DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The amendment to the specification filed on 09/04/2025 is accepted and the objection is withdrawn.
Drawings
Due to the amendment to the specification filed on 09/04/2025 the objection to the drawings is withdrawn and the drawings filed 11/06/2022 are accepted.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 09/04/2025 has been entered. Claim 1 has been amended, Claims 13-17 are newly added, and Claims 1-17 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the second opening" on Page 3 of the claims in Line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4-6, and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashimoto et al. (US 20140050948 A1), hereinafter “Hashimoto” in view of Baek et al. (US 20120129014 A1), hereinafter “Baek”. Hashimoto and Baek et al. are analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely secondary battery circuit assembly.
In regard to Claim 1, Hashimoto et al. discloses a battery pack comprising: a secondary battery; and a circuit board (Hashimoto, Abstract), wherein the secondary battery includes a metal exterior portion, a first external terminal, and a second external terminal (Hashimoto, Paragraphs [0048-0049], Figure 3 [10, 20]). Hashimoto et al. also discloses the circuit board having a plurality of connection portions connected to the first external terminal or the second external terminal (Hashimoto, Paragraph [0044], Figure 1). Further, Hashimoto et al. discloses at least one of the connection portions has a first opening (Hashimoto, Figure 4) and the connection portion having the first opening is solder-bonded to the first external terminal or the second external terminal (Hashimoto, Paragraph [0054-0055, 0057]).
However, Hashimoto et al. fails to explicitly disclose the opening is a through hole and instead discloses a notch which has the same function but is structurally different than a through hole. Baek et al. discloses Hashimoto et al. discloses a battery pack comprising: a secondary battery; and a circuit board wherein the secondary battery includes a metal exterior portion, a first external terminal, and a second external terminal (Baek, Abstract, Figure 1), wherein the circuit board comprises a plurality of connection portions connected to the first external terminal or the second external terminal (Baek, Paragraphs [0017-0019]), at least one of the connection portions has a first opening which is a through hole (Baek, Paragraph [0036]). Further, this through hole is taught to have the benefit of facilitating welding/soldering (Baek, Paragraph [0036]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide a connection portion comprising a first opening which comprises a through hole as taught in Baek et al. in place of a notch as disclosed in Hashimoto et al. as doing so would give the skilled artisan the reasonable expectation of achieving the benefits taught in Baek and as doing so would amount to nothing more than a variation of an opening for use in the same field based on design incentives or other market forces, as the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
In regard to Claim 3, Hashimoto et al. in view of Baek et al. discloses the battery pack according to claim 1. Hashimoto et al. also discloses the connection portion having a metal exposed portion (tin plating, 61a, 63) surrounding a periphery of the first opening (Hashimoto, Paragraph [0054]).
In regard to Claim 4, Hashimoto et al. in view of Baek et al. discloses the battery pack according to claim 3. Hashimoto et al. also discloses a solder portion is formed on at least a part of a surface of the metal exposed portion (Hashimoto, Paragraph [0054-0055]).
In regard to Claim 5, Hashimoto et al. in view of Baek et al. discloses the battery pack according to claim 4. Hashimoto et al. also discloses the solder portion is formed from a surface of the metal exposed portion facing the secondary battery to an opposite surface (Hashimoto, Paragraph [0054-0055, 0082]).
In regard to Claim 6, Hashimoto et al. in view of Baek et al. discloses the battery pack according to claim 5. Hashimoto et al. also discloses the solder portion formed on an opposite surface of the metal exposed portion has a step. Hashimoto discloses plating the rim of the opening portion (61a) with tin to form a metal exposed portion on the connection portion (63) wherein the plating has a thickness which forms a step where the soldering occurs on both the battery side and the opposite side (Hashimoto, Paragraph [0054-0055, 0082], annotated Figure 6).
In regard to Claim 10, Hashimoto et al. in view of Baek et al. discloses the battery pack according to claim 1. Hashimoto et al. also discloses an insulating member is disposed between the circuit board and the secondary battery (Spacer 71 made of insulating material such as ABS or phenolic resins) and the insulating member has a second opening at a location corresponding to the plurality of connection portions (donut shape i.e. the central region is the second opening allowing the connection portion access to the terminals if needed) (Hashimoto, Paragraphs [0060-0061], Figure 1).
In regard to Claim 11, Hashimoto et al. in view of Baek et al. discloses the battery pack according to claim 1. Hashimoto et al. also discloses the metal exterior portion has a columnar or prismatic shape (Hashimoto, Paragraph [0006, 0047-0048], Figure 1).
In regard to Claim 12, Hashimoto et al. in view of Baek et al. discloses the battery pack according to claim 1. Hashimoto et al. also discloses an electronic device comprising the battery pack according to claim 1 (Hashimoto, Paragraph [0004]).
In regard to Claim 13, Hashimoto et al. in view of Baek et al. discloses the battery pack according to claim 1. Hashimoto et al. discloses a plurality of connection portions with openings but fails to explicitly disclose wherein each one of the pluralities of connection portions includes a respective through hole, and the through holes are arranged along a straight line. Baek et al. discloses pluralities of connection portions includes a respective through hole, and the through holes are arranged along a straight line (Baek, Figure 1 (311)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to adapt the through holes (openings) to accommodate the battery design and arrange them in a straight line where required by the battery design as taught in Baek et al. as doing so would amount to nothing more than the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way.
In regard to Claim 14, Hashimoto et al. in view of Baek et al. discloses the battery pack according to claim 1. While Hashimoto discloses round openings it fails to explicitly disclose the round opening is a hole. Baek et al. discloses a through hole used for the same function as the round opening of Hashimoto (Baek, Paragraph [0036]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide a through hole as taught in Baek et al. as a round opening as disclosed in Hashimoto et al. as doing so would provide the same function and as doing so would amount to nothing more than a simple substitution of one known shape for another to obtain predictable results.
In regard to Claim 15, Hashimoto et al. in view of Baek et al. discloses the battery pack according to claim 1. Hashimoto et al. discloses a plurality of connection portions with openings but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second opening is a rectangular hole. Baek et al. discloses a rectangular hole as an opening (Baek, Figure 1 (111)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide a rectangular hole instead of a circular hole as doing so would amount to nothing more than simple substitution of one known shape for another to obtain predictable results.
Claims 2, and 16-17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashimoto et al. (US 20140050948 A1), hereinafter “Hashimoto” in view of Baek et al. (US 20120129014 A1), hereinafter “Baek” as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Tanii et al. (JP 5486486 B2 – Machine Translation), hereinafter “Tanii”. Hashimoto, Baek, and Tanii et al. are analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely secondary battery circuit assembly.
In regard to Claim 2, Hashimoto et al. in view of Baek et al. discloses the battery pack according to claim 1. Hashimoto et al. discloses the use of a substrate and circuit components (Hashimoto, Paragraph [0052]) but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the circuit board includes an FPC or an insulation-coated metal plate. Tanii et al. discloses a battery unit 1, wherein the circuit board includes an FPC (Tanii, Paragraph [4]) with the added benefit of the flexible substrate having the ability to deform or transform so that the connection part may be bent (Tanii, Paragraph [18]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide a flexible circuit board taught to provide the skilled artisan the reasonable ability to achieve the benefit taught in Tanii as opposed to a rigid circuit board as doing so would be obvious to try for the skilled artisan and would be nothing more than choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success.
In regard to Claim 16, Hashimoto et al. in view of Baek et al. discloses the battery pack according to claim 1. While Hashimoto discloses wherein the circuit board includes a circular base portion but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the circuit board includes a circular base portion and at least one differently shaped part extending from an edge of the circular base portion. Tanii et al. discloses a circuit board includes a circular base portion and at least one differently shaped part extending from an edge of the circular base portion (Tanii, Figure 8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide a differently shaped part extending from an edge of the circular base portion when required by the design to function properly and would amount to nothing more than a variation of a circuit board for use in the same field based on design incentives or other market forces, as the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
In regard to Claim 17, Hashimoto et al. in view of Baek et al. discloses the battery pack according to claim 1. While Hashimoto discloses the circuit board bonded to an end surface it fails to explicitly disclose wherein the circuit board is bonded to a surface of the secondary battery different from an end surface. Tanii et al. discloses the circuit board is bonded to a surface of the secondary battery different from an end surface (Tanii, Figure 1 (5,52)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide a differently shaped part extending from an edge of the circular base portion that would reasonably be used to bond to a surface of the secondary battery different from an end surface as doing so would amount to nothing more than applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashimoto et al. (US 20140050948 A1), hereinafter “Hashimoto” in view of Baek et al. (US 20120129014 A1), hereinafter “Baek” as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Rubino et al. (US 20040146780 A1), hereinafter “Rubino”. Hashimoto, Baek, and Rubino et al. are analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely secondary battery circuit assembly.
In regard to Claim 7, Hashimoto et al. in view of Baek et al. discloses the battery pack according to claim 5. Hashimoto et al. also discloses a plurality of the connection portions are arranged on the same plane regardless of where the external terminals are disposed (Hashimoto Figure 1). However, Hashimoto et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first external terminal is disposed at a center portion of an end surface of the metal exterior portion, the second external terminal is disposed so as to surround the first external terminal. Rubino et al. discloses a first external terminal disposed at a center portion of an end surface of the metal exterior portion and the second external terminal is disposed so as to surround the first external terminal with the benefit of simplifying the connection to a circuit board (Rubino, Abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide a coin cell battery with the beneficial configuration taught in Rubino and apply the plurality of the connection portions on the same plane disclosed in Hashimoto as doing so would be nothing more than applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
In regard to Claim 8, Hashimoto et al. in view of Baek et al. and further in view of Rubino et al. discloses the battery pack according to claim 7. Hashimoto et al. discloses wherein the plurality of connection portions include a first connection portion connected to the first external terminal and a second connection portion connected to the second external terminal where first connection portions 66-69 are connected to the terminals in the central region and second connection portions 63 are connected to the terminals in an outer region, thus surrounding the first connection portion (Hashimoto, Paragraphs [0057-0058], Figure 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide connection portions in such a configuration based on the discretion of the skilled artisan and would be nothing more than choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success.
In regard to Claim 9, Hashimoto et al. in view of Baek et al. and further in view of Rubino et al. discloses the battery pack according to claim 8. Hashimoto et al. discloses the second connection portion has a plurality of the metal exposed portions by disclosing the connection portions (61a, 63) having a metal exposed portion (tin plating) surrounding a periphery of the openings (Hashimoto, Paragraph [0054]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide the second connection portion having a plurality of the metal exposed portions based on the discretion of the skilled artisan and would be nothing more than the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 7, 11-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4, 9-10 of copending Application No. 17/988206 (reference application). All of the limitations of Claim 1 and Claim 7 of the original claims are encompassed by claim 1 and claim 4 of the reference application. All of the limitations of Claim 2 of the original application are encompassed by claim 2 of the reference application. All of the limitations of Claim 11 of the original application are encompassed by claim 9 of the reference application. All of the limitations of Claim 12 of the original application are encompassed by claim 10 of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 has been considered but is moot because the new ground of rejection has changed from a 35 USC 103 rejection to a 35 USC 103 rejection and an additional prior art reference Baek et al. (US 20120129014 A1), which was not relied upon for the prior rejection of record has been applied.
In regard to the nonstatuatory double patenting rejection, the request for the rejection to be held in abeyance is denied and the nonstatutory double patenting rejection is maintained until, if and when the requirements to overcome the rejection are met.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.M.O./ Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725