Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14,16-26, 28-33, 35-36 and 38-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 33 and 36 the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear. Each claim has been amended to add a final clause that defines a clearance between the liner and the coating however that clearance is defined as “less than 0.1 mm after 30,000,000 cycles of operation in an endurance test” where the bearing is “subjected to a unidirectional load of 10 MPa and dithering movement of ±2º”. However it is unclear how this is structurally limiting the apparatus itself. Is Applicant making/selling a product that is aways subjected to this process/test prior to being sold? If so, would someone selling a product that is generally identical except for the use of an endurance test be infringing on the claim? Does the final product being provided/claimed include the clearance or not? What if someone subjects the product to an endurance test but uses different cycles, loading and dither movement values but still the end result is the same gap, would they be infringing? The last clause added to the independent claims seems to be a recitation defining what the device can become when subjected to a test, this is not further defining what the product actually is. What a product becomes after being subjected to different conditions is not what Applicant has invented based on the disclosure nor does Applicant’s disclosure imply that every bearing must be subject to this particular test and thus it is unclear how this is actually structurally limiting the product actually developed that Applicant is seeking protection for. As best understood, the claim will be treated with respect to the structure positively set forth by the claim, not what happens to the device given specific loading conditions and cycles of use as the claim is drawn to a standalone bearing, not a bearing in a particular test rig, a testing process or a used bearing product.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12, 16, 24 and 32, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato, US PGPub 2005/0036722, in view of Dam, USP 5,700,094.
Regarding claim 1, Sato discloses a self-lubricating bearing, comprising: an outer ring (1) having a concave inside surface defining an interior area of the outer ring (curved inner surface); an inner member (3) having a convex exterior surface (curved outer surface), the inner member being disposed at least partially in the interior area, the convex exterior surface having a physical vapor deposition [PVD] coating (4, it is noted that how the coating is applied is a product by process recitation, see MPEP 2113, however Sato discloses the same PVD process, see paragraph 0021) thereon; and a self-lubricating liner (2, see paragraph 0026, PTFE is a self-lubricating material) bonded (using phenolic resin as a paste, see paragraph 0026) to the concave inside surface, wherein the outer ring comprises a first metallic alloy, and the inner member comprises a second metallic alloy (see paragraph 0022).
Sato further discloses that the physical vapor deposition coating comprises titanium nitride (see paragraph 0020) which is one of the materials disclosed in the instant application.
Sato does not disclosure that the physical vapor deposition coating is chromium nitride, an alternate material listed in the disclosure and previously claimed in claim 15 in the alternative.
Dam teaches a coating used in a bearing where chromium nitride is listed as an alternative to titanium nitride (see column 2, lines 45-51) and Dam further disclose that the chromium nitride can be applied by physical vapor deposition (see column 2, lines 62-65).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify Sato and use any known alternative to titanium nitride as a bearing coating, including chromium nitride, as taught by Dam, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
NOTE: regarding the last clause of the claim, the recitation is defining the device based on what it becomes after specific conditions, this is not structurally limiting the actual product, the product is limited by the recitations earlier in the claim which are rendered obvious by the combination above, because the added recitation provides no further structural limitations to the claim the claim stands rejected as previously set forth. This also applies to all rejections of the independent claims below.
Regarding claim 2, Sato discloses that a chemical composition of the first metallic alloy and a chemical composition of the second metallic alloy are the same (both can be steel or titanium, this includes combinations of materials that would be the same alloy, see paragraph 0022).
Regarding claims 3-12, Sato, while disclosing the use of stainless steel (paragraph 0022), does not disclose the specifics of the steel and thus does not disclose that the chemical composition comprises a precipitation hardened stainless steel [clm 3], that the precipitation hardened stainless steel comprises an AMS 5643 17-4PH stainless steel or an AMS 5629 13-8 PH stainless steel [clm 4], that the precipitation hardened stainless steel comprises an AMS 5643 17-4PH stainless steel heat treated per 17-4PH H1150 [clm 5], that the chemical composition comprises a martensitic stainless steel [clm 6], that the martensitic stainless steel comprises a 440C stainless steel or an AMS 5630, AMS 5880 or AMS 5618 stainless steel [clm 7], that the martensitic stainless steel is heat treated to HRc 55 to 62 [clm 8], that a chemical composition of the first metallic alloy comprises a precipitation hardened stainless steel, and a chemical composition of the second metallic alloy comprises a martensitic stainless steel [clm 9], that the precipitation hardened stainless steel comprises an AMS 5643 17-4PH stainless steel or an AMS 5629 13-8 PH stainless steel, and the martensitic stainless steel comprises a 440C stainless steel or an AMS 5630, AMS 5880 or AMS 5618 stainless steel [clm 10], that the precipitation hardened stainless steel comprises an AMS 5643 17-4PH stainless steel heat treated per 17-4PH H1150 [clm 11] or that the martensitic stainless steel is heat treated to HRc 55 to 62.
All of claims 3-12 are defining specifics of the material selected and limiting the type of material to specific compositions that are either heat treated or hardened however none of these recitations are further limiting the structure of the bearing, nor has Applicant invented a new material. The claims are merely setting forth known materials that Applicant has selected for their particular purpose, however this is not inventive since it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to select at the time of effective filing to modify Sato and select from any known material, including materials having the features set forth in claims 3-12, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. NOTE: hardening of materials is not new or novel, selection of a particular range, while ultimately selecting a particular material, does not render the claims inventive and is a matter of selection from a smaller class of materials, those being hardened by some form of treatment process, the result of all treatment process being improved hardness/durability. It is further noted that in the disclosure there is no indication that the underlying materials provide any benefit, the benefits of the invention related to the PVD coating and the self-lubricating liner this combination of features as demonstrated by the prior art above was known prior to the filing by Applicant.
See the previous citation of pertinent art in the non-final office action dated April 30, 2024 that provided examples of the materials recited being known materials within the field of bearings.
Regarding claim 16, the claim is listing specific PVD processes, the specific process used is a product by process recitation, see MPEP 2113, which are not structurally limiting. By disclosing a PVD coating the structure of the claim is anticipated by Sato.
Regarding claim 24, Sato discloses that the self-lubricating bearing is a spherical bearing or a journal bearing (see figure 2 showing a spherical bearing).
Regarding claim 32, the recitation is defining the intended use of the bearing, this is not structurally limiting the bearing itself, regardless of where the bearing is used the structure remains the same. The recitation “sized” is not limiting the bearing to any specific size. However, it is noted that Sato discloses that the field of the invention is related to supports of aircraft flaps (see paragraph 0003) which would include ailerons, elevators and rudders.
Claim(s) 1-2, 13-14, 16, 24, 26, 32, 36 and 38, as best understood, is/are rejected 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merg, USP 10,480,569, in view of Dam, USP 5,700,094.
Regarding claim 1, Merg discloses a self-lubricating bearing, comprising: an outer ring (14) having a concave inside surface defining an interior area of the outer ring (curved inner surface); an inner member (12) having a convex exterior surface (curved outer surface), the inner member being disposed at least partially in the interior area, the convex exterior surface having a physical vapor deposition [PVD] coating (see column 4, lines 32-38, this is also a product by process recitation, see MPEP 2113) thereon; and a self-lubricating liner (70, disclosed as PTFE which is a self-lubricating material) bonded (secured to the outer ring 14, see column 5, lines 6-22) to the concave inside surface, wherein the outer ring comprises a first metallic alloy, and the inner member comprises a second metallic alloy (see column 4, line 19-column 5, line 5).
Merg further discloses that the physical vapor deposition coating comprises titanium nitride (see column 4, lines 32-28) which is one of the materials disclosed in the instant application.
Merg does not disclosure that the physical vapor deposition coating is chromium nitride, an alternate material listed in the disclosure and previously claimed in claim 15 in the alternative.
Dam teaches a coating used in a bearing where chromium nitride is listed as an alternative to titanium nitride (see column 2, lines 45-51) and Dam further disclose that the chromium nitride can be applied by physical vapor deposition (see column 2, lines 62-65).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify Merg and use any known alternative to titanium nitride as a bearing coating, including chromium nitride, as taught by Dam, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 2, Merg discloses that a chemical composition of the first metallic alloy and a chemical composition of the second metallic alloy are the same (both the same titanium alloy, see column 4, line 19-column 5, line 5).
Regarding claim 13, Merg discloses a lubricant (50) disposed between the self-lubricating liner (70) and the physical vapor deposition coating (on outer surface of 12).
Regarding claim 14, Merg discloses that with the lubricant comprises a silicone grease (see column 6, lines 49-52) with a plurality of first self-lubricating particles dispersed therein (grease is made of a series of lubricating particles, the claim does not specifically limit the claim to any type of particles, all oils and greases are made of lubricating particles under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the phrase).
Regarding claim 16, the claim is listing specific PVD processes, the specific process used is a product by process recitation, see MPEP 2113, which are not structurally limiting. By disclosing a PVD coating the structure of the claim is anticipated by Merg.
Regarding claim 24, Merg discloses that the self-lubricating bearing is a spherical bearing or a journal bearing (see figure 3a showing a spherical bearing).
Regarding claim 26, Merg discloses that the inner member (12) has at least one axial split (13a and 13b) therein.
Regarding claim 32, the recitation is defining the intended use of the bearing, this is not structurally limiting the bearing itself, regardless of where the bearing is used the structure remains the same. Since all the bearing structure is disclosed as addressed above claim 32 is rejected. The recitation of “size” is also not limiting the bearing to any particular size.
Regarding claim 36, Merg discloses a self-lubricating bearing, comprising: an outer ring (14) having a concave inside surface defining an interior area of the outer ring (curved inner surface); an inner member (12) having a convex exterior surface (curved outer surface), the inner member being disposed at least partially in the interior area, the convex exterior surface having a physical vapor deposition [PVD] coating (see column 4, lines 32-38, this is also a product by process recitation, see MPEP 2113) thereon; and a self-lubricating liner (70, disclosed as PTFE which is a self-lubricating material) bonded (secured to the outer ring 14, see column 5, lines 6-22) bonded to an entire area of the concave inside surface (the entire area is in reference to the concave surface itself, this surface in Merg can be viewed as only spanning the regions between the two seals 95 and the liner 70 covers this entire area), and a lubricant (50) disposed between the self-lubricating liner (70) and the physical vapor deposition coating (on outer surface of 12), wherein the outer ring comprises a first metallic alloy, and the inner member comprises a second metallic alloy (see column 4, line 19-column 5, line 5).
Merg further discloses that the physical vapor deposition coating comprises titanium nitride (see column 4, lines 32-28) which is one of the materials disclosed in the instant application.
Merg does not disclosure that the physical vapor deposition coating is chromium nitride, an alternate material listed in the disclosure and previously claimed in claim 15 in the alternative.
Dam teaches a coating used in a bearing where chromium nitride is listed as an alternative to titanium nitride (see column 2, lines 45-51) and Dam further disclose that the chromium nitride can be applied by physical vapor deposition (see column 2, lines 62-65).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify Merg and use any known alternative to titanium nitride as a bearing coating, including chromium nitride, as taught by Dam, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 38, the recitation is defining the intended use of the bearing, this is not structurally limiting the bearing itself, regardless of where the bearing is used the structure remains the same. Since all the bearing structure is disclosed as addressed above claim 32 is rejected. The recitation of “size” is also not limiting the bearing to any particular size.
Claim(s) 17 and 18, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merg, USP 10,480,569, in view of Dam, USP 5,700,094, as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Sakairi, USP 8,915,648.
Regarding claims 17 and 18, Merg, while disclosing silicone grease which ultimately has self-lubricating particles as explained in the rejection of claim 14 above, does not disclose that the plurality of first self-lubricating particles comprises polytetrafluoroethylene [clm 17] and that the polytetrafluoroethylene comprises at least one of a powder, a floc and fibers [clm 18].
Sakairi teaches the use of silicone grease in a bearing wherein the grease includes particles comprising polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE, see column 18, lines 59-64) and more specifically a powder form of PTFE (see column 18, lines 59-64).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify Merg and replace the silicone grease with any previously known silicone grease, including one that includes PTFE particles in the form of a powder, as taught by Sakairi, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. In addition, substituting one known grease for another known grease is not inventive but rather a matter of routine substituting of known equivalents that ultimately act to lubricate and reduce friction/wear in the bearing.
Claim(s) 19-23, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merg, USP 10,480,569, in view of Dam, USP 5,700,094, as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Harper, USP 9,316,257.
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Merg discloses that the self-lubricating liner (70) comprises a woven material (80) with a resin (see column 5, lines 35-69) embedded therein [clm 19] and that the woven material comprises a fabric comprising at least one of fiberglass, polyethylene terephthalate, polyester (see column 5, lines 35-69), nylon, cotton, meta- aramid material, polytetrafluoroethylene (see column 5, lines 35-69) and aromatic polyamide fibers.
Merg does not disclose that the resin is a thermosetting resin with self-lubricating particles disposed therein [clm 19].
Harper teaches that a self-lubricating liner (118) uses a thermosetting resin (see column 4, lines 45-49) and that the liner can further include additional particles in addition to the woven material (the addition of other fibers addressed column 4, lines 45-49, the other particles including the fibers listed at the beginning of the paragraph, NOTE in the instant application the second particles can included fibers or other particles imbedded in the fabric).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify Merg and replace the liner with any previously known liner, including one that comprises a woven material with thermosetting resin and additional lubricating particles, as taught by Harper, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. In addition, substituting one known PTFE liner for another known PTFE liner is not inventive but rather a matter of routine substituting of known equivalents that both perform the same function.
Regarding claim 23, Merg in view of Harper discloses that the resin comprises polyester, epoxy, phenolic, urethane, polyimide, thermoplastic polymers or a thermoset polymer (see column 4, lines 45-59 of Harper).
Regarding claims 21-22, Merg discloses a woven liner and thus does not disclose that the self-lubricating liner comprises a thermally-consolidated, machinable, moldable non-woven material [clm 21], and that the non-woven material comprises a plurality of second self-lubricating particles integral to the non-woven material or as an additive to a resin [clm 22].
Harper further teaches that the liner, in an alternative to being a woven type liner, can be non-woven material (can be made with only chopped fibers, not a woven fabric, see column 4 lines 45-68) that is thermally-consolidated (solidified thermosetting resin) that is also machinable or moldable (these are capabilities of the material, not structurally limiting however, any generally fluid material which would be the case if a woven fabric is not used can be molded and later machined upon solidifying) and that the non-woven material comprises a plurality of second self-lubricating particles integral to the non-woven material or as additives to the resin (all the different fibers disclosed can be mixed with the resin, see column 4, lines 60-68).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify Merg and replace the liner with any previously known liner, including one that comprises a non-woven material with thermosetting resin and additional lubricating particles, as taught by Harper, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. In addition, substituting one known PTFE liner for another known PTFE liner is not inventive but rather a matter of routine substituting of known equivalents that perform the same function.
Claim(s) 39, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Merg, USP 10,480,569, in view of Dam, USP 5,700,094, as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Sato, USP 2005/0036722.
Merg, further discloses that the convex exterior surface is a continuous, seal-free surface as the surface itself has no feature for receiving or holding a seal. However, by nature of having the sealing element in the outer ring member, Merg does not disclose that the concave inside surface is continuous, seal-free surface and that the self-lubricating liner is bonded to an entire area of the concave inside surface.
Sato teaches an alternate spherical bearing outer ring member wherein the outer ring has a continuous seal free surface and the liner is bonded over the entire area of the inside of the outer ring.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify Merg and use any previously known outer ring configuration, including one that is continuous, seal free, and has the liner bonded over the entire inner surface, as taught by Sato, since substituting between different known spherical bearing outer ring configurations provides the same predictable result of providing an arrangement that supports and outer spherical ring and inner spherical ring in a manner that allows for the same relative movement. In other words removing of a seal and having the bonded layer run end to end of the bearing ring is not inventive as such an outer ring configuration was previously known prior to the disclosure by Applicant. Substituting different know ring shapes/arrangements is not inventive but rather a matter of routine substitution of equivalent parts.
Claim(s) 25, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato, US PGPub 2005/0036722 in view of Dam, USP 5,700,094, or alternatively Merg, USP 10,480,569 in view of Dam, USP 5,700,094, as applied to claim 1 individually, and further in view of Porter, US PGPub 2013/0287326.
Neither Sato nor Merg disclose that the outer ring has at least one axial split therein.
Porter teaches that in a spherical bearing the outer ring (16) can include at least axial split (in this case two splits segmenting the ring into two parts 16a and 16b, see paragraph 0030).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify Sato or Merg and configure the outer ring as a split outer ring with at least one axial split, as taught by Porter, since substituting between a known one-piece outer ring and a known two piece outer ring provides the same predictable result of rotatably supporting the inner ring element of the bearing. In addition, using a split ring provides the known benefit of simplify manufacturing by removing the need for a complex insertion method of the inner member or the need of machining load slots in the outer ring.
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 7, 9, 16, 24, 28, 30, 31 and 32, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giegel, US PGPub 2014/0254965, in view of Sato, US PGPub 2005/0036722, and further in view of Dam, USP 5,700,094.
Regarding claim 1, Giegel discloses a self-lubricating bearing, comprising: an outer ring (14) having a concave inside surface defining an interior area of the outer ring (curved inner surface); an inner member (12) having a convex exterior surface (curved outer surface), the inner member being disposed at least partially in the interior area; and a self-lubricating liner (20B, see paragraph 0033, PTFE is a self-lubricating material or see paragraph 0034 disclosing solid film lubricant as an alternative) bonded to the concave inside surface (attached to the outer ring), wherein the outer ring comprises a first metallic alloy, and the inner member comprises a second metallic alloy (see paragraphs 0031-0032).
Giegel does not disclose the use of a PVD coating on the convex exterior surface of the inner member.
Sato teaches a similar bearing which, in addition to a self-lubricating liner, includes the convex exterior surface of the inner member (3) having a PVD coating (4, see paragraph 0021) for the purpose of providing a bearing with a stable sliding surface over a long period of time (benefit of using a self-lubricating liner with the PVD coating disclosed in paragraph 0020).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify Giegel and add a PVD coating on the convex exterior surface of the inner member, as taught by Sato, for the purpose of providing a bearing with a stable sliding surface over a long period of time.
Sato further discloses that the physical vapor deposition coating comprises titanium nitride (see paragraph 0020) which is one of the materials disclosed in the instant application.
Therefore, Giegel in view of Sato does not disclosure that the physical vapor deposition coating is chromium nitride, an alternate material listed in the disclosure and previously claimed in claim 15 in the alternative.
Dam teaches a coating used in a bearing where chromium nitride is listed as an alternative to titanium nitride (see column 2, lines 45-51) and Dam further disclose that the chromium nitride can be applied by physical vapor deposition (see column 2, lines 62-65).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify Giegel in view Sato and use any known alternative to titanium nitride as a bearing coating, including chromium nitride, as taught by Dam, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 2, Giegel discloses that a chemical composition of the first metallic alloy and a chemical composition of the second metallic alloy are the same (both can be steel or titanium, see paragraphs 0031 and 0032).
Regarding claim 3, Giegel discloses that precipitation hardened stainless steel can be used (see paragraph 0032).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Giegel discloses that martensitic stainless steel in the form of 440C stainless steel can be used (see paragraph 0031).
Regarding claim 9, Giegel discloses that a chemical composition of the first metallic alloy comprises a precipitation hardened stainless steel, and a chemical composition of the second metallic alloy comprises a martensitic stainless steel (see paragraphs 0031-0032).
Regarding the remainder of the material claims, 4-5, 8 and 10-12, Giegel, while disclosing the use of general classes of materials in addition to 440C and precipitation hardened steel in the form of 17-4PH, does not disclose the specific types of steel or treatments to the steel. Specifically Giegel does not disclose that the precipitation hardened stainless steel comprises an AMS 5643 17-4PH stainless steel or an AMS 5629 13-8 PH stainless steel [clm 4], that the precipitation hardened stainless steel comprises an AMS 5643 17-4PH stainless steel heat treated per 17-4PH H1150 [clm 5], that the martensitic stainless steel is heat treated to HRc 55 to 62 [clm 8], that the precipitation hardened stainless steel comprises an AMS 5643 17-4PH stainless steel or an AMS 5629 13-8 PH stainless steel [clm 10], that the precipitation hardened stainless steel comprises an AMS 5643 17-4PH stainless steel heat treated per 17-4PH H1150 [clm 11] or that the martensitic stainless steel is heat treated to HRc 55 to 62.
These claims are defining specifics of the material selected and limiting the type of material to specific compositions that are either heat treated or hardened however none of these recitations are further limiting the structure of the bearing, nor has Applicant invented a new material. The claims are merely setting forth known materials that Applicant has selected for their particular purpose, however this is not inventive since it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to select at the time of effective filing to modify Giegel and select from any known material, including materials having the features set forth in these claims, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See Note in the rejection of claims 3-12 under Sato above.
Regarding claim 16, the claim is listing specific PVD processes, the specific process used is a product by process recitation, see MPEP 2113, which are not structurally limiting. By disclosing a PVD coating the structure of the claim is rendered obvious by Sato.
Regarding claim 24, Giegel discloses that the self-lubricating bearing is a spherical bearing or a journal bearing (see figure 1b showing a spherical bearing).
Regarding claim 28, Giegel discloses that the inner member has a cylindrical bore (17) extending axially therethrough, the bore being defined by an interior surface having another self-lubricating liner (20A) adhered thereto (note the shape of the bore is the same as that shown in the instant application), and the self-lubricating bearing further comprises a shaft (11) extending through the bore, the shaft having a cylindrical exterior surface and being in sliding relation to the inner member.
Giegel does not disclose another physical vapor deposition coating on the exterior surface of the shaft.
However, in further view of the teachings of Sato, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to further modify Giegel and add a PVD coating on the exterior surface of the shaft, since as taught by Sato, the use of a PVD coating in combination with the lubrication liner provides a bearing with a stable sliding surface over a long period of time (paragraph 0020 of Sato).
Regarding claim 30, Giegel in view of Sato discloses that the other physical vapor deposition coating comprises chromium nitride, titanium nitride (see paragraph 0020 of Sato), tungsten carbide or zirconium nitride.
Regarding claim 31, the claim is listing specific PVD processes, the specific process used is a product by process recitation, see MPEP 2113, which are not structurally limiting. By disclosing a PVD coating the structure of the claim is rendered obvious by Sato.
Regarding claim 32, the recitation is defining the intended use of the bearing, this is not structurally limiting the bearing itself, regardless of where the bearing is used the structure remains the same. Since all the bearing structure is disclosed as addressed above claim 32 is rejected.
Claim(s) 13-14, 19-23, 26 and 29, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giegel, US PGPub 2014/0254965, in view of Sato, US PGPub 2005/0036722, and Dam, USP 5,700,094, as applied above, and further in view of Merg, USP 10,480,569.
Regarding claims 13 and 29, Giegel in view of Sato does not disclose the use of a lubricant between the corresponding liner and the pvd coating [clms 13 and 29].
Merg further teaches using a grease (50) between a self-lubricating liner (70) and a PVD coating (placed on the outside of 12, see column 4, lines 32-38) to reduce the torque requirement between the relatively rotating parts (column 1, lines 49-51).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to add a lubricant between the liner and PVD coating, as taught by Merg, for the predictable result of further improving the performance of the bearing by providing and additional friction reduction agent between the moving parts which ultimately leads to a reduction in torque as stated by Merg.
Regarding claim 14, Merg discloses that with the lubricant comprises a silicone grease (see column 6, lines 49-52) with a plurality of first self-lubricating particles dispersed therein (grease is made of a series of lubricating particles, the claim does not specifically limit the claim to any type of particles, all oils and greases are made of lubricating particles under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the phrase).
Regarding claims 19-23, Giegel further discloses the liner comprises a woven material with a thermosetting resin with a plurality of second self-lubricating particles dispersed in resin (see paragraph 0033 disclosing a fiber weave, thermoset resin and the use of additional fibers within the PTFE layer) [clm 19], where the woven material comprises a fabric of PTFE (the disclosure of a ptfe impregnated with a thermoset resin in paragraph 0033 indicates that the ptfe is a standalone fabric or layer of material that is saturated with the resin) [clm 20], wherein the liner comprises a thermal-consolidated, machinable, moldable non-woven material (the indication of the PTFE being bonded with and the indication of separate fibers in paragraph 0033 indicates the alternatives covered by “bonded or impregnated” includes both woven and non-woven configurations, regardless each uses a thermoset resin that once set can be machined and absent a fabric layer can be molded) [clm 21], where the non-woven material comprises second self-lubricating particles (other fibers disclosed in paragraph 0033) [clm 22], and wherein the resin is a phenolic resin (see paragraph 0033) [clm 23]. Note if it is later determined that the broad disclosure in paragraph 0033 doesn’t cover any or all of the claims listed above see the alternative rejections above.
Regarding claim 26, Giegel does not disclose that the outer ring has at least one axial spit.
However, Merg further teaches that in a spherical bearing the inner ring can include at least one split (13a or 13b).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify Giegel in view of Sato and configure the inner ring as a split ring with at least one axial split, as further taught by Merg, since substituting between a known one-piece inner ring and a known two piece inner ring provides the same predictable result of rotatably supporting the inner ring element of the bearing relative to the outer ring element. In addition, using a split ring provides the known benefit of simplify manufacturing by removing the need for a complex insertion method or the need of machining load slots in the outer ring.
Claim(s) 17 and 18, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giegel, US PGPub 2014/0254965, in view of Sato, US PGPub 2005/0036722, Dam, USP 5,700,094 and Merg, USP 10,480,569, as applied above, and further in view of Sakairi, USP 8,915,648.
Regarding claims 17 and 18, Giegel in view of Sato and Merg, while disclosing silicone grease (Merg) which ultimately has self-lubricating particles as explained in the rejection of claim 14 above, does not disclose that the plurality of first self-lubricating particles comprises polytetrafluoroethylene [clm 17] and that the polytetrafluoroethylene comprises at least one of a powder, a floc and fibers [clm 18].
Sakairi teaches the use of silicone grease in a bearing wherein the grease includes particles comprising polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE, see column 18, lines 59-64) and more specifically a powder form of PTFE (see column 18, lines 59-64).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify Giegel in view of Sato and Merg and replace the silicone grease with any previously known silicone grease, including one that includes PTFE particles in the form of a powder, as taught by Sakairi, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. In addition, substituting one known grease for another known grease is not inventive but rather a matter of routine substituting of known equivalents.
Claim(s) 25, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giegel, US PGPub 2014/0524965, in view of Sato, US PGPub 2005/0036722 and Dam, USP 5,700,094, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Porter, US PGPub 2013/0287326.
Giegel does not disclose that the outer ring has at least one axial split therein.
Porter teaches that in a spherical bearing the outer ring (16) can include at least axial split (in this case two segmenting the ring into two parts 16a and 16b, see paragraph 0030).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify Giegel and configure the outer ring as a split outer ring with at least one axial split, as taught by Porter, since substituting between a known one-piece outer ring and a known two piece outer ring provides the same predictable result of rotatably supporting the inner ring element of the bearing. In addition, using a split ring provides the known benefit of simplify manufacturing by removing the need for a complex insertion method or the need of machining load slots in the outer ring.
Claim(s) 33 and 35, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato, US PGPub 2005/0036722, , in view of Dam, USP 5,700,094, and further in view of Merg, USP 10,480,569.
Regarding claim 33, Sato discloses a self-lubricating bearing, comprising: an outer ring (1) having a concave inside surface defining an interior area of the outer ring (curved inner surface); an inner member (3) having a convex exterior surface (curved outer surface), the inner member being disposed at least partially in the interior area, the convex exterior surface having a physical vapor deposition [PVD] coating (4, it is noted that how the coating is applied is a product by process recitation, see MPEP 2113, however Sato discloses the same PVD process, see paragraph 0021) thereon; and a self-lubricating liner (2, see paragraph 0026, PTFE is a self-lubricating material) bonded (using phenolic resin as a paste, see paragraph 0026) to the concave inside surface, wherein the outer ring comprises a first metallic alloy, and the inner member comprises a second metallic alloy (see paragraph 0022), and wherein the concave inside surface and the convex exterior surface are continuous, seal-free surfaces (Sato illustrates a bearing where the surfaces do not include a seal feature and are continuous).
Sato further discloses that the physical vapor deposition coating comprises titanium nitride (see paragraph 0020) which is one of the materials disclosed in the instant application.
Sato does not disclosure that the physical vapor deposition coating is chromium nitride, an alternate material listed in the disclosure and previously claimed in claim 15 in the alternative.
Dam teaches a coating used in a bearing where chromium nitride is listed as an alternative to titanium nitride (see column 2, lines 45-51) and Dam further disclose that the chromium nitride can be applied by physical vapor deposition (see column 2, lines 62-65).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify Sato and use any known alternative to titanium nitride as a bearing coating, including chromium nitride, as taught by Dam, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Sato also does not disclose the use of a lubricant between the corresponding liner and the pvd coating.
Merg further teaches using a grease (50) between a self-lubricating liner (70) and a PVD coating (placed on the outside of 12, see column 4, lines 32-38) to reduce the torque requirement between the relatively rotating parts (column 1, lines 49-51).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to add a lubricant between the liner and PVD coating, as taught by Merg, for the predictable result of further improving the performance of the bearing by providing and additional friction reduction agent between the moving parts which ultimately leads to a reduction in torque as stated by Merg.
Regarding claim 35, the recitation is defining the intended use of the bearing, this is not structurally limiting the bearing itself, regardless of where the bearing is used the structure remains the same. Since all the bearing structure is disclosed as addressed above claim 33 is rejected. The recitation “sized” is not limiting the bearing to any specific size. However, it is noted that Sato discloses that the field of the invention is related to supports of aircraft flaps (see paragraph 0003) which would include ailerons, elevators and rudders.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 17, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments focus on the newly added recitation to the independent claims, however as noted above this recitation has been found to be indefinite and not actually structurally limiting the claimed invention and thus the previous grounds of rejection is maintained.
Applicant further argues that the amendment further links the claims to the previously filed affidavit, however reciting a test used on the bearing, at some point and not necessarily on each and every product being sold does not limit the claim as explained above nor does it link the affidavit to the actual claimed subject matter which is a bearing with a coating and a liner in addition to the other structural features of the claim. As explained above the added recitations to the independent claims are defining what the device becomes after particular conditions, this is not the product sold based on the disclosure and the claim is an apparatus claim and therefore cannot be limited by its manner of use.
Adding this to the claim also does not establish unexpected results nor does the affidavit provide a clear showing of unexpected results, see the previous non-final office action page 29. Applicant further states that the affidavit provides technical evidence from a person of ordinary skill that the invention is not obvious over the prior art. The affidavit was fully addressed in the prior office action and the position remains unchanged, the “person skilled in the art” in this case is the inventor and the affidavit is expressing the inventors belief that the claims as presented are patentable and/or define a device that yields unexpected results, however as explained in the previous office action the affidavit does not provide any factual evidence, see the complete response to the affidavit spanning pages 28-30 of the previous office action. It is further noted that the arguments in the most recent remarks focus on the comparison of the products in the affidavit, but again these are distinct objects and Applicant is attempting to link unexpected results to the comparison of these distinct objects/coatings, this is not establishing unexpected result. A showing of unexpected results would be a showing of what in theory should have occurred with the claimed combination of materials verse what actually happened, comparing to different objects does not establish that what occurs in the second object is unexpected.
Applicant then returns the remarks to addressing the Dam reference and argues that the reference addresses a different tribological regime, however this argument is attacking the reference individually when in fact the rejection relies on the combinations of references presented above and it is the conclusion that since the coatings/layers, at least within the specificity defined by the claims, was known and that coatings disclosed in the documents are listed as known alternatives that the claimed combination would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to pursue at the time of effective filing. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
At the bottom of page 11 of the reply Applicant addresses the previous point that the original disclosure of the instant application listed multiple materials as being usable instead of chromium nitride and thus the original disclosure didn’t address or contribute any unexpected result to the use of the particular material. Applicant states that this reason does not address the claims as presently amended, see above regarding the newly added recitation and these statements alone are not addressing the claim itself but rather addressing the reasoning as to why it cannot be said that this particular material has critical, when it wasn’t disclosed as such, nor provide unexpected results when Applicant’s own disclosure acknowledges that there are known alternatives that would perform equally as well. Substituting known alternatives would indeed have the reasonability of success and would be obvious to one skilled in the art
Applicant concludes the argument by addressing the other combination(s) in the rejection and generally present the same or similar arguments, however the position above remains unchanged. The addition to the claims is not structurally limiting and thus the recitation of what happens under particular conditions does not distinguish the claimed combination over the prior art of record. Applicant further states that none of the applied reference suggest substituting CrN for TiN, however the very first rejection above points to Dam which lists the two materials in a listing of alternatives for a coating and thus the evidence of record clearly contradicts Applicant’s statement and supports the position in the rejection above. Substituting between known alternatives is not inventive, Applicant is attempting to argue around this conclusion by alleging unexpected results however no specific factual evidence showing unexpected results is provided or disclosed in the original filing or the affidavit. The original filing also lists other materials as being usable in the combination, see at least original paragraph 0034, arguing that one of the coatings is now more important or critical is inconsistent with the original disclosure.
For this reason, and the reasons previously stated in the prior office action dated 3/27/26, the arguments, affidavit, and current addition to the claims remain unpersuasive in overcoming the prior art of record as applied above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES PILKINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617