DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s application 17/988,267 filed on January 20 2026 in which claims 1 to 39 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on 16 November 2022 have been reviewed and accepted by the Examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS), filed on November 29, 2022 and January 19 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosed therein has been considered by the Examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of paper submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) which has been placed of record in the file.
Notation
References to patents will be in the form of (C:L) where C is the column number and L is the line number. References to pre-grant patent publications will be to the paragraph number in the form of (¶ XXXX).
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-6 in the reply filed on January 20 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 7-39 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4 and 6 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2021/0057436 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a resistive memory device (Figs.1-20) comprising:
a stack structure (10; Fig.15; ¶ 0074) in which a plurality of interlayer insulating layers (60; Fig.20; ¶0027) and a plurality of conductive layers (24; Fig.20; ¶ 0056) are alternately stacked (60 and 24; Fig.20);
a hole passing through the stack structure in a vertical direction (through via in the vertical direction; Fig.20);
a gate insulating layer (28; Fig.15; ¶ 0053), a channel layer (44, Fig.15; ¶ 0045), and a variable resistance layer (38, Fig.15; ¶ 0042) sequentially formed along a sidewall of the hole (along the sidewall of the hole formed through 24 and 60; Fig.15); and
a high dielectric layer (70; Fig.15; ¶ 0033; formed from “high-k”) formed between the channel layer (44) and the gate insulating layer (28), the high dielectric layer (70; Fig.15) being adjacent to the plurality of interlayer insulating layers (60; Fig.15).
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches wherein the high dielectric layer (28; Fig.15; ¶ 0055) is disposed only in the space between vertically adjacent conductive layers (16), among the plurality of conductive layers (24), and wherein the high dielectric layer (28) that is disposed in the space between the plurality of protruding conductive layers has a concave sidewall (the top surface combined with the side surface and bottom surface; Fig.21) that is in contact with the channel layer (all layers are in electrical /thermal contact).
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches wherein the channel layer includes a concave area (44; has a concave area) that is adjacent to the plurality of interlayer insulating layers (60) and a substantially straight area that is adjacent to the plurality of conductive layers (44 has a straight area close to 24).
Claims 1, 3 and 5 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shim et al. (US 2021/0151461 A1; hereinafter “Shim”).
Regarding claim 1, Shim teaches a resistive memory device (Figs.1-19F) comprising:
a stack structure (100; Fig.1-3A; ¶ 00028) in which a plurality of interlayer insulating layers (120; Fig.2; ¶0028) and a plurality of conductive layers (130; ¶ 0028) are alternately stacked (120 and 130);
a hole passing through the stack structure in a vertical direction (through via in the vertical direction; Figs.2-3A);
a gate insulating layer (132; Fig.3A; ¶ 0034), a channel layer (140, Fig.3A; ¶ 0034), and a variable resistance layer (144, Fig.3A; ¶ 0046) sequentially formed along a sidewall of the hole (along the sidewall of the hole formed through 130 and 120; Fig.3A); and
a high dielectric layer (142; Fig.3A; ¶ 0044; “a high-k material”) formed between the channel layer (144) and the gate insulating layer (132), the high dielectric layer 142; Fig.3A) being adjacent to the plurality of interlayer insulating layers (142 is adjacent to the plurality of 120; Fig.3A).
Regarding claim 3, Shim teaches the high dielectric layer (142; Fig.3A; ¶0044) is disposed only in a space between the plurality of protruding conductive layers (135; Fig.3A; ¶0032 and 0042).
Regarding claim 5, Shim teaches the channel layer has a wave-like pattern extending in the vertical direction (140; Fig. 4C; ¶ 0036).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2021/0057436 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Kim does not explicitly teach the high dielectric layer has a higher dielectric constant that is higher than the gate insulating layer.
However, Kim teaches in ¶ 0054 “materials 70[the high dielectric layer] and 28 [gate insulation layer] may comprise a same composition as one another, or may comprise different compositions relative to one another.” (Since the two layers can have different compositions relative to one another, than the dielectric constant can be higher or smaller than the gate insulation layer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention, to have the high dielectric layer has a higher dielectric constant that is higher than the gate insulating layer in the device of Kim since such a modification merely involves choosing from a finite number of known dielectric material to improve the relative dielectric constants of the gate dielectric layer and the high k dielectric which would have been within the routine skill of the art and yields no more than predictable results.
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2021/0057436 A1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Shim et al. (US 2021/0151461 A1; hereinafter “Shim”).
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches wherein the plurality of conductive layers (24; Fig.15) protrude farther into the hole compared to the plurality of interlayer insulating layers (60; Fig.15).
Kim does not teach wherein the high dielectric layer is disposed only in a space between the plurality of protruding conductive layers.
However, Shim teaches in the same field of endeavor wherein the high dielectric layer (142; Fig.3A; ¶0044) is disposed only in a space between the plurality of protruding conductive layers (135; Fig.3A; ¶0032 and 0042).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention, to have the high dielectric layer is disposed only in a space between the plurality of protruding conductive layers in the device of Kim as taught by Shim for the purpose of improving the reliability of the memory device (¶0154).
Regarding claim 5, Kim does not teach wherein the channel layer has a wave-like pattern extending in the vertical direction.
However, Shim teaches the channel layer has a wave-like pattern extending in the vertical direction (140; Fig. 4C; ¶ 0036).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention; to have, the channel layer has a wave-like pattern extending in the vertical direction in the device of Kim as taught by Shim since such modification would have involved a mere change in size/shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being with the level of ordinary skill in the art MPEP § 2144.04 IV B.
Conclusion
/Mounir S Amer/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818