DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
2. Claims 1-3, 6-12, and 15-20 are currently pending.
3. Claims 4-5 and 13-14 are canceled.
4. Claims 1, 10, and 19 are currently amended.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) submitted on 1/26/2026 has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 1-3, 6-12, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Any claim not specifically mentioned, including Claims 2-3, 6-9, 11-12, 15-18, and 20 have been included based on its dependency.
7. The limitation in Claim 1 with new matter recites: “wherein a period of the delay is iteratively adjusted.” Applicant has not pointed out where the amended claim is supported, nor does there appear to be a written description of the claim limitation “wherein a period of the delay is iteratively adjusted” in the application filed. The amendment narrows the adjustment frequency of the period of the delay. The specification calibrates the controller for the mass of the marine vessel. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that iteratively adjusting is narrower than calibrating because a calibration may be done once (e.g., after loading all the cargo) whereas iteratively adjusting indicates that weight sensors constantly monitoring the weight. As such, there is no indication in the specification that the invention had possession of iteratively adjusting the period of the delay based on the weight sensor values.
8. Claims 10 and 19 have the same limitations as Claim 1 except for they are separate independent claims but are rejected for the same reasoning.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claims 1-2, 6-11, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tyers (US 20120129410 A1), in view of Barrett (US 20080027597 A1), and in further view of Regan (US 20170315014 A1).
13. Regarding Claim 1, Tyers teaches a method for marine vessel position control, the method comprising (Tyers: [0005]):
Receiving a position hold signal from a human-machine interface of a marine vessel (Tyers: [0037]);
In response to receiving the position hold signal, monitoring sensor data from at least one sensor (Tyers: [0037] and [0048]),
Wherein the at least one sensor is configured to interact with at least one of at least one real-time-kinematic base and at least one target, and wherein the at least one of the at least one real-time kinematic base and the at least one target is disposed on a structure within a vicinity of to the marine vessel (Tyers: [0048], [0049], and [0052] Note that the dock is equivalent to the target and the real-time kinematic base is equivalent to the reference points on the dock.);
Determining a hold position based at least on the monitored sensor data (Tyers: [0037] and [0048]);
And selectively controlling a thruster system of the marine vessel to hold the marine vessel in the hold position using the monitored sensor data (Tyers: [0034], [0037], and [0049] Note that selectively controlling a thruster system of the marine vessel for a period of time to hold the marine vessel in a hold position is equivalent to the marine vessel remaining the same lateral position relative to the dock by engaging the forward or reverse drive. The period of time is broad interpreted as any moment the marine vessel is maintained at the set distance from the dock.).
Tyers fails to explicitly teach in response to an increased inertial mass of the marine vessel, applying a delay to at least one control input of the thruster system, wherein a period of the delay is iteratively adjusted based on one or more weight sensor values received from one or more weight sensors.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Barrett teaches in response to an increased inertial mass of the marine vessel, applying a delay to at least one control input of the thruster system, wherein a period of the delay is iteratively adjusted based on one or more weight sensor… (Barrett: [0012], [0059], and [0060] Note that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that momentum is dependent on mass and velocity of the vessel. Delaying a bow thruster of the marine vessel that is heavier in the stern is equivalent to delaying a control input of the thruster system in response to an increased inertial mass. The bow thruster is delayed because of the difference in response times between the bow and stern thrusters (a function of at least the size/weight distribution of the marine vessel).).
Tyers and Barrett are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they are in the same field of marine vessel control. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tyers to incorporate the teachings of Barrett to add a delay period in response to an increased inertial mass of the marine vessel because it provides the benefit of controlling the vessel to be maintained on an accurate heading without further input from the vessel operator. Barret explains the delay time is set based on the size and weight distribution of the marine vessel so that the vessel moves in an intuitive manner, as explicitly explained in [0059] and [0060].
Tyers and Barrett fail to explicitly teach one or more weight sensor values received from one or more weight sensors.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Regan teaches one or more weight sensor values received from one or more weight sensors (Regan: [0019] and [0021]).
Tyers, Barrett, and Regan are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they are in the same field of marine vessel control. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tyers and Barrett to incorporate the teachings of Regan to detect weight sensor values received from one or more weight sensors because it provides the benefit of determining an accurate weight and distribution of the cargo loaded onto the vehicle, as explicitly explained in Regan's [0027]. Regan improves Barrett because load sensors are provided onboard the vehicle to actually determine the weight distribution and is also updated based on the center of gravity shifting.
14. Regarding Claim 2, Tyers, Barrett, and Regan remains as applied above in Claim 1, and further, Tyers teaches the at least one sensor includes at least one of a light detection and ranging sensor, a radio detection and ranging sensor, a sound navigation and ranging sensor, an optical sensor, at least one pendant set, and an image capturing senor (Tyers: [0048]).
15. Regarding Claim 6, Tyers, Barrett, and Regan remains as applied above in Claim 1, and further, Tyers teaches the at least one target includes at least one of a reflective target, a magnetic target, a hi-contrast target, a radio-frequency target, and a radio-frequency identification target (Tyers: [0034] and [0048] Note that the stationary object reflects radar waves from the radar sensor.).
16. Regarding Claim 7, Tyers, Barrett, and Regan remains as applied above in Claim 1, and further, Tyers teaches the thruster system includes at least one thruster disposed on the marine vessel (Tyers: [0049]).
17. Regarding Claim 8, Tyers, Barrett, and Regan remains as applied above in Claim 7, and further, Tyers teaches the at least one thruster includes at least one bow thruster of the marine vessel (Tyers: [0049]).
18. Regarding Claim 9, Tyers, Barrett, and Regan remains as applied above in Claim 7, and further, Tyers teaches the at least one thruster includes at least one stern thruster of the marine vessel (Tyers: [0049]).
19. Regarding Claim 10, Tyers teaches a system for marine vessel position control, the system comprising (Tyers: [0005]):
A processor; and a memory including instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to (Tyers: [0050] and [0052]):
Receive a position hold signal from a human-machine interface of a marine vessel (Tyers: [0037]);
In response to receiving the position hold signal, monitor sensor data from at least one sensor (Tyers: [0037] and [0048]),
Wherein the at least one sensor is configured to interact with at least one of at least one real-time-kinematic base and at least one target, and wherein the at least one of the at least one real-time kinematic base and the at least one target is disposed on a structure within a vicinity of to the marine vessel (Tyers: [0048], [0049], and [0052] Note that the dock is equivalent to the target and the real-time kinematic base is equivalent to the reference points on the dock.);
Determine a hold position based at least on the monitored sensor data (Tyers: [0037] and [0048]);
And selectively controlling a thruster system of the marine vessel to hold the marine vessel in the hold position using the monitored sensor data (Tyers: [0034], [0037], and [0049] Note that selectively controlling a thruster system of the marine vessel for a period of time to hold the marine vessel in a hold position is equivalent to the marine vessel remaining the same lateral position relative to the dock by engaging the forward or reverse drive. The period of time is broad interpreted as any moment the marine vessel is maintained at the set distance from the dock.).
Tyers fails to explicitly teach in response to an increased inertial mass of the marine vessel, applying a delay to at least one control input of the thruster system, wherein a period of the delay is iteratively adjusted based on one or more weight sensor values received from one or more weight sensors.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Barrett teaches in response to an increased inertial mass of the marine vessel, applying a delay to at least one control input of the thruster system, wherein a period of the delay is iteratively adjusted based on one or more weight sensor… (Barrett: [0012], [0059], and [0060] Note that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that momentum is dependent on mass and velocity of the vessel. Delaying a bow thruster of the marine vessel that is heavier in the stern is equivalent to delaying a control input of the thruster system in response to an increased inertial mass. The bow thruster is delayed because of the difference in response times between the bow and stern thrusters (a function of at least the size/weight distribution of the marine vessel).).
Tyers and Barrett are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they are in the same field of marine vessel control. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tyers to incorporate the teachings of Barrett to add a delay period in response to an increased inertial mass of the marine vessel because it provides the benefit of controlling the vessel to be maintained on an accurate heading without further input from the vessel operator. Barret explains the delay time is set based on the size and weight distribution of the marine vessel so that the vessel moves in an intuitive manner, as explicitly explained in [0059] and [0060].
Tyers and Barrett fail to explicitly teach one or more weight sensor values received from one or more weight sensors.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Regan teaches one or more weight sensor values received from one or more weight sensors (Regan: [0019] and [0021]).
Tyers, Barrett, and Regan are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they are in the same field of marine vessel control. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tyers and Barrett to incorporate the teachings of Regan to detect weight sensor values received from one or more weight sensors because it provides the benefit of determining an accurate weight and distribution of the cargo loaded onto the vehicle, as explicitly explained in Regan's [0027]. Regan improves Barrett because load sensors are provided onboard the vehicle to actually determine the weight distribution and is also updated based on the center of gravity shifting.
20. Regarding Claim 11, Tyers, Barrett, and Regan remains as applied above in Claim 10, and further, Tyers teaches the at least one sensor includes at least one of a light detection and ranging sensor, a radio detection and ranging sensor, a sound navigation and ranging sensor, an optical sensor, at least one pendant set, and an image capturing senor (Tyers: [0048]).
21. Regarding Claim 15, Tyers, Barrett, and Regan remains as applied above in Claim 10, and further, Tyers teaches the at least one target includes at least one of a reflective target, a magnetic target, a hi-contrast target, a radio-frequency target, and a radio-frequency identification target (Tyers: [0034] and [0048] Note that the stationary object reflects radar waves from the radar sensor.).
22. Regarding Claim 16, Tyers, Barrett, and Regan remains as applied above in Claim 10, and further, Tyers teaches the thruster system includes at least one thruster disposed on the marine vessel (Tyers: [0049]).
23. Regarding Claim 17, Tyers, Barrett, and Regan remains as applied above in Claim 16, and further, Tyers teaches the at least one thruster includes at least one bow thruster of the marine vessel (Tyers: [0049]).
24. Regarding Claim 18, Tyers, Barrett, and Regan remains as applied above in Claim 16, and further, Tyers teaches the at least one thruster includes at least one stern thruster of the marine vessel (Tyers: [0049]).
25. Regarding Claim 19, Tyers teaches an apparatus for marine vessel position control, the apparatus comprising (Tyers: [0005]):
A processor; and a memory including instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to (Tyers: [0050] and [0052]):
Receive a position hold signal from a human-machine interface of a marine vessel, the position hold signal indicating at least a hold distance between the marine vessel and an object (Tyers: [0037]);
In response to receiving the position hold signal, determine an initial distance between the marine vessel and the object using sensor data from one or more sensors (Tyers: [0037] and [0048]),
Wherein the at least one sensor is configured to interact with at least one of at least one real-time-kinematic base and at least one target, and wherein the at least one of the at least one real-time kinematic base and the at least one target is disposed on a structure within a vicinity of to the marine vessel (Tyers: [0048], [0049], and [0052] Note that the dock is equivalent to the target and the real-time kinematic base is equivalent to the reference points on the dock.);
In response to the initial distance being greater than the hold distance, selectively control a thruster system of the marine vessel, using at least one thruster of the thruster system, to propel the marine vessel toward the object (Tyers: [0029], [0050], and [0055] Note that the thrusters move the marine vessel from the initial distance (10 to 30 feet away from the dock) to the selected hold distance (4 feet away from the dock). The initial distance is greater than the hold distance.);
Wait a delay period (Tyers: [0034] Note that continuous real time monitoring and controlling is equivalent to waiting a delay period because there is at least a moment in time between a first and second real time monitoring/control.);
Determine a current distance between the marine vessel and the object (Tyers: [0046]);
And in response to a determination that the current distance corresponds to the hold distance, selectively control the thruster system, using the at least one thruster to hold the marine vessel in the hold position (Tyers: [0034], [0037], and [0049] Note that selectively controlling a thruster system of the marine vessel for a period of time to hold the marine vessel in a hold position is equivalent to the marine vessel remaining the same lateral position relative to the dock by engaging the forward or reverse drive. The period of time is broad interpreted as any moment the marine vessel is maintained at the set distance from the dock.).
Tyers fails to explicitly teach in response to an increased inertial mass of the marine vessel, applying a delay to at least one control input of the thruster system, wherein a period of the delay is iteratively adjusted based on one or more weight sensor values received from one or more weight sensors.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Barrett teaches in response to an increased inertial mass of the marine vessel, applying a delay to at least one control input of the thruster system, wherein a period of the delay is iteratively adjusted based on one or more weight sensor… (Barrett: [0012], [0059], and [0060] Note that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that momentum is dependent on mass and velocity of the vessel. Delaying a bow thruster of the marine vessel that is heavier in the stern is equivalent to delaying a control input of the thruster system in response to an increased inertial mass. The bow thruster is delayed because of the difference in response times between the bow and stern thrusters (a function of at least the size/weight distribution of the marine vessel).).
Tyers and Barrett are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they are in the same field of marine vessel control. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tyers to incorporate the teachings of Barrett to add a delay period in response to an increased inertial mass of the marine vessel because it provides the benefit of controlling the vessel to be maintained on an accurate heading without further input from the vessel operator. Barret explains the delay time is set based on the size and weight distribution of the marine vessel so that the vessel moves in an intuitive manner, as explicitly explained in [0059] and [0060].
Tyers and Barrett fail to explicitly teach one or more weight sensor values received from one or more weight sensors.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Regan teaches one or more weight sensor values received from one or more weight sensors (Regan: [0019] and [0021]).
Tyers, Barrett, and Regan are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they are in the same field of marine vessel control. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tyers and Barrett to incorporate the teachings of Regan to detect weight sensor values received from one or more weight sensors because it provides the benefit of determining an accurate weight and distribution of the cargo loaded onto the vehicle, as explicitly explained in Regan's [0027]. Regan improves Barrett because load sensors are provided onboard the vehicle to actually determine the weight distribution and is also updated based on the center of gravity shifting.
26. Regarding Claim 20, Tyers, Barrett, and Regan remains as applied above in Claim 19, and further, Tyers teaches the one or more sensors includes at least one sensor disposed on the object and at least one sensor disposed on the marine vessel (Tyers: [0048]).
27. Claims 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tyers (US 20120129410 A1), in view of Barrett (US 20080027597 A1), in view of Regan (US 20170315014 A1), and in further view of Pedersen (US 20200277031 A1).
28. Regarding Claim 3, Tyers, Barrett, and Regan remains as applied above in Claim 1.
Tyers, Barrett, and Regan fail to explicitly teach the at least one sensor includes at least one of a real-time kinematic sensor, a global positioning system sensor, and a global navigation satellite system sensor.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Pedersen teaches the at least one sensor includes at least one of a real-time kinematic sensor, a global positioning system sensor, and a global navigation satellite system sensor (Pedersen: [0051]).
Tyers, Barrett, Regan, and Pedersen are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they are in the same field of marine vessel control. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tyers, Barrett, and Regan to incorporate the teachings of Pedersen to include a real time kinematic sensor because it provides the benefit of using additional data and sensors for controlling the marine vessel based on a delay to improve the awareness of the operators. Adding a delay period allows the operator more time to determine if an increase in thruster power is still required to move into the desired position.
29. Regarding Claim 12, Tyers, Barrett, and Regan remains as applied above in Claim 10.
Tyers, Barrett, and Regan fail to explicitly teach the at least one sensor includes at least one of a real-time kinematic sensor.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Pedersen teaches the at least one sensor includes at least one of a real-time kinematic sensor (Pedersen: [0051]).
Tyers, Barrett, Regan, and Pedersen are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they are in the same field of marine vessel control. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tyers, Barrett, and Regan to incorporate the teachings of Pedersen to include a real time kinematic sensor because it provides the benefit of using additional data and sensors for controlling the marine vessel based on a delay to improve the awareness of the operators. Adding a delay period allows the operator more time to determine if an increase in thruster power is still required to move into the desired position.
Response to Arguments
30. Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 1-3, 6-12, and 15-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Regan (US 20170315014 A1) has been applied to teach the amended subject matter of receiving one or more weight sensor values from one or more weight sensors in the rejection above as cited in at least paragraphs [0019] and [0021]. Regan teaches to detect the weight distribution and potential shifts in the weight distribution using load sensors.
31. Tyers (US 20120129410 A1), in view of Barrett (US 20080027597 A1), in view of Regan (US 20170315014 A1), and in further view of Pedersen (US 20200277031 A1) teaches all aspects of the invention. The rejection is modified according to the newly amended language but still maintained with the current prior art of record.
32. Claims 1-3, 6-12, and 15-20 remain rejected under their respective grounds and rational as cited above, and as stated in the prior office action which is incorporated herein. Also, although not specifically argued, all remaining claims remain rejected under their respective grounds, rationales, and applicable prior art for these reasons cited above, and those mentioned in the prior office action which is incorporated herein.
Conclusion
33. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Buffa (US 20160311509 A1)
Solass (US 20230399083 A1)
/MICHAEL T SILVA/Examiner, Art Unit 3663