DETAILED ACTION
1-3, 5-13, 15-18 and 20-21 are present for examination.
Claims 1, 5, 11, 18 and 20 have been amended.
Claims 4, 14 and 19 have been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7, 11-13 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurichiyath (US7,984,241) in view of Maeda et al. (US2015/0046634) and Seningen (US2022/0100655).
With respect claim 1, Kurichiyath teaches a plurality of processing elements (see Fig. 9, column 5, lines 48-55; first, second, third and fourth CPUs 50, 51, 52, 53);
a cache domain including a plurality of caches in which cache lines are to be stored (see Fig. 9 and column 5, lines 31-55; first, second, third and fourth CPUs 50, 51, 52, 53 are each associated with an L1 cache 54, 55, 56, 57. First and second CPUs 50, 51 share a first L2 cache 58, while third and fourth CPUs 52, 53 share a second L2 cache 59. All four CPUs share an L3 cache 60);
identify one or more cache lines among the plurality of cache lines that are important (see column 2, lines 27-37 and 50-53; controlling access may comprise comparing the cache memory level with a value of the cache attribute and controlling access based on said comparison. Each cache level looks at the value of the cache attribute to determine if it should permit or disallow data to be stored at that level. Also in column 5, lines 31-46 and column 6, lines 6-36; first L1 cache controller 44 retrieves the CHH value associated with the page to be written by examining the last two bits of the virtual address (step s2). If the CHH value specifies that the data is to be written to the L1 cache (step s3), in this example the value being `1`, then the data is stored in the L1 cache (step s4)… If the page is not important enough to be marked for the L1 cache, the operating system may apply some other criteria for cacheability at a lower level);
write, for each cache line identified as important, the cache line to a cache in the cache domain (see column 5, lines 31-46 and column 6, lines 6-36; first L1 cache controller 44 retrieves the CHH value associated with the page to be written by examining the last two bits of the virtual address (step s2). If the CHH value specifies that the data is to be written to the L1 cache (step s3), in this example the value being `1`, then the data is stored in the L1 cache (step s4)).
Kurichiyath does not teach an input-output (IO) port, operatively coupled to the cache domain; and circuitry and logic to, logically partition a data unit received at the IO port into a plurality of cache lines.
However, Maeda et al. teaches device-controller main unit 202 functions as a bus master for the communication path 3 between the host 1 and the memory system 2 and performs data transfer by using a first port 230… device-controller main unit 202 includes a cache control unit 207. The cache control unit 207 controls caches (the L2P cache area 300, an L2P cache tag area 310, a data cache area 400, and a data cache tag area 410) reserved in a device use area 102 (see paragraphs 21-22); and wherein when the "length" included in the second read command is larger than the size of a cache line, the user data as a read target in accordance with the second read command is divided into pieces of data that has the size of a cache line (see paragraph 60).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the processor taught by Kurichiyath to include the above mentioned to improve system performance (see Maeda, paragraphs 62-63).
Kurichiyath and Maeda et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the circuitry and logic include a register that is configured to be programmed by software executing on one or more of the plurality of processing elements to identify cache lines in a data unit of a given type of data unit are important.
However, Seningen teaches a pattern lookup table 204 is configured to store data patterns 214. In various embodiments, data patterns 214 may include one or more background data patterns… the modification of data patterns 214 may be based on data tracking of data patterns that are frequently encountered during memory accesses. In other cases, different sets of data patterns may be stored in pattern lookup table 204 based on a type of software or program instructions being executed by a computer system (see paragraphs 22 and 36); wherein when selecting one of cache lines 103 for eviction, logic circuit 201 may base the selection on data patterns included in cache lines 103…logic circuit 201 may examine addresses stored in address map 203 to determine which cache lines are storing data that matches data patterns 214. As described below, logic circuit 201 may use status bits stored adjacent to corresponding ones of cache lines 103, the status bit indicating if their respective rows include one of the patterns included in pattern lookup table 204 (see paragraph 39 and 44). Seningen also teaches wherein in response to a determination that memory circuit 101 is full, to select a previously stored cache line of cache lines 103 based on data patterns 104. In various embodiments, control circuit 102 may be configured to select a cache line that is storing a background data pattern (see paragraph 32).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the processor taught by Kurichiyath and Maeda et al. to include the above mentioned to avoid delays associated with accesses to main memory, thereby improving performance (see Seningen, paragraph 24).
With respect claim 3, Kurichiyath does not teach wherein the data unit is contained in a memory transaction including a memory cache line address.
However, Maeda et al. teaches the CPU 110 generates a first read command that includes the address "mem addr" indicating the position in the host use area 101 and the LBA "stor addr"… host controller main unit 122 reads the user data as a read target that is received by the device connection adapter 126 (S55) and writes it in the host use area 101 (S56). The write position of the user data is the position indicated by the "mem addr" (see paragraph 59).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the processor taught by Kurichiyath to include the above mentioned to improve system performance (see Maeda, paragraphs 62-63).
With respect claim 7, Kurichiyath teaches wherein the cache domain comprises a coherent cache domain including a plurality of Level 1 (L1) and Level 2 (L2) caches and a Level 3 (L3) or Last Level Cache (LLC) (see Fig. 9 and column 5, lines 31-55; first, second, third and fourth CPUs 50, 51, 52, 53 are each associated with an L1 cache 54, 55, 56, 57. First and second CPUs 50, 51 share a first L2 cache 58, while third and fourth CPUs 52, 53 share a second L2 cache 59. All four CPUs share an L3 cache 60. The L3 cache).
With respect claim 11, Kurichiyath teaches a processor including a plurality of cores (see Fig. 9, column 5, lines 48-55; first, second, third and fourth CPUs 50, 51, 52, 53) and a cache domain having multiple caches (see Fig. 9 and column 5, lines 31-55; first, second, third and fourth CPUs 50, 51, 52, 53 are each associated with an L1 cache 54, 55, 56, 57. First and second CPUs 50, 51 share a first L2 cache 58, while third and fourth CPUs 52, 53 share a second L2 cache 59. All four CPUs share an L3 cache 60. The L3 cache), and a memory controller coupled to memory (see column 34-47; cache controller), the method comprising:
identify one or more important cache lines among the plurality of cache lines, the one or more important cache lines corresponding to key segments of the data (see column 2, lines 27-37 and 50-53; controlling access may comprise comparing the cache memory level with a value of the cache attribute and controlling access based on said comparison. Each cache level looks at the value of the cache attribute to determine if it should permit or disallow data to be stored at that level. Also in column 5, lines 31-46 and column 6, lines 6-36; first L1 cache controller 44 retrieves the CHH value associated with the page to be written by examining the last two bits of the virtual address (step s2). If the CHH value specifies that the data is to be written to the L1 cache (step s3), in this example the value being `1`, then the data is stored in the L1 cache (step s4)… If the page is not important enough to be marked for the L1 cache, the operating system may apply some other criteria for cacheability at a lower level); and
writing, for each of the cache lines identified as important, the cache line to a cache in the cache domain (see column 5, lines 31-46 and column 6, lines 6-36; first L1 cache controller 44 retrieves the CHH value associated with the page to be written by examining the last two bits of the virtual address (step s2). If the CHH value specifies that the data is to be written to the L1 cache (step s3), in this example the value being `1`, then the data is stored in the L1 cache (step s4)).
Kurichiyath does not teach wherein an input-output (IO) port is operationally coupled to cache domain; receiving a transaction at the IO port including a transaction address and data; logically partitioning the data into a plurality of cache lines; identify one or more important cache lines among the plurality of cache lines according to an importance pattern, and wherein software executing on a core is to program a register to identify the importance pattern of the cache lines
However, Maeda et al. teaches device-controller main unit 202 functions as a bus master for the communication path 3 between the host 1 and the memory system 2 and performs data transfer by using a first port 230… device-controller main unit 202 includes a cache control unit 207. The cache control unit 207 controls caches (the L2P cache area 300, an L2P cache tag area 310, a data cache area 400, and a data cache tag area 410) reserved in a device use area 102 (see paragraphs 21-22); the CPU 110 generates a first read command that includes the address "mem addr" indicating the position in the host use area 101 and the LBA "stor addr"… host controller main unit 122 reads the user data as a read target that is received by the device connection adapter 126 (S55) and writes it in the host use area 101 (S56). The write position of the user data is the position indicated by the "mem addr" (see paragraph 59); and wherein when the "length" included in the second read command is larger than the size of a cache line, the user data as a read target in accordance with the second read command is divided into pieces of data that has the size of a cache line (see paragraph 60).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Kurichiyath to include the above mentioned to improve system performance (see Maeda, paragraphs 62-63).
Kurichiyath and Maeda et al. do not explicitly teach identify one or more important cache lines among the plurality of cache lines according to an importance pattern, and wherein software executing on a core is to program a register to identify the importance pattern of the cache lines.
However, Seningen teaches a pattern lookup table 204 is configured to store data patterns 214. In various embodiments, data patterns 214 may include one or more background data patterns… the modification of data patterns 214 may be based on data tracking of data patterns that are frequently encountered during memory accesses. In other cases, different sets of data patterns may be stored in pattern lookup table 204 based on a type of software or program instructions being executed by a computer system (see paragraphs 22 and 36); wherein when selecting one of cache lines 103 for eviction, logic circuit 201 may base the selection on data patterns included in cache lines 103…logic circuit 201 may examine addresses stored in address map 203 to determine which cache lines are storing data that matches data patterns 214. As described below, logic circuit 201 may use status bits stored adjacent to corresponding ones of cache lines 103, the status bit indicating if their respective rows include one of the patterns included in pattern lookup table 204 (see paragraph 39 and 44). Seningen also teaches wherein in response to a determination that memory circuit 101 is full, to select a previously stored cache line of cache lines 103 based on data patterns 104. In various embodiments, control circuit 102 may be configured to select a cache line that is storing a background data pattern (see paragraph 32).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Kurichiyath and Maeda et al. to include the above mentioned to avoid delays associated with accesses to main memory, thereby improving performance (see Seningen, paragraph 24).
With respect claim 12, Kurichiyath teaches writing non-important cache lines among the plurality of cache lines to memory (see column 2, lines 27-37 and 50-53; and column 5, lines 42-47; at level L2, the L2 cache controller 48 checks if the CHH value is 2. If it is, the data is stored at level L2 (step s4). If there are no more cache levels (step s5), the data is stored in main memory).
With respect claim 13, Kurichiyath teaches wherein the important cache lines are written to a cache having a first level (see column 5, lines 31-46 and column 6, lines 6-36; first L1 cache controller 44 retrieves the CHH value associated with the page to be written by examining the last two bits of the virtual address (step s2). If the CHH value specifies that the data is to be written to the L1 cache (step s3), in this example the value being `1`, then the data is stored in the L1 cache (step s4)… If the page is not important enough to be marked for the L1 cache, the operating system may apply some other criteria for cacheability at a lower level), further comprising writing non-important cache lines among the plurality of cache lines to a cache having a second level higher than the first level (see column 5, lines 31-46 and column 6, lines 6-36; if writing to the L1 cache is not permitted, the procedure moves to the next cache level (step s5), assuming there are more cache levels. For example, at level L2, the L2 cache controller 48 checks if the CHH value is 2. If it is, the data is stored at level L2 (step s4). If there are no more cache levels (step s5), the data is stored in main memory).
With respect claim 17, Kurichiyath teaches determining a core that will be used to consume the data; and writing important cache lines to a local cache associated with the core that is determined (see column 5, lines 31-40; write cycle starts at the L1 cache, for example at a first L1 cache 43 associated with the first CPU 41 (i.e., processor consuming the data). The first L1 cache controller 44 retrieves the CHH value associated with the page to be written by examining the last two bits of the virtual address (step s2). If the CHH value specifies that the data is to be written to the L1 cache (step s3), in this example the value being `1`, then the data is stored in the L1 cache).
With respect claim 18, Kurichiyath teaches memory, configured to store a plurality of cache lines (see Fig. 6 and 9; column 4, line 43; main memory);
a processor, operatively coupled to the memory (see Fig. 6 and column 4, lines 60-62; processor modules 49 and 50), including,
a plurality of processing elements (see Fig. 6 and 9; column 4, lines 49-55 and column 5, lines 31-55; CPUs 41-42 and controllers 45-46);
a cache domain including a plurality of caches in which cache lines are stored (see Fig. 6 and 9; column 4, lines 49-56 and column 5, lines 31-55; first, second, third and fourth CPUs 50, 51, 52, 53 are each associated with an L1 cache 54, 55, 56, 57. First and second CPUs 50, 51 share a first L2 cache 58, while third and fourth CPUs 52, 53 share a second L2 cache 59. All four CPUs share an L3 cache 60);
identify one or more cache lines among the plurality of cache lines that comprise one or more key sections of the data unit are important (see column 2, lines 27-37 and 50-53; controlling access may comprise comparing the cache memory level with a value of the cache attribute and controlling access based on said comparison. Each cache level looks at the value of the cache attribute to determine if it should permit or disallow data to be stored at that level. Also in column 5, lines 31-46 and column 6, lines 6-36; first L1 cache controller 44 retrieves the CHH value associated with the page to be written by examining the last two bits of the virtual address (step s2). If the CHH value specifies that the data is to be written to the L1 cache (step s3), in this example the value being `1`, then the data is stored in the L1 cache (step s4)… If the page is not important enough to be marked for the L1 cache, the operating system may apply some other criteria for cacheability at a lower level); and
write, for each cache line identified as important, the cache line to a cache in the cache domain (see column 5, lines 31-46 and column 6, lines 6-36; first L1 cache controller 44 retrieves the CHH value associated with the page to be written by examining the last two bits of the virtual address (step s2). If the CHH value specifies that the data is to be written to the L1 cache (step s3), in this example the value being `1`, then the data is stored in the L1 cache (step s4)).
Kurichiyath does not teach an input-output (IO) device; and an input-output (IO) port, operatively coupled to the cache domain and to which the IO device is coupled; and circuitry and logic to, logically partition a data unit received from an IO device coupled to the IO port into a plurality of cache lines.
However, Maeda et al. teaches device-controller main unit 202 functions as a bus master for the communication path 3 between the host 1 and the memory system 2 and performs data transfer by using a first port 230… device-controller main unit 202 includes a cache control unit 207. The cache control unit 207 controls caches (the L2P cache area 300, an L2P cache tag area 310, a data cache area 400, and a data cache tag area 410) reserved in a device use area 102 (see paragraphs 21-22); and wherein when the "length" included in the second read command is larger than the size of a cache line, the user data as a read target in accordance with the second read command is divided into pieces of data that has the size of a cache line (see paragraph 60).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Kurichiyath to include the above mentioned to improve system performance (see Maeda, paragraphs 62-63).
Kurichiyath and Maeda et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the circuitry and logic include a register that is configured to be programmed by software to identify cache lines in a data unit of a given type of data unit are important.
However, Seningen teaches a pattern lookup table 204 is configured to store data patterns 214. In various embodiments, data patterns 214 may include one or more background data patterns… the modification of data patterns 214 may be based on data tracking of data patterns that are frequently encountered during memory accesses. In other cases, different sets of data patterns may be stored in pattern lookup table 204 based on a type of software or program instructions being executed by a computer system (see paragraphs 22 and 36); wherein when selecting one of cache lines 103 for eviction, logic circuit 201 may base the selection on data patterns included in cache lines 103…logic circuit 201 may examine addresses stored in address map 203 to determine which cache lines are storing data that matches data patterns 214. As described below, logic circuit 201 may use status bits stored adjacent to corresponding ones of cache lines 103, the status bit indicating if their respective rows include one of the patterns included in pattern lookup table 204 (see paragraph 39 and 44). Seningen also teaches wherein in response to a determination that memory circuit 101 is full, to select a previously stored cache line of cache lines 103 based on data patterns 104. In various embodiments, control circuit 102 may be configured to select a cache line that is storing a background data pattern (see paragraph 32).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Kurichiyath and Maeda et al. to include the above mentioned to avoid delays associated with accesses to main memory, thereby improving performance (see Seningen, paragraph 24).
Claim(s) 2, 8-9 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103/ as being unpatentable over Kurichiyath (US7,984,241) and Maeda et al. (US2015/0046634) as applied to claims 1 and 18 above, and further in view of Banerjee et al. (US10,176,126).
With respect claim 2 Kurichiyath does not teach wherein the data unit is contained in a Peripheral Component Interconnect Express (PCIe) transaction.
However, Banerjee et al. teaches wherein the data unit is contained in a Peripheral Component Interconnect Express (PCIe) transaction (see column 8, lines 60-67; posted transaction over a PCIe architecture).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the processor taught by Kurichiyath to include the above mentioned to exhibit high performance and low latency. (see Banerjee, column 6, lines 10-12).
With respect claim 8, Kurichiyath does not teach wherein the IO port comprises one of a Peripheral Component Interconnect Express (PCIe) IO port, a Compute Express Link (CXL) IO port, and a Non-volatile Memory Express (NVMe) IO port.
However, Banerjee et al. teaches wherein the IO port comprises one of a Peripheral Component Interconnect Express (PCIe) IO port, a Compute Express Link (CXL) IO port, and a Non-volatile Memory Express (NVMe) IO port (see column 9, lines 15-24; PCIe ports).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the processor taught by Kurichiyath to include the above mentioned to exhibit high performance and low latency. (see Banerjee, column 6, lines 10-12).
With respect claim 9, Kurichiyath does not teach wherein the IO port comprises an Advanced High performance Bus (AHB), an Advanced Xtensible Bus (AXI), and a Universal Serial Bus (USB) IO port.
However, Banerjee et al. teaches wherein the IO port comprises an Advanced High performance Bus (AHB), an Advanced Xtensible Bus (AXI), and a Universal Serial Bus (USB) IO port (see column 10, lines 48-51; advanced extensible interface (AXI)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the processor taught by Kurichiyath to include the above mentioned to exhibit high performance and low latency. (see Banerjee, column 6, lines 10-12).
With respect claim 21, Kurichiyath does not teach wherein the IO port comprises a Peripheral Component Interconnect Express (PCIe) IO port, the IO device comprises a PCIe device and wherein the data unit is received in a PCIe transaction.
However, Banerjee et al. teaches wherein the IO port comprises a Peripheral Component Interconnect Express (PCIe) IO port (see column 9, lines 15-24; PCIe ports), the IO device comprises a PCIe device (see column 8, lines 17-21; a packet is transmitted from a PCIe endpoint,) and wherein the data unit is received in a PCIe transaction (see column 8, lines 60-67; posted transaction over a PCIe architecture).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Kurichiyath to include the above mentioned to exhibit high performance and low latency. (see Banerjee, column 6, lines 10-12).
Claim(s) 5, 15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103/ as being unpatentable over Kurichiyath (US7,984,241) and Maeda et al. (US2015/0046634) as applied to claims 1, 11 and 18 above, and further in view of Burrows (US5,303,302).
With respect claim 5, Kurichiyath and Maeda et al. do not teach circuitry and logic to detect whether a unit of data received from the IO is part of a previous packet or a new packet.
However, Burrows teaches wherein transmitted partial data packet is stored in the memory 212 of the host computer 120, generally at an address corresponding to the virtual circuit identifier for the data packet… When the end of a data packet is received by the host controller 300, as indicated by an END of packet flag in a received cell, the control logic 302 of this controller 300 checks the partial transfer flag P of the corresponding packet entry 170 before transmitting the completed data packet to the host computer 120. If portions of data packet have already been partially transmitted to the host computer, as indicated by the P status flag in its packet directory entry 170 being set, the rest of the completed data packet is transmitted to the host through via output control circuit 304 and path 306 through output buffer 184 (see column 9, lines 5-35).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Kurichiyath and Maeda et al. to include the above mentioned to improve the processor performance by providing an indication of the packet to which the portions of the partial packets belong (see Burrows, column 2, lines 49-54).
With respect claim 15, Kurichiyath and Maeda et al. do not teach receiving a first transaction containing a complete packet or a first portion of a packet; receiving a second transaction containing a new packet or a second portion of a packet; and detecting whether the second transaction contains a new packet or a second portion of a packet.
However, Burrows teaches wherein transmitted partial data packet is stored in the memory 212 of the host computer 120, generally at an address corresponding to the virtual circuit identifier for the data packet… When the end of a data packet is received by the host controller 300, as indicated by an END of packet flag in a received cell, the control logic 302 of this controller 300 checks the partial transfer flag P of the corresponding packet entry 170 before transmitting the completed data packet to the host computer 120. If portions of data packet have already been partially transmitted to the host computer, as indicated by the P status flag in its packet directory entry 170 being set, the rest of the completed data packet is transmitted to the host through via output control circuit 304 and path 306 through output buffer 184 (see column 9, lines 5-35).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Kurichiyath and Maeda et al. to include the above mentioned to improve the method performance by providing an indication of the packet to which the portions of the partial packets belong (see Burrows, column 2, lines 49-54).
With respect claim 20, Kurichiyath and Maeda et al. do not teach wherein the processor further comprises circuitry and logic to detect whether a unit of data received from the IO is part of a previous packet or a new packet.
However, Burrows teaches wherein transmitted partial data packet is stored in the memory 212 of the host computer 120, generally at an address corresponding to the virtual circuit identifier for the data packet… When the end of a data packet is received by the host controller 300, as indicated by an END of packet flag in a received cell, the control logic 302 of this controller 300 checks the partial transfer flag P of the corresponding packet entry 170 before transmitting the completed data packet to the host computer 120. If portions of data packet have already been partially transmitted to the host computer, as indicated by the P status flag in its packet directory entry 170 being set, the rest of the completed data packet is transmitted to the host through via output control circuit 304 and path 306 through output buffer 184 (see column 9, lines 5-35).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Kurichiyath and Maeda et al. to include the above mentioned to improve the system performance by providing an indication of the packet to which the portions of the partial packets belong (see Burrows, column 2, lines 49-54).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103/ as being unpatentable over Kurichiyath (US7,984,241) and Maeda et al. (US2015/0046634) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Weeks (US6,334,132).
With respect claim 10, Kurichiyath and Maeda et al. do not teach wherein the one or more cache lines among the plurality of cache lines that are important comprise key sections of the data unit.
However, Weeks teaches wherein key data items are generated for each data set, key data items being relatively strongly related to the overall subject matter of the data set 200. Each section 295 is reviewed to obtain a distribution value 290 which reflects the proportion of key data items appearing in that section (see column 12, lines 65-67 and column 13, lines 1-5).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Kurichiyath and Maeda et al. to include the above mentioned to improve the determination of relevant data (see Weeks, column 17, lines 34-37).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
No prior art or combination of prior art teaches or suggest compare the cache line address with the cache line address stored in the PA to determine whether the cache line address for the new transaction and the cache line address in the PA are contiguous; and when the cache line address for the new transaction and the cache line address in the PA are contiguous, detecting the unit of data is part of a previous packet as recited in claims 6 and 16.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s representative argues, in pages 8, that Maeda et al. (US2015/0046634) does not teach logically partition a data unit received at the IO port into a plurality of cache lines as recited in claims 1, 11 and 18.
In response: The examiner disagrees. Maeda et al. teaches wherein when the "length" included in the second read command is larger than the size of a cache line, the user data as a read target (i.e., received data unit) in accordance with the second read command is divided into pieces of data that has the size of a cache line and the processes in Steps S6 to Step S8 are performed on each of the divided pieces of user data. (see paragraph 60). Maeda et al. teaches, in paragraph 60, wherein a received data unit having a specified length is divided/partitioned into cache line size pieces, that can be interpreted as teaching the logically partition a data unit received at the IO port into a plurality of cache lines needed in claims 1, 11 and 18.
Applicant’s representative argues, in pages 8, that Seningen (US2022/0100655) does not teach wherein the circuitry and logic include a register that is configured to be programmed by software to identify cache lines in a data unit of a given type of data unit are important as recited in claims 1, 11 and 18. Applicant’s representative argues that Seningen et al. teaches tracking memory access behaviors to predict or optimize memory requests, thus it fails to teach or suggest a programmable register to identify what is important so as to identify important cache lines within a particular received data unit or transaction.
In response: The examiner disagrees. Seningen teaches a pattern lookup table 204 is configured to store data patterns 214. In various embodiments, data patterns 214 may include one or more background data patterns… the modification of data patterns 214 may be based on data tracking of data patterns that are frequently encountered during memory accesses. In other cases, different sets of data patterns may be stored in pattern lookup table 204 based on a type of software or program instructions being executed by a computer system (see paragraphs 22 and 36); wherein when selecting one of cache lines 103 for eviction, logic circuit 201 may base the selection on data patterns included in cache lines 103…logic circuit 201 may examine addresses stored in address map 203 to determine which cache lines are storing data that matches data patterns 214. As described below, logic circuit 201 may use status bits stored adjacent to corresponding ones of cache lines 103, the status bit indicating if their respective rows include one of the patterns included in pattern lookup table 204 (see paragraph 39 and 44). Seningen also teaches wherein in response to a determination that memory circuit 101 is full, to select a previously stored cache line of cache lines 103 based on data patterns 104. In various embodiments, control circuit 102 may be configured to select a cache line that is storing a background data pattern (see paragraph 32).
By using a distinction among cache lines based on a data pattern stored in those cache lines, Seningen may be interpreted as teaching wherein cache lines containing a specific data pattern (i.e., important pattern) are preferably retained; and the retained cache lines can be interpreted as cache lines that are identified as containing more important/preferred data.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Junghans et al. (US2024/0119013) teaches splitting 804 the plurality of PCIe packets 204 along cache line boundaries 206 to generate a plurality of partial store commands.
Wang et al. (US2020/0192715) teaches wherein if multiple packets are to be processed using the same packet processing instructions, then packet processing instructions can be afforded a highest priority in the cache so that the packet processing instructions can be reused for multiple packets.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARACELIS RUIZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2139