DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation of “an outer surface of the medical device is exposed within the antechamber” is not present in the application as originally filed. The examiner notes that the limitation is negative in nature and as such generally explicit support is required to demonstrate possession. See MPEP 2173.05(i).
Regarding claim 11, the limitation of “an outer surface of the medical device is uncovered within the interior of antechamber[sic]” is not present in the application as originally filed. The examiner notes that the limitation is negative in nature and as such generally explicit support is required to demonstrate possession.
Regarding claim 17, the limitation of “the antechamber is free of a tubular body extending therein between the first hemostasis valve and the second hemostasis valve” is not present in the application as originally filed. The examiner notes that the limitation is negative in nature and as such generally explicit support is required to demonstrate possession. Additionally, it is unclear how the medical device is not a “tubular body” extending as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8-10, 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent 10,500,349 to Shivkumar et al. (Shivkumar hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Shivkumar teaches an introducer assembly (see e.g. Fig. 11) comprising an introducer body (504) adapted to accommodate a volume of fluid therein, an antechamber (1104) therein, a first hemostasis valve (1130) and a second hemostasis valve (506) respectively disposed proximal of and distal of the antechamber and adapted to allow a medical device (904) to pass therethrough (col. 12, ln. 33-60), the first communicating the introducer body with the antechamber. Shivkumar further teaches that the antechamber is filled with liquid such as saline (see e.g. col. 11, ln. 14-27) and that any air trapped therein can be drawn out through the associated check valve 1112 (col. 11, ln. 39-42). Further, Shivkumar teaches that the introducer body is also filled with liquid such as saline (col. 11, ln. 1-13) and that any air therein may be drawn out through the associated check valve (512). Taken together with the teaching that the valves of Shivkumar define the introduction path and bound the wet portion of the apparatus, Shivkumar teaches a wet path passing sequentially through the first hemostasis valve (1130), the antechamber, and the second hemostasis valve (506), and that it is substantially filled with saline providing a continuous liquid interface for the medical device. As best understood, an exterior, or outer, surface of the medical device (904) is exposed (e.g. to the saline) within the antechamber.
Regarding claim 8, Shivkumar teaches luer fittings (512, 514, 1112) disposed at different locations relative to the periphery of the antechamber, and thus disposed about the periphery.
Regarding claim 9, Shivkumar teaches that the luer fittings are adapted to be used to introduce saline into the antechamber, for instance via the use of a catheter similar to the catheter (904, Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 10, Shivkumar teaches that one of the luer fittings (1112) is adapted to bleed air out of the antechamber (col. 14, ln. 1-2).
Regarding claim 17, Shivkumar teaches an introducer assembly (see e.g. Fig. 11) comprising an introducer body (504) adapted to accommodate a volume of fluid therein, an antechamber (1104) therein, a first hemostasis valve (1130) and a second hemostasis valve (506) respectively disposed proximal of and distal of the antechamber and adapted to allow a medical device (904) to pass therethrough (col. 12, ln. 33-60), the first communicating the introducer body with the antechamber. Shivkumar further teaches that the antechamber (1104) is adapted to hold a volume of saline sufficient to submerge a path along which the medical device (904) may travel and to permit air to be purged. The examiner notes that adaptation to hold liquid requires only a solid surface or a surface with all but one opening being sealable. Shivkumar further teaches that the antechamber is filled with liquid such as saline (see e.g. col. 11, ln. 14-27) and that any air trapped therein can be drawn out through the associated check valve 1112 (col. 11, ln. 39-42). Further, Shivkumar teaches that the introducer body is also filled with liquid such as saline (col. 11, ln. 1-13) and that any air therein may be drawn out through the associated check valve (512). Taken together with the teaching that the valves of Shivkumar define the introduction path and bound the wet portion of the apparatus, Shivkumar teaches a wet path passing sequentially through the first hemostasis valve (1130), the antechamber, and the second hemostasis valve (506), and that it is substantially filled with saline providing a continuous liquid interface for the medical device. Furthermore, as the core tube (1102) is not strictly tubular, the examiner holds that the antechamber of Shivkumar is substantially free of a tubular body extending between the first hemostasis valve and the second hemostasis valve.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-7, 11-16 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shivkumar.
Regarding claims 2 and 18, Shivkumar teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 17 from which these claims depend, but does not explicitly teach annular chambers having the claimed major and minor axes. However, the examiner notes that applicant has not established any particular criticality to these limitations. The examiner further notes that where the difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is a matter of shape, there is no patentable distinction absent evidence that the shape is significant (MPEP 2144.04 IV. B). Accordingly, since Shivkumar teaches an axis of introduction (e.g. right to left in Fig. 11), the only difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is a shape for which there is not persuasive evidence of criticality. The examiner notes that applicant has specifically noted that changes in shape are possible (paragraph 51 of applicant’s specification). The examiner therefore concludes that these claims are obvious over Shivkumar as, at most, a change in shape that does not rise to the level of patentability.
Regarding claims 3, 6-7 and 19, Shivkumar teaches that the axis of introduction extends as claimed (see Fig. 11, axis of introduction extending through the centers of 504 and 1104 from right to left).
Regarding claims 4 and 20, Shivkumar teaches that the major axis is vertical to allow air to rise to the relevant valve (see Fig. 10, col. 10, ln. 47-55) and the level of saline is sufficient to enforce the rising action.
Regarding claim 11, Shivkumar teaches an introducer assembly (see e.g. Fig. 11) comprising an introducer body (504) adapted to accommodate a volume of fluid therein, an antechamber (1104) therein, a first hemostasis valve (1130) and a second hemostasis valve (506) respectively disposed proximal of and distal of the antechamber and adapted to allow a medical device (904) to pass therethrough (col. 12, ln. 33-60), the first communicating the introducer body with the antechamber. Shivkumar further teaches that the antechamber (1104) is adapted to hold a volume of saline sufficient to submerge a path along which the medical device (904) may travel and to permit air to be purged. The examiner notes that adaptation to hold liquid requires only a solid surface or a surface with all but one opening being sealable. Shivkumar further teaches that the antechamber is filled with liquid such as saline (see e.g. col. 11, ln. 14-27) and that any air trapped therein can be drawn out through the associated check valve 1112 (col. 11, ln. 39-42). Further, Shivkumar teaches that the introducer body is also filled with liquid such as saline (col. 11, ln. 1-13) and that any air therein may be drawn out through the associated check valve (512). Taken together with the teaching that the valves of Shivkumar define the introduction path and bound the wet portion of the apparatus, Shivkumar teaches a wet path passing sequentially through the first hemostasis valve (1130), the antechamber, and the second hemostasis valve (506), and that it is substantially filled with saline providing a continuous liquid interface for the medical device. As best understood, an exterior, or outer, surface of the medical device (904) is uncovered (e.g. with respect to the saline) within the antechamber. Furthermore, Shivkumar teaches a wet path passing sequentially through the first hemostasis valve (1130), the antechamber, and the second hemostasis valve (506), and that it is substantially filled with saline providing a continuous liquid interface for the medical device.
Regarding claims 5 and 12, as noted above, Shivkumar teaches that the antechamber is filled with liquid such as saline (see e.g. col. 11, ln. 14-27) and that any air trapped therein can be drawn out through the associated check valve 1112 (col. 11, ln. 39-42) such that the wet path will be submerged.
Regarding claim 13, Shivkumar teaches purging of air (via 1112).
Regarding claim 14, Shivkumar teaches luer fittings (512, 514, 1112) disposed at different locations relative to the periphery of the antechamber, and thus disposed about the periphery.
Regarding claim 15, Shivkumar teaches that the luer fittings are adapted to be used to introduce saline into the antechamber, for instance via the use of a catheter similar to the catheter (904, Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 16, Shivkumar teaches that one of the luer fittings (1112) is adapted to bleed air out of the antechamber (col. 14, ln. 1-2).
Claim(s) 2-4, 6-7, 11-16, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shivkumar in view of U.S. Patent 9,078,981 to Subramaniam et al. (Subramaniam).
Regarding claims 2-3, 11, and 18-19, Shivkumar teaches the limitations of claim 1 from which claim 2 depends, but does not teach that the antechamber has an annular body with a major and minor dimension, the major dimension being perpendicular with an axis of insertion (i.e. path of 904 in Shivkumar). Subramaniam teaches another medical device generally, and particularly teaches that an antechamber (105) may have an annular body (130) with a major dimension perpendicular to the insertion axis (MD). Subramaniam teaches that this allows for inhibition of gas infiltration (col. 2, ln. 6-32). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the application to provide an annular body as taught by Subramaniam either instead of or in addition to the antechamber of Shivkumar in order to assist in preventing gas infiltration.
Regarding claims 4, 12, Shivkumar teaches that the antechamber (1104) is adapted to hold a volume of saline sufficient to submerge a path along which the medical device (904) may travel and to permit air to be purged. The examiner notes that adaptation to hold liquid requires only a solid surface or a surface with all but one opening being sealable.
Regarding claims 6-7, Shivkumar teaches that the axis of introduction extends as claimed (see Fig. 11, axis of introduction extending through the centers of 504 and 1104 from right to left).
Regarding claim 13, Shivkumar teaches that one of the luer fittings (1112) is adapted to bleed air out of the antechamber (col. 14, ln. 1-2) upon entry of sufficient saline.
Regarding claim 14, Shivkumar teaches luer fittings (512, 514, 1112) disposed at different locations relative to the periphery of the antechamber, and thus disposed about the periphery.
Regarding claim 15, Shivkumar teaches that the luer fittings are adapted to be used to introduce saline into the antechamber, for instance via the use of a catheter similar to the catheter (904) of Fig. 11.
Regarding claim 16, Shivkumar teaches that one of the luer fittings (1112) is adapted to bleed air out of the antechamber (col. 14, ln. 1-2).
Regarding claim 20, Shivkumar teaches that the major axis is vertical to allow air to rise to the relevant valve (see Fig. 10, col. 10, ln. 47-55) and the level of saline is sufficient to enforce the rising action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the new limitations, the examiner notes that these are, first, held to contain new matter. Second, Shivkumar teaches these limitations as discussed above, at least to the standard of a broadest reasonable interpretation thereof. With respect to claim 1, an outer surface of the medical device is exposed, at least to the saline in the antechamber. With respect to claim 11, such an outer surface is uncovered within the antechamber, and the presence of the core tube does not meaningfully affect this uncovered state. With respect to the tubular member of claim 17, this appears to require a tubular member extending from one valve to the second. However, since 1102 bulges in the middle and is perforated, this does not qualify as such an excluded body.
Conclusion
/PHILIP E STIMPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 4 April 2026