DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This is in response to applicant’s amendment/response filed on 01/06/2026, which has been entered and made of record. Claims 1, 16, and 25-29 have been amended. Claims 5-7 and 20 has been cancelled. Claims 1-4, 8-16, and 25-31 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 01/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants state that “Applicant respectfully submits that Jurik does not teach that a most recent data reading from a medical device is projected by the projection device. Jurik instead teaches that data is sent from a medical device to a computing system and analyzed by the computing system to identify an outlier reading prior to sending a "set" of data readings to a projection device (see, e.g., Jurik, page 5, lines 24-30; page 6, lines 7-8; Abstract; Figure 3). The independent claims have been amended to recite that a light beam image projected is the most recent reading from the medical device to emphasize this novel feature over Jurik. Jurik considered alone or in combination with the other cited references does not teach the claims”. The examiner disagrees. Jurik teaches a most recent data reading from a medical device is projected by the projection device (Figs 1, 3, and 7, page 5, lines 17-30, “the sensor remains inside the user for several days, continuously measuring the glucose-level. Referring to FIG. 3, the system of the present invention is used to continuously receive the set of glucose-level readings through the glucose monitor (Step B). The set of glucose-level readings is then continuously transmitted to the computing system. More specifically, the transmitter relays the set of glucose-level readings from the glucose monitor to the computing system (Step C)” …directly send the set of glucose-level readings from the glucose monitor to the alarm clock or go through microprocessor/phone). So the rejection of claim 1 would be maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 8-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2018/178942 to Jurik in view of U.S. PGPubs 2020/0408386 to Heimbrock.
Regarding claim 1, Jurik teaches a portable apparatus for projecting medical data of a patient (abstract, “A method and system of displaying a real-time glucose reading includes a computing system, a glucose monitor, and an alarm clock ….. wherein the outlier reading is outside of the acceptable glucose range; relaying the set of glucose-level readings from the computing system to the alarm clock; displaying the set of glucose- level readings with a projector of the alarm clock”), comprising:
a) a projection device having a housing (Fig 2, page 4, lines18-31, a projector);
b) the projection device able to continuously and automatically receive data from a transmission device (page 4, lines 18-31, “The alarm clock generates an easily visible and easily readable projection of the real-time glucose-level reading onto the wall of the bedroom. The user can thus quickly glance at the projection while lying on the bed, without having to move his or her body, or having to reach for the smartphone or the receiver. “, Fig 1, page 5, lines 17-30, “the sensor remains inside the user for several days, continuously measuring the glucose-level. Referring to FIG. 3, the system of the present invention is used to continuously receive the set of glucose-level readings through the glucose monitor (Step B). The set of glucose-level readings is then continuously transmitted to the computing system. More specifically, the transmitter relays the set of glucose-level readings from the glucose monitor to the computing system (Step C). .. “the transmitter wirelessly and continuously transmits the set of glucose-level readings to the computing system. The transmitter preferably utilizes a wireless technology standard enabling ultra-high frequency (UHF) radio communication (e.g. Wi-Fi). Preferably, the step of interpreting and analyzing the set of glucose-level readings is off-loaded to the computing system through the wireless transmission.”)” ….receive data through wireless connection between glucose monitor to projector);
c) the transmission device able to continuously and automatically receive the data from a medical device and able to continuously and automatically transmit the data to the projection device (Fig 2, page 4, lines 18-30, “Referring to FIG. 1 and FIG. 2, the system for the present invention is provided with a computing system, a glucose monitor, and an alarm clock, wherein an acceptable 20 glucose range is stored on the computing system (Step A). The alarm clock is designed as a minimally invasive method of notifying the user of their real-time glucose-level….. The alarm clock generates an easily visible and easily readable projection of the real-time glucose-level reading onto the wall of the bedroom. The user can thus quickly glance at the projection while lying on the bed, without having to move his or her body, or having to reach for the smartphone or the receiver. In various embodiments of the present invention, the computing system may be integrated into the alarm clock, a mobile computing device, or into a remote server in wireless communication with the alarm clock ….. The glucose monitor refers to a non-invasive, minimally invasive, or invasive continuous glucose monitor (CGM) that comprises a transmitter and a sensor”, Fig 1, page 5, lines 17-30, “the sensor remains inside the user for several days, continuously measuring the glucose-level. Referring to FIG. 3, the system of the present invention is used to continuously receive the set of glucose-level readings through the glucose monitor (Step B). The set of glucose-level readings is then continuously transmitted to the computing system. More specifically, the transmitter relays the set of glucose-level readings from the glucose monitor to the computing system (Step C). .. “the transmitter wirelessly and continuously transmits the set of glucose-level readings to the computing system”, page 6, lines 13-29, “A projector of the alarm clock displays the set of glucose-level readings (Step F). The projector is mounted to the alarm clock via a swivel bracket which allows the user to point the projector to the walls, ceiling, or the floor of the bedroom. The projector projects the real-time glucose-level reading and a scatter plot showing the change in the glucose-level over time onto the wall);
d) a projector coupled to the housing that can continuously and automatically project a light beam image of the data received by the projection device onto a desired surface that is spaced away from the projection device (claim 1, page 4, lines 4-30, “The present invention is a method and system of displaying a real-time glucose 5 reading with an alarm clock. More specifically, the alarm clock obtains a set of glucose level readings from a glucose monitor and uses a projector to project the set of glucose level readings onto the wall or the ceiling of a room”, page 6, lines 13-28, “A projector of the alarm clock displays the set of glucose-level readings (Step F). The projector is mounted to the alarm clock via a swivel bracket which allows the user to point the projector to the walls, ceiling, or the floor of the bedroom. The projector projects the real-time glucose-level reading and a scatter plot showing the change in the glucose-level over time onto the wall. The real-time glucose-level is the numerical value of the glucose-level, measured in mg/dL, displayed in illuminated letters against a black background.”);
f) wherein the light beam image of the data that is projected by the projection device is continuously and automatically updated to be a most recent data reading of the medical device (page 4, lines 4-30, “The present invention is a method and system of displaying a real-time glucose 5 reading with an alarm clock. More specifically, the alarm clock obtains a set of glucose level readings from a glucose monitor and uses a projector to project the set of glucose level readings onto the wall or the ceiling of a room”, page 6, lines 13-28, “A projector of the alarm clock displays the set of glucose-level readings (Step F). The projector is mounted to the alarm clock via a swivel bracket which allows the user to point the projector to the walls, ceiling, or the floor of the bedroom. The projector projects the real-time glucose-level reading and a scatter plot showing the change in the glucose-level over time onto the wall. The real-time glucose-level is the numerical value of the glucose-level, measured in mg/dL, displayed in illuminated letters against a black background.”).
But Jurik keep silent for teaching e) a coupler that couples the projector to the housing.
In related endeavor, Heimbrock teaches e) a coupler that couples the projector to the housing (par 0016, “The projection housing 26 is rotatably coupled to the support frame 22. The projection housing 26 includes a projector configured to project an image 30 from the support frame 22. An angle of projection 34 of the image 30 is adjusted by rotation of the projection housing 26.”, Fig 1, par 0019, “the support frame 22 extends laterally along the foot end 18 of the patient support apparatus 10 and is integral with, or coupled with the upper frame 42. In some examples, the support frame 22 may be fixedly attached to the upper frame 42. The support frame 22 may retain the rotatable projection housing 26, which may be in the form of a drum. The projection housing 26 may include at least one light projector 48 disposed inside the projection housing 26 and configured to project at least one image, such as the image 30. The projection housing 26 may include multiple light projectors”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modified Jurik to include e) a coupler that couples the projector to the housing as taught by Heimbrock to couple projector with support house to allow user to adject angle of projector to provide better view for patient without change pasture of patient.
Regarding claim 2, Jurik as modified by Heimbrock teaches all the limitation of claim 1, and Heimbrock further teaches wherein the coupler enables the projector to move so that a location of the light beam image can be changed (Figs 1-2, par 0020-0025, “The projection housing 26 may be disposed within the support frame 22. Further, the projection housing 26 includes a body 84 defining at least one aperture, which may include apertures 86, 90 and 94. The at least one light projector 48 may include three light projectors 48a, 48b, and 48c disposed within the projection housing 26. The light projectors 48a, 48b, and 48c are configured to direct beams of light through the apertures 86, 90 and 94 in the body 84 and onto a surface, S (FIG. 3). Accordingly, the light projectors 48a, 48b, and 48c may be aligned with the apertures 86, 90 and 94 to project the images 30, 50, and 54, respectively, through the projection housing 26 and the support frame 22. The apertures 86, 90 and 94, and therefore the light projectors 48a, 48b, and 48c and the images 30, 50, and 54 may be in lateral alignment with the indicators 74, 78, and 82. In this way, a condition or status may be viewed from a plurality of locations ….an elevation view of the foot end 18 is illustrated. The beams of light forming the images 30, 50, 54 may be projected onto a plurality of surfaces, including, but not limited to a floor surface S.sub.F and a ceiling surface Sc. In some examples, the projection housing 26 may be rotated such that the apertures 86, 90 and 94 are positioned adjacent the upper portion 58 or the lower portion 66 of the support frame 22”). This would be obvious for the same reason given in the rejection for claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, Jurik as modified by Heimbrock teaches all the limitation of claim 1, and Heimbrock further teaches wherein the coupler enables the projector to tilt and/or swivel and/or rotate so that a location of the light beam image can be changed (Figs 1-2, par 0020-0025, “The projection housing 26 may be configured to spin, or rotate to adjust the position of the apertures 86, 90 and 94. A knob 122 may be operably coupled with the projection housing 26 for manual rotation of the projection housing 26 relative to the support frame 22, as illustrated by arrow K ….an elevation view of the foot end 18 is illustrated. The beams of light forming the images 30, 50, 54 may be projected onto a plurality of surfaces, including, but not limited to a floor surface S.sub.F and a ceiling surface Sc. In some examples, the projection housing 26 may be rotated such that the apertures 86, 90 and 94 are positioned adjacent the upper portion 58 or the lower portion 66 of the support frame 22”). This would be obvious for the same reason given in the rejection for claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Jurik as modified by Heimbrock teaches all the limitation of claim 1, and Jurik further teaches wherein the data includes glucose level data (abstract).
Regarding claim 8, Jurik as modified by Heimbrock teaches all the limitation of claim 1, and Jurik further teaches further comprising an alarm that is emitted if the data received by the projection device is not within a desired range (abstract, page 4 lines 4-17, “If the glucose-level trends dangerously low or dangerously high, the alarm clock outputs visual and audible alerts notifying the user to take corrective action. The alarm clock also allows the user to preempt an alert by providing a scatter plot showing the trend of the glucose level. The scatter plot shows the history and the future trend of the glucose-level, thereby allowing the user to correct the glucose-level before an alert is activate”).
Regarding claim 9, Jurik as modified by Heimbrock teaches all the limitation of claim 8, and Jurik further teaches further comprising an alert that is emitted when new data is received by the projection device (page 4 lines 4-17, “the present invention also includes alternate minimally invasive alerting device. More specifically, the vibrating bands worn around the arm or legs notify the user of dangerous glucose-levels without disturbing the other occupants of the bed. Similarly, the present invention also allows an existing electronic device to be used as the preferred alerting method”).
Regarding claim 10, Jurik as modified by Heimbrock teaches all the limitation of claim 9, and Jurik further teaches wherein the alert is different from the alarm (page 4 lines 4-17, ““If the glucose-level trends dangerously low or dangerously high, the alarm clock outputs visual and audible alerts notifying the user to take corrective action. The alarm clock also allows the user to preempt an alert by providing a scatter plot showing the trend of the glucose level. The scatter plot shows the history and the future trend of the glucose-level, thereby allowing the user to correct the glucose-level before an alert is activate” ….the present invention also includes alternate minimally invasive alerting device. More specifically, the vibrating bands worn around the arm or legs notify the user of dangerous glucose-levels without disturbing the other occupants of the bed. Similarly, the present invention also allows an existing electronic device to be used as the preferred alerting method”).
Regarding claim 11, Jurik as modified by Heimbrock teaches all the limitation of claim 1, and Jurik further teaches wherein the projection device is portable and sized to enable packing the projection device while traveling (Fig 1, abstract).
Regarding claim 12, Jurik as modified by Heimbrock teaches all the limitation of claim 1, and Jurik further teaches wherein the projection device includes a screen to also display the data and/or other desired information (Fig 1, page 2 lines 15-23, “The alarm clock would also have standard features found in a common bedside alarm clock, such as time, date, temperature, wake alarm, etc. The alarm clock projects the numerical value of the real-time glucose-level and a scatter plot taken over a three hour time period showing how the glucose-level is trending. This information is projected in large, easy to read graphics on the bedroom wall, ceiling, or floor”).
Regarding claim 13, Jurik as modified by Heimbrock teaches all the limitation of claim 1, and Jurik further teaches wherein the projection device includes a screen to also display the data and time (Fig 1, page 2 lines 15-23, “The alarm clock would also have standard features found in a common bedside alarm clock, such as time, date, temperature, wake alarm, etc. The alarm clock projects the numerical value of the real-time glucose-level and a scatter plot taken over a three hour time period showing how the glucose-level is trending. This information is projected in large, easy to read graphics on the bedroom wall, ceiling, or floor”).
Regarding claim 14, Jurik as modified by Heimbrock teaches all the limitation of claim 1, and Jurik further teaches wherein the projection device can receive and display the data when the medical device is not in the same room as the projection device (Fig 1, alarm clock connect glucose monitor through Wi-Fi wireless so allow remote monitor with distance (could be in another room)).
Regarding claim 15, Jurik as modified by Heimbrock teaches all the limitation of claim 1, and Jurik further teaches wherein the projection device can receive and display the data when the medical device is not in the same building as the projection device (Fig 1, page 6, lines 1-12, and page 8, lines 1-9, “The set of glucose-level readings may be relayed via an internet connection or a cellular network depending on the type of computing system being utilized. “ ….alarm clock connect glucose monitor through internet connection or cellular network wireless so allow remote monitor with short range/distance (could be inside the building) or long distance (outside building or city)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16 and 25-31 are allowable.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The cited prior art fails to teach the combination of elements recited in claim 16, including "a second projector coupled to the second housing that projects a second light beam image of the data received by the second projection device onto a second desired surface that is spaced away from the second housing and in a different location from the first desired surface".
Conclusion
JIN . GE
Examiner
Art Unit 2619
/JIN GE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2619