DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 05/06/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 6, 9, 12-13 have been amended, claims 2-4, 10, 14-16 have been cancelled, and new claim 19 has been added. Therefore, claims 1, 5-9, 11-13 and 17-19 are now pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-7, 11-13, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schack et al. (US – 2005/0247528 A1) and further in view of Olschewski et al. (US – 6,554, 109 B1).
As per claim 1, Schack discloses Actuation Unit For An Electromechanically-actuated Disc Brake comprising:
a spindle (17, 20, 21, [0020], Fig: 1), which is driven in rotation by an electric motor (10, [0020], Fig: 1), and a brake piston in a form of a spindle nut (16, [0020], Fig: 1), which surrounds the spindle and is configured to press against a brake lining (Fig: 1), the spindle being axially supported on an axial bearing (26, [0024], Fig: 1), wherein a spindle drive has a core diameter of a thread of the brake piston for axial displaceability of the brake piston (Attached figure and Fig: 1), , the spindle having on a brake lining side a shaft portion (17, Fig: 1) which is thickened in cross-section (Attached figure and Fig: 1) and having a transmission thread of the spindle drive on an outer lateral surface (Attached figure and Fig: 1), and a drive shaft prolongation of comparatively smaller cross-section (21, Fig: 1), and a transition portion (20, Fig: 1) is formed between the shaft portion and the drive shaft prolongation (Fig: 1), the axial bearing (26) abutting a contact face provided by the transition portion (Fig: 1).
Schack discloses all the structural elements of the claimed invention but fails to explicitly disclose the core diameter of the thread being larger than an outside diameter of the axial bearing.
Olschewski discloses Actuator Having A Central Support, And Brake Caliper comprising:
the core diameter of the thread being (Attached figure and Fig: 5) larger than an outside diameter of the axial bearing (Attached figure and Fig: 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Actuation Unit For An Electromechanically-actuated Disc Brake of the hack to make the core diameter of the thread being larger than an outside diameter of the axial bearing as taught by Olschewski in order to provide control the actuator load and thus the brake force and stable positioning or centering the actuator, and provide an accurate and repeatable displacement in response to control signals.
As per claim 6, Schack discloses wherein the axial bearing (26, Fig: 1) is supported on a base of a brake housing (15, 12, Fig: 1).
As per claim 7, Schack discloses wherein an axial bearing washer (40, Fig: 2a) is arranged axially between the axial bearing and the base of the brake housing (Fig: 1, 2a) and is pressed in the brake housing by frictional engagement and/or interlocking engagement in such a manner that it is secured against rotation ([0024], Fig: 1).
As per claim 11, Schack discloses wherein the brake piston (16) has on a brake lining side an end wall (Attached figure and Fig: 1) which presses against the brake lining when the brake is operated ([0020] and [0023], Attached figure and Fig: 1).
As per claim 12, Schack discloses wherein the spindle drive has a ball screw (18, 19, [0023], Fig: 1).
As per claim 13, Schack discloses wherein further including brake linings (4, 5, Fig: 1) which can be moved towards one another, and [[an]] the electric motor (10) which is coupled in a torque- transmitting manner with the spindle ([0020], Fig: 1).
As per claim 19, Schack discloses wherein a cup- shaped bushing (12, Fig: 1) accommodates and mounts the brake piston (16) in the brake housing (15, Fig: 1).
Claim(s) 5, 8-9 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schack et al. (US – 2005/0247528 A1) as modified by Olschewski et al. (US – 6,554, 109 B1) as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and further in view of Schmidt et al. (US – 4,721,190).
As per claim 5, Schack as modified by Olschewski discloses all the structural elements of the claimed invention but fails to explicitly disclose wherein there is provided a brake housing which has a base and which accommodates the brake piston in its interior.
Schmidt discloses Mechanical Actuation Device For Spot-type Disc Brakes comprising:
wherein there is provided a brake housing (13, 40, Fig: 1) which has a base (40, Fig: 1) and which accommodates the brake piston (17, 20) in its interior (Attached figure and Fig: 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Actuation Unit For An Electromechanically-actuated Disc Brake of the Schack to provide a brake housing which has a base and which accommodates the brake piston in its interior as taught by Schmidt in order to stuck due to corrosion jam and smooth operation of the brake and reduce part.
As per claim 8, Schmidt further discloses wherein a rotation lock (28, Fig: 1) is provided between the brake housing (13, 40) and the brake piston (17, Fig: 1) accommodated in a linearly displaceable manner therein, which rotation lock permits a linear displacement of the brake piston (17) but prevents the brake piston from rotating relative to the brake housing (A bolt 28 projecting radially inward from leg 13 engages in a longitudinal slot 29 of actuating nut 20 and, thus, secures actuating nut 20 against rotation without inhibiting its axial slidability in the normal actuating range, Col: 5, Ln: 5-120, Fig: 1).
As per claim 9, Schmidt further discloses wherein a gasket (48, Fig: 1) is provided on a brake lining side between the brake piston (17, 20, Fig: 1) and the brake housing (13, 40, Fig: 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Actuation Unit For An Electromechanically-actuated Disc Brake of the Schack to include the gasket is provided on a brake lining side between the brake piston and the brake housing as taught by Schmidt in order to stuck due to corrosion jam and smooth operation of the brake and reduce part.
As per claim 18, Schack discloses wherein the spindle drive has a ball screw (18, 19, [0023], Fig: 1).
As per claim 17, Schmidt further discloses wherein a rotation lock (28, Fig: 1) is provided between the brake housing and the brake piston accommodated in a linearly displaceable manner therein, which rotation lock permits a linear displacement of the brake piston but prevents the brake piston from rotating relative to the brake housing (A bolt 28 projecting radially inward from leg 13 engages in a longitudinal slot 29 of actuating nut 20 and, thus, secures actuating nut 20 against rotation without inhibiting its axial slidability in the normal actuating range, Col: 5, Ln: 5-10, Fig: 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see REMARK, filed 05/06/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 5-9, 11-13 and 17-19 under 35 U.S.C.103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Schack et al. (US – 2005/0247528 A1) and further in view of Olschewski et al. (US – 6,554, 109 B1) and Schmidt et al. (US – 4,721,190).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/SAN M AUNG/Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/Robert A. Siconolfi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616