DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
This final office action is a response to the reply received on 02/05/2026. Claims 1-18 are pending. Claims 15-18 have been newly added. Claims 1, 3, 7, and 9-10 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
The objection to Claim 11 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s additional arguments with respect to Claims 1-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Priority
The applicant’s claim to priority of JP2021-188372 on 11/19/2021 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 7-9, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Matsuda (US 20170297552 A1) in view of Park (US 20170144651 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Matsuda discloses:
A straddle type vehicle comprising: (See at least Figure 1 which illustrates the straddle-type vehicle)
a driven wheel which is a front wheel used for steering; a drive wheel which is a rear wheel and configured to cause a force to act on a road surface; (See at least ¶0044 via "As shown in FIG. 1, the electric motorcycle 1 includes a front wheel 2 which is a driven wheel and a rear wheel 3 which is a drive wheel.")
a vehicle body supported by the drive wheel; (See at least Figure 1 and ¶0045 via "A vehicle body frame of the electric motorcycle 1 includes a pair of main frames 9 extending in a substantially linear shape in a side view such that they extend rightward and leftward from the head pipe 5 in a rearward direction and are inclined in a slightly downward direction.")
at least one traveling driver configured to generate a torque to be transmitted to the drive wheel; (See at least ¶0046 via "The case 13 of the power plant 12 accommodates an electric motor 18 for generating driving power")
a gyroscope configured to detect a posture of the vehicle body; (See at least ¶0050 via "For example, when the bank angle of the vehicle body, from the upright state, which is detected by the bank angle sensor 41, is equal to or greater than a predetermined angle, the cornering determiner section 49 determines that the electric motorcycle 1 is cornering." and also ¶0075 via "For example, the cornering determiner section 49 may determine that the electric motorcycle 1 is cornering when a steering angle detected by a steering angle sensor is greater than a predetermined value, when a lateral acceleration detected by a lateral acceleration sensor is greater than a predetermined value, or a lateral vehicle body bank angle detected by a gyro sensor is greater.")
a booster configured to accept a boost command; and (See at least ¶0052 via "The normal mode executing section 51 executes the normal mode for controlling the output (to be precise, torque) of the electric motor 18 in response to the driving command received by the driving command reception section 48.")
a processing circuit configured to control the at least one traveling driver, wherein the processing circuit is configured to: (See at least ¶0047 via "ECU 23 includes a processor 24 and associated electronic memory. As shown in FIG. 2, sensors 30 to 41 are connected as inputs to the ECU 23.")
determine a target torque of the traveling driver as a normal torque in accordance with a predetermined travel rule when the boost command is not given to the booster; (See at least Figure 3 via S1: Normal Mode, which is the initial mode prior to any commands. Also see at least ¶0053 via "As shown in FIGS. 3 and 5, initially, when a power supply of the electric motorcycle 1 is ON, the mode shift control section 50 sets the driving mode to the normal mode (step S1).")
change, upon receiving a boost signal from the booster, the target torque from the normal torque to a boost torque obtained by adding a predetermined boost amount to the normal torque; (See at least ¶0053 via "In this normal mode, the output of the electric motor 18 is controlled in response to the driving command received by the driving command reception section 48, and the output of the electric motor 18 is increased or decreased according to an increase or decrease in the accelerator displacement amount." and ¶0052 via "The output rapid-increase mode executing section 54 executes the output rapid-increase mode to compensate the motor output corresponding to the accelerator displacement amount such that it is greater than the motor output in the normal mode for a specified time, when rapid acceleration is commanded, that is, an increase rate of the accelerator displacement amount detected by the accelerator displacement amount sensor 37 is equal to or greater than a predetermined value" *Wherein the rapid increase mode is predetermined control that is triggered by a boost command, and outputs torque greater than that of the normal mode, which is the predetermined boost amount)
upon receiving the boost signal from the booster and receiving a predetermined inclination signal from the gyroscope, in order to decrease a torque change of the drive wheel which is the rear, (See at least ¶0052 via "The output rapid-increase mode executing section 54 executes the output rapid-increase mode to compensate the motor output corresponding to the accelerator displacement amount such that it is greater than the motor output in the normal mode for a specified time, when rapid acceleration is commanded, that is, an increase rate of the accelerator displacement amount detected by the accelerator displacement amount sensor 37 is equal to or greater than a predetermined value" as well as ¶0050 via "The driving command reception section 48 receives the signal…For example, when the bank angle of the vehicle body, from the upright state, which is detected by the bank angle sensor 41, is equal to or greater than a predetermined angle, the cornering determiner section 49 determines that the electric motorcycle 1 is cornering." and also ¶0056 via "On the other hand, when the cornering determiner section 49 determines that the electric motorcycle 1 is cornering (step S3: Y), in the state in which the output limiting mode shift condition is satisfied (step S2: Y), the mode shift control section 50 inhibits the electric motorcycle 1 from shifting to the output limiting mode (step S5)"in addition to ¶0008 via "The phrase “a change in the motor output is caused to be less (suppressed)” means that a change in the motor output due to the mode shift is prevented by inhibiting the mode shift")
correct the target torque such that a torque change of the drive wheel which is the rear wheel when the target torque is changed from the normal torque to the boost torque is decreased as compared with a case where the inclination signal is not received to the boost torque obtained by (See at least Figure 3 via S12-S17 and also see at least ¶0008 via "The phrase “a change in the motor output is caused to be less (suppressed)” means that a change in the motor output due to the mode shift is prevented by inhibiting the mode shift, and the mode shift is performed while keeping a state in which a change in the motor output due to the mode shift is lessened, than when the electric motorcycle is not cornering" as well as ¶0052 via "The output rapid-increase mode executing section 54 executes the output rapid-increase mode to compensate the motor output corresponding to the accelerator displacement amount such that it is greater than the motor output in the normal mode for a specified time").
However, although Matsuda discloses the boost torque (See at least ¶0052); Matsuda does not explicitly disclose the corrected boost amount being calculated by subtracting a decreasing correction amount from the predetermined boost amount.
Nevertheless, Park--who is directed towards a method for controlling torque intervention of a hybrid vehicle--discloses: set a corrected (See at least ¶0056 via "the controller 205 may reduce the increased torque of the motor as a value obtained by subtracting the reduced torque of the engine from the amount of torque intervention request for the transmission 250." **Wherein Park is calculating a modified motor torque by subtracting a torque reduction amount from a requested torque, thus corresponding to a corrected torque)
adding the corrected (See at least ¶0057 via "After the inertia phase time interval, the controller 205 may increase torque of the engine 210 as much as the reduced torque of the engine by increasing the amount of air supplied to the engine in the state in which the control for generating optimal combustion efficiency is maintained and may increase torque of the motor 230 as much as a value obtained by subtracting the increased torque of the engine from a torque required for input of the transmission 250 (or the transmission input torque)." and ¶0090 via "An engine torque command may be a command that corresponds to an engine torque value obtained by subtracting the motor torque command (or the motor torque value) from the current demand torque)" **Wherein if the engine torque = demand torque - motor torque, then the demand torque = engine torque + motor torque, and the motor torque is being added as an adjustable torque to supplement--which corresponds to a boost torque).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Matsuda in view of Park's torque intervention in order to improve the control of the torque outputs during transitions in dynamic conditions: "a torque intervention (or a torque reduction) to the transmission in order to prevent gear shifting shock at gear shifting and protect the transmission. In particular, in order to reduce the shock that occurs when a clutch in the transmission is connected or disconnected during gear shifting, torque intervention control that momentarily reduces a torque inputted to the transmission is performed" [Park ¶0011].
Regarding Claim 2, Modified Matsuda discloses the straddle type vehicle according to Claim 1.
Furthermore, Matsuda discloses: wherein the correction of the target torque includes correcting to decrease the boost amount (See at least Figure 3 via "S15: Inhibit Mode Shift" and ¶0008 via "The phrase “a change in the motor output is caused to be less (suppressed)” means that a change in the motor output due to the mode shift is prevented by inhibiting the mode shift, and the mode shift is performed while keeping a state in which a change in the motor output due to the mode shift is lessened, than when the electric motorcycle is not cornering").
Regarding Claim 4, Modified Matsuda discloses the straddle type vehicle according to Claim 1.
Furthermore, Matsuda discloses: further comprising: a transmission disposed in a power transmission path from the traveling driver to the drive wheel; and (See at least Figure 1 via Transmission 19)
a transmission sensor configured to detect a gear ratio of the transmission, (See at least ¶0047 via " A gear position sensor 40 detects a transmission gear position (reduction gear ratio) of the transmission 19.")
wherein the correction of the target torque includes correcting the target torque such that a decrease amount of the torque change of the drive wheel is increased as the gear ratio detected by the transmission sensor increases (See at least Figures 12-13 and ¶0074 via "…the mode shift control section 50 may change a degree to which the change in the output of the electric motor 18 is suppressed may be varied according to vehicle driving state(s) (at least one of bank angle, motor rotational speed, vehicle speed, gear ratio, corner curvature) during the cornering"…" For example, when the bank angle detected by the bank angle sensor 41 is less than a first predetermined bank angle, the motor rotational speed detected by the rotational speed sensor 35 is equal to or more than a first predetermined rotational speed, the vehicle speed detected by the vehicle speed sensor 36 is equal to or greater than a first predetermined vehicle speed, the reduction gear ratio of the gear position detected by the gear position sensor 40 is less than a predetermined value, and/or the corner curvature is less than a predetermined value, it may be determined that the vehicle driving state is the vehicle driving state in which a change in the driving power affects the driver less.")
Regarding Claim 7, Matsuda discloses:
A straddle type vehicle comprising: (See at least Figure 1 which illustrates the straddle-type vehicle)
a drive wheel configured to cause a force to act on a road surface; (See at least ¶0044 via "As shown in FIG. 1, the electric motorcycle 1 includes a front wheel 2 which is a driven wheel and a rear wheel 3 which is a drive wheel.")
a vehicle body supported by the drive wheel; (See at least Figure 1 and ¶0045 via "A vehicle body frame of the electric motorcycle 1 includes a pair of main frames 9 extending in a substantially linear shape in a side view such that they extend rightward and leftward from the head pipe 5 in a rearward direction and are inclined in a slightly downward direction.")
at least one traveling driver configured to generate a torque to be transmitted to the drive wheel; (See at least ¶0046 via "The case 13 of the power plant 12 accommodates an electric motor 18 for generating driving power")
a gyroscope configured to detect a posture of the vehicle body; (See at least ¶0050 via "For example, when the bank angle of the vehicle body, from the upright state, which is detected by the bank angle sensor 41, is equal to or greater than a predetermined angle, the cornering determiner section 49 determines that the electric motorcycle 1 is cornering." and also ¶0075 via "For example, the cornering determiner section 49 may determine that the electric motorcycle 1 is cornering when a steering angle detected by a steering angle sensor is greater than a predetermined value, when a lateral acceleration detected by a lateral acceleration sensor is greater than a predetermined value, or a lateral vehicle body bank angle detected by a gyro sensor is greater.")
a booster configured to accept a boost command; and (See at least ¶0052 via "The normal mode executing section 51 executes the normal mode for controlling the output (to be precise, torque) of the electric motor 18 in response to the driving command received by the driving command reception section 48.")
a processing circuit configured to control the at least one traveling driver, wherein the processing circuit is configured to: (See at least ¶0047 via "ECU 23 includes a processor 24 and associated electronic memory. As shown in FIG. 2, sensors 30 to 41 are connected as inputs to the ECU 23.")
determine a target torque of the traveling driver as a normal torque in accordance with a predetermined travel rule when the boost command is not given to the booster; (See at least Figure 3 via S1: Normal Mode, which is the initial mode prior to any commands. Also see at least ¶0053 via "As shown in FIGS. 3 and 5, initially, when a power supply of the electric motorcycle 1 is ON, the mode shift control section 50 sets the driving mode to the normal mode (step S1).")
change, upon receiving a boost signal from the booster, the target torque from the normal torque to a boost torque obtained by adding a predetermined boost amount to the normal torque; (See at least ¶0053 via "In this normal mode, the output of the electric motor 18 is controlled in response to the driving command received by the driving command reception section 48, and the output of the electric motor 18 is increased or decreased according to an increase or decrease in the accelerator displacement amount." and ¶0052 via "The output rapid-increase mode executing section 54 executes the output rapid-increase mode to compensate the motor output corresponding to the accelerator displacement amount such that it is greater than the motor output in the normal mode for a specified time, when rapid acceleration is commanded, that is, an increase rate of the accelerator displacement amount detected by the accelerator displacement amount sensor 37 is equal to or greater than a predetermined value" *Wherein the rapid increase mode is predetermined control that is triggered by a boost command, and outputs torque greater than that of the normal mode, which is the predetermined boost amount)
upon receiving the boost signal from the booster and receiving a predetermined inclination signal from the gyroscope, in order to decrease a torque change of the drive wheel,(See at least ¶0052 via "The output rapid-increase mode executing section 54 executes the output rapid-increase mode to compensate the motor output corresponding to the accelerator displacement amount such that it is greater than the motor output in the normal mode for a specified time, when rapid acceleration is commanded, that is, an increase rate of the accelerator displacement amount detected by the accelerator displacement amount sensor 37 is equal to or greater than a predetermined value" as well as ¶0050 via "The driving command reception section 48 receives the signal…For example, when the bank angle of the vehicle body, from the upright state, which is detected by the bank angle sensor 41, is equal to or greater than a predetermined angle, the cornering determiner section 49 determines that the electric motorcycle 1 is cornering." and also ¶0056 via "On the other hand, when the cornering determiner section 49 determines that the electric motorcycle 1 is cornering (step S3: Y), in the state in which the output limiting mode shift condition is satisfied (step S2: Y), the mode shift control section 50 inhibits the electric motorcycle 1 from shifting to the output limiting mode (step S5)"in addition to ¶0008 via "The phrase “a change in the motor output is caused to be less (suppressed)” means that a change in the motor output due to the mode shift is prevented by inhibiting the mode shift")
correct the target torque to the boost torque obtained by (See at least Figure 3 via S12-S17 and also see at least ¶0008 via "The phrase “a change in the motor output is caused to be less (suppressed)” means that a change in the motor output due to the mode shift is prevented by inhibiting the mode shift, and the mode shift is performed while keeping a state in which a change in the motor output due to the mode shift is lessened, than when the electric motorcycle is not cornering" as well as ¶0052 via "The output rapid-increase mode executing section 54 executes the output rapid-increase mode to compensate the motor output corresponding to the accelerator displacement amount such that it is greater than the motor output in the normal mode for a specified time")
a state in which the predetermined inclination signal is not received from the gyroscope and the target torque is transitioned from the normal torque to the boost torque is defined as a normal transition state, (See at least Figure 3 via S12, S13, and S17; and also ¶0056 via "Then, when the cornering determiner section 49 determines that the electric motorcycle 1 is not cornering (step S13: N) in the state in which the output rapid-increase mode shift condition is satisfied (step S12: Y), the mode shift control section 50 shifts the electric motorcycle 1 to the output rapid-increase mode (step S17)." *Which describes a state in which the vehicle is not cornering and can normally transition to the boosted state)
a state in which the predetermined inclination signal is received from the gyroscope and the target torque is transitioned from the normal torque to the boost torque is defined as an inclination transition state, and (See at least Figure 3 via S12, S13, S14, S17 and ¶0067 via "…Or, when the cornering determiner section 49 determines that the electric motorcycle 1 has reached the final phase of the cornering (step S14: Y) in the state in which the output rapid-increase mode shift condition is satisfied (step S12: Y), the mode shift control section 50 shifts the electric motorcycle 1 to the output rapid-increase mode (step S17). According to this, when the electric motorcycle 1 has reached the final phase of the cornering, the compensation for increasing the motor output is not inhibited and a great acceleration is allowed. Therefore, accelerated driving smoothly occurs at the end of the corner.")
the correction of the target torque includes correcting the target torque in the inclination transition state such that an increase rate per unit time of a transient torque of the drive wheel in the inclination transition state is decreased relative to an increase rate per unit time of the transient torque of the drive wheel in the normal transition state (See at least Figure 12, ¶0072, and ¶0074 via "In other words, a change rate of the output of the electric motor 18, which occurs with time, may be made less, as the vehicle driving state approaches the state in which a change in the driving power affects the driver more, than when it is determined that the mode shift condition is satisfied and it is determined that the electric motorcycle 1 is not cornering.")
However, although Matsuda discloses the boost torque (See at least ¶0052); Matsuda does not explicitly disclose the corrected boost amount being calculated by subtracting a decreasing correction amount from the predetermined boost amount.
Nevertheless, Park--who is directed towards a method for controlling torque intervention of a hybrid vehicle--discloses: set a corrected (See at least ¶0056 via "the controller 205 may reduce the increased torque of the motor as a value obtained by subtracting the reduced torque of the engine from the amount of torque intervention request for the transmission 250." **Wherein Park is calculating a modified motor torque by subtracting a torque reduction amount from a requested torque, thus corresponding to a corrected torque)
adding the corrected (See at least ¶0057 via "After the inertia phase time interval, the controller 205 may increase torque of the engine 210 as much as the reduced torque of the engine by increasing the amount of air supplied to the engine in the state in which the control for generating optimal combustion efficiency is maintained and may increase torque of the motor 230 as much as a value obtained by subtracting the increased torque of the engine from a torque required for input of the transmission 250 (or the transmission input torque)." and ¶0090 via "An engine torque command may be a command that corresponds to an engine torque value obtained by subtracting the motor torque command (or the motor torque value) from the current demand torque)" **Wherein if the engine torque = demand torque - motor torque, then the demand torque = engine torque + motor torque, and the motor torque is being added as an adjustable torque to supplement--which corresponds to a boost torque).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Matsuda in view of Park's torque intervention in order to improve the control of the torque outputs during transitions in dynamic conditions: "a torque intervention (or a torque reduction) to the transmission in order to prevent gear shifting shock at gear shifting and protect the transmission. In particular, in order to reduce the shock that occurs when a clutch in the transmission is connected or disconnected during gear shifting, torque intervention control that momentarily reduces a torque inputted to the transmission is performed" [Park ¶0011].
Regarding Claim 8, Modified Matsuda discloses the straddle type vehicle according to Claim 7.
Furthermore, Matsuda discloses: wherein the gyroscope detects an inclination angle of the vehicle body, and (See at least ¶0050 via "For example, when the bank angle of the vehicle body, from the upright state, which is detected by the bank angle sensor 41, is equal to or greater than a predetermined angle, the cornering determiner section 49 determines that the electric motorcycle 1 is cornering.", also see ¶0075 via gyro sensor)
the correction of the target torque includes increasing a decreasing correction amount of the increase rate per unit time of the transient torque of the drive wheel in the inclination transition state (See at least Figure 12, ¶0072, and ¶0074 via "In other words, a change rate of the output of the electric motor 18, which occurs with time, may be made less, as the vehicle driving state approaches the state in which a change in the driving power affects the driver more, than when it is determined that the mode shift condition is satisfied and it is determined that the electric motorcycle 1 is not cornering.")
as the inclination angle of the vehicle body detected by the gyroscope increases (See at least ¶0074 via "On the other hand, during a vehicle driving state in which a change in the driving power affects the driver more, the degree to which the change in the output of the electric motor 18 is suppressed is made greater, than during the vehicle driving state in which a change in the driving power affects the driver less (one-dotted line B in FIGS. 12 and 13). In other words, a change rate of the output of the electric motor 18, which occurs with time, may be made less, as the vehicle driving state approaches the state in which a change in the driving power affects the driver more, than when it is determined that the mode shift condition is satisfied and it is determined that the electric motorcycle 1 is not cornering." *Wherein the larger inclination is associated with a larger impact on the driver and a lesser inclination is associated with a lesser impact on the driver).
Regarding Claim 9, Modified Matsuda discloses the straddle type vehicle according to Claim 1.
Furthermore, Matsuda discloses: wherein the gyroscope detects that the vehicle body is inclined based on a difference between a rotation speed of the drive wheel and a rotation speed of the driven wheel (See at least ¶0075 via "For example, the cornering determiner section 49 may determine that the electric motorcycle 1 is cornering when a steering angle detected by a steering angle sensor is greater than a predetermined value, when a lateral acceleration detected by a lateral acceleration sensor is greater than a predetermined value, or a lateral vehicle body bank angle detected by a gyro sensor is greater." and ¶0076 via "Or, the cornering determiner section 49 may determine whether or not the electric motorcycle 1 is cornering based on a difference between a front wheel rotational speed and a rear wheel rotational speed").
Regarding Claim 13, Modified Matsuda discloses the straddle type vehicle according to Claim 4.
Furthermore, Matsuda discloses: wherein the decrease amount in the torque when correcting the target torque of the drive wheel decreases as the gear ratio decreases (See at least ¶0074 via "For example, when the bank angle detected by the bank angle sensor 41 is less than a first predetermined bank angle, the motor rotational speed detected by the rotational speed sensor 35 is equal to or more than a first predetermined rotational speed, the vehicle speed detected by the vehicle speed sensor 36 is equal to or greater than a first predetermined vehicle speed, the reduction gear ratio of the gear position detected by the gear position sensor 40 is less than a predetermined value, and/or the corner curvature is less than a predetermined value, it may be determined that the vehicle driving state is the vehicle driving state in which a change in the driving power affects the driver less.").
Regarding Claim 15, Modified Matsuda discloses the straddle type vehicle according to Claim 1.
Furthermore, Matsuda discloses: wherein the target torque added by the corrected boost amount is greater than the normal torque and is smaller than the target torque added by the predetermined boost amount (See at least ¶0052 via "The output rapid-increase mode executing section 54 executes the output rapid-increase mode to compensate the motor output corresponding to the accelerator displacement amount such that it is greater than the motor output in the normal mode for a specified time, when rapid acceleration is commanded, that is, an increase rate of the accelerator displacement amount detected by the accelerator displacement amount sensor 37 is equal to or greater than a predetermined value")
Furthermore, Matsuda discloses suppressing the output rapid-increased amount in at least ¶0008, which corresponds to the corrected boost amount being greater than the normal torque but less than the target torque added by the predetermined boost amount. However, Park discloses the corrected boost amount being obtained via subtraction (See Park ¶0056).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Matsuda in view of Park's torque intervention in order to improve the control of the torque outputs during transitions in dynamic conditions: "a torque intervention (or a torque reduction) to the transmission in order to prevent gear shifting shock at gear shifting and protect the transmission. In particular, in order to reduce the shock that occurs when a clutch in the transmission is connected or disconnected during gear shifting, torque intervention control that momentarily reduces a torque inputted to the transmission is performed" [Park ¶0011].
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Matsuda (US 20170297552 A1) and Park (US 20170144651 A1) in view of Eguchi (US 20170129495 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Modified Matsuda discloses the straddle type vehicle according to Claim 1.
Furthermore, Matsuda discloses: wherein the gyroscope detects an inclination angle of the vehicle body,(See at least ¶0050 via "For example, when the bank angle of the vehicle body, from the upright state, which is detected by the bank angle sensor 41, is equal to or greater than a predetermined angle, the cornering determiner section 49 determines that the electric motorcycle 1 is cornering." and also ¶0075 via "For example, the cornering determiner section 49 may determine that the electric motorcycle 1 is cornering when a steering angle detected by a steering angle sensor is greater than a predetermined value, when a lateral acceleration detected by a lateral acceleration sensor is greater than a predetermined value, or a lateral vehicle body bank angle detected by a gyro sensor is greater.")
However, Modified Matsuda does not disclose, but Eguchi—who is in the same field of endeavor—discloses: and the correction of the target torque includes decreasing the corrected boost amount by increasing the decreasing correction amount as the inclination angle detected by the gyroscope increases (See at least ¶0097 and Figure 14B which illustrates P having an increased motor driving torque value while in the upright running state than that of Q which has a decreased motor driving torque target value at a banked state. Additionally see Figure 15 and ¶0102 via "In step 4 (S4), the drive control system 80 performs control of decreasing the motor target driving torque value for the accelerator opening compared to the value in upright running state (changing the target driving torque from a state of the solid line P to a state of the dashed line Q in the graph of FIG. 14B) and thereby decreasing the front wheel target driving torque. Here, the decrease width of the motor target driving torque value is controlled to increase with increases in the banking angle α of the vehicle.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention to further modify Modified Matsuda in view of Eguchi and correcting the target torque based on the level of inclination/size of the banking angle in order to achieve good turning performance while still providing a powerful driving force: "even if the driver carries out an acceleration operation in a banked turn, action of moment acting on the steering handle in a direction opposite to a turning direction due to the driving force of the front wheel 11 can be reduced. This makes it possible to mitigate influence such as changes in steering behavior and thereby achieve good turning performance" [Eguchi ¶0107], and "This provides a powerful driving force to the vehicle while improving turning performance during cornering. Increases and decreases in the driving force of the entire front and rear wheels are reduced, enabling smooth acceleration without a sense of discomfort." [Eguchi ¶0108].
Regarding Claim 5, Modified Matsuda discloses the straddle type vehicle according to Claim 1.
Furthermore, Matsuda discloses: wherein when the boost command is continuously input, the booster continuously transmits the boost signal to the processing circuit, and (See at least Figure 3 via S12 -> S15 -> S12 which illustrates the loop of boost input).
However, Modified Matsuda does not disclose, but Eguchi discloses: in the correction of the target torque, the processing circuit continuously corrects the target torque in accordance with a latest inclination signal received from the gyroscope (See at least Figure 14B which shows constant dashed line Q that depicts the motor driving torque target value at a banked state. Thus, receiving a continuous inclination signal and continuously adjusting the torque. Also see ¶0078 which explains how the target torque is reached via "The ECU 81 estimates an engine power condition based on sensor information from the sensors, and performs engine power control by maintaining optimal throttle valve opening, ignition timing, and fuel injection rate in order to reach target driving torque in response to output from the accelerator position sensor" and ¶0087 which shows that the target torque can be an increased or decreased torque via "When the MCU 82 of the drive control system 80 decreases the front wheel target driving torque by controlling the motor target driving torque, the ECU 81 increases the rear wheel target driving torque by increasing the engine target driving torque" and also ¶0083 via gyro sensor)
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention to combine the ability to correct the target driving torque of Eguchi with the continuous boost signal of Modified Matsuda in order to account for a changing inclination/bank angle in order to "improve stability of a vehicle body" [Eguchi ¶0011] at all times during a banking state. The combination of these elements would be obvious to improve the stability and also to "mitigate influence such as changes in steering behavior and thereby achieve good turning performance" [Eguchi ¶0107] when in a banking state.
Claims 6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Matsuda (US 20170297552 A1) and Park (US 20170144651 A1) in view of Kouchi et. al. (US 20200307739 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Modified Matsuda discloses the straddle type vehicle according to Claim 1.
Furthermore, Matsuda discloses: wherein the at least one traveling driver includes a first traveling driver and a second traveling driver, (See at least ¶0079 via "Also, a driving source of the vehicle is not limited to the electric motor 18 but may be an engine.")
However, although Park discloses torque distribution between an engine and a motor, Modified Matsuda does not explicitly disclose, but Kouchi--who is directed towards a straddle type vehicle--discloses: the processing circuit is configured to further determine torque distribution between the first traveling driver and the second traveling driver in accordance with the target torque, and (See at least ¶0038 via " To change the torque output characteristic, the control unit 46 can select whether or not drive of the driving motor 30 is added to drive of the engine 21, or can change the ratio of the additional drive of the driving motor 30 to the drive of the engine 21")
the determination of the torque distribution includes determining the torque distribution such that the second traveling driver generates a drive force corresponding to the boost amount (See at least ¶0040 via "Various manners are adoptable to perform the boosting change of torque output characteristic. For example, if the normal mode is defined as the drive mode of the hybrid power source 50 in which only the engine 21 is driven, the driving motor 30 is commanded to drive while the drive of the engine 21 is maintained, thereby performing the boosting change of torque output characteristic" *Where the driving motor being commanded to drive in order to perform the boosting anticipates the second traveling drive source generating a drive force that corresponds to boost amount).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention to further modify Modified Matsuda in view of Kouchi's torque distribution in order to have a hybrid power source with strong acceleration: "The boosting change of torque output characteristic of the hybrid power source 50 enables strong acceleration of the motorcycle 1 for climbing a slope, traveling against a head wind, outrunning someone or something, or another purpose" [Kouchi ¶0040].
Regarding Claim 17, Modified Matsuda discloses the straddle type vehicle according to Claim 1.
Furthermore, Matsuda discloses: further comprising: an accelerator operator configured to receive an operation for acceleration and deceleration of at least one traveling drive source, (See at least ¶0053 via "the output of the electric motor 18 is controlled in response to the driving command received by the driving command reception section 48, and the output of the electric motor 18 is increased or decreased according to an increase or decrease in the accelerator displacement amount.")
wherein the booster is configured to receive an input of the boost command, (See at least ¶0052 via "The output rapid-increase mode executing section 54 executes the output rapid-increase mode to compensate the motor output corresponding to the accelerator displacement amount such that it is greater than the motor output in the normal mode for a specified time, when rapid acceleration is commanded, that is, an increase rate of the accelerator displacement amount detected by the accelerator displacement amount sensor 37 is equal to or greater than a predetermined value").
However, although Matsuda discloses two traveling drive sources, Matsuda does not explicitly disclose the boost/torque being independent of the input of the operation to the accelerator operator.
Nevertheless, Kouchi discloses: independently of an input of the operation to the accelerator operator (See at least ¶0039 via "The boost button 36 is operated by the operator to issue a command to change the torque output characteristic so as to increase the output torque of the hybrid power source 50. Referring to FIG. 3, the boost button 36 is electrically connected to the control unit 46. Hereinafter, the above-mentioned change of torque output characteristic to increase the output torque of the hybrid power source 50 is referred to as “boosting change of torque output characteristic”, or simply referred to as “boosting”. A drive mode of the hybrid power source 50 indicating a normal torque output characteristic before the boosting is referred to as “normal mode”, and a drive mode of the hybrid power source 50 indicating a boosted torque output characteristic after the boosting is referred to as “boost mode”. Therefore, the boosting change of torque output characteristic means shift of the drive mode of the hybrid power source 50 from the normal mode to the boost mode." and ¶0035 via "The control unit 46 gets a torque required by the operator (hereinafter, this torque may be referred to as “required torque”) based on an operation (rotation) angle of the throttle tube (i.e., the output adjusting grip 32) detected by the throttle sensor 41.")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Modified Matsuda in view of the independent boost control such as in Kouchi in order to provide an operator with a simple way to operate a boost command despite the rotation of the output adjusting grip: "Therefore, a position of the boost button 36 relative to the output adjusting grip 32 is constant regardless of rotation of the output adjusting grip 32 relative to the handlebar 25. Accordingly, the boost button 36 can be easily operated by a finger (thumb) of an operator's hand gripping and rotating the output adjusting grip 32." [Kouchi ¶0054].
Claims 10-11, 14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Matsuda (US 20170297552 A1) and Park (US 20170144651 A1) in view of Hasegawa (JP2017210896A, translation attached).
Regarding Claim 10, Matsuda discloses:
A method for controlling a vehicle including: (See at least Figure 3)
a driven wheel configured to cause a force to act on a road surface; a drive wheel; (See at least ¶0044 via "As shown in FIG. 1, the electric motorcycle 1 includes a front wheel 2 which is a driven wheel and a rear wheel 3 which is a drive wheel.")
a vehicle body supported by the drive wheel; (See at least Figure 1 and ¶0045 via "A vehicle body frame of the electric motorcycle 1 includes a pair of main frames 9 extending in a substantially linear shape in a side view such that they extend rightward and leftward from the head pipe 5 in a rearward direction and are inclined in a slightly downward direction.")
at least one traveling driver configured to generate a torque to be transmitted to the drive wheel; (See at least ¶0046 via "The case 13 of the power plant 12 accommodates an electric motor 18 for generating driving power")
a booster configured to accept a boost command, the method comprising: (See at least ¶0052 via "The normal mode executing section 51 executes the normal mode for controlling the output (to be precise, torque) of the electric motor 18 in response to the driving command received by the driving command reception section 48.")
determining a target torque of the traveling driver as a normal torque in accordance with a predetermined travel rule when the boost command is not given to the booster; (See at least Figure 3 via S1: Normal Mode, which is the initial mode prior to any commands. Also see at least ¶0053 via "As shown in FIGS. 3 and 5, initially, when a power supply of the electric motorcycle 1 is ON, the mode shift control section 50 sets the driving mode to the normal mode (step S1).")
changing, upon receiving a boost signal from the booster, the target torque from the normal torque to a boost torque obtained by adding a predetermined boost amount to the normal torque; (See at least ¶0053 via "In this normal mode, the output of the electric motor 18 is controlled in response to the driving command received by the driving command reception section 48, and the output of the electric motor 18 is increased or decreased according to an increase or decrease in the accelerator displacement amount." and ¶0052 via "The output rapid-increase mode executing section 54 executes the output rapid-increase mode to compensate the motor output corresponding to the accelerator displacement amount such that it is greater than the motor output in the normal mode for a specified time, when rapid acceleration is commanded, that is, an increase rate of the accelerator displacement amount detected by the accelerator displacement amount sensor 37 is equal to or greater than a predetermined value" *Wherein the rapid increase mode is predetermined control that is triggered by a boost command, and outputs torque greater than that of the normal mode, which is the predetermined boost amount)
in a case of receiving the boost signal from the booster, (See at least ¶0052 via "The output rapid-increase mode executing section 54 executes the output rapid-increase mode to compensate the motor output corresponding to the accelerator displacement amount such that it is greater than the motor output in the normal mode for a specified time, when rapid acceleration is commanded, that is, an increase rate of the accelerator displacement amount detected by the accelerator displacement amount sensor 37 is equal to or greater than a predetermined value" as well as ¶0050 via "The driving command reception section 48 receives the signal…For example, when the bank angle of the vehicle body, from the upright state, which is detected by the bank angle sensor 41, is equal to or greater than a predetermined angle, the cornering determiner section 49 determines that the electric motorcycle 1 is cornering.")
However, although Matsuda discloses the boost torque (See at least ¶0052); Matsuda does not explicitly disclose the corrected boost amount being calculated by subtracting a decreasing correction amount from the predetermined boost amount.
Nevertheless, Park--who is directed towards a method for controlling torque intervention of a hybrid vehicle--discloses: setting a corrected (See at least ¶0056 via "the controller 205 may reduce the increased torque of the motor as a value obtained by subtracting the reduced torque of the engine from the amount of torque intervention request for the transmission 250." **Wherein Park is calculating a modified motor torque by subtracting a torque reduction amount from a requested torque, thus corresponding to a corrected torque)
adding the corrected (See at least ¶0057 via "After the inertia phase time interval, the controller 205 may increase torque of the engine 210 as much as the reduced torque of the engine by increasing the amount of air supplied to the engine in the state in which the control for generating optimal combustion efficiency is maintained and may increase torque of the motor 230 as much as a value obtained by subtracting the increased torque of the engine from a torque required for input of the transmission 250 (or the transmission input torque)." and ¶0090 via "An engine torque command may be a command that corresponds to an engine torque value obtained by subtracting the motor torque command (or the motor torque value) from the current demand torque)" **Wherein if the engine torque = demand torque - motor torque, then the demand torque = engine torque + motor torque, and the motor torque is being added as an adjustable torque to supplement--which corresponds to a boost torque).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Matsuda in view of Park's torque intervention in order to improve the control of the torque outputs during transitions in dynamic conditions: "a torque intervention (or a torque reduction) to the transmission in order to prevent gear shifting shock at gear shifting and protect the transmission. In particular, in order to reduce the shock that occurs when a clutch in the transmission is connected or disconnected during gear shifting, torque intervention control that momentarily reduces a torque inputted to the transmission is performed" [Park ¶0011].
However, Modified Matsuda does not explicitly disclose, but Hasegawa--who is directed towards controlling a saddle-riding type vehicle--discloses: a strain gauge configured to detect a value related to a tire force generated on a wheel with respect to a road surface during travel; and (See at least ¶0054 via “However, as shown in FIG. 6, as a method of detecting the inclination in the left-right direction of the straddle-type vehicle 71, using a method of detecting the load applied to the vehicle body of the saddle-ride type vehicle 71 using a load meter or strain gauge”)
based on a value related to the tire force detected by the strain gauge, correcting the target torque to the boost torque obtained by (See at least ¶0054 via "However, as shown in FIG. 6, as a method of detecting the inclination in the left-right direction of the straddle-type vehicle 71, using a method of detecting the load applied to the vehicle body of the saddle-ride type vehicle 71 using a load meter or strain gauge" and also ¶0019 via "The supercharging pressure control unit 4 has a function of performing control to suppress the supercharging pressure of the supercharger when the turning determination unit 3 determines that the saddle riding type vehicle is turning. The boost pressure control section 4 is, for example, an arithmetic processing unit and can be constituted by an ECU.")
wherein the value related to the tire force includes a value correlated with one tire force of: an inclination state of the vehicle; (See at least ¶0011 via "As the state detection section 2, for example, an inclination sensor, a load sensor, an operation state sensor, or the like can be used. Further, the state detection unit 2 may be configured by combining these sensors." and also ¶0012 via "The tilt sensor is a sensor for detecting the tilt of the straddle-type vehicle in the left-right direction")
a difference between rotation speeds of the driven wheel and the drive wheel; a friction limit of the drive wheel; a frictional resistance between a road surface and a tire; a longitudinal force component of the tire force; a lateral force component of the tire force; (See at least ¶0013 via "The load sensor is a sensor for detecting a load applied to the straddle-type vehicle in the lateral direction. The load sensor can be constituted by, for example, a load meter or a strain gage")
a total value of the longitudinal force component and the lateral force component of the tire force; a centrifugal force; or a combination of a vehicle speed and a rotation radius, (See at least ¶0015 via "The turning judging section 3 has a function of judging whether or not the saddle riding type vehicle is turning based on the detection result of the state detecting section 2") and
wherein the correcting of the target torque includes performing a torque control of the drive wheel based on the value correlated with the one tire force (See at least ¶0022 via "] According to the boost pressure control device having such a configuration according to the embodiment of the present invention, it is possible to suppress the supercharging pressure of the supercharger at the time of turning of the saddle riding type vehicle. Thus, it is possible to suppress the engine output at the time of turning of the saddle riding type vehicle." *Wherein the output of the engine being suppressed is lowering the torque transmitted to the drive wheel ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Modified Matsuda in view of Hasegawa because Hasegawa discloses that a strain gauge can be used to measure inclination as an alternative to a bank angle sensor/gyroscope: "The state detection unit 2 has a function of detecting the state of the saddle riding type vehicle. As the state detection section 2, for example, an inclination sensor, a load sensor, an operation state sensor, or the like can be used"[Hasegawa ¶0011] and also "The tilt sensor is a sensor for detecting the tilt of the straddle-type vehicle in the left-right direction. The tilt sensor can be constituted by, for example, a gyroscope and an accelerometer." [Hasegawa ¶0012]. Thus the substitution for Matsuda's bank angle sensor in view of Hasegawa's strain gauge is obvious as they yield the same function.
Regarding Claim 11, Modified Matsuda discloses the method of Claim 10.
Furthermore, Modified Matsuda discloses: (See at least Claim 10 rejection and also Matsuda ¶0047 via "FIG. 2 is a block diagram showing a control system in the electric motorcycle 1 of FIG. 1. ECU 23 includes a processor 24 and associated electronic memory.")
However, Modified Matsuda does not explicitly disclose the non-transitory computer readable medium. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in view of the processor and memory to incorporate a non-transitory computer readable medium that stores a program for the processor to execute the method because the software to control the vehicle is necessary to be stored in order to be implemented.
Regarding Claim 14, Modified Matsuda discloses the method for controlling the vehicle according to Claim 10.
Furthermore, Matsuda discloses: wherein a state in which a predetermined inclination signal is not obtained from the target torque is transitioned from the normal torque to the boost torque is defined as a normal transition state, (See at least Figure 3 via S12, S13, and S17; and also ¶0056 via "Then, when the cornering determiner section 49 determines that the electric motorcycle 1 is not cornering (step S13: N) in the state in which the output rapid-increase mode shift condition is satisfied (step S12: Y), the mode shift control section 50 shifts the electric motorcycle 1 to the output rapid-increase mode (step S17)." *Which describes a state in which the vehicle is not cornering and can normally transition to the boosted state)
a state in which the predetermined inclination signal is obtained from the (See at least Figure 3 via S12, S13, S14, S17 and ¶0067 via "…Or, when the cornering determiner section 49 determines that the electric motorcycle 1 has reached the final phase of the cornering (step S14: Y) in the state in which the output rapid-increase mode shift condition is satisfied (step S12: Y), the mode shift control section 50 shifts the electric motorcycle 1 to the output rapid-increase mode (step S17). According to this, when the electric motorcycle 1 has reached the final phase of the cornering, the compensation for increasing the motor output is not inhibited and a great acceleration is allowed. Therefore, accelerated driving smoothly occurs at the end of the corner.")
the correction of the target torque includes correcting the target torque in the inclination transition state such that an increase rate per unit time of a transient torque of the drive wheel in the inclination transition state is decreased relative to an increase rate per unit time of the transient torque of the drive wheel in the normal transition state (See at least Figure 12, ¶0072, and ¶0074 via "In other words, a change rate of the output of the electric motor 18, which occurs with time, may be made less, as the vehicle driving state approaches the state in which a change in the driving power affects the driver more, than when it is determined that the mode shift condition is satisfied and it is determined that the electric motorcycle 1 is not cornering.").
However, Matsuda does not explicitly disclose the strain gauge. Nevertheless, Hasegawa discloses: strain gauge (See at least ¶0054 via “However, as shown in FIG. 6, as a method of detecting the inclination in the left-right direction of the straddle-type vehicle 71, using a method of detecting the load applied to the vehicle body of the saddle-ride type vehicle 71 using a load meter or strain gauge”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Modified Matsuda in view of Hasegawa because Hasegawa discloses that a strain gauge can be used to measure inclination as an alternative to a bank angle sensor/gyroscope: "The state detection unit 2 has a function of detecting the state of the saddle riding type vehicle. As the state detection section 2, for example, an inclination sensor, a load sensor, an operation state sensor, or the like can be used"[Hasegawa ¶0011] and also "The tilt sensor is a sensor for detecting the tilt of the straddle-type vehicle in the left-right direction. The tilt sensor can be constituted by, for example, a gyroscope and an accelerometer." [Hasegawa ¶0012]. Thus the substitution for Matsuda's bank angle sensor in view of Hasegawa's strain gauge is obvious as they yield the same function.
Regarding Claim 18, Modified Matsuda discloses the straddle type vehicle according to Claim 1.
Furthermore, Matsuda discloses: wherein the processing circuit is configured to determine the boost torque (See at least ¶0052 via "The output rapid-increase mode executing section 54 executes the output rapid-increase mode to compensate the motor output corresponding to the accelerator displacement amount such that it is greater than the motor output in the normal mode for a specified time, when rapid acceleration is commanded, that is, an increase rate of the accelerator displacement amount detected by the accelerator displacement amount sensor 37 is equal to or greater than a predetermined value")
prior to changing the target torque to the boost torque (See at least ¶0051 via "The mode shift control section 50 controls the mode shift among the driving modes (normal mode, output limiting mode, regenerative mode, output rapid-increase mode) based on a result of a determination performed by the shift condition determiner section 47 and a result of a determination performed by the cornering determiner section 49." *Wherein the output rapid increase/boost is applied after the detection)
However, Matsuda does not explicitly disclose, but Hasegawa discloses: based on an inclination angle in a left-right direction of the vehicle body and a tire force (See at least ¶0012 via "A tilt sensor is a sensor that detects the lateral tilt of a saddle-type vehicle. A tilt sensor can be configured, for example, with a gyroscope and an accelerometer." and ¶0013 via "The load sensor is a sensor that detects the lateral load applied to a saddle-type vehicle. A load sensor can be configured, for example, with a load cell or strain gauge. The load sensor is preferably attached to the front or rear wheel, the swingarm supporting the rear wheel, or the front fork supporting the front wheel." and ¶0011 via "For example, a tilt sensor, a load sensor, or an operation state sensor can be used as the state detection unit 2. Alternatively, the state detection unit 2 may be configured by combining these sensors." and also ¶0019 via "The boost pressure control unit 4 has a function to suppress the boost pressure of the turbocharger when the turning determination unit 3 determines that the saddle-type vehicle is turning.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Modified Matsuda in view of Hasegawa's consideration of inclination and tire force when applying a boost in order to improve the operability: "to provide a supercharger pressure control device that can improve the operability of a saddle-type vehicle equipped with a supercharger engine when turning" [Hasegawa ¶0005].
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Matsuda (US 20170297552 A1) and Park (US 20170144651 A1) in view of Tomotaka (JP2016185746A, translation previously attached).
Regarding Claim 12, Modified Matsuda discloses the straddle type vehicle according to Claim 1.
Furthermore, Matsuda discloses detecting the inclination of the vehicle in at least ¶0047 via "A bank angle sensor 41 detects a vehicle body bank angle formed when a vehicle body of the electric motorcycle 1 is banked laterally from its upright state." and also discloses: as a result of the predetermined boost amount being added to the normal torque and the torque with the predetermined boost amount corrected acting on the drive wheel (See at least Figure 3 via "output rapid-increase mode shift" which is adding a boost to the normal torque. Also see ¶0052-¶0053 and ¶0079 via "Although in the example of FIG. 5, the mode shift is inhibited when the output limiting mode shift condition is satisfied in the state in which it is determined that the electric motorcycle 1 is cornering, the mode shift may be halted and the change in the motor output due to the mode shift may be suppressed at a time point when it is determined that the electric motorcycle 1 is cornering (has started cornering), in the middle of shifting to the output limiting mode after the output limiting mode shift condition is satisfied, and then the mode shift may be completed after the cornering has finished." which details the "suppression" which is the corrected output.)
However, Modified Matsuda does not explicitly disclose the friction circle.
Nevertheless, Tomotaka--who is directed towards controlling the stability of a two-wheeled vehicle--discloses: wherein, when an inclination of the straddle type vehicle in a left-right direction is detected, the target torque is set such that a tire force acting on a tire falls within a friction circle of the tire of the drive wheel (See at least ¶0124 via "the vehicle travel information confirmation means 73 of the EV controller 48 confirms the inclination angle of the vehicle body from the sensor information from the inclination angle sensor 74 which detects the bank angle of the vehicle body (step 33 (S33)" and ¶0058 via "Furthermore, the driving force control means 92 adjusts the command value (output value) which is the output frequency of the inverter 47 and controls the driving force so that the driving force of the electric motor 45 does not exceed the stability limit or threshold of the friction circle graph." *which illustrates the adjusting of the driving force to keep the vehicle stable and inside of the friction circle limits/thresholds, or controlling the vehicle to reduce the output to return the tire grip within the friction circle limits. Also ¶0125 via "The grip power of the tire is calculated from the motor output of the steering wheel, the steering angle of the steering wheel, etc., and at which position in the friction circle graph (see FIG. 6) the tire is in the current running state").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention to further modify Modified Matsuda in view of Tomotaka's friction circle in order to mitigate the vehicle losing grip and slipping: "When the vehicle accelerates, controls, or turns quickly, it approaches the stability limit, and when the stability limit is exceeded, the tire loses grip and slips." [Tomotaka ¶0050]. Additionally, the combination allows for the vehicle's torque/output to be controlled so that the final target torque is corrected in order to prevent slip or driver discomfort while maintaining power.
Claims 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Matsuda (US 20170297552 A1) and Park (US 20170144651 A1) in view of Shahana et. al. (US 20180029666 A1).
Regarding Claim 16, Modified Matsuda discloses the straddle type vehicle according to Claim 1.
Furthermore, Matsuda discloses: wherein the gyroscope detects an inclination angle of the vehicle body, and the correction of the target torque (See at least ¶0050 via "For example, when the bank angle of the vehicle body, from the upright state, which is detected by the bank angle sensor 41, is equal to or greater than a predetermined angle, the cornering determiner section 49 determines that the electric motorcycle 1 is cornering." and also ¶0075 via "For example, the cornering determiner section 49 may determine that the electric motorcycle 1 is cornering when a steering angle detected by a steering angle sensor is greater than a predetermined value, when a lateral acceleration detected by a lateral acceleration sensor is greater than a predetermined value, or a lateral vehicle body bank angle detected by a gyro sensor is greater.")
However, Modified Matsuda does not explicitly disclose the amount being constant regardless of the inclination.
Nevertheless, Shahana--who is directed towards a bicycle controller--discloses: includes setting the decreasing correction amount constant regardless of the inclination angle detected by the gyroscope (See at least ¶0227 via "the increasing speed of the output torque TA is constant regardless of the inclination angle D of the bicycle 10.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Modified Matsuda in view of Shahana's constant rate of change of torque in order to simplify the computational load of the system by not considering the inclination angle: "…In the modified example shown in FIG. 22, the process for changing the output torque TA can be omitted in at least one of steps S82, S83, and S84…" [¶0227 Shahana].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.R.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3657
/ABBY LIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3657