DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kang et al. (US 2014/0102767 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kang discloses a method for manufacturing a flexible circuit board, comprising: providing a non-flexible substrate (11); disposing a first seed layer (12-2*) on the non-flexible substrate (fig. 2A; pars. 0054-0056); disposing a first conductive layer (22) on the first seed layer (fig. 2C; pars. 0063-0064); disposing a second seed layer (140) on the first conductive layer (fig. 2E; pars. 0071-0072); removing the non-flexible substrate (fig. 2I; pars. 0083-0085); and forming a first flexible substrate (183; all resins naturally have some degree of flexibility, which is a materials property) under the first seed layer after removing the non-flexible substrate, wherein the first flexible substrate has an opening (at 72) exposing the first seed layer (fig. 2L; pars. 0093-0095).
*Note: though element (12-2) of Kang is not expressly described as a “first seed layer” it is disposed as claimed. Further, the subsequent “first conductive layer” (22) is formed on seed layer (12-2) by an “electrolytic copper plating method”, and thus it is clear that the layer (12-2) is in fact a seed layer.
Regarding claim 2, Kang discloses the method for manufacturing the flexible circuit board as claimed in claim 1, further comprising: disposing an insulating layer (120) on the non-flexible substrate and the first conductive layer before disposing the second seed layer on the first conductive layer, wherein the insulating layer has an opening exposing the first conductive layer, and after the second seed layer is disposed on the first conductive layer, the second seed layer contacts the first conductive layer through the opening (fig. 2D; pars. 0065-0070).
Regarding claim 3, Kang discloses the method for manufacturing the flexible circuit board as claimed in claim 1, further comprising: disposing a second conductive layer (42) on the second seed layer (fig. 2F; par. 00073); and disposing a second flexible substrate (160) on an insulating layer and the second conductive layer, wherein the second flexible substrate has an opening exposing the second conductive layer (fig. 2H; pars. 0078-0081).
Regarding claim 4, Kang discloses the method for manufacturing the flexible circuit board as claimed in claim 3, further comprising: removing (fig. 2K) at least a part of the first seed layer before forming the first flexible substrate (the step in fig. 2K is temporally before the step of forming the first flexible substrate in fig. 2L).
Regarding claim 5, Kang discloses the method for manufacturing the flexible circuit board as claimed in claim 4, wherein the first flexible substrate is also under the insulating layer (fig. 2L).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the references as they are currently being used in the instant rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to the concurrently mailed PTO-892, as all of those cited references are considered to be pertinent to the claimed invention. For example, Lin et al. (US 11,164,852 B2) is held to be of particular relevance to the claimed invention.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFREY T CARLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3729