DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 07/31/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-3, 16-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly cited Kuo (Pub No 20230254071) further in view of newly cited Fu (Pub No 20230254071)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuo (Pub No 20230254071) further in view of Fu (Pub No 20230254071)
Regarding claim 1, 19, and 20,
Kuo teaches A method comprising: by a user equipment (UE):
A non-transitory computer-readable memory medium storing software instructions that, when executed by a processor of a user equipment (UE), cause the UE to: (see para [0109] [0112])
memory, storing software instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the software instructions to cause the apparatus to: (see para [0109] [0112])
generating traffic information pertaining to a data traffic group including data from an application being executed on the UE; and (interpreted as at least one CG timer value may be selected based upon one or more of at least one MAC CE type and at least one content conveyed by the triggering PUSCH (e.g. BSR relating to high-priority LCHs or low-priority LCHs), see para [0053]. UE 130 may perform the selection based upon at least one type/priority of data conveyed by PUSCH, see para [0052]).
transmitting the traffic information to a base station within a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) within a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH, (interpreted as when at least one CG timer is selected and triggered, UE 130 may notify NE 120 of the at least one CG timer value it has chosen; thus, NE 120 may be aware of the CG timer status and properly perform resource allocation, such notification may include one or more of uplink control information (UCI), at least one MAC CE, and other types of uplink control signaling. In addition, UE 130 may be configured to implicitly indicate the at least one selected CG timer value using at least one transmission setting of the triggering PUSCH, see para [0058]. UE may embed at least one indication in the PUSCH, such as in at least one MAC CE, see para [0096]] wherein the traffic information indicates an amount of time remaining until the end of a latency period for the associated data traffic group, the amount of time to be measured from a start of PUSCH. (Interpreted as the at least one CG timer may start running at point A due to transmission of at least one PUSCH, see para [0103]. CG timer value may be selected based on..QoS parameters, associated with data conveyed by the MAC PDU of the triggering PUSCH, such as at least one packet delay budget (PDB) and/or remaining time before at least one delivery deadline.)
However, Kuo does not teach measuring the amount of time from where the PUSCH symbol begins.
Fu teaches measuring the amount of time from where the PUSCH symbol begins. (interpreted as Both the CG timer and the CG retx Timer in the NRU are started at the beginning of the first symbol of the PUSCH transmission, see para [0087])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify timer at the PUSCH start as taught by Kuo with the start of a PUSCH symbol as taught by Kuo with the motivation of performing the same functionality but at a generic type of resource known in the art of communications.
Regarding claim 16,
Kuo in view of Fu teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the traffic information includes at least one of: a reliability requirement of the data traffic group; a priority level of the data traffic group; a maximum group error rate of the data traffic group; (interpreted as UE 130 may perform the selection based upon at least one type/priority of data conveyed by PUSCH, see para [0052])
Regarding claim 17,
Kuo in view of Fu teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: by the UE: receiving, from the base station, an indication to provide traffic information regarding a particular traffic flow, wherein the data traffic group is included in the particular traffic flow, and wherein the generating the traffic information is in response to receiving the indication (interpreted as In some embodiments, UE 130 may perform the selection based upon one or more of the at least one grant characteristic and the at least one parameter configured to implicitly indicate the CG timer value that UE 130 should apply when the PUSCH of the grant is transmitted. For example, a dynamic grant may have a priority characterization, such as “high priority” or “low priority,” based on at least one explicit/implicit indication in the DCI.
Regarding claim 18,
Kuo in view of Fu teaches the method of claim 17, wherein the indication further indicates periodic resources for the UE to provide traffic information regarding the particular traffic flow. (interpreted as configured grants (CG) to provide low latency transmission opportunities, wherein periodic transmission occasions may be available to a user equipment (UE) once the CG is configured, see para [0003])
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuo (Pub No 20230254071) further in view of Fu (Pub No 20230254071) and Freed (Pub No 20150163545)
Regarding claim 2,
Kuo in view of Fu teaches the method of claim 1, however does not teach further comprising: by the UE: transmitting the data traffic group, including a plurality of packets including at least a minimum quantity of data needed for the application to perform a single function.
Freed teaches further comprising: by the UE: transmitting the data traffic group, including a plurality of packets including at least a minimum quantity of data needed for the application to perform a single function. (Interpreted as A video content signature could be generated from any measurable or detectable "quantity" of video data. In practical implementations, therefore, one frame of video data is the minimum amount of information that can be used to generate a video content signature, see para [0042])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the latency requirement transmitted using PUSCH symbols as taught by Kuo in view of Fu with the minimum video as taught by Freed with the motivation being to satisfy a quality of service by performing the minimum amount of data transmissions.
Regarding claim 3,
Kuo in view of Fu teaches the method of claim 2, however does not teach wherein the minimum quantity of data constitutes a minimum quantity of video data needed for the application to encode a discrete portion of a video frame.
Freed teaches wherein the minimum quantity of data constitutes a minimum quantity of video data needed for the application to encode a discrete portion of a video frame. (Interpreted as A video content signature could be generated from any measurable or detectable "quantity" of video data. In practical implementations, therefore, one frame of video data is the minimum amount of information that can be used to generate a video content signature, see para [0042])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the latency requirement transmitted using PUSCH symbols as taught by Kuo in view of Fu with the minimum video as taught by Freed with the motivation being to satisfy a quality of service by performing the minimum amount of data transmissions.
Conclusion
/BAO G NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461