This Office Action is a new non-final rejection in response to the after final remarks filed on 2/9/2026 that provided persuasive arguments.
Claims 1, 5-8, 11-17, 19 & 20 are pending and presented for examination.
Response to Amendment
Claims 13, 14 & 19 have been amended.
Rejections to claims 13 & 14 under 35 USC 112(b) have been withdrawn based on amendments to these claims.
Rejections to claims 1, 5, 6, 11, 13, 14 & 19 under 35 USC 102 have been withdrawn. However, after further consideration new grounds of rejections of these claims based on 35 USC 103 have been introduced.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/9/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, applicant argues that the combination of the 3P3T switch and 4P3T switch in Yang is not one implementation of a DP4T switch because the combination of the 3P3T switch and 4P3T switch in Yang does not disclose the feature "selectively switch on a transmitting path between the transmitting port and any one of the four antenna ports for transmission" recited in claim 1. Examiner respectfully disagrees noting that Figs 2A & 3A and [0094]-[0095] & [0134-137] disclose that external port 1 (i.e. the transmitting path) can be selectively switched between antenna ports 5, 7, 8 & 9. Specifically, when the 3P3T switch connects the top P terminal (connected to the transmitting path through external port 1) to the top T terminal (connected to external port 5), then the transmitting path is selected to be through a first antenna connected to external port 5. When the 3P3T switch connects the top P terminal to the bottom T terminal (connected to the top P terminal of the 4P3T switch), and the 4P3T switch connects the top P terminal to the top T terminal (connected to external port 7), then the transmitting path is selected to be through a second antenna connected to external port 7. When the 3P3T switch connects the top P terminal to the bottom T terminal, and the 4P3T switch connects the top P terminal to the middle T terminal (connected to external port 8), then the transmitting path is selected to be through a third antenna connected to external port 8. When the 3P3T switch connects the top P terminal to the bottom T terminal, and the 4P3T switch connects the top P terminal to the bottom T terminal (connected to external port 9), then the transmitting path is selected to be through a fourth antenna connected to external port 9. Thus, Yang discloses selectively switching on a transmitting path between port 1 and any one of four antenna ports connected to external ports 5, 7, 8 or 9.
Applicant argues that the remaining three P terminals of the 4P3T switch will affect the switching, making it impossible to ensure that external ports 7-9 are switched independently. Examiner respectfully disagrees noting that it is not required that the remaining three P terminals of the 4P3T switch be connected to anything (e.g. see Fig 2B in Yang), and even if there are connections to the remaining three P ports, the 4P3T switch can be used to only toggle between connecting the top P terminal to the three T terminals and never connect the remaining three P terminals to any of the T terminals.
Applicant argues that Yang fails to disclose "a second filtering unit connected to the receiving port, the second filtering unit being configured to perform a filtering processing on the radio-frequency signal received by the four antenna ports" because, in Yang, the upper P terminal of the 3P3T switch is connected to external port 1 through a first filter Nx and either a PA or LNA, and the middle P terminal of the 3P3T switch is connected to external port 4 through a second filter Ny and a PA or LNA. Examiner respectfully disagrees noting that the upper P terminal of the 3P3T switch is always connected to external port 1 through the first filter Nx and a PA (not an LNA, which is connected to external port 2) and the middle P terminal of the 3P3T switch is always connected to external port 4 through the second filter Ny and an LNA (not a PA, which is connected to external port 3).
Applicant’s arguments, see “Remarks”, filed 2/9/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 13 & 14 under 35 USC 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of claims 13 & 14 under 35 USC 112(b) have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see “Remarks”, filed 2/9/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 5-8, 11-17, 19 & 20 under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, these rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejections are made under 35 USC 103.
Regarding claim 1, applicant submits that this traverses the 35 USC 102 rejection to this claim because Yang et al. (CN 108880600)(herein after “Yang”) fails to disclose a DP4T switch that is a single integrated device. Examiner agrees and withdraws rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 102. However, Yang discloses a 3P3T switch cascaded with a 4P3T switch that performs the same function as a DP4T switch. Specifically, as disclosed in Figs 2A & 3A and [0094]-[0095] & [0134-137] of Yang, the top and middle P terminals of the 3P3T switch are connected and used in the same way that the 2 P terminals of the DP4T switch claimed in the current application are connected and used, and the top T terminal and three T terminals of the 4P3T switch are connected and used in the same way that 4 T terminals of the DP4T switch claimed in the current application are connected and used to selectively connect transmitting and receiving ports to any of four antenna ports. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a single DP4T switch for the cascaded 3P3T and 4P3T switches in Yang. Thus, per MPEP §2141, subsection III (i.e. the KSR decision), examiner introduces rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 103.
Applicant argues that second filter Ny is not directly connected to external port 4 since there is an LNA in between second filter Ny and external port 4, while fig 3 of the current application specification connects second filtering unit 150 directly to the RXOUT receiving port. Examiner agrees that in Yang the second filter Ny is not directly connected to external port 4 and withdraws rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 102. However, Yang discloses that the second filter Ny is connected to external port 4 through an LNA. Further, an LNA can be interpreted as a type of filter, and thus the LNA and filter Ny in Yang could be implemented in a single device that is interpreted as “the second filter”, or the LNA could be removed altogether (e.g. if SNR is not an issue) such that the second filter Ny connects directly to external port 4. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a single filter for the cascaded LNA and Ny filter or remove the LNA altogether in Yang such that a second filter is directly connected to external port 4. Thus, per MPEP §2141, subsection III (i.e. the KSR decision), examiner introduces rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 103.
Regarding claims 12 & 20, applicant submits that for the same arguments made above these claims traverse the 35 USC 102 rejections to these claims. Examiner agrees and withdraws rejection of claims 12 & 20 under 35 USC 102. However, for the same reasons as discussed above, examiner introduces rejections to claims 12 & 20 under 35 USC 103.
Regarding claims 5, 6, 11, 13, 14 & 19, applicant submits that these claims traverse the 35 USC 102 rejections to these claims based on the same arguments made above for claims 1 & 12 and due to their dependency on claims 1 or 12. Examiner agrees and withdraws rejections of these claims under 35 USC 102. However, for the same reasons as discussed above examiner introduces rejections of these claims under 35 USC 103.
Regarding claims 7, 8 & 15-17, applicant submits that these claims are patentable based on the same arguments made above for claims 1 & 12 and due to their dependency on claims 1 or 12. Examiner respectfully disagrees and for the same reasons as discussed above maintains rejections of these claims under 35 USC 103.
Claim Interpretation
Several of the claims in the present application recite Markush groups in the format of “at least one of A, B or C”. For the purpose of this review, the examiner is interpreting these Markush claims as a single element selection from a closed group of elements consisting of alternatives A, B or C.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 6, 11, 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (CN 108880600)(herein after “Yang”).
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses a radio-frequency Power Amplifier Modules including Duplexers (PA Mid) device, having a transmitting port configured to connect to a radio-frequency transceiver, a receiving port configured to connect to the radio-frequency transceiver, and four antenna ports each configured to connect to an antenna (Fig 2A & [0094]-[0097] disclose a transmitting module (i.e. PA mid device) including a signal transceiver circuit including a PA and a transceiver switch (i.e. duplexer) where the transmitting module has a first external port 1 (i.e. a transmitting port) configured to connect to an RF transceiver (e.g. to the Nx TX port of an RF transceiver in fig 3A & [0138]) and a fourth external port 4 (i.e. a receiving port) configured to connect to the RF transceiver (e.g. to the Ny RX port of the RF transceiver in fig 3A & [0138]). Figs 2A & 3A and [0094]-[0097], [0128] and [0134]-[0136] disclose that the transmitter module has four external ports 5, 7, 8 & 9 where port 5 is configured to connect to a first antenna, and ports 7, 8 & 9 are each configured to connect to separate second, third and fourth antennas through receive modules with auxiliary (AUX) bypass channels.), the radio-frequency PA Mid device comprising:
a power amplifier having an input terminal connected to the transmitting port, the power amplifier being configured to perform a power amplification processing on a received radio- frequency signal (Fig 2A & [0096] disclose a power amplifier (PA) having an input port (i.e. input terminal) connected to first external port 1 (i.e. the transmitting port) that performs power amplification on an RF signal received at external port 1 (e.g. an RF signal from transmit port Nx TX in fig 3A & [0138]).);
a first filtering unit connected to an output terminal of the power amplifier, the first filtering unit being configured to perform a filtering processing on the received radio-frequency signal (Fig 2A & [0095] disclose a first filter connected to the output port (i.e. output terminal) of the first PA through a first transceiver switch that performs filtering on a received RF signal from first external port 1 after amplification through the first PA. Note that for the purpose of this review, it is assumed that the top transceiver switch in fig 2A is always in the “up” position and connecting the top PA to the first filter unit.);
a second filtering unit, the second filtering unit being configured to perform a filtering processing on the radio-frequency signal received by the four antenna ports (Figs 2A & 3A and [0094]-[0096] & [0134]-[0136] disclose a second filter connected to external port 4 (i.e. the receiving port) through an LNA that performs filtering on RF signals from external port 5 (i.e. first antenna port) through a 3P3T switch and from external ports 7, 8 & 9 through a 4P3T switch and the 3P3T switch. Note that for the purpose of this review, it is assumed that the bottom transceiver switch in fig 2A is always in the “down” position and connecting the bottom LNA to the second filter unit.); and
a multi-channel selection switching system having two first terminals and four second terminals, one of the two first terminals being connected to the first filtering unit, the other one of the two first terminals being connected to the second filtering unit, and the four second terminals being connected to the four antenna ports in a one-to-one correspondence, wherein the multi-channel selection switch is configured to selectively switch on a transmitting path between the transmitting port and any one of the four antenna ports for transmission of the radio-frequency signal and supporting a function of polling transmission of a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) among the four antenna ports (Figs 2A & 3A and [0094]-[0095] & [134-137] disclose a 3P3T switch connected to a 4P3T switch, which together perform the functions of a DP4T multi-channel selection switch. Using only the top two P ports of the 3P3T switch provide two first terminals and using only the top T terminal of the 3P3T switch together with the three T terminals of the 4P3T switch provide four second terminals of a DP4T switch. The top P terminal (i.e. one of the first terminals) of the 3P3T switch is connected to the first filtering unit (below the Nx label in figs 2A & 3A) while the middle P terminal of the 3P3T switch is connected to the second filtering unit (below the Ny label in figs 2A & 3A). The top T terminal of the 3P3T switch and the three T terminals of the 4P3T switch are connected in one-to-one correspondence with external ports 5, 7, 8 & 9 which each connect to separate antennas (i.e. external ports 5, 7, 8, 9 are antenna ports). The combination of the 3P3T and 4P3T switches (i.e. acting as a DP4T multi-channel switch) is configured to selectively switch on a transmitting path between external port 1 (i.e. the transmitting port) and any one of external ports 5, 7, 8 & 9 (i.e. any one of the four antenna ports) for transmission of an RF signal from the Nx TX port of the RF transceiver in fig 3A by placing the 3P3T switch in the top P terminal position and switching between the top T terminal of the 3P3T switch, when transmission of the RF signal through a first antenna through external port 5 is desired, and the bottom T terminal of the 3P3T with switching between the three T terminals of the 4P3T switch when transmission of the RF signal through a second antenna through external port 7, or a third antenna through external port 8 or a fourth antenna through external port 9 is desired. Fig 3A & [0134] discloses that the architecture of fig 3A supports 4 antenna SRS transmit polling.).
Yang fails to disclose wherein the multi-channel selection switching system is a switch being a radio-frequency Double-Pole Four-Throw (DP4T).
However, as disclosed in Figs 2A & 3A and [0094]-[0095] & [0134-137] of Yang, the top and middle P terminals of the 3P3T switch are connected and used in the same way that the 2 P terminals of the DP4T switch claimed in the current application are connected and used, and the top T terminal and three T terminals of the 4P3T switch are connected and used in the same way that the 4 T terminals of the DP4T switch claimed in the current application are connected and used to selectively connect transmitting and receiving ports to any of four antenna ports.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a single DP4T switch for the cascaded 3P3T and 4P3T switches in Yang. The motivation to do so would have been to save cost in implementation by having a single DP4T device instead a 3P3T device cascaded with a 4P3T device be used to selectively connect transmitting and receiving ports to any of four antenna ports.
Yang fails to disclose wherein the second filtering unit is connected to the receiving port.
However, Yang discloses that the second filter Ny is connected to external port 4 through an LNA. Further, an LNA can be interpreted as a type of filter, and thus the LNA and filter Ny in Yang could be implemented in a single device that is interpreted as “the second filter”, or the LNA could be removed altogether (e.g. if SNR is not an issue) such that the second filter Ny connects directly to external port 4.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a single filter for the cascaded LNA and Ny filter or remove the LNA altogether in Yang such that a second filter is directly connected to external port 4. The motivation to do so would have been to save cost in implementation, in scenarios where SNR is not an issue, by having a single filter instead of a cascaded LNA and filter connect to an external receiving port.
Regarding claim 5, Yang discloses further comprising: a first low noise amplifier disposed in a receiving path, wherein the first low noise amplifier is configured to amplify the radio-frequency signal received by the four antenna ports and output the radio-frequency signal via the receiving port (Fig 2A & [0095]-[0096] disclose a first LNA in the receiving path between a transceiver switch (i.e. duplexer) and external port 4 (i.e. the receiving port), which amplifies the RF signals received by the four external ports 5, 7, 8 & 9 (i.e. the four antenna ports) when the 3P3T switch is in the middle P port position and outputs the amplified RF signals via external port 4 (i.e. the receiving port).).
Regarding claim 6, Yang discloses further having a coupling output port (Fig 2A & [0096] disclose that the output of a first power coupler is connected to a tenth external port 10 (i.e. a coupling output port).), wherein the radio-frequency PA Mid device further comprises:
a coupling circuit coupled to the first filtering unit and the one of the two first terminals of the multi-channel selection switch, and connected to the coupling output port, wherein the coupling circuit is configured to couple the radio-frequency signal to output a coupling signal for measuring power information (Fig 2A & [0095]-[0096] disclose a first power coupler that is coupled to the first filter and the top T port of the 3T3P switch (i.e. the one of the two first terminals of the multi-channel selection switch), and connected to the tenth external port 10 through a power detection switch. [0097] discloses that the tenth external port is used to connect to the power detection PDET port of the RF transceivers (i.e. for measuring power information.).
Regarding claim 11, Yang discloses wherein the radio-frequency signal is a 5G signal in an N41 frequency band, an N77 frequency band, or an N79 frequency band ([0043] & [0045] disclose that the devices involved in the disclosed inventions may include a 5G NR mobile phone terminal or 5G NR terminal device. [0046] discloses embodiments of the disclosed invention including the transmitting & receiving modules (i.e. the RF transceiver) cover a frequency band range including 3.3-4.2 GHz. To someone having ordinary skill in the art, 3.3-4.2 GHz includes the N77 frequency band. A broadest reasonable interpretation is that the radio frequency signal of the RF transceiver may be a 5G signal in an N77 frequency band.).
Regarding claim 12, Yang discloses a radio-frequency transceiving system (Page 1, Section 1 discloses an RF system comprising a radio frequency transceiver.), comprising:
an antenna group comprising a first antenna, a second antenna, a third antenna and a fourth antenna, the antenna group being configured to transmit and receive a radio-frequency signal (Fig 3A & [134]-[137] disclose an antenna group consisting of a first antenna group, a second antenna group, a third antenna group and a fourth antenna group. Note that although two antennas per group are disclosed, only a single antenna from each group may be used resulting in four total antennas. [0012]-[0013] discloses that the antenna groups transmit and receive RF signals through the antennas.);
three radio-frequency L-DRX modules being provided as a first radio-frequency L-DRX module, a second radio-frequency L-DRX module, and a third radio-frequency L-DRX module, respectively (Fig 3A & [0139] disclose three receiving modules (i.e. radio-frequency L-DRX modules, herein after referred to as L-DRX modules) where a first L-DRX module (lower right corner of Fig 3A) is connected to a first antenna and external port 7 of the transmitting module (i.e. PA Mid device, herein after referred to as the PA Mid device), a second L-DRX module (lower left corner in figure 3A) is connected to a third antenna and external port 8 of the PA Mid device, and a third L-DRX module (upper left corner in fig 3A) is connected to a fourth antenna and external port 9 of the PA Mid device.); and
at least one radio-frequency PA Mid device having a transmitting port configured to connect to a radio-frequency transceiver, a receiving port configured to connect to the radio-frequency transceiver, and four antenna ports each configured to connect to an antenna (Fig 2A & [0094]-[0097] disclose a transmitting module (i.e. the PA mid device) including a signal transceiver circuit including a PA and a transceiver switch (i.e. duplexer) where the transmitting module has a first external port 1 (i.e. a transmitting port) configured to connect to an RF transceiver (e.g. to the Nx TX port of an RF transceiver in fig 3A & [0138]) and a fourth external port 4 (i.e. a receiving port) configured to connect to the RF transceiver (e.g. to the Ny RX port of the RF transceiver in fig 3A & [0138]). Figs 2A & 3A and [0094]-[0097], [0128] and [0134]-[0136] disclose that the transmitter module has four external ports 5, 7, 8 & 9 where port 5 is configured to connect to a first antenna, and ports 7, 8 & 9 are each configured to connect to separate second, third and fourth antennas through receive modules with auxiliary (AUX) bypass channels.), the radio-frequency PA Mid device comprising:
a power amplifier having an input terminal connected to the transmitting port, the power amplifier being configured to perform a power amplification processing on a received radio-frequency signal (Fig 2A & [0096] disclose a power amplifier (PA) having an input port (i.e. input terminal) connected to first external port 1 (i.e. the transmitting port) that performs power amplification on an RF signal received at external port 1 (e.g. an RF signal from transmit port Nx TX in fig 3A & [0138]).);
a first filtering unit connected to an output terminal of the power amplifier, the first filtering unit being configured to perform a filtering processing on the received radio- frequency signal (Fig 2A & [0095] disclose a first filter connected to the output port (i.e. output terminal) of the first PA through a first transceiver switch that performs filtering on a received RF signal from first external port 1 after amplification through the first PA. Note that for the purpose of this review, it is assumed that the top transceiver switch in fig 2A is always in the “up” position and connecting the top PA to the first filter unit.);
A second filtering unit, the second filtering unit being configured to perform a filtering processing on the radio-frequency signal received by the four antenna ports (Figs 2A & 3A and [0094]-[0096] & [0134]-[0136] disclose a second filter connected to external port 4 (i.e. the receiving port) through an LNA that performs filtering on RF signals from external port 5 (i.e. first antenna port) through a 3P3T switch and from external ports 7, 8 & 9 through a 4P3T switch and the 3P3T switch. Note that for the purpose of this review, it is assumed that the bottom transceiver switch in fig 2A is always in the “down” position and connecting the bottom LNA to the second filter unit.); and
a multi-channel selection switching system being a radio-frequency Double-Pole Four-Throw (DP4T) switch having two first terminals and four second terminals, one of the two first terminals being connected to the first filtering unit, the other one of the two first terminals being connected to the second filtering unit, and the four second terminals being connected to the four antenna ports in a one-to-one correspondence, wherein the multi-channel selection switch is configured to selectively switch on a transmitting path between the transmitting port and any one of the four antenna ports for transmission of the radio-frequency signal and supporting function of polling transmission of a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) among the four antenna ports (Figs 2A & 3A and [0094]-[0095] & [134-137] disclose a 3P3T switch connected to a 4P3T switch, which together perform the functions of a DP4T multi-channel selection switch. Using only the top two P ports of the 3P3T switch provide two first terminals and using only the top T terminal of the 3P3T switch together with the three T terminals of the 4P3T switch provide four second terminals of a DP4T switch. The top P terminal (i.e. one of the first terminals) of the 3P3T switch is connected to the first filtering unit (below the Nx label in figs 2A & 3A) while the middle P terminal of the 3P3T switch is connected to the second filtering unit (below the Ny label in figs 2A & 3A). The top T terminal of the 3P3T switch and the three T terminals of the 4P3T switch are connected in one-to-one correspondence with external ports 5, 7, 8 & 9 which each connect to separate antennas (i.e. external ports 5, 7, 8, 9 are antenna ports). The combination of the 3P3T and 4P3T switches (i.e. acting as a DP4T multi-channel switch) is configured to selectively switch on a transmitting path between external port 1 (i.e. the transmitting port) and any one of external ports 5, 7, 8 & 9 (i.e. any one of the four antenna ports) for transmission of an RF signal from the Nx TX port of the RF transceiver in fig 3A by placing the 3P3T switch in the top P terminal position and switching between the top T terminal of the 3P3T switch, when transmission of the RF signal through a first antenna through external port 5 is desired, and the bottom T terminal of the 3P3T with switching between the three T terminals of the 4P3T switch when transmission of the RF signal through a second antenna through external port 7, or a third antenna through external port 8 or a fourth antenna through external port 9 is desired. Fig 3A & [0134] discloses that the architecture of fig 3A supports 4 antenna SRS transmit polling.), wherein the four antenna ports of the at least one radio-frequency PA Mid device comprising a first antenna port connected to the second antenna, a second antenna port connected to the first antenna via the first radio-frequency L-DRX module, a third antenna port connected to the third antenna via the second radio-frequency L-DRX module, and a fourth antenna port connected to the fourth antenna via the third radio-frequency L-DRX module (Fig 3A and [0134]-[0137] disclose that the four external ports 5, 7, 8 & 9 (i.e. the four antenna ports) of the PA Mid device comprise a first antenna port connected to a second antenna (i.e. external port 5), a second antenna port connected to the first antenna via the first L-DRX module (i.e. external port 7), a third antenna port connected to the third antenna via the second L-DRX module (i.e. external port 8), and a fourth antenna port connected to the fourth antenna via the third L-DRX module (i.e. external port 9), and wherein the radio-frequency PA Mid device is configured to support a function of polling transmission of SRS between the first antenna, the second antenna, the third antenna, and the fourth antenna (Fig 3A & [0134] discloses that the architecture of fig 3A supports 4 antenna SRS transmit polling across the first antenna, the second antenna, the third antenna and the fourth antenna.).
Yang fails to disclose wherein the multi-channel selection switching system is a switch being a radio-frequency Double-Pole Four-Throw (DP4T).
However, as disclosed in Figs 2A & 3A and [0094]-[0095] & [0134-137] of Yang, the top and middle P terminals of the 3P3T switch are connected and used in the same way that the 2 P terminals of the DP4T switch claimed in the current application are connected and used, and the top T terminal and three T terminals of the 4P3T switch are connected and used in the same way that the 4 T terminals of the DP4T switch claimed in the current application are connected and used to selectively connect transmitting and receiving ports to any of four antenna ports.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a single DP4T switch for the cascaded 3P3T and 4P3T switches in Yang. The motivation to do so would have been to save cost in implementation by having a single DP4T device instead a 3P3T device cascaded with a 4P3T device be used to selectively connect transmitting and receiving ports to any of four antenna ports.
Yang fails to disclose wherein the second filtering unit is connected to the receiving port.
However, Yang discloses that the second filter Ny is connected to external port 4 through an LNA. Further, an LNA can be interpreted as a type of filter, and thus the LNA and filter Ny in Yang could be implemented in a single device that is interpreted as “the second filter”, or the LNA could be removed altogether (e.g. if SNR is not an issue) such that the second filter Ny connects directly to external port 4.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a single filter for the cascaded LNA and Ny filter or remove the LNA altogether in Yang such that a second filter is directly connected to external port 4. The motivation to do so would have been to save cost in implementation, in scenarios where SNR is not an issue, by having a single filter instead of a cascaded LNA and filter connect to an external receiving port.
Regarding claim 13, Yang discloses wherein each of the three radio-frequency L-DRX modules comprises: a third switching unit connected to a corresponding antenna and one of the four antenna ports of the radio-frequency PA Mid device (Fig 3A & [0139]-[0140] disclose that each of the three L-DRX modules comprise a DP4T switch (i.e. a third switching unit) connected to one of the four external ports 5, 7, 8 & 9. The third DP4T switch of the first L-DRX module is connected the first antenna and external port 7. The third DP4T switch of the second L-DRX module is connected the third antenna and external port 8. The third DP4T switch of the third L-DRX module is connected the fourth antenna and external port 9.);
a third filtering unit connected to the third switching unit and configured to perform a filtering processing on the radio-frequency signal received by the corresponding antenna (Fig 3A & [0139]-[0140) disclose that each of the L-DRX modules comprises a filter (i.e. third filtering unit) connected to the DP4T switch that can perform filtering of RF signals. The third filtering unit of the first L-DRX performs filtering of the RF signal received by the first antenna. The third filtering unit of the second L-DRX performs filtering of the RF signal received by the third antenna. The third filtering unit of the third L-DRX performs filtering of the RF signal received by the fourth antenna.); and
a second low noise amplifier having an input terminal connected to the third filtering unit and an output terminal, the second low noise amplifier being configured to amplify the received radio- frequency signal and output, via the output terminal of second low noise amplifier, an amplified radio-frequency signal to the radio-frequency transceiver, wherein the third switching unit is configured to selectively switch on a receiving path where the second low noise amplifier is located and a transmitting path where the radio-frequency PA Mid device is located (Fig 3A & [0139]-[0140] disclose an LNA (i.e. second LNA) with an input terminal connected to the third filtering unit that amplifies a received RF signal from the filter and outputs, via the LNA output port, the amplified RF signal to one of the ports of the RF transceiver. The DP4T switch selectively can switch on a receiving path to the LNA through the second T port of the DP4T switch and a transmitting path through the first T port of the DP4T switch that is connected to one of the external ports 7, 8 or 9 of the PA mid device.).
Regarding claim 14, Yang discloses wherein each of the three radio-frequency L-DRX modules further comprises: a bypass switch connected in parallel with the second low noise amplifier (Fig 3A & [0139]-[0140] discloses that each of the three L-DRX modules comprises a bypass channel connected in parallel with the LNA (i.e. the second LNA).).
Regarding claim 19, Yang discloses wherein the at least one radio-frequency PA Mid device comprises a first radio-frequency PA Mid device and a second radio-frequency PA Mid device, respectively (Figs 2A & 3A and [0094]-[0096] & [0134]-[0137] disclose that the PA Mid device comprises a first RF PA Mid device (i.e. top PA in figs 2A & 3A) and a second RF PA mid device (i.e. bottom PA in figs 2A & 3A), respectively.);
the four antenna ports of each of the first radio-frequency PA Mid device and the second radio-frequency PA Mid device comprise the first antenna port, the second antenna port, the third antenna port, and the fourth antenna port (Fig 3A & [0134]-[0137] disclose the four external ports 5, 7, 8 & 9 (i.e. the antenna ports) of each of the first PA Mid device (i.e. top PA in fig 3A) and the second PA Mid device (i.e. bottom PA in fig 3A) comprise the first antenna port (external port 5), the second antenna port (external port 7), the third antenna port (external port 8) and the fourth antenna port (external port 9).);
the first antenna port of the first radio-frequency PA Mid device is connected to the second antenna (Fig 3A & [0134]-[0137] disclose external port 5 (i.e. the first antenna port of the first PA Mid device) of the first PA mid device is connected the second antenna.);
the second antenna port of the first radio-frequency PA Mid device is connected to the first antenna via the first radio-frequency L-DRX module (Fig 3A & [0134]-[0137] disclose external port 7 (i.e. the second antenna port of the first PA Mid device) of the first PA Mid device is connected to the first antenna via the first L-DRX module.);
the third antenna port of the first radio- frequency PA Mid device is connected to the third antenna via the second radio-frequency L-DRX module (Fig 3A & [0134]-[0137] disclose external port 8 (i.e. the third antenna port of the first PA Mid device) of the first PA Mid device is connected to the third antenna via the second L-DRX module.); and
the fourth antenna port of the first radio-frequency PA Mid device is connected to the fourth antenna via the third radio-frequency L-DRX module (Fig 3A & [0134]-[0137] disclose external port 9 (i.e. the fourth antenna port of the first PA Mid device) of the first PA Mid device is connected to the fourth antenna via the third L-DRX module.); and
the first antenna port of the second radio-frequency PA Mid device is connected to the third antenna via the second radio-frequency L-DRX module (Fig 3A & [0134]-[0137] disclose external port 8 (i.e. a first antenna port of the second PA Mid device) of the second PA Mid device is connected to the third antenna via the second L-DRX module.); and
the second antenna port of the second radio-frequency PA Mid device is connected to the fourth antenna via the third radio-frequency L- DRX module (Fig 3A & [0134]-[0137] disclose external port 9 (i.e. a second antenna port of the second PA Mid device) of the second PA Mid device is connected to the fourth antenna via the third L-DRX module.).
Regarding claim 20, Yang discloses a communication apparatus, comprising: a radio-frequency transceiver (Page 1, Section 1 discloses an RF system comprising an RF transceiver. Page 2, Section 2 discloses the RF system applied to an electronic device (i.e. a communication apparatus).); and
a radio-frequency transceiving system connected to the radio-frequency transceiver (Page 1, Section 1 discloses an RF system comprising the RF transceiver.), the radio- frequency transceiving system comprising:
an antenna group comprising a first antenna, a second antenna, a third antenna, and a fourth antenna, the antenna group being configured to transmit and receive a radio-frequency signal (Fig 3A & [134]-[137] disclose an antenna group consisting of a first antenna group, a second antenna group, a third antenna group and a fourth antenna group. Note that although two antennas per group are disclosed, only a single antenna from each group may be used resulting in four total antennas. [0012]-[0013] discloses that the antenna groups transmit and receive RF signals through the antennas.);
three radio-frequency L-DRX modules being provided as a first radio-frequency L-DRX module, a second radio-frequency L-DRX module, and a third radio-frequency L-DRX module, respectively (Fig 3A & [0139] disclose three receiving modules (i.e. radio-frequency L-DRX modules, herein after referred to as L-DRX modules) where a first L-DRX module (lower right corner of Fig 3A) is connected to a first antenna and external port 7 of the transmitting module (i.e. PA Mid device, herein after referred to as the PA Mid device), a second L-DRX module (lower left corner in figure 3A) is connected to a third antenna and external port 8 of the PA Mid device, and a third L-DRX module (upper left corner in fig 3A) is connected to a fourth antenna and external port 9 of the PA Mid device.); and
at least one radio-frequency PA Mid device having a transmitting port configured to connect to a radio-frequency transceiver, a receiving port configured to connect to the radio-frequency transceiver, and four antenna ports each configured to connect to an antenna (Fig 2A & [0094]-[0097] disclose a transmitting module (i.e. the PA mid device) including a signal transceiver circuit including a PA and a transceiver switch (i.e. duplexer) where the transmitting module has a first external port 1 (i.e. a transmitting port) configured to connect to an RF transceiver (e.g. to the Nx TX port of an RF transceiver in fig 3A & [0138]) and a fourth external port 4 (i.e. a receiving port) configured to connect to the RF transceiver (e.g. to the Ny RX port of the RF transceiver in fig 3A & [0138]). Figs 2A & 3A and [0094]-[0097], [0128] and [0134]-[0136] disclose that the transmitter module has four external ports 5, 7, 8 & 9 where port 5 is configured to connect to a first antenna, and ports 7, 8 & 9 are each configured to connect to separate second, third and fourth antennas through receive modules with auxiliary (AUX) bypass channels.), the radio-frequency PA Mid device comprising:
a power amplifier having an input terminal connected to the transmitting port, the power amplifier being configured to perform a power amplification processing on a received radio-frequency signal (Fig 2A & [0096] disclose a power amplifier (PA) having an input port (i.e. input terminal) connected to first external port 1 (i.e. the transmitting port) that performs power amplification on an RF signal received at external port 1 (e.g. an RF signal from transmit port Nx TX in fig 3A & [0138]).);
a first filtering unit connected to an output terminal of the power amplifier, the first filtering unit being configured to perform a filtering processing on the received radio- frequency signal (Fig 2A & [0095] disclose a first filter connected to the output port (i.e. output terminal) of the first PA through a first transceiver switch that performs filtering on a received RF signal from first external port 1 after amplification through the first PA. Note that for the purpose of this review, it is assumed that the top transceiver switch in fig 2A is always in the “up” position and connecting the top PA to the first filter unit.);
a second filtering unit, the second filtering unit being configured to perform a filtering processing on the radio-frequency signal received by the four antenna ports (Figs 2A & 3A and [0094]-[0096] & [0134]-[0136] disclose a second filter connected to external port 4 (i.e. the receiving port) through an LNA that performs filtering on RF signals from external port 5 (i.e. first antenna port) through a 3P3T switch and from external ports 7, 8 & 9 through a 4P3T switch and the 3P3T switch. Note that for the purpose of this review, it is assumed that the bottom transceiver switch in fig 2A is always in the “down” position and connecting the bottom LNA to the second filter unit.); and
a multi-channel selection switching system having two first terminals and four second terminals, one of the two first terminals being connected to the first filtering unit, the other one of the two first terminals being connected to the second filtering unit, and the four second terminals being connected to the four antenna ports in a one-to-one correspondence, wherein the multi-channel selection switch is configured to selectively switch on a transmitting path between the transmitting port and any one of the four antenna ports for transmission of the radio-frequency signal and supporting function of polling transmission of a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) among the four antenna ports (Figs 2A & 3A and [0094]-[0095] & [134-137] disclose a 3P3T switch connected to a 4P3T switch, which together perform the functions of a DP4T multi-channel selection switch. Using only the top two P ports of the 3P3T switch provide two first terminals and using only the top T terminal of the 3P3T switch together with the three T terminals of the 4P3T switch provide four second terminals of a DP4T switch. The top P terminal (i.e. one of the first terminals) of the 3P3T switch is connected to the first filtering unit (below the Nx label in figs 2A & 3A) while the middle P terminal of the 3P3T switch is connected to the second filtering unit (below the Ny label in figs 2A & 3A). The top T terminal of the 3P3T switch and the three T terminals of the 4P3T switch are connected in one-to-one correspondence with external ports 5, 7, 8 & 9 which each connect to separate antennas (i.e. external ports 5, 7, 8, 9 are antenna ports). The combination of the 3P3T and 4P3T switches (i.e. acting as a DP4T multi-channel switch) is configured to selectively switch on a transmitting path between external port 1 (i.e. the transmitting port) and any one of external ports 5, 7, 8 & 9 (i.e. any one of the four antenna ports) for transmission of an RF signal from the Nx TX port of the RF transceiver in fig 3A by placing the 3P3T switch in the top P terminal position and switching between the top T terminal of the 3P3T switch, when transmission of the RF signal through a first antenna through external port 5 is desired, and the bottom T terminal of the 3P3T with switching between the three T terminals of the 4P3T switch when transmission of the RF signal through a second antenna through external port 7, or a third antenna through external port 8 or a fourth antenna through external port 9 is desired. Fig 3A & [0134] discloses that the architecture of fig 3A supports 4 antenna SRS transmit polling.), wherein the four antenna ports of the at least one radio-frequency PA Mid device comprising a first antenna port connected to the second antenna, a second antenna port connected to the first antenna via the first radio-frequency L-DRX module, a third antenna port connected to the third antenna via the second radio-frequency L-DRX module, and a fourth antenna port connected to the fourth antenna via the third radio-frequency L-DRX module (Fig 3A and [0134]-[0137] disclose that the four external ports 5, 7, 8 & 9 (i.e. the four antenna ports) of the PA Mid device comprise a first antenna port connected to a second antenna (i.e. external port 5), a second antenna port connected to the first antenna via the first L-DRX module (i.e. external port 7), a third antenna port connected to the third antenna via the second L-DRX module (i.e. external port 8), and a fourth antenna port connected to the fourth antenna via the third L-DRX module (i.e. external port 9), and wherein the radio-frequency PA Mid device is configured to support a function of polling transmission of SRS between the first antenna, the second antenna, the third antenna, and the fourth antenna (Fig 3A & [0134] discloses that the architecture of fig 3A supports 4 antenna SRS transmit polling across the first antenna, the second antenna, the third antenna and the fourth antenna.).
Yang fails to disclose wherein the multi-channel selection switching system is a switch being a radio-frequency Double-Pole Four-Throw (DP4T).
However, as disclosed in Figs 2A & 3A and [0094]-[0095] & [0134-137] of Yang, the top and middle P terminals of the 3P3T switch are connected and used in the same way that the 2 P terminals of the DP4T switch claimed in the current application are connected and used, and the top T terminal and three T terminals of the 4P3T switch are connected and used in the same way that the 4 T terminals of the DP4T switch claimed in the current application are connected and used to selectively connect transmitting and receiving ports to any of four antenna ports.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a single DP4T switch for the cascaded 3P3T and 4P3T switches in Yang. The motivation to do so would have been to save cost in implementation by having a single DP4T device instead a 3P3T device cascaded with a 4P3T device be used to selectively connect transmitting and receiving ports to any of four antenna ports.
Yang fails to disclose wherein the second filtering unit is connected to the receiving port.
However, Yang discloses that the second filter Ny is connected to external port 4 through an LNA. Further, an LNA can be interpreted as a type of filter, and thus the LNA and filter Ny in Yang could be implemented in a single device that is interpreted as “the second filter”, or the LNA could be removed altogether (e.g. if SNR is not an issue) such that the second filter Ny connects directly to external port 4.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a single filter for the cascaded LNA and Ny filter or remove the LNA altogether in Yang such that a second filter is directly connected to external port 4. The motivation to do so would have been to save cost in implementation, in scenarios where SNR is not an issue, by having a single filter instead of a cascaded LNA and filter connect to an external receiving port.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (CN 108880600)(herein after “Yang”), as applied to claim 6, in view of Han et al. (US 2021/0218430)(herein after “Han”).
Regarding claim 7, Yang discloses the radio-frequency PA Mid device according to claim 6.
Yang discloses wherein the coupled circuit comprises: a coupling unit having an input terminal coupled to the first filtering unit, an output terminal coupled to the one of the two first terminals of the multi-channel selection switch and connected to the coupling output port (Fig 2A & [0095]-[0096] disclose a first power coupler that is coupled to the first filter (i.e. input terminal coupled to the first filter) and the top T port of the 3T3P switch (i.e. output terminal coupled to the top T port of the 3T3P switch) and connected to the tenth external port 10 through a power detection switch (i.e. the coupling output port.).).
Yang fails to disclose wherein the coupling signal comprises a forward coupling signal and a reverse coupling signal; and a first coupling terminal, and a second coupling terminal; and a coupling switch connected to the first coupling terminal, the second coupling terminal, the coupling switch being configured to selectively output the forward coupling signal or the reverse coupling signal.
However, Han teaches wherein the coupling signal comprises a forward coupling signal and a reverse coupling signal (Fig 8 & [0059] disclose a dual directional coupler that can isolate a forward traveling signal and a reverse traveling signal.); and
a first coupling terminal, and a second coupling terminal (Fig 8 & [0058] disclose the dual directional coupler may including multiple couplers internally connected to provide measurements of both forward traveling signal 80 (i.e. a first coupling terminal) and reverse traveling signal 83 (i.e. a second coupling terminal.); and
a coupling switch connected to the first coupling terminal and the second coupling terminal, the coupling switch being configured to selectively output the forward coupling signal or the reverse coupling signal (Fig. 8 and [0058]-[0059] disclose the dual direction coupler may include programmable switches connected to each internal coupler (i.e. connected to the first coupling terminal for forward traveling signal 80 and connected to the second coupling terminal for reverse traveling signal 83.) that may selectively provide measurements of forward traveling signal 80 and reverse traveling signal 83 (i.e. output the forward coupling signal or the reverse coupling signal).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the radio-frequency PA Mid device according to claim 6, wherein the coupled circuit comprises: a coupling unit having an input terminal coupled to the first filtering unit, an output terminal coupled to the at least one first terminal of the multi-channel selection switch and connected to the coupling output port, as disclosed by Yang, wherein the coupling signal comprises a forward coupling signal and a reverse coupling signal; and a first coupling terminal, and a second coupling terminal; and a coupling switch connected to the first coupling terminal, the second coupling terminal, the coupling switch being configured to selectively output the forward coupling signal or the reverse coupling signal, as taught by Han. The motivation to do so would be to have a transceiver with a coupling output that can switch between providing measurements of the forward traveling path power and reverse traveling path power so that in addition to optimizing the transmit power level, impedance mismatch adjustments can be made to minimize the reflected power being measured.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (CN 108880600)(herein after “Yang”), as applied to claim 1, in view of McPartlin et al. (US 2014/0002187)(herein after “McPartlin”).
Regarding claim 8, Yang discloses the radio-frequency PA Mid device according to claim 1.
Yang fails to disclose wherein each of the first filtering unit and the second filtering unit comprises a band-pass filter or a low-pass filter.
However, McPartlin teaches wherein each of the first filtering unit and the second filtering unit comprises a band-pass filter or a low-pass filter (Fig 2, Fig 4 & [0071] disclose a transceiver module that comprises a first filter may be a low-pass filter (e.g. between PA and a transmit antenna) or a band-pass filter (e.g. between a receive antenna and an LNA).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the radio-frequency PA Mid device according to claim 4, as disclosed by Yang, wherein each of the first filtering unit and the second filtering unit comprises a band-pass filter or a low-pass filter, as taught by McPartlin. The motivation to do so would be to have a transceiver for a wireless system designed for a specific operating frequency band that uses either a low-pass or band-pass filter to limit interference to frequency bands outside the operating frequency band on the transmit path and filter out interference from frequency bands outside the operating frequency band on the receive path.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (CN 108880600)(herein after “Yang”), as applied to claim 14, in view of Lie et al. (D. Y. C. Lie, “”RF-SoC”: Integration Trends of On-Chip CMOS Power Amplifier: Benefits of External PA versus Integrated PA for Portable Wireless Communications”, International Journal of Microwave Science and Technology, Volume 2010, Article ID 380108, 3/14/2010)(herein after “Lie”).
Regarding claim 15, Yang discloses the radio-frequency transceiving system according to claim 14, wherein the second low noise amplifier and the bypass switch are arranged on a same main board (Fig 3A & [0135] discloses the first receiving module, including the LNA (i.e. the second LNA) and bypass switch, arranged on a same main board.).
Yang fails to disclose being packaged in a same chip.
However, Lie teaches being packaged in a same chip (Page 2, 2nd paragraph discloses an RF-system-on-a-chip (RF SoC) that integrates all RF/analog/digital circuits with memory blocks and microprocessors/DSP on a single chip.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the radio-frequency transceiving system according to claim 14, wherein the second low noise amplifier and the bypass switch are arranged on a same main board, as disclosed by Yang, and packaging the main board in a same RF SoC, as taught by Lie. The motivation to do so would be to have an RF SoC implement first receiver module functions, including an LNA and bypass circuit, on a single chip to reduce susceptibility to external noise and reduce footprint.
Claims 16 & 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (CN 108880600)(herein after “Yang”), as applied to claim 13, in view of Lie et al. (D. Y. C. Lie, “”RF-SoC”: Integration Trends of On-Chip CMOS Power Amplifier: Benefits of External PA versus Integrated PA for Portable Wireless Communications”, International Journal of Microwave Science and Technology, Volume 2010, Article ID 380108, 3/14/2010)(herein after “Lie”).
Regarding claim 16, Yang discloses the radio-frequency transceiving system according to claim 13, wherein the second low noise amplifier and the third filtering unit are arranged on a same main board (Fig 3A & [0135] discloses the first receiving module, including the LNA (i.e. the second LNA) and filter (i.e. third filter), arranged on a same main board.).
Yang fails to disclose being packaged in a same chip.
However, Lie teaches being packaged in a same chip (Page 2, 2nd paragraph discloses an RF-system-on-a-chip (RF SoC) that integrates all RF/analog/digital circuits with memory blocks and microprocessors/DSP on a single chip.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the radio-frequency transceiving system according to claim 13, wherein the second low noise amplifier and the third filtering unit are arranged on a same main board, as disclosed by Yang, and packaging the main board in a same RF SoC, as taught by Lie. The motivation to do so would be to have an RF SoC implement first receiver module functions, including an LNA and filter, on a single chip to reduce susceptibility to external noise and reduce footprint.
Regarding claim 17, Yang discloses the radio-frequency transceiving system according to claim 13, wherein the second low noise amplifier, the third filtering unit, and the third switching unit are arranged on a same main board (Fig 3A & [0135] discloses the first receiving module, including the LNA (i.e. the second LNA), filter (i.e. third filter) and DP4T switch (i.e. third switch), arranged on a same main board.).
Yang fails to disclose being packaged in a same chip.
However, Lie teaches being packaged in a same chip (Page 2, 2nd paragraph discloses an RF-system-on-a-chip (RF SoC) that integrates all RF/analog/digital circuits with memory blocks and microprocessors/DSP on a single chip.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the radio-frequency transceiving system according to claim 13, wherein the second low noise amplifier, the third filtering unit, and the third switching unit are arranged on a same main board, as disclosed by Yang, and packaging the main board in a same RF SoC, as taught by Lie. The motivation to do so would be to have an RF SoC implement first receiver module functions, including an LNA, filter and DP4T switch, on a single chip to reduce susceptibility to external noise and reduce footprint.
Conclusion
/JAMES P SEYMOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419