DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 7/14/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-3, 16-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly cited Aydin (Pub No 20160255581) in view of newly cited Zhou (Pub No 20240357526) and newly cited Lee (Pub No 20230199440)
Regarding claim 1,
Applicant argues First, regarding “transmitting the traffic information to a base station within a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) within a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH),” the Office Action rejects similar features as previously presented in dependent claim 4, asserting that the features of claim 4 are anticipated by Chen.
However the examiner relies on newly cited Aydin (Pub No 20160255581) in view of newly cited Zhou (Pub No 20240357526) and newly cited Lee (Pub No 20230199440) to teach the limitations.
Also regarding claim 1,
Applicant argues Second, regarding “wherein the traffic information indicates an amount of time remaining until the end of a latency period for the associated data traffic group, the amount of time to be measured from a start of a symbol in which the PUSCH begins,” similar features were previously presented in dependent claim 5.
However the examiner relies on newly cited Aydin (Pub No 20160255581) in view of newly cited Zhou (Pub No 20240357526) and newly cited Lee (Pub No 20230199440) to teach the limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aydin (Pub No 20160255581) in view of Zhou (Pub No 20240357526) and Lee (Pub No 20230199440)
Regarding claim 1 and 19 and 20,
Aydin (Pub No 20160255581) teaches A method comprising: by a user equipment (UE):
A non-transitory computer-readable memory medium storing software instructions that, when executed by a processor of a user equipment (UE), cause the UE to: (see para [0077])
memory, storing software instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the software instructions to cause the apparatus to: (see para [0077] processor and memory)
generating traffic information pertaining to a data traffic group including data from an application being executed on the UE; and (interpreted as In yet another embodiment, the QoS requirement information of a UE includes a latency requirement and/or a jitter requirement. Similarly, the latency or jitter requirement may be pre-defined or based on network services that the UE requests. Different type of data traffic, such as text messages, voice over IP, or streaming videos, involved in different network services may have different latency or jitter requirements, see para [0040])
However Aydin does not teach transmitting the traffic information to a base station within a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) within a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH).
Zhou (Pub No 20240357526) teaches transmitting the traffic information to a base station within a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) within a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH). (interpreted as The base station may determine the transitioning based on wireless device assistance information, from the wireless device, regarding traffic pattern, data volume, latency requirement, etc. In the example of FIG. 39, the wireless device may transmit the wireless device assistance information to the base station in a RRC message, a MAC CE and/or an UCI, see para [0373]. See PUSCH para [0108][0138])
PUSCH symbols (interpreted as when a symbol is indicated as an uplink symbol, a wireless device may transmit, via the symbol, to a base station, one or more uplink signals (e.g., PRACH/DM-RS/PUSCH/PUCCH/SRS), see para [0324])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sending of UE information e.g. latency as taught by Aydin with the UE information being sent in a MAC CE as taught by Zhou with the motivation being to provide a format for transmitting information so it can be received/processed.
However Aydin in view of Zhou do not teach wherein the traffic information indicates an amount of time remaining until the end of a latency period for the associated data traffic group, the amount of time to be measured from a start.
Lee (Pub No 20230199440) teaches wherein the traffic information indicates an amount of time remaining until the end of a latency period for the associated data traffic group, the amount of time to be measured from a start. (interpreted as MEC device 145 may determine whether the computed execution time is less than an execution time threshold. The execution time threshold may be based on, for example, a latency requirement for video streaming. If the computed execution time is greater that the execution time threshold, MEC device 145 may determine that the video file cannot be streamed to all UE devices 110 that requested the file at the same time, see para [0074])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the latency requirement transmitted using PUSCH symbols as taught by Aydin in view of Zhou with the latency requirement being a threshold time as taught by Lee with the motivation being to satisfy a quality of service by performing data (e.g. video data) transmissions within a certain amount of time.
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aydin (Pub No 20160255581) in view of Zhou (Pub No 20240357526), Lee (Pub No 20230199440), Freed (Pub No 20150163545)
Regarding claim 2,
Aydin in view of Zhou and Lee teaches The method of claim 1, however does not teach further comprising: by the UE: transmitting the data traffic group, including a plurality of packets including at least a minimum quantity of data needed for the application to perform a single function.
Freed teaches further comprising: by the UE: transmitting the data traffic group, including a plurality of packets including at least a minimum quantity of data needed for the application to perform a single function. (interpreted as A video content signature could be generated from any measurable or detectable "quantity" of video data. In practical implementations, therefore, one frame of video data is the minimum amount of information that can be used to generate a video content signature, see para [0042])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the latency requirement transmitted using PUSCH symbols as taught by Aydin in view of Zhou with the minimum video as taught by Freed with the motivation being to satisfy a quality of service by performing the minimum amount of data transmissions.
Regarding claim 3,
Aydin in view of Zhou and Lee teaches The method of claim 2, however does not teach wherein the minimum quantity of data constitutes a minimum quantity of video data needed for the application to encode a discrete portion of a video frame.
Freed teaches wherein the minimum quantity of data constitutes a minimum quantity of video data needed for the application to encode a discrete portion of a video frame.(interpreted as A video content signature could be generated from any measurable or detectable "quantity" of video data. In practical implementations, therefore, one frame of video data is the minimum amount of information that can be used to generate a video content signature, see para [0042])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the latency requirement transmitted using PUSCH symbols as taught by Aydin in view of Zhou with the minimum video as taught by Freed with the motivation being to satisfy a quality of service by performing the minimum amount of data transmissions.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aydin (Pub No 20160255581) in view of Zhou (Pub No 20240357526), Lee (Pub No 20230199440), and Jiang (Pub No 20190288798)
Regarding claim 16,
Aydin in view of Zhou and Lee teaches The method of claim 1, however does not teach wherein the traffic information includes at least one of: a reliability requirement of the data traffic group; a priority level of the data traffic group; a maximum group error rate of the data traffic group;
Jiang teaches wherein the traffic information includes at least one of: a reliability requirement of the data traffic group; a priority level of the data traffic group; a maximum group error rate of the data traffic group; (interpreted as the traffic classes are associated with particular quality of service (QoS) requirements and/or priority levels (e.g., background, best effort, video, voice, etc.), see para [0041])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system as taught by Aydin in view of Zhou and Lee with the priority level as taught by Jiang with the motivation being to satisfy a quality of service by servicing time sensitive traffic with a higher priority.
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aydin (Pub No 20160255581) in view of Zhou (Pub No 20240357526), Lee (Pub No 20230199440), and Haroundabadi (Pub No 20240259862)
Regarding claim 17,
Aydin in view of Zhou and Lee teaches The method of claim 1, however does not teach further comprising: by the UE: receiving, from the base station, an indication to provide traffic information regarding a particular traffic flow, wherein the data traffic group is included in the particular traffic flow, and wherein the generating the traffic information is in response to receiving the indication.
Haroundabadi further comprising: by the UE: receiving, from the base station, an indication to provide traffic information regarding a particular traffic flow, wherein the data traffic group is included in the particular traffic flow, and wherein the generating the traffic information is in response to receiving the indication. (interpreted as In embodiments, the transceiver is configured to report the QoS requirement ….responsive to a reporting request [e.g., from the relaying transceiver or the base station, [0062] responsive to QoS requirements, see para [0057])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system as taught by Aydin in view of Zhou and Lee with the traffic information as taught by Haroundabadi with the motivation being to satisfy a quality of service by updating the reports regularly as required by the base station.
Regarding claim 18,
Aydin in view of Zhou and Lee teaches The method of claim 17, however does not teach wherein the indication further indicates periodic resources for the UE to provide traffic information regarding the particular traffic flow.
Haroundabadi teaches wherein the indication further indicates periodic resources for the UE to provide traffic information regarding the particular traffic flow. (interpreted as In embodiments, the transceiver is configured to report the QoS requirement [0058] event based, [0059] periodically, , see para [0057])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system as taught by Aydin in view of Zhou and Lee with the traffic information as taught by Haroundabadi with the motivation being to satisfy a quality of service by updating the reports regularly as required by the base station.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BAO G NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461