DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 9-11, 13, 14 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sun (CN 113296228 A).
With respect to claims 1, 2, 9-11, 13, 14 and 21-23, Sun discloses a projection device comprising a light source (see the light sources in fig.2) , an optical engine module (see the optical module in fig.2), a light valve (DMD 100 and see mounting port 141 in fig.5), and a lens module (200 in fig.4) , wherein the light source is configured to provide an illumination beam (disclosed by the operation of fig.2); the optical engine module (see the operation of light guiding elements in fig.2) is configured to transmit the illumination beam to the light valve (DMD 100 in fig.4 and see mounting port 141 in fig.5); the light valve (DMD 100 in fig.4) is configured to convert the illumination beam into an image beam; the lens module (200 in fig.fig.4) is configured to project the image beam, and the optical engine module comprises: a housing (see housing defined in fig.1) having a light incident surface opening for allowing an illumination beam to enter the optical engine module (see the opening in the housing of fig.6, where the number 181a is located) ; an optical element (see 22 and 21) arranged in the housing, wherein the illumination beam passes through the optical element (see the operation of fig.2); a positioning member (see top surface of 61 in fig.4) arranged in the housing (see fig.14), wherein the positioning member has a thermal contact surface (see the back surface of 61 in thermal contact with housing clamp 181a in fig.8) and an abutting surface (see the surface that abuts prism 21 and 22), and the abutting surface of the positioning member is configured to abut and position the optical element (see operation in fig.61); and a heat dissipation assembly (60 in fig.14) coupled to the positioning member, wherein the thermal contact surface (the back surface of 61) of the positioning member thermally contacts the heat dissipation assembly or the housing (see the back surface of 61 in thermal contact with housing clamp 181a in fig.8), and the heat dissipation assembly (see the operation of 60) absorbs heat generated by the optical element through the positioning member and transmits the heat outside the housing (disclosed by the structural configuration of 61 and 62 in fig.14), further comprising an adjustment mechanism (45) arranged between the positioning member (the top surface of 61) and the housing (see a line extending from to surface of 61, through 45 to the side of the housing, thereby disclosed an arrangement wherein the adjustment mechanism is arranged between the positioning member and the housing) to adjust a position of the optical element in the housing (disclosed by the operation of 45 in fig.3), wherein in a direction perpendicular to the light incident surface opening (see the bottom direction (where 181a is located in fig.6) with respect to the side direction of the opening in fig.6), a thickness is defined between the thermal contact surface and the abutting surface of the positioning member (see the thickness of 61 in fig.4 ), wherein the heat dissipation assembly comprises a heat sink disposed outside the housing (see the heat sink of 62 in fig.4), wherein contours of the positioning member and the optical element at a junction are adapted to each other and are complementary (see the flat portions of 20 and the flat portions of 61 ), wherein the optical element comprises at least two prisms (see 21 and 22), and adjacent parts of the at least two prisms are attached to each other by optical glue (see the attachment at least via 61 and see 12th para. from the claims: “the dispersion prism comprises a primary prism and secondary prism adhered and fixed with the primary prism, the bottom heat conducting part is respectively with a glue hole corresponding to the primary prism and secondary prism, the inner side opening of the glue dispensing hole is gradually expanded from bottom to top.”), such that relative positions of the at least two prisms are fixed (see citation above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
.
Claim(s) 1-3, 9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuji (JP 20110783853 A) in view Takezawa (United States Patent Application Publication 2010/0007861 A1) and Sun (CN 113296228 A).
With respect to claims 1-3, 9 and 11, Tsuji discloses an optical engine module (see the projection module of 2 in fig.7) for a projection device (see the projection device of fig.7), wherein the optical engine module comprises: a housing (see the housing formed by 54 and the outer housing of 4a) and appears to disclose having a light incident surface opening by forming the opening of the lamp module 40 in fig.1 for allowing an illumination beam to enter the optical engine module (see the outer housing of fig.1 which contains the optical engine module); an optical element (see 10 in fig.7) arranged in the housing; a positioning member (see the surface on which 10 is deposited in fig.7) arranged in the housing, wherein the positioning member has a thermal contact surface (see the surface on which 50 is deposited) and an abutting surface (see the surface that is in contact with 10 and 50) and the abutting surface of the positioning member is configured to abut and position the optical element (see the operation disclosed in fig.7); and a heat dissipation assembly (see 50 and 52 in fig.7) coupled to the positioning member (10 in fig.7), wherein the thermal contact surface of the positioning member thermally contacts the heat dissipation assembly or the housing (see the position of surface between 10 and 60), and the heat dissipation assembly (see 50 and 52 in fig.7) absorbs heat generated by the optical element through the positioning member and transmits the heat outside the housing (see the operation of 50, 52 and 62), wherein in a direction perpendicular to the light incident surface opening (a direction perpendicular to the opening of the lamp 40 in fig.1), a thickness is defined between the thermal contact surface and the abutting surface of the positioning member (see the thickness disclosed in fig.1 between the surface in contact with 10 and the surface in contact with 50), wherein the heat dissipation assembly comprises a heat sink (see 52 in fig.7) disposed outside the housing, further comprising a fan (see 62 in fig.7) disposed outside the housing to generate air flow for heat dissipation of the heat sink, wherein the positioning member (see the flat surface of 10 in fig.7) and the housing (see the wall of 54) form an unitary structure (see fig.7), wherein contours of the positioning member (see the flat surface of under 10 in fig.7) and the optical element (see the surface of 10) at a junction are adapted to each other and are complementary (see the structure disclosed in fig.7 wherein 10 and the positioning member are complementary), wherein the heat dissipation assembly comprises a heat sink disposed outside the housing (see wherein the heat dissipation assembly is outside the housing in fig.2).
Tsuji does not explicitly disclose having a light incident surface opening by forming the opening of the lamp module 40 in fig.1.
Takezawa discloses an opening formed by the lamp module ([0070]: The light source housing 315 has a substantially rectangular parallelepiped box shape, and has an opening on the side surface facing the other light source housing 315. ).
However, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Tsuji with the teaching of Takezawa so that housing has a light incident surface opening to enhance user friendless and lamp operations by improving safety, providing mechanical support, facilitating electrical connection and improving safety.
Tsuji in view Takezawa does not disclose wherein the optical element comprises at least two prisms, and adjacent parts of the at least two prisms are attached to each other by optical glue, such that relative positions of the at least two prisms are fixed.
Sun discloses wherein the optical element comprises at least two prisms (see 21 and 22), and adjacent parts of the at least two prisms are attached to each other by optical glue (see the attachment at least via 61 and see 12th para. from the claims: “the dispersion prism comprises a primary prism and secondary prism adhered and fixed with the primary prism, the bottom heat conducting part is respectively with a glue hole corresponding to the primary prism and secondary prism, the inner side opening of the glue dispensing hole is gradually expanded from bottom to top.”), such that relative positions of the at least two prisms are fixed (see citation above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Tsuji in view Takezawa with the teaching of Sun to modify the optical element so that the optical element comprises at least two prisms, and adjacent parts of the at least two prisms are attached to each other by optical glue, such that relative positions of the at least two prisms are fixed to enhance the security of the optical element.
Claim(s) 1, 13, 14, 15, 21 and 23, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuji (JP 20110783853 A) in view of Takezawa (United States Patent Application Publication US 2010/0007861 A1), Atsushi (JP H08314012A) and Sun (CN 113296228 A).
With respect to claims 1, 13, 14, 15, 21 and 23, Tsuji discloses a projection device (see the projection device of fig.7) comprising a light source, an optical engine module (see the components of 2 in fig.7), a light valve (33), and a lens module (3), wherein the light source (40) is configured to provide an illumination beam; the optical engine module (see the operation of the component in fig.7, 2) is configured to transmit the illumination beam to the light valve; the light valve (see the operation of 33) is configured to convert the illumination beam into an image beam; the lens module (see 3 in fig.7) is configured to project the image beam, and the optical engine module comprises: a housing (see the housing formed by 54 and the outer housing of 4a) having a light incident surface opening (formed by the opening of the lamp module 40 in fig.1) for allowing an illumination beam to enter the optical engine module (see the outer housing of fig.1 which contains the optical engine module); an optical element (see 10 in fig.7) arranged in the housing; a positioning member (see the surface on which 10 is deposited in fig.7) arranged in the housing, wherein the positioning member has a thermal contact surface (see the surface on which 50 is deposited) and an abutting surface (see the surface that is in contact with 10 and 50) and the abutting surface of the positioning member is configured to abut and position the optical element (see the operation disclosed in fig.7); and a heat dissipation assembly (see 50 and 52 in fig.7) coupled to the positioning member (10 in fig.7), wherein the thermal contact surface of the positioning member thermally contacts the heat dissipation assembly or the housing (see the position of surface between 10 and 60), and the heat dissipation assembly (see 50 and 52 in fig.7) absorbs heat generated by the optical element through the positioning member and transmits the heat outside the housing (see the operation of 50, 52 and 62), wherein in a direction perpendicular to the light incident surface opening (a direction perpendicular to the opening of the lamp 40 in fig.1), a thickness is defined between the thermal contact surface and the abutting surface of the positioning member (see the thickness disclosed in fig.1 between the surface in contact with 10 and the surface in contact with 50), wherein the heat dissipation assembly comprises a heat sink (see 52 in fig.7) disposed outside the housing, further comprising a fan (see 62 in fig.7) disposed outside the housing to generate air flow for heat dissipation of the heat sink, wherein the positioning member (see the flat surface of under 10 in fig.7) and the housing (see the wall of 54) form an unitary structure, wherein contours of the positioning member (see the flat surface of under 10 in fig.7) and the optical element (see the surface of 10) at a junction are adapted to each other and are complementary (see the structure disclosed in fig.7 wherein 10 and the positioning member are complementary) but does not explicitly disclose the illumination beam passes through the optical element or the alternative embodiment wherein the position member thermally contacts the housing, wherein the mirror is comprised by a glass portion as the optical element and the back of that mirror is the position member, having a light incident surface opening by forming the opening of the lamp module 40 in fig.1.
Takezawa discloses an opening formed by the lamp module ([0070]: The light source housing 315 has a substantially rectangular parallelepiped box shape, and has an opening on the side surface facing the other light source housing 315. ).
However, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Tsuji with the teaching of Takezawa so that housing has a light incident surface opening to enhance user friendless and lamp operations by improving safety, providing mechanical support, facilitating electrical connection and improving safety.
Tsuji in view of Takezawa does not disclose the illumination beam passes through the optical element or the alternative embodiment wherein the position member thermally contacts the housing, wherein the mirror is comprised by a glass portion as the optical element and the back of that mirror is the position member
Atsushi discloses an optical element (19 in fig.1) wherein the illumination beam passes through the optical element (mirror 19 has a structure in which a reflective film made of silver, aluminum, or the like is deposited on the back surface of a glass substrate. Thus, light is reflected by a silver or aluminum-backed mirror, passes through the front of the mirror (the glass) twice: once to reach the reflective silver layer and again to exit the front of the mirror).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the optical element Tsuji in view of Takezawa with the teaching of Atsushi so that the illumination beam passes through the optical element and the illumination beam passes through the optical element and the position member thermally contacts the housing, wherein the mirror is comprised by a glass portion as the optical element and the back of that mirror is the position member to reduce color irregularity and enhance reliability by the removal of UV light from the optical path.
Tsuji in view Takezawa and Atsushi does not disclose wherein the optical element comprises at least two prisms, and adjacent parts of the at least two prisms are attached to each other by optical glue, such that relative positions of the at least two prisms are fixed.
Sun discloses wherein the optical element comprises at least two prisms (see 21 and 22), and adjacent parts of the at least two prisms are attached to each other by optical glue (see the attachment at least via 61 and see 12th para. from the claims: “the dispersion prism comprises a primary prism and secondary prism adhered and fixed with the primary prism, the bottom heat conducting part is respectively with a glue hole corresponding to the primary prism and secondary prism, the inner side opening of the glue dispensing hole is gradually expanded from bottom to top.”), such that relative positions of the at least two prisms are fixed (see citation above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Tsuji in view Takezawa and Atsushi with the teaching of Sun to modify the optical element so that the optical element comprises at least two prisms, and adjacent parts of the at least two prisms are attached to each other by optical glue, such that relative positions of the at least two prisms are fixed to enhance the security of the optical element.
Claim(s) 4 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuji (JP 20110783853 A) in view of Takezawa (United States Patent Application Publication US 2010/0007861 A1), Sun (CN 113296228 A) and Engle (CN 2872591 Y).
With respect to claims 4 and 8, Tsuji in view of Takezawa and Sun discloses the optical engine module according to claim 2, but does not disclose wherein the heat dissipation assembly further comprises a heat exchanger and a heat pipe, the heat exchanger is in thermal contact with the positioning member, and the heat pipe is connected between the heat exchanger and the heat sink, wherein the heat dissipation assembly further comprises a thermoelectric cooler arranged between the positioning member and the heat exchanger.
Engle discloses wherein the heat dissipation assembly (see 730 and 740 in fig.7 and in fig.6) further comprises a heat exchanger (see the heat exchange in fig.7 and fig.6, 650 ) and a heat pipe (see 640 in fig.6 and the pipe disclosed in fig.7), the heat exchanger is in thermal contact with the positioning member (see the substrate on which 610 and 710 are positioned in figs.6 and 7 ), and the heat pipe (see the heat pip as discussed above) is connected between the heat exchanger and the heat sink (see 635 in fig.6 and 730 in fig.7), wherein the heat exchanger (see the heat exchanger in 740) thermally contacts the positioning member (see the substrate on which 710 is positioned), wherein the heat dissipation assembly further comprises a thermoelectric cooler (730 in fig.7) arranged between the positioning member (see the substrate on which 710 is positioned) and the heat exchanger (see the heat exchanger as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the heat dissipation assembly of Tsuji in view of Takezawa and Sun with the teaching of Engle so that the heat dissipation assembly further comprises a heat exchanger and a heat pipe, the heat exchanger is in thermal contact with the positioning member, and the heat pipe is connected between the heat exchanger and the heat sink, wherein the heat dissipation assembly further comprises a thermoelectric cooler arranged between the positioning member and the heat exchanger to enhance the cooling optical element by providing a heat dissipation assembly and arrangement that facilitates temperature reduction through efficiently relocating heat load and by providing a means for high precision temperature control.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuji (JP 20110783853 A) in view of Takezawa (United States Patent Application Publication US 2010/0007861 A1) , Sun (CN 113296228 A), Engle (CN 2872591 Y) and Deng (WO 2021135833).
With respect to claim 7, Tsuji in view of Takezawa , Sun and Engle discloses the optical engine module according to claim 4, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the heat exchanger, the heat pipe and a portion of the heat sink are disposed in the housing , the rest of the heat sink extends from inside of the housing to outside of the housing.
Deng discloses wherein the heat plate (see the plate of fig.2), the heat pipe (see the heat pipe of fig.2) and a portion of the heat sink (see the heat sink comprised by 2 and 11) are disposed in the housing (see the portion of the heat sink to the left of 1) , the rest of the heat sink extends from inside of the housing to outside of the housing (see the portion of the heat sink to the right of 1 in fig.2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the heat dissipation assembly of Tsuji in view of Takezawa, Sun and Engle with the teaching of Deng so that the heat exchanger, the heat pipe and a portion of the heat sink are disposed in the housing, the rest of the heat sink extends from inside of the housing to outside of the housing to improve the compactness of the heat dissipation assembly by virtue of configuration and enhancing heat dissipation by moving a portion of the heat load outside of the housing.
Claim(s) 6, 16, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuji (JP 20110783853 A) in view of Takezawa (United States Patent Application Publication US 2010/0007861 A1), Atsushi (JP H08314012A), Sun (CN 113296228 A) and Engle (CN 2872591 Y).
With respect to claims 6, 16, 18, and 20, Tsuji in view of Takezawa , Atsushi and Sun discloses the optical engine module according to claims 4 and 13, but does not disclose wherein the heat dissipation assembly further comprises a heat exchanger and a heat pipe, the heat exchanger is in thermal contact with the positioning member, and the heat pipe is connected between the heat exchanger and the heat sink, wherein the heat exchanger is disposed outside the housing to thermally contact the positioning member through the housing, wherein the heat dissipation assembly further comprises a thermoelectric cooler arranged between the positioning member and the heat exchanger.
Engle discloses wherein the heat dissipation assembly (see 730 and 740 in fig.7 and in fig.6) further comprises a heat exchanger (see the heat exchange in fig.7 and fig.6, 650 ) and a heat pipe (see 640 in fig.6 and the pipe disclosed in fig.7), the heat exchanger is in thermal contact with the positioning member (see the substrate on which 610 and 710 are positioned in figs.6 and 7 ), and the heat pipe (see the heat pip as discussed above) is connected between the heat exchanger and the heat sink (see 635 in fig.6 and 730 in fig.7), wherein the heat exchanger (see the heat exchanger in 740) thermally contacts the positioning member (see the substrate on which 710 is positioned), wherein the heat dissipation assembly further comprises a thermoelectric cooler (730 in fig.7) arranged between the positioning member (see the substrate on which 710 is positioned) and the heat exchanger (see the heat exchanger as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the heat dissipation assembly of Tsuji in view of Takezawa, Atsushi and Sun with the teaching of Engle so that the heat dissipation assembly further comprises a heat exchanger and a heat pipe, the heat exchanger is in thermal contact with the positioning member, and the heat pipe is connected between the heat exchanger and the heat sink, wherein the heat exchanger is disposed outside the housing to thermally contact the positioning member through the housing, wherein the heat dissipation assembly further comprises a thermoelectric cooler arranged between the positioning member and the heat exchanger by providing a heat dissipation assembly and arrangement that facilitates temperature reduction through efficiently relocating heat load and by providing a means for high precision temperature control.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuji (JP 20110783853 A) in view of Takezawa (United States Patent Application Publication US 2010/0007861 A1), Atsushi (JP H08314012A), Sun (CN 113296228 A), Engle (CN 2872591 Y) and Deng (WO 2021135833).
With respect to claim 19, Tsuji in view of Takezawa, Atsushi, Sun and Engle discloses the optical engine module according to claim 16, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the heat exchanger, the heat pipe and a portion of the heat sink are disposed in the housing , the rest of the heat sink extends from inside of the housing to outside of the housing.
Deng discloses wherein the heat plate (see the plate of fig.2), the heat pipe (see the heat pipe of fig.2) and a portion of the heat sink (see the heat sink comprised by 2 and 11) are disposed in the housing (see the portion of the heat sink to the left of 1) , the rest of the heat sink extends from inside of the housing to outside of the housing (see the portion of the heat sink to the right of 1 in fig.2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the heat dissipation assembly of Tsuji in view of Takezawa, Atsushi, Sun and Engle with the teaching of Deng so that the heat exchanger, the heat pipe and a portion of the heat sink are disposed in the housing, the rest of the heat sink extends from inside of the housing to outside of the housing to improve the compactness of the heat dissipation assembly by virtue of configuration and enhancing heat dissipation by moving a portion of the heat load outside of the housing.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claims 5 and 17, the prior art of record does not disclose or render obvious the optical engine module according to claim 1, wherein the heat dissipation assembly comprises a heat sink disposed outside the housing, further comprising a fan disposed outside the housing to generate air flow for heat dissipation of the heat sink, wherein the heat dissipation assembly further comprises a heat exchanger and a heat pipe, the heat exchanger is in thermal contact with the positioning member, and the heat pipe is connected between the heat exchanger and the heat sink, wherein the heat exchanger is disposed in the housing and contacts the positioning member, and the heat pipe extends from inside of the housing to outside of the housing.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Therefore, the surface of the bottom heat conducting part 61 is positioned within the main shell 10 and lacks thickness, thereby failing to disclose the technical feature recited in independent claim 1 regarding "a thickness is defined between the thermal contact surface and the abutting surface of the positioning member." Alternatively, if the interpretation in Office Action is intended to compare the bottom heat conducting part 61 having thickness as corresponding to the positioning member of the present application, then as evidenced by fig. 9 of the prior art Sun, said part is disposed on the main shell 10, thereby failing to disclose the technical feature recited in independent claim 1 of "a positioning member arranged in the housing.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The positioning member comprises two portions the thermal contact surface and the abutting surface. Since the abutting surface inside the housing, the positioning member is partially, although not inside, inside the housing. Therefore, Sun teaches the limitation of claims 1 and 13.
Conclusion
/JERRY L BROOKS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882