DETAILED ACTION
Request for Continued Examination
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. During the telephone interview on 2/9/2026 Applicant suggested amending such that additional limitations were placed on the sensor arrangement, details of gripper, structure of robot, and style of gripper to differentiate from Tanaka and Sato. Examiner affirmed that such an amendment would likely move the application closer to allowance, and Examiner encouraged Applicant to emphasize any features such that modification by Sato would render Tanaka inoperable. However, Applicant has only added limitations to the gripper to the independent claims which were already present in previously rejected dependent claims. Additionally, aside from the changes made to claim 14, there have been no changes limiting the structure of the robot itself beyond the aforementioned limitations imposed on the gripper. Applicant argues that modification by Sato is not obvious because Sato cannot sense along the length of the grippers. Upon further review of Sato, Examiner notes that Sato’s sensing arrangement is integral to the gripper itself, and moves with the gripper as one unit when the wrist joint moves. Modifying Tanaka’s gripper by adding Sato’s sensors (while maintaining Tanaka’s sensors) would be well within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art, and the resulting combination would not result in reduced sensing capability of either arrangement when used together.
Applicant has amended claim 14 such that the arm rotates relative to the mobile base, which is a distinguishing feature not found in the prior art cited in the previous office action. However, Zevenbergen teaches this feature. For the sake of consistency, Examiner has issued new rejections of all independent claims in view of Zevenbergen. However, to promote clarity of the record, Examiner notes that claims 1, 17, and the claims depending from claims 1 and 17 could still be rejected using the same rationale as shown in the previous office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6-8, 14-15, 17-18, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zevenbergen (Us 9205558 B1) in view of Tanaka (US-20190077027-A1) and Sato (JP-2018114590-A).
Claim 1
Zevenbergen teaches
a suction gripper coupled to an arm of a robotic device
(Zevenbergen - [col 6, ln 64-65] (34) In further examples, the robotic arm 102 may be equipped with a gripper 104, such as a digital suction grid gripper.)
the arm coupled to a mobile base of the robotic device,
(Zevenbergen - (1) FIG. 1A shows a robotic arm mounted on a moveable cart, according to an example embodiment.)
EXAMINER NOTE: See also Fig. 1A of Zevenbergen, annotated below.
the suction gripper including
a first side arranged along a first axis,
a second side arranged along a second axis perpendicular to the first axis,
a third side arranged opposite the first side along the first axis,
a fourth side arranged opposite the second side along a second axis,
EXAMINER NOTE: See Fig. 1A of Zevenbergen, annotated below. The gripper is prismatic in shape and features the claimed sides
and a plurality of suction cup assemblies,
(Zevenbergen - [col 1, ln 34-36] (4) … The suction gripper may include a vacuum pump, a plurality of suction cups coupled to the vacuum pump,…
each of which has a length arranged along a third axis perpendicular to the first axis and the second axis,
EXAMINER NOTE: Refer again to Fig. 1A above. The suction cups protrude along the third axis.
at least one computing device
(Zevenbergen - [col 8, ln 19-27] (41) In some embodiments, memory 146 may contain instructions 144 (e.g., program logic) executable by the processor 142 to execute various functions of robotic device 100, including those described above in connection with FIGS. 1A-1B. Memory 146 may contain additional instructions as well, including instructions to transmit data to, receive data from, interact with and/or control one or more of the mechanical system 120, the sensor system 130, and/or the control system 140.)
configured to:
receive distance measurement signals from the plurality of distance sensors; detect, based on the received distance measurement signals, at least one object in a motion path of the suction gripper , detect, based on the received distance measurement signals, at least one object in a motion path of the suction gripper ,
(Zevenbergen - [col 5, ln 14-23] (25) The sensors may scan an environment containing one or more objects in order to capture visual data and/or three-dimensional (3D) depth information. Data from the scans may … provide digital environment reconstruction. In additional examples, the reconstructed environment may then be used for … planning collision-free trajectories for the one or more robotic arms and/or a mobile base.)
wherein detecting the at least one object in a motion path of the suction gripper is further based on a speed of the suction gripper and/or at least one characteristic of an object grasped by the suction gripper ;
(Zevenbergen - [col 7, ln 62 thru col 8, ln 8] (39) In other examples, one or more of the sensors used by a sensing system may be a RGBaD (RGB+active Depth) color or monochrome camera registered to a depth sensing device that uses active vision techniques such as projecting a pattern into a scene to enable depth triangulation between the camera or cameras and the known offset pattern projector. This type of sensor data may help enable robust segmentation. According to various embodiments, cues such as barcodes, texture coherence, color, 3D surface properties, or printed text on the surface may also be used to identify an object and/or find its pose in order to know where and/or how to place the object (e.g., fitting the object into a fixture receptacle). In some embodiments, shadow or texture differences may be employed to segment objects as well.)
EXAMINER NOTE: Textures, barcodes, surface properties, color, etc. are all characteristics of objects.
and control the robotic device to change one or more operations of the robotic device to avoid a collision between the suction gripper and the at least one object,
(Zevenbergen - [col 5, ln 14-23] (25) The sensors may scan an environment containing one or more objects in order to capture visual data and/or three-dimensional (3D) depth information. Data from the scans may … provide digital environment reconstruction. In additional examples, the reconstructed environment may then be used for … planning collision-free trajectories for the one or more robotic arms and/or a mobile base.)
wherein controlling the robotic device to change one or more operations of the robotic device comprises controlling the robotic device to move the mobile base and/or controlling the robotic device to change an orientation of a wrist assembly of the arm
(Zevenbergen - [col 5, ln 14-23] (25) The sensors may scan an environment containing one or more objects in order to capture visual data and/or three-dimensional (3D) depth information. Data from the scans may … provide digital environment reconstruction. In additional examples, the reconstructed environment may then be used for … planning collision-free trajectories for the one or more robotic arms and/or a mobile base.
[col6, ln 46-55] (33) In additional examples, planar surface information may be extracted from 3D sensors to model walls, floor and/or box faces. After modeling the floor, projection of objects onto the floor plane may enable segmentation of obstacles and/or target objects such as boxes. … In further examples, sidewall angles, floor plane roll and pitch, and/or distance from side walls can be used to maneuver a mobile base into a container without collisions.)
EXAMINER NOTE: Examiner interprets the above limitations as indicating that a collision is avoided by either moving the base, or moving the wrist. In other words, moving the base does not necessarily have to move the wrist assembly. However, under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language, it may be argued that moving the base would necessarily change the orientation of the wrist assembly.
Examiner notes that Tanaka also teaches a suction gripper, wherein
the suction gripper including
a first side arranged along a first axis,
a second side arranged along a second axis perpendicular to the first axis,
a third side arranged opposite the first side along the first axis,
a fourth side arranged opposite the second side along a second axis,
and a plurality of suction cup assemblies,
(Tanaka - [0034] … In addition, a plurality of suction pads 113 may be provided.)
each of which has a length arranged along a third axis perpendicular to the first axis and the second axis,
EXAMINER NOTE: See Fig. 2A above, as well as Fig. 2C, annotated below. The suction cups extend along the third axis.
receive distance measurement signals from the plurality of distance sensors;
detect, based on the received distance measurement signals, at least one object in a motion path of the suction gripper
(Tanaka - [0019] The proximal sensor is configured to detect that the object is in close proximity to the suction pad. The suction device is controlled to perform suction when the proximal sensor detects that the object is in close proximity to the suction pad.)
Zevenbergen may not explicitly teach the following limitations in combination. However, Tanaka teaches the following aspects:
a plurality of distance sensors arranged on the suction gripper ,
(Tanaka - [0034] FIGS. 2A, 2B, and 2C are respectively a perspective view, a front view, and a side view of the external appearance of the object holding apparatus 11. As shown in FIGS. 2A, 2B, and 2C, the object holding apparatus 11 includes a housing 111, a sensor-mounting member 112, a suction pad (also referred to as a suction disk) 113, a proximal sensor 114, and a contact sensor 115. In this example, four proximal sensors 114 and four contact sensors 115 are provided. The number of the proximal sensors 114 may be one, two, three, or five or more. The number of the contact sensors 115 may also be the same. )
the plurality of distance sensors comprising: a second distance sensor configured to sense objects in a second direction along the third axis; and
EXAMINER NOTE: See Tanaka Fig. 2A, annotated above.
Neither Tanaka nor Zevenbergen teaches the additionally claimed sensor arrangement. However, Sato teaches
the plurality of distance sensors comprising: a first distance sensor arranged on the first side of the suction gripper and configured to sense objects in a first direction along the second axis …
(Sato – [p.5, para. 4, ln 3] The sensor unit 11 of the robot teaching device is attached to the manipulator 102, …
[p.6, para. 2, ln 1-2] The sensor unit 11 is attached to a rotary joint 112 b between the arm 106 and the hand 107. Then, it moves or rotates integrally with the hand 107.
[p.3, para. 1, ln 4] … Then, by arranging the respective groups at equal intervals in the circumferential direction, the front and rear and left and right positions of the detected object with respect to the sensor unit 11 can be easily calculated. Therefore, the moving direction of the manipulator can be calculated)
EXAMINER NOTE: See Fig 1 and Fig. 2. Sensors are arranged at 90 degree intervals around the perimeter of the gripper, thus arranging them orthogonally to one another.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize Tanaka’s gripper in Zevenberger’s mobile gripping robot. Tanaka’s gripper is more compact and requires fewer sensors mounted elsewhere on the robot. Additionally, Tanaka’s sensors always have a direct line of sight to objects and obstacles on the suction side, and can quickly detect adverse conditions which may not be detectable by Zevenberger’s sensor arrangement.
(Tanaka - [0047] The proximal sensors 114 realize object fall detection, suitable suction area detection, prevention of overpressure of the suction pad 113, and prevention of collision with an obstacle. If detection is failed by the proximal sensors 114, the contact sensors 115 detect a contact with an object, and accordingly, the object can be reliably detected.)
As a further improvement, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify Zevenbergen and Tanaka with Sato’s suggestion to incorporate sensors on each side of the manipulator in order to allow easy calculation of the position of objects in all directions.
(Sato - [p.3, para. 1, ln 4] … Then, by arranging the respective groups at equal intervals in the circumferential direction, the front and rear and left and right positions of the detected object with respect to the sensor unit 11 can be easily calculated. Therefore, the moving direction of the manipulator can be calculated)
Claim 3
The combination of Zevenbergen, Tanaka, and Sato teaches the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above. As shown above, the cited combination also teaches
wherein the plurality of distance sensors are time-of-flight (TOF) sensors.
(Tanaka - [0037] A distance sensor, for example, can be adopted as the proximal sensor 114. The distance sensor measures a distance to a target object in a non-contact manner. The distance sensor may be an active-type optical ranging sensor, a reflection-type photo sensor, an optical TOF (Time-Of-Flight) type optical ranging sensor, etc.)
Claim 6
The combination of Zevenbergen, Tanaka, and Sato teaches the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above. As shown above, the cited combination also teaches
wherein the second direction is along a length of the plurality of suction cup assemblies.
EXAMINER NOTE: See annotated figures of Tanaka and Zevenbergen, annotated above with respect to claim 1. The suction cups extend along the third axis, which is along the second direction.
Claim 7
The combination of Zevenbergen, Tanaka, and Sato teaches the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above. As shown above, the cited combination also teaches
wherein the plurality of distance sensors further comprises:
a third distance sensor arranged on the second side of the suction gripper and configured to sense objects in a third second direction along the first axis,
a fourth distance sensor configured to sense objects in the second direction along the third axis,
a fifth distance sensor arranged on the third side of the suction gripper and configured to sense objects in a fourth direction along the second axis,
and a sixth distance sensor arranged on the fourth side of the suction gripper and configured to sense objects in a fifth direction along the first axis.
EXAMINER NOTE: See annotated figures from Sato, cited with respect to claim 1. Sato teaches this sensor arrangement in the proposed combination.
Claim 8
The combination of Zevenbergen, Tanaka, and Sato teaches the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above. As shown above, the cited combination also teaches
wherein detecting at least one object in a motion path of the suction gripper comprises detecting the at least one object when a plurality of points represented in the distance measurement signals are located below a threshold distance from the suction gripper.
(Tanaka - [0066] The flight device 10 moves toward the object 97. Specifically, the flight device 10 moves to the above the object 97, and then descends. If the proximal sensors 114 of the object holding apparatus 11 detect that the object 97 is in close proximity, the controller 50 drives the suction device 52 in advance and starts evacuation of air inside of the suction pad 113, in order to swiftly adhere to the object 97. In this case, the controller 50 drives the suction device 52 if the distance to the object 97 measured by the proximal sensors 114 becomes less than a distance threshold.)
Claim 14
Zevenbergen teaches
a mobile base;
an arm coupled to the mobile base, wherein the arm includes a wrist assembly,
(Zevenbergen - (1) FIG. 1A shows a robotic arm mounted on a moveable cart, according to an example embodiment.)
EXAMINER NOTE: See also Fig. 1A of Zevenbergen, annotated below.
the arm configured to rotate relative to the mobile base;
EXAMINER NOTE: See Zevenbergen, Fig. 2B. The arm is shown to rotate relative to the base.
a suction gripper coupled to the wrist assembly,
(Zevenbergen - [col 6, ln 64-65] (34) In further examples, the robotic arm 102 may be equipped with a gripper 104, such as a digital suction grid gripper.)
EXAMINER NOTE: See Fig. 1A, reproduced and annotated above.
the suction gripper including
a first side arranged along a first axis,
a second side arranged along a second axis perpendicular to the first axis,
a third side arranged opposite the first side along the first axis,
a fourth side arranged opposite the second side along a second axis,
EXAMINER NOTE: See Fig. 1A of Zevenbergen, annotated below. The gripper is prismatic in shape and features the claimed sides
and a plurality of suction cup assemblies, each of which has a length arranged along a third axis perpendicular to the first axis and the second axis,
(Zevenbergen - [col 1, ln 34-36] (4) … The suction gripper may include a vacuum pump, a plurality of suction cups coupled to the vacuum pump,…)
EXAMINER NOTE: Refer again to Fig. 1A above. The suction cups protrude along the third axis.
a controller
(Zevenbergen - [col 8, ln 19-27] (41) In some embodiments, memory 146 may contain instructions 144 (e.g., program logic) executable by the processor 142 to execute various functions of robotic device 100, including those described above in connection with FIGS. 1A-1B. Memory 146 may contain additional instructions as well, including instructions to transmit data to, receive data from, interact with and/or control one or more of the mechanical system 120, the sensor system 130, and/or the control system 140.)
configured to control an operation of the mobile manipulator robot to avoid a collision of the suction gripper with an object detected based, at least in part, on distance measurement signals sensed by the plurality of distance sensors,
(Zevenbergen - [col 5, ln 14-23] (25) The sensors may scan an environment containing one or more objects in order to capture visual data and/or three-dimensional (3D) depth information. Data from the scans may … provide digital environment reconstruction. In additional examples, the reconstructed environment may then be used for … planning collision-free trajectories for the one or more robotic arms and/or a mobile base.)
wherein the object is detected further based, at least in part, on a speed of the suction gripper and/or at least one characteristic of an object grasped by the suction gripper,
(Zevenbergen - [col 7, ln 62 thru col 8, ln 8] (39) In other examples, one or more of the sensors used by a sensing system may be a RGBaD (RGB+active Depth) color or monochrome camera registered to a depth sensing device that uses active vision techniques such as projecting a pattern into a scene to enable depth triangulation between the camera or cameras and the known offset pattern projector. This type of sensor data may help enable robust segmentation. According to various embodiments, cues such as barcodes, texture coherence, color, 3D surface properties, or printed text on the surface may also be used to identify an object and/or find its pose in order to know where and/or how to place the object (e.g., fitting the object into a fixture receptacle). In some embodiments, shadow or texture differences may be employed to segment objects as well.)
EXAMINER NOTE: Textures, barcodes, surface properties, color, etc. are all characteristics of objects.
and wherein controlling the operation of the mobile manipulator robot comprises controlling the mobile manipulator robot to move the mobile base and/or controlling the mobile manipulator robot to change an orientation of the wrist assembly.
(Zevenbergen - [col 5, ln 14-23] (25) The sensors may scan an environment containing one or more objects in order to capture visual data and/or three-dimensional (3D) depth information. Data from the scans may … provide digital environment reconstruction. In additional examples, the reconstructed environment may then be used for … planning collision-free trajectories for the one or more robotic arms and/or a mobile base.
[col6, ln 46-55] (33) In additional examples, planar surface information may be extracted from 3D sensors to model walls, floor and/or box faces. After modeling the floor, projection of objects onto the floor plane may enable segmentation of obstacles and/or target objects such as boxes. … In further examples, sidewall angles, floor plane roll and pitch, and/or distance from side walls can be used to maneuver a mobile base into a container without collisions.)
EXAMINER NOTE: Examiner interprets the above limitations as indicating that a collision is avoided by either moving the base, or moving the wrist. In other words, moving the base does not necessarily have to move the wrist assembly. However, under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language, it may be argued that moving the base would necessarily change the orientation of the wrist assembly.
Examiner notes that Tanaka also teaches a suction gripper, wherein
the suction gripper including
a first side arranged along a first axis,
a second side arranged along a second axis perpendicular to the first axis,
a third side arranged opposite the first side along the first axis,
a fourth side arranged opposite the second side along a second axis,
and a plurality of suction cup assemblies,
(Tanaka - [0034] … In addition, a plurality of suction pads 113 may be provided.)
each of which has a length arranged along a third axis perpendicular to the first axis and the second axis,
EXAMINER NOTE: See Fig. 2A above, as well as Fig. 2C, annotated below. The suction cups extend along the third axis.
Zevenbergen may not explicitly teach the following limitations in combination. However, Tanaka teaches the following aspects of their gripper:
the suction gripper including a plurality of distance sensors arranged thereon,
(Tanaka - [0034] FIGS. 2A, 2B, and 2C are respectively a perspective view, a front view, and a side view of the external appearance of the object holding apparatus 11. As shown in FIGS. 2A, 2B, and 2C, the object holding apparatus 11 includes a housing 111, a sensor-mounting member 112, a suction pad (also referred to as a suction disk) 113, a proximal sensor 114, and a contact sensor 115. In this example, four proximal sensors 114 and four contact sensors 115 are provided. The number of the proximal sensors 114 may be one, two, three, or five or more. The number of the contact sensors 115 may also be the same. )
The plurality of distance sensors comprising:
… a second distance sensor configured to sense objects in a second direction along the third axis; and
(Tanaka - [0048] By distributing the proximal sensors 114 having the above configuration in an in-plane direction of the sensor-mounting member 112, it is possible to recognize contour information (dimension and/or shape) of an object held by the suction pad 113, based on distance information from the proximal sensors 114.)
EXAMINER NOTE: See Annotated Fig. 3A. The in-plane direction of 112 is along the length of the suction device, and is the sensing direction of sensors 114.
Neither Tanaka nor Zevenbergen teaches the additionally claimed sensor arrangement. However, Sato teaches
the plurality of distance sensors comprising
a first distance sensor arranged on the first side of the suction gripper and configured to sense objects in a first direction along the second axis…
(Sato – [p.5, para. 4, ln 3] The sensor unit 11 of the robot teaching device is attached to the manipulator 102, …
[p.6, para. 2, ln 1-2] The sensor unit 11 is attached to a rotary joint 112 b between the arm 106 and the hand 107. Then, it moves or rotates integrally with the hand 107.
[p.3, para. 1, ln 4] … Then, by arranging the respective groups at equal intervals in the circumferential direction, the front and rear and left and right positions of the detected object with respect to the sensor unit 11 can be easily calculated. Therefore, the moving direction of the manipulator can be calculated)
EXAMINER NOTE: See Fig 1 and Fig. 2. Sensors are arranged at 90 degree intervals around the perimeter of the gripper, thus arranging them orthogonally to one another.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize Tanaka’s gripper in Zevenberger’s mobile gripping robot. Tanaka’s gripper is more compact and requires fewer sensors mounted elsewhere on the robot. Additionally, Tanaka’s sensors always have a direct line of sight to objects and obstacles on the suction side, and can quickly detect adverse conditions which may not be detectable by Zevenberger’s sensor arrangement.
(Tanaka - [0047] The proximal sensors 114 realize object fall detection, suitable suction area detection, prevention of overpressure of the suction pad 113, and prevention of collision with an obstacle. If detection is failed by the proximal sensors 114, the contact sensors 115 detect a contact with an object, and accordingly, the object can be reliably detected.)
As a further improvement, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify Zevenbergen and Tanaka with Sato’s suggestion to incorporate sensors on each side of the manipulator in order to allow easy calculation of the position of objects in all directions.
(Sato - [p.3, para. 1, ln 4] … Then, by arranging the respective groups at equal intervals in the circumferential direction, the front and rear and left and right positions of the detected object with respect to the sensor unit 11 can be easily calculated. Therefore, the moving direction of the manipulator can be calculated)
Claim 15
The combination of Zevenbergen, Tanaka, and Sato teaches the limitations of claim 14 as outlined above. As outlined above, the cited combination also teaches
wherein the plurality of distance sensors further comprises:
a third distance sensor arranged on the second side of the suction gripper and
configured to sense objects in a third direction along the first axis
a fifth distance sensor arranged on the third side of the suction gripper and configured to sense objects in a fourth direction along the second axis, and a sixth distance sensor arranged on the fourth side of the suction gripper and configured to sense objects in a fifth direction along the first axis
EXAMINER NOTE: See annotated Fig. 1 and Fig. 2 of Sato JP2018114590 A below. Sensors are arranged on all sides of the manipulator in the manner claimed by the applicant
Claim 17
Zevenbergen teaches
A suction gripper coupled to a wrist assembly of an arm of a robotic device
(Zevenbergen - [col 6, ln 64-65] (34) In further examples, the robotic arm 102 may be equipped with a gripper 104, such as a digital suction grid gripper.
the arm coupled to a mobile base of the robotic device,
(Zevenbergen - [col 2, ln 37-38] (1) FIG. 1A shows a robotic arm mounted on a moveable cart, according to an example embodiment.)
EXAMINER NOTE: See also Fig. 1A of Zevenberger, annotated below.
the suction gripper including
a first side arranged along a first axis,
a second side arranged along a second axis perpendicular to the first axis,
a third side arranged opposite the first side along the first axis,
a fourth side arranged opposite the second side along a second axis,
EXAMINER NOTE: See annotated Fig. 1A below
and a plurality of suction cup assemblies,
(Zevenbergen - [col 1, ln 34-36] (4) … The suction gripper may include a vacuum pump, a plurality of suction cups coupled to the vacuum pump,…
each of which has a length arranged along a third axis perpendicular to the first axis and the second axis,
EXAMINER NOTE: Refer again to Fig. 1A above. The suction cups protrude along the third axis.
detecting, by at least one computing device based on the sensed distance measurement data at least one object in a motion path of the suction gripper, wherein detecting the at least one object in a motion path of the suction gripper is further based on … at least one characteristic of an object grasped by the suction gripper
(Zevenbergen - [col 5, ln 14-23] (25) The sensors may scan an environment containing one or more objects in order to capture visual data and/or three-dimensional (3D) depth information. Data from the scans may … provide digital environment reconstruction. In additional examples, the reconstructed environment may then be used for … planning collision-free trajectories for the one or more robotic arms and/or a mobile base.)
[col 7, ln 62 thru col 8, ln 8] (39) In other examples, one or more of the sensors used by a sensing system may be a RGBaD (RGB+active Depth) color or monochrome camera registered to a depth sensing device that uses active vision techniques such as projecting a pattern into a scene to enable depth triangulation between the camera or cameras and the known offset pattern projector. This type of sensor data may help enable robust segmentation. According to various embodiments, cues such as barcodes, texture coherence, color, 3D surface properties, or printed text on the surface may also be used to identify an object and/or find its pose in order to know where and/or how to place the object (e.g., fitting the object into a fixture receptacle). In some embodiments, shadow or texture differences may be employed to segment objects as well.)
EXAMINER NOTE: Textures, barcodes, surface properties, color, etc. are all characteristics of objects.
the method comprising: sensing distance measurement data using a plurality of distance sensors …
and controlling, by the at least one computing device, at least one operation of the robotic device to avoid a collision between the suction gripper and the at least one object,
(Zevenbergen - [col 5, ln 14-23] (25) The sensors may scan an environment containing one or more objects in order to capture visual data and/or three-dimensional (3D) depth information. Data from the scans may … provide digital environment reconstruction. In additional examples, the reconstructed environment may then be used for … planning collision-free trajectories for the one or more robotic arms and/or a mobile base.)
wherein controlling the at least one operation of the robotic device comprises controlling the robotic device to move the mobile base and/or controlling the robotic device to change an orientation of the wrist assembly.
(Zevenbergen - [col 5, ln 14-23] (25) The sensors may scan an environment containing one or more objects in order to capture visual data and/or three-dimensional (3D) depth information. Data from the scans may … provide digital environment reconstruction. In additional examples, the reconstructed environment may then be used for … planning collision-free trajectories for the one or more robotic arms and/or a mobile base.
[col6, ln 46-55] (33) In additional examples, planar surface information may be extracted from 3D sensors to model walls, floor and/or box faces. After modeling the floor, projection of objects onto the floor plane may enable segmentation of obstacles and/or target objects such as boxes. … In further examples, sidewall angles, floor plane roll and pitch, and/or distance from side walls can be used to maneuver a mobile base into a container without collisions.)
EXAMINER NOTE: Examiner interprets the above limitations as indicating that a collision is avoided by either moving the base, or moving the wrist. In other words, moving the base does not necessarily have to move the wrist assembly. However, under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language, it may be argued that moving the base would necessarily change the orientation of the wrist assembly.
Examiner notes that Tanaka also teaches a suction gripper, wherein
the suction gripper including
a first side arranged along a first axis,
a second side arranged along a second axis perpendicular to the first axis,
a third side arranged opposite the first side along the first axis,
a fourth side arranged opposite the second side along a second axis,
and a plurality of suction cup assemblies,
(Tanaka - [0034] … In addition, a plurality of suction pads 113 may be provided.)
each of which has a length arranged along a third axis perpendicular to the first axis and the second axis,
EXAMINER NOTE: See Fig. 2A above, as well as Fig. 2C, annotated below. The suction cups extend along the third axis.
Zevenbergen may not explicitly teach the following limitations in combination. However, Tanaka teaches the following aspects:
sensing distance measurement data using a plurality of distance sensors arranged on the suction gripper
(Tanaka – [0034] FIGS. 2A, 2B, and 2C are respectively a perspective view, a front view, and a side view of the external appearance of the object holding apparatus 11. As shown in FIGS. 2A, 2B, and 2C, the object holding apparatus 11 includes a housing 111, a sensor-mounting member 112, a suction pad (also referred to as a suction disk) 113, a proximal sensor 114, and a contact sensor 115. In this example, four proximal sensors 114 and four contact sensors 115 are provided.
[0037] A distance sensor, for example, can be adopted as the proximal sensor 114. The distance sensor measures a distance to a target object in a non-contact manner. The distance sensor may be an active-type optical ranging sensor, a reflection-type photo sensor, an optical TOF (Time-Of-Flight) type optical ranging sensor, etc.)
the plurality of distance sensors comprising:
a second distance sensor configured to sense objects in a second direction along the third axis;
(Tanaka - [0048] By distributing the proximal sensors 114 having the above configuration in an in-plane direction of the sensor-mounting member 112, it is possible to recognize contour information (dimension and/or shape) of an object held by the suction pad 113, based on distance information from the proximal sensors 114.)
EXAMINER NOTE: See Annotated Fig. 3A. The in-plane direction of 112 is along the length of the suction device, and is the sensing direction of sensors 114.
detecting, by at least one computing device based on the sensed distance measurement data at least one object in a motion path of the suction gripper ,
(Tanaka - [0019] The proximal sensor is configured to detect that the object is in close proximity to the suction pad. The suction device is controlled to perform suction when the proximal sensor detects that the object is in close proximity to the suction pad.)
Neither Tanaka nor Zevenbergen teaches the additionally claimed sensor arrangement. However, Sato teaches
the plurality of distance sensors comprising: a first distance sensor arranged on the first side of the suction gripper and configured to sense objects in a first direction along the second axis …
(Sato – [p.5, para. 4, ln 3] The sensor unit 11 of the robot teaching device is attached to the manipulator 102, …
[p.6, para. 2, ln 1-2] The sensor unit 11 is attached to a rotary joint 112 b between the arm 106 and the hand 107. Then, it moves or rotates integrally with the hand 107.
[p.3, para. 1, ln 4] … Then, by arranging the respective groups at equal intervals in the circumferential direction, the front and rear and left and right positions of the detected object with respect to the sensor unit 11 can be easily calculated. Therefore, the moving direction of the manipulator can be calculated)
EXAMINER NOTE: See Fig 1 and Fig. 2. Sensors are arranged at 90 degree intervals around the perimeter of the gripper, thus arranging them orthogonally to one another.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize Tanaka’s gripper in Zevenberger’s mobile gripping robot. Tanaka’s gripper is more compact and requires fewer sensors mounted elsewhere on the robot. Additionally, Tanaka’s sensors always have a direct line of sight to objects and obstacles on the suction side, and can quickly detect adverse conditions which may not be detectable by Zevenberger’s sensor arrangement.
(Tanaka - [0047] The proximal sensors 114 realize object fall detection, suitable suction area detection, prevention of overpressure of the suction pad 113, and prevention of collision with an obstacle. If detection is failed by the proximal sensors 114, the contact sensors 115 detect a contact with an object, and accordingly, the object can be reliably detected.)
As a further improvement, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify Zevenbergen and Tanaka with Sato’s suggestion to incorporate sensors on each side of the manipulator in order to allow easy calculation of the position of objects in all directions.
(Sato - [p.3, para. 1, ln 4] … Then, by arranging the respective groups at equal intervals in the circumferential direction, the front and rear and left and right positions of the detected object with respect to the sensor unit 11 can be easily calculated. Therefore, the moving direction of the manipulator can be calculated)
Claim 18
The combination of Zevenbergen, Tanaka and Sato teaches the limitations of claim 17 as outlined above. As shown above, the cited combination also teaches
wherein detecting at least one object in a motion path of the suction gripper comprises detecting the at least one object when a plurality of points represented in distance measurement data are located below a threshold distance from the suction gripper .
(Tanaka - [0066] The flight device 10 moves toward the object 97. Specifically, the flight device 10 moves to the above the object 97, and then descends. If the proximal sensors 114 of the object holding apparatus 11 detect that the object 97 is in close proximity, the controller 50 drives the suction device 52 in advance and starts evacuation of air inside of the suction pad 113, in order to swiftly adhere to the object 97. In this case, the controller 50 drives the suction device 52 if the distance to the object 97 measured by the proximal sensors 114 becomes less than a distance threshold.)
Claim 22
The combination cited in claim 1 further teaches
wherein the second distance sensor is arranged on the suction gripper at a first location,
the plurality of distance sensors further comprising:
a third distance sensor arranged on the suction gripper at a second location different from the first location,
wherein the third distance sensor is configured to sense objects in the second direction along the third axis.
EXAMINER NOTE: See Sato figures above with respect to claim 1. The second and third sensors are at different locations.
Claim(s) 9, 10, AND 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zevenbergen, Tanaka, and Sato as applied to the rejections above, and further in view of Kamiya (JP-2020127995-A).
Claim 9
The combination of Zevenbergen, Tanaka, and Sato teaches the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above. As shown above, the cited combination also teaches
wherein the received distance measurement signals include first measurement signals received from the first distance sensor and second measurement signals received from the second distance sensor,
(Tanaka - [0048] By distributing the proximal sensors 114 having the above configuration in an in-plane direction of the sensor-mounting member 112, it is possible to recognize contour information (dimension and/or shape) of an object held by the suction pad 113, based on distance information from the proximal sensors 114.)
EXAMINER NOTE: The measurement signals must be distinct in order to detect contour information.
The cited combination may not explicitly teach the following limitations in combination, however, Kamiya teaches
and wherein the at least one computing device is further configured to: process the first measurement signals and the second measurement signals differently to detect at least one object in the motion path of the suction gripper.
(Kamiya - [p. 11, para. 3] The control device 5 determines that the first object 19 is an obstacle when the first proximity signal indicating the first proximity state 20, which is the proximity state between the first object 19 and the first sensor 18, is smaller than the first determination value 62. Similarly, when the second proximity signal indicating the second proximity state 58, which is the proximity state between the second object 52 and the second sensor 21, is smaller than the second determination value 61, the control device 5 treats the second object 52 as an obstacle. judge. The second judgment value 61 is set smaller than the first judgment value 62.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the combination of Tanaka and Steinkemper by processing measurement data in the manner suggested by Kamiya in order to avoid collisions and reduce restrictions on the robot.
(Kamiya - [p. 11, para. 4] As a result, the distance determined to be an obstacle when the second object 52 approaches the end effector 13 is made shorter than the distance determined to be an obstacle when the first object 19 approaches the arm unit 12. There is. At this time, since the end effector 13 can approach the second object 52, it is possible that the control device 5 excessively restricts the operation of the end effector 13 when the end effector 13 exerts a predetermined action on the second object 52. It can be reduced
[p. 17, para. 1] When it is determined that the second object 52 is an obstacle, the operations of the arm unit 12 and the end effector 13 are limited. Therefore, it is possible to prevent the end effector 13 from colliding with an obstacle, and reduce the damage and the degree of damage when the collision occurs.)
Claim 10
The combination of Zevenbergen, Tanaka, Sato, and Kamiya teaches the limitations of claim 9 as outlined above. Kamiya also teaches
wherein processing the first measurement signals and the second measurement signals differently comprises
comparing the first measurement signals to a first threshold distance and
comparing the second measurement signals to a second threshold distance different than the first threshold distance
(Kamiya - [p. 11, para. 3] The control device 5 determines that the first object 19 is an obstacle when the first proximity signal indicating the first proximity state 20, which is the proximity state between the first object 19 and the first sensor 18, is smaller than the first determination value 62. Similarly, when the second proximity signal indicating the second proximity state 58, which is the proximity state between the second object 52 and the second sensor 21, is smaller than the second determination value 61, the control device 5 treats the second object 52 as an obstacle. judge. The second judgment value 61 is set smaller than the first judgment value 62.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the combination of Tanaka and Steinkemper by processing measurement data in the manner suggested by Kamiya in order to avoid collisions and reduce restrictions on the robot.
Claim 19
The combination of Zevenbergen, Tanaka and Sato teaches the limitations of claim 17 as outlined above. As shown above, the cited combination also teaches
wherein the distance measurement data includes first measurement signals received from the first distance sensor of the plurality of distance sensors and second measurement signals received from the second distance sensor of the plurality of distance sensors,
(Tanaka - [0048] By distributing the proximal sensors 114 having the above configuration in an in-plane direction of the sensor-mounting member 112, it is possible to recognize contour information (dimension and/or shape) of an object held by the suction pad 113, based on distance information from the proximal sensors 114.)
EXAMINER NOTE: The measurement signals must be distinct in order to detect contour information.
The cited combination may not explicitly teach the following limitations in combination, however, Kamiya teaches
and wherein the method further comprises:
processing the first measurement signals and the second measurement signals differently to detect at least one object in the motion path of the component,
wherein processing the first measurement signals and the second measurement signals differently comprises
comparing the first measurement signals to a first threshold distance and comparing the second measurement signals to a second threshold distance different than the first threshold distance.
(Kamiya - [p. 11, para. 3] The control device 5 determines that the first object 19 is an obstacle when the first proximity signal indicating the first proximity state 20, which is the proximity state between the first object 19 and the first sensor 18, is smaller than the first determination value 62. Similarly, when the second proximity signal indicating the second proximity state 58, which is the proximity state between the second object 52 and the second sensor 21, is smaller than the second determination value 61, the control device 5 treats the second object 52 as an obstacle. judge. The second judgment value 61 is set smaller than the first judgment value 62.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the combination of Tanaka and Steinkemper by processing measurement data in the manner suggested by Kamiya in order to avoid collisions and reduce restrictions on the robot.
(Kamiya - [p. 11, para. 4] As a result, the distance determined to be an obstacle when the second object 52 approaches the end effector 13 is made shorter than the distance determined to be an obstacle when the first object 19 approaches the arm unit 12. There is. At this time, since the end effector 13 can approach the second object 52, it is possible that the control device 5 excessively restricts the operation of the end effector 13 when the end effector 13 exerts a predetermined action on the second object 52. It can be reduced
[p. 17, para. 1] When it is determined that the second object 52 is an obstacle, the operations of the arm unit 12 and the end effector 13 are limited. Therefore, it is possible to prevent the end effector 13 from colliding with an obstacle, and reduce the damage and the degree of damage when the collision occurs.)
Claim(s) 11-13, 16, 20, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zevenbergen, Tanaka, and Sato as applied to the rejections above, and further in view of Steinkemper (EP-3744482-A1).
Claim 11
The combination of Zevenbergen, Tanaka, Sato, and Kamiya teaches the limitations of claim 9 as outlined above. The cited combination may not explicitly teach the following limitations in combination. However, Steinkemper teaches
wherein the first threshold distance and/or the second threshold distance is determined based on the at least one characteristic of the object grasped by the suction gripper.
(Steinkemper - [p. 16, para. 3] A first example of the further sensor 22 are sensors of the robot arm 10 itself. For example, depending on the direction of movement, a higher robot speed requires longer distance thresholds and / or larger diameters or opening angles of the protective jacket 16. Internal current measurements at the joints of the robot arm allow conclusions to be drawn about the current payload pulled by the robot and thus the tool and workpiece moved by it can also be inferred. On the one hand, a greater load results in a greater risk potential, which requires larger protective jackets 16. On the other hand, the tool or the transported workpiece can also be identified from the weight.)
EXAMINER NOTE: The detection threshold of the sensor is higher at higher robot speeds, and lower at lower robot speeds. Further, a grasped object may be identified by its weight (characteristic)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify Zevenbergen with Steinkemper's variable distance threshold sensing arrangement. Steinkemper’s suggestion serves to improve the safeguarding of the gripper and take safety-related actions.
(Steinkemper - [p. 4, para. 4-5] Against this background, the object of the invention is to improve the safeguarding of a machine in close human-machine cooperation.
This object is achieved by a method for securing a movable machine part and a securing system for a machine according to claims 1 and 14, respectively. The machine is in particular a robot or robot arm with a tool that is primarily to be secured (EOAS, end-of-arm safeguarding). This application example of a robot is often used as a representative in the following, the explanations are to be transferred analogously to another movable machine part. Protection is provided by monitoring a virtual protective jacket around at least part of the moving machine part for interference by objects, which then lead to a safety-related reaction of the machine. Not every intervening object has to immediately trigger the safety-related reaction; for example, small objects or very brief interventions can be tolerated.)
Claim 12
The combination of Zevenbergen, Tanaka, and Sato, teaches the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above. The cited combination may not explicitly teach the following limitations in combination. However, Steinkemper teaches
wherein controlling the robotic device to change one or more operations of the robotic device further comprises changing a speed of the arm and/or changing a trajectory of the arm.
(Steinkemper - [p. 11, para. 3] The measuring beams 14 together form a virtual protective jacket 16 around the end or tool of the robot arm 10. For this purpose, the Distance values measured by the distance sensors 12a-b are compared with distance thresholds during operation of the robot arm 10. If the distance falls below a threshold, this is attributed to the engagement of a body part or other impermissible object 18. Then a safety-related reaction of the robot 10 is triggered, which, depending on the violated distance thresholds, can consist of slowing down, evasive action or an emergency stop.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify Zevenbergen with Steinkemper's variable distance threshold sensing arrangement in order to improve the safeguarding of the gripper and take safety-related actions.
(Steinkemper - [p. 4, para. 4-5] Against this background, the object of the invention is to improve the safeguarding of a machine in close human-machine cooperation.
This object is achieved by a method for securing a movable machine part and a securing system for a machine according to claims 1 and 14, respectively. The machine is in particular a robot or robot arm with a tool that is primarily to be secured (EOAS, end-of-arm safeguarding). This application example of a robot is often used as a representative in the following, the explanations are to be transferred analogously to another movable machine part. Protection is provided by monitoring a virtual protective jacket around at least part of the moving machine part for interference by objects, which then lead to a safety-related reaction of the machine. Not every intervening object has to immediately trigger the safety-related reaction; for example, small objects or very brief interventions can be tolerated.)
Claim 13
The combination of Zevenbergen, Tanaka, Sato, and Steinkemper teaches the limitations of claim 12 as outlined above. As shown above, the cited combination also teaches
wherein changing a speed of the arm comprises changing a speed of the arm based on a distance between the suction gripper and the detected at least one object or stopping the arm.
(Steinkemper - [p. 11, para. 3] The measuring beams 14 together form a virtual protective jacket 16 around the end or tool of the robot arm 10. For this purpose, the Distance values measured by the distance sensors 12a-b are compared with distance thresholds during operation of the robot arm 10. If the distance falls below a threshold, this is attributed to the engagement of a body part or other impermissible object 18. Then a safety-related reaction of the robot 10 is triggered, which, depending on the violated distance thresholds, can consist of slowing down, evasive action or an emergency stop.)
Claim 16
The combination of Zevenbergen, Tanaka, and Sato teaches the limitations of claim 14 as outlined above. The cited combination may not explicitly teach the following limitations in combination. However, Steinkemper teaches
wherein controlling an operation of the mobile manipulator robot further comprises changing a speed of the arm and/or changing a trajectory of the arm.
(Steinkemper - [p. 11, para. 3] The measuring beams 14 together form a virtual protective jacket 16 around the end or tool of the robot arm 10. For this purpose, the Distance values measured by the distance sensors 12a-b are compared with distance thresholds during operation of the robot arm 10. If the distance falls below a threshold, this is attributed to the engagement of a body part or other impermissible object 18. Then a safety-related reaction of the robot 10 is triggered, which, depending on the violated distance thresholds, can consist of slowing down, evasive action or an emergency stop.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify Zevenbergen with Steinkemper's variable distance threshold sensing arrangement in order to improve the safeguarding of the gripper and take safety-related actions.
(Steinkemper - [p. 4, para. 4-5] Against this background, the object of the invention is to improve the safeguarding of a machine in close human-machine cooperation.
This object is achieved by a method for securing a movable machine part and a securing system for a machine according to claims 1 and 14, respectively. The machine is in particular a robot or robot arm with a tool that is primarily to be secured (EOAS, end-of-arm safeguarding). This application example of a robot is often used as a representative in the following, the explanations are to be transferred analogously to another movable machine part. Protection is provided by monitoring a virtual protective jacket around at least part of the moving machine part for interference by objects, which then lead to a safety-related reaction of the machine. Not every intervening object has to immediately trigger the safety-related reaction; for example, small objects or very brief interventions can be tolerated.)
Claim 20
The combination of Zevenbergen, Tanaka, and Sato teaches the limitations of claim 17 as outlined above. The cited combination may not explicitly teach the following limitations in combination. However, Steinkemper teaches
wherein controlling an operation of the mobile manipulator robot further comprises changing a speed of the arm and/or changing a trajectory of the arm.
(Steinkemper - [p. 11, para. 3] The measuring beams 14 together form a virtual protective jacket 16 around the end or tool of the robot arm 10. For this purpose, the Distance values measured by the distance sensors 12a-b are compared with distance thresholds during operation of the robot arm 10. If the distance falls below a threshold, this is attributed to the engagement of a body part or other impermissible object 18. Then a safety-related reaction of the robot 10 is triggered, which, depending on the violated distance thresholds, can consist of slowing down, evasive action or an emergency stop.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify Zevenbergen with Steinkemper's variable distance threshold sensing arrangement in order to improve the safeguarding of the gripper and take safety-related actions.
(Steinkemper - [p. 4, para. 4-5] Against this background, the object of the invention is to improve the safeguarding of a machine in close human-machine cooperation.
This object is achieved by a method for securing a movable machine part and a securing system for a machine according to claims 1 and 14, respectively. The machine is in particular a robot or robot arm with a tool that is primarily to be secured (EOAS, end-of-arm safeguarding). This application example of a robot is often used as a representative in the following, the explanations are to be transferred analogously to another movable machine part. Protection is provided by monitoring a virtual protective jacket around at least part of the moving machine part for interference by objects, which then lead to a safety-related reaction of the machine. Not every intervening object has to immediately trigger the safety-related reaction; for example, small objects or very brief interventions can be tolerated.)
Claim 21
The combination of Zevenbergen, Tanaka, Sato, and Steinkemper teaches the limitations of claim 20 as outlined above. As shown above, Steinkemper also teaches
wherein changing a speed of the arm comprises changing a speed of the arm based on a distance between the suction gripper and the detected at least one object or stopping the arm.
(Steinkemper - [p. 11, para. 3] The measuring beams 14 together form a virtual protective jacket 16 around the end or tool of the robot arm 10. For this purpose, the Distance values measured by the distance sensors 12a-b are compared with distance thresholds during operation of the robot arm 10. If the distance falls below a threshold, this is attributed to the engagement of a body part or other impermissible object 18. Then a safety-related reaction of the robot 10 is triggered, which, depending on the violated distance thresholds, can consist of slowing down, evasive action or an emergency stop.)
Conclusion
/JAMES MILLER WATTS III/ Examiner, Art Unit 3657
/ADAM R MOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3657