DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on November 17, 2022, which claims the benefit of priority of U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/282,747 filed on November 24, 2021.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, 5, 9, and 12 is/are objected to because of the following informalities: typographical issue. The claims recite the phrase, “…receiving and optical mating…” In this phrase, “optical” most likely should be “optically” to follow standard English conventions. Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Amendments
Applicant's amendment filed on June 26th, 2025 has been fully considered and entered.
The objection(s) to the specification has/have been withdrawn by the examiner in light of applicant’s amendments.
The objection(s) to the drawings has/have been withdrawn by the examiner in light of applicant’s amendments.
The rejection to claim 27 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been withdrawn in light of the applicant cancelling the claim.
The rejections to claims 2 and 27 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been withdrawn in light of the applicant cancelling the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on February 27th, 2028 have been fully considered, but they are moot in light of the new rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-11, 14-26 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 3, 5 and 9 recite the phrase “… the at least one connection port is configured for receiving and optically mating an external […] fiber optic connector,” and in a later limitation, they state “…an adapter associated with the at least one connection port for optically mating between fiber optic connectors.”
The claims introduce a singular fiber optic connector and then refer to a plurality thereof, rendering the nature of what is referred to as indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-26, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dannoux (US 10,802,228 B2, hereafter known as D228) in view of Thompson et al. (US 8917966 B2).
Regarding claim 1;
D228 discloses a fiber optic terminal suitable for receiving and optical mating one or more external fiber optic connectors,
D228 discloses multiport assembly 200 (Figure 1, Figure 17) – a fiber optic terminal – that receives external fiber optic connectors at its ports and optically couples them through internal optical adapters. The phrase “suitable for…receiving and optical mating…” recites intended use; the corresponding structure (ports plus optically-coupling adapters) is affirmatively disclosed, so the limitation is met by structure, not merely capability.
the fiber optic terminal comprising;
a shell (Figure 17, Shell 202);
at least one connection port disposed on the fiber optic terminal with the at least one connection port comprising an optical connector opening extending from an outer surface of the fiber optic terminal toward a cavity of the fiber optic terminal wherein the at least one connection port is configured for receiving and optically mating an external fiber optic connector;
D228 discloses connection ports (optical connection ports 220) disposed on the multiport assembly (Figures 16, 17), each defining a connector insertion path 224 extending from the outer surface of shell 202 inwardly toward the interior cavity housing the optical adapters.
an adapter associated with the at least one connection port for mating fiber optic connectors;
optical adapter 210, one per port, positioned in cavity 204; “structurally configured to receive, align, and optical couple dissimilar optical connectors,” coupling external connector 100 to “another fiber optic connector including a different shape,” forming fiber optic junction 300 (Figures 16B, 17, 18, insertion sequence as shown in Figs. 22-27).
a flexible tab disposed within the shell and associated with the at least one connection port,
a push-button securing member 230 is disposed in shell 202 and intersecting insertion path 224, having a resilient locking portion 233 with connector engagement face 234 that engages the inserted connector (Figures 17-21).
In an embodiment, the opposing arms 274 (Figure 28, 33-36) of securing member 272 are “elastically deformable in an outward direction from the connector insertion path 224 upon depression of the push-button 270”, making them a flexible tab disposed within the shell and associated with the connection port(s)
An actuator capable of translating relative to the fiber optic terminal, wherein the actuator (Figures 16-18, examiner interprets “Push-button securing member” 230 as an actuator) is capable of engaging a portion of the flexible tab for deflecting a portion of the flexible tab.
D228 does not disclose that the flexible tab is bowed to a normally open position.
However, securing member 230 (and arms 274) are biased by resilient member 250 into an ‘engaged’ position – in this instance, it is the opposite orientation and is normally closed. The bias direction is a routine selection among a finite set of predictable alternatives (normally open, normally twisted), making the position obvious to a skilled artisan.
Thompson et al. discloses a cable enclosure system (Title) with an actuator (Figure 9, actuator tab 300) also capable of translating relative to a terminal, wherein the actuator can be engaged and important is bowed to a normally-open position
the default V-shape of the retention spring 200 is actuated to become a U-shape to engage the mechanism,
“shown in FIG. 9, an opposite, actuation end 306 of the actuator tab 300 compresses the V-shape of the retention spring 200 into a substantially U-shape, thereby removing the retaining tab 204 of the retention spring 200 from the engagement slot 152 of the plug of the plug 30 to allow axial movement and removal of the plug 30 from the port 56.”
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the fiber optic terminal of D228 et al. under the teachings of Thompson et al. to include an actuator with a flexible tab that is bowed to the normally open position. This could be accomplished by installing the flexible tab actuator system of Thompson into the invention of D228, under the push-button actuator of D228. This may be accomplished using methods and materials known to the art (a terminal, an actuator, a flexible tab, and routine placement oversight), and would predictably result in an optical connector with a flexible tab component that allows for stable alignment between the fiber and terminal which is easy to use.
Regarding claim 3;
D228 discloses a fiber optic terminal suitable for receiving and optical mating one or more external fiber optic connectors,
D228 discloses multiport assembly 200 (Figure 1, Figure 17) – a fiber optic terminal – that receives external fiber optic connectors at its ports and optically couples them through internal optical adapters. The phrase “suitable for…receiving and optical mating…” recites intended use; the corresponding structure (ports plus optically-coupling adapters) is affirmatively disclosed, so the limitation is met by structure, not merely capability.
the fiber optic terminal comprising;
a shell (Figure 17, Shell 202);
at least one connection port disposed on the fiber optic terminal with the at least one connection port comprising an optical connector opening extending from an outer surface of the fiber optic terminal, wherein the at least one connection port is configured for receiving and optically mating an external fiber optic connector comprising a latching trigger;
D228 discloses connection ports (optical connection ports 220) disposed on the multiport assembly (Figures 16, 17), each defining a connector insertion path 224 extending from the outer surface of shell 202 inwardly toward the interior cavity housing the optical adapters.
The “latching trigger” is a feature of external connector 100, not the terminal. D228 discloses connector 100 having a locking portion 130 with a port engagement face 132 that triggers latching by engaging the port’s securing member – connector insertion deflects securing member 230 via ramp engagement, and then port engagement face 132 snaps into engagement with connector engagement face 234 to latch (connector locking portions 130/132 at Figures 2, 5; latching engagement at Figures 26-27).
an adapter associated with the at least one connection port for mating fiber optic connectors;
optical adapter 210, one per port, positioned in cavity 204; “structurally configured to receive, align, and optical couple dissimilar optical connectors,” coupling external connector 100 to “another fiber optic connector including a different shape,” forming fiber optic junction 300 (Figures 16B, 17, 18, insertion sequence as shown in Figs. 22-27).
a flexible tab disposed within the shell and associated with the at least one connection port,
a push-button securing member 230 is disposed in shell 202 and intersecting insertion path 224, having a resilient locking portion 233 with connector engagement face 234 that engages the inserted connector (Figures 17-21).
In an embodiment, the opposing arms 274 (Figure 28, 33-36) of securing member 272 are “elastically deformable in an outward direction from the connector insertion path 224 upon depression of the push-button 270”, making them a flexible tab disposed within the shell and associated with the connection port(s)
a fiber optic terminal (Figure 1, Figure 24), comprising;
An actuator capable of translating relative to the fiber optic terminal, wherein the actuator (Figures 16-18, examiner interprets “Push-button securing member” 230 as an actuator) is capable of engaging a portion of the flexible tab for deflecting a portion of the flexible tab.
D228 does not disclose that the flexible tab is bowed to a normally open position.
However, securing member 230 (and arms 274) are biased by resilient member 250 into an ‘engaged’ position – in this instance, it is the opposite orientation and is normally closed. The bias direction is a routine selection among a finite set of predictable alternatives (normally open, normally twisted), making the position obvious to a skilled artisan.
Thompson et al. discloses a cable enclosure system (Title) with an actuator (Figure 9, actuator tab 300) also capable of translating relative to a terminal, wherein the actuator can be engaged and important is bowed to a normally-open position
the default V-shape of the retention spring 200 is actuated to become a U-shape to engage the mechanism,
“shown in FIG. 9, an opposite, actuation end 306 of the actuator tab 300 compresses the V-shape of the retention spring 200 into a substantially U-shape, thereby removing the retaining tab 204 of the retention spring 200 from the engagement slot 152 of the plug of the plug 30 to allow axial movement and removal of the plug 30 from the port 56.”
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the fiber optic terminal of D228 et al. under the teachings of Thompson et al. to include an actuator with a flexible tab that is bowed to the normally open position. This could be accomplished by installing the flexible tab actuator system of Thompson into the invention of D228, under the push-button actuator of D228. This may be accomplished using methods and materials known to the art (a terminal, an actuator, a flexible tab, and routine placement oversight), and would predictably result in an optical connector with a flexible tab component that allows for stable alignment between the fiber and terminal which is easy to use.
Regarding claim 4;
D228 in view of Thompson et al. teaches the fiber optic terminal of claim 1, wherein;
D228 et al. teaches an actuator (230) that is capable of translating within a portion of the at least one securing feature (resilient member 250) passageway of the terminal.
Regarding claim 5;
D228 discloses a fiber optic terminal suitable for receiving and optical mating one or more external fiber optic connectors,
multiport assembly 200 (Figure 1, Figure 17) – a fiber optic terminal – that receives external fiber optic connectors at its ports and optically couples them through internal optical adapters. The phrase “suitable for…receiving and optical mating…” recites intended use; the corresponding structure (ports plus optically-coupling adapters) is affirmatively disclosed, so the limitation is met by structure, not merely capability.
the fiber optic terminal (200) comprising;
a shell (Figure 17, Shell 202);
at least one connection port disposed on the fiber optic terminal with the at least one connection port comprising an optical connector opening extending from an outer surface of the fiber optic terminal, wherein the at least one connection port is configured for receiving and optically mating an external fiber optic connector comprising a latching trigger;
D228 discloses connection ports (optical connection ports 220) disposed on the multiport assembly (Figures 16, 17), each defining a connector insertion path 224 extending from the outer surface of shell 202 inwardly toward the interior cavity housing the optical adapters.
The “latching trigger” is a feature of external connector 100, not the terminal. D228 discloses connector 100 having a locking portion 130 with a port engagement face 132 that triggers latching by engaging the port’s securing member – connector insertion deflects securing member 230 via ramp engagement, and then port engagement face 132 snaps into engagement with connector engagement face 234 to latch (connector locking portions 130/132 at Figures 2, 5; latching engagement at Figures 26-27).
an adapter associated with the at least one connection port for mating fiber optic connectors;
optical adapter 210, one per port, positioned in cavity 204; “structurally configured to receive, align, and optical couple dissimilar optical connectors,” coupling external connector 100 to “another fiber optic connector including a different shape,” forming fiber optic junction 300 (Figures 16B, 17, 18, insertion sequence as shown in Figs. 22-27).
a flexible tab disposed within the shell and associated with the at least one connection port,
a push-button securing member 230 is disposed in shell 202 and intersecting insertion path 224, having a resilient locking portion 233 with connector engagement face 234 that engages the inserted connector (Figures 17-21).
In an embodiment, the opposing arms 274 (Figure 28, 33-36) of securing member 272 are “elastically deformable in an outward direction from the connector insertion path 224 upon depression of the push-button 270”, making them a flexible tab disposed within the shell and associated with the connection port(s)
An actuator capable of translating relative to the fiber optic terminal, wherein the actuator (Figures 16-18, examiner interprets “Push-button securing member” 230 as an actuator) is capable of engaging a portion of the flexible tab for deflecting a portion of the flexible tab.
As shown in Figure 17, the actuator 230 translates within a portion of the passageway while in contact with the securing feature 250.
D228 does not disclose that the flexible tab is bowed to a normally open position.
However, securing member 230 (and arms 274) are biased by resilient member 250 into an ‘engaged’ position – in this instance, it is the opposite orientation and is normally closed. The bias direction is a routine selection among a finite set of predictable alternatives (normally open, normally twisted), making the position obvious to a skilled artisan.
Thompson et al. discloses a cable enclosure system (Title) with an actuator (Figure 9, actuator tab 300) also capable of translating relative to a terminal, wherein the actuator can be engaged and important is bowed to a normally-open position
the default V-shape of the retention spring 200 is actuated to become a U-shape to engage the mechanism,
“shown in FIG. 9, an opposite, actuation end 306 of the actuator tab 300 compresses the V-shape of the retention spring 200 into a substantially U-shape, thereby removing the retaining tab 204 of the retention spring 200 from the engagement slot 152 of the plug of the plug 30 to allow axial movement and removal of the plug 30 from the port 56.”
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the fiber optic terminal of D228 et al. under the teachings of Thompson et al. to include an actuator with a flexible tab that is bowed to the normally open position. This could be accomplished by installing the flexible tab actuator system of Thompson into the invention of D228, under the push-button actuator of D228. This may be accomplished using methods and materials known to the art (a terminal, an actuator, a flexible tab, and routine placement oversight), and would predictably result in an optical connector with a flexible tab component that allows for stable alignment between the fiber and terminal which is easy to use.
Regarding claim 6;
D228 in view of Thompson et al. teaches the fiber optic terminal of claim 1, wherein the flexible tab (230) is capable of deflecting to a connector release position when the actuator engages a portion of the flexible tab.
Regarding claim 7;
D228 in view of Thompson et al. teaches the fiber optic terminal of claim 1, wherein;
an adapter (210) configured for receiving a portion of an external LC connector inserted into the at least one connection port, and acknowledges that LC-type connections are known to the art (col 22, ln 61 onwards; also see Technical Background: “These terminated optical fibers and fiber optic cables are available in a variety of connectorized formats including, for example… LC connectors…”).
Regarding claim 8;
D228 in view of Thompson et al. teaches the fiber optic terminal of claim 1, wherein;
at least one connection port (Figure 22, 222) configured for receiving an LC connector (Technical Background explains how all of the disclosures of Dannoux et al are applicable to LC-type connectors) comprising a trigger (resilient member 250).
Regarding claim 9;
D228 discloses a fiber optic terminal suitable for receiving and optical mating one or more external fiber optic connectors,
D228 discloses multiport assembly 200 (Figure 1, Figure 17) – a fiber optic terminal – that receives external fiber optic connectors at its ports and optically couples them through internal optical adapters. The phrase “suitable for…receiving and optical mating…” recites intended use; the corresponding structure (ports plus optically-coupling adapters) is affirmatively disclosed, so the limitation is met by structure, not merely capability.
the fiber optic terminal comprising;
a shell (Figure 17, Shell 202);
at least one connection port disposed on the fiber optic terminal with the at least one connection port comprising an optical connector opening extending from an outer surface of the fiber optic terminal, wherein the at least one connection port is configured for receiving and optically mating an external LC fiber optic connector comprising a latching trigger;
D228 discloses connection ports (optical connection ports 220) disposed on the multiport assembly (Figures 16, 17), each defining a connector insertion path 224 extending from the outer surface of shell 202 inwardly toward the interior cavity housing the optical adapters.
The “latching trigger” is a feature of external connector 100, not the terminal. D228 discloses connector 100 having a locking portion 130 with a port engagement face 132 that triggers latching by engaging the port’s securing member – connector insertion deflects securing member 230 via ramp engagement, and then port engagement face 132 snaps into engagement with connector engagement face 234 to latch (connector locking portions 130/132 at Figures 2, 5; latching engagement at Figures 26-27).
an adapter associated with the at least one connection port for mating fiber optic connectors, wherein the adapter is configured for receiving a portion of an external LC connector inserted into the at least one connection port;
optical adapter 210, one per port, positioned in cavity 204; “structurally configured to receive, align, and optical couple dissimilar optical connectors,” coupling external connector 100 to “another fiber optic connector including a different shape,” forming fiber optic junction 300 (Figures 16B, 17, 18, insertion sequence as shown in Figs. 22-27).
a flexible tab disposed within the shell and associated with the at least one connection port,
a push-button securing member 230 is disposed in shell 202 and intersecting insertion path 224, having a resilient locking portion 233 with connector engagement face 234 that engages the inserted connector (Figures 17-21).
In an embodiment, the opposing arms 274 (Figure 28, 33-36) of securing member 272 are “elastically deformable in an outward direction from the connector insertion path 224 upon depression of the push-button 270”, making them a flexible tab disposed within the shell and associated with the connection port(s)
An actuator capable of translating relative to the fiber optic terminal, wherein the actuator (Figures 16-18, examiner interprets “Push-button securing member” 230 as an actuator) is capable of engaging a portion of the flexible tab for deflecting a portion of the flexible tab to release an LC connector from the at least one connection port.
LC connectors are one of the standard, assumed forms of connection being utilized and a release function is ubiquitous in the art (see Technical Background).
D228 does not disclose wherein the flexible tab is bowed to a normally-open position
While not expressly disclosed, securing member 230 (and arms 274) are biased by resilient member 250 into an ‘engaged’ position – in this instance, it is the opposite orientation and is normally closed. The bias direction is a routine selection among a finite set of predictable alternatives (normally open, normally twisted), making the position obvious to a skilled artisan.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the fiber optic terminal of D228 et al. under the teachings of Thompson et al. to include an actuator with a flexible tab that is bowed to the normally open position. This could be accomplished by installing the flexible tab actuator system of Thompson into the invention of D228, under the push-button actuator of D228. This may be accomplished using methods and materials known to the art (a terminal, an actuator, a flexible tab, and routine placement oversight), and would predictably result in an optical connector with a flexible tab component that allows for stable alignment between the fiber and terminal which is easy to use.
Regarding claim 10;
D228 in view of Thompson et al. teaches the fiber optic terminal of claim 1;
wherein the fiber optic terminal further comprises an adapter interface insert (210) forming a portion of the optical connector opening and cooperating with the shell (Figure 17).
Regarding claim 11;
D228 in view of Thompson et al teaches the fiber optic terminal of claim 1;
D228 does not expressly disclose the flexible tab as claimed.
Thompson teaches a flexible tab (i.e. flexible tab 300, Figure 7),
wherein the flexible tab (300) is a portion of a common flexible tab component (i.e. Figures 9 and 10 depict many components that comprise a flexible tab component: end 202 of the retention spring 200 is received in a channel 302 of the tab 300) that comprises a plurality of flexible tabs (Figure 7, many flexible tabs 300).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the invention described in the rejection of claim 1 above under the teachings of Thompson to include a flexible tab that is both a portion of the flexible tab component and one of a plurality of tabs. This may be accomplished using ordinary techniques and components known to a skilled artisan, and would predictably result in a multiport device that handles many connections which are easily removable and also which may be mass produced, increasing manufacturing efficiency and reliability in use.
Regarding claim 12;
D228 discloses a fiber optic terminal suitable for receiving and optical mating one or more external fiber optic connectors
D228 discloses multiport assembly 200 (Figure 1, Figure 17), this is a fiber optic terminal that receives external fiber optic connectors at its ports and optically couples them through internal optical adapters. The phrase “suitable for…receiving and optical mating…” recites intended use; the corresponding structure (ports plus optically-coupling adapters) is affirmatively disclosed, so the limitation is met by structure, not merely capability.
the fiber optic terminal comprising;
a shell (Figure 17, Shell 202);
at least one connection port disposed on the fiber optic terminal with each of the plurality of connection ports comprising an optical connector opening extending from an outer surface of the fiber optic terminal toward a cavity of the fiber optic terminal wherein each of the plurality of connections ports is configured for receiving and optically mating an external fiber optic connector;
D228 discloses connection ports (optical connection ports 220) disposed on the multiport assembly (Figures 16, 17), each defining a connector insertion path 224 extending from the outer surface of shell 202 inwardly toward the interior cavity housing the optical adapters.
an adapter interface insert forming a portion of the optical connector opening and cooperating with the shell;
the examiner understands the adapter interface insert of the instant application to be element 220; as seen in Figure 4, a solid component between the outer walls and the connecting portion which is machined to minimize the tolerance and improve the fit of the connector at the adapter interface. This is found in the prior art as well, though not named an ’adapter interface insert’ – Figure 17 and 18 show a number of components that read on this at the adapter 210’s interface boundary in D228.
an adapter associated with the at least one connection port for optically mating and internal fiber optic connector with one or more external fiber optic connectors;
optical adapter 210, one per port, positioned in cavity 204; “structurally configured to receive, align, and optical couple dissimilar optical connectors,” coupling external connector 100 to “another fiber optic connector including a different shape,” forming fiber optic junction 300 (Figures 16B, 17, 18, insertion sequence as shown in Figs. 22-27).
A plurality of flexible tabs disposed within the shell with each one of the plurality of flexible tabs associated with a respective connection port, and the plurality of flexible tabs are integrally-formed on a common flexible tab component;
a push-button securing member 230 is disposed in shell 202 and intersecting insertion path 224, having a resilient locking portion 233 with connector engagement face 234 that engages the inserted connector (Figures 17-21).
In an embodiment, the opposing arms 274 (Figure 28, 33-36) of securing member 272 are “elastically deformable in an outward direction from the connector insertion path 224 upon depression of the push-button 270”, making them a flexible tab disposed within the shell and associated with the connection port(s)
A plurality of actuators capable of translating relative to the fiber optic terminal, wherein the actuator (Figures 16-18, examiner interprets “Push-button securing member” 230 as an actuator, and there are many) is capable of engaging a portion of the flexible tab for deflecting a portion of the flexible tab.
D228 does not teach that wherein the flexible tab is bowed to a normally-open position
While not expressly disclosed, securing member 230 (and arms 274) are biased by resilient member 250 into an ‘engaged’ position – in this instance, it is the opposite orientation and is normally closed. The bias direction is a routine selection among a finite set of predictable alternatives (normally open, normally twisted), making the position obvious to a skilled artisan.
Thompson et al. discloses a cable enclosure system (Title) with an actuator (Figure 9, actuator tab 300) also capable of translating relative to a terminal, wherein the actuator can be engaged and important is bowed to a normally-open position
the default V-shape of the retention spring 200 is actuated to become a U-shape to engage the mechanism,
“shown in FIG. 9, an opposite, actuation end 306 of the actuator tab 300 compresses the V-shape of the retention spring 200 into a substantially U-shape, thereby removing the retaining tab 204 of the retention spring 200 from the engagement slot 152 of the plug of the plug 30 to allow axial movement and removal of the plug 30 from the port 56.”
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the fiber optic terminal of D228 et al. under the teachings of Thompson et al. to include an actuator with a flexible tab that is bowed to the normally open position. This could be accomplished by installing the flexible tab actuator system of Thompson into the invention of D228, under the push-button actuator of D228. This may be accomplished using methods and materials known to the art (a terminal, an actuator, a flexible tab, and routine placement oversight), and would predictably result in an optical connector with a flexible tab component that allows for stable alignment between the fiber and terminal which is easy to use.
Regarding claim 13;
D228 in view of Thompson et al. teaches the fiber optic terminal of claim 12;
D228 does not disclose that the common flexible tab component comprises at least one alignment feature that cooperates with the adapter interface insert.
Thompson teaches that the common flexible tab component comprises at least one alignment feature that cooperates with the adapter interface insert (retention spring 200 contains retaining tab 204 which is an alignment feature which cooperates with the engagement slot 152).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize the alignment features of the adapter interface insert in D228 et al to cooperate with the flexible tab component using methods known to the art (i.e., orienting the interface insert properly within the shell and machining a groove or nook to permit mechanical alignment). This would have the predictable effect of ensuring that the connections are aligned properly with the flexible tabs, secure, and maximizing efficiency of signal transfer.
Regarding claim 14;
D228 in view of Thompson et al. teaches the fiber optic terminal of claim 1.
D228 does not disclose the flexible tab as claimed.
Thompson discloses the flexible tab (300) which deflects to a connector release position when the actuator engages a portion of the flexible tab (Figures 9, 10 show this in sequence).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the invention described in the rejection of claim 1 above under the teachings of Thompson to ensure that the flexible tab deflects to a connector release position when actuated. This is a ubiquitous application of button/press activated connection portions and could be implemented using techniques and components known to a skilled artisan; additionally, the implementation of Thompson’s teachings in the invention of claim 1 already configures the invention to operate as claimed. Predictably, this design configuration would result in a multiport terminal which reliably permits the addition and removal of connections.
Regarding claim 15;
D228 in view of Thompson et al. teaches the fiber optic terminal of claim 1;
D228 does not disclose the flexible tab as claimed.
Thompson discloses the flexible tab (300) wherein the flexible tab (300) biases the actuator to a normally open position (the flexible tab is not rigid, and would build elastic potential if pressed, which means the equilibrium state is one that biases the actuator to the normally-open position).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the invention described in the rejection of claim 1 above under the teachings of Thompson to ensure that the flexible tab biases the actuator to a normally open position (this is an unavoidable outcome of the mechanical structure). This may be accomplished using components and routine design judgment exercised by a skilled artisan, and would predictably result in a device where the actuator is primed to be pressed or pushed for actuation.
Regarding claim 16;
D228 in view of Thompson et al. teaches the fiber optic terminal of claim 1;
D228 discloses a terminal further comprising one or more adapters positioned within the cavity
D228 discloses multiport assembly 200 (Figure 1, Figure 17) – a fiber optic terminal – that receives external fiber optic connectors at its ports and optically couples them through internal optical adapters. The phrase “suitable for…receiving and optical mating…” recites intended use; the corresponding structure (ports plus optically-coupling adapters) is affirmatively disclosed, so the limitation is met by structure, not merely capability.
Regarding claim 17;
D228 in view of Thompson et al. teaches the fiber optic terminal of claim 1.
D228 does not explicitly teach wherein the fiber optic terminal further comprises a sealing member, but sealing members and components are well established in the art and address a common design goal for insulation from the environment
Thompson [US 8917966 B2] describes sealing portions in the optical connector space, “…the sealing portion of the body member is an O-ring extending around the cylindrical portion of the body…”)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the invention described in the rejection of claim 1 above under the teachings of Thompson to utilize a sealing member in the design. This may be accomplished using known components (O-ring) and would predictably result in a device which is less susceptible to environmental damage and signal loss.
Regarding claim 18;
D228 in view of Thompson et al. teaches the fiber optic terminal of claim 1;
the fiber optic terminal further comprises an internal fiber optic connector disposed within the adapter (“Each of the optical adapters 210 are structurally configured to receive, align, and optically couple dissimilar optical connectors”).
Regarding claim 19;
D228 in view of Thompson et al. teaches the fiber optic terminal of claim 1,
D228 does not disclose the first and second shell portions as claimed.
Thompson discloses a shell (52) comprising a first portion (54) and a second portion (55).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the invention described in the rejection of claim 1 above under the teachings of Thompson to include a shell comprising two portions. This could be accomplished using two components machined and fit together using methods known to a skilled artisan. Predictably, this would result in a device with greater internal access and configurability.
Regarding claim 20;
D228 in view of Thompson et al. teaches the fiber optic terminal of claim 19,
D228 does not disclose a sealing portion as claimed.
Thompson [US 8917966 B2] describes sealing portions in the optical connector space, “…the sealing portion of the body member is an O-ring extending around the cylindrical portion of the body…”)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the invention described in the rejection of claim 1 above under the teachings of Thompson to utilize a sealing portion in the design. This may be accomplished using known components (O-ring) and would predictably result in a device which is less susceptible to environmental damage and signal loss.
Regarding claim 21;
D228 in view of Thompson et al discloses the fiber optic terminal of claim 1;
D228 does not disclose the shell as claimed.
Thompson discloses that at least one connection port (56) is a portion of the shell (52).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the invention described in the rejection of claim 1 above under the teachings of Thompson to have at least one connection port in a portion of the shell. This may be accomplished using machining techniques and tools known in the art, and would predictably result in a device which accepts many optical connections.
Regarding claim 22;
D228 in view of Thompson et al. teaches the fiber optic terminal of claim 1;
further comprising at least one optical fiber (Figure 22) routed from the at least one connection port toward an input connection port of the fiber optic terminal (Figures 17-18).
Regarding claim 23;
D228 in view of Thompson et al discloses the fiber optic terminal of claim 22;
wherein the at least one optical fiber is terminated with an LC-type connector (Technical Background, the invention is expressly directed towards connectors like LC type connectors) and in optical communication with the at least one connection port (220).
Regarding claim 24;
D228 in view of Thompson et al. teaches the fiber optic terminal of claim 1;
further comprising an input connection port configured as a single-fiber input connection port of a multifiber input connection port (any of the ports may be configured for input).
Regarding claim 25;
D228 in view of Thompson et al. teaches the fiber optic terminal of claim 1, which contains an input connection port for feeder cables and teaches multiple uses for the entryway (col 4, ln 37-52).
While D228 does not precisely name an input tether, an input tether is known to the art as an incoming cable assembly carrying one or more optical fibers, and is implied to have no alternate definition in the instant application – thus, the input tether is known to a skill artisan and an obvious design choice in applications with upstream inputs into downstream connections.
Regarding claim 26;
D228 in view of Thompson et al. teaches the fiber optic terminal of claim 1;
a shell (200) with a further defining volume that can be 800 cubic centimeters or less (280 for port spacing, 189 for cable height estimate).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the device described in the rejection of claim 1 above with a specific geometry using routine design oversight and without altering the function of the claimed device. This would predictably give us a fiber optic terminal with a shell enclosing less than 800 cubic centimeters, permitting application in tighter spaces with lower volume footprint.
Regarding claim 28;
D228 in view of Thompson et al. teaches the fiber optic terminal of claim 1;
wherein the terminal comprises a port width density of at least one connection port per each 13 millimeters width of the terminal.
1 connection sits within roughly 11 millimeters: “a finger spacing between the opposing interior faces of the opposing fingers is between 10.80 millimeters and 10.85 millimeters, a finger depth along a direction parallel to the longitudinal axis of the connector housing is between 8.45 millimeters and 8.55 millimeters, a finger width along a direction perpendicular to the finger depth and the longitudinal axis of the connector housing is less than 10 millimeters, outer faces of the opposing fingers lie along a common outside diameter of between 15.75 millimeters and 15.85 millimeters, an outer face of one of the opposing fingers is truncated in a plane parallel to the opposing interior faces to define a truncated span of between about 14.75 millimeters and about 14.95 millimeters…”
Conclusion
/PREET B PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/THOMAS A HOLLWEG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874