Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 10, filed 12/17/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Peterson (US 20190137029 A1) in view of Jin (CN 112443722 A) and Abney (US 5186757 A).
Regarding Applicants argument with respect to the reducer extensions of Peterson, The reducer extensions (90a and 90b) are of a different embodiment of Peterson than the one relied on the rejection below, and as such, one would not combine different sized extensions and reducers, as such examiner does not find this persuasive. Further, Assuming the reducer Extensions are part of the embodiment relied upon as argued, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention would recognize that utilizing a Flange as described in Abney below would be a matter of substitution of one known equivalent for another (See MPEP 2144.06 II) for allowing interchangeability between reducers and pipelines. As Abney discloses, as cited below in the rejection of claim 1, “It is an object of the present invention to provide a portable pig launching system which has low maintenance requirements and is configured to be interchangeable relative barrel length and reducer size, as well as flange plate configuration.” Which seems to be describing a similar goal to that of the reducer extensions as described in Para [0063] of Peterson “In some embodiments, the apparatus (10) is adapted for use with multiple pipelines having the same outer diameter but different wall thicknesses by providing one or more removable reducer extensions that permit a smooth transition of the inner surface of the reducer (20) to the inner surface of the pipeline (200).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 14 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peterson (US 20190137029 A1) in view of Jin (CN 112443722 A) and Abney (US 5186757 A)
Regarding Claim 1, Peterson disclose
An apparatus for loading a pig (100) into a pipeline (200) defining an axial forward direction from a pipeline end (see figure 1 left end of 200, axial direction being left to right through the pipe) defining a pipeline opening into a pipeline interior (see where 100 is inserted), and a transverse direction perpendicular to the axial direction, and comprising a cylindrical pipeline outer surface (external surface of 200) extending axially forward from the pipeline end, and a cylindrical pipeline inner surface (inner surface of 100) extending axially forward from the pipeline end, the apparatus comprising:
(a) a support member (41, and 45) for engaging the cylindrical pipeline outer surface to support the apparatus on the pipeline (See Para [0048] “The apparatus (10) may include one or more support members for supporting the apparatus (10) by engaging an outer wall (206) of pipeline (200) to facilitate positioning the front end (24) of the reducer (20) into concentric alignment, and direct or indirect axially bearing relationship, with the pipeline end (202). In the embodiment shown in FIGS. 1 to 3, for example, the support members include a rear tubular sleeve (41) and a front tubular sleeve (43) attached by an axially extending member (45).”);
(b) a tubular reducer (20) attached to the support member and extending axially from a rear end to a front end configured for concentric alignment with and for bearing axially against the pipeline end, and having an inner diameter that decreases from the rear end to the front end (See Figure 6D and Para [0048] “In this embodiment, the rear tubular sleeve (41) and the front tubular sleeve (43) have an inner diameter slightly larger than the outer diameter of the pipeline (200), so that they can slide loosely over the pipeline end (202), until the front end (24) of the tubular reducer (20) abuts the pipeline end (202).”);
(c) a force-transmitting member (31) with a pig-engaging surface (32);
(d) a guide member (40) attached to the support member (See Para [0048] “The outer surface of the rear tubular sleeve (41) and the outer surface of the front tubular sleeve (43) are welded to the guide member (40). As such, the reducer (20) is permanently attached to the guide member (40) via the tubular sleeve (41).”), wherein the guide member engages the force-transmitting member to limit transverse movement of the force- transmitting member relative to the reducer, while permitting the force- transmitting member to move axially forward relative to the reducer such that the pig-engaging surface pushes the pig through the reducer into the pipeline interior (See Para [0047] “The guide member (40) constrains movement of the pig-engaging surface (32) relative to the pipeline opening in the axial direction when the apparatus (10) is mounted on the pipeline (200).”); and
(e) at least one pipeline-engaging member (54) attached to the force-transmitting member (31, via 34, see figure 1 and 2) so as to move in unison with the force-transmitting member relative to the reducer (See Para [0056] “Eventually, the sling constricts the pipeline (200) with sufficient force that friction between the second cable (60) and the pipeline (200) resists further axially rearward movement of the winch (70). At that point, continued winding of the first cable (50) is accompanied by axially forward movement (in FIG. 1, to the right) of the pull rod (34) and the attached pig-engaging surface (32). The pig-engaging surface (32) thereby pushes the pig (100) axially forward through the reducer (20) and the pipeline end (202), thus loading the pig (100) into the pipeline (200).”)
And the tubular reducer is configured to receive the pig (See Para [0042] “The tubular reducer (20) facilitates insertion of the pig (100) into pipeline end (202).”)
But does not explicitly disclose the support member comprising an annular support member flange formed on a rear end of the support member;
The tubular reducer removably coupled to the support member, the front end of the tubular reduces defining an annular flange,
Wherein the annular reduce flange mates with the support member flange to removably couple the tubular reducer to the support member.
wherein the pipeline-engaging member comprises at least one of:
(i) an outer pipeline-engaging member disposed to engage the pipeline outer surface, and move axially forward relative to the pipeline, when the force-transmitting member moves axially forward relative to the reducer, and the front end of the reducer is bearing axially against the pipeline end; and
(ii) an inner pipeline-engaging member, disposed to engage the pipeline inner surface, and move axially forward relative to the pipeline, when the force-transmitting member moves axially forward relative to the reducer, and the front end of the reducer is bearing axially against the pipeline end.
However, Jin discloses a similar pipeline pig (201, 202, 203), with an outer pipeline-engaging member (101, 102, 103 and 104) disposed to engage the pipeline outer surface, and move axially forward relative to the pipeline (See Figure 1 of Jin),
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the pipeline engaging member to engage the outer surface of the pipeline in order to allow for easier movement of the force transmitting member while loading a pig.
Examiner notes that Peterson as modified discloses an outer pipeline-engaging member disposed to engage the pipeline outer surface, and move axially forward relative to the pipeline (54, modified to contact the external surface via a wheel by Jin), when the force- transmitting member moves axially forward relative to the reducer, and the front end of the reducer is bearing axially against the pipeline end (See Para [0056] “Eventually, the sling constricts the pipeline (200) with sufficient force that friction between the second cable (60) and the pipeline (200) resists further axially rearward movement of the winch (70). At that point, continued winding of the first cable (50) is accompanied by axially forward movement (in FIG. 1, to the right) of the pull rod (34) and the attached pig-engaging surface (32). The pig-engaging surface (32) thereby pushes the pig (100) axially forward through the reducer (20) and the pipeline end (202), thus loading the pig (100) into the pipeline (200).”);
And Abney discloses a similar pig loading system comprising a reducer (2),
A barrel (1) comprising a barrel flange (23) formed on one end of the barrel (See Figure 1);
The tubular reducer removably coupled (via bolts 24) to the barrel (2), the front end of the tubular reduces defining an annular flange (30, the plate mated with 23 in figure 1, See Col 4 Line 28-33 cited below),
Wherein the annular reducer flange mates with the support member flange to removably couple the tubular reducer to the support member (See Col 4 Line 28-33 cited below “Communicating with the front end of barrel 1 is barrel plate 23, configured to communicate with reducer 2 via reducer plate 30 with gasket 25 of rubber or the like juxtaposed therebetween. Stud bolts and nuts 24 threadingly engage to hold the reducer 2 and the barrel 1 together via barrel 1 and reducer 30 plates.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the reducer and support to be attached via mating flanges as doing so would allow for to easily be attached to the support member, removed, and replaced as necessary, while also allowing for different reducers to be used as necessary with the same support member and pipe line, See Col 3 Line 45-50 “It is an object of the present invention to provide a portable pig launching system which has low maintenance requirements and is configured to be interchangeable relative barrel length and reducer size, as well as flange plate configuration.”
Regarding Claim 2, Peterson as modified discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 and as best understood by examiner does not explicitly disclose, wherein one or both of the inner and outer pipeline- engaging member comprises a rolling member rotatably attached to the force-transmitting member for rolling along the respective pipeline inner or pipeline outer surface.
However, Jin discloses an outer pipeline-engaging member (101, 102, 103 and 104) comprising a rolling member (103) rotatably attached to the force-transmitting member for rolling along the pipeline outer surface (104).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify to modify the pipeline engaging member to include a roller assembly as Jin advantageously describes. “Further, the present invention discloses that the active assembly further includes a roller 103, the roller 103 is installed on the holder 101, and the roller 103 can roll on the outer wall of the pipe 3 to be dredged. The setting of the roller 103 facilitates the movement of the active component on the pipeline 3 to be dredged. There are multiple rollers 103, which are evenly distributed on the end of the holder 101 facing the pipe 3 to be dredged. In some embodiments, the present invention discloses that the pipeline 3 to be dredged is provided with a guide rail, and the holder 101 is provided with a sliding groove that is slidably connected with the guide rail. It should be noted that a sliding rail can also be laid on the pipeline 3 to be dredged. When the roller 103 is installed on the cage 101, the roller 103 is connected to the sliding rail in a rolling manner.”
Regarding Claim 14, Peterson as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition discloses further comprising a winch, and a cable comprising a first end wrapped around the winch, and a second end attached to the force-transmitting member (See Para [0050] “The tensioning mechanism includes the first cable (50) and the winch (70). In use, the first cable (50) is attached to the rigid member (30) and the pipeline (200) such that winding the first cable (50) with the winch (70) induces tension in the tensioning mechanism between the rigid member (30) and the pipeline (200).”).
Regarding Claim 21, Peterson as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition discloses wherein the annular support member flange and annular reducer flange are removably coupled to each other using one of threaded bolts (stud bolt and nut 24 of Abney), a release clamp, a clip, a latch device, or a spring-type hook.
Claim(s) 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peterson (US 20190137029 A1) in view of Jin (CN 112443722 A) and Abney (US 5186757 A) and in further view of Hepburn (US 20090152520 A1)
Regarding Claim 3, Peterson as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 2 but does not explicitly disclose wherein the rolling member comprises a wheel rotatably supported on an axle attached to the force-transmitting member.
However, Hepburn discloses a similar device for insertion or extraction of a pig which utilizes a rolling member (60) which comprises a wheel (55) rotatably supported on an axle (57) attached to a force-transmitting member (cart 20 for extracting pig, see figure 2 and 5).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to further modify the rollers of Peterson as modified to comprise a wheel rotatably supported on an axle attached to the force-transmitting member. As one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a roller would be an equivalent to an axle and wheel for rotatably engaging a pipeline.
Claim(s) 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peterson (US 20190137029 A1) in view of Jin (CN 112443722 A) and Abney (US 5186757 A) and in further view of Liang (CN 113418052 A)
Regarding Claim 4, Peterson as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one pipeline-engaging member comprises the outer pipeline-engaging member comprising a first slide member attached to the force-transmitting member for sliding axially forward along the pipeline outer surface, wherein, optionally, the first slide member comprises a convexly curved surface for engaging the pipeline outer surface.
However, Liang discloses an exterior pipeline engaging member (10 and 20), comprising a first slide member attached to the force-transmitting member for sliding axially forward along the pipeline outer surface (outer surfaces of 10 and 20 can slide along an outer surface). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the pig launching device to include an exterior pipeline engaging member attached to the force-transmitting member for sliding axially forward along the pipeline outer surface as advantageously described by Liang, See Para [n0069] “The external structure of the small tube support designed by the design method of the present invention has a unified sliding function, axial guide function and three-way limit function, which can achieve consistency in requirements such as rooting position and space requirements, facilitate the arrangement of pipes and supports, and has ideal adaptability to design changes;”.
Regarding Claim 5, Peterson as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 4 and in addition discloses, wherein the first slide member is removably attached to the force-transmitting member (removably attached via bolts 30, see Figure 7 of Liang).
Regarding Claim 6, Peterson as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 5 and in addition discloses wherein the first slide member is attached to or forms part of a sleeve member that removably slides onto the force-transmitting member (See Liang Figure 7 and 8, 100 and 200 removable slides onto the force transmitting member equivalent (rod or pipe shown in figures 7 and 8, and see Para [n0064] “The fastener 30 detachably mounts the upper component 20 on the lower component 10”).
Regarding Claim 7, Peterson as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 6 but does not explicitly disclose wherein the apparatus further comprises a second slide member (20) attached to or forming part of the sleeve member (See Fig. 7 of Liang), wherein the first slide member and the second slide member are disposed on different portions of the sleeve member (See Figure 7 of Liang), and wherein the sleeve member is selectively installable onto the portion of the force-transmitting member in both:
(a) a first orientation wherein the first slide member engages the pipeline outer surface but the second slide member does not engage the pipeline outer surface (See Orientation shown in Fig. 8); and
(b) a second orientation wherein the second slide member engages the pipeline outer surface but the first slide member does not engage the pipeline outer surface (See Para [n0058] “When designing specific components, the load limits determined in the load limit planning are combined to carry out dimensional design of the components and the four components in the matching design. It is necessary to ensure that the bracket components with the same specifications, the same materials and different functions use the same size to achieve the interchangeability of the bracket components of each function.” 10 and 20 are interchangeable parts, allowing for one to reverse the orientation of the 10 and 20 components).
Regarding Claim 8, Peterson discloses all the limitations of claim 7 but does not explicitly disclose wherein a transverse thickness of the first slide member is different than a transverse thickness of the second slide member.
However, Liang, does disclose two slide members with through holes of corresponding sizes (See Para [n0062] and [n0063] “The lower part 10 has a semi-cylindrical first pipe-through hole 100 at the top. The size of the first pipe-through hole 100 matches the outer diameter of the pipe passing through (the size of the guide function bracket pipe-through hole 100 is slightly larger than the outer diameter of the pipe);” and The upper component 20 has a semi-cylindrical second pipe hole 200 at the bottom corresponding to the first pipe hole 100. The size of the second pipe hole 200 matches the outer diameter of the pipe passing therethrough (the size of the guide support pipe hole 100 is slightly larger than the outer diameter of the pipe) ;).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the transverse thickness of the first slide member to be different than that of the second one, while retaining the corresponding relationship of the size of the through holes as described in Liang, as doing so would be a matter of obvious design choice, as it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device. See MPEP 2144.04 IV A.
Claim(s) 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peterson (US 20190137029 A1) in view of Jin (CN 112443722 A) and Abney (US 5186757 A) and in view of Meerkerk (US 20210270404 A1)
Regarding Claim 12, Peterson as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition discloses wherein the support member comprises a tubular sleeve that fits circumferentially around the cylindrical pipeline outer surface (See Peterson Para [0048] “In this embodiment, the rear tubular sleeve (41) and the front tubular sleeve (43) have an inner diameter slightly larger than the outer diameter of the pipeline (200), so that they can slide loosely over the pipeline end (202), until the front end (24) of the tubular reducer (20) abuts the pipeline end (202).”).
Regarding Claim 13, Peterson as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition further comprising a second tubular reducer extending axially from a rear end to a front end configured for concentric alignment with and for bearing axially against the pipeline end, and having an inner diameter that decreases from the rear end to the front end (See Para [0063] cited below), wherein the second reducer is removably attachable to the support member when the reducer is removed from the support member (See Para [0067] “As shown in FIGS. 6D to 6F, the position of the first or second tubular reducer extension (90a or 90b) within the tubular sleeve (41) may be secured with bolts or screws (92, 94) that pass through threaded apertures (96, 98) formed in the tubular sleeve (41). The bolts or screws (92, 94) engage the first or second tubular reducer extension (90a or 90b) with sufficient compression to prevent the first or second tubular reducer extension (90a or 90b) from falling out of the tubular sleeve (41) when the apparatus (10) is being mounted on the end of the pipeline (200b or 200c).”), and wherein the inner diameter of the second reducer at the front end of the second reducer is different from the inner diameter of the reducer at the front end of reducer (See Para [0063] “in some embodiments, the apparatus (10) is adapted for use with multiple pipelines having the same outer diameter but different wall thicknesses by providing one or more removable reducer extensions that permit a smooth transition of the inner surface of the reducer (20) to the inner surface of the pipeline (200). As a non-limiting example, FIGS. 6A to 6F show different subassemblies of the reducer (20), the tubular sleeve (41), and tubular reducer extensions (90a, 90b) so that the apparatus (10) can be used with different pipelines (200a, 200b, 200c) having different wall thicknesses.”).
Claim(s) 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peterson (US 20190137029 A1) in view of Jin (CN 112443722 A) and Abney (US 5186757 A) and in view of Meerkerk (US 20210270404 A1) and Hepburn (US 20090152520 A1)
Regarding Claim 15, Peterson as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose, further comprising:
(a) a hydraulic cylinder comprising a barrel securely attached to the force- transmitting member, and a piston rod movable relative to the barrel; and
(b) a cable comprising a first end for direct or indirect attachment to the pipeline, and
a second end attached to the piston rod, wherein between the first and second ends, the cable engages the force-transmitting member such that, when the first end is attached to the pipeline, tension in the cable induced by movement of the piston rod relative to the barrel actuates movement of the force-transmitting member in the axially forward direction relative to the reducer.
However, Hepburn discloses a similar pig launching apparatus which comprises:
(a) a hydraulic cylinder (See Para [0031] “As explained above with reference to the wheels, though the force to wind the spool is provided manually in the illustrative embodiment, other electromechanical, hydraulic or pneumatic motors may be used.”)
(d) a cable (84) comprising a first end for direct or indirect attachment (87) to the pipeline, and
a second end attached to hydraulic motor (other end of 84 opposite 87), wherein between the first and second ends, the cable engages the force-transmitting member such that (See Fig. 5 where hook 87 engages force transmitting member on pig 105), when the first end is attached to the pipeline, tension in the cable induced by movement of the piston rod relative to the barrel actuates movement of the force-transmitting member in the axially direction relative to the pipeline (See Para [0033] “Next, the door 102 must be opened to expose the opening 101 of the pig catcher 100 and the pig 105. Using the hook 87, the winch strap 84 is attached to the pig 105, which is still disposed inside the pig catcher 100. Using the winch handle 71, the strap 84 is wound about the winch spool 83. As the strap 84 is wound around the spool 83, the pig is pulled out of the pig catcher 100 and onto the tray channel 21 of the device. Due to the downward force that the weight of the pig 105 exerts on the device, it may be necessary to adjust the height of the device as the pig 105 is partially extracted from the pig catcher 100. As shown in FIG. 6, once the strap 84 is sufficiently wound, the pig 105 will come to rest in the tray channel 20. Then the device and pig and be easily and quickly moved, allowing the door 102 to be closed, thereby resealing the pig catcher 100.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the winch device of Peterson to be a hydraulic cylinder, as advantageously described by Hepburn as doing so would spare the operator the manual effort of operating a winch, and would allow for the pig launching apparatus to be used at larger scales.
However, Peterson as modified does not disclose, wherein the hydraulic cylinder comprises a barrel and a piston rod moveable relative to the barrel.
However, Meerkerk discloses a similar hydraulic cylinder linear actuator comprising a barrel and a piston rod moveable relative to the barrel (See Para [0030] “First linear actuator 120 is shown in FIG. 1 and the second linear actuator 122 is shown in FIG. 2. Linear actuators 120, 122 each include a cylinder 123 and a piston 124. The linear actuator apparatus 110 and the wedge assembly 118 of the jack assembly are configured to move tube coupler 104 and the bumper 106 between a retracted position and an extended position to adjustably position the radial spacing between one another, as discussed in more detail below.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the hydraulic actuator Peterson as modified to utilize a barrel and a piston rod to as doing so is recognized as an equivalent in the art for actuating linear motion as indicated by Meerkerk, See Para [0030] cited above, See MPEP 2144.06 II.
Regarding Claim 16, Peterson as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 15 and in addition discloses, further comprising a sling for constricting around the pipeline, and wherein, in use, the first end of the cable is attached to the pipeline via attachment to the sling (See Peterson Para [0009] “In one embodiment of the apparatus, the apparatus further comprises the first cable, and a first winch for winding the first cable to increase tension in the first cable in the axially forward direction. In one embodiment of the apparatus, the apparatus further comprises a second cable for forming a sling circumferentially around the pipeline, wherein, the first winch is configured for attachment to the second cable such that, when the front end of the reducer bears axially, either directly or indirectly, against the pipeline end, winding the first cable with the first winch tightens the sling around the pipeline to transmit tension in the first cable to the pipeline.”).
Regarding Claim 17, Peterson as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 15 and in addition discloses wherein the force-transmitting member comprises at least one of:
(a) a sheave, and the cable engages the force-transmitting member via the sheave (Claim requires at least one, and Peterson discloses (b) as shown below); and
(b) a tubular portion, and wherein either the barrel, or the piston rod, or both the barrel and the piston rod are contained in the tubular portion (See Para [0044] “The plate (31) is preferably sufficiently large so as to distribute a compressive force fairly evenly across the radial cross-section of the pig (100). In this embodiment, each of the pull rod (34), intermediate rod (36), and plunger rod (38) is made of a steel tubular member having a hollow square cross-section measuring approximately 2½ inches per side. In other embodiments, the tubular members may have smaller or larger dimensions depending on factors such as the size of the pig (100), the anticipated amount of friction that has to be overcome to load the pig (100) into the pipeline (200), and the material properties of the member.”).
Regarding Claim 18, Peterson discloses
A method for loading a pig into a pipeline defining an axial forward direction from a pipeline end defining a pipeline opening into a pipeline interior, and a transverse direction perpendicular to the axial direction (See Para [0040] “Referring to FIG. 1, the pipeline (200) defines an axial forward direction from a pipeline end (202) defining a pipeline opening into a pipeline interior (204), and a radial direction perpendicular to the axial direction. In FIG. 1, the axial forward direction corresponds to the direction from left to right in the drawing plane, and the radial direction includes the direction from bottom to top in the drawing plane, and the direction perpendicular to the drawing plane.”), and comprising a cylindrical pipeline outer surface extending axially forward from the pipeline end, and a cylindrical pipeline inner surface extending axially forward from the pipeline end (See Fig. 1), the method comprising the steps of:
supporting an apparatus of any one of claims 15 (See rejection of claim 1 above) on the pipeline by engaging the support member of the apparatus with the cylindrical pipeline outer surface, with the front end of the tubular reducer of the apparatus abutting against the pipeline end (See Figure 1 and 2 of Peterson, showing the apparatus supported by support member 41 via engagement with the outside of the pipeline 200); and
moving the force-transmitting member of the apparatus axially forward relative to the reducer such that the pig-engaging surface of the apparatus pushes the pig through the reducer and into the pipeline interior (See Para [0056] “At that point, continued winding of the first cable (50) is accompanied by axially forward movement (in FIG. 1, to the right) of the pull rod (34) and the attached pig-engaging surface (32). The pig-engaging surface (32) thereby pushes the pig (100) axially forward through the reducer (20) and the pipeline end (202), thus loading the pig (100) into the pipeline (200). The apparatus (10) may then be dismounted from the pipeline (200) by reversing the foregoing steps for loading the pig (100) and mounting the apparatus (10) on the pipeline (200).”), while the at least one pipeline- engaging member of the apparatus moves in unison with the attached force- transmitting member and engages the pipeline inner surface or the pipeline outer surface to brace the attached force-transmitting member against the pipeline (See Para [0056] “Eventually, the sling constricts the pipeline (200) with sufficient force that friction between the second cable (60) and the pipeline (200) resists further axially rearward movement of the winch (70). At that point, continued winding of the first cable (50) is accompanied by axially forward movement (in FIG. 1, to the right) of the pull rod (34) and the attached pig-engaging surface (32). The pig-engaging surface (32) thereby pushes the pig (100) axially forward through the reducer (20) and the pipeline end (202), thus loading the pig (100) into the pipeline (200).”).
Regarding Claim 19, Peterson as discloses all the limitations of claim 18 but does not disclose
wherein the apparatus further comprises a second tubular reducer extending axially from a rear end to a front end configured for concentric alignment with and for bearing axially against the pipeline end, and having an inner diameter that decreases from the rear end to the front end, wherein the second reducer is removably attachable to the support member when the reducer is removed from the support member, and wherein the inner diameter of the second reducer at the front end of the second reducer is different from the inner diameter of the reducer at the front end of reducer, further comprising:
(a) detaching the second tubular reducer
(b) removably coupling the second tubular reducer to the support member of the apparatus, wherein the second reducer extends axially from a rear end to a front end configured for concentric alignment with and for bearing axially against the pipeline end, and has an inner diameter that decreases from the rear end to the front end, and wherein the inner diameter of the second reducer at the front end of
the second reducer is different from the inner diameter of the first reducer at the front end of first reducer.
However, Peterson does disclose a similar apparatus, wherein the reducer is welded to the support member (See Para [0048] “The outer surface of the rear tubular sleeve (41) and the outer surface of the front tubular sleeve (43) are welded to the guide member (40). As such, the reducer (20) is permanently attached to the guide member (40) via the tubular sleeve (41).”), and a reducer extender is removable attached to the reducer (See Para [0063] “In some embodiments, the apparatus (10) is adapted for use with multiple pipelines having the same outer diameter but different wall thicknesses by providing one or more removable reducer extensions that permit a smooth transition of the inner surface of the reducer (20) to the inner surface of the pipeline (200)”), the reducer extensions having an inner diameter that decreases from the rear end to the front end, and wherein the inner diameter of the second reducer at the front end of the second reducer is different from the inner diameter of the first reducer at the front end of first reducer (See Para [0063] “As a non-limiting example, FIGS. 6A to 6F show different subassemblies of the reducer (20), the tubular sleeve (41), and tubular reducer extensions (90a, 90b) so that the apparatus (10) can be used with different pipelines (200a, 200b, 200c) having different wall thicknesses. It will be appreciated that the subassemblies may be adapted for use with the remainder of the apparatus (10) such as shown in the embodiment of FIG. 1, which is omitted for from the views for simplicity. As a non-limiting example, the three pipelines (200a, 200a, 200b) have a standard outer diameter (D.sub.p,o) of about 12.75 inches (323.85 mm). However, the three pipelines (200a, 200b, 200c) have wall thicknesses of 0.156 inches (3.962 mm), 0.687 inches (17.450 mm), and 1.312 inches (33.325 mm), respectively, such that they have inner diameters D.sub.p,ia, D.sub.p,ib, and D.sub.p,ic, respectively, of about 12.438 inches (315.926 mm), 11.376 inches (288.950 mm), and 10.126 inches (257.200 mm), respectively.”). and Meerkerk (US 20210270404 A1) discloses a similar pig launcher with a removably attached reducer (See Para [0040] “In some embodiments, the reducer pipe 173 may be removed from an end of the first section pipe 170 and an inspection or cleaning tool may be inserted in the end of the first pipe section 170. Reducer pipe 173 may be reconnected to the end of the first pipe section 170 after the inspection or cleaning tool has been inserted.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the reducer to be removable from the support member and interchangeable with different sized reducers, as doing so would allow for easier adaptation to of the system for different pipelines, potentially allowing for the pig loading device to be reusable with different pipelines by switching reducers.
Regarding Claim 20, Peterson as best understood by examiner, discloses all the limitations of claim 18 and in addition discloses
(a) supporting the apparatus of claim 15 (See rejection of claim 1 above) on the pipeline by engaging the support member of the apparatus with the cylindrical pipeline outer surface, with the front end of the tubular reducer of the apparatus abutting against the pipeline end (See Figure 1 and 2 of Peterson, showing the apparatus supported by support member 41 via engagement with the outside of the pipeline 200); and
(b) securing the first end of the cable of the apparatus to the pipeline (See Figures 1 and 2 of Peterson showing cable 50 secured to the apparatus via 52 and to the pipeline via 60); and
(c) using a winch (70) to induce tension in the cable, and thereby pull the force-transmitting member of the apparatus in the axially forward direction relative to the reducer such that the pig-engaging surface pushes the pig through the reducer and into the pipeline (See Para [0050] “Tensioning mechanism. The tensioning mechanism includes the first cable (50) and the winch (70). In use, the first cable (50) is attached to the rigid member (30) and the pipeline (200) such that winding the first cable (50) with the winch (70) induces tension in the tensioning mechanism between the rigid member (30) and the pipeline (200). The tensioning mechanism may be attached to the rigid member (30) and the pipeline (200) in any suitable manner to achieve this effect. In the embodiment shown in FIG. 1, the tensioning mechanism also includes a second cable (60) that is used to attach the tensioning mechanism to the pipeline (200), in the manner described below.”).
But does not explicitly disclose using a pump to actuate the piston rod to move the barrel of the hydraulic cylinder of the apparatus to endues tension in the cable.
However, Hepburn discloses a similar pig launching apparatus which comprises:
a hydraulic cylinder (See Para [0031] “As explained above with reference to the wheels, though the force to wind the spool is provided manually in the illustrative embodiment, other electromechanical, hydraulic or pneumatic motors may be used.”)
a cable (84) comprising a first end for direct or indirect attachment (87) to the pipeline, and
when the first end is attached to the pipeline, tension in the cable induced by movement of the piston rod relative to the barrel actuates movement of the force-transmitting member in the axially direction relative to the pipeline (See Para [0033] “Next, the door 102 must be opened to expose the opening 101 of the pig catcher 100 and the pig 105. Using the hook 87, the winch strap 84 is attached to the pig 105, which is still disposed inside the pig catcher 100. Using the winch handle 71, the strap 84 is wound about the winch spool 83. As the strap 84 is wound around the spool 83, the pig is pulled out of the pig catcher 100 and onto the tray channel 21 of the device. Due to the downward force that the weight of the pig 105 exerts on the device, it may be necessary to adjust the height of the device as the pig 105 is partially extracted from the pig catcher 100. As shown in FIG. 6, once the strap 84 is sufficiently wound, the pig 105 will come to rest in the tray channel 20. Then the device and pig and be easily and quickly moved, allowing the door 102 to be closed, thereby resealing the pig catcher 100.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the winch device of Peterson to be a hydraulic cylinder, as advantageously described by Hepburn as doing so would spare the operator the manual effort of operating a winch, and would allow for the pig launching apparatus to be used at larger scales.
However, Peterson as modified does not disclose, wherein the hydraulic cylinder comprises a barrel and a piston rod moveable relative to the barrel.
However, Meerkerk discloses a similar hydraulic cylinder linear actuator comprising a barrel and a piston rod moveable relative to the barrel (See Para [0030] “First linear actuator 120 is shown in FIG. 1 and the second linear actuator 122 is shown in FIG. 2. Linear actuators 120, 122 each include a cylinder 123 and a piston 124. The linear actuator apparatus 110 and the wedge assembly 118 of the jack assembly are configured to move tube coupler 104 and the bumper 106 between a retracted position and an extended position to adjustably position the radial spacing between one another, as discussed in more detail below.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the hydraulic actuator Peterson as modified to utilize a barrel and a piston rod to as doing so is recognized as an equivalent in the art for actuating linear motion as indicated by Meerkerk, See Para [0030] cited above, See MPEP 2144.06 II.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723