Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10, 11, 12, 14, 15, 16, 17, 19, 20, 22, 24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10, 11, 12, 14, 15, 16, 17, 19, 20, 22, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YUN et al. (US 20190052961) in view of HAARTSEN et al. (US 20200396028).
Regarding claims 1, 11, YUN et al. (US 20190052961) teaches a first electronic device comprising:
a memory (fig. 1, 3, first electronic device (101));
a communication module configured to perform communication with a second electronic device and a third electronic device (fig. 1, 3, first electronic device (101)); and
at least one processor operatively connected with the memory and the communication module (fig. 1, 3, first electronic device (101)),
wherein the memory stores instructions configured to, when executed, cause the first electronic device to:
share information about a received packet with the second electronic device to obtain first information indicating whether the first electronic device and the second electronic device each receive a data packet from the third electronic device (par. 112-115, the audio source device 103 may divide and transmit audio data, by the unit of packet, to the first electronic device 101 through the first wireless communication link 110. For example, the audio source device 103 may periodically (or cyclically) transmit an audio data packet to the first electronic device 101 through the first wireless communication link 110. The second electronic device 102 may receive the periodically (or cyclically) transmitted audio data packet from the first wireless communication link 110…In response to all of the first electronic device 101 and the second electronic device 102 successfully receiving the audio data packet, the first electronic device 101 may transmit an ACK to the audio source device 103 through the first wireless communication link 110. In response to even one of the first electronic device 101 and the second electronic device 102 not successfully receive the audio packet, the first electronic device 101 may transmit a NACK to the audio source device 103 through the first wireless communication link 110; par. 48, The communication parameter may be used for sniffing, by another electronic device (e.g., the second electronic device 102), information (e.g., the audio data transmitted from the audio source device 103 to the first electronic device 101) transmitted and/or received through the first wireless communication link 110),
based on a determination, based on the first information, that one of the first electronic device or the second electronic device fails to receive the data packet during the first time period, transmit a negative acknowledgment (NACK) to the third electronic device, such that the third electronic device retransmits the data packet (par. 115, In response to even one of the first electronic device 101 and the second electronic device 102 not successfully receive the audio packet, the first electronic device 101 may transmit a NACK to the audio source device 103),
share the information about the received packet with the second electronic device to obtain second information indicating whether the first electronic device and the second electronic device each receive the data packet retransmitted from the third electronic device (par. 112-115, 116, the audio source device 103 may divide and transmit audio data, by the unit of packet, to the first electronic device 101 through the first wireless communication link 110. For example, the audio source device 103 may periodically (or cyclically) transmit an audio data packet to the first electronic device 101 through the first wireless communication link 110. The second electronic device 102 may receive the periodically (or cyclically) transmitted audio data packet from the first wireless communication link 110…In response to all of the first electronic device 101 and the second electronic device 102 successfully receiving the audio data packet, the first electronic device 101 may transmit an ACK to the audio source device 103 through the first wireless communication link 110. In response to even one of the first electronic device 101 and the second electronic device 102 not successfully receive the audio packet, the first electronic device 101 may transmit a NACK to the audio source device 103 through the first wireless communication link 110… In response to receiving the NACK from the first electronic device 101, the audio source device 103 may re-transmit a corresponding audio data packet to the first electronic device 101 through the first wireless communication link 110. By performing the aforementioned operations, the first electronic device 101 and the second electronic device 102 may receive all audio data packet without omitting),
identify whether the first electronic device and the second electronic device each receive the data packet from the third electronic device based on the first information and the second information (par. 112-116, the audio source device 103 may divide and transmit audio data, by the unit of packet, to the first electronic device 101 through the first wireless communication link 110. For example, the audio source device 103 may periodically (or cyclically) transmit an audio data packet to the first electronic device 101 through the first wireless communication link 110. The second electronic device 102 may receive the periodically (or cyclically) transmitted audio data packet from the first wireless communication link 110…In response to all of the first electronic device 101 and the second electronic device 102 successfully receiving the audio data packet, the first electronic device 101 may transmit an ACK to the audio source device 103 through the first wireless communication link 110. In response to even one of the first electronic device 101 and the second electronic device 102 not successfully receive the audio packet, the first electronic device 101 may transmit a NACK to the audio source device 103 through the first wireless communication link 110);
transmit a second response packet indicating NACK or an acknowledgment (ACK) based on a result of the identification to the third electronic device (par. 112-116, In response to all of the first electronic device 101 and the second electronic device 102 successfully receiving the audio data packet, the first electronic device 101 may transmit an ACK to the audio source device 103 through the first wireless communication link 110. In response to even one of the first electronic device 101 and the second electronic device 102 not successfully receive the audio packet, the first electronic device 101 may transmit a NACK to the audio source device 103 through the first wireless communication link 110).
However, YUN does not explicitly teach receive a data packet during a first time period;
the first information indicating that one of the first electronic device and the second electronic device receive the data packet during the first time period and another of the first electronic device or the second electronic device did not receive the data packet during the first time period,
based on a determination such that the third electronic device retransmits the data packet during the second time period,
receive the data packet retransmitted during a second time period after the first time period; whether the first electronic device and the second electronic device each receive the data packet at least one time during the first time period and the second time period;
upon identifying that the first electronic device and the second electronic device each receive the data packet at least one time during the first time period and the second time period, transmit a response packet indicating an acknowledgment (ACK) to the third electronic device.
But, HAARTSEN et al. (US 20200396028) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches share information about a received packet with the second electronic device to obtain first information indicating whether the first electronic device and the second electronic device each receive a data packet from the third electronic device (par. 64, 65, it will send the ARX packet 652a on piconet P2 540 as before. The primary ear piece 12p is thus informed that the secondary ear piece 12s has the audio information that the primary ear piece 12p had to discard… secondary ear piece 12s may send an ARX packet 652b on piconet P2 540. If it had received the retransmission erroneously or had missed it completely, it would not send the ARX packet 652b…It (primary ear piece) then sends its own ARX packet 655 on piconet P2 540, thus informing the secondary ear piece 12s that it has received the audio information successfully), the first information indicating that one of the first electronic device and the second electronic device receive the data packet during the first time period and another of the first electronic device or the second electronic device did not receive the data packet during the first time period (par. 64, 65, it will send the ARX packet 652a on piconet P2 540 as before. The primary ear piece 12p is thus informed that the secondary ear piece 12s has the audio information that the primary ear piece 12p had to discard… secondary ear piece 12s may send an ARX packet 652b on piconet P2 540. If it had received the retransmission erroneously or had missed it completely, it would not send the ARX packet 652b…It (primary ear piece) then sends its own ARX packet 655 on piconet P2 540, thus informing the secondary ear piece 12s that it has received the audio information successfully),
based on a determination, based on the first information, that one of the first electronic device or the second electronic device fails to receive the data packet during the first time period, indicate that the ACK not receive to the third electronic device, such that the third electronic device retransmits the data packet during the second time period (fig. 7A, par. 64, 65, Yet, since the smartphone 19 did not receive an ACK for the audio packet 610a, it may decide to directly retransmit packet 610b with the same audio information A as was contained in audio packet 610a),
share the information about the received packet with the second electronic device to obtain second information indicating whether the first electronic device and the second electronic device each receive the data packet retransmitted from the third electronic device during a second time period after the first time period (fig. 7A, par. 64, 65, it will send the ARX packet 652a on piconet P2 540 as before. The primary ear piece 12p is thus informed that the secondary ear piece 12s has the audio information that the primary ear piece 12p had to discard… secondary ear piece 12s may send an ARX packet 652b on piconet P2 540. If it had received the retransmission erroneously or had missed it completely, it would not send the ARX packet 652b… since the smartphone 19 did not receive an ACK for the audio packet 610a, it may decide to directly retransmit packet 610b with the same audio information A as was contained in audio packet 610a…It (primary ear piece) then sends its own ARX packet 655 on piconet P2 540, thus informing the secondary ear piece 12s that it has received the audio information successfully); whether the first electronic device and the second electronic device each receive the data packet at least one time during the first time period and the second time period (fig. 7A, par. 53, 64, 65, Since the secondary ear piece 12s has received the audio packet A successfully, it will send the ARX packet 652a on piconet P2 540 as before. The primary ear piece 12p is thus informed that the secondary ear piece 12s has the audio information that the primary ear piece 12p had to discard…It then sends its own ARX packet 655 on piconet P2 540, thus informing the secondary ear piece 12s that it has received the audio information successfully. Since both ear pieces 12 have received the audio information);
upon identifying that the first electronic device and the second electronic device each receive the data packet at least one time during the first time period and the second time period, transmit a response packet indicating an acknowledgment (ACK) to the third electronic device (fig. 7A, par. 53, 64, 65, Since the secondary ear piece 12s has received the audio packet A successfully, it will send the ARX packet 652a on piconet P2 540 as before…If it (secondary ear piece) had received the retransmission erroneously or had missed it completely, it would not send the ARX packet 652b, but this would have no consequence for the rest of the procedure. The primary ear piece 12p will not receive this ARX packet 652b, as it returns an ACK packet 613 to the smartphone 19 on piconet P1 530 at the same slot boundary).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by HAARTSEN in the system of YUN to transmit and retransmit packets in given time.
The motivation would have been to provide reliable transmission and synchronization between transmitter and receiver to provide orderly transmission and prevent collision.
Regarding claims 2, 12, YUN et al. (US 20190052961) teaches the first electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions are configured to, when executed, cause the first electronic device to,
in case that another first information indicates that the first electronic device and the second electronic device each receive the data packet, transmit another first response packet indicating ACK to the third electronic device (par. 112-116, In response to all of the first electronic device 101 and the second electronic device 102 successfully receiving the audio data packet, the first electronic device 101 may transmit an ACK to the audio source device 103 through the first wireless communication link 110).
However, YUN does not explicitly teach receive another data packet during the first time period.
But, HAARTSEN in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches the first electronic device and the second electronic device each receive another data packet during the first time period (fig. 6, 7A, par. 60, 64, 65, This packet 610 is sent by the smartphone 19 on piconet P1 530 and may be received by both the primary ear piece 12p and the secondary ear piece 12s. In response to the successful reception of packet 610, the primary ear piece 12p returns an acknowledgement (ACK) packet 611 to the smartphone 19).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by HAARTSEN in the system of YUN to transmit and retransmit packets in given time.
The motivation would have been to provide reliable transmission and synchronization between transmitter and receiver to provide orderly transmission and prevent collision.
Regarding claims 4, 14, YUN et al. (US 20190052961) teaches the first electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions are configured to, when executed, cause the first electronic device to,
upon identifying that the first electronic device and the second electronic device each fail to receive another data packet, transmit a second response packet indicating a negative acknowledgement (NACK) to the third electronic device (par. 112-115, In response to even one of the first electronic device 101 and the second electronic device 102 not successfully receive the audio packet, the first electronic device 101 may transmit a NACK to the audio source device 103 through the first wireless communication link 110).
However, YUN does not explicitly teach receive another data packet at least one time during another first time period and another second time period.
But, HAARTSEN in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches upon identifying that the first electronic device and the second electronic device each fail to receive another data packet at least one time during another first time period and another second time period, indicate that the ACK not receive to the third electronic device (fig. 7A, par. 64, 65, Yet, since the smartphone 19 did not receive an ACK for the audio packet 610a, it may decide to directly retransmit packet 610b with the same audio information A as was contained in audio packet 610a).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by HAARTSEN in the system of YUN to transmit and retransmit packets in given time.
The motivation would have been to provide reliable transmission and synchronization between transmitter and receiver to provide orderly transmission and prevent collision.
Regarding claims 5, 15, YUN et al. (US 20190052961) teaches the first electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions are configured to, when executed, cause the first electronic device to,
upon identifying that the first electronic device and the second electronic device each fail to receive another data packet, transmit a second response packet indicating a negative acknowledgement (NACK) to the third electronic device (par. 112-116, In response to failing to successfully receive the arbitrary audio data packet, the second electronic device 102 may transmit a response (NACK) representing that it fails to receive the audio data packet, to the first electronic device 101 through the second wireless communication link 120… In response to even one of the first electronic device 101 and the second electronic device 102 not successfully receive the audio packet, the first electronic device 101 may transmit a NACK to the audio source device 103 through the first wireless communication link 110),
share the information about the received packet with the second electronic device to obtain third information indicating whether the first electronic device and the second electronic device each receive the another data packet retransmitted from the third electronic device (par. 112-116, the second electronic device 102 may receive (or sniff) audio data from the first wireless communication link 110 through a wireless communication module of the second electronic device 102…In response to even one of the first electronic device 101 and the second electronic device 102 not successfully receive the audio packet, the first electronic device 101 may transmit a NACK to the audio source device 103 through the first wireless communication link 110…In response to receiving the NACK from the first electronic device 101, the audio source device 103 may re-transmit a corresponding audio data packet to the first electronic device 101 through the first wireless communication link 110. By performing the aforementioned operations, the first electronic device 101 and the second electronic device 102 may receive all audio data packet without omitting), and upon identifying that the first electronic device and the second electronic device each receive the data packet based on the third information, transmit a third response packet indicating ACK to the third electronic device (par. 112-116, In response to all of the first electronic device 101 and the second electronic device 102 successfully receiving the audio data packet, the first electronic device 101 may transmit an ACK to the audio source device 103 through the first wireless communication link 110… By performing the aforementioned operations, the first electronic device 101 and the second electronic device 102 may receive all audio data packet without omitting).
However, YUN does not explicitly teach receive another data packet at least one time during another first time period and another second time period; receive another data packet retransmitted from the third electronic device during a third time period after the second time period; receive the data packet during the third time period based on the third information;
But, HAARTSEN in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches upon identifying that the first electronic device and the second electronic device each fail to receive another data packet at least one time during another first time period and another second time period, indicate that the ACK not receive (fig. 7A, par. 64, 65, Yet, since the smartphone 19 did not receive an ACK for the audio packet 610a, it may decide to directly retransmit packet 610b with the same audio information A as was contained in audio packet 610a); the first electronic device and the second electronic device each receive another data packet retransmitted from the third electronic device during a third time period after the second time period (fig. 6, 7A, par. 63, 64, 65, it may decide to directly retransmit packet 610b with the same audio information A as was contained in audio packet 610a. In this example, this audio packet is received by primary ear piece 12p successfully); upon identifying that the first electronic device and the second electronic device each receive the data packet during the third time period based on the third information, transmit a third response packet indicating ACK to the third electronic device (fig. 6, 7A, par. 53, 63, 64, 65, Since the secondary ear piece 12s has received the audio packet A successfully, it will send the ARX packet 652a on piconet P2 540 as before…If it (secondary ear piece) had received the retransmission erroneously or had missed it completely, it would not send the ARX packet 652b, but this would have no consequence for the rest of the procedure. The primary ear piece 12p will not receive this ARX packet 652b, as it returns an ACK packet 613 to the smartphone 19 on piconet P1 530 at the same slot boundary);
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by HAARTSEN in the system of YUN to transmit and retransmit packets in given time.
The motivation would have been to provide reliable transmission and synchronization between transmitter and receiver to provide orderly transmission and prevent collision.
Regarding claims 6, 16, YUN et al. (US 20190052961) teaches the first electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions are configured to, when executed, cause the first electronic device to,
in case that another first information indicates that the first electronic device and the second electronic device each receive another data packet, detect information about the another data packet (par. 112-116, In response to all of the first electronic device 101 and the second electronic device 102 successfully receiving the audio data packet, the first electronic device 101 may transmit an ACK to the audio source device 103 through the first wireless communication link 110. In response to even one of the first electronic device 101 and the second electronic device 102 not successfully receive the audio packet, the first electronic device 101 may transmit a NACK to the audio source device 103 through the first wireless communication link 110),
identify whether the second electronic device receives the another data packet from the third electronic device, based on whether information corresponding to the detected information is received from the second electronic device (par. 112-116, In response to failing to successfully receive the arbitrary audio data packet, the second electronic device 102 may transmit a response (NACK) representing that it fails to receive the audio data packet, to the first electronic device 101 through the second wireless communication link 120…In response to all of the first electronic device 101 and the second electronic device 102 successfully receiving the audio data packet, the first electronic device 101 may transmit an ACK to the audio source device 103 through the first wireless communication link 110. In response to even one of the first electronic device 101 and the second electronic device 102 not successfully receive the audio packet, the first electronic device 101 may transmit a NACK to the audio source device 103 through the first wireless communication link 110), and
obtain the another first information based on receiving the another data packet from the third electronic device and identifying whether the second electronic device receives the another data packet from the third electronic device (par. 112-116, In response to failing to successfully receive the arbitrary audio data packet, the second electronic device 102 may transmit a response (NACK) representing that it fails to receive the audio data packet, to the first electronic device 101 through the second wireless communication link 120…In response to all of the first electronic device 101 and the second electronic device 102 successfully receiving the audio data packet, the first electronic device 101 may transmit an ACK to the audio source device 103 through the first wireless communication link 110. In response to even one of the first electronic device 101 and the second electronic device 102 not successfully receive the audio packet, the first electronic device 101 may transmit a NACK to the audio source device 103 through the first wireless communication link 110).
However, YUN does not explicitly teach each receive the another data packet during another first time period; receives the another data packet from the third electronic device during the another first time period; receiving the another data packet from the third electronic device during the another first time period; receives the another data packet from the third electronic device during the another first time period;
But, HAARTSEN in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches the first electronic device and the second electronic device each receive the another data packet during another first time period (fig. 6, 7A, par. 63, 64, 65, audio packet, retransmit packet); the second electronic device receives the another data packet from the third electronic device during the another first time period (fig. 6, 7A, par. 63, 64, 65, audio packet, retransmit packet); receiving the another data packet from the third electronic device during the another first time period (fig. 6, 7A, par. 63, 64, 65, audio packet, retransmit packet); the second electronic device receives the another data packet from the third electronic device during the another first time period (fig. 6, 7A, par. 63, 64, 65, audio packet, retransmit packet);
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by HAARTSEN in the system of YUN to transmit and retransmit packets in given time.
The motivation would have been to provide reliable transmission and synchronization between transmitter and receiver to provide orderly transmission and prevent collision.
Regarding claims 7, 17, YUN et al. (US 20190052961) teaches the first electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions are configured to, when executed, cause the first electronic device to,
in case that the first information indicates that the first electronic device and the second electronic device each receive another data packet, detect information about the another data packet (par. 112-116, In response to all of the first electronic device 101 and the second electronic device 102 successfully receiving the audio data packet, the first electronic device 101 may transmit an ACK to the audio source device 103 through the first wireless communication link 110. In response to even one of the first electronic device 101 and the second electronic device 102 not successfully receive the audio packet, the first electronic device 101 may transmit a NACK to the audio source device 103 through the first wireless communication link 110; par. 48, 72, 103, in response to the first wireless communication link 110 being formed according to a Bluetooth protocol, the communication parameter may include Bluetooth device address (BD_ADDR), logical transport address (LT_ADDR), a native clock (CLKN) of a source (SRC) (e.g., the audio source device 103), a clock offset between the SRC and a sink (SNK) (e.g., the first electronic device 101), and/or an encryption parameter (e.g., key exchange) on a link between the SRC and the SNK),
transmit the detected information to the second electronic device (par. 113, 114, 140, 155, In response to successfully receiving an arbitrary audio data packet, the second electronic device 102 may transmit a response (ACK) representing that it successfully receives the audio data packet, to the first electronic device 101 through the second wireless communication link 120…the first electronic device 101 may transmit at least a part of the received audio data to the second electronic device 102),
identify whether the second electronic device receives the another data packet from the third electronic device, based on whether a response signal to the transmitted information is received from the second electronic device (par. 112-116, In response to failing to successfully receive the arbitrary audio data packet, the second electronic device 102 may transmit a response (NACK) representing that it fails to receive the audio data packet, to the first electronic device 101 through the second wireless communication link 120), and
obtain the another first information based on receiving the another data packet from the third electronic device and identifying whether the second electronic device receives the another data packet from the third electronic device (par. 112-116, In response to failing to successfully receive the arbitrary audio data packet, the second electronic device 102 may transmit a response (NACK) representing that it fails to receive the audio data packet, to the first electronic device 101 through the second wireless communication link 120…In response to all of the first electronic device 101 and the second electronic device 102 successfully receiving the audio data packet, the first electronic device 101 may transmit an ACK to the audio source device 103 through the first wireless communication link 110. In response to even one of the first electronic device 101 and the second electronic device 102 not successfully receive the audio packet, the first electronic device 101 may transmit a NACK to the audio source device 103 through the first wireless communication link 110).
However, YUN does not explicitly teach each receive another data packet during another first time period; receives the another data packet from the third electronic device during the another first time period; receiving the another data packet during the another first time period; receiving the another data packet during the another first time period and the second electronic device receives the another data packet during the another first time period;
But, HAARTSEN in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches the first electronic device and the second electronic device each receive another data packet during another first time period (fig. 6, 7A, par. 63, 64, 65, audio packet, retransmit packet); the second electronic device receives the another data packet from the third electronic device during the another first time period (fig. 6, 7A, par. 63, 64, 65, audio packet, retransmit packet); receiving the another data packet from the third electronic device during the another first time period and identifying whether the second electronic device receives the another data packet from the third electronic device during the another first time period (fig. 6, 7A, par. 63, 64, 65, audio packet, retransmit packet);
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by HAARTSEN in the system of YUN to transmit and retransmit packets in given time.
The motivation would have been to provide reliable transmission and synchronization between transmitter and receiver to provide orderly transmission and prevent collision.
Regarding claims 9, 19, YUN et al. (US 20190052961) teaches the first electronic device of claim 5, wherein the instructions are configured to, when executed, cause the first electronic device to,
upon receiving the data packet from the third electronic device, detect information about the data packet (par. 112-116, the second electronic device 102 may receive (or sniff) audio data from the first wireless communication link 110 through a wireless communication module of the second electronic device 102…In response to even one of the first electronic device 101 and the second electronic device 102 not successfully receive the audio packet, the first electronic device 101 may transmit a NACK to the audio source device 103 through the first wireless communication link 110…In response to receiving the NACK from the first electronic device 101, the audio source device 103 may re-transmit a corresponding audio data packet to the first electronic device 101 through the first wireless communication link 110. By performing the aforementioned operations, the first electronic device 101 and the second electronic device 102 may receive all audio data packet without omitting),
transmit the detected information to the second electronic device (par. 113, 114, 140, 155, In response to successfully receiving an arbitrary audio data packet, the second electronic device 102 may transmit a response (ACK) representing that it successfully receives the audio data packet, to the first electronic device 101 through the second wireless communication link 120…the first electronic device 101 may transmit at least a part of the received audio data to the second electronic device 102),
identify whether the second electronic device receives the data packet from the third electronic device, based on whether a response signal to the transmitted information is received from the second electronic device (par. 112-116, the second electronic device 102 may receive (or sniff) audio data from the first wireless communication link 110 through a wireless communication module of the second electronic device 102…In response to even one of the first electronic device 101 and the second electronic device 102 not successfully receive the audio packet, the first electronic device 101 may transmit a NACK to the audio source device 103 through the first wireless communication link 110…In response to receiving the NACK from the first electronic device 101, the audio source device 103 may re-transmit a corresponding audio data packet to the first electronic device 101 through the first wireless communication link 110. By performing the aforementioned operations, the first electronic device 101 and the second electronic device 102 may receive all audio data packet without omitting; par. 48, 72, 103, in response to the first wireless communication link 110 being formed according to a Bluetooth protocol, the communication parameter may include Bluetooth device address (BD_ADDR), logical transport address (LT_ADDR), a native clock (CLKN) of a source (SRC) (e.g., the audio source device 103), a clock offset between the SRC and a sink (SNK) (e.g., the first electronic device 101), and/or an encryption parameter (e.g., key exchange) on a link between the SRC and the SNK), and
obtain the second information based on receiving the data packet from the third electronic device and identifying whether the second electronic device receives the data packet from the third electronic device (par. 112-116, the second electronic device 102 may receive (or sniff) audio data from the first wireless communication link 110 through a wireless communication module of the second electronic device 102…In response to even one of the first electronic device 101 and the second electronic device 102 not successfully receive the audio packet, the first electronic device 101 may transmit a NACK to the audio source device 103 through the first wireless communication link 110…In response to receiving the NACK from the first electronic device 101, the audio source device 103 may re-transmit a corresponding audio data packet to the first electronic device 101 through the first wireless communication link 110. By performing the aforementioned operations, the first electronic device 101 and the second electronic device 102 may receive all audio data packet without omitting).
However, YUN does not explicitly teach receiving the data packet during the third time period; the second electronic device receives the data packet during the second time period; receiving the data packet during the second time period and the second electronic device receives the data packet during the second time period;
But, HAARTSEN in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches receiving the data packet from the third electronic device during the third time period (fig. 6, 7A, par. 63, 64, 65, audio packet, retransmit packet); the second electronic device receives the data packet from the third electronic device during the second time period (fig. 6, 7A, par. 63, 64, 65, audio packet, retransmit packet); receiving the data packet from the third electronic device during the second time period and the second electronic device receives the data packet from the third electronic device during the second time period (fig. 6, 7A, par. 63, 64, 65, audio packet, retransmit packet);
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by HAARTSEN in the system of YUN to transmit and retransmit packets in given time.
The motivation would have been to provide reliable transmission and synchronization between transmitter and receiver to provide orderly transmission and prevent collision.
Regarding claims 10, 20, YUN et al. (US 20190052961) teaches the first electronic device of claim 1,
wherein information about the received packet shared with the second electronic device includes at least one of
sequence number information about the data packet received from the third electronic device, operation code (opcode) information about the data packet received from the third electronic device, type information about the data packet received from the third electronic device, size information about the data packet received from the third electronic device, clock information about a time of receiving the data packet from the third electronic device, codec information related to the data packet received from the third electronic device, channel profile information related to the data packet received from the third electronic device, or received signal strength information about the data packet received from the third electronic device (par. 48, 133, 138, 158, the communication parameter may include Bluetooth device address (BD_ADDR), logical transport address (LT_ADDR), a native clock (CLKN) of a source (SRC) (e.g., the audio source device 103), a clock offset between the SRC and a sink (SNK) (e.g., the first electronic device 101), and/or an encryption parameter (e.g., key exchange) on a link between the SRC and the SNK; clock offset between the SRC and a SNK would indicating the clock information about a time of receiving the data packet from the third electronic device).
Regarding claim 22, 24, YUN does not teach the first electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions are configured to, when executed, cause the first electronic device to,
receive a first identification information of a data packet that the third electronic device re-transmitted and the second electronic device received during the second time period, and
identify whether the second electronic device received the data packet re- transmitted from the third electronic device, based on comparison of the first identification received from the second electronic device and a second identification information of the data packet that the electronic device received during the first time period.
But, HAARTSEN in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches receive a first identification information of a data packet that the third electronic device re-transmitted and the second electronic device received during the second time period (fig. 6, 7A, par. 60, 64, 65, it may decide to directly retransmit packet 610b with the same audio information A as was contained in audio packet 610a. In this example, this audio packet is received by primary ear piece 12p successfully...What will follow is the same procedure for successful packet arrival as was described in diagram 600. That is, secondary ear piece 12s may send an ARX packet 652b on piconet P2 540…The primary ear piece 12p will not receive this ARX packet 652b, as it returns an ACK packet 613 to the smartphone 19 on piconet P1 530 at the same slot boundary… Since both ear pieces 12 have received the audio information, no further action is taken, apart from listening alternatively on piconet P1 530 (first slot of each frame) and piconet P2 540 (second slot). Since the audio packet 610b was acknowledged, the smartphone 19 will take no further action; par. 72), and
identify whether the second electronic device received the data packet re- transmitted from the third electronic device, based on comparison of the first identification received from the second electronic device and a second identification information of the data packet that the electronic device received during the first time period (par. 72, If the second audio packet would have been a retransmission as visualized by audio packet 610b in FIG. 7A, which is a retransmission of packet 610a, ARX message 652b would also include the 12 LSBs of the Bluetooth clock as present at the leading edge of audio packet 610a. Based on the ARX message, the other ear piece knows which audio packets it failed to receive and can make a direct request for a specific audio packet by including the corresponding 12 LSBs of the Bluetooth clock in the RQA message).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by HAARTSEN in the system of YUN to transmit and retransmit packets in given time.
The motivation would have been to improved radio performance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
SUNG et al. (US 20190239054) teaches information about a received packet with the second electronic device to obtain first information indicating whether the first electronic device and the second electronic device each receive a data packet from the third electronic device during a first time period (par. 19, 20, The secondary headset 110B is arranged to send an acknowledgement ACK to the primary headset 110A), the first information indicating that one of the first electronic device and the second electronic device receive the data packet during the first time period and another of the first electronic device or the second electronic device did not receive the data packet during the first time period (par. 19, 20, the secondary headset 110B successfully sniffs to received and then decodes the (N+1)-th packet #(N+1), and the primary headset 110A fails to receive and decode the (N+1)-th packet #(N+1)),
based on a determination, based on the first information, that one of the first electronic device or the second electronic device fails to receive the data packet during the first time period, transmit a negative acknowledgment (NACK) to the third electronic device, such that the third electronic device retransmits the data packet during the second time period (par. 19, 20),
the information about the received packet with the second electronic device to obtain second information indicating whether the first electronic device and the second electronic device each receive the data packet retransmitted from the third electronic device during a second time period after the first time period (par. 19, 20), the second information indicating that one of the first electronic device or the second electronic device that did not receive the data packet during the first time period receive the retransmitted data packet during the second time period (par. 19, 20).
/THINH D TRAN/for /Thinh Tran/, Patent Examiner of Art Unit 2466 02/21/2026