Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 12/19/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: The temperature unit is not correct. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “improved” in claim 1is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “improved” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
It is not clear that the improved propertied is compared with what?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US20200103121 (US’121).
Regarding claim 1, US’121 discloses ovens and articles comprising an oleophobic surface coating on one or more surfaces for heat resistance and easy to clean performance. The oleophobic surface coating comprising organofunctional silane and a perfluorinated material applied to enamelized carbon steel., stainless steel. See abstract, [0055], [0058-0060], and [0121-0123].
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding claim 2, US’121 discloses that the oleophobic surface coating is applied to enamelized carbon steel. See [0058].
Regarding claim 3, US’121 discloses the oleophobic surface coating comprising organofunctional oligomeric poly siloxane and a perfluorinated material applied to enamelized carbon steel., stainless steel. See [0055], [0058-0060], and [0121-0123].
Regarding claim 4, US’121 discloses the oleophobic surface coating comprising organofunctional oligomeric poly siloxane, a perfluorinated material and silane coupling agent. However, when faced with a mixture, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated by common sense to select a 1:1:1 ratio, the amount of siloxane, about 33% and the perfluorinated material amount, about 33%, fall within the presently claimed amount, absent evidence of unexpected or surprising results. Case law holds that "[h]aving established that this knowledge was in the art, the examiner could then properly rely... on a conclusion of obviousness, 'from common knowledge and common sense of the person of ordinary skill in the art within any specific hint or suggestion in a particular reference.'" In re Bozek, 416 F.2d 1385, 1390, 163 USPQ 545, 549 (CCPA 1969).
Regarding claim 5, US’121 discloses the oleophobic surface coating comprising silane coupling agents. See [0060].
Regarding claim 6, US’121 discloses a process comprising depositing the coating material on the surface using an aqueous carrier. The process comprises heat curing the deposited coating material at a temperature between 100 degrees Celsius to 500 degrees Celsius. For example, heat curing can occur for a period of 5 minutes to 24 hours. See [0104]. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). It is noted that claims are product-by-process claims. Eventhough product-by- process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 77F.2d 695, 698,227 USPQ 964,966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted).
Regarding claim 7, The Examiner respectfully submits that although the prior art combination does not disclose the claimed surface energy, the claimed surface energy is deemed to naturally flow from the structure in the prior art combination, since the prior art teaches an invention with a substantially similar structure and chemical composition as the claimed invention. The burden is on the Applicants to prove otherwise. Furthermore, the Examiner respectfully submits that the U.S. Patent Office is not equipped with analytical instruments to test prior art compositions for the infinite number of ways that a subsequent applicant may present previously unmeasured characteristics. When as here, the prior art appears to contain the substantial ingredients and applicant's own disclosure supports the suitability of the prior art composition as the inventive composition component, the burden is properly shifted to applicant to show otherwise.
Regarding claim 8, US’121 discloses an oleophobic surface coating comprising organo silane and a perfluorinated material applied to enamelized carbon steel, and stainless steel. See [0055], [0058-0060], and [0121-0123].
Conclusion
/SHUANGYI ABU ALI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731