DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 03/19/2026 has been entered. In the present application, claims 1-20 are currently pending and examined below. Claims 1-6, 8, 10-11, 15-16, and 19 have been amended. Claim 20 is newly added.
Response to Arguments
The arguments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because Applicant has amended the independent claim with a newly added limitation stating, “an elevator wheel positioned inside the handle housing and including gear teeth extending outwardly from a rotation axis of the elevator wheel, the elevator wheel being rotatable from a first position to a second position and from the second position to the first position; a wire wheel positioned inside the handle housing and including gear teeth extending outwardly from a rotation axis of the wire wheel and meshing with the gear teeth of the elevator wheel; and a pull wire connected to the wire wheel and the object elevator, wherein the rotation axis of the elevator wheel passes through a plane at a right angle, and the plane traverses, concurrently, all of the gear teeth of the elevator and all of the gear teeth of the wire wheel, wherein rotation of the elevator wheel from the first position to the second position causes the wire wheel to pull the pull wire to pivot the object elevator to the raised elevator position, and wherein rotation of the elevator wheel from the second position to the first position causes the wire wheel to push the pull wire to pivot the object elevator to the lowered elevator position.”
Such newly added limitation changes the scope of the claims, renders the previous rejection moot, and requires a new ground of rejection. Therefore the rejections previously identified within the non-final office action dated 06/05/2025 have been withdrawn.
However upon further consideration, the claims have a new ground of rejection is made below. Please see section 35 U.S.C. §102 and 35 U.S.C. §103 below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "knob" in line 2. However claim 4 line 2 previously introduces a limitation of “a knob.” Therefore it is unclear whether the second limitation in claim 4 line 2 is introducing a separate, distinct, knob or merely referencing the previously introduced limitation. It is suggested to amend the limitation to state, “the knob.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 17 recites the limitation “an endoscope according to claim 1.” However claim 1 line 1 states “an endoscope.” Therefore it is unclear whether the limitation in claim 17 is introducing a system that comprises two different endoscopes, similar to a duodenoscope system, or merely claim a system comprising the endoscope of claim 1. It is suggested to amend the limitation to state, “the endoscope.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “wire wheel” in liens 1-2. However claim 1, which claim 18 directly depends from, previously introduces a limitation of “a wire wheel” in line 10. Therefore it is unclear whether the limitation in claim 18 is introducing a new and distinct ‘wire wheel’ or merely referencing the limitation of claim 1. It is suggested to amend the limitation to state, “the wire wheel.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka Toshikazu (JP2014128465) hereinafter Toshikazu in view of Peng et al. (CN111012287A) hereinafter Peng.
Regarding Claim 1, Toshikazu discloses an endoscope (Fig. 1 endoscope 1) comprising:
a handle (Fig. 1 operation unit 10) comprising a handle housing (Fig. 1 housing of operation unit 10);
an insertion cord (Fig. 1 insertion unit 12) extending distally from the handle (Fig. 1 operation unit 10) and including a distal tip unit (Fig. 1 tip part 34),
the distal tip unit (Fig. 1 tip part 34) comprising an object elevator (Figs. 2-6 stand 60) pivotable between a lowered elevator position (lying state position) and a raised elevator position (stand up position, “Further, the stand 60 is configured to stand up by the operation of the stand-up operation lever 18 of the operation unit 10, and the treatment tool derivation unit is configured by adjusting the stand-up angle from the lying state by raising the stand 60. The derivation direction (derivation angle) of the treatment instrument derived from 58 can be adjusted.”);
an elevator wheel (Figs. 4, 9 portion of arm portion 18a near rotation shaft 162 to include bevel gear 160a) positioned inside the handle housing (Fig. 1 housing of operation unit 10) and including gear teeth (Figs. 4, 9 teeth of bevel gear 160a) extending outwardly from a rotation axis (center of gear 160a) of the elevator wheel (Figs. 4, 9 portion of arm portion 18a near rotation shaft 162 to include bevel gear 160a), the elevator wheel (Figs. 4, 9 portion of arm portion 18a near rotation shaft 162 to include bevel gear 160a) being rotatable from a first position (Fig. 9 arrow) to a second position (Fig. 9 arrow) and from the second position (Fig. 9 arrow) to the first position (Fig. 9 arrow);
a wire wheel (Figs. 4, 9 bevel gear 160b) positioned inside the handle housing (Fig. 1 housing of operation unit 10) and including gear teeth (Figs. 4, 9 teeth of bevel gear 160b) extending outward from a rotation axis (center of gear 160b) of the wire wheel (Figs. 4, 9 bevel gear 160b) and meshing with the gear teeth (Figs. 4, 9 teeth of bevel gear 160a) of the elevator wheel (Figs. 4, 9 portion of arm portion 18a near rotation shaft 162 to include bevel gear 160a); and
a pull wire (Fig. 4 operation wire 120) connected to (via rotating shaft 170 in Fig. 4) the wire wheel (Figs. 4, 9 bevel gear 160b) and the object elevator (Figs. 2-6 stand 60),
wherein rotation of the elevator wheel (Figs. 4, 9 portion of arm portion 18a near rotation shaft 162 to include bevel gear 160a) from the first position (Fig. 9 arrow) to the second position (Fig. 9 arrow) causes the wire wheel (Figs. 4, 9 bevel gear 160b) to pull the pull wire (Fig. 4 operation wire 120) to pivot the object elevator (Figs. 2-6 stand 60) to the raised elevator position, and
wherein rotation of the elevator wheel (Figs. 4, 9 portion of arm portion 18a near rotation shaft 162 to include bevel gear 160a) from the second position (Fig. 9 arrow) to the first position (Fig. 9 arrow) causes the wire wheel (Figs. 4, 9 bevel gear 160b)to pull the pull wire (Fig. 4 operation wire 120) to pivot the object elevator (Figs. 2-6 stand 60) to the lowered elevator position (lying state position, “Further, the stand 60 is configured to stand up by the operation of the stand-up operation lever 18 of the operation unit 10, and the treatment tool derivation unit is configured by adjusting the stand-up angle from the lying state by raising the stand 60. The derivation direction (derivation angle) of the treatment instrument derived from 58 can be adjusted.”).
Toshikazu is silent as to explicitly teach wherein the rotation axis of the elevator wheel passes through a plane at a right angle and the plane traverses, concurrently, all the gear teeth of the elevator wheel and all of the gear teeth of the wire wheel.
However Peng, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the rotation axis (Peng - Figs. 1-2 center of clamping tooth 211) of the elevator wheel (Peng - Figs. 1-2 clamping tooth 211 of runner 21) passes through a plane at a right angle and the plane traverses, concurrently, all the gear teeth (Peng - Figs. 1-2 teeth of clamping tooth 211) of the elevator wheel (Peng - Figs. 1-2 clamping tooth 211 of runner 21) and all of the gear teeth (Peng- Figs. 1-2 teeth of transition gear 24)of the wire wheel (Peng- Figs. 1-2 transition gear 24).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Toshikazu with the teachings of Peng to include wherein the rotation axis of the elevator wheel passes through a plane at a right angle and the plane traverses, concurrently, all the gear teeth of the elevator wheel and all of the gear teeth of the wire wheel for the benefit of having a gear driven system fit inside a limited space within an endoscope handle (Peng – English Translation page 2, middle to end of page).
Regarding Claim 2, Toshikazu in view of Peng teaches the endoscope of claim 1, further comprising a control lever (Toshikazu - Figs. 4, 9 arm portion 18a) connected to the elevator wheel (Toshikazu - Figs. 4, 9 portion of arm portion 18a near rotation shaft 162 to include bevel gear 160a) and extending through the handle housing (Toshikazu - Fig. 1 housing of operation unit 10), the control lever (Toshikazu - Figs. 4, 9 arm portion 18a) being operable to rotate the elevator wheel (Toshikazu - Figs. 4, 9 portion of arm portion 18a near rotation shaft 162 to include bevel gear 160a) wherein rotation of the control lever (Toshikazu - Figs. 4, 9 arm portion 18a) is a distal direction pivots the object elevator (Toshikazu - Figs. 2-6 stand 60) to the raised position (Toshikazu – stand up position, “Further, the stand 60 is configured to stand up by the operation of the stand-up operation lever 18 of the operation unit 10, and the treatment tool derivation unit is configured by adjusting the stand-up angle from the lying state by raising the stand 60. The derivation direction (derivation angle) of the treatment instrument derived from 58 can be adjusted.”), and wherein rotation of the control lever (Toshikazu - Figs. 4, 9 arm portion 18a) in a proximal direction pivots the object elevator (Toshikazu - Figs. 2-6 stand 60) to the lowered elevator position (Toshikazu -lying state position).
Regarding Claim 3, Toshikazu in view of Peng endoscope of claim 1, the endoscope further comprising motion inversion elevator mechanics comprising the elevator wheel (Toshikazu - Figs. 4, 9 portion of arm portion 18a near rotation shaft 162 to include bevel gear 160a), the wire wheel (Toshikazu - Figs. 4, 9 bevel gear 160b), the pull wire (Toshikazu - Fig. 4 operation wire 120), and control lever (Toshikazu - Figs. 4, 9 arm portion 18a) and a knob (Toshikazu - Figs, 4, 9 hook 18b) connected to the control lever (Toshikazu - Figs. 4, 9 arm portion 18a) and connected via the control lever (Toshikazu - Figs. 4, 9 arm portion 18a) to the elevator wheel (Toshikazu - Figs. 4, 9 portion of arm portion 18a near rotation shaft 162 to include bevel gear 160a) the knob (Toshikazu - Figs, 4, 9 hook 18b) configured to rotate the elevator wheel (Toshikazu - Figs. 4, 9 portion of arm portion 18a near rotation shaft 162), the motion inversion elevator mechanics being configured to, responsive to,
(Examiner’s Note: The term ‘responsive to’ is being interpreted broadly. The specific term of ‘motion inversion elevator mechanics,’ within the claim lacks explanation of how each of the components of the motion inversion elevator mechanics listed, applies the response of motion inversion. The specific term does not require a special definition nor does the term within the limitation require an interpretation under 35 U.S.C. §112(f), which would give an explanation of how inversion of motion is applied. But, Paragraph [0077] of the specification does describes how the motion inversion occurs. However such language is not included in the claim. Therefore the term, responsive to, in relation to the motion inversion elevator mechanics, within this claim, must be interpreted broadly.)
the knob (Toshikazu - Figs, 4, 9 hook 18b) being lowered, pivot the object elevator (Toshikazu - Figs. 2-6 stand 60) to the raised elevator position (stand up position, “Further, the stand 60 is configured to stand up by the operation of the stand-up operation lever 18 of the operation unit 10, and the treatment tool derivation unit is configured by adjusting the stand-up angle from the lying state by raising the stand 60. The derivation direction (derivation angle) of the treatment instrument derived from 58 can be adjusted.”).
Regarding Claim 4, Toshikazu in view of Peng teaches the endoscope of claim 3, further comprising a control lever (Toshikazu - Figs. 4, 9 arm portion 18a) and a knob (Toshikazu - Figs, 4, 9 hook 18b), the control lever (Toshikazu - Figs. 4, 9 arm portion 18a) connecting knob (Toshikazu - Figs, 4, 9 hook 18b) to the elevator wheel (Toshikazu - Figs. 4, 9 portion of arm portion 18a near rotation shaft 162 to include bevel gear 160a), wherein when the knob (Toshikazu - Figs, 4, 9 hook 18b) is moved or rotated in a distal direction the elevator wheel (Toshikazu - Figs. 4, 9 portion of arm portion 18a near rotation shaft 162 to include bevel gear 160a) moves toward the second position (Toshikazu - Fig. 9 arrow) and causes the object elevator (Figs. 2-6 stand 60) to pivot to the raised elevator position (stand up position, “Further, the stand 60 is configured to stand up by the operation of the stand-up operation lever 18 of the operation unit 10, and the treatment tool derivation unit is configured by adjusting the stand-up angle from the lying state by raising the stand 60. The derivation direction (derivation angle) of the treatment instrument derived from 58 can be adjusted.”), and wherein when the knob (Toshikazu - Figs, 4, 9 hook 18b) is moved or rotated in a proximal direction the elevator wheel (Toshikazu - Figs. 4, 9 portion of arm portion 18a near rotation shaft 162 to include bevel gear 160a) moves toward the first position (Toshikazu - Fig. 9 arrow).
Regarding Claim 5, Toshikazu in view of Peng teaches the endoscope of claim 1, wherein the rotation axis (Peng – Fig. 2 rotation axis of runner 21) of the elevator wheel (Peng - Figs. 1-2 clamping tooth 211 of runner 21) parallel to the rotation axis (Peng – rotation axis of gear 24) of the wire wheel (Peng – Figs. 1-2 gear 24).
Regarding Claim 6, Toshikazu in view of Peng teaches the endoscope of claim 1, wherein the elevator wheel (Toshikazu - Figs. 4, 9 portion of arm portion 18a near rotation shaft 162 to include bevel gear 160a) comprises an elevator wheel gear portion (Toshikazu - Figs. 4, 9 near teeth of bevel gear 160a) comprising the gear teeth (Toshikazu - Figs. 4, 9 teeth of bevel gear 160a) of the elevator wheel (Toshikazu - Figs. 4, 9 portion of arm portion 18a near rotation shaft 162 to include bevel gear 160a), wherein the wire wheel (Toshikazu - Figs. 4, 9 bevel gear 160b) comprises a wire wheel gear portion (Toshikazu - Figs. 4, 9 near teeth of bevel gear 160b) comprising the gear teeth (Figs. 4, 9 teeth of bevel gear 160b) of the wire wheel (Toshikazu - Figs. 4, 9 bevel gear 160b) , wherein an outer radius (see annotated Fig. 9) of the elevator wheel gear portion (Toshikazu - Figs. 4, 9 bevel gear 160a) is greater than an outer radius (see annotated Fig. 9) of the wire wheel gear portion (Toshikazu - Figs. 4, 9 bevel gear 160b).
Regarding Claim 7, Toshikazu in view of Peng teaches the endoscope of claim 1, wherein the wire wheel (Toshikazu - Figs. 4, 9 bevel gear 160b) is arranged distally with respect to the elevator wheel (Toshikazu - Figs. 4, 9 portion of arm portion 18a near rotation shaft 162 to include bevel gear 160a) .
Regarding Claim 8, Toshikazu in view of Peng teaches the endoscope of claim 1, further comprising a wire pipe (Toshikazu - Fig. 4 shaft 170 ) fixed at one end thereof to the handle housing (Toshikazu - housing of operation unit 10, “The rotating shaft 170 is fixed to the support member in the operation unit 10 and the proximal end of the operation wire 120.”), wherein the wire (Toshikazu - Fig. 4 operation wire 120) runs into, and is guided in, the pull wire pipe (Toshikazu - Fig. 4 tube 122).
Regarding Claim 9, Toshikazu in view of Peng teaches the endoscope of claim 1, further comprising an operation unit (Toshikazu - Fig. 1 knob 16), a wire drum, and a steering wire, wherein the insertion cord (Toshikazu - Fig. 1 insertion unit 12) comprises a bending section (Toshikazu - Fig. 1 bending portion 32), wherein the elevator wheel (Toshikazu - Figs. 4, 9 portion of arm portion 18a near rotation shaft 162 to include bevel gear 160a) is arranged coaxially with the operation unit (Toshikazu - Fig. 1 knob 16) and the wire drum, and wherein the operation unit (Toshikazu - Fig. 1 knob 16), the wire drum, and the steering wire are configured, and cooperate, to bend the bending section (Toshikazu - Fig. 1 bending portion 32). (“The bending portion 32 is configured to bend in the vertical direction and the left-right direction by rotating the angle knob 16 of the operation unit 10, and the distal end portion 34 is directed in a desired direction by bending the bending portion 32. Can be done. … FIG. 4 is a perspective view showing the overall configuration of the treatment instrument standing unit 70 of the present embodiment. The treatment instrument erecting unit 70 shown in FIG. 1 includes an erecting stand assembly 72, a control cable 74 having a distal end side connected to the erecting stand assembly 72, and an erecting stand operating unit 76 connected to the proximal end side of the control cable 74. It is configured. The upright stand assembly 72 is accommodated and held in the distal end portion 34 of the endoscope 1, the control cable 74 is inserted into the flexible portion 30 and the bending portion 32 of the endoscope 1, and the upright stand operating portion 76 is disposed inside. The treatment instrument erecting unit 70 is incorporated in the endoscope 1 by being disposed in the operation unit 10 of the endoscope 1. As will be described in detail later, the stand assembly 72 is provided with a drive mechanism that supports the stand 60 and causes the stand 60 to stand up, and the operating force of the practitioner is driven by the stand operating unit 76 to drive the stand 60. The force is transmitted as a force to the stand assembly 72 via the control cable 74 so that the stand 60 moves up.”)
Regarding Claim 10, Toshikazu in view of Peng teaches the endoscope of claim 1, wherein the wire wheel (Toshikazu - Figs. 4, 9 bevel gear 160b) has an arcuate portion and two edges angled with respect to each other such that the wire wheel (Toshikazu - Figs. 4, 9 bevel gear 160b) has a shape corresponding to a cut- out portion or part of a disc, the wire wheel (Toshikazu - Figs. 4, 9 bevel gear 160b) comprising at least a rotational center (see annotated Fig. 9) and a wire wheel gear portion (Toshikazu - Figs. 4, 9 near teeth of bevel gear 160b) provided in the arcuate portion (see annotated Fig. 9), the wire wheel gear portion (Toshikazu - Figs. 4, 9 near teeth of bevel gear 160b) provided comprising the gear teeth (Toshikazu - Figs. 4, 9 teeth of bevel gear 160b) provided of the wire wheel (Toshikazu - Figs. 4, 9 bevel gear 160b) .
Regarding Claim 11. Toshikazu in view of Peng teaches the endoscope of claim 1, wherein a connector part (Toshikazu - Fig. 9 rotating shaft 170) is rotatably mounted on the wire wheel (Toshikazu - Figs. 4, 9 bevel gear 160b), and the pull wire (Toshikazu - Fig. 4 operation wire 120) is fixedly attached (Toshikazu - “The rotating shaft 170 is fixed to the support member in the operation unit 10 and the proximal end of the operation wire 120.”) to the connector part (Toshikazu - Fig. 9 rotating shaft 170).
Regarding Claim 12, Toshikazu in view of Peng teaches the endoscope of claim 11, wherein a guide rail part (Toshikazu - Fig. 4, tube 122) is rotatably mounted in the handle housing (Toshikazu - Fig. 1 housing of operation unit 10), and the connector part (Toshikazu - Fig. 9 rotating shaft 170) is slidingly accommodated in the guide rail part (Toshikazu - Fig. 4, tube 122).
Regarding Claim 13, Toshikazu in view of Peng teaches the endoscope of claim 12, wherein the connector part (Toshikazu - Fig. 9 rotating shaft 170) and the guide rail part (Toshikazu - Fig. 4, tube 122) are arranged distally with respect to the elevator wheel (Toshikazu - Figs. 4, 9 portion of arm portion 18a near rotation shaft 162 to include bevel gear 160a) and the wire wheel (Toshikazu - Figs. 4, 9 bevel gear 160b).
Regarding Claim 14, Toshikazu in view of Peng teaches the endoscope of claim 12, wherein the connector part (Toshikazu - Fig. 9 rotating shaft 170) comprises a disc-shaped connector mounting portion (see annotated Fig. 9) configured to be rotatably mounted on the wire wheel (Toshikazu - Figs. 4, 9 bevel gear 160b), and a rod-like slide portion (see annotated Fig. 9); the guide rail part (Toshikazu - Fig. 4, tube 122) comprises a distal rail mounting portion (Toshikazu - Fig. 4 portion of tube 122 near reference numeral 120) configured to be rotatably mounted on the handle housing (Fig. 1 housing of operation unit 10) and a guide rail portion having a guide rail (Toshikazu - “ Further, the tube 122 is fixed to a support member whose base end is fixed inside the operation unit 10, and the distal end portion is fixed to the lever accommodating portion 84 of the stand assembly 72 through the insertion portion 12.”); and the rod-like slide portion (see annotated Fig. 9) of the connector part (Toshikazu - Fig. 9 rotating shaft 170) is slidingly accommodated in the guide rail portion of the guide rail part (Toshikazu - Fig. 4, tube 122).
Regarding Claim 15, Toshikazu in view of Peng teaches the endoscope of claim 14, wherein the pull wire (Toshikazu - Fig. 4 operation wire 120) is looped through and fixed to (Toshikazu - via shaft 170) the disc- shaped connector mounting portion (see annotated Fig. 9 above) and extends through the rod-like slide portion (see annotated Fig. 9 above).
Regarding Claim 16, Toshikazu in view of Peng teaches the endoscope of claim 12, further comprising a wire pipe (Toshikazu - Fig. 8 connecting portion 136), wherein the pull wire (Toshikazu - Fig. 4 operation wire 120) runs into, and is guided in, the wire pipe (Toshikazu - Fig. 8 connecting portion 136), and wherein a proximal end portion of the wire pipe (Toshikazu - Fig. 8 connecting portion) is arranged adjacent a distal end portion of the guide rail part (Toshikazu - Fig. 4, tube 122) and fixed to the handle housing (Toshikazu - Fig. 1 housing of operation unit 10).
Regarding Claim 17, Toshikazu in view of Peng teaches a visualization system comprising: an endoscope according to claim 1 (see above) ; and a monitor (Toshikazu - “Note that the observation image and the endoscopic image transmitted to the system configuration apparatus are displayed on a monitor so that a practitioner or the like can observe.”).
Regarding Claim 18, Toshikazu in view of Peng teaches the endoscope of claim 1, wherein the elevator wheel (Peng - Figs. 1-2 clamping tooth 211 of runner 21) and wire wheel (Peng – Figs. 1-2 gear 24) are spur gears.
Regarding Claim 19, Toshikazu in view of Peng teaches the endoscope of claim 1, wherein gear teeth (Peng - Figs. 1-2 clamping tooth 211) of the elevator wheel (Peng - Figs. 1-2 clamping tooth 211 of runner 21) comprises straight-cut teeth (Peng – Figs. 1-2 teeth 211) that are parallel to a rotation axis (Peng – Figs. 1-2 rotation axis of runner 21) of the elevator wheel (Peng - Figs. 1-2 clamping tooth 211 of runner 21), and wherein the gear teeth (Peng – Figs. 1-2 teeth of gear 24) of the wire wheel (Peng - Figs. 1-2 gear 24) comprises straight-cut teeth (Peng – Figs. 1-2 teeth of gear 22) that are parallel to a rotation axis (Peng – Figs. 1-2 rotation axis of gear 24) of the wire wheel (Peng - Figs. 1-2 gear 24).
Regarding Claim 20, Toshikazu in view of Peng teaches the endoscope of claim 1, wherein the elevator wheel (Peng - Figs. 1-2 clamping tooth 211 of runner 21) and the wire wheel (Peng - Figs. 1-2 gear 24) comprise flat disc shapes (Peng - Figs. 1-2 ).
Conclusion
/MEGAN ELIZABETH MONAHAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3795