DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 12/15/2025. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imada et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2013/0063240 A1) in view of Du et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2004/0113739 A1) and Jimenez Pino et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2020/0258675 A1, hereinafter “Pino”).
With respect to claim 1, Imada et al., hereinafter referred to as “Imada,” teaches a transformer 20 (FIGs. 4-5), comprising:
a magnetic core 11a and 11b assembly comprising a first magnetic core 11a and a second magnetic core 11b;
a bobbin 12 comprising a bobbin main body 121 (annotated FIG. 5), a bobbin channel 122 and a winding portion 12a, wherein the bobbin channel runs through two opposite sides of the bobbin main body, and the winding portion is formed on an outer periphery surface of the bobbin main body;
two first windings P11a and any of P12a, P2 or P3 disposed around the winding portion, wherein one of the two first windings is disposed between the other one of the two first windings and the outer periphery surface of the bobbin main body;
a second winding (e.g. winding S11) disposed around the winding portion and disposed between the two first windings, (paras. [0028]-[0029] and [0048]-[0052]).
Imada does not expressly teach at least one circuit board comprising a circuit board hole, wherein the circuit board hole and the bobbin channel are communicated with each other, and the magnetic core assembly partially penetrates through the circuit board hole and the bobbin channel.
Du et al., hereinafter referred to as “Du,” teaches a transformer 5 (FIGs. 2A-2E) comprising:
at least one circuit board 40 and or 45 comprising a circuit board hole (center aperture, FIG. 2A), wherein the circuit board hole and the bobbin channel (central channel of bobbin 701, FIG. 2D) are communicated with each other, and the magnetic core assembly 10 and 20 partially penetrates through the circuit board hole and the bobbin channel, wherein at least one circuit board comprise a second circuit board (the other of circuit board 40 or 45), wherein the second circuit board is directed contacted to a second cover part of the second magnetic core (paras. [0035]-[0036]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the circuit board as taught by Du to the transformer of Imada to simplify electric design and reduce manufacturing cost and size (paras. [0004]-[0005]).
Imada does not also expressly teach the second circuit board formed as a second secondary coil of the transformer.
Pino teaches a transformer 402 (Fig. 8), wherein the at least one circuit board 102a and or 102b comprise a second circuit board 102b, wherein the second circuit board formed as a second secondary coil 602b of the transformer is directed contacted to a second cover part (lower yoke of core 106) of the second magnetic core 106 (para. [0040]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the second circuit board formed as a second secondary coil as taught by Pino to the transformer of Imada to provide the required coil turn ratio to meet design requirements.
With respect to claim 2, Imada in view of Du and Pino teaches the transformer according to claim 1, wherein the at least one circuit board further comprising a first circuit board 40, the first circuit board is disposed between the first magnetic core and the bobbin main body and comprises a first circuit board hole (center aperture of circuit board 40), the second circuit board is disposed between the second magnetic core and the bobbin main body and comprises a second circuit board hole (center aperture of circuit board 40), the first circuit board hole, the second circuit board hole and the bobbin channel are communicated with each other, and the magnetic core assembly partially penetrates through the first circuit board hole, the second circuit board hole and the bobbin channel (Du, para. [0036]).
With respect to claim 3, Imada in view of Du and Pino teaches the transformer according to claim 2, wherein the first magnetic core comprises a first cover part (yoke), a first lateral core part (first outer leg), a second lateral core part (second outer leg) and a first middle core part (first middle leg), the first lateral core part and the second lateral core part are connected with two opposite sides of the first cover part, and the first middle core part is connected with the first cover part and disposed between the first lateral core part and the second lateral core part, wherein the second magnetic core comprises the second cover part (yoke), a third lateral core part (third outer leg), a fourth lateral core part (fourth outer leg) and a second middle core part (second middle leg), the second cover part is spatially corresponding in position to the first cover part, the third lateral core part and the fourth lateral core part are connected with two opposite sides of the second cover part, the third lateral core part is connected with the first lateral core part, the fourth lateral core part is connected with the second lateral core part, the second middle core part is connected with the second cover part and disposed between the third lateral core part and the fourth lateral core part, and the second middle core part is connected with the first middle core part, wherein the first middle core part and the second middle core part penetrates through the first circuit board hole, the second circuit board hole and the bobbin channel (Imada, paras. [0028]-[0029]).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imada in view of Du and Pino, as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2009/0108977 A1) and Hsiao et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2016/0293324 A1).
With respect to claim 4, I Imada in view of Du and Pino teaches the transformer according to claim 2, wherein the bobbin main body comprises a first lateral wall (upper flange), a second lateral wall (second flange), the first lateral wall and the second lateral wall are located in two opposite sides of the bobbin main body, the outer periphery surface of the bobbin main body is located between the first lateral wall and the second lateral wall, and the bobbin channel runs through the first lateral wall and the second lateral wall of the bobbin main body (Imada, para. [0029]).
Imada in view of Du and Pino does not expressly teach a first receiving portion and a second receiving portion,
wherein the first receiving portion is connected with one side of the first lateral wall of the bobbin main body, the first receiving portion and the bobbin channel are staggered with each other, so that the first receiving portion is not covered on the bobbin channel, and the first receiving portion comprises a first concave having a first slot, wherein the second receiving portion is connected with one side of the second lateral wall of the bobbin main body, the second receiving portion and the bobbin channel are staggered with each other, so that the second receiving portion is not covered on the bobbin channel, and the second receiving portion comprises a second concave having a second slot.
Chen et al., hereinafter referred to as “Chen,” teaches a transformer (FIG. 5), wherein the main bobbin body 21 a first receiving portion 21a (annotated FIG. 5) and a second receiving portion 21b,
wherein the first receiving portion is connected with one side of the first lateral wall (flange next to first receiving portion) of the bobbin main body, the first receiving portion and the bobbin channel 22 are staggered with each other, so that the first receiving portion is not covered on the bobbin channel, and the first receiving portion comprises a first concave 21c, wherein the second receiving portion is connected with one side of the second lateral wall (flange next to second receiving portion) of the bobbin main body, the second receiving portion and the bobbin channel are staggered with each other, so that the second receiving portion is not covered on the bobbin channel, and the second receiving portion comprises a second concave 21d (para. [0041]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the receiving portion and the concave as taught by Chen to the transformer of Imada in view of Du and Pino to provide terminal base for the bobbin and to improve mechanical stability of the magnetic core on the bobbin.
Imada in view of Du and Pino does not expressly teach a first concave having a slot, and a second concave having a slot.
Hsiao et al., hereinafter referred to as “Hsiao,” teaches a transformer (FIG. 1), wherein
a first receiving portion 16 having a slot 141, and a second receiving portion 16a (annotated FIG. 1) portion having a slot 141a (paras. [0018] and [0019]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the slots as taught by Hsiao to the transformer of Imada in view of Du and Pino to provide space and protect the printed circuit board winding.
With respect to claim 5, Imada in view of Du and Pino, Chen and Hsiao teaches the transformer according to claim 4, wherein the first circuit board comprises a first circuit board main body, the first circuit board hole runs through the first circuit board main body 21, at least portion of the first circuit board main body is inserted into the first slot, and the first circuit board is disposed between the bobbin main body and a first cover part of the first magnetic core, wherein the second circuit board comprises a second circuit board main body, the second circuit board hole runs through the second circuit board main body, at least portion of the second circuit board main body is inserted into the second slot, and the second circuit board is disposed between the bobbin main body and the second cover part of the second magnetic core (Hsiao, paras. [0018]-[0019]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imada in view of Du and Pino, as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Hsiao.
With respect to claim 6, Imada in view of Du and Pino teaches the transformer according to claim 2, wherein the two first windings form a first primary coil of the transformer collaboratively, the second winding forms a first secondary coil of the transformer, the first circuit board forms a second primary coil of the transformer (Imada, para. [0049]), Du, para. [0034]). Imada in view of Du and Pino does not expressly teach the second circuit board forms a second secondary coil of the transformer.
Hsiao teaches a transformer (FIG. 1), wherein the second circuit board 5 forms a second secondary coil of the transformer (para. [0020]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the circuit board forming a second secondary coil as taught by Hsiao to the transformer of Imada in view of Du and Pino to provide an additional output voltage to increase functionality.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837