehicle control method of controlling a vehicle (Fig. 1, Fig. 4, [0001] A brake control device that is preferably used in a vehicle such as an automobile. Fig. 4 shows a flowchart which is a method for controlling the brake control device.) including a regenerative braking device and a frictional braking device ([0006] A brake control device that controls the regenerative braking amount of a regenerative motor provided on a vehicle, and brakes the vehicle by controlling a friction braking device provided on each wheel and having friction members that move under hydraulic pressure.), the regenerative braking device being provided on regenerative braking wheels, which are any ones of front wheels and rear wheels of the vehicle, ([0035] The regenerative braking force generated by the motor-generator 55. Figure one portrays a vehicle which the regenerative braking force is applied to the front wheels 2R and 2L.), and the frictional braking device being configured to separately control a frictional braking force applied to each of the front wheels and the rear wheels, ([0011] The friction braking device 6 is provided on each wheel 2L, 2R, 3L, 3R, and by using wheel cylinders 4L, 4R, 5L, 5R to press friction linings against a rotating member (disk or drum) which is applying a frictional braking force to each of the front wheels and the rear wheels.), the vehicle control method comprising:
executing, upon detecting a slip state ([0004] Slippage is detected from the vehicle speed and the wheel speed of the driving wheels which are the regenerative braking wheels.) where a wheel speed of the regenerative braking wheels executing regenerative braking is below a slip determination threshold value (According to Applicant’s disclosure “The slip state A is a state where the wheel speed Vw of one of the regenerative wheels 2f executing the regenerative braking is below the slip determination threshold value THs. In the regenerative control process, when the slip state A is detected, the ECU 40 sets the slip determination threshold value THs as a target wheel speed B of the regenerative wheel 2f” ([0057], Fig. 3) which means the “slip determination threshold value THs” is the “target wheel speed B of the regenerative wheel 2f.” Fig. 6, [0074] As shown in Fig. 6, when the amount of slip of the drive wheels (front wheels 2L, 2R) becomes equal to or greater than the slip threshold, the regenerative slip control means reduces the amount of regenerative braking of the motor-generator 55, thereby gradually reducing the amount of braking of the drive wheels which means there is slip threshold for the amount of slip of the drive wheels. Goto also suggests that [0085] the amount of slip can also be calculated based on the difference between the wheel speed detected by a wheel speed sensor and the vehicle speed (vehicle body speed, vehicle speed) detected by a vehicle speed sensor which is precisely what Applicant’s disclosure describes. For any given speed of the vehicle, when the amount of slip of a drive wheel becomes equal to or greater than the slip threshold, it means the wheel speed becomes less than the vehicle speed and falls below a target wheel speed for that specific vehicle speed. Accordingly, as suggested by Goto, by converting the slip threshold to drive wheel speed for a given vehicle speed, the slip state is determined when the drive wheel speed falls below that converted threshold. Furthermore, this limitation is only expressing a different mathematical representation of the slip amount being above a threshold. By using a modified version of Fig. 3 of Applicant’s disclosure, Fig. 1 above, the amount of slip of the drive wheels (front wheels 2L, 2R) becoming greater than the slip threshold of Goto, mathematically is expressed as Slip Amount > Threshold. By replacing the corresponding values from Figure 1, the expression will become SA1 + ΔVw > SA1 or simply ΔVw > 0. By replacing ΔVw with its equivalent value which is Vb - Vw, the expression will become Vb - Vw > 0 or simply Vb > Vw which is exactly what this limitation and paragraph [0057] of Applicant’s disclosure states. Therefore, the limitation of a wheel speed of the regenerative braking wheels executing regenerative braking being below a slip determination threshold value is the same as the amount of slip of the drive wheels becoming greater than the slip threshold.) positioned between a vehicle body speed of the vehicle and an anti-lock brake control operation threshold value ([0065] When the force acting on the tires of the drive wheels becomes greater than the frictional force (grip limit) determined by the load on the tires and the resistance of the road surface, there is a risk that the drive wheels will slip. In this case, there is a risk that the braking distance will increase compared to when the regenerative cooperative control is not being performed, or that the anti-lock brake control by the ESC 33 will be started early. As explained above, to prevent early start of anti-lock brake control, the slip threshold must be above the frictional force (grip limit). By converting the grip limit to the wheel speed of anti-lock operation, the threshold for the drive wheel speed must be above that converted threshold which means the drive wheel speed threshold falls between the vehicle speed and the converted grip limit of the anti-lock brake control wheel speed or the anti-lock brake control operation threshold value.), a regenerative control process for controlling the regenerative braking device such that the regenerative braking device generates regenerative braking force that decreases a difference between the wheel speed of the regenerative braking wheels and the slip determination threshold value. ([0067] In order to reduce the amount of regenerative braking so that the slip will converge early, the amount of regenerative braking is reduced so that the force applied to the tire reaches its grip limit, and then the amount of regenerative braking is maintained which is executing a regenerative control process for controlling the regenerative braking device. This prevents fluctuations in deceleration caused by a response delay until the electric booster 17 operates the electric actuator 21 to generate the desired hydraulic pressure. Furthermore, if the slip does not converge, it is necessary to reduce the amount of regenerative braking so as to suppress slip early while suppressing deceleration fluctuations by repeatedly reducing and maintaining the amount of regenerative braking so that no deceleration fluctuations occur again.)
Goto does not explicitly teach the regenerative braking device including a motor, an inverter, and a battery,
the frictional braking device including a master cylinder, a brake actuator, a brake mechanism, and a hydraulic pipe,
independently adjusting a brake hydraulic pressure applied to each of the regenerative braking wheels by controlling one or more electromagnetic valves included in the brake actuator;
varying a brake hydraulic pressure control mode for each of the regenerative braking wheels, the brake actuator including a plurality of hydraulic pressure control modes including a pressure increase mode for increasing pressure, a retaining mode for retaining pressure, and a pressure decrease mode for decreasing pressure;
independently controlling the frictional braking force for each of the regenerative braking wheels by changing the brake hydraulic pressure control mode;
determining whether frictional braking force corresponding to a required deceleration is within a braking force area in which the frictional braking force is controlled using the regenerative braking force based on whether a required braking force is equal to or lower than an upper limit value of the regenerative braking force, the upper limit being decided according to a state of charge of the battery, a temperature of the battery, and the vehicle body speed of the vehicle, and the deceleration and the required braking force are calculated based on a pressure of the master cylinder; and
controlling, in response to determining that the required braking force is not within the braking force area in which the required braking force can be controlled using only the regenerative braking force, the frictional braking device such that a front wheel braking force and a rear wheel braking force are generated to satisfy the required braking force in accordance with an actual braking force distribution line.
However, Kobayashi teaches a front-wheel-drive hybrid vehicle that includes a regenerative brake device 900 that generates regenerative braking force on the front wheel Wf. The vehicular brake device 100 includes the regenerative brake device 900 and a hydraulic brake device 100A ([0019], Fig. 1). The regenerative brake device 900 includes a generator 901 provided on a drive shaft of the front wheel Wf, a hybrid ECU 902 configured to perform regenerative cooperation, a battery 903, and an inverter 904 ([0020]). Generator 901 is a motor that acts as a generator when regenerative braking is used. The hydraulic brake device 100A is a device that applies hydraulic braking force to the wheels W and includes a brake pedal 11, a master cylinder 12, a booster mechanism 15, an actuator 5, a brake ECU 6, and the wheel cylinder WC ([0021]). The wheel cylinder WC regulates rotation of the wheel W and is provided in a caliper CL ([0022]) which is the brake mechanism. The hydraulic brake device 100A has a configuration in which the master pressure is adjusted independently of the operation of the brake pedal 11, and further has a configuration in which fluctuation of the master pressure does not directly affect the brake pedal 11 ([0057]). The first piping system 50a is provided with a main pipe line A corresponding to “hydraulic pressure path” ([0059]) which is the hydraulic pipe. The main pipe line A is a pipe line connecting the hydraulic passage 24 and the wheel cylinders WCrl and WCrr. The differential pressure control valve 51 is an electromagnetic valve provided on the main pipe line A to control the main pipe line A to a communicating state and a differential pressure state ([0060]) which encompasses independently adjusting a brake hydraulic pressure applied to each of the regenerative braking wheels by controlling one or more electromagnetic valves included in the brake actuator. The master cylinder 12 supplies the brake fluid to the actuator 5 according to the operation amount of the brake pedal 11 ([0025]). The brake ECU 6 includes, as functions, a target wheel pressure setting unit 61, a determination unit 62, a ratio setting unit 63, a first operation control unit 64, and a second operation control unit 65. The target wheel pressure setting unit 61 calculates and sets the target wheel pressure according to a brake operation of a driver, that is, on the basis of the detection result of the stroke sensor 11c ([0077]) which is calculating deceleration based on a depression amount of a brake pedal. As shown in FIG. 4, when normal brake operation is performed, the second ratio is set to be large immediately after the brake operation is started, and the first ratio gradually increases from the time (Ta1) when the second target wheel pressure reaches a predetermined value. A maximum value of the wheel pressure generated by the actuator 5 is set to a predetermined value. When normal brake operation is performed, up to Ta1, the second ratio is 1 (100%), and the first ratio is 0. Then, after Ta1, while the required braking force is increasing, the second target wheel pressure is kept constant at a predetermined value, the first target wheel pressure increases, and the first ratio also increases. The execution regenerative braking force gradually increases from a certain point in time (Ta2) and reaches a maximum regenerative braking force which is a maximum value of the execution regenerative braking force that the regenerative brake device 900 can output, and thereafter, as the vehicle speed decreases, the execution regenerative braking force decreases (Ta2 to Ta3). When a proportion occupied by the execution regenerative braking force in the required braking force increases, the target wheel pressure decreases accordingly. At this time, the brake ECU 6 absorbs the decrease by reducing the second target wheel pressure. That is, when the required braking force is constant, the brake ECU 6 sets the master pressure to be constant and adjusts the increase or decrease of the target wheel pressure according to the magnitude of the execution regenerative braking force by controlling the actuator 5. After the execution regenerative braking force reaches 0, when the brake operation is operated to the cancellation side at a certain point in time (Ta4) and the required braking force starts to decrease, the master pressure starts to decrease accordingly. That is, when the required braking force is decreasing, the brake ECU 6 decreases the first target wheel pressure while keeping the second target wheel pressure constant at a predetermined value in accordance with the decrease of the target wheel pressure. After the first target wheel pressure reaches 0, the second target wheel pressure decreases as the target wheel pressure decreases ([0089]-[0090], Fig. 4) which is determining whether frictional braking force corresponding to a required deceleration is within a braking force area in which the frictional braking force is controlled using the regenerative braking force. Applicant has not cited any paragraphs of the specification for this limitation. As such, this paragraph was interpreted as using the combination of hydraulic/frictional braking force along with regenerative braking force to generate the required braking force. As seen by Fig. 4, the required braking force on the wheels are generated using cooperative braking force and the frictional braking force for the wheels in within the area of the required braking force.
Nakaoka teaches a system for executing cooperative braking control to generate desired braking force through combined execution of the regenerative braking operation and the hydraulic pressure braking operation ([0026]). The brake apparatus 20 includes disc brake units 21FR, 21FL, 21RR and 21RL that are fitted to respective four wheels, a master cylinder unit 27, a power hydraulic pressure source 30, and a hydraulic actuator 40 ([0027], Fig. 1). ABS maintaining valves 51, 52, 53 and 54 are provided at the middle portions of the individual passages 41, 42, 43 and 44, respectively. Each of the ABS maintaining valves 51, 52, 53 and 54 includes a solenoid subjected to the ON/OFF control and a spring, and is a normally-open electromagnetically-controlled valve that is open when electric power is not supplied to the solenoid ([0036]). The wheel cylinders 23 are connected to a reservoir passage 55 via pressure-decreasing passages 46, 47, 48 and 49 connected to the individual passages 41, 42, 43 and 44, respectively. ABS pressure-decreasing valves 56, 57, 58 and 59 are provided at the middle portions of the pressure-decreasing passages 46, 47, 48 and 49, respectively. Each of the ABS pressure-decreasing valves 56 to 59 includes a solenoid subjected to the ON/OF