DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendment filed on 2/25/2026. Claims 1, 2, and 8-15 are pending. Claim 1 is independent. Claims 3-7 are canceled.
Claim Interpretation
Currently, none of the claim limitations are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 8-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US Pub. No.: 2010/0145286) in view of Darois et al. (US Pub. No.: 2005/0085924) and Lecuivre et al. (US Pub. No.: 2015/0080918).
Regarding claims 1, 2, and 8-15, Zhang discloses (claim 1) a biodegradable synthetic surgical mesh (hernia repair mesh, Paras. [0066]-[0072]. poly(orthoesters) and polyolefins are biodegradable. Paras. [0010] and [0091] also describe that the non-fouling coating can be biodegradable) comprising a polymeric material (Paras. [0066]-[0075] and [0100]-[0109], a polymeric medical device which can be hernia repair mesh formed of poly(orthoesters), polyolefins and/or polypropylene and coated with zwitterionic groups) and an antimicrobial (Paras. [0061], [0137], [0138], and [0161]), wherein the surface of one side of said mesh is functionalized with a zwitterionic functional group (Paras. [0015], [0021], [0066]-[0075], and [0100]-[0109], non-fouling material, such as zwitterionic functional group) comprising at least one of a polybetaine, sulfobetaine methacrylate (SBMA), carboxybetaine methacrylate (CBMA), or a polyampholyte (Paras. [0015] and [0021]); (claim 2) wherein the polymer material comprises polypropylene (Para. [0070]); (claim 8) wherein said mesh is non-woven (Paras. [0066] and [0076] and claim 2, hernia repair mesh with non-woven fibers); (claim 9) a kit for use in performing a surgical procedure, comprising the synthetic surgical mesh of claim 1 (Paras. [0066]-[0076] and [0100]-[0109], hernia repair mesh, the polymeric medical device can be hernia repair mesh formed of poly(orthoesters), polyolefins and/or polypropylene and coated with zwitterionic groups); (claim 10) a method of performing a surgical procedure comprising implantation of the synthetic surgical mesh of claim 1 (Para. [0072], hernia repair); and (claim 11) wherein said surgical procedure comprises a hernia repair procedure (Para. [0072], hernia repair); (claim 12) wherein said zwitterionic functional group comprises a polybetaine (Para. [0021]); (claim 13) wherein said zwitterionic functional group comprises sulfobetaine methacrylate (SBMA) (Para. [0015]); (claim 14) wherein said zwitterionic functional group comprises carboxybetaine methacrylate (CBMA) (Para. [0015]); (claim 15) wherein said zwitterionic functional group comprises a polyampholyte (Para. [0021]). However, Zhang does not disclose that the antimicrobial comprises biguanides, and the surface of another side of said mesh consists of an anti-adhesive polymer.
Darois teaches, in the same field of endeavor (hernia mesh), a mesh (10, Fig. 1 and Paras. [0016] and [0042]) comprising an antimicrobial (Para. [0016]); wherein the antimicrobial comprises biguanides (Para. [0026]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the antimicrobial of Zhang to be biguanides as taught by Darois, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. See MPEP 2144.07.
Lecuivre teaches, in the same field of endeavor (hernia mesh), another side of a surgical mesh (bottom side of mesh 1, Fig. 7) consisting of an anti-adhesive polymer (anti-adhesive polymer layer 201, Fig. 7 and Paras. [0089] and [0096]); wherein the anti-adhesive polymer comprises polyguluronic acid (Para. [0091]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the other side / another side of the surgical mesh of Zhang to consist of an anti-adhesive polymer serving as barrier, wherein the anti-adhesive polymer comprises polyguluronic acid as taught by Lecuivre in order to obtain the advantage of avoiding formation of serious and undesirable post-surgical fibrous adhesion (Lecuivre, Para. [0089]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 2, and 8-15 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection.
In response to the arguments on pages 4-6 of the remarks, the newly applied teaching reference, Lecuivre et al. (US Pub. No.: 2015/0080918), teaches another side of a surgical mesh (bottom side of mesh 1, Fig. 7) consisting of an anti-adhesive polymer (anti-adhesive polymer layer 201, Fig. 7 and Paras. [0089] and [0096]); wherein the anti-adhesive polymer comprises polyguluronic acid (Para. [0091]). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the other side / another side of the surgical mesh of Zhang to consist of an anti-adhesive polymer serving as barrier, wherein the anti-adhesive polymer comprises polyguluronic acid as taught by Lecuivre in order to obtain the advantage of avoiding formation of serious and undesirable post-surgical fibrous adhesion (Lecuivre, Para. [0089]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JING RUI OU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771