DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant amended independent claim 5 to include “cutting the continuous sheet of negative electrode into individual negative electrodes; and placing a positive electrode on each negative electrode such that the positive electrode contacts with an inner perimeter surface of the compensation member.” However, Yi discloses cutting the continuous sheet of negative electrode into individual negative electrodes (see e.g., Yi; fig. 4, wherein cutting device 217 separates individual negative electrodes); and placing a positive electrode on each negative electrode such that the positive electrode contacts with an inner perimeter surface of the compensation member (see e.g., Yi; fig. 4, [0057], regarding wherein positive electrode sheet 121 is layered onto the insulation coating 130; [0057] describes that the layers are stacked in sequence, which corresponds with contacting an inner perimeter surface as claimed). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system for manufacturing a negative electrode disclosed by Seok by cutting the continuous sheet of negative electrode, placing positive electrode on each negative electrode to contact the surface of the compensation member as disclosed by Yi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to form separate electrode units that can be stacked to form a laminated battery cell (see e.g., Yi; fig. 4, fig. 3, [0056]), which provides increased energy density (see e.g., Yi; [0008]).
Therefore, Seok and Yi teaches placing the positive electrode on each negative electrode such that the positive electrode contacts with an inner perimeter surface of the compensation member as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 7-8, 10-11, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seok (KR-20210108051-A) (see translation), and in further view of Yi (CN-113659283-A) (see translation).
Regarding claim 5, Seok discloses a method for manufacturing an electrode (see e.g., Seok; [0001], regarding the method of manufacturing a lithium-metal composite electrode), the method comprising:
supplying a continuous sheet of negative electrode configured such that negative electrodes is continuously formed (see e.g., Seok; fig. 1, [0009], [0038], [0049], wherein the metal substrate 100 and coating 300 forms the continuous sheet of lithium-metal composite negative electrodes); and adhering a continuous sheet of compensation member configured such that a compensation members is continuously formed, to the continuous sheet of negative electrode (see e.g., Seok; fig. 1, [0038], regarding the insulating layer 200, corresponding to the compensation member, formed continuously to the continuous sheet of negative electrode 100 and 300).
Seok does not explicitly disclose wherein a plurality of negative electrodes is formed along with forming a plurality of individual compensation members, and cutting the continuous sheet of negative electrode into individual negative electrodes; and placing a positive electrode on each negative electrode such that the positive electrode contacts with an inner perimeter surface of the compensation member. However, Yi discloses a system for manufacturing a negative electrode that separates an assembly into a plurality of individual negative electrodes along with an insulation layer corresponding to a plurality of compensation members (see e.g., Yi; fig. 4, [0045], [0058], regarding, for example, the third cutting device 217, second cutting device 214, or first cutting device 212 which cuts the negative electrode sheet to separate them into individual negative electrode 111 with insulation coating 130 also being separated). Yi discloses cutting the continuous sheet of negative electrode into individual negative electrodes (see e.g., Yi; fig. 4, wherein cutting device 217 separates individual negative electrodes); and placing a positive electrode on each negative electrode such that the positive electrode contacts with an inner perimeter surface of the compensation member (see e.g., Yi; fig. 4, [0057], regarding wherein positive electrode sheet 121 is layered onto the insulation coating 130; [0057] describes that the layers are stacked in sequence, which corresponds with contacting an inner perimeter surface as claimed). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system for manufacturing a negative electrode disclosed by Seok by cutting the continuous sheet of negative electrode, placing positive electrode on each negative electrode to contact the surface of the compensation member as disclosed by Yi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to form separate electrode units that can be stacked to form a laminated battery cell (see e.g., Yi; fig. 4, fig. 3, [0056]), which provides increased energy density (see e.g., Yi; [0008]).
“compensation member” is interpreted, in context, according to broadest reasonable interpretation as a member that is used to offset or counteract an undesirable effect, or may provide some sort of improvement. In this case, the insulating layer corresponding to a compensation member protects the negative electrode, which is the same as the described compensation member in the instant specifications that forms an insulating layer.
As the claim is a method claim and modified Seok teaches all the claimed steps, the method of fabricating a lithium-metal electrode of Seok satisfies the limitations of the claim (which is not necessarily being only for bi-cells in solid state batteries). Additionally, as described above regarding lamination, Yi does also teach laminated cells having the structure similar to that of a bi-cell (see e.g., Yi; fig. 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Seok to fabricate a bi-cell, such as that taught by Yi, thereby creating a bi-cell.
Regarding claim 7, modified Seok teaches the method of claim 5. As above regarding claim 5, modified Seok teaches the individual negative electrodes.
Seok also discloses wherein each of the compensation members is adhered to each of the individual negative electrodes (see e.g., Seok; fig. 1, wherein insulating layer 200 is adhered to the negative electrodes 100, 300; the negative electrodes were modified by Yi above regarding claim 5 to become individual negative electrodes).
Regarding claim 8, modified Seok teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the continuous sheet of negative electrode and the continuous sheet of compensation member are manufactured by roll-to-roll processing (see e.g., Seok; fig. 1, [0037], regarding rollers 12 and 11 which process the continuous sheets of negative electrode and insulating layer).
Regarding claim 10, modified Seok teaches the method of claim 5.
Seok does not explicitly disclose cutting the continuous sheet of negative electrode comprises cutting extension parts of the continuous sheet of compensation member, wherein the extension parts are provided at opposing ends of the compensation member and extend outward of the continuous sheet of negative electrode.
However, Yi discloses a process that cuts extension parts of the continuous sheet of compensation member (see e.g., Yi; fig. 4, regarding cutter 214 or cutter 217 which cuts the insulating coating 130 corresponding to extension parts of the compensation member), wherein the extension parts are provided at opposing ends of the compensation member and extend outward of the continuous sheet of negative electrode (see e.g., Yi; fig. 4, wherein after being cut by cutter 214, the insulating coating above the negative electrode 111 extends past the negative electrode portion on both ends, see also fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the assembly process disclosed by Seok to have a cutter that cuts extension parts of the compensation member such that the extension parts extend past the negative electrode as disclosed by Yi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase the energy density of the battery cell using the described insulating coating and process for manufacturing (see e.g., Yi; [0046]).
Regarding claim 11, modified Seok teaches the method of claim 5.
Seok does not explicitly disclose further comprising: removing an auxiliary element from the continuous sheet of compensation member, during or after the adhering the continuous sheet of compensation member to the continuous sheet of negative electrode, wherein the auxiliary element is adhered to one surface of the continuous sheet of compensation member opposite to a remaining surface of the continuous sheet of compensation member, and adhered to the continuous sheet of negative electrode.
“auxiliary element” is interpreted broadly as an element that provides supplementary or additional help and support. In this case, the auxiliary element may be an element that is in contact or protecting the compensation member.
Yi discloses removing an auxiliary element from the continuous sheet of compensation member (see e.g., Yi; fig. 4, [0062], regarding release film 160 corresponding to claimed auxiliary element), during or after the adhering the continuous sheet of compensation member to the continuous sheet of negative electrode (see e.g., Yi; fig. 4, [0062] wherein the release film 160 is peeled off right after the insulating coating is applied to the negative electrode), wherein the auxiliary element is adhered to one surface of the continuous sheet of compensation member opposite to a remaining surface of the continuous sheet of compensation member (see e.g., Yi; fig. 4).
Moreover, Yi discloses that the insulating coating 130 does not include PP or PE (see e.g., Yi; [0052]), and similarly, the insulating layer disclosed by Seok does not include PP or PE (see e.g., Seok; [0044]). Additionally, while not exactly the same, the disclosed insulating layer of Yi and Seok both discloses polymers and have similar binding properties (see e.g., Yi; [0016]-[0017], regarding adhesive in insulating coating, Seok; [0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the assembly process disclosed by Seok to have a release film that is removed during or after adhering the insulating coating to the negative electrode as disclosed by Yi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a smooth transfer process (see e.g., Yi; [0035], [0061]).
Regarding claim 17, modified Seok teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the supplying the continuous sheet of negative electrode and the adhering the compensation member to the continuous sheet of negative electrode are continuously performed (see e.g., Seok; fig. 1, wherein the process is continuous and the insulating layer 200 corresponding to the compensation member is continuously applied to the continuous sheet of negative electrode using rollers 11 and 12).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seok (KR-20210108051-A) (see translation) and Yi (CN-113659283-A) as applied to claim 5 above, and in further view of Yun (US-20210013512-A1).
Regarding claim 12, Seok discloses the method of claim 5.
Seok does not explicitly disclose further comprising: removing a protective element from the continuous sheet of compensation member, before the adhering the continuous sheet of compensation member to the continuous sheet of negative electrode, wherein the protective element is adhered to one surface of the continuous sheet of compensation member.
However, Yun discloses removing a protective element from a sheet of compensation member (see e.g., Yun; [0089]-[0092], claim 14, regarding the organic-inorganic mixed film that is laminated on a release film, the release film corresponding to the protective element and the organic-inorganic mixed film which forms an insulation film corresponding to the compensation member), before the adhering the sheet of compensation member to an electrode (see e.g., Yun; [0089]-[0092], regarding “after removing the release film”, laminating the organic-inorganic mixed film to the electrode), wherein the protective element is adhered to one surface of the continuous sheet of compensation member (see e.g., Yun; [0089]-[0092]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method disclosed by Seok by providing a release film that is adhered to one surface of the continuous sheet of compensation member as disclosed by Yun, and is removed from the continuous compensation member before adhering the continuous sheet of compensation member to the continuous sheet of negative electrode of Seok. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a process that effectively prevent short circuits, prevents a decrease in capacity, and provides nail penetration safety (see e.g., Yun; [0016]-[0018]).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seok (KR-20210108051-A) (see translation) and Yi (CN-113659283-A) as applied to claim 5 above, and in further view of Chen (CN-209786117-U) (see translation).
Regarding claim 13, Seok discloses the method of claim 5. As above regarding claim 5, Seok discloses wherein the continuous sheet of negative electrode and the continuous sheet of compensation member to be bonded to each other. Seok also discloses wherein the process is continuous to improve process efficiency using rollers (see e.g., Seok; [0008]-[0010]). Seok does not explicitly disclose wherein the continuous sheet of negative electrode and the continuous sheet of compensation member are each unwound from a roll to be bonded to each other.
However, Chen discloses battery manufacturing wherein a continuous sheet of negative electrode and the continuous sheet of compensation member are each unwound from a roll (see e.g., Chen; figs. 2-4, [0053], [0056], [0046], regarding unwinding roller 114 which may unwind negative electrode and insulating film roller 118 and 119). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had the continuous negative electrode and the continuous insulating material as disclosed by Seok be unwound from rolls as shown by Chen in order to improve process efficiency (see e.g., Seok; [0008]).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Seok (KR-20210108051-A) (see translation), Yi (CN-113659283-A) (see translation) as applied to claim 11 above, and in further view of Wang (US-20200388810-A1).
Regarding claim 14, modified Seok teaches the method of claim 11.
Modified Seok does not explicitly teach wherein the removed auxiliary element is wound into a roll.
However, Wang discloses a battery production method wherein a release liner, which similarly corresponds to an auxiliary element, is wound into a roll (see e.g., Wang; [0047], fig. 5, regarding release liner 16 is rewound on take up roll 24). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have rewound the auxiliary element of release film 160 as taught by modified Seok onto a take up roll as disclosed by Wang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to wind up the removed element because the removed element has to be collected in some form, and winding up the material into a roll allows the continuous production method to proceed efficiently, and provides the removed element in a form that is compact and organized as shown by the take up roll of Wang (see e.g., Wang; fig. 5).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seok (KR-20210108051-A) (see translation), Yi (CN-113659283-A), and Yun (US-20210013512-A1) as applied to claim 12 above, and in further view of Wang (US-20200388810-A1).
Regarding claim 15, modified Seok teaches the method of claim 12.
Modified Seok does not explicitly teach wherein the removed protective element is wound into a roll.
However, Wang discloses a battery production method wherein a release liner, which similarly corresponds to a protective element, is wound into a roll (see e.g., Wang; [0047], fig. 5, regarding release liner 16 is rewound on take up roll 24). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have rewound the protective element of release film 160 as taught by modified Seok onto a take up roll as disclosed by Wang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to wind up the removed element because the removed element has to be collected in some form, and winding up the material into a roll allows the continuous production method to proceed efficiently, and provides the removed element in a form that is compact and organized as shown by the take up roll of Wang (see e.g., Wang; fig. 5).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seok (KR-20210108051-A) (see translation), Yi (CN-113659283-A) (see translation) as applied to claim 5 above, and in further view of Cao (CN-112670546-A) (see translation).
Regarding claim 16, modified Seok teaches the method of claim 6. As above regarding claim 6, modified Seok teaches adhering the continuous sheet of compensation member to the continuous sheet of negative electrode and the separated negative electrodes.
Seok does not explicitly disclose inspecting an assembly by a vision unit.
However, Cao discloses a secondary battery manufacturing device with a multi-model visual inspection function wherein there may be a first visual inspection unit that inspects the appearance and position of the anode plate mounted on the first electrode alignment unit before the anode plate is conveyed to the first position (see e.g., Cao; [0018], fig. 3). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the visual inspection unit disclosed by Cao to inspect the negative electrode with compensation member as taught by modified Seok. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to add the visual inspection unit in order to identify defects and assist with alignment (see e.g., Wang; [0009]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN SONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728