CTNF 17/988,179 CTNF 83247 DETAILED ACTION Applicant’s amendment and arguments filed March 2, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1, 11, 21, and 26 have been amended. Claims 8, 9, 24, 25, and 31 are cancelled as previously indicated. Claims 1-7, 10-23, and 26-30 are currently pending. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-103 AIA The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co. , 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-7, 10-19, 21-23, and 26-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al. (hereinafter Kim) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2019/0246363 A1) in view of WANG et al. (hereinafter Wang) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2024/0235772 A1) . Regarding claims 1 and 21 , Kim teaches and disclose a method for transmitting coherent reference signals with a wireless node (wireless node, figure 56) and an apparatus (Tx apparatus; figure 56) , comprising: a memory (memory, figure 56) ; at least one transceiver (RF unit, figure 56) ; at least one processor (processor, figure 56) communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver, and configured to: determine transmission gap configuration information for transmitting coherent reference signals ([0102]; “ …SC-FDMA symbol used for transmitting a reference signal (RS) for coherent detection… ”; teaches transmitting gap information for transmitting RS for coherent detection) ; determine overlapping signals based on a duration of time defined by the transmission gap configuration information, the overlapping signals being scheduled for transmission in the duration of time ([0674]; “ …in a case in which overlapping occurs due to simultaneous signal transmissions, puncturing or rate matching may be performed on a section in which signals are simultaneously transmitted, that is, a section in which overlapping occurs, or an (ending) gap may be set in the section in which overlapping occurs… ”; teaches an overlap section based on a gap where signals are scheduled for simultaneous transmission) ; and transmit one or more of the coherent reference signals in the duration of time ([0102]; “ …SC-FDMA symbol used for transmitting a reference signal (RS) for coherent detection… ”; [0674]; “ …in a case in which overlapping occurs due to simultaneous signal transmissions, puncturing or rate matching may be performed on a section in which signals are simultaneously transmitted, that is, a section in which overlapping occurs, or an (ending) gap may be set in the section in which overlapping occurs… ”; teaches transmitting RS for coherent detection) . However, Kim may not explicitly disclose wherein the transmission gap configuration is associated with one or more priority rules to enable transmission of a set of signals; transmitting a subset of signals from the set of signals having a higher priority than one or more of the coherent reference signals in the duration of time and dropping a subset of coherent reference signals from the one or more of the coherent reference signals all of the overlapping signals during the duration of time defined by the transmission gap configuration information ( although Kim does suggest a method for solving a collision that may occur due to overlap between subframes by dropping a subframe with low priority or an overlap symbol of the subframe according to predefined priority rule; [0004]; and a method for solving a collision that may occur due to overlap between subframes by dropping a portion of the signals; [0658]; [0659] ). Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Wang further teaches and suggests wherein the transmission gap configuration is associated with one or more priority rules to enable transmission of a set of signals ([0049]; “ …when performing collision handling, the OFDM symbols which are predefined/ configured to be used as gap should be applied with the same priority handling rule… ”; [0052]; [0172]; “ …performing collision handling using a priority handling rule for the gap period that is the same as a priority handling rule for a configured SRS… ”; teaches transmitting the sounding reference signal, SRS, in accordance with a priority handling rule regarding the SRS relative to the collision with another signal for the gap period) ; transmitting a subset of signals from the set of signals having a higher priority than one or more of the coherent reference signals in the duration of time and dropping a subset of coherent reference signals from the one or more of the coherent reference signals all of the overlapping signals during the duration of time defined by the transmission gap configuration information ([0049]; “ …when performing collision handling, the OFDM symbols which are predefined/ configured to be used as gap should be applied with the same priority handling rule… ”; [0052]; [0055]; [0071]; [0172]; “ …performing collision handling using a priority handling rule for the gap period that is the same as a priority handling rule for a configured SRS… ”; teaches transmitting the sounding reference signal, SRS, in accordance with a priority handling rule regarding the priority of the SRS relative to the collision with another signal for the gap period and dropping a subset of the signal during overlap) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate transmitting the sounding reference signal, SRS, in accordance with a priority handling rule regarding the priority of the SRS relative to the collision with another signal for the gap period and dropping a subset of the signal during overlap as taught by Wang with the method and apparatus for transmitting gap information for transmitting RS for coherent detection and transmitting RS for coherent detection and dropping overlap section as disclosed by Kim for the purpose of handling collision for SRS transmission, as suggested by Wang. Regarding claim 2 , Kim, as modified by Wang, further teaches wherein the overlapping signals include one or more signals to be received by the wireless node ([0023]; “ …transmission and reception of a signal in an overlap section or in a subframe including the overlap section is dropped… ”; teaches transmitting RS for coherent detection and dropping overlap section) . Regarding claim 3 , Kim, as modified by Wang, further teaches wherein the overlapping signals include one or more signals to be transmitted by the wireless node ([0023]; “ …transmission and reception of a signal in an overlap section or in a subframe including the overlap section is dropped… ”; teaches transmitting RS for coherent detection and dropping overlap section) . Regarding claim 4 , Kim, as modified by Wang, further teaches wherein the wireless node is a transmission reception point (eNB, figure 56; [1066]) . Regarding claim 5 , Kim, as modified by Wang, further teaches wherein the wireless node is a user equipment (UE, figure 56; [1066]) . Regarding claims 6 and 23 , Kim discloses transmitting RS for coherent detection and dropping overlap section, but may not explicitly disclose wherein determining the transmission gap configuration information includes receiving the transmission gap configuration information from a network server. Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches and suggests wherein determining the transmission gap configuration information includes receiving the transmission gap configuration information from a network server ([0071]; [0077]; teaches the gap period is configured from a network server) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the gap period is configured from a network server as taught by Wang with the method and apparatus as disclosed by Kim for the purpose of handing collision for SRS transmission, as suggested by Wang. Regarding claim 7 , Kim discloses transmitting RS for coherent detection and dropping overlap section, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the transmission gap configuration information includes a periodicity parameter. Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches and suggests wherein the transmission gap configuration information includes a periodicity parameter ([0068]; [0069]; teaches gap period including a periodicity parameter for SRS) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a periodicity parameter for SRS as taught by Wang with the method and apparatus as disclosed by Kim for the purpose of handing collision for SRS transmission, as suggested by Wang. Regarding claim 10 , Kim discloses transmitting RS for coherent detection and dropping overlap section, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more of the coherent reference signals are transmitted on a first component carrier and the overlapping signals are transmitted on a second component carrier. Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches and suggests wherein the one or more of the coherent reference signals are transmitted on a first component carrier and the overlapping signals are transmitted on a second component carrier ([0018]; [0123]; teaches signals transmitting on a first and second CCs) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate signals transmitting on a first and second CCs as taught by Wang with the method and apparatus as disclosed by Kim for the purpose of handing collision for SRS transmission, as suggested by Wang. Regarding claims 11 and 26 , Kim teaches and disclose a method for activating a transmission gap for transmitting coherent reference signals with a wireless node (wireless node, figure 56) and an apparatus (Rx apparatus; figure 56) , comprising: a memory (memory, figure 56) ; at least one transceiver (RF unit, figure 56) ; at least one processor (processor, figure 56) communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver, and configured to: receive transmission gap configuration information for transmitting coherent reference signals ([0102]; “ …SC-FDMA symbol used for transmitting a reference signal (RS) for coherent detection… ”; teaches transmitting gap information for transmitting RS for coherent detection) ; activate a transmission gap based at least in part on the transmission gap configuration information ([0102]; “ …SC-FDMA symbol used for transmitting a reference signal (RS) for coherent detection… ”; teaches activating gap information for transmitting RS for coherent detection) ; and transmit one or more coherent reference signals during a duration of time defined by the transmission gap configuration information ([0102]; “ …SC-FDMA symbol used for transmitting a reference signal (RS) for coherent detection… ”; [0674]; “ …in a case in which overlapping occurs due to simultaneous signal transmissions, puncturing or rate matching may be performed on a section in which signals are simultaneously transmitted, that is, a section in which overlapping occurs, or an (ending) gap may be set in the section in which overlapping occurs… ”; [0692]-[0693]; teaches transmitting the RS for coherent detection and dropping overlap section) . However, Kim may not explicitly disclose wherein the transmission gap configuration is associated with one or more priority rules to enable transmission of a set of signals; transmitting a subset of signals from the set of signals having a higher priority than one or more of the coherent reference signals in the duration of time and dropping a subset of coherent reference signals from the one or more of the coherent reference signals all of the overlapping signals during the duration of time defined by the transmission gap configuration information ( although Kim does suggest a method for solving a collision that may occur due to overlap between subframes by dropping a subframe with low priority or an overlap symbol of the subframe according to predefined priority rule; [0004]; and a method for solving a collision that may occur due to overlap between subframes by dropping a portion of the signals; [0658]; [0659] ). Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Wang further teaches and suggests wherein the transmission gap configuration is associated with one or more priority rules to enable transmission of a set of signals ([0049]; “ …when performing collision handling, the OFDM symbols which are predefined/ configured to be used as gap should be applied with the same priority handling rule… ”; [0052]; [0172]; “ …performing collision handling using a priority handling rule for the gap period that is the same as a priority handling rule for a configured SRS… ”; teaches transmitting the sounding reference signal, SRS, in accordance with a priority handling rule regarding the SRS relative to the collision with another signal for the gap period) ; transmitting a subset of signals from the set of signals having a higher priority than one or more of the coherent reference signals in the duration of time and dropping a subset of coherent reference signals from the one or more of the coherent reference signals all of the overlapping signals during the duration of time defined by the transmission gap configuration information ([0049]; “ …when performing collision handling, the OFDM symbols which are predefined/ configured to be used as gap should be applied with the same priority handling rule… ”; [0052]; [0055]; [0071]; [0172]; “ …performing collision handling using a priority handling rule for the gap period that is the same as a priority handling rule for a configured SRS… ”; teaches transmitting the sounding reference signal, SRS, in accordance with a priority handling rule regarding the priority of the SRS relative to the collision with another signal for the gap period and dropping a subset of the signal during overlap) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate transmitting the sounding reference signal, SRS, in accordance with a priority handling rule regarding the priority of the SRS relative to the collision with another signal for the gap period and dropping a subset of the signal during overlap as taught by Wang with the method and apparatus for transmitting gap information for transmitting RS for coherent detection and transmitting RS for coherent detection and dropping overlap section as disclosed by Kim for the purpose of handling collision for SRS transmission, as suggested by Wang. Regarding claim 12 , Kim, as modified by Wang, further teaches wherein the wireless node is a transmission reception point (eNB, figure 56; [1066]) . Regarding claim 13 , Kim, as modified by Li, further teaches wherein the wireless node is a user equipment (UE, figure 56; [1066]) . Regarding claim 14 , Kim discloses transmitting RS for coherent detection and dropping overlap section, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the transmission gap configuration information is received from a network server. Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches and suggests wherein the transmission gap configuration information is received from a network server ([0071]; [0077]; teaches the gap period is configured from a network server) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the gap period is configured from a network server as taught by Wang with the method and apparatus as disclosed by Kim for the purpose of handing collision for SRS transmission, as suggested by Wang. Regarding claim 15 , Kim discloses transmitting RS for coherent detection and dropping overlap section, but may not explicitly disclose providing transmission gap capabilities information to the network server, and wherein the transmission gap configuration information is based at least in part on the transmission gap capabilities information. Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches and suggests providing transmission gap capabilities information to the network server, and wherein the transmission gap configuration information is based at least in part on the transmission gap capabilities information ([0023]; [0028]; [0033]; teaches communicating the UE capability information to the network node regarding the gap period configuration) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate communicating the UE capability information to the network node regarding the gap period configuration as taught by Wang with the method and apparatus as disclosed by Kim for the purpose of handing collision for SRS transmission, as suggested by Wang. Regarding claims 16 and 27 , Kim, as modified by Wang, further teaches wherein activating the transmission gap includes receiving an activation message via a wireless communication protocol ([0023]; “ …transmission and reception of a signal in an overlap section or in a subframe including the overlap section is dropped… ”; ([0102]; “ …SC-FDMA symbol used for transmitting a reference signal (RS) for coherent detection… ”; teaches activating gap information for transmitting RS for coherent detection) . Regarding claim 17 , Kim, as modified by Wang, further teaches wherein the activation message is provided via one of a radio resource control (RRC) signal, a downlink communication information (DCI) signal, or a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) ([0161]; [0626]; [0831]; teaches transmitting message via a RRC signal) . Regarding claim 18 and 28 , Kim discloses transmitting RS for coherent detection and dropping overlap section, but may not explicitly disclose providing a transmission gap configuration request to a network server, wherein the transmission gap configuration information is based at least in part on the transmission gap configuration request. Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches and suggests providing a transmission gap configuration request to a network server, wherein the transmission gap configuration information is based at least in part on the transmission gap configuration request ([0071]; [0077]; teaches the gap period is configured from a network server) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the gap period is configured from a network server as taught by Wang with the method and apparatus as disclosed by Kim for the purpose of handing collision for SRS transmission, as suggested by Wang. Regarding claims 19 and 29 , Kim discloses transmitting RS for coherent detection and dropping overlap section, but may not explicitly disclose wherein activating the transmission gap includes at least one of an aperiodic, a periodic, and a semi-periodic activation configuration. Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches and suggests wherein activating the transmission gap includes at least one of an aperiodic, a periodic, and a semi-periodic activation configuration ([0068]; [0069]; [0071]; teaches gap period including aperiodic, periodic or semi-persistent SRS) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate gap period including aperiodic, periodic or semi-persistent SRS as taught by Wang with the method and apparatus as disclosed by Kim for the purpose of handing collision for SRS transmission, as suggested by Wang. Regarding claim 22 , Kim, as modified by Wang, further teaches wherein the overlapping signals include one or more signals to be received or signals to be transmitted ([0023]; “ …transmission and reception of a signal in an overlap section or in a subframe including the overlap section is dropped… ”; teaches transmitting RS for coherent detection and dropping overlap section) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 20 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al. (hereinafter Kim) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2019/0246363 A1) in view of WANG et al. (hereinafter Wang) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2024/0235772 A1), and further in view of Nader et al. (hereinafter Nader) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2020/0367270 A1) . Regarding claims 20 and 30 , Kim, as modified by Wang, discloses transmitting RS for coherent detection and dropping overlap section, but may not explicitly disclose deactivating the transmission gap in response to receiving a transmission gap deactivation message from a network entity. Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Nader teaches and suggests deactivating the transmission gap in response to receiving a transmission gap deactivation message from a network entity ([0098]; “ …radio network node 10 by generating and transmitting a deactivation signal to the wireless communication devices 12 of the system… ”; teaches deactivating the transmission gap via message from the radio network node) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate deactivating the transmission gap via message from the radio network node as taught by Nader with the method and apparatus as disclosed by Kim, as modified by Wang, for the purpose of reducing wasteful consumption of radio resources and efficiently using the radio resources for transmission, as suggested by Nader. Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments, filed March 2, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-7, 10-23, and 26-30 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of WANG et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2024/0235772 A1). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SUK JIN KANG whose telephone number is (571) 270-1771. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 8am-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Chirag Shah can be reached on (571) 272-3144. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600. /Suk Jin Kang/ Examiner, Art Unit 2477 May 30, 2026 Application/Control Number: 17/988,179 Page 2 Art Unit: 2477 Application/Control Number: 17/988,179 Page 3 Art Unit: 2477 Application/Control Number: 17/988,179 Page 4 Art Unit: 2477 Application/Control Number: 17/988,179 Page 5 Art Unit: 2477 Application/Control Number: 17/988,179 Page 6 Art Unit: 2477 Application/Control Number: 17/988,179 Page 7 Art Unit: 2477 Application/Control Number: 17/988,179 Page 8 Art Unit: 2477 Application/Control Number: 17/988,179 Page 9 Art Unit: 2477 Application/Control Number: 17/988,179 Page 10 Art Unit: 2477 Application/Control Number: 17/988,179 Page 11 Art Unit: 2477 Application/Control Number: 17/988,179 Page 12 Art Unit: 2477 Application/Control Number: 17/988,179 Page 13 Art Unit: 2477 Application/Control Number: 17/988,179 Page 14 Art Unit: 2477 Application/Control Number: 17/988,179 Page 15 Art Unit: 2477 Application/Control Number: 17/988,179 Page 16 Art Unit: 2477 Application/Control Number: 17/988,179 Page 17 Art Unit: 2477