DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that the cited references don’t disclose that the universal motherboard is adapted to be connected to the first type display panel and the second type display panel. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Jiang discloses an electronic device, comprising: a display panel, which is a first type display panel or a second type display panel, a transmission line, which is a first transmission line or a second transmission line; and a universal motherboard, adapted to be connected to the first type display panel and the second type display panel, the universal motherboard is connected to the first type display panel through the first transmission line, or connected to the second type display panel through the second transmission line. For example, Jian discuss how the display controller identifies the display type as being a first display type or being a second display type in response to calculating consumption ratio and the consumption ratio being different for each display type, therefore, the motherboard is adapted to connected to the first type display panel and the second type display panel (see at least paragraphs 0026-0027, 0033 and 0035-0036).
For at least the above reasons, the present claimed invention is not patentable over the cited reference(s).
Claims 1 and 11 have been amended and claim 9 has been previously canceled.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a panel power management module” and “a lens module” in claims 1, 4 and 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-8 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (US 2014/0267325), in view of Chin (US 2022/0383833).
Regarding claim 1, Jiang discloses an electronic device, comprising:
a display panel, which is a first type display panel or a second type display panel (display 116 can be a first type or a second type; see at least paragraphs 0026-0027, 0033 and 0035-0036);
a transmission line, which is a first transmission line or a second transmission line (all components are connected via signal bus 102; see at least Fig. 1 and paragraph 0021); and
a universal motherboard, adapted to be connected to the first type display panel and the second type display panel, the universal motherboard is connected to the first type display panel through the first transmission line, or connected to the second type display panel through the second transmission line (all circuits shown in Fig. 1. Furthermore, display 116 can be a first type or a second type; see at least paragraphs 0026-0027, 0033 and 0035-0036).
Jiang discloses the display panel is the first type display panel, the universal motherboard and the first transmission line and providing power management required for the first type display panel according to the universal motherboard (power consumption distribution module 112 is connected to the circuit shown in Fig. 1 and at least paragraph 0024);, but is not clear about a panel power management module, wherein the panel power management module is mounted in a frame of the first type display panel and located separate from the universal motherboard.
Chen discloses a panel power management module, wherein the panel power management module is mounted in a frame of the first type display panel and located separate from the universal motherboard; a PMIC 216 included in an LCD panel 204 and separated from a motherboard 206; see at least Fig. 2 and paragraph 0026.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang by the teachings of Chen by having the above limitations so to be able to provide a screen flicker performance manager; see at least the Abstract.
Regarding claim 2, Jiang in view of Chen disclose the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the first transmission line and the second transmission line are each an embedded display port (EDP) transmission line (Jiang; the signal bus is embedded in the circuit; see at least Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Jiang in view of Chen disclose the electronic device according to claim 2, wherein the universal motherboard is provided with an embedded display port connector, so that the first transmission line or the second transmission line is connected to the embedded display port connector (Jiang; the signal bus is embedded in the circuit; see at least Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Jiang in view of Chen disclose the electronic device according to claim 1, further comprising a lens module, connected to the universal motherboard through the first transmission line or the second transmission line (the specification and the claim do not explain the nature of the lens module, therefore, it is interpreted to be any module on the circuit; Jiang; see at least Fig. 1 and paragraphs 0022 and 0024).
Regarding claim 5, Jiang in view of Chen disclose the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the first type display panel is an organic light-emitting diode (OLED) panel (Jiang; an OLED display; see at least paragraphs 0028-0030).
Regarding claim 7, Jiang in view of Chen disclose the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the first transmission line further comprises a power cable and a signal cable (Jiang; the signal bus; see at least Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Jiang in view of Chen disclose the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the second transmission line further comprises a power cable and a signal cable (Jiang; the signal bus; see at least Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, Jiang in view of Chen disclose the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the electronic device is a notebook computer (Jiang; see at least paragraph 0021).
Claim 11 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1, wherein the first type display panel requires the panel power management module is disclosed by Jiang as in claim 1 and the second type display panel does not require the panel power management is an alternative language.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang in view of Chen and further in view of CHO (US 2016/0329357).
Regarding claim 6, Jiang in view of Chen disclose the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the second type display panel is a liquid crystal panel; see at least paragraphs 0028-0030, but are not clear about an in-plane-switching (IPS) panel.
CHO discloses an LCD panel that can be and an in-plane-switching type; see at least paragraph 0033.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang in view of Chen by the teachings of CHO by having the above limitations so to be able to provide a display panel with better reliability; see at least paragraph 0003.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YASSIN ALATA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426