DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-42 are non-provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-76 of US Patent No.11,388,679. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-76 of US Patent No. 11,388,679 encompasses the limitations of claims 1-42 of instant application. Moreover, omission of a reference element whose function is not needed would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. It is well settled that the omission of an element and its functions is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements performs the same function as before In re Karison, 163 USPQ 184 (CCPA 1963). Also note Ex parte Rainu, 168 uspq 375 (Bd. App. 1969).
More specifically, claims 1-42 of the present application are same scope, same function and same results as claims 1-76 of the US Patent No. 11,388,679. In addition, even though the claims of present application omitted or simply rearranged claimed structure, or added the limitation using similar claimed elements, the function and results of claimed invention of the US Patent No. 11,388,679 is same as claimed invention of the present application.
In addition, the independent claims 1, 12, 22, and 33 of the present application is the same invention as the independent claims 1, 11, 20, 30, 39, 49, 58, and 68 of the US Patent No. 11,388,679. The subject matter in the instant application is fully disclosed in the US Patent No. 11,388,679 and is covered by the US Patent No. 11,388,679 since the US Patent No. 11,388,679 and the instant application are claiming common subject matter, as follows, and the difference of the limitations are wordings differently.
For example:
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 11,388,679, Application No. 17/228,404
1. A method comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device, a control message indicating an activation of channel state information (CSI) reporting; and
transmitting at least one CSI reporting, via an uplink channel, using a transmission power that is adjusted based on: the activation of CSI reporting; and
at least one value associated with the activation of CSI reporting.
1. A method comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device, a control message indicating an activation of channel state information (CSI) reporting;
determining a transmission power for a transmission of at least one CSI report, wherein the transmission power is based on: at least one uplink power control parameter; and at least one value associated with the activation of CSI reporting; and transmitting, via an uplink channel and based on the transmission power, the at least one CSI report.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising: based on at least one uplink power control parameter and the at least one value comprising a second value, changing a first value to the second value for a second uplink power control parameter associated with the adjusted transmission power for transmitting the at least one CSI report.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising: based on the activation of CSI reporting, changing a first value to a second value for a second uplink power control parameter associated with the transmission power, wherein the at least one value comprises the second value.
3. The method of claim 1, further comprising: after the transmitting the at least one CSI report, changing the at least one value to a different value; and determining a second transmission power for an uplink data transmission, wherein the second transmission power is based on: at least one second uplink power control parameter for the uplink data transmission; and the different value.
3. The method of claim 1, further comprising: after the transmitting the at least one CSI report, changing the at least one value to a different value; and determining a second transmission power for an uplink data transmission, wherein the second transmission power is based on: at least one second uplink power control parameter for the uplink data transmission; and the different value.
4. The method of claim 1, further comprising: after the transmitting the at least one CSI report, changing the at least one value to a different value; and determining, based on at least one uplink power control parameter and the different value, a transmission power for a second transmission of at least one second CSI report.
4. The method of claim 1, further comprising: after the transmitting the at least one CSI report, changing the at least one value to a different value; and determining a second transmission power for a second transmission of at least one second CSI report, wherein the second transmission power is based on: the at least one uplink power control parameter; and the different value.
5. The method of claim 1, further comprising: after the transmitting the at least one CSI report, changing the at least one value to a second value; receiving a second control message indicating a deactivation of CSI reporting; and changing, based on receiving the second control message, the second value to a third value.
5. The method of claim 1, further comprising: after the transmitting the at least one CSI report, changing the at least one value to a second value; receiving a second control message indicating a deactivation of CSI reporting; and changing, based on receiving the second control message, the second value to a third value.
6. The method of claim 1, further comprising: scheduling, after receiving a second control message indicating a deactivation of CSI reporting, a second transmission of uplink information; determining, based on the at least one value being changed to a different value, a second transmission power for the second transmission; and transmitting, based on the second transmission power, the uplink information.
6. The method of claim 1, further comprising: scheduling, after receiving a second control message indicating a deactivation of CSI reporting, a second transmission of uplink information; determining, based on the at least one value being changed to a different value, a second transmission power for the second transmission; and transmitting, based on the second transmission power, the uplink information.
7. The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving a radio network temporary identifier associated with CSI reporting, wherein the activation of CSI reporting is based on the radio network temporary identifier and downlink control information of the control message.
7. The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving a radio network temporary identifier associated with CSI reporting, wherein the activation of CSI reporting is based on the radio network temporary identifier and downlink control information of the control message.
8. The method of claim 1, wherein the at least one value comprises at least one of: a correction value; an accumulated value; or a value associated with accumulation of a transmit power control (TPC) command.
8. The method of claim 1, further comprising receiving, from a base station, at least one message comprising the at least one uplink power control parameter, wherein the at least one value comprises at least one of: a correction value; an accumulated value; or a value associated with accumulation of a transmit power control (TPC) command.
9. The method of claim 1, further comprising determining the at least one value by performing at least one of: changing at least one previous value to the at least one value; setting the at least one value; initializing the at least one previous value to the at least one value; resetting the at least one previous value to the at least one value; scaling down the at least one previous value to the at least one value; or scaling up the at least one previous value to the at least one value.
9. The method of claim 1, further comprising determining the at least one value by performing at least one of: changing at least one previous value to the at least one value; setting the at least one value; initializing the at least one previous value to the at least one value; resetting the at least one previous value to the at least one value; scaling down the at least one previous value to the at least one value; or scaling up the at least one previous value to the at least one value.
10. The method of claim 1, wherein the CSI reporting comprises at least one of: periodic CSI reporting; semi-persistent (SP) CSI reporting; or aperiodic CSI reporting.
10. The method of claim 1, wherein the CSI reporting comprises at least one of: periodic CSI reporting; semi-persistent (SP) CSI reporting; or aperiodic CSI reporting.
11. The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining, based on at least one uplink power control parameter and the at least one value associated with the activation of CSI reporting, the adjusted transmission power for transmitting the at least one CSI report.
1. A method comprising: ………determining a transmission power for a transmission of at least one CSI report, wherein the transmission power is based on: at least one uplink power control parameter; and
at least one value associated with the activation of CSI reporting; and
transmitting, via an uplink channel and based on the transmission power, the at least one CSI report.
12. A method comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device, at least one control message comprising at least one of:
a first indication associated with an activation of channel state information (CSI) reporting; or a second indication associated with a deactivation of CSI reporting; and
transmitting uplink information, via an uplink channel, using a transmission power that is adjusted based on: the activation of CSI reporting and the first indication associated with the activation of CSI reporting; or
the deactivation of CSI reporting and the second indication associated with the deactivation of CSI reporting.
11. A method comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device, at least one control message comprising at least one of:
a first indication associated with an activation of channel state information (CSI) reporting; or a second indication associated with a deactivation of CSI reporting;
determining, based on at least one of the first indication or the second indication, at least one value associated with at least one of: the activation of CSI reporting or the deactivation of CSI reporting; determining, based on the at least one value, a transmission power for a transmission of uplink information; and transmitting, via an uplink channel and based on the transmission power, the uplink information.
13. The method of claim 12, further comprising: based on a second value associated with at least one of the activation of CSI reporting or the deactivation of CSI reporting, changing a first value to the second value for an uplink power control parameter associated with the adjusted transmission power for transmitting the uplink information.
12. The method of claim 11, wherein the determining the at least one value comprises: based on the at least one of the first indication or the second indication, changing a first value to a second value for an uplink power control parameter associated with the transmission power, and wherein the at least one value comprises the second value.
14. The method of claim 12, wherein the uplink information comprises at least one of: at least one CSI report; or uplink shared channel data.
13. The method of claim 11, wherein the uplink information comprises at least one of: at least one CSI report; or uplink shared channel data.
15. The method of claim 12, wherein the at least one control message comprises: a first field indicating a logical channel identifier that indicates whether the at least one control message is used to activate CSI reporting or deactivate CSI reporting; and a second field indicating whether the at least one control message indicates the activation of CSI reporting.
14. The method of claim 11, wherein the at least one control message comprises a first field indicating a logical channel identifier that indicates whether the control message is used to activate CSI reporting or deactivate CSI reporting, and wherein the at least one control message comprises a second field indicating whether the at least one control message indicates the activation of CSI reporting.
16. The method of claim 12, further comprising: receiving a radio network temporary identifier associated with CSI reporting, and wherein the activation of CSI reporting or the deactivation of CSI reporting is based on the radio network temporary identifier and downlink control information of the at least one control message.
15. The method of claim 11, further comprising: receiving a radio network temporary identifier associated with CSI reporting, and wherein the activation of CSI reporting or the deactivation of CSI reporting is based on the radio network temporary identifier and downlink control information of the at least one control message.
17. The method of claim 12, further comprising: determining at least one value, associated with at least one of the activation of CSI reporting or the deactivation of CSI reporting, by performing at least one of: setting, based on the first indication, the at least one value to a first value, or setting, based on the second indication, the at least one value to the first value or to a second value.
16. The method of claim 11, wherein determining the at least one value comprises at least one of: setting, based on the first indication, the at least one value to a first value, or setting, based on the second indication, the at least one value to the first value or to a second value.
18. The method of claim 12, further comprising: determining at least one value associated with at least one of the activation of CSI reporting or the deactivation of CSI reporting, wherein the at least one value comprises at least one of:
a correction value; an accumulated value; or a value associated with accumulation of a transmit power control (TPC) command.
17. The method of claim 11, wherein the at least one value comprises at least one of:
a correction value; an accumulated value; or a value associated with accumulation of a transmit power control (TPC) command.
19. The method of claim 12, further comprising: determining, based on the at least one of the first indication or the second indication, at least one value associated with at least one of: the activation of CSI reporting or the deactivation of CSI reporting, by performing at least one of: changing at least one previous value to the at least one value; setting the at least one value; initializing the at least one previous value to the at least one value; resetting the at least one previous value to the at least one value; scaling down the at least one previous value to the at least one value; or scaling up the at least one previous value to the at least one value.
18. The method of claim 11, wherein the determining the at least one value comprises at least one of: changing at least one previous value to the at least one value; setting the at least one value; initializing the at least one previous value to the at least one value; resetting the at least one previous value to the at least one value; scaling down the at least one previous value to the at least one value; or scaling up the at least one previous value to the at least one value.
20. The method of claim 12, wherein the CSI reporting comprises at least one of: periodic CSI reporting; semi-persistent (SP) CSI reporting; or aperiodic CSI reporting.
19. The method of claim 11, wherein the CSI reporting comprises at least one of: periodic CSI reporting; semi-persistent (SP) CSI reporting; or aperiodic CSI reporting.
21. The method of claim 12, further comprising:
determining, based on the at least one of the first indication or the second indication, at least one value associated with at least one of: the activation of CSI reporting or the deactivation of CSI reporting; and determining, based on the at least one value, the adjusted transmission power for a transmission of the uplink information.
11…..
….determining, based on at least one of the first indication or the second indication, at least one value associated with at least one of: the activation of CSI reporting or the deactivation of CSI reporting; determining, based on the at least one value, a transmission power for a transmission of uplink information; and transmitting, via an uplink channel and based on the transmission power, the uplink information.
22. A wireless device comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to:
receive a control message indicating an activation of channel state information (CSI) reporting; and
transmit at least one CSI report, via an uplink channel, using a transmission power that is adjusted based on:
the activation of CSI reporting; and
at least one uplink power control parameter and at least one value associated with the activation of CSI reporting.
20. A wireless device comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to:
receive a control message indicating an activation of channel state information (CSI) reporting;
determine a transmission power for a transmission of at least one CSI report, wherein the transmission power is based on: at least one uplink power control parameter; and
at least one value associated with the activation of CSI reporting; and transmit, via an uplink channel and based on the transmission power, the at least one CSI report.
23. The wireless device of claim 22, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to: based on the at least one uplink power control parameter and the at least one value comprising a second value, change a first value to the second value for a second uplink power control parameter associated with the adjusted transmission power for transmitting the at least one CSI report.
21. The wireless device of claim 20, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to: based on the activation of CSI reporting, change a first value to a second value for a second uplink power control parameter associated with the transmission power, wherein the at least one value comprises the second value.
24. The wireless device of claim 22, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to: after transmitting the at least one CSI report, change the at least one value to a different value; and determine a transmission power for an uplink data transmission, wherein the transmission power is based on: at least one second uplink power control parameter for the uplink data transmission; and the different value.
22. The wireless device of claim 20, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to: after transmitting the at least one CSI report, change the at least one value to a different value; and determine a second transmission power for an uplink data transmission, wherein the second transmission power is based on: at least one second uplink power control parameter for the uplink data transmission; and the different value.
25. The wireless device of claim 22, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to: after transmitting the at least one CSI report, change the at least one value to a different value; and determine a transmission power for a second transmission of at least one second CSI report, wherein the transmission power is based on: the at least one uplink power control parameter; and the different value.
23. The wireless device of claim 20, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to: after transmitting the at least one CSI report, change the at least one value to a different value; and determine a second transmission power for a second transmission of at least one second CSI report, wherein the second transmission power is based on: the at least one uplink power control parameter; and the different value.
26. The wireless device of claim 22, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to: after transmitting the at least one CSI report, change the at least one value to a second value; receive a second control message indicating a deactivation of CSI reporting; and change, based on receiving the second control message, the second value to a third value.
24. The wireless device of claim 20, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to: after transmitting the at least one CSI report, change the at least one value to a second value; receive a second control message indicating a deactivation of CSI reporting; and change, based on receiving the second control message, the second value to a third value.
27. The wireless device of claim 22, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to: schedule, after receiving a second control message indicating a deactivation of CSI reporting, a second transmission of uplink information; determine, based on the at least one value being changed to a different value, a transmission power for the second transmission; and transmit, based on the transmission power, the uplink information.
25. The wireless device of claim 20, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to: schedule, after receiving a second control message indicating a deactivation of CSI reporting, a second transmission of uplink information; determine, based on the at least one value being changed to a different value, a second transmission power for the second transmission; and transmit, based on the second transmission power, the uplink information.
28. The wireless device of claim 22, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to: receive a radio network temporary identifier associated with CSI reporting, wherein the activation of CSI reporting is based on the radio network temporary identifier and downlink control information of the control message.
26. The wireless device of claim 20, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to: receive a radio network temporary identifier associated with CSI reporting, wherein the activation of CSI reporting is based on the radio network temporary identifier and downlink control information of the control message.
29. The wireless device of claim 22, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to: receive, from a base station, at least one message comprising the at least one uplink power control parameter, wherein the at least one value comprises at least one of: a correction value; an accumulated value; or a value associated with accumulation of a transmit power control (TPC) command.
27. The wireless device of claim 20, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to: receive, from a base station, at least one message comprising the at least one uplink power control parameter, wherein the at least one value comprises at least one of: a correction value; an accumulated value; or a value associated with accumulation of a transmit power control (TPC) command.
30. The wireless device of claim 22, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to determine the at least one value by performing at least one of: changing at least one previous value to the at least one value; setting the at least one value; initializing the at least one previous value to the at least one value; resetting the at least one previous value to the at least one value; scaling down the at least one previous value to the at least one value; or scaling up the at least one previous value to the at least one value.
28. The wireless device of claim 20, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to determine the at least one value by performing at least one of: changing at least one previous value to the at least one value; setting the at least one value; initializing the at least one previous value to the at least one value; resetting the at least one previous value to the at least one value; scaling down the at least one previous value to the at least one value; or scaling up the at least one previous value to the at least one value.
31. The wireless device of claim 22, wherein the CSI reporting comprises at least one of: periodic CSI reporting; semi-persistent (SP) CSI reporting; or aperiodic CSI reporting.
29. The wireless device of claim 20, wherein the CSI reporting comprises at least one of: periodic CSI reporting; semi-persistent (SP) CSI reporting; or aperiodic CSI reporting.
32. The wireless device of claim 22, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to
determine, based on at least on uplink power control parameter and the at least one value associated with the activation of CSI reporting, the adjusted transmission power for transmitting the at least one CSI report.
20. A wireless device comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to: receive a control message indicating an activation of channel state information (CSI) reporting;
determine a transmission power for a transmission of at least one CSI report, wherein the transmission power is based on: at least one uplink power control parameter; and at least one value associated with the activation of CSI reporting; and
transmit, via an uplink channel and based on the transmission power, the at least one CSI report.
33. A wireless device comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to:
receive at least one control message comprising at least one of: a first indication associated with an activation of channel state information (CSI) reporting; or a second indication associated with a deactivation of CSI reporting; and
transmit uplink information, via an uplink channel, using a transmission power that is adjusted based on:
the activation of CSI reporting and the first indication associated with the activation of CSI reporting or
the deactivation of CSI reporting and the second indication associated with the deactivation of CSI reporting.
30. A wireless device comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to:
receive at least one control message comprising at least one of: a first indication associated with an activation of channel state information (CSI) reporting; or a second indication associated with a deactivation of CSI reporting;
determine, based on at least one of the first indication or the second indication, at least one value associated with at least one of: the activation of CSI reporting or the deactivation of CSI reporting; determine, based on the at least one value, a transmission power for a transmission of uplink information; and transmit, via an uplink channel and based on the transmission power, the uplink information.
34. The wireless device of claim 33, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to determine a second value associated with at least one of the activation of CSI reporting or the deactivation of CSI reporting by: based on the at least one of the first indication or the second indication, changing a first value to the second value for an uplink power control parameter associated with the adjusted transmission power for transmitting the uplink information.
31. The wireless device of claim 30, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to determine the at least one value by: based on the at least one of the first indication or the second indication, changing a first value to a second value for an uplink power control parameter associated with the transmission power, wherein the at least one value comprises the second value.
35. The wireless device of claim 33, wherein the uplink information comprises at least one of: at least one CSI report; or uplink shared channel data.
32. The wireless device of claim 30, wherein the uplink information comprises at least one of: at least one CSI report; or uplink shared channel data.
36. The wireless device of claim 33, wherein the at least one control message comprises: a first field indicating a logical channel identifier that indicates whether the at least one control message is used to activate CSI reporting or deactivate CSI reporting; and a second field indicating whether the at least one control message indicates the activation of CSI reporting.
33. The wireless device of claim 30, wherein the at least one control message comprises a first field indicating a logical channel identifier that indicates whether the control message is used to activate CSI reporting or deactivate CSI reporting, and wherein the at least one control message comprises a second field indicating whether the at least one control message indicates the activation of CSI reporting.
37. The wireless device of claim 33, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to: receive a radio network temporary identifier associated with CSI reporting, and wherein the activation of CSI reporting or the deactivation of CSI reporting is based on the radio network temporary identifier and downlink control information of the at least one control message.
34. The wireless device of claim 30, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to: receive a radio network temporary identifier associated with CSI reporting, and wherein the activation of CSI reporting or the deactivation of CSI reporting is based on the radio network temporary identifier and downlink control information of the at least one control message.
38. The wireless device of claim 33, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to determine at least one value associated with at least one of the activation of CSI reporting or the deactivation of CSI reporting by performing at least one of: setting, based on the first indication, the at least one value to a first value, or setting, based on the second indication, the at least one value to the first value or to a second value.
35. The wireless device of claim 30, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to determine the at least one value by performing at least one of: setting, based on the first indication, the at least one value to a first value, or setting, based on the second indication, the at least one value to the first value or to a second value.
39. The wireless device of claim 33, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to determine at least one value associated with at least one of the activation of CSI reporting or the deactivation of CSI reporting, wherein the at least one value comprises at least one of:
a correction value; an accumulated value; or a value associated with accumulation of a transmit power control (TPC) command.
36. The wireless device of claim 30, wherein the at least one value comprises at least one of:
a correction value; an accumulated value; or a value associated with accumulation of a transmit power control (TPC) command.
40. The wireless device of claim 33, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to determine at least one value associated with at least one of the activation of CSI reporting or the deactivation of CSI reporting by performing at least one of: changing at least one previous value to the at least one value; setting the at least one value; initializing the at least one previous value to the at least one value; resetting the at least one previous value to the at least one value; scaling down the at least one previous value to the at least one value; or scaling up the at least one previous value to the at least one value.
37. The wireless device of claim 30, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to determine the at least one value by performing at least one of: changing at least one previous value to the at least one value; setting the at least one value; initializing the at least one previous value to the at least one value; resetting the at least one previous value to the at least one value; scaling down the at least one previous value to the at least one value; or scaling up the at least one previous value to the at least one value.
41. The wireless device of claim 33, wherein the CSI reporting comprises at least one of: periodic CSI reporting; semi-persistent (SP) CSI reporting; or aperiodic CSI reporting.
38. The wireless device of claim 30, wherein the CSI reporting comprises at least one of: periodic CSI reporting; semi-persistent (SP) CSI reporting; or aperiodic CSI reporting.
42. The wireless device of claim 33, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to: determine, based on the at least one of the first indication or the second indication, at least one value associated with at least one of: the activation of CSI reporting; and determine, based on the at least one value, the adjusted transmission power for a transmission of the uplink information.
30. A wireless device comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to: receive at least one control message comprising at least one of: a first indication associated with an activation of channel state information (CSI) reporting; or a second indication associated with a deactivation of CSI reporting; determine, based on at least one of the first indication or the second indication, at least one value associated with at least one of: the activation of CSI reporting or the deactivation of CSI reporting; determine, based on the at least one value, a transmission power for a transmission of uplink information; and transmit, via an uplink channel and based on the transmission power, the uplink information.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 10, 12, 14, 16, 20, 22, 28, 31, 33, 35, 37, and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nayeb Nazar et al. (US Patent #10,904,895) in view of Babaei et al. (US 2018/0041997).
Regarding claims 1 and 22, Nayeb Nazar teaches a method comprising: receiving, by a wireless device, a control message indicating an activation of channel state information (CSI) reporting (Claims 1 and 9, especially Claim 9, Nayeb Nazar teaches a transceiver configured to receive an indication to activate a semi-persistent channel state information (CSI) reporting. That means when base station transmits an indication to activate a semi-persistent channel state information (CSI) reporting, it inherently requires transmission power); and
transmitting at least one CSI reporting, via an uplink channel, using a transmission power based on: at least one value associated with the activation of CSI reporting (Claims 1 and 9, especially Claim 9 teaches…………. a processor configured to activate the semi-persistent CSI reporting for a serving cell based on the received indication; wherein: the transceiver is configured to transmit (uplink channel) one or more CSI reports for the serving cell, after the semi-persistent CSI reporting is activated. Same way, when mobile terminal transmit via an uplink channel one or more CSI reports for the serving cell, after the semi-persistent CSI reporting is activated, it inherently requires transmission power in order to transmit), but does not specifically teach a transmission power that is adjusted based on the activation of CSI reporting.
However, in related art, Babaei teaches a transmission power that is adjusted based on activation of CSI reporting (Paragraph 0164….. power-control commands may be provided simultaneously to a group of UEs on PDCCH using one or more DCI formats (e.g., DCI formats 3 or 3A). In an example, an eNB may transmit DCI format 3/3A on a regular basis to adjust the PUCCH transmit power, for example, prior to periodic uplink CSI reports or activation of CSI reporting). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Babaei’s teaching about a transmission power that is adjusted based on activation of CSI reporting with Nayeb Nazar’s invention in order to enhance signal quality in communication system.
Regarding claims 7 and 28, the combination of Nayeb Nazar and Babaei teach all the claimed elements in claim 1. In addition, Nayeb Nazar teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving a radio network temporary identifier associated with CSI reporting, wherein the activation of CSI reporting is based on the radio network temporary identifier and downlink control information of the control message (Claims 7 and 15).
Regarding claims 10 and 31, the combination of Nayeb Nazar and Babaei teach all the claimed elements in claim 1. In addition, Nayeb Nazar teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the CSI reporting comprises at least one of: periodic CSI reporting; semi-persistent (SP) CSI reporting; or aperiodic CSI reporting (Col 23, lines 35-50).
Regarding claims 12 and 33, Nayeb Nazar teaches a method comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device, at least one control message comprising at least one of: a first indication associated with an activation of channel state information (CSI) reporting (Claims 1 and 9, especially Claim 9, Nayeb Nazar teaches a transceiver configured to receive an indication to activate a semi-persistent channel state information (CSI) reporting. That means when base station transmits an indication to activate a semi-persistent channel state information (CSI) reporting, it inherently requires transmission power); or a second indication associated with a deactivation of CSI reporting; and
transmitting, via an uplink channel and based on at least one of the first indication associated with the activation of CSI reporting (Claims 1 and 9, especially Claim 9 teaches…………. a processor configured to activate the semi-persistent CSI reporting for a serving cell based on the received indication; wherein: the transceiver is configured to transmit (uplink channel) one or more CSI reports for the serving cell, after the semi-persistent CSI reporting is activated. Same way, when mobile terminal transmit via an uplink channel one or more CSI reports for the serving cell, after the semi-persistent CSI reporting is activated, it inherently requires transmission power in order to transmit) or the second indication associated with the deactivation of CSI reporting, uplink information, but does not specifically teach a transmission power that is adjusted based on the activation of CSI reporting.
However, in related art, Babaei teaches a transmission power that is adjusted based on the activation of CSI reporting (Paragraph 0117….. assigned uplink resources (PUCCH and/or PUSCH) for the feedback of downlink carrier CSI information in an efficient manner regardless of the number of downlink carriers that are currently activated. In the present system, methods such as including additional signaling bits to indicate which CSI reports are included in a particular feedback transmission, variable rate coding based on the number of reported carriers, and adjusting the UE transmission power based on the payload size and effective coding rate may each be used to provide for the improved system operation). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Babaei’s teaching about a transmission power that is adjusted based on the activation of CSI reporting with Nayeb Nazar’s invention in order to enhance signal quality in communication system.
. Regarding claims 14 and 35, the combination of Nayeb Nazar and Babaei teach all the claimed elements in claim 1. In addition, Nayeb Nazar teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the uplink information comprises at least one of: at least one CSI report (Col 23, lines 36-40); or uplink shared channel data.
Regarding claims 16 and 37, the combination of Nayeb Nazar and Babaei teach all the claimed elements in claim 1. In addition, Nayeb Nazar teaches the method of claim 12, further comprising: receiving a radio network temporary identifier associated with CSI reporting, and wherein the activation of CSI reporting or the deactivation of CSI reporting is based on the radio network temporary identifier and downlink control information of the at least one control message (Claims 7 and 15).
Regarding claims 20 and 41, the combination of Nayeb Nazar and Babaei teach all the claimed elements in claim 1. In addition, Nayeb Nazar teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the CSI reporting comprises at least one of: periodic CSI reporting; semi-persistent (SP) CSI reporting; or aperiodic CSI reporting (Col 23, lines 35-50).
Claims 8, 18, 29, and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nayeb Nazar et al. (US Patent #10,904,895) in view of Babaei et al. (US 2018/0041997), and further in view of Ouchi et al. (US 2014/0226551).
Regarding claims 8 and 29, the combination of Nayeb Nazar and Babaei fail to teach the method of claim 1, further comprising receiving, from a base station, at least one message comprising the at least one uplink power control parameter, wherein the at least one value comprises at least one of: a correction value; an accumulated value; or a value associated with accumulation of a transmit power control (TPC) command.
However, in related art, Ouchi teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising receiving, from a base station, at least one message comprising the at least one uplink power control parameter, wherein the at least one value comprises at least one of: a correction value; an accumulated value; or a value associated with accumulation of a transmit power control (TPC) command (Paragraph 0246). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Ouchi’s teaching about receiving, from a base station, at least one message comprising the at least one uplink power control parameter, wherein the at least one value comprises at least one of: a correction value; an accumulated value; or a value associated with accumulation of a transmit power control (TPC) command with Nayeb Nazar’s and Babaei’s invention in order to enabling correct and effective uplink power control performance.
Regarding claims 18 and 39, the combination of Nayeb Nazar and Babaei fail to teach the method of claim 12, further comprising: determining at least one value associated with at least one of the activation of CSI reporting or the deactivation of CSI reporting, wherein the at least one value comprises at least one of: a correction value; an accumulated value; or a value associated with accumulation of a transmit power control (TPC) command.
However, in related art, Ouchi teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising determining at least one value associated with at least one of the activation of CSI reporting or the deactivation of CSI reporting, wherein the at least one value comprises at least one of: a correction value; an accumulated value; or a value associated with accumulation of a transmit power control (TPC) command (Paragraph 0246). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Ouchi’s teaching about determining at least one value associated with at least one of the activation of CSI reporting or the deactivation of CSI reporting, wherein the at least one value comprises at least one of: a correction value; an accumulated value; or a value associated with accumulation of a transmit power control (TPC) command with Nayeb Nazar’s and Babaei’s invention in order to enabling correct and effective uplink power control performance.
Claims 9, 17, 19, 30, 38, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nayeb Nazar et al. (US Patent #10,904,895) in view of Babaei et al. (US 2018/0041997), and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2008/0037671).
Regarding claims 9 and 30, the combination of Nayeb Nazar and Babaei fail to teach the method of claim 1, further comprising determining the at least one value by performing at least one of: changing at least one previous value to the at least one value; setting the at least one value; initializing the at least one previous value to the at least one value; resetting the at least one previous value to the at least one value; scaling down the at least one previous value to the at least one value; or scaling up the at least one previous value to the at least one value.
However, in related art, Lee teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising determining the at least one value by performing at least one of: changing at least one previous value to the at least one value; setting the at least one value (Paragraph 0046); initializing the at least one previous value to the at least one value; resetting the at least one previous value to the at least one value; scaling down the at least one previous value to the at least one value; or scaling up the at least one previous value to the at least one value. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Lee’s teaching about determining the at least one value by performing at least one of: setting the at least one value with Nayeb Nazar’s and Babaei’s invention so that more efficient and highly reliable communication can be realized.
Regarding claims 17 and 38, the combination of Nayeb Nazar and Babaei fail to teach the method of claim 12, further comprising: determining at least one value, associated with at least one of the activation of CSI reporting or the deactivation of CSI reporting, by performing at least one of: setting, based on the first indication, the at least one value to a first value, or setting, based on the second indication, the at least one value to the first value or to a second value.
However, in related art, Lee teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising determining at least one value, associated with at least one of the activation of CSI reporting or the deactivation of CSI reporting, by performing at least one of: setting, based on the first indication, the at least one value to a first value (Paragraph 0046), or setting, based on the second indication, the at least one value to the first value or to a second value. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Lee’s teaching about determining the at least one value by performing at least one of: setting, based on the first indication, the at least one value to a first value with Nayeb Nazar’s and Babaei’s invention so that more efficient and highly reliable communication can be realized.
Regarding claims 19 and 40, the combination of Nayeb Nazar and Babaei fail to teach the method of claim 12, further comprising: determining, based on the at least one of the first indication or the second indication, at least one value associated with at least one of: the activation of CSI reporting or the deactivation of CSI reporting, by performing at least one of: changing at least one previous value to the at least one value; setting the at least one value; initializing the at least one previous value to the at least one value; resetting the at least one previous value to the at least one value; scaling down the at least one previous value to the at least one value; or scaling up the at least one previous value to the at least one value.
However, in related art, Lee teaches the method of claim 12, further comprising: determining, based on the at least one of the first indication or the second indication, at least one value associated with at least one of: the activation of CSI reporting or the deactivation of CSI reporting, by performing at least one of: changing at least one previous value to the at least one value; setting the at least one value (Paragraph 0046); initializing the at least one previous value to the at least one value; resetting the at least one previous value to the at least one value; scaling down the at least one previous value to the at least one value; or scaling up the at least one previous value to the at least one value. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Lee’s teaching about determining the at least one value by performing at least one of: setting the at least one value with Nayeb Nazar’s and Babaei’s invention so that more efficient and highly reliable communication can be realized.
Claims 43-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nayeb Nazar et al. (US Patent #10,904,895) in view of Babaei et al. (US 2018/0041997), and further in view of Wu et al. (US 2015/0071267).
Regarding claims 43 and 45, the combination of Nayeb Nazar and Babaei fail to teach the method of claim 1, further comprising: adjusting an initial transmission power to the adjusted transmission power used for the transmitting the at least one CSI report.
However, in related art, Wu teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: adjusting an initial transmission power to the adjusted transmission power used for the transmitting the at least one CSI report (Paragraphs 0012-0014……. receiving an adjusted channel quality indicator CQI and an initial transmit power corresponding to an adjusted CQI, where the adjusted CQI and the initial transmit power are sent by a base station… receiving an optimum number N.sub.RV of RVs calculated by the base station and an adjusted transmit power, where the optimum number N.sub.RV of RVs is calculated and obtained by the base station according to the adjusted CQI, requirements on quality of service of a terminal, and a signal-to-noise ratio SNR gain when the base station performs transmission by using an HARQ, the adjusted transmit power is obtained by the base station by adjusting the initial transmit power according to the optimum number N.sub.RV of RVs and the adjusted CQI). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Wu’s teaching about adjusting an initial transmission power to the adjusted transmission power used for the transmitting the at least one CSI report with Nayeb Nazar’s and Babaei’s invention in order to perform data/voice communications between a base station and a terminal in a radio communication system.
Regarding claims 44 and 46, the combination of Nayeb Nazar and Babaei fail to teach the method of claim 12, further comprising: adjusting an initial transmission power to the adjusted transmission power used for the transmitting the uplink information.
However, in related art, Wu teaches the method of claim 12, further comprising: adjusting an initial transmission power to the adjusted transmission power used for the transmitting the uplink information (Paragraphs 0012-0014……. receiving an adjusted channel quality indicator CQI and an initial transmit power corresponding to an adjusted CQI, where the adjusted CQI and the initial transmit power are sent by a base station… receiving an optimum number N.sub.RV of RVs calculated by the base station and an adjusted transmit power, where the optimum number N.sub.RV of RVs is calculated and obtained by the base station according to the adjusted CQI, requirements on quality of service of a terminal, and a signal-to-noise ratio SNR gain when the base station performs transmission by using an HARQ, the adjusted transmit power is obtained by the base station by adjusting the initial transmit power according to the optimum number N.sub.RV of RVs and the adjusted CQI). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Wu’s teaching about adjusting an initial transmission power to the adjusted transmission power used for the transmitting the at least one CSI report with Nayeb Nazar’s and Babaei’s invention in order to perform data/voice communications between a base station and a terminal in a radio communication system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6, 11, 13, 15, 21, 23-27, 34, 36, and 42 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2, the prior art of record fails to teach the method of claim 1, further comprising: based on at least one uplink power control parameter and the at least one value comprising a second value, changing a first value to the second value for a second uplink power control parameter associated with the adjusted transmission power for transmitting the at least one CSI report.
Regarding claim 3, the prior art of record fails to teach the method of claim 1, further comprising: after the transmitting the at least one CSI report, changing the at least one value to a different value; and determining a second transmission power for an uplink data transmission, wherein the second transmission power is based on: at least one second uplink power control parameter for the uplink data transmission; and the different value.
Regarding claim 4, the prior art of record fails to teach the method of claim 1, further comprising: after the transmitting the at least one CSI report, changing the at least one value to a different value; and determining, based on at least one uplink power control parameter and the different value, a transmission power for a second transmission of at least one second CSI report.
Regarding claim 5, the prior art of record fails to teach the method of claim 1, further comprising: after the transmitting the at least one CSI report, changing the at least one value to a second value; receiving a second control message indicating a deactivation of CSI reporting; and changing, based on receiving the second control message, the second value to a third value.
Regarding claim 6, the prior art of record fails to teach the method of claim 1, further comprising: scheduling, after receiving a second control message indicating a deactivation of CSI reporting, a second transmission of uplink information; determining, based on the at least one value being changed to a different value, a second transmission power for the second transmission; and transmitting, based on the second transmission power, the uplink information.
Regarding claim 11, the prior art of record fails to teach the method of claim 1, further comprising: determining, based on at least one uplink power control parameter and the at least one value associated with the activation of CSI reporting, the adjusted transmission power for transmitting the at least one CSI report.
Regarding claim 13, the prior art of record fails to teach the method of claim 12, further comprising: based on a second value associated with at least one of the activation of CSI reporting or the deactivation of CSI reporting, changing a first value to the second value for an uplink power control parameter associated with the adjusted transmission power for transmitting the uplink information.
Regarding claim 15, the prior art of record fails to teach the method of claim 12, wherein the at least one control message comprises: a first field indicating a logical channel identifier that indicates whether the at least one control message is used to activate CSI reporting or deactivate CSI reporting; and a second field indicating whether the at least one control message indicates the activation of CSI reporting.
Regarding claim 21, the prior art of record fails to teach the method of claim 12, further comprising: determining, based on the at least one of the first indication or the second indication, at least one value associated with at least one of: the activation of CSI reporting or the deactivation of CSI reporting; and determining, based on the at least one value, the adjusted transmission power for a transmission of the uplink information.
Regarding claim 23, the prior art of record fails to teach the wireless device of claim 22, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to: based on at least one uplink power control parameter and the at least one value comprising a second value, change a first value to the second value for a second uplink power control parameter associated with the adjusted transmission power for transmitting the at least one CSI report.
Regarding claim 24, the prior art of record fails to teach the wireless device of claim 22, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to: after transmitting the at least one CSI report, change the at least one value to a different value; and determine a second transmission power for an uplink data transmission, wherein the second transmission power is based on: at least one second uplink power control parameter for the uplink data transmission; and the different value.
Regarding claim 25, the prior art of record fails to teach the wireless device of claim 22, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to: after transmitting the at least one CSI report, change the at least one value to a different value; and determine, based on at least one uplink power control parameter and the different value, a transmission power for a second transmission of at least one second CSI report.
Regarding claim 26, the prior art of record fails to teach the wireless device of claim 22, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to: after transmitting the at least one CSI report, change the at least one value to a second value; receive a second control message indicating a deactivation of CSI reporting; and change, based on receiving the second control message, the second value to a third value.
Regarding claim 27, the prior art of record fails to teach the wireless device of claim 22, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to: schedule, after receiving a second control message indicating a deactivation of CSI reporting, a second transmission of uplink information; determine, based on the at least one value being changed to a different value, a second transmission power for the second transmission; and transmit, based on the second transmission power, the uplink information.
Regarding claim 34, the prior art of record fails to teach the wireless device of claim 33, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to determine a second value associated with at least one of the activation of CSI reporting or the deactivation of CSI reporting by: based on the at least one of the first indication or the second indication, changing a first value to the second value for an uplink power control parameter associated with the adjusted transmission power for transmitting the uplink information.
Regarding claim 36, the prior art of record fails to teach the wireless device of claim 33, wherein the at least one control message comprises: a first field indicating a logical channel identifier that indicates whether the at least one control message is used to activate CSI reporting or deactivate CSI reporting; and a second field indicating whether the at least one control message indicates the activation of CSI reporting.
Regarding claim 42, the prior art of record fails to teach the wireless device of claim 33, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to: determine, based on the at least one of the first indication or the second indication, at least one value associated with at least one of: the activation of CSI reporting or the deactivation of CSI reporting; and determine, based on the at least one value, the adjusted transmission power for a transmission of the uplink information.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-46 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Papasakellarion (US 2018/0227156), Shin et al. (US 2018/0183556), Li et al. (US 2018/0139706), Dao et al. (US 2015/0264098), Fu et al. (US 2015/0208363), Ko et al. (US 2015/0078279), Siomina et al. (US 2014/0286219), Wang et al. (US 2014/0198744), Guo (US 2014/0153509), Safavi et al. (US 2014/0126436), and Zhang et al. (US 2009/0196372).
/DOMINIC E REGO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648 Tel 571-272-8132