DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-13, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (US 2020/0191211) in view of Smith et al. (US 2020/0156611).
Regarding independent claim 1, Suzuki discloses an actuator assembly for an electromechanical vehicle brake (see ¶ 0022, FIGS. 1-11), comprising: a brake caliper (16); a carrier assembly having a guide part (14) in which an actuating slide (50) for a brake pad is mounted so as to be linearly displaceable (see ¶ 0065), wherein the guide part is a component separate from the brake caliper (see ¶¶ 0003, 0061; FIGS. 1-6) and is a bearing sleeve (see FIG. 5, guide part (14) forms a bearing sleeve for piston (50)) which is received in the brake caliper (see FIGS. 1-5; ¶ 0061).
Suzuki does not disclose a frame part, wherein the guide part has a rotational locking geometry by which the guide part is rotationally fixedly received in the frame part by form fit; and the guide part is received in the frame part along a defined engagement region, the rotational locking geometry being provided on mutually engaging surfaces of the frame part and the guide part.
Smith teaches an actuator assembly (see Abstract, FIGS. 1-4E) for an electromechanical vehicle brake (see Abstract), comprising: a carrier assembly (100) having a frame part (210), and a guide part (110) in which an actuating slide for a brake pad is mounted so as to be linearly displaceable (see ¶ 0059), wherein the guide part has a rotational locking geometry (416) by means of which the guide part is rotationally fixedly received in the frame part by form fit (see ¶ 0050), wherein the guide part is received in the frame part along a defined engagement region (see FIGS. 4D, 4E; ¶ 0050), the rotational locking geometry being provided on mutually engaging surfaces of the frame part and the guide part (see FIGS. 4D, 4E; ¶ 0050).
It would have been obvious to combine the electromechanical actuator of Smith (including the frame part and rotational locking geometry) with the device of Suzuki because Suzuki teaches that the brake disclosed therein is intended to be used with an electromechanical actuator (see e.g. Suzuki, ¶ 0022; Suzuki teaches that the brake is electromechanically actuated but does not explicitly disclose the structure of the electromechanical actuator). Furthermore, the electromechanical actuator of Smith provides the advantage of ensuring that the torque supported while the vehicle is parked may be grounded or supported into the housing of the brake caliper (see e.g. Smith, ¶ 0050).
Regarding claim 2, Smith teaches that the form-fit, rotationally fixed connection is a shaft-hub connection (see FIG. 4E).
Regarding claim 3, Suzuki discloses that the actuator assembly (see Abstract, FIGS. 1-11) comprises the brake caliper (16), and the guide part (14) is a bearing sleeve which is received in the brake caliper (see FIGS. 3-6).
Regarding claim 5, Suzuki discloses a space (34) for a brake disc (see FIGS. 1, 5), wherein a guide part (14) is open towards the space so that an actuating slide (50) can be moved into the space (see FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 6, Smith teaches that a fixing interface for an electric motor is formed on the frame part (see FIG. 2; ¶ 0040).
Regarding claim 7, Smith teaches that a gear unit (240) is formed on the frame part (see FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Suzuki discloses a spindle drive (51) on which the actuating slide (50) is mounted (see FIG. 5, ¶ 0065), such that a rotation of the spindle drive causes an axial displacement of the actuating slide (see FIG. 5, ¶ 0065). Smith teaches that the actuator assembly comprises a gear unit (240) driving a spindle drive on which the actuating slide is mounted (see FIG. 4E, ¶ 0059), such that a rotation of the spindle drive causes an axial displacement of the actuating slide (see FIG. 4E, ¶ 0059).
Regarding claim 9, Suzuki discloses that the actuating slide is guided rotationally fixedly in the guide part by means of a rotational locking element (58, 62).
Regarding claim 10, Suzuki discloses an electromechanical vehicle brake (see ¶ 0022) and a brake disc which the actuator assembly can contact (see ¶ 0024). Suzuki in view of Smith teaches an actuator assembly according to Claim 1 (see FIG. 1)
Regarding claim 11, Smith teaches that the shaft-hub connection is a splined shaft connection (see FIG. 4E, projections (413) and recesses (416) form a keyed connection that forms a “spline;” see also https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/spline, “a key that is fixed to one of two connected mechanical parts and fits into a keyway in the other”).
Regarding claim 11, Smith alternatively does not disclose that the shaft-hub connection is a splined shaft connection.
Suzuki teaches that non-rotational engagement features can include one or more keys, slots, ribs, channels, notches, tabs (see ¶ 0037).
It would have been obvious to replace the rotational locking geometry of Smith with one or more keys, slots, ribs, channels, notches or tabs such that a splined connection is formed to position and/or mate the guide part within the opening of the frame part (see e.g. Suzuki, ¶ 0037) with an increased force resisting rotation).
Regarding claim 12, Suzuki discloses that the actuator assembly comprises a brake caliper (16), and the guide part (14) is a sleeve-like portion of the brake caliper (see FIGS. 5, 6).
Regarding claim 13, Suzuki discloses that the actuator assembly (see Abstract, FIGS. 1-11) comprises the brake caliper (16), and the guide part (14) is a bearing sleeve which is received in the brake caliper (see FIGS. 3-6).
Regarding claim 15, Smith teaches that a fixing interface for an electric motor is formed on the frame part (see FIG. 2; ¶ 0040).
Regarding claim 19, Suzuki discloses that the actuating slide is guided rotationally fixedly in the guide part by means of a rotational locking element (58, 62).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 15-Oct-2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the rejection of independent claim 1 as being unpatentable over Suzuki in view of Smith, Applicant argues that “Smith’s element 110 is a Brake Caliper, Not a Guide Part” (see Amendment, pages 5-6). Element 110 of Smith, however, is a guide part that is integrally formed with the remainder of the caliper.
The present specification states that “the guide part 70 is not formed as a separate bearing sleeve but is formed integrally in the brake caliper 15” (see ¶ 0077) and “the guide part 70 is formed by a sleeve-like portion of the brake caliper 15” (see ¶ 0078). Therefore, according to the present application, a guide part can be integrally formed with the caliper.
The only requirement to be a guide part, as defined by claim 1 itself, is that the guide part is an element “in which an actuating slide for a brake pad is mounted so as to be linearly displaceable” (see claim 1). Element 110 of Smith contains an actuating slide for a brake pad that is linearly displaceable therein (see e.g. ¶ 0051, “ball ramp or screw mechanism of the brake caliper 110”). As such, element 110 of Smith is reasonably interpreted as being a guide part.
Applicant further argues that “The Proposed Combination is Physically and Logically Impossible” because “[t]he ‘guide part’ (Smith’s caliper 110) must be ‘a component separate from the brake caliper’ and must be ‘received in the brake caliper’” (see Amendment page 6), and “[e]ven if the Examiner argues that Smith’s caliper 110 is combined with Suzuki’s caliper 16, the combination would require nesting Suzuki’s entire caliper housing inside Smith’s caliper housing, while somehow maintaining a coaxial bearing relationship with an internal actuating slide” (see Amendment, page 6). Applicant’s argument mischaracterizes the combination of teachings of the references.
As an initial matter, Smith was not relied upon as disclosing a guide part that is a separate component from the brake caliper. Rather, Suzuki was relied upon as teaching a guide part that is a separate component form the brake caliper.
Smith was relied upon for teaching the rotational locking geometry between the frame part and the guide part. Smith teaches a guide part – i.e. the portion in which the ramp of the ball ramp or the nut of the screw mechanism is guided (see e.g. ¶ 0051; see also FIG. 4E, showing the portion of the caliper (110) that forms the guide part) – that is integrally formed with the caliper. Smith also discloses a frame part (210) wherein there is a rotational locking geometry (413, 416) (see ¶ 0050) between the frame part and the guide part. Likewise, Suzuki teaches a guide part (14) and implies the use of a frame part with an actuating motor (see e.g. ¶ 0053), but does not actually depict the frame part and motor for actuating the drive spindle. The combination relies on the teaching of Smith of a frame part having an interlocking geometry with the guide part. As such, the combination of teachings is entirely logical.
Applicant further argues that the structure recited in the claim “represents a high-stiffness engagement (such as a shaft-hub connection) where the outer surface of a sleeve-like guide part is received directly within the inner bore of a frame part” and that “[i]n contrast, the interface between the actuator housing 210 and the brake assembly 110 in Smith is a face-to-face bolted flange interface” (see Amendment, page 7). Claim 1, however, does not recite “a high-stiffness engagement (such as a shaft-hub connection) where the outer surface of a sleeve-like guide part is received directly within the inner bore of a frame part.” Rather, claim 1 only recites that the guide part “is received in the frame part along a defined engagement region, the rotational locking geometry being provided on mutually engaging surfaces of the frame part and the guide part.” Smith discloses that the guide part has a rotational locking geometry (416) by means of which the guide part is rotationally fixedly received in the frame part by form fit (see ¶ 0050), wherein the guide part is received in the frame part along a defined engagement region (see FIGS. 4D, 4E; ¶ 0050), the rotational locking geometry being provided on mutually engaging surfaces of the frame part and the guide part (see FIGS. 4D, 4E; ¶ 0050).
Applicant further argues that “Suzuki’s cylinder body (guide part 14) is already designed to be completely non-moveable relative to the openings in the caliper body 16” and that “[b]ecause Suzuki’s guide sleeve 14 is already secured directly and rigidly to the caliper housing 16, there is no technical problem regarding rotational stabilization or torque grounding left to solve (see Amendment, page 7). The rotational locking geometry, however, is not between the guide part and the caliper. Rather, the rotational locking geometry is between the frame part – which forms a frame for the actuating motor, drive gears and/or spindle – and the guide part which is a part of the caliper – which can be formed either separately or integrally with the caliper. Suzuki implies the use of a frame part (see e.g. ¶ 0053), but does not actually depict the frame part and motor for actuating the drive spindle.
Regarding claim 11, Applicant argues that “[i]n the automotive and mechanical engineering arts, a splined shaft connection is a highly specific, standardized shaft-hub interface characterized by longitudinal teeth radially distributed around a cylindrical shaft that mesh with matching grooves in a surrounding hub” (see Amendment, page 8). Nothing in the claims, however, requires this level of specificity. Rather, the term “spline” was interpreted in accordance with its plain and ordinary meaning as defined in the dictionary.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS J LANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
October 26, 2026